GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Keane on February 02, 2012, 02:35:19 PM

Title: Your County's Best 15
Post by: Keane on February 02, 2012, 02:35:19 PM
With the league due to start this weekend it might be interesting for people to know how the various teams other counties are sending out compare to their strongest line ups. I find myself asking on nearly every thread "how many of that line up will play come Championship time" so thought might as well start a thread.

We all probably know the key players for most counties, but it can be hard to keep up with the calibre of many of the players who are less reported on.

I think Kerry's strongest 15 - injuries etc notwithstanding - would be pretty close to:

-------------------- Brendan Kealy --------------------

Tom O'Sullivan ------- Marc O'Sé ------- Shane Enright

Tomás O'Sé --------- Eoin Brosnan --------- Killian Young

----------- Anthony Maher --- Brian Sheehan -----------

Paul Galvin ------- Declan O'Sullivan ------- Darren O'Sullivan

Colm Cooper ------ Kieran Donaghy ------ Kiaran O'Leary

What's your counties best 15?
Title: Re: Your County's Best 15
Post by: AZOffaly on February 02, 2012, 03:26:58 PM
That's basically last years team plus Enright I think? Would David Moran not be a contender in the half forward line, or even midfield?
Post by: Keane on February 02, 2012, 03:35:23 PM
Well, Enright comes in at corner back, Killian Young moves to half back and Galvin comes in at half forward with Aiden O'Mahony and Donnchadh Walsh dropping to the bench.

David Moran will be there or thereabouts. IMO he'll be fighting it out with Bryan Sheehan for that MF spot. I don't think you could really play them together because they're almost carbon copies of one another style-wise, you need a Scanlon or a Maher beside them.

In the backline Tom Sullivan is 50-50 to return, if he doesn't you might see Peter Crowley nailing down a place at corner back, or else Killian Young will be moved back into the corner with AOM coming back into the half back line. Would much prefer Young to stay out the field though.

Care to take a stab at picking an Offaly 15?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 02, 2012, 03:59:21 PM
An Offaly 15 is some craic because of how young most of them are. I think at this stage there's at least 8 or 9 positions that are up in the air. However, for a laugh, I'll go with

1 Kevin Meehan

2 Sean Pender
3 Shane Sullivan
4 Paul McConway

5 Brian Darby
6 Ross Brady
7 Sean Ryan

8 Ritchie Dalton
9 Niall Smith

10 Bernard Allen
11 Daniel Currams
12 Anton Sullivan

13 Alan Mulhall
14 Niall McNamee
15 Ken Casey
Post by: Keane on February 02, 2012, 04:07:02 PM
Tyty, Offaly are one team I actually have zero clue about because as you said they're such a young side.

Heard McNamee is back training which is great for both himself and the team, fingers crossed he's able to put his demons (as well as his injuries!) firmly behind him.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 02, 2012, 04:18:09 PM
Yeah, Niall is a big bonus for us to be back, but he will need time, and the trick for us is to give him support. For too long it's been 'handle McNamee and Offaly are bate'.
Post by: Keane on February 02, 2012, 04:22:52 PM
Nine of the team you've named above lining out in the league game interestingly enough.

Of the six missing, Dalton and McNamee are injured, don't know about Sullivan, Brady Ryan or Ken Casey.
Post by: AQMP on February 02, 2012, 04:48:58 PM
I've been away from the club scene for quite a few years but here's a stab in the dark at an Antrim 15 (presuming everyone's available etc)

1. Chris Kerr

2. Colin Brady
3. Ricky Johnston
4. Kevin O'Boyle

5. Justin Crozier
6. Anto Healy
7. James Loughrey

8. Aodhan Gallagher
9. Conal Kelly

10. Tomas McCann
11. Kevin Niblock
12. Kevin McGourty

13. Brian Neeson
14. Michael Magill
15. CJ McGourty
Post by: SambaSaffron on February 02, 2012, 04:52:38 PM
No Michael McCann, Tony Scullion, Andy McClean or Paddy Cunningham? You have been away for a while.

*I'm not saying I'd have all of the above.
Post by: AQMP on February 02, 2012, 05:04:23 PM
Quote from: SambaSaffron on February 02, 2012, 04:52:38 PM
No Michael McCann, Tony Scullion, Andy McClean or Paddy Cunningham? You have been away for a while.

Subs.  Have to freshen things up a bit SS ;)
Post by: Keane on February 02, 2012, 05:11:32 PM

What's your version?
Post by: AQMP on February 02, 2012, 05:19:58 PM
Quote from: Keane on February 02, 2012, 05:11:32 PM

What's your version?

Keane, did you ever come across Conal Kelly?  He's not long back in Antrim after a year or two with Laune Rangers?
Post by: Keane on February 02, 2012, 05:28:42 PM
Haven't lived in Kerry for a bunch of years so only get to the odd club game unfortunately. I'll ask around see if any of the lads know him.
Post by: Breffni_Yank on February 02, 2012, 06:26:03 PM
Is this what we think is the best 15 on the panel or best 15 in the county :-\
Post by: our_fella on February 02, 2012, 06:41:54 PM
Paul Hearty

Andy Mallon
Brendan Donaghy
James Morgan

Aaron Kernan
Ciaran McKeever
Paul Duffy / Kevin Dyas

Kieran Toner
Charlie Vernon

Michael O'Rourke
BJP
Mal Mackin

Jamie Clarke
Ronan Clarke
Stevie McDonnell...
Post by: anglocelt39 on February 02, 2012, 06:56:08 PM
Quote from: Breffni_Yank on February 02, 2012, 06:26:03 PM

No Yank, don't do it, don't think about it, please let the ceasefire go on at least another day
Post by: Breffni_Yank on February 02, 2012, 08:05:21 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on February 02, 2012, 06:56:08 PM
Quote from: Breffni_Yank on February 02, 2012, 06:26:03 PM

No Yank, don't do it, don't think about it, please let the ceasefire go on at least another day

I was only joking originally. However, when I start picking my best team in the county I noticed a few of mine aren't even on the panel. Michael Hannon, Nesty, Johnston.

Despite that I am still hopeful the new look team can dig out a result at the weekend. I'd like to see something like this.

James Reilly
Oisin Minnagh
Sean McCormack
Damien Barkey
Mark McKeever
Padraig Reilly
John McCutcheon
David Givney
Gearoid McKiernan
Niall Smith
Eugene Keating
Ronan Flanagan
Kevin Meehan
Niall McDermott
Jack Brady
Post by: Keane on February 02, 2012, 08:30:57 PM
Yeah I suppose just the most likely Championship 15 I'm looking at, just to gauge the strength of teams being sent out in the league really.
Post by: donegal_abu on February 02, 2012, 10:22:17 PM
Paul Durcan

Paddy McGrath     Neil McGee         Frank McGlynn
Anthony Thompson    Leo McLoone     Karl Lacey

Neil Gallagher  Rory Kavanagh

Mark McHugh     Mickey Hegarty             Ryan Bradley
Patrick McBrearty      Michael Muphy     Colm McFadden
Post by: Keane on February 03, 2012, 12:10:42 AM
Here's my stab at Kildare:

Shane Connolly;

Hugh McGrillen, Mick Foley, Peter Kelly;
Emmet Bolton, Gary White, Morgan O'Flaherty;

Ronan Sweeney, Dermot Earley;

Padraig O'Neill, Eamonn O'Callaghan, Eoghan O'Flaherty;
John Doyle, Tomás O'Connor, James Kavanagh

Close?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on February 03, 2012, 12:24:32 AM
Quote from: Keane on February 03, 2012, 12:10:42 AM
Here's my stab at Kildare:

Shane Connolly;

Hugh McGrillen, Mick Foley, Peter Kelly;
Emmet Bolton, Gary White, Morgan O'Flaherty;

Ronan Sweeney, Dermot Earley;

Padraig O'Neill, Eamonn O'Callaghan, Eoghan O'Flaherty;
John Doyle, Tomás O'Connor, James Kavanagh

Close?

