GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: DrinkingHarp on March 17, 2007, 07:42:54 AM

Title: All-Ireland Club Championship
Post by: DrinkingHarp on March 17, 2007, 07:42:54 AM
The game is 6 hours out but congrats to Crossmaglen for their performance this year....UP THE RANGERS
Title: Re: All-Ireland Club Championship
Post by: mannix on March 17, 2007, 08:16:45 AM
Good luck to crossmaglen.I hope that you beat the kerry boys.
Post by: magickingdom on March 17, 2007, 12:51:23 PM
have to say i'm really looking forward to this game, been at a few club finals lately anf its a great day out. fancy cross with all their experience but deep down i just KNOW crokes are going to do it....
Post by: tyroneboi on March 17, 2007, 02:19:47 PM
Does anyone know were i can listen to the game? I cant get onto the BBC commentary on their website.
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 17, 2007, 02:31:09 PM
No but you're missing nothing.
Post by: armaghniac on March 17, 2007, 02:40:49 PM
web listeners might try Radio Kerry
http://www.radiokerry.ie/

It works for me!

Post by: magickingdom on March 17, 2007, 03:20:12 PM
phew!
Post by: armaghniac on March 17, 2007, 03:21:20 PM
Close!! When I heard that Stephen Kernan and Tony McEntee were missing the equaliser I was worried.

Post by: Bogball XV on March 17, 2007, 03:22:48 PM
Crokes should have held on, they played all the football, but Cross don't know when they're bate!
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 17, 2007, 03:26:49 PM
Cross were very poor. I think Crokes missed the boat, can't see cross being as poor again.
Post by: Over the Bar on March 17, 2007, 03:35:19 PM
A replay for the aged & war-ravaged cross legs is the last thing JK would have wanted.  All that mileage may well count come the sumer.
Post by: Armamike on March 17, 2007, 04:13:46 PM
Not a great game, but picked up a bit in second half.  Probably a fair result on the  day. Crokes will be deflated for letting it slip while Cross will be relieved to get another chance but annoyed with themselves for some of the chances they blew.  Cooper looked to me to be behind every score Crokes got, even though he didn't score heavily himself.  Cross will have to mark him much more closely out the field the next day.  What more can you say about McConville? Class goal and real leadership to eek out that equalising point with time just about up.  Hard to call a winner the next game, but Cross look to have more improvement in them.
Post by: heganboy on March 17, 2007, 05:00:09 PM
Not one for the purists! Enjoyed the last 20 minutes, cross could have stolen it with tony and oisin, however they played poorly. Oisin and donaldson did well I thought. Any update on coopers injury?
Post by: Oraisteach on March 17, 2007, 05:11:11 PM
Hegan, where did you watch it?  Had to settle for the exuberance of Radio Kerry.  Partisan, but understandably so.
Post by: ONeill on March 17, 2007, 05:25:06 PM
Cross are some outfit.

Oisin of the 22 steps!
Post by: heganboy on March 17, 2007, 06:03:21 PM
oraisteach- watched the game in Fiona's on 1st and 86th- fair crowd watching the game
Post by: David McKeown on March 17, 2007, 06:46:36 PM
I thought Cross were actually the unlucky ones on the day and missed some very scorable chances.  Apart from 10 or 15 mins in the second half I felt they were the better team and probably should have won on the day.
Post by: johnpower on March 17, 2007, 09:39:48 PM
Too many steps by McConville but still both teams get another chance .Crokes did well after losing Brosnan and McMahon .Gooch really pulled the strings when he came out onto the 40.
Post by: Bogball XV on March 17, 2007, 09:43:57 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on March 17, 2007, 06:46:36 PM
I thought Cross were actually the unlucky ones on the day and missed some very scorable chances.  Apart from 10 or 15 mins in the second half I felt they were the better team and probably should have won on the day.
They maybe missed some scorable chances, but I thought they were very poor, maybe that's because we expect more form them.  I actually thought the overall standard in club football this year was poor, as Crokes are no world beaters either - still, they can only beat what's out there and fair play to them both, God knows I'd have loved to have got there (well even past round 1 in the championship would have been an achievement for me ;))
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on March 17, 2007, 10:25:46 PM
Just back from the game - gutted......Cross missed alot but how a ref missed all those steps at the end....
Have a feeling Crokes left it after them still the loss of MOTM from the drawn semi final (McMahon) and the replay (Brosnan) had crokes in terrible trouble, a goal after half time and it look curtins against a team of Cross's experience but fair play to Crokes they played excellent football for most of the second half. Shite first half, good second half roll on the replay.

Post by: Bogball XV on March 17, 2007, 10:35:41 PM
when is the replay?
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on March 17, 2007, 10:41:47 PM
Sunday 1st April in Portlaoise.
Post by: holylandsniper on March 18, 2007, 12:34:16 AM
Isnt Armagh playin Laois previous night there aswell?
Post by: Mourne Rover on March 18, 2007, 12:50:18 AM
Cross got out of jail. From a Cusack Stand view, a Croke's defender seemed to have been floored in the run-up to Oisin McConville's goal. Croke's, who were clearly the better side overall, then dominated until the closing stages when Cross showed the class of champions in injury time. McConville, as has so often been the case, made all the difference, and Down fans will be happy that he will not be involved in the National League next Sunday. If Cross can deal with Cooper dropping back, they should win the replay.
However, for vision and pace, he is as good as there has been in the last 20 years.
Post by: magickingdom on March 18, 2007, 11:59:49 AM
over 25,000 at the game which is a 'good' crowd considering the rugby was going on. think there was 38,000 last year or the year before. croker really needs to get 40,000 to have a good athmosphere... (look at the athmosphere in rome yesterday with 25,000)
Post by: fearglasmor on March 18, 2007, 12:05:00 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 17, 2007, 05:25:06 PM
Oisin of the 22 steps!

Beat me to it.  Maybe not 22 but.....................
Post by: corn02 on March 18, 2007, 02:27:23 PM
Will the Cross ons be allowed to play for Armagh U21S next week?
Post by: Declan on March 20, 2007, 10:07:43 AM
Its a pleasure to watch Cooper play. He is as good as anyone I've seen and his movement and passing are a joy to watch. Thought there was a third man tackle to allow Oisin in for the goal which he took brilliantly alright. Thought Crokes played the better football but Crossmaglen's experience kept them in it and if Brosnan and MacMahon are out then I thin kthey'll take the replay. Enjoyed the day but a pity the hurling was so one sided.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 20, 2007, 10:35:48 AM
I did not enjoy that match one bit!  I am a bad supporter at the best of times but good love the poor girl in front of me because I kicked her seat more times than I would the ball in a game. 