Close enough.

However, very much doubt that Dermot will be able for anything more than an impact sub role but would love to be proven wrong. Daryl Flynn is by a distance the no1 midfielder in the county. Could be partnered by anyone from Rob Kelly, Sweeney, Hugh Lynch, Conor Brophy or Gary White. Hopefully Doyle will be deployed close to goal this year.

Providing everyone is fit and in form I'd like to see:

Connolly
P.Kelly  Foley  McGrillen
Lyons  M.O'Flaherty  Bolton
Flynn  R.Kelly
Callaghan  E.O'Flaherty  Kavanagh
Smith  Connor  Doyle

Johnston   ;)
Post by: Keane on February 03, 2012, 12:34:55 AM
Right you are, a decent attempt all the same :)
Post by: screenexile on February 03, 2012, 01:16:29 AM
If we had everyone available to play for the County my team would be something like this . . .

Devlin
McBride, McGuckin, McLaughlin

O'Kane, Kielt, McGoldrick

Doherty, Diver

Wilkinson, Lynch, Muldoon

Bradley, Bradley, Declan Mullan
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 03, 2012, 08:27:32 AM

What's your version?

Kerr

P Gallagher
R Johnston
K O'Boyle

S Kelly
A McLean
J Loughrey

K McGourty
A Gallagher

M McCann
K Niblock
C Kelly

C McGourty
M Magill
T McCann

Fir Ionaid

Other Gallagher from Glenavy, C Brady, T Scullion, Murray, B Neeson, P Cunningham PLC.

That half back line would be the best in Ulster.
Post by: Magicsponge on February 03, 2012, 09:51:13 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 03, 2012, 08:27:32 AM

What's your version?

Kerr

P Gallagher
R Johnston
K O'Boyle

S Kelly
A McLean
J Loughrey

K McGourty
A Gallagher

M McCann
K Niblock
C Kelly

C McGourty
M Magill
T McCann

Fir Ionaid

Other Gallagher from Glenavy, C Brady, T Scullion, Murray, B Neeson, P Cunningham PLC.

Sean Kelly? I wish. I do think he is one of the best players in Ulster, but always played better for St Galls than Antrim. But you can't pick him, he's quit, or do you know something I don't? I think Crozier instead of McClean would be a better half back line
Post by: SambaSaffron on February 03, 2012, 10:03:43 AM
It says if everyone was available.

O'Neill

Brady
McClean
O'Boyle

Scullion
Crozier
S kelly

McCann
Gallagher

Loughrey
Niblock
C Kelly

Neeson
Magill
McCann
Post by: Magicsponge on February 03, 2012, 10:12:11 AM
Quote from: SambaSaffron on February 03, 2012, 10:03:43 AM
It says if everyone was available.

Ah, I was hoping he knew something.

May as well give it a go then.

O'Neill

Brady
McClean
O'Boyle

Loughery
Crozier
S kelly

McCann
Gallagher

K McGourty
Niblock
McCann

CJ McGourty
Magill
Dougan
Post by: muppet on February 03, 2012, 11:06:47 AM
1. Hennelly

2. Keegan *
3. Cafferkey
4. Higgins
5. Richie
6. Vaughan
7. McLoughlin **

8. Barry
9. SOS

10. Andy
11. AOXI
12. Dillon
13. Mort
14. Freeman
15. O'Connor

* He is new to the team but I think deserves his chance and there is no sign of Kevin Keane or anyone else coming through at the moment.
**If we can find a LCB then play Higgins at LHB that would be ideal. McLoughlin would move back in to the half forwards.

Kirby is a big man and obviously one to watch but he would be seen as more of a midfield prospect at his club. Trevor would a good and very reliable impact sub. Jason Doherty is another who can hit the heights if he hits form and should be considered.

Post by: Keane on February 03, 2012, 11:47:40 AM
What about Peadar Gardiner?
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 03, 2012, 11:48:33 AM
Shane McHale is a good prospect muppet.
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 03, 2012, 12:10:19 PM
Quote from: Magicsponge on February 03, 2012, 09:51:13 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 03, 2012, 08:27:32 AM

What's your version?

Kerr

P Gallagher
R Johnston
K O'Boyle

S Kelly
A McLean
J Loughrey

K McGourty
A Gallagher

M McCann
K Niblock
C Kelly

C McGourty
M Magill
T McCann

Fir Ionaid

Sean Kelly? I wish. I do think he is one of the best players in Ulster, but always played better for St Galls than Antrim. But you can't pick him, he's quit, or do you know something I don't? I think Crozier instead of McClean would be a better half back line

Definitely rate McLean higher than most people do at chb, few have seen him there regularly. If he was from any other county with a half decent full back, he would be playing chb. Or midfield.

Didn't mean to leave Crozier out, would play himself, Niblock and McCann as the half forward line, with C Kelly missing out.
Post by: Minder on February 03, 2012, 12:19:39 PM
Kevin McGourty has shown he can't/won't commit for any sustained period.
Post by: Keane on February 03, 2012, 12:26:59 PM
Tyrone be something like this?

Pascal McConnell

Ryan McMenamin - Joe McMahon - PJ Quinn

Cathal McCarron - Peter Harte - Dermot Carlin

Michael Murphy - Colm Cavanagh

Matthew Donnelly - Peter Hughes - Martin Penrose

Owen Mulligan - Sean Cavanagh - Stephen O'Neill
Post by: rrhf on February 03, 2012, 01:26:14 PM
Mickey O Neill
Ryan McMenamin, Joe Mc Mahon - - PJ Quinn

Cathal McCarron - Peter Harte - D Mc Caul

Michael Murphy - Justin Mc Mahon

Matthew Donnelly - Peter Hughes - Martin Penrose

Owen Mulligan - Sean Cavanagh - Stephen O'Neill
Post by: you take er! on February 03, 2012, 01:31:40 PM
1. Hearty
2. A. Mallon
3. B. Donaghy
5. A Kernan
6. McKeever
7. P. Duffy
8. Vernon
10. A.Duffy
11. S. McDonnell
12. M. Mackin
13. J. Clarke
14. G. McParland
15. S. Campbell

4.... Dyas? Morgan? (will he be part of the panel?) D. McKenna? ('sticky' enough for CB?)

9....Lavery? Kingham? (league will tell a tale) Carragher? (too young yet?) David McKenna (interested??)

As many questions as answers for me :-\
Post by: Wee Roddy on February 03, 2012, 01:32:35 PM
Would you leave Conor Gormley off you best team. He was Tyrone best defender by a long way last year? And what about Mark Donnelly. Have you something against Carmen ;)
Post by: muppet on February 03, 2012, 01:35:08 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 03, 2012, 11:48:33 AM
Shane McHale is a good prospect muppet.

Eoghan Reilly deserves a mention too but Horan has named Keegan for the Laois game so it looks as if he is in pole position. Gardiner has been a great servant but lost his place last year. If he gets his form back he is always an asset in attack but I'd prefer Richie Feeney in that position (I am from Castlebar so likely to be biased on that one).

The team Horan picked is quite experienced so it looks as if he wants the points in that one before trying out the likes of Kirby etc.
Post by: rrhf on February 03, 2012, 01:39:51 PM
Quote from: Wee Roddy on February 03, 2012, 01:32:35 PM
Would you leave Conor Gormley off you best team. He was Tyrone best defender by a long way last year? And what about Mark Donnelly. Have you something against Carmen ;)
Is Conor not suspended? Does Penrose not count?
Post by: Keane on February 03, 2012, 01:45:01 PM
You're picking what you think the strongest team your county will be able to field this year assuming a fully fit squad.