The game it self was poor in the first half and decent in the second half.  The referee was very inconsistent and I think the occassion got to him just as much as it did to some of the players.  Cross played well in patches but overall they will not be happy with their hours work.  The full forwards had the taking of their men if they got early ball in to them but the ball was too slow out of the half back line.  They though will have to work on shooting from impossible positions.  They seemed to panic a bit especially in the early part of the second half.

I followed the play for the goal and didn't see any third man tackle.  This happens and balances iyself out over a game.  There was an awful lot of pulling by the Crokes FB line on their men which went unpunished.  Oisin did take too many steps but he was fouled as he was coming out with it so perhaps the ref took that into consideration.

A draw is probably the fairest result over the whole game and much will depend on who can take more from the game.  It will be a hard lift for Pat O Shea to get his players up after they had one hand on the cup.

Roll on being and April Fool ;D
Post by: lynchbhoy on March 20, 2007, 10:45:53 AM
thought Cross were destroyed at midfield. That big Cross midfielder only caught one ball and that was right at theend. Crokes also dominated in the breaking ball stakes. Why did Cross take off number 10 - he was their best player in the first half. Crokes full back line look quite fragile to me.
Crokes played better without the CHB and Brosnan - which is mystifying - or commendable I suppose as the rest of the team stood up to take their places and compensate for the loss.

Thought Cross seemed intent on kicking themselves out of it - attempting multiple shots from out near the corner flag whilst against a strong wind. Lunacy.
Then missing 'easy' scorable shots in front of goals.
Crokes upped their play and fair play to cooper, he was brought out the field after getting nothing from the cross full back line, and showed there is more to his game - but winning breaks, picking up ball from defense and setting up attacks.
Doubt if there will be much in it the next day either.

Had some good company before the game too - as we tried to cross the 'iron curtain'  >:(
Post by: berfaharps on March 20, 2007, 10:58:38 AM
Hey, I must say I actually really enjoyed the game on saturday, though it was baltic. I would'nt agree that cross were destroyed at mid field, the young lad there for them looks a good prospect. The 2 best forwards on view were mc conville & cooper who both showed their class when needed. The best player on the pitch (Let me pinch myself) was John Donaldson. Its been a while since i last saw him, but he has improved and cleaned up his game fantastically, his tackiling was superb on sat. On current form he should be back with the county.

Still a hard game to call for the replay, i'll go for cross, as i don't think they'll hit as many wides the next day ;D
Post by: Uladh on March 20, 2007, 11:00:43 AM
For the neutral it was a very enjoyable game on saturday even if the quality wasn't the best at times. i have to take my hat off to crokes, i never thought they'd be able to get back into the game but they showed a lot of character. armagh folk can testify that oisin's customary goal just after half time usually means curtains and cross can protect a lead better than anyone.

Therein lies the danger for cross i think. no matter how slow their build up, and boy was it slow, crokes seem to be able to pick their way through the debris and bodies better than any club team i've seen. Cross weren't as effective at condensing their defence as they usually are. thankfully crokes don't have potent scorer in the full forward line when the gooch drifts outfield. more often than not gooch picked the killer pass and crokes could've worked a goal on a few occasions. McKeown was the obvious choice to do a job on gooch but given that he struggled so badly i'm not sure cross have anyone to do it. McKeown can certainly do a better job the next day but he needs more help from the defenders around him. stop the gooch and crokes' goose is cooked.

by the same token the crokes defence, particularly the full back line, were hanging on by their fingernails at times. Whether the kerrymen will be aware of it or not the cross forward line can play so much better. john mc never really got into it and murtagh never got to the pace of the game. both can be match winners the next day. the occasion seemed to get the better of ahern but he has been excellent for the rangers this year. The fast track in croker suited mcnamee to get away from his marker but the heavy sod in portlaois will slow him considerably. it'll be a day for the full forward line to win the ball first and foremost and hanratty can certainly be the man for that job and allow oisin to play off him.

The advantage for crokes the next day is that they won't wait til ten minutes into the second half to realise that if they they play their football, the cross defence can't really live with them. their wing forwards were both excellent on the day. they ran themselves into the ground defencively and carved cross up with their lines of running going forward. as has been said many times with regard to armagh, aaron needs to take a long hard look at what is required from him defensively for cross to win the all ireland.

the last mention should go to young McKenna, who produce some great football when it was needed most. his bursts forward for his points were cavanagh like and his catch from the last kick out was the stuff of dreams.

Not sure who will win the replay but the team that panics and makes big changes usually lose out.
Post by: maddog on March 20, 2007, 11:13:21 AM
Quotethe last mention should go to young McKenna, who produce some great football when it was needed most. his bursts forward for his points were cavanagh like and his catch from the last kick out was the stuff of dreams

Was that the cross no 8. If so was very impressed. Hanratty could step up a bit on what he showed on Saturday.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 20, 2007, 11:18:51 AM
I have to say one thing about the Gooch.  Everyone talks about him playing well, but from my perspective I was very happy seeing him doing what he did out the field.  He may be able to make the killer ball, but as you say Uladh, he was playing it to where he should have been.  

As regards the replay,  Portlaoise is a tighter pitch and I do not think the wing forwards (and No.10 in particular) will get the same latitude as they did in Croke park.  As you say Uladh the heavier sod may not suit the likes of Mickey Mac, but the Crokes forward line are all very much of that mould and could struggle as a unit.  David McKenna had a very good second half and played above his 19 years.  With more help from more established men he could have been the winning of the game.

Personnel wise Cross may only make 1-2 changes but tactically they will stay the same.  If they can win a larger percentage of the break ball, which traditionally we could do, then they will have a stronger chance.  

Crokes will be dictated by the injuries to Brosnan and McMahon as to what they will do so it is anyones guess what might occur there.

If Cross can get more direct ball into Johnny they will win I believe.  That is how we did it before and it is how it will happen again.