Players who have ruled themselves out and that sort of thing shouldn't be included.

It's basically what team are you sending out on All Ireland final day if you got there and no injuries or suspensions.
Post by: Wee Roddy on February 03, 2012, 02:20:04 PM
Now why would Conor be suspended?
Keane I was only messing man. I knew what you meant with your team. Cavanagh being Sean was acutally the first player i noticed missing.
...and Penrose isnt really a Carmen man until he is sent off for the third time
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 03, 2012, 02:31:49 PM
Gary
Francis Boyle --- Kieran Gavin --- James Dolan
Ger Egan --- Seanie O'Donoghue --- Natchie
Darragh Daly --- David O'Shaughnessy
Paul Sharry --- Conor Lynam --- Doran Harte
Paul Greville --- Dennis Glennon --- Dessie Dolan

Pity half that team isn't available, three gone for the year  :'(
Post by: Keane on February 03, 2012, 02:49:23 PM
Francis Boyle and Paul Greville playing hurling for the year and Conor Lynam gone to America being the three?

Who's Natchie?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 03, 2012, 02:51:11 PM
Quote from: Keane on February 03, 2012, 02:49:23 PM
Francis Boyle and Paul Greville playing hurling for the year and Conor Lynam gone to America being the three?

Who's Natchie?

Spot on and Michael Ennis.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 03, 2012, 02:57:41 PM
Paul Hearty

Andy Mallon
Ciaran McKeever
James Morgan

AK
Brendan Donaghy
Kevin Dyas

Kieran Toner
Johnny Hanratty

Colm Watters
SK
Aaron Cunningham

Jamie
Stevie
Gavin McParland

This is working on the basis of who is possibly going to be available.  Toner is a flight away, Ronan Clarke is not within an asses roar of playing again. 
Post by: sammymaguire on February 03, 2012, 03:31:23 PM
Fermanagh doesnt have one  :P
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 03, 2012, 04:02:14 PM
if someone figures out Derry's  - will they please tell John Brennan !

it had better include half of lavey on the squad !
Post by: Ed Hardy on February 03, 2012, 04:30:23 PM
1. B Mc Veigh

2. G Mc Cartan
3. C Garvey
4. D O'Hagan

5. D Rooney
6. L Doyle
7. T Hanna

8. P Turley
9. A Rodgers

10. D Hughes
11. D Gordan
12. K Mc Kernan

13. B Coulter
14. D O'Hare
15. M Poland

Team would be a brave bit different if everyone was available like clarke, mooney, d rafferty, l howard..
Post by: Keane on February 03, 2012, 05:18:29 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on February 03, 2012, 03:31:23 PM
Fermanagh doesnt have one  :P

Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 03, 2012, 04:02:14 PM
if someone figures out Derry's  - will they please tell John Brennan !

it had better include half of lavey on the squad !

Mon lads, don't be shy!
Post by: Sam2011 on February 03, 2012, 05:50:59 PM
This would be my top 15:
1)R. Hennelly
2)E. O'Reilly
3)G. Cafferkey
4)T. Cunniffe
5)K. Higgins
6)D. Vaughan
7)L. Keegan
8)P Harte
9)S. O'Shea
10)K. Mcloughlin
11)A. Freeman
12)A. Dillion
13)C. Mortimer
14)A. Moran
15)C. O'Connor

It was very hard to pick a best 15. There's a very strong panel this year.
Our forwards are all very strong. There's great strength and speed in our half back line. I would still be worried about the midfield, hopefully it will be sorted by championship time.
Post by: muppet on February 03, 2012, 08:04:09 PM
Quote from: Sam2011 on February 03, 2012, 05:50:59 PM
This would be my top 15:
1)R. Hennelly
2)E. O'Reilly
3)G. Cafferkey
4)T. Cunniffe
5)K. Higgins
6)D. Vaughan
7)L. Keegan
8)P Harte
9)S. O'Shea
10)K. Mcloughlin
11)A. Freeman
12)A. Dillion
13)C. Mortimer
14)A. Moran
15)C. O'Connor

It was very hard to pick a best 15. There's a very strong panel this year.
Our forwards are all very strong. There's great strength and speed in our half back line. I would still be worried about the midfield, hopefully it will be sorted by championship time.

I forgot one of our best defenders from last year, Tom Cunniffe.  ???
I think he is traveling but if fit he would have to be seriously considered.
Post by: Redhand Santa on February 03, 2012, 08:28:25 PM
Tyrone:

P McConnell
PJ Quinn
Justy McMahon
Conor Gormley
Sean O'Neill
Joe McMahon
Cathal McCarron
Aidan Cassidy
Colm Cavanagh
Sean Cavanagh
Peter Harte
Marty Penrose
Stephen O'Neill
Mark Donnelly (Kyly Coney would have a chance if learns to keep the game simple)
Owen Mulligan
Post by: Derry Optimist on February 03, 2012, 09:08:46 PM
If we had all the best players in Derry available to play for the county my first fifteen would be
                                              D Devlin
B McCallion                               L Morrow                       D McBride
C Kielt                                      F Doherty                      Sean Leo McGoldrick
                           John McCambley              Joe Diver
D Mullan                                   M Lynch                        G O'Kane
E Bradley                                  P Bradley                       C Gilligan
My second fifteen would be
                                              B Gillis
Brian Og McAlary                       K McGuckin                    M Craig
N Forrester                               B McGoldrick                  L Hinphey
                           P J McCloskey                   Michael Friel 
A McLoughlin                             J Kielt                          R Wilkinson.                     
L Moore                                    C O'Boyle                     E Muldoon.   
If only we had all those fit and willing we would be a match for any side ,at least in Ulster.
Post by: muppet on February 03, 2012, 11:17:26 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on February 03, 2012, 08:28:25 PM
Tyrone:

P McConnell
PJ Quinn
Justy McMahon
Conor Gormley
Sean O'Neill
Joe McMahon
Cathal McCarron
Aidan Cassidy
Colm Cavanagh
Sean Cavanagh
Peter Harte
Marty Penrose
Stephen O'Neill
Mark Donnelly (Kyly Coney would have a chance if learns to keep the game simple)
Owen Mulligan

For a team supposed to be in decline it looks remarkably strong. Also if Kyle Coney can't get in you must have some forwards. He looked as good a minor as I've ever seen.
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 03, 2012, 11:55:09 PM
Quote from: our_fella on February 02, 2012, 06:41:54 PM
Paul Hearty

Andy Mallon
Brendan Donaghy
James Morgan

Aaron Kernan
Ciaran McKeever
Paul Duffy / Kevin Dyas

Kieran Toner
Charlie Vernon

Michael O'Rourke
BJP
Mal Mackin

Jamie Clarke
Ronan Clarke
Stevie McDonnell...

Armagh's best 15 must have a minimun of 7 CROSS players. They are by far the best players we have in the county. Add some of the more senior players with some youth and you're not far away from an Ulster, which is the best we can hope for.

1 Hearty
2 Mallon
3 Donaghy
4 Morgan / Paul McKeown
5 Aaron
6 McKeever
7 Dyas / Duffy
8 Toner, if he comes home - Hanratty if not
9 Lavery
10 Tony Kernan
11 Stephen Kernan
12 Anto Duffy
13 Jamie
14 Stevie
15 Stefan Forker / Nippy

As for Vernon, Mal, BJP - they should be like me, paying in to watch. They had their day and did well.