BTW Uladh,  I realised over the weekend who you are.
Post by: Onlooker on March 20, 2007, 11:31:07 AM
I agree with berfaharps' rating of John Donaldson.   I thought he had a really fine game and was one of the best players on the day. The replay is very open, but I can see Crossmaglen edging it.
Post by: Declan on March 20, 2007, 11:50:45 AM
QuoteI have to say one thing about the Gooch.  Everyone talks about him playing well, but from my perspective I was very happy seeing him doing what he did out the field.  He may be able to make the killer ball, but as you say Uladh, he was playing it to where he should have been.

Don't disagree with that but I think thats what happens at club level- He feels he has to go and do that whereas for Kerry he now he'll get quality ball. Still he's a beautiful player to watch.

Post by: Travis T O Justice on March 20, 2007, 11:57:20 AM
Is the replay set for Portlaoise this weekend??
Post by: ziggysego on March 20, 2007, 11:58:37 AM
Quote from: Travis T O Justice on March 20, 2007, 11:57:20 AM
Is the replay set for Portlaoise this weekend??

Croke Park, 1st April
Post by: Uladh on March 20, 2007, 12:05:21 PM

Portlaoise april 1st?
Post by: magpie seanie on March 20, 2007, 12:55:54 PM
The point about Cooper is interesting. For me I think he's a better player than I thought (and I knew he was class) on the evidence of last Saturday. They would defo have lost had Cooper stayed inside, isolated getting no ball or being marked out of it (Cross' extra man in front of back two in early stages was working well).

Overall think Crokes gave up a great chance of winning it. When they got the lead at the end they went negative and tried to defend it by controlling possession. Understandable and actually a hard thing to avoid doing in such pressurised circumstances but it gave Cross the whiff of blood they needed to rise themselves for one last push. As O'Neill said - they are some outfit.
Post by: Hardy on March 20, 2007, 01:01:02 PM
Agreed - Cooper's performance as a sublime 'playmaker' was an eye-opener for me and he's climbed up the hierarchy of the greats in my mind as a result.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on March 30, 2007, 10:41:01 PM
Is Brosnan fit for Crokes ?
Post by: Oraisteach on April 01, 2007, 02:04:15 PM
Cross 0-2    Crokes 0-0
Post by: Oraisteach on April 01, 2007, 02:05:37 PM
Cross 0-3 Crokes 0-0
Post by: Oraisteach on April 01, 2007, 02:09:23 PM
Cross 0-3 Crokes 0-1
Post by: Oraisteach on April 01, 2007, 02:15:31 PM
Cross 0-3 Crokes 0-2
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 01, 2007, 02:17:18 PM

Stephen kernan on for the injured mcnamee - blow for cross.
Cross very intense, you have to wonder if they can keep it up. 
Good game.
Post by: Oraisteach on April 01, 2007, 02:18:19 PM
Cross 0-3  Crokes 0-4
Post by: Oraisteach on April 01, 2007, 02:20:48 PM
 Cross 0-3  Crokes 0-5   Crokes well on top now
Post by: Oraisteach on April 01, 2007, 02:22:59 PM
Cross 0-4  Crokes 0-5
Post by: Oraisteach on April 01, 2007, 02:26:21 PM
Cross 0-5  Crokes 0-5
Post by: Oraisteach on April 01, 2007, 02:29:40 PM
Cross 0-6  Crokes 0-5
Post by: Oraisteach on April 01, 2007, 02:36:10 PM
Cross 0-7  Crokes 0-5 HT  Is this game on on station other than Radio Kerry?
Post by: mayo51 on April 01, 2007, 02:49:47 PM
it is  also on rte radio
Post by: bloody mary on April 01, 2007, 02:50:59 PM
radio ulster medium wave - owen and brian canavan a bit biased but very excited about this humdinger of a game - are they right about dr crokes tackling or are they biased and crokes are just giving cross a bit of cross/arma type treatment. they wanted reds and yellow cards all over the place in the first half
Post by: Oraisteach on April 01, 2007, 02:55:22 PM
Cross 0-8  Crokes 0-5
Post by: Oraisteach on April 01, 2007, 02:56:39 PM
Cross 0-08  Crokes 1-05
Post by: muppet on April 01, 2007, 02:57:53 PM
 Goal for Crokes

Handpass from Cooper volley in by Maloney.

Edit: Goal disallowed for soccer style volley, Maloney sent off for second yellow.
Post by: bloody mary on April 01, 2007, 02:58:35 PM
crap penalty from gooch saved
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 01, 2007, 02:58:48 PM
I think both teams are as bad as each other for the dirty stuff though McKenna nearly had his ankle and neck broke. 

Goal for crokes just when it looked like cross were going to open up a gap, 1-5 to 0-8. 

Penalty for crokes, shouldnt have been though.  bad penalty saved by hearty.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 01, 2007, 03:03:54 PM
Is John Mac off or not?  Is that not his second yellow?
Post by: muppet on April 01, 2007, 03:04:52 PM
 What does it take to be sent off? McEntee has two yellows now. Maloney should have walked as well. Tedious stuff to watch. Pulling and dragging and generally awful entertainment.

Super point from Oisin though.

0-9 1-5
Post by: bloody mary on April 01, 2007, 03:05:05 PM
was mcentee not booked already or is the ref seeing double mixing up the twins... brian canavan says the mcentees in the past have swopped jerseys at half-time. how did mckenna not get sent off for the knee into goochs face. how do you explain that to young fellas.
Post by: muppet on April 01, 2007, 03:07:08 PM
 Donaldson sent off, presumably for joining the DUP.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 01, 2007, 03:07:41 PM
John Donaldson gone, Cross should be down to 13.
Post by: Hardy on April 01, 2007, 03:08:35 PM
Quote from: bloody mary on April 01, 2007, 03:05:05 PM
was mcentee not booked already or is the ref seeing double mixing up the twins... brian canavan says the mcentees in the past have swopped jerseys at half-time. how did mckenna not get sent off for the knee into goochs face. how do you explain that to young fellas.

Fear marbh in a sheasamh, says Jarlath. What happens if Cross win?