Would the Cross boys want to play when they're being so successful with the club??
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 04, 2012, 11:07:28 AM
Quote from: AFS on February 04, 2012, 12:06:20 AM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 03, 2012, 11:55:09 PM
Armagh's best 15 must have a minimun of 7 CROSS players. They are by far the best players we have in the county. Add some of the more senior players with some youth and you're not far away from an Ulster, which is the best we can hope for.

1 Hearty
2 Mallon
3 Donaghy
4 Morgan / Paul McKeown
5 Aaron

6 McKeever
7 Dyas / Duffy
9 Lavery
10 Tony Kernan
11 Stephen Kernan

12 Anto Duffy
13 Jamie
14 Stevie
15 Stefan Forker / Nippy

As for Vernon, Mal, BJP - they should be like me, paying in to watch. They had their day and did well.

Would the Cross boys want to play when they're being so successful with the club??

I'm not a mathematician, but

But Johnny Hanratty would make ot 7.
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 04, 2012, 11:24:35 AM
Quote from: AFS on February 04, 2012, 12:06:20 AM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 03, 2012, 11:55:09 PM

1 Hearty
2 Mallon
3 Donaghy
4 Morgan / Paul McKeown
5 Aaron

6 McKeever
7 Dyas / Duffy
9 Lavery
10 Tony Kernan
11 Stephen Kernan

12 Anto Duffy
13 Jamie
14 Stevie
15 Stefan Forker / Nippy

I'm not a mathematician, but

Are you going to play Paul McKeown and Morgan?
Post by: Keane on February 04, 2012, 01:01:25 PM
Who's Nippy?
Post by: Keane on February 04, 2012, 01:14:46 PM
Anybody take a stab at Monaghan?
Post by: Keane on February 08, 2012, 03:05:40 PM
Here's an attempt at Limerick:

1. Brian Scanlon
2. Barry Fitzpatrick
3. Johnny McCarthy
4. Stephen Lavin
5. John Riordan
6. Stephen Lucey
7. Pa Ranahan
8. Jim Donovan
9. John Galvin
10. John Cooke
11. Stephen Kelly
12. Seanie Buckley
13. Ger Collins
14. Seamus O'Carroll
15. Ian Ryan
Post by: Keane on February 08, 2012, 03:32:27 PM
Would be interested in hearing any other versions of Down/Derry...

Any more either?
Post by: eviemonkey on February 08, 2012, 03:48:47 PM
Cork

1. O'Halloran
2. Cotter
3. Shields
4. Cadogan
5. O'Leary
6. Canty
7. D. O'Sullivan
8. O'Connor
9. Walsh
10. Sheehan
11. Kelly
12. Kerrigan
13. Goulding
14. O'Connor
15. C. O'Neill

I'd prefer Shields at centre-back but I don't see it happening this year. Mark Collins to replace Sheehan if he is unable to recover in time for the Championship. Pearse O'Neill to rotate with the starting midfield.
Post by: Keane on February 08, 2012, 04:00:24 PM
TY for that, D. O'Sullivan is Denis yeah? Blond lad who came on in a few games as a sub?
Post by: sammymaguire on February 08, 2012, 04:03:52 PM
Canavan's Fermanagh might line up something like this at the moment;

1: C. Breen
2: N. Bogue
3. B. Owens
4. B. Mulrone
5. C. Quigley
6. R. McCluskey
7. K. Connor
8. S. Lyons
9. J. Sherry
10. D. Keenan
11. E. Magiure
12. B. Og Maguire
13. P. Ward
14. S. Quigley Sr
15. S. Quigley Jr
Post by: eviemonkey on February 08, 2012, 04:25:49 PM
Quote from: Keane on February 08, 2012, 04:00:24 PM
TY for that, D. O'Sullivan is Denis yeah? Blond lad who came on in a few games as a sub?

Yeah, that's him from Ballinascarty. Would rate him slightly ahead of Sean Kiely or Conor O'Driscoll for the wing-back slot. All three look very promising but wouldn't be surprised if Counihan opts for Kissane again come the summer. Personally I feel Cork need to shake-up the half-back line a bit.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 08, 2012, 05:02:57 PM
not seeing current form, or being able to try out lads in different places/formations
here is a conservative enough Derry side

D Devlin
B McCallion                                    L Morrow                       D McBride
GO'Kane                                       C McKaigue          Sean Leo McGoldrick
                                  Patsy Bradley              Michael Friel
D Mullan (until AMclaughlin returns)   M Lynch                        E Bradley
L Moore                                      P Bradley                       E Muldoon (3rd MF)

Subs
B Gillis (GK)
Brian Og McAlary (corner back)
M Craig (Corner back / CHB)
N Holly (Full back/MF)
PJ McCloskey (MF)
McCamley (MF)
N Forrester (whf)
B McGoldrick (whf/whb/chb)
R Wilkinson (whf/CF)
E Lynn (whf)
M Donaghy (whf)
C O'Boyle (FF)
C Gilligan (CHF/CF)
E McGuckin (FF/CF)
Paddy Kelly (everywhere - but he'll not play with the footballers)
Post by: Derry Optimist on February 08, 2012, 08:09:40 PM
Lynchboy you could definitely won an Ulster title from that excellent squad of thirty players that you have selected. If we can get them all fit soon and there are no more injuries and they play a fast attacking game allied to a good defensive system then Derry can have a real attempt at this year's Ulster championship. I presume you forgot to include the Kielt Brothers and Joe Diver.
Post by: galwayman on February 08, 2012, 10:11:10 PM
For this Galway team I am going to omit Michael Meehan (as a starter) as it is unlikely he will be fit this season.
1 Adrian Faherty
2 Colin Forde
3 Finian Hanley
4 ??? tough position to fill -> Gary Sweeney/Keith Kelly
5 Conor Doherty
6 Gareth Bradshaw
7 Gary Sice
8 Tom Flynn
9 Fintan O Curraoin
10 Michael Boyle
11 Sean Armstrong
12 Cormac Bane
13 Michael Martin
14 Padraic Joyce
15 Nicky Joyce
SUBS
Manus Breathnach
Michael Meehan (may be able to play a bit part role)
Tomas Fahy
Joe Bergin
Gary O Donnell
Keith Kelly/Gary Sweeney
Mark Hehir
Paul Conroy
Niall Coleman
Johnny Duane
Barry Cullinane
Diarmaid Blake
Danny Cummins
Shane Maughan
Post by: imtommygunn on February 08, 2012, 11:00:11 PM
Quote from: eviemonkey on February 08, 2012, 03:48:47 PM
Cork

1. O'Halloran
2. Cotter
3. Shields
4. Cadogan
5. O'Leary
6. Canty
7. D. O'Sullivan
8. O'Connor
9. Walsh
10. Sheehan
11. Kelly
12. Kerrigan
13. Goulding
14. O'Connor
15. C. O'Neill

I'd prefer Shields at centre-back but I don't see it happening this year. Mark Collins to replace Sheehan if he is unable to recover in time for the Championship. Pearse O'Neill to rotate with the starting midfield.

Is Sheehan still wrecked from that injury last year?? Colm O'Neill hasn't been as impressive as expected but if that is the cork lineup they'll be damn hard to stop. Unlike that derry 15 getting blown out of all proportion as always  :D

Fermanagh 15 looks not too bad on paper either. Them and down in championship (as I think they play) should be a clinker.
Post by: Leo on February 08, 2012, 11:07:32 PM
An Dun:

1. Paddy Kielty (not much gets past him)
2. Colum Sands (a wee man for the "edge")
3. Big O (not so much a full back more of a road block)
3. Ann Breen (at her best in a quiet corner)
4. Rory Best (would be some real corner)
5. Rory McIlroy (would be some corner boy)
6. Susan McCann (safe in the centre)
7. Mickey Doran (plucky guy)
8. Derek Davis (big man for the middle)
9. Norman Whiteside (now he'd put Derrytresk to bed)
10. Tyrone Howe (the only Tyrone boy welcome in Down)
11. Rowan Hand (divine inspiraton!!!)
12. Gene Fitzpatrick (safe pair of hands)
13. Tommy Sands (unpredictable, sometimes interesting, hard to call)
14. Phil Coulter (the Seanie Johnstone choice, whatever county will have him)
15. Peter Aiken (if Aidan O'Rourke can make the leap so can he)
Post by: trileacman on February 08, 2012, 11:45:35 PM
Quote from: Leo on February 08, 2012, 11:07:32 PM
An Dun:

1. Paddy Kielty (not much gets past him)
2. Colum Sands (a wee man for the "edge")
3. Big O (not so much a full back more of a road block)
3. Ann Breen (at her best in a quiet corner)
4. Rory Best (would be some real corner)
5. Rory McIlroy (would be some corner boy)
6. Susan McCann (safe in the centre)
7. Mickey Doran (plucky guy)
8. Derek Davis (big man for the middle)
9. Norman Whiteside (now he'd put Derrytresk to bed)
10. Tyrone Howe (the only Tyrone boy welcome in Down)
11. Rowan Hand (divine inspiraton!!!)
12. Gene Fitzpatrick (safe pair of hands)
13. Tommy Sands (unpredictable, sometimes interesting, hard to call)
14. Phil Coulter (the Seanie Johnstone choice, whatever county will have him)
15. Peter Aiken (if Aidan O'Rourke can make the leap so can he)

Revolutionising the game once more with the 16-aside tactic.
Post by: Keane on February 10, 2012, 03:41:26 PM
Here's my stab at Laois:

Eoin Culleton;

Cahir Healey,
Kieran Lillis,
Conor Boyle;

Darren Strong,
Shane Julian,
Peter O'Leary;

Brendan Quigley,
John O'Loughlin;

Colm Begley,
Kevin Meaney,
Ross Munnelly;

MJ Tierney,
Padraig Clancy,
David Conway

Pretty close to what they're lining up with at the moment.

Anybody got any more?
Post by: sheamy on February 10, 2012, 04:40:59 PM
1. D Devlin
2. B McCallion
3. D McBride
4. B Doyle
5. G O'Kane
6. C Kielt
7. SL McGoldrick
8. J McCamley
9. P Bradley (Patsy)
10. D Mullan
11. M Lynch
12. C Gilligan
13. L Moore
14. E Bradley
15. E Muldoon

Paddy Bradley to come off the bench once space opens up. Mobility of half forward line main worry in that team but two defensive midfielders might compensate. I'd be interested to see Blaine Gormley at this level too. Could be in contention. Aidy McLaughlin too. Lynch, McGoldrick and O'Kane need to be sharp on breaking ball for team to work.
Post by: Derry Optimist on February 10, 2012, 05:40:40 PM
Sheamy that is a vey interesting though controversial Derry team that you have selected.One could pick a team from the following players that you have not selected.
                                              Barry Gillis
  B Og McAlary                          Liam Morrow               M Craig
  C McKaigue                             B McGoldrick               N Forrester
                             J Diver                              M  Friel
  A McLaughlin                           J                       
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 10, 2012, 05:48:05 PM
Quote from: Derry Optimist on February 10, 2012, 05:40:40 PM
Sheamy that is a vey interesting though controversial Derry team that you have selected.One could pick a team from the following players that you have not selected.
                                              Barry Gillis
  B Og McAlary                          Liam Morrow               M Craig
  C McKaigue                             B McGoldrick               N Forrester
                             J Diver                              M  Friel
  A McLaughlin                           J                     

Are use going to do the Donegal and play with no Forward as well..... ;D
Post by: Derry Optimist on February 10, 2012, 06:04:49 PM
Ignore last incompleted poster Sheamy which should have read as follows.
                                             B Gillis
B Og McAlary                           L Morrow                  M Craig
C McKaigue                              B McGoldrick             N Forrester.
                         J Diver                               M Friel
A McLoughlin                             J Kielt                    E McGuckin
C O'Boyle                                  P Bradley                M  Donaghy
Subs; R Dillon C Mullan B Gormley P J McCloskey and E Lynn.
I have no doubt that the above side would give a good account of themselves if they played in a trial match against your selected XV.  Somehow I can not see John Brennan dropping his newly appointed captain and Cailean O'Boyle who has been Derry's most consistent player this year. 
Post by: armaghranger12 on February 10, 2012, 06:07:59 PM
Quote from: Derry Optimist on February 10, 2012, 06:04:49 PM
                                             B Gillis
I have no doubt that the above side would give a good account of themselves if they played in a trial match against your selected XV.  Somehow I can not see John Brennan dropping his newly appointed captain and Cailean O'Boyle who has been Derry's most consistent player this year.

Give me that 15 over the other any day of the week.
Post by: sheamy on February 10, 2012, 06:35:59 PM
                                             B Gillis

Don't disagree with any of that. However, John's not the manager in this scenario. I am :-)

It's also not based on current form. It assumes all play to potential and do what I tell them to :-)

I like this pc based management. Can I get paid for it?
Post by: sheamy on February 10, 2012, 07:34:59 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on February 10, 2012, 06:07:59 PM
                                             B Gillis

Give me that 15 over the other any day of the week.

I'd they this is like O'Rourke and Grimley. They each pick two different sides then agree to go with Grimley's team.
Post by: catchandkick on February 11, 2012, 05:04:20 PM
Quote from: Keane on February 02, 2012, 02:35:19 PM
With the league due to start this weekend it might be interesting for people to know how the various teams other counties are sending out compare to their strongest line ups. I find myself asking on nearly every thread "how many of that line up will play come Championship time" so thought might as well start a thread.

We all probably know the key players for most counties, but it can be hard to keep up with the calibre of many of the players who are less reported on.

I think Kerry's strongest 15 - injuries etc notwithstanding - would be pretty close to:

-------------------- Brendan Kealy --------------------

Tom O'Sullivan ------- Marc O'Sé ------- Shane Enright

Tomás O'Sé --------- Eoin Brosnan --------- Killian Young

----------- Anthony Maher --- Brian Sheehan -----------

Paul Galvin ------- Declan O'Sullivan ------- Darren O'Sullivan

Colm Cooper ------ Kieran Donaghy ------ Kiaran O'Leary

What's your counties best 15?

As a Kerryman, I would mostly agree with that team. Darran O'Sullivan is causing havoc at centre forward and I would play him there with Declan on the wing. I think Declan loses less by going on to the wing than Darran, who sometimes gets caught trying to contest kickouts with opposition midfielders. Not really his strength. You could always name Declan at centre forward and then switch him and Darran to keep opposition guessing. Nice problem to have.

My preference for other corner forward would be Barry John Keane. Between him, Kieran O'Leary and James O'Donoghue for that spot. Paddy Curtin may make a case in next few league games. I guess Daithi Casey may also come into the reckoning depending on how he does in next weeks game against Crossmaglen. Keane is a very cocky young fellow, reminds me a lot of Craig Bellamy.A bit of cockiness never did any one any harm though when it comes to playing inter county football. I like the way he has a go, he went for a point in the All Ireland final which went narrowly wide, but another guy would have gone for an easy handpass just so as not to make a mistake.