Commentator now invoking Meath of the '80s as Cross come back.
Post by: bloody mary on April 01, 2007, 03:08:50 PM
have you ever seen anyone as guilty looking as mcentee. how do cross get away with it? oisin's steps at the end the last day and they should have 3 players sent off in the last 10 minutes
Post by: Hardy on April 01, 2007, 03:09:03 PM
Now Ambrose walks
Post by: muppet on April 01, 2007, 03:09:24 PM
 Cross 0-1 Croke 0-1 ( in red cards O'Donovan sent off )
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on April 01, 2007, 03:09:39 PM
Sounds like this game has everything. Fierce exiting. No shortage of controversey either
Post by: Oraisteach on April 01, 2007, 03:11:47 PM
Cross 0-11 Crokes 1-05
Post by: muppet on April 01, 2007, 03:12:47 PM
 God it's annoying to watch everytime the whistle goes everyone looks at the ref to see which way the free is then one team all jump up and down waving their hands like an Italian talking in fast forward. No respect for the ref but then he has hardly earned any.
Post by: Oraisteach on April 01, 2007, 03:13:47 PM
Cross 0-12  Crokes 1-05
Post by: Oraisteach on April 01, 2007, 03:18:36 PM
Cross 0-13  Crokes 1-05
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 01, 2007, 03:20:14 PM
All over now, wtf's Donal Murtagh doing on the field.
Post by: Oraisteach on April 01, 2007, 03:21:27 PM
Cross 0-13  Crokes 1-05 FT  Congratulations Cross.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on April 01, 2007, 03:22:57 PM
Congratulations Crossmaglen some performance what a club what a team well done!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 01, 2007, 03:24:32 PM
Congrats Cross, the better team on the day prevailed.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 01, 2007, 03:28:28 PM
2 yellow cards (including a yellow for an elbow to the face) and you stay on the pitch before being substituted......the ref was a disgrace
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on April 01, 2007, 03:29:47 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 01, 2007, 03:28:28 PM
2 yellow cards (including a yellow for an elbow to the face) and you stay on the pitch before being substituted......the ref was a disgrace

Don't think his sending off would have made that much differance.
Post by: muppet on April 01, 2007, 03:32:47 PM
 Congrats to Cross, some achievement even for the standard bearers at this level. Aaron Kernan had a stormer.

That game can't pass without comment about the awful cynicism on view and while the ref was a muppet it wasn't his fault players were constantly taken out of it. If he reffed it properly there would have been very few players on at the end.
Post by: Smokin Joe on April 01, 2007, 03:32:59 PM
With a refereeing performance like that I don't suppose today would be the 1st April by any chance?
Post by: Smokin Joe on April 01, 2007, 03:39:52 PM
It was good to see Donal Murtagh giving his thoughts when asked if he thought Crokes would appeal. 

Most other managers would surely have given a more diplomatic answer than "Kerry are a footballing county and I'm sure they wouldn't want to appeal it.  Sure if you had a replay everytime a ref made a mistake you would never get a game finished".
Post by: stew on April 01, 2007, 03:42:47 PM
Well done cross on yet another AI, they are the heart and soul of Armagh football and have been for a decade.

Post by: pintsofguinness on April 01, 2007, 03:52:21 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on April 01, 2007, 03:39:52 PM
It was good to see Donal Murtagh giving his thoughts when asked if he thought Crokes would appeal. 

Most other managers would surely have given a more diplomatic answer than "Kerry are a footballing county and I'm sure they wouldn't want to appeal it.  Sure if you had a replay everytime a ref made a mistake you would never get a game finished".
He's a decent fella but he comes across as an awful tube sometimes. Today was no exception. 

QuoteDon't think his sending off would have made that much differance.
It was level at the time.  I do think the better team won but Crokes can feel hard done by. 
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 01, 2007, 03:54:42 PM
Quote from: Baile an tuaigh on April 01, 2007, 03:29:47 PM

It was level at the time and the substitute played well when he came on.....are you saying he made no difference at all???
Title: Donal Murtagh in Armagh Club Championship Shocker!
Post by: Orior on April 01, 2007, 03:56:55 PM
After todays victory, Donal Murtagh announced that his boys would have some time off before getting ready for the start of the Armagh club championship and the final in October.

I missed the bit where Cross get a awarded an early place in the 2007 final.
Title: Re: Donal Murtagh in Armagh Club Championship Shocker!
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 01, 2007, 04:00:44 PM
Quote from: Orior on April 01, 2007, 03:56:55 PM
After todays victory, Donal Murtagh announced that his boys would have some time off before getting ready for the start of the Armagh club championship and the final in October.

I missed the bit where Cross get a awarded an early place in the 2007 final.
Well they'll be turning up for the final orior, which is great news for the harps, they can expect a walkover.  Maybe donal thought that as they "cruised" the armagh championship (his words) they'd be awarded a place in the final this year.
They're having a few months rest too which is more good news for all the teams in division 1 as the league starts in two weeks. 
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on April 01, 2007, 04:01:15 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 01, 2007, 03:54:42 PM
Quote from: Baile an tuaigh on April 01, 2007, 03:29:47 PM

It was level at the time and the substitute played well when he came on.....are you saying he made no difference at all???

Okay point taken. The reff mistakenly just before it, blew Cross for over carring when they were on the attack. The resulting free for Crokes led to their goal. When it could have been another score for Cross. How many incidents happened off the ball which could have resulted on people getting sent off? The reff is only one man. His lines men and umpires are suppose to help him out and they must share part of the resposibility of any mistakes.
Post by: magickingdom on April 01, 2007, 05:46:34 PM
 "Kerry are a footballing county and I'm sure they wouldn't want to appeal it.  Sure if you had a replay everytime a ref made a mistake you would never get a game finished".

after oisins 20 odd steps the last day and what passed for a ref today i wouldnt bet on the above...
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on April 01, 2007, 05:53:12 PM
Just back from Portlaoise - one word sums it up cheated.....
14 steps to get the draw and two yellows in the replay at a time when the game was in the melting pot.
If memory serves cross up a point but down a man.
Referee left cross get away with murder - Gooch killed after the goal, no booking for the penalty, Numerous questionable challenges and no booking ....shambolic referring.

That said Cross were the better team but if Gooch had stuck the penalty who knows.....
Still can't shake the cheated feeling.
Hope Crokes don't object, muppet refering is a fact of life, even if Kerry teams get more than their fair share, Kerry didn't object to the early blow up of the '05 final and I feel Crokes won't object here either.