Donncha Walsh looks like he will be squeezed out. Jury is out on Sean O'Sullivan. The man has oodles of class but he really looked like a guy struggling with the transition from Division 5 club football to top grade football last week. But if he gets back to the kind of player he can be (point v Cork in 2007 Munster final for example) then he rather than Walsh would probably be fourth choice half forward.

Agree with back line, Enright has hardly put a foot wrong since putting on a Kerry jersey. O'Mahony first choice replacement.

Sheehan looking very comfortable at midfield too. Very encouraging!
Post by: shamrocker12 on February 15, 2012, 11:56:40 PM
after looking at some of the posts on here regarding some of derrys best 15, i have decided to have a go at picking my own. unfortunatley the current derry panel does not represent all the strongest players in derry. for different reasons some of our countys top players are not in the derry panel. any way here is my go at picking a panel if all players were there to represent derry.
1. M.conlon
2. d. mc bride
3. k mcguckin
4. sl mcgoldrick
5. g. okane
6. b mcgolderick
7. charlie kielt
8. f. doherty
9. patsy bradley
10. r wilkinson
11. e. bradley
12. enda muldoon
13. colin devlin
14. paddy bradley
15. conleth gilligan

rest of panel
Dany devlin, mark craig, james conway, c oboyle, mark lynch, joe diver, liam hinphey, james kielt, aaron devlin, ryan scott, michael drumm, michael mcgolderick, pj mccloskey, michael friel, eugene scullion, enda lynn,
Post by: sheamy on February 16, 2012, 12:31:39 AM
3, 8 and 13 make some difference boss. Pity most of them retired.

As a shamrock, why have you forgotten Conor Nevin?
Post by: ha ha derry on February 16, 2012, 10:29:40 AM
Derry team:
1. M Conlon
2. P Kelly
3. M Craig
4. C McKeever
5. B Doyle
6. L Hinphy
7. J McCamley
8. M Bateson
9. M Lynch
10. E Bradley
11. S L McGoldrick
12. G O Kane
13. P Bradley
14. C O Boyle
15. J Kielt.

Good mix of speed, treachery, experience and skill  ;D
Post by: camanchero on February 16, 2012, 11:05:02 AM
that FB line would be a 'glenshane inthe snow' type scenario for opponents alright !
you forgot to pick the other half of Dungiven though!

I have thought of sticking Lynch in MF - at least for now- too.If Kielt plays it should be hf line and put someone who can play 3rd MF in the corner.Would swap bateson and mccamley also.

Post by: shamrocker12 on February 16, 2012, 01:26:51 PM
in reply to sheamy, yes forgot to put conor nevin in simply because i think he has been asked before but hasnt the time to play county football. a very good player who in my opinion should be on the panel. also i forgot the likes of brian og mcalary, kevin moss mcguckin and  aidy mcgloughlin. all decent players who would all add something to a panel. the worrying thing about derry at the moment is the lack of quality defenders. we always had class defenders like sean marty, kevin mcguckin, niall mccusker, kevin mccloy in his best days were all among the best in ireland. unfortunately we lack a big presence at number 3 and an all rounder at 6. b mcgolderick is the only player i can think of who could play 6 with the exception of conor nevin.
Post by: ha ha derry on February 16, 2012, 03:12:15 PM
Quote from: camanchero on February 16, 2012, 11:05:02 AM
that FB line would be a 'glenshane inthe snow' type scenario for opponents alright !
you forgot to pick the other half of Dungiven though!

I have thought of sticking Lynch in MF - at least for now- too.If Kielt plays it should be hf line and put someone who can play 3rd MF in the corner.Would swap bateson and mccamley also.

I'd stick with that, Bateson is too good of a player not to have in midfield, can run at pace all day. Three man full forward line all day long, O Boyle for his athleticism and Bradley and Kielt as scoring threats.
Eight / nine men defending is sufficient if they know what they are supposed to do. Pacy half forwards for your quick out ball (all good ball winners) and all capable of scoring.
Post by: Keane on March 01, 2012, 11:34:37 AM
Bumpage - any more folks?
Post by: camanchero on March 01, 2012, 01:11:21 PM
Quote from: ha ha derry on February 16, 2012, 03:12:15 PM
I'd stick with that, Bateson is too good of a player not to have in midfield, can run at pace all day. Three man full forward line all day long, O Boyle for his athleticism and Bradley and Kielt as scoring threats.
Eight / nine men defending is sufficient if they know what they are supposed to do. Pacy half forwards for your quick out ball (all good ball winners) and all capable of scoring.
fair enough about Bateson for Mf.
However you will never convince me that a three man FF line is the way to go. If you'd played there (apart from being a 38 year old last playing days type job corner forward selection and not getting nosebleeds when you get into the last 35 yards of he pitch) youd possibly understand why more space for the two attackers and more space for defenders to look after is a huge advantage to the forwards and given the right men who can score and take on their men - you will destroy a FB line IF you get enough decent supply into them. It might be the best tactic to use in Hurling but imo not in football!
Anyhow we can debate this next time I see you !

BTW I wish lads would stop picking Fergal Doc, Kev McGuck etc - these lads have retred and due to inj etc and over the past couple of seasons were not as good as their previous brilliant best.
Sure we could name Tohill on the team there as well if we are to continue on in the same vein !!
leave them boys retired and alone. they owe Derry nothing!
Post by: ha ha derry on March 01, 2012, 04:57:46 PM
Quote from: camanchero on March 01, 2012, 01:11:21 PM
Quote from: ha ha derry on February 16, 2012, 03:12:15 PM
fair enough about Bateson for Mf.
However you will never convince me that a three man FF line is the way to go. If you'd played there (apart from being a 38 year old last playing days type job corner forward selection and not getting nosebleeds when you get into the last 35 yards of he pitch) youd possibly understand why more space for the two attackers and more space for defenders to look after is a huge advantage to the forwards and given the right men who can score and take on their men - you will destroy a FB line IF you get enough decent supply into them. It might be the best tactic to use in Hurling but imo not in football!
Anyhow we can debate this next time I see you !

BTW I wish lads would stop picking Fergal Doc, Kev McGuck etc - these lads have retred and due to inj etc and over the past couple of seasons were not as good as their previous brilliant best.
Sure we could name Tohill on the team there as well if we are to continue on in the same vein !!
leave them boys retired and alone. they owe Derry nothing!

Two man full forward line depends on quick transfer of the ball from defence into the attacking area, something Derry have been incapable of for a long time. Most teams play with a permanent sweeper as well  ::)
Post by: Keane on March 03, 2012, 10:52:31 AM
Thoughts on this attempt at Roscommon?

Geoffrey Claffey
Sean McDermott
Niall Carty
Stephen Ormsby
Peter Domican
Niall Daly
Ian Kilbride
Michael Finneran
Karol Mannion
David Keenan
Cathal Cregg
David O'Gara
Cathal Shine
Senan Kilbride
Donie Shine
Post by: Keane on March 03, 2012, 11:11:11 AM
The wild variation in Derry selections is crazy, are there any nailed on starters at all!?
Post by: Peter OToole on March 04, 2012, 11:48:45 PM
1.B Gillis
2.P Kelly                               
3.L Morrow                   
4.D McBride
5.C Kielt                               
6.M Craig                     
7.Sean Leo McGoldrick
8.P Bradley               
9.P J McCloskey
10.E Muldoon                               
11.M Lynch                       
12.G O'Kane
13.E Bradley                                 
14.P Bradley                       
15.C Gilligan
Post by: Keane on March 05, 2012, 11:27:09 AM
Heh - that's more like it! Very close to what I was thinking myself ;)
Post by: moysider on March 05, 2012, 12:01:39 PM

Clarkey
Michael Walsh
Ger Cafferkey
Higgins
Lee keegan
Vaughan
Trevor
Barry Moran
Aidan O Sé
Harte
Freeman
Kirby
Regan
Andy
O Connor

Post by: thebandit on March 06, 2012, 12:32:45 PM
Monaghan

Keogh

Kieran Duffy
Vinny Corey
Colin Walsh

Dessie Mone
Gary McQuaid
Dermot Malone

Eoin Lennon
Darren Hughes

James Turley
Paul Finlay
Eoin Duffy

Conor McManus
Kieran Hughes
Tommy Freeman
Post by: Feckitt on March 06, 2012, 02:43:08 PM
Armagh's best 15.