Would have loved to see the final 10 minutes against 13 men though.......
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 01, 2007, 06:12:21 PM
Croke's were no angels either you know.
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on April 01, 2007, 06:24:36 PM
Scores were level after 42 minutes when the referee fails to send of McEntee.
Feel even more cheated now, 18 + injury timw down a man..down 2 for a while.
For anyone to say that wouldn't have made a difference is not living in the real world.
Cross came off on the right side of the big (non) decisions in both games......
Post by: Bogball XV on April 01, 2007, 06:35:51 PM
The only precedent I remember is when Derry minors played Cork in 2000 AI Semi, Cork had a guy yellow carded twice with 10 mins left, he was important in securing a one point victory, at the time the gaa asked Cork to replay, but couldn't enforce a replay, Frank Murphy, however decided against it - rules are rules you know....
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on April 01, 2007, 06:54:52 PM
Looks like Crokes are going to appeal.
Crokes went up to the 4th offiicial to complain that McAntee got a second yellow and wasn't sent off.
The 4th official told then that there was nothing he could do, Crokes asked him to tell the ref instead he told Cross who took Mcantee off.
Needness to say crokes are not very happy with this. This is the exact exchange that happened.
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 01, 2007, 07:00:51 PM
If that's true then it's a joke.
I can't see much coming of it though.
Post by: ciaranrough on April 01, 2007, 07:46:03 PM
What gives, how come everytime I try to reply on this weebsite after logging in, I get asked for my login details and my reply disappears.

Anyway If I was a Crokes fan or player I would be raging. The GAA should order a replay in instances like this but that will not happen.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 01, 2007, 08:32:57 PM
Quote from: ciaranrough on April 01, 2007, 07:46:03 PM
What gives, how come everytime I try to reply on this weebsite after logging in, I get asked for my login details and my reply disappears.

Cookie settings perhaps?
Post by: bennydorano on April 01, 2007, 08:37:25 PM
Congratulations to Cross, a superb team.  Regarding the ref's mistakes and possible appeal, if Cross had've been beaten in similar circumstances they wouldn't be whinging. Dry them.
Post by: stew on April 01, 2007, 09:02:36 PM
Quote from: ciaranrough on April 01, 2007, 07:46:03 PM

Anyway If I was a Crokes fan or player I would be raging. The GAA should order a replay in instances like this but that will not happen.

Replay my arse, Cross won end of.  :o
Post by: Armagh Exile on April 01, 2007, 09:12:29 PM
Congratulations to Crossmaglen on winning their 4th All-Ireland Club title today.
Some achievement to win 20 finals in a trot over a period of ten years.  They are now the greatest club side ever.  Their 20 finals are made up of 4 All-Ireland, 5 Ulster & 11 County titles.

I must also congratulate the local radio station 5FM for providing marvellous coverage of this game.  With commentator Damian McCullough and his Co-Commentator Paddy Reavey.  Their description and passion of the game really brought the game into our kitchen.

Well done to all concerned.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on April 01, 2007, 09:14:49 PM
Congratulations to Cross - very worthy Champions. They have a winning mentality that helps see them across the line time and time again. This can only be good for the County team, as there are players there who should be able to step up to the mark - McKenna, Hanratty and Murtagh for starters.

And I see Donal is looking forward to the County Final already!   :-\
Post by: DrinkingHarp on April 01, 2007, 09:16:33 PM
4 AI Titles for Crossmaglen........Outstanding lads.

The ref let both teams get away with some rough housing
Gooch was flattened after his pass.
Francie took an elbow to the nose and had blood covering his face the last two minutes.
There were no saints on the field today.

1997 AI Champs   nice
1999 AI champs   great
2000 AI champs   better
Oisin raising the cup as captain 2007.......priceless.

Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 01, 2007, 09:20:29 PM
Absolutelty delighted about the result.  20 finals 20 wins, unbelieveable is the word.  Nothing should take away from the fact that the better team over the two games, and in particular today won. 

In regards to the steps decision in the first game, the referee took the right course of actio as Oisin was being fouled at the time he took too many steps.  The ref has discretion to allow play to develop if he believes there is an advamntage to the fouled player.  The option he had was that he gave the free to Oisin which he most likely would have scored and the same result would have occured.

In regards to today if the referee made a mistake in what he did then I can feel sympathy for the Crokes, but palyers, officials, referees make mistakes all the time and some have a bigger bearing than others.  He was substituted so he had very little impact.  The palyer who replaced him didn't make the impact some would like him to have made.  the main impact he was invloved in was the late one which saw O'Donovan lined.  There were dubious decisions throughout the game which spoiled some excellent football from both teams.  At the end of it all though referees do not win or lose games, something which is something of a mantra for me.  Crokes scored 6 scores in 60 odd minutes of the game with at least 2 of them from placed balls.  Cross were simply a better team and any team that gets 13 scores in a championship game rarely gets beaten. 

We have been on the wrong end of bad refereeing decisions and have taken them on the chin.  I hope that Crokes see that what happened would not have had a major difference on the outcome and take it.  They were beaten by a better side and that is the long and short of it.
Post by: Bogball XV on April 01, 2007, 09:44:24 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 01, 2007, 09:20:29 PM
In regards to the steps decision in the first game, the referee took the right course of actio as Oisin was being fouled at the time he took too many steps.  The ref has discretion to allow play to develop if he believes there is an advamntage to the fouled player.  The option he had was that he gave the free to Oisin which he most likely would have scored and the same result would have occured.
Yeah, but he doesn't have discretion to allow a player to break the rules, he decided to play the advantage, however when Oisin took too many steps, then he had used his advantage, but fouled the ball, thus it was a free the other way.  The rules should allow a slight time-span wherein the ref can determine if an advantage will occur, but they currently don't.

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 01, 2007, 09:20:29 PM
In regards to today if the referee made a mistake in what he did then I can feel sympathy for the Crokes, but palyers, officials, referees make mistakes all the time and some have a bigger bearing than others.  He was substituted so he had very little impact.  The palyer who replaced him didn't make the impact some would like him to have made.  the main impact he was invloved in was the late one which saw O'Donovan lined.  There were dubious decisions throughout the game which spoiled some excellent football from both teams.  At the end of it all though referees do not win or lose games, something which is something of a mantra for me.  Crokes scored 6 scores in 60 odd minutes of the game with at least 2 of them from placed balls.  Cross were simply a better team and any team that gets 13 scores in a championship game rarely gets beaten. 

We have been on the wrong end of bad refereeing decisions and have taken them on the chin.  I hope that Crokes see that what happened would not have had a major difference on the outcome and take it.  They were beaten by a better side and that is the long and short of it.
I dunno BC, I see what you're saying, but if I were a Crokes players, I'd be pretty unhappy at the minute and would certainly be up for appealing, as I said earlier i don't think much can be done, as the ref will undoubtedly write his report up in a way that will show himself in the best light.  Can you tell me hand on heart, that if something like this had happened, say, for example when you played Ballina, that you'd have let it go?
Also, I don't know that it was as cut and dry and as you and most of the armagh contingent on here are making out, McEntee gets sent off, the scores are level, Crokes were probably on top for most of the first 15 mins of the second half, that'd have been a great pyschological boost for them, of course it could have made Cross dig deeper, truth is we'll never know.
Congrats to them anyway, it's been a some journey.  Tell me, does fatigue (mental) not set in for the lads who've been there for the duration?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 01, 2007, 11:41:42 PM
I see where you are coming from in regards to the steps but I think the ref looked at in on the balance of events and decided that he should let the score stand.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/2007/0401/crossmaglen.html

In regards to the McEntee incident from reading theabove  report rte.ie it seems that the ref made error in showinf him the second yellow, similar to the incident with Steven O'Neill last year against Armagh.  If the ref records this in his report, which no doubt he will, then Crokes have no case to make.  Although he received on the face of it 2 yellows, he correctly stayed on the field.  The Crokes fans and players may feel cheated, but the biggest cheat the fans received was that their team scored their last score in the 37th minute of the game, a good few minutes before the McEntee incident.  In between times they had a penalty saved and could not register again.  I said at the time of their dominace to Mrs Bc that Crokes would not win.  They were running down blind alleys and not making their possession turn into scores and in such a tight game they have too.  Even before the penalty was struck you could see that Cooper wasn't confident.  He placed the ball and it kind of rolled off its spot.  He really should have reset the ball to get it where he wanted it but didn't.  It was a tame penalty and to my mind indicative of the way he played today.  If you compare it to the point Oisin scored from 50 odd yards, you could see who was high on confidence.  The crokes scored 5 points between the 10 and 20th minute.  Apart from the goal they didn't score again.  1 score in 40 minutes of football does not deserve to win an All Ireland and that is a planin fact.

The reality is Crokes were never winning today no matter what decisions the ref made.  They tried to play a rough house game against the masters of winning scraps and there was only ever going to be one winner.  The difference is Cross win scraps and can play ball at the ame time.
Post by: David McKeown on April 02, 2007, 09:38:18 AM
Was there not a similar incident to the two bookings in a game at the start of the Ulster Club when Errigal Ciaran and Enniskillen geals played.  Enniskillen appealed unsuccessfully on that occassion if I remember correctly.
Post by: maddog on April 02, 2007, 09:56:45 AM
Well done Cross, simply a much better team on the day. McConville was sheer class. its time some other clubs in Armagh took note of their methods.
Post by: Over the Bar on April 02, 2007, 10:06:46 AM
Well done to Cross.  Dr Crokes would be foolish to appeal and would be better to accept the fact they were beat because they withered after missing the penalty.  And what a crap penalty -  the worst I've seen taken in a long time.  Gooch could do with watching a few videos of Stephen O'Neill.
Post by: thebandit on April 02, 2007, 10:28:26 AM
Well done Cross - Ma Kearneys was some craic last night!
Post by: Redgreenery on April 02, 2007, 10:34:06 AM
Congrats to Cross.
Post by: lurganblue on April 02, 2007, 10:38:51 AM
From the INDO

Crokes fury as McEntee plays on despite two yellows
Monday April 2nd 2007
ADVERTISEMENT

REFEREE Eugene Murtagh is at the centre of a major controversy after failing to send off a player despite showing him two yellow cards in yesterday's All-Ireland Club Senior Football Championship final replay in Portlaoise.

Having already been shown the yellow card after 11 minutes, Crossmaglen Rangers centre-forward John McEntee saw yellow again on 54 minutes but was allowed to stay on the pitch to help the Ulster kingpins beat Kerry's Dr Crokes 0-13 to 1-5.

At the time of McEntee's second yellow, the teams were deadlocked - Crossmaglen 0-8, Dr Crokes 1-5.

Dr Crokes chairman Patrick O'Sullivan told the fourth official and a linesman about Murtagh's error, but neither relayed the information to the referee.

Intriguingly, McEntee, whose twin brother Tony also lined out for the Armagh champions, was withdrawn by Crossmaglen five minutes after his second booking and replaced by Stephen Clarke.

After the match, O'Sullivan said that he was very disappointed by the reactions of both the fourth official and the linesman to his representation about the referee's major error.

"The fourth official effectively said nothing and then I went to the linesman. He told me to go away and said I didn't know what I was talking about," claimed the Dr Crokes chairman.

"I stressed to the linesman that John McEntee was booked twice, but he argued it wasn't the case."

Dr Crokes manager Pat O'Shea, who is also in charge of the Kerry team, said: "I didn't realise that John McEntee was booked twice until I was told. Matches can turn on marginal decisions like this."

Despite the fact that Murtagh's error might well have cost Dr Crokes the match, the Killarney club won't be taking the issue any further.

"We had our chances out there on the pitch and we believe that it's out there that you should win your matches," stressed O'Sullivan.

And O'Shea remarked: "I certainly wouldn't be in favour of bringing this (the referee's error) up after the match is over.

"I've just been to the Crossmaglen dressing room and I complemented them on their victory."

After the match, reporters waited outside the referee's dressing room but, when Murtagh finally emerged, he walked away without uttering a word when asked if he had anything to say on the McEntee issue.

"Referees make mistakes in matches, but if we were to replay all of those type of matches we'd never get them finished," said Crossmaglen manager Donal Murtagh.

"I'm sure Crokes will admit we were the better team on the day and I don't think they'll be too sour about the fact that John (McEntee) wasn't sent off."