1. Paul Hearty

2. Brendan Donaghy
3. Paul Kernan
4. James Morgan

5. Aaron Kernan
6. Ciaran McKeever
7. Andy Mallon

8. David McKenna
9. Malachy Mackin

10. Tony Kernan
11. Stephen Kernan
12. Aaron Cunningham

13. Jamie Clarke
14. Stephen McDonnell
15. Oisin McConville
Post by: armaghranger12 on March 06, 2012, 02:55:34 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on March 06, 2012, 02:43:08 PM
Armagh's best 15.

1. Paul Hearty

2. Brendan Donaghy
3. Paul Kernan
4. James Morgan

5. Aaron Kernan
6. Ciaran McKeever
7. Andy Mallon

8. David McKenna
9. Malachy Mackin

10. Tony Kernan
11. Stephen Kernan
12. Aaron Cunningham

13. Jamie Clarke
14. Stephen McDonnell
15. Oisin McConville

Now that an Armagh team that most counties would be scared of. Solid defence, great ball winners in the middle and a half forward line that can score.  As for the full forwards all match winners.  Only problem is will Cross be able to defend their league missing so many players?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 06, 2012, 03:05:23 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on March 06, 2012, 02:55:34 PM
Armagh's best 15.

1. Paul Hearty

2. Brendan Donaghy
3. Paul Kernan
4. James Morgan

5. Aaron Kernan
6. Ciaran McKeever
7. Andy Mallon

8. David McKenna
9. Malachy Mackin

10. Tony Kernan
11. Stephen Kernan
12. Aaron Cunningham

13. Jamie Clarke
14. Stephen McDonnell
15. Oisin McConville

Now that an Armagh team that most counties would be scared of. Solid defence, great ball winners in the middle and a half forward line that can score.  As for the full forwards all match winners.  Only problem is will Cross be able to defend their league missing so many players?

I would hazard a guess and say yes if they really wanted to!
Post by: armaghranger12 on March 06, 2012, 03:24:02 PM
Oisin coming back would have the same influence as Scholes did when he returned to man utd
Post by: moysider on March 06, 2012, 03:24:41 PM
Armagh's best 15.

1. Paul Hearty

2. Brendan Donaghy
3. Paul Kernan
4. James Morgan

5. Aaron Kernan
6. Ciaran McKeever
7. Andy Mallon

8. David McKenna
9. Malachy Mackin

10. Tony Kernan
11. Stephen Kernan
12. Aaron Cunningham

13. Jamie Clarke
14. Stephen McDonnell
15. Oisin McConville

That s a serious lookin team. Vernon not good enough? Is Ronan Clarke finished or what?
Post by: moysider on March 06, 2012, 03:25:27 PM
Armagh's best 15.

1. Paul Hearty

2. Brendan Donaghy
3. Paul Kernan
4. James Morgan

5. Aaron Kernan
6. Ciaran McKeever
7. Andy Mallon

8. David McKenna
9. Malachy Mackin

10. Tony Kernan
11. Stephen Kernan
12. Aaron Cunningham

13. Jamie Clarke
14. Stephen McDonnell
15. Oisin McConville

That s a serious lookin team. Vernon not good enough? Is Ronan Clarke finished or what?
Post by: Feckitt on March 06, 2012, 03:33:17 PM
I don't follow soccer, so please explain the Scholes reference.  Is that meant to be good or bad?
Post by: armaghranger12 on March 06, 2012, 03:38:37 PM
scholes Shaped united season came out of retirment and is running the middle of the park. Vernon was never good enough. Should have played rugby would rather try and go throught the man instead of going round him.  Paddy and peter have a place in their hearts for Charlie.
Post by: DuffleKing on March 06, 2012, 09:26:20 PM

I'll not get into all of that as I realise the run into paddy's day is silly season for this stuff but every time I see cunningham's name mentioned with regard to the county squad I cringe. Cunningham ahead of vernon? Lordy.
Post by: armaghranger12 on March 08, 2012, 02:09:29 PM
Wouldn't have Cunningham on the team, at time's I don't think he's good enough to play for Cross. Eoin Brosnan was my man of the match in the semi final and Cunningham was marking him. He was in my opinion lucky not to be taken off before Michael Mc Namee. Only for the injuries he would have been im sure. Then with his 1st real contribution he scores a point and jumps in the air and falls to the ground with cramp/ looking attention.  But at the same time I wouldn't have Charlie Vernon there either would like to see Swift, Forker, Anto Duffy or Mc Parland there.
Post by: Keane on April 12, 2012, 03:56:28 PM
Now we've been through the majority of the league any revised thoughts on this?

From a Kerry POV I would think Patrick Curtin and Barry John Keane have probably gone ahead of Kieran O'Leary in the pecking order.

Picking the best six backs is more of a challenge. We're still without a fullback, no sign of Tom Sullivan's return and while Brian McGuire and Peter Crowley have shown very well Shane Enright hasn't kicked on at all. I'd give anything (including accepting we're going to concede a few extra scores to a full forward) to see Marc O'Sé playing in the half back line.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 13, 2012, 10:00:16 PM
I've revised the Offaly one.

1. Martin Furlong

2. Greg Hughes
3. Paddy McCormack
4. Mick Lowry

5. Pat Fitzgerald
6. Fr. Nicky Clavin
7. Eugene Mulligan

8. Willie Bryan
9. Tomás O'Connor

10. Tony McTeague
11. Richie Connor
12. Kevin Kilmurray

13. Matt Connor
14. Sean Lowry
15 Brendan Lowry
Post by: moysider on April 13, 2012, 11:22:49 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 13, 2012, 10:00:16 PM

1. Martin Furlong

2. Greg Hughes
3. Paddy McCormack
4. Mick Lowry

5. Pat Fitzgerald
6. Fr. Nicky Clavin
7. Eugene Mulligan

8. Willie Bryan
9. Tomás O Connor

10. Tony McTeague
11. Richie Connor
12. Kevin Kilmurray

13. Matt Connor
14. Sean Lowry
15 Brendan Lowry

Couldn t agree with that.

Martin Furlong

Mick Wright
Paddy McCormack
Mick Lowry

Eugene Mulligan
Seán Lowry
Liam Currams

Willie Bryan
Gerry Carroll

Kevin Kilmurray
Matt Connor
Johnny Mooney

Tony McTeague
Seán Cooney
Brendan Lowry

Post by: CorkMan on April 15, 2012, 07:55:04 PM
Cork

1. Alan Quirke

2. Ray Carey
3. Michael Shields
4. Eoin Cotter

5. Noel O'Leary
6. Graham Canty
7. Eoin Cadogan

8. Alan O'Connor
9. Aidan Walsh

10. Ciaran Sheehan
11. Paul Kerrigan
12. Pa Kelly

13. Daniel Goulding
14. Colm O'Neill
15. Donncha O'Connor
Post by: yellowcard on April 15, 2012, 09:47:16 PM
Armagh's best 15.

1. Paul Hearty

2. Brendan Donaghy
3. Paul Kernan
4. James Morgan

5. Aaron Kernan
6. Ciaran McKeever
7. Andy Mallon

8. David McKenna
9. Malachy Mackin

10. Tony Kernan
11. Stephen Kernan
12. Aaron Cunningham

13. Jamie Clarke
14. Stephen McDonnell
15. Oisin McConville

Are you taking the piss? Its an ARMAGH team not a Rangers select side.
Post by: AQMP on April 16, 2012, 09:25:07 AM
Antrim's best 15 for the Championship?  I think it's clear neither management nor supporters have the first notion!
Post by: AZOffaly on April 16, 2012, 10:10:54 AM
Quote from: moysider on April 13, 2012, 11:22:49 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 13, 2012, 10:00:16 PM

1. Martin Furlong

2. Greg Hughes
3. Paddy McCormack
4. Mick Lowry

5. Pat Fitzgerald
6. Fr. Nicky Clavin
7. Eugene Mulligan

8. Willie Bryan
9. Tomás O Connor

10. Tony McTeague
11. Richie Connor
12. Kevin Kilmurray

13. Matt Connor
14. Sean Lowry
15 Brendan Lowry

Couldn t agree with that.

Martin Furlong

Mick Wright
Paddy McCormack
Mick Lowry

Eugene Mulligan
Seán Lowry
Liam Currams

Willie Bryan
Gerry Carroll

Kevin Kilmurray
Matt Connor
Johnny Mooney

Tony McTeague
Seán Cooney
Brendan Lowry

That's a good one too. Either way I'd stand over them to play Kildare :D
Post by: LilySavage on April 16, 2012, 11:25:39 AM
T Corley

P Kelly
M Foley
O Lyons

H McGrillen
M O Flaherty
E Bolton

D Flynn
J Doyle

P ONeill/J Kavanagh
M Conway
E Callaghan

E O Flaherty
T O Connor/ D Earley
A Smith

Post by: AZOffaly on April 16, 2012, 11:26:20 AM
Jebus that's a serious team. I wonder will we bother turning up at all at all?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on April 16, 2012, 11:28:47 AM
Quote from: LilySavage on April 16, 2012, 11:25:39 AM
T Corley

P Kelly
M Foley
O Lyons

H McGrillen
M O Flaherty
E Bolton

D Flynn
J Doyle

P ONeill/J Kavanagh
M Conway
E Callaghan

E O Flaherty
T O Connor/ D Earley
A Smith

Tom Corley??  ???
Post by: seafoid on April 18, 2012, 12:45:46 PM
If Man is 5 and the Devil is 6 then God  is 7
Post by: Dont Matter on April 18, 2012, 02:06:21 PM
I'm sure people have been sitting on the edge of their seats waiting for the Laois team:
Culliton
Healy Lillis O'Leary
Meaney Timmons Strong
Quigley O'Loughlin
Munnelly Begley O'Connor
Cahilane Clancy Walsh

Not a very strong team, Longford should beat us.
Post by: JP on April 18, 2012, 08:03:28 PM
Armagh

1. Paul Hearty

2. Andy Mallon
3. Brendan Donaghy
4. Declan McKenna

5. Aaron Kernon
6. Ciaran McKeever
7. Kevin Dyas

8. Charlie Vernon
9. Malachy Mackin

10. Aidan Forker
11. Brian Mallon
12. Anto Duffy

13. Jamie Clark
15. Caolan Rafferty

I'd expect that to be the team that starts against Tyrone. Who takes the other foward spot is up in the air. Anyone of Kingham/BJP/McParland/Grugan/Duffy/Moriarty/Stevenson could claim it. Personally I'd like to see McParland there.
Post by: armaghranger12 on April 19, 2012, 05:18:23 PM
it cant be that team did hearty not retire or did i read that wrong in the paper?

poor team overall, wont keep the ball kicked out to tyrone.
Post by: JP on April 19, 2012, 08:30:49 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on April 19, 2012, 05:18:23 PM
it cant be that team did hearty not retire or did i read that wrong in the paper?

No midfield and no number 14!! On 2nd thought I think Hanratty will get his place on the team.

I can imagine our fowards being pushed out to the wings and having no other choice but to fist pass it backwards. Points from play could be scarce.

Any word on Toner?
Post by: Armaghgael on April 22, 2012, 06:30:03 PM
Quote from: JP on April 19, 2012, 08:30:49 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on April 19, 2012, 05:18:23 PM

No midfield and no number 14!! On 2nd thought I think Hanratty will get his place on the team.

I can imagine our fowards being pushed out to the wings and having no other choice but to fist pass it backwards. Points from play could be scarce.

Any word on Toner?

This week i hear
Post by: Keane on April 25, 2012, 02:07:43 PM
Toner is back anyway lads.
Post by: CK_Redhand on April 25, 2012, 02:20:11 PM
Tyrone
1. P McConnel
2. A McCrory
3. Justin McMahon
4. PJ Quinn
5. C McCarron
6. P Harte
7. D McCaul
8. M Murphy
9. S Cavanagh
10. R McNabb
11. Mark Donnely
12. Joe McMahon
13. E Mulligan
14. S O'Neill
15. M Penrose

Ricey, Block and C Clarke on the bench.  Colm Cavanagh, P McNiece, A Cassidy aswell. Strong bench.  This is just my opinion from what I've seen in the league and McKenna cup this year so far.
Post by: armaghranger12 on April 25, 2012, 05:19:32 PM
Great news on the toner front, gives us a better choice around the middle of the field and half forward line. like to see a team like this now
1) P Mc Evoy
2) A Mallon
3) B Donaghy
4) D Mc Kenna
5) A Kernan
6) C Vernon
7) C Mc Keever
8) K Toner
9) J Hannratty
10) A Forker
11) M Mackin
12) T Kernan
13) J Clarke
14) A Duffy
15) G Mc Parland/ G Mc Very

Subs: Morgan, Duffy, Dyas, Lavery, Moriarty, BJP, O'Rourke, B Mallon, Kingham, Stevenson
Post by: Armaghgael on April 25, 2012, 06:58:15 PM
Caolan Rafferty would be ahead of McParland, McVerry and TK
Post by: armaghranger12 on April 26, 2012, 09:36:37 AM
Quote from: Armaghgael on April 25, 2012, 06:58:15 PM

Does he offer much from play? we have plenty of free kick takers so we dont need to carry one
Post by: nrico2006 on April 26, 2012, 09:47:37 AM
Best 15:

Tyrone
1. P McConnell
2. A McCrory
3. Justin McMahon
4. D Carlin
5. C McCarron
6. P Harte
7. D McCaul/S O'Neill
8. Joe McMahon
9. S Cavanagh
10. Kyle Coney
11. Mark Donnelly
12. Mattie Donnelly
13. E Mulligan
14. S O'Neill
15. R O'Neill

Some strong options on the bench in Gormley, Quinn, McMenamin, Murphy, Cassidy, Penrose, McNabb and Lafferty.  Have my doubts over number 11 though as I don't see us having an out and out playmaker.  This is the team I would like to see start championship, although with recent injuries it wont happen.
Post by: JP on April 26, 2012, 01:52:15 PM
Quote from: armaghranger12 on April 26, 2012, 09:36:37 AM
Quote from: Armaghgael on April 25, 2012, 06:58:15 PM

Does he offer much from play? we have plenty of free kick takers so we dont need to carry one

He was one of our best finds in the league! Can win his own ball and never took frees
Post by: Wee Roddy on April 26, 2012, 01:55:35 PM
Nrico, would you serious have all those defenders on before Gormley?? Cant understand that at all!
Post by: Armaghgeddon on April 26, 2012, 02:14:30 PM
Ronan Clarke back in training

Post by: Keane on May 18, 2012, 02:32:20 PM
Bump - any more?