SEE: Report P16-17

Paddy Hickey

Post by: ard mhaca abu on April 02, 2007, 11:23:28 AM
Congratulations Cross on your fourth all-ireland title! great achievement for a great club! hopefully september there'll be another all-ireland title in the county!
Post by: magickingdom on April 02, 2007, 11:25:37 AM
1997 AI Champs   nice
1999 AI champs   great
2000 AI champs   better

Drinkingharp, the first one was only nice? i would have thought they were all priceless!!!!

crokes are not going to appeal according to pat o shea in todays irish times...
Post by: full back on April 02, 2007, 11:35:07 AM
Thought it was a good hard game of football with some big hits.
I see some posters were saying that Cross were doing a lot of the fouling etc-as far as I could tell there was lot of it from both sides. Once the referee lets a few early tackles go, players are naturally going to take advantage of this and with such a prize at stake anything that gives you an extra inch will be taken with both hands.
Although Aaron was good IMO Mc Kenna was superb in the middle for Cross, constantly driving forward, and in the 1st half I think he was hacked down 2 or 3 times in scorable positions.
The penalty was the correct decision, but as BC1 pointed out, I also noticed the ball roll from where the Gooch had set it up & he just seemd to say fcuk it and let it be-maybe a costly decision.
On another note, glad to see Donal is gearing up for the County Final-at least the Harps lads dont have to worry about the Championship :D Material for the dressing room wall if ever there material
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 02, 2007, 11:36:15 AM
Congratulations to Cross on their AI Club vistory. Am delighted for the good folk from this club and area.

Didnt see the game as we had matches ourselves....
Tell me
were both of McEntee's yellow cards merited?

As for McConville's 'steps' the last day, he did take far too many, but as BC1 correctly pointed out, the ref is allowed to allow the player to keep taking as many steps as he feels are warranted if the player is being fouled.
The correct course of action would have been to give McConville the free after step numbers 6- 9
in allowing him to carry on running before shooting was making the score harder for McConville.

Well done Cross - a fantastic club and exponents of the game.
Post by: Spiritof98 on April 02, 2007, 12:01:16 PM
Well done to the Cross men, have to agree the best club side ever.

Gona make even more sweet when we beat them in the 1st round of the c'ship this year ;) :P
Post by: DrinkingHarp on April 02, 2007, 04:35:59 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on April 02, 2007, 11:25:37 AM
1997 AI Champs   nice
1999 AI champs   great
2000 AI champs   better

Drinkingharp, the first one was only nice? i would have thought they were all priceless!!!!

crokes are not going to appeal according to pat o shea in todays irish times...

Sure all of them are priceless but Oisin raising the cup as Captain is inspirational.

Plus I had to build up to the last line, a play on a credit card commercial shown here in the states.

Again all the boys should be proud of this AI Club Title and the past three.

Post by: Armamike on April 02, 2007, 04:41:38 PM
How good must it feel to be from Crossmaglen!  A fully deserved win. I got the impression that no matter what Crokes threw at them, Cross would not be beaten and if they were to play a 2nd, 3rd, or 4th replay it would pretty much end the same way.  Crokes had their purple patches in both matches, but over the full hour in each they couldn't get the scores on the board to put Cross away.  In yesterday's game Cross got 13 scores (from a number of players) to Croke's 6. Says it all.  Thought the MOTM award to Aaron Kernan was generous. David McKenna was inspirational for Cross.

For all Croke's talk the past few weeks about Cross being a physical side, i thought that over the 2 games they (Crokes) were one of the most cynical sides i've seen in club football in recent years.
Post by: SlimShady on April 02, 2007, 04:46:16 PM
1997, nice?!?! you're some clown- obviously one without any AI Club medals!!

to win it just once is a dream for any club footballer but to win it 4 times is quite unbelievable. A credit to themselves and hats off to them and everyone at the club that has been involved in any of the 4 wins and everything in between! Congrats Cross!

''nice''

f**k me.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 02, 2007, 04:59:35 PM
QuoteFor all Croke's talk the past few weeks about Cross being a physical side, i thought that over the 2 games they (Crokes) were one of the most cynical sides i've seen in club football in recent years.

Mike I am very glad you said that.  I watched the "game" between Kerry and Tyrone on saturday evening and it and the club final for me shows up how nasty the "pure" football county has become.  Cross are no angels and there were some very dubious things carried out by Cross players, but no more than the Crokes.  The Crokes got a number of beneficial decisions yesterday, eg Gooch's push on Paul Kernan for his point, I would question the penalty as I think Skinny made a genuine attempt to get his fist to the ball and simply collided with the ball.  Borderline case which could have gone either way.  Francie got a busted nose and a free against him for his efforts despite the fact the Crokes man tried to burrow through his stomach.  Also there was a number of incidents of retaliation which went unpunished, one similar to the one that had Greg McCartan red carded a few years ago.

Irrespective of anything Cross were never losing.  I am especially pleased for Oisin.  If ever a man gave more to any one team than him I would love to know.  He is to Cross what Canavan is to Tyrone, although I think we could go on without him unlike Tyrone :P

Crokes may be back but they need to get some strenght up front.  All their forwards are quick and skillful but none of them win the dirty ball and without that you won't go that extra step.

BTW leave poor drinking harp alone, when he is old enough to drink harp he may understand :P
Post by: Imposerous on April 02, 2007, 05:04:02 PM
Just like to add my congratulations to Donal Murtagh and especially Martin Califf, a most unassuming and no-frills kind of fella.  You can be sure that he had a major say in the tactical   They have done an amazing job and have made some big calls in getting to and in the final(s).

it was a great weekend all together, apart from Saturday evening.
Post by: Armamike on April 02, 2007, 06:45:55 PM
Brokencrossbar, i wasn't just referring to the rough stuff, more the general level of fouling that went on all over the pitch which left both games very stop start. It looked to me like Crokes weren't even bothered with trying to tackle at times, particularly up the pitch - just foul and stop the man coming out with the ball, stopping any degree of momentum being built up.  Maybe i'm niaive but it seemed a bit extreme.
Post by: johnpower on April 02, 2007, 09:06:59 PM
congrats to Crossmaglen on their win no questions better team on the day .some really great points kicked at the end . Stop all the crap about cynical play if you want to open that debate then lets discuss  Fancies attack on the Gooch during the build up to the Goal . Sad to see the ref continuing the game with a player down obivioully injured .
Post by: Sandy Hill on April 02, 2007, 10:11:55 PM
The sincerest of congratulations to Cross; your record over the past 10 years has been only unbelievable!!!!!!!!!!! Oh to belong to a club like that! Glad to have these men back for the County, but I sometimes wonder just how long can they keep going at both levels. Oisin can only be a legend!
Post by: Armagh Exile on April 02, 2007, 10:16:30 PM
I hear that Dr Crokes are having a rethink about yesterdays game and are holding a meeting tomorrow night.
Congratulations to the Greatest Club Team ever, Crossmaglen Rangers who were most worthy of their 4th All-Ireland title.
Post by: stew on April 03, 2007, 01:29:55 AM
To have the best club side in history is brilliant for Armagh and Cross were that before they wn the AI this year, Burren were a marvellous club side as well but I have never seen a team with a collective will to win than Cross, they are breathtaking when it comes to imposing their will when it matters.

I remember a game a few years ago against the Ogs in the championship, the Ogs dominated much of the proceedings and cross looked dead and buried but you just saw the screw turn and the Ogs tightened up and Cross ended up winning after a replay, they had no business winning that game and Dromintee have had them on the rack a few times but they refuse to be beaten and sheer will seems to get them over the finish line at times.

Crossmaglen Rangers, you are the greatest club team of all time, take a bow lads and enjoy the 4 title.

Crossbar, I am delighted for you and yours.  ;D
Post by: stephenite on April 03, 2007, 01:37:33 AM
Out of interest - why are people calling Cross the best club team of all time? They are certainly up there with the best, and I'm not for one second trying disparage their remarkabel acheivments, but in terms of trophies won have they overtaken the likes of Nemo Rangers? I don't think so but could be wrong
Post by: armaghniac on April 03, 2007, 01:53:47 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/All-Ireland_Senior_Club_Football_Championship (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/All-Ireland_Senior_Club_Football_Championship)

Several of the Cross players have 4 medals, perhaps some people from Nemo also have 4.

Post by: Bogball XV on April 03, 2007, 08:56:51 AM
Quote from: stephenite on April 03, 2007, 01:37:33 AM
Out of interest - why are people calling Cross the best club team of all time? They are certainly up there with the best, and I'm not for one second trying disparage their remarkabel acheivments, but in terms of trophies won have they overtaken the likes of Nemo Rangers? I don't think so but could be wrong
It's the continuity, that essentially the same team from '97 has been unbeaten in Armagh, taken 5 Ulsters and 4 All Irelands, whilst by now obviously a lot of the initial lads are gone, there are still a number of links.  It's fine to say that Nemo is the greatest club of all time, but Cross are undoubtedly the greatest club team!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 03, 2007, 09:01:07 AM
Stephenite,  Nemo have more Championships, 7 in total we are second.  I think the reason that people say we are the best ever is based on the longevity of the same team for the first three and the continued success in Armagh and Ulster.  When we catch them in a few years( ;)) then we can truly be described as the Greatest.  I  know we haven't caught up wth Ballina yet in regards to their 13 in a row but we're getting there. ;)

I heard on the radio on the way into work that although Crokes are not appealing the red card they are sending a letter of complaint to Croke Park in regard to "unsavoury" behaviour of some members of the supporters towards their bench and alleged unsavoury incidents on the sideline.  
Post by: stephenite on April 03, 2007, 09:14:56 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 03, 2007, 09:01:07 AM
Stephenite,  Nemo have more Championships, 7 in total we are second.  I think the reason that people say we are the best ever is based on the longevity of the same team for the first three and the continued success in Armagh and Ulster.  When we catch them in a few years( ;)) then we can truly be described as the Greatest.  I  know we haven't caught up wth Ballina yet in regards to their 13 in a row but we're getting there. ;)

I heard on the radio on the way into work that although Crokes are not appealing the red card they are sending a letter of complaint to Croke Park in regard to "unsavoury" behaviour of some members of the supporters towards their bench and alleged unsavoury incidents on the sideline.  

Hadn't thought about the one team to be honest when I posted that,for lads to have 4 AI Club medals really is amazing and they deserve all the accolades they get.

Now, the reason I bought up the 13 in a row in that PM to you was because I think I read Murtagh saying it was something he wanted to achieve and specifed beating Ballina's record,whether or not it is actually a record or not I'm unsure.

Cross and their supporters got a terrible going over in the Examiner today

http://www.irishexaminer.com/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=sport-qqqm=sport-qqqa=sport-qqqid=29460-qqqx=1.asp (http://www.irishexaminer.com/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=sport-qqqm=sport-qqqa=sport-qqqid=29460-qqqx=1.asp)

Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 03, 2007, 09:23:25 AM
It is amazing how a word can create an image "Intimidate" is a very storng word and brings in images of threats of violence.  To bandy this word about without saying what happened to my mind is wrong.  If anything happened I hope it is dealt with correctly as our club has always had the respect of many because of the way we deal with both victory and defeat.  Every club has idiots and if some of them have hit any of the Crokes palyers they should be banned by the club, but I have sat in a duggout and been on the ned of abuse many times from supporters and have accepted it. 
Post by: SlimShady on April 03, 2007, 09:28:45 AM
ffs, its a bit like ''ah we dont have any sour grapes and we wont be appealling but....''

intimidation? total bollocks, as BC says- if they were assaulted then yes, they have a case but intimidation?! get a grip.

how many times has anyone here had words with opposing subs/managers/supporters? it happens all the time, all it takes is for a supporter to shout something offensive at a player and the subs will stick up for him!

Post by: full back on April 03, 2007, 10:12:19 AM
Quote from: johnpower on April 02, 2007, 09:06:59 PM
Stop all the crap about cynical play if you want to open that debate then lets discuss  Fancies attack on the Gooch during the build up to the Goal .

FFS, catch a grip
Are you on the windup or what?
Post by: thebandit on April 03, 2007, 10:57:05 AM
I see in the Cross club notes that BC1 has transferred his expertise to Cork club football - best of luck
Post by: realredhandfan on April 03, 2007, 11:19:17 AM
Congrats to Cross on another phenomenal achievement. 
Post by: realredhandfan on April 03, 2007, 12:36:29 PM
Terrible tragedy, unbelievable timing. 
Post by: full back on April 03, 2007, 12:56:25 PM
RIP-Thoughts go out to his family & friends
Post by: johnpower on April 03, 2007, 10:53:44 PM
Full back no I am not trying to wind any one up all this talk about Cynical play is one thing but Francie could have caused serious damage . Look at the tape again . #anyway the tragic death on Sunday overshadows everything
Post by: full back on April 04, 2007, 10:02:50 AM
Quote from: johnpower on April 03, 2007, 10:53:44 PM
all this talk about Cynical play is one thing but Francie could have caused serious damage

As opposed to the 2/3 tackles on Mc Kenna including one around the neck. Catch a grip jp