Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Mickey Linden on January 16, 2012, 08:27:35 PM

Title: SUFTUM
Post by: Mickey Linden on January 16, 2012, 08:27:35 PM
What does this mean?
Title: Re: SUFTUM
Post by: Maguire01 on January 16, 2012, 08:28:49 PM
Stand Up For The Ulster Men?
Post by: Mickey Linden on January 16, 2012, 08:37:39 PM
That must be it. Cheers. Seen it on twitter didnt know what it was
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 16, 2012, 09:03:46 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on January 16, 2012, 08:56:37 PM
Anyone know the words to this one?  We might just need to learn them if we got a home quarter final after beating Clermont next week.
What's this "we" you refer to? ;)
Post by: Orior on January 16, 2012, 09:14:19 PM
I know the words...

Stand up for the Ulstermen
*everyone stands up*

*then everyone gets tired and sits down*
*until some shouts*

*everyone stands up*

Repeat ad nauseum
Post by: michaelg on January 16, 2012, 09:17:13 PM
So is this not acceptable / somehow sectarian when sung at WP?
Post by: Maguire01 on January 16, 2012, 09:30:53 PM
Quote from: michaelg on January 16, 2012, 09:17:13 PM
They're not singing for Monaghan, Donegal and Cavan.  :P
Post by: michaelg on January 16, 2012, 10:09:21 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 16, 2012, 09:30:53 PM
Perhaps not - Therefore, SUFTUM factually incorrrect yes, but not sectarian
Post by: Orior on January 16, 2012, 10:14:55 PM

Do you think it is sung at Windsor Park?
Post by: michaelg on January 16, 2012, 10:20:41 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 16, 2012, 10:14:55 PM

Yes - It is sung at every home game
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 16, 2012, 10:23:54 PM
I laughed out loud when i went to Ravenhill and they chanted "stand up for the Ulster men, stand up for the Ulster men. It's played to the tune of Go west by the Pet Shop Boys!!!

I turned to my 6 4" rugby friend and let out a howler. He shook his head as he knew what I was getting at. I think it's a song for the younger generation of the supporters
Post by: Maguire01 on January 16, 2012, 10:26:31 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on January 16, 2012, 09:44:19 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 16, 2012, 09:30:53 PM

Actually they were singing for Monaghan before Tommy Bowe set off for the bright lights of Wales.
Not at Windsor Park.
Post by: muppet on January 17, 2012, 09:30:02 AM
Quote from: michaelg on January 16, 2012, 10:20:41 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 16, 2012, 10:14:55 PM

Yes - It is sung at every home game
Do they have away games at Windsor Park?
Post by: screenexile on January 17, 2012, 09:59:23 AM
Was at the game on Friday and it was my first Ulster game and my first Heineken Cup game. It was definitely a great atmosphere and SUFTUM is certainly not sectarian. I was taken aback however when they started singing "Swing Low" but I have been assured since that this was a piss take of the Leicester fans!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on January 17, 2012, 10:26:29 AM
Quote from: screenexile on January 17, 2012, 09:59:23 AM
Was at the game on Friday and it was my first Ulster game and my first Heineken Cup game. It was definitely a great atmosphere and SUFTUM is certainly not sectarian. I was taken aback however when they started singing "Swing Low" but I have been assured since that this was a piss take of the Leicester fans!

yes, i text a mate of mine during the match, who is a seson ticket holder at Ravenhill, and said they change the words so its a piss take !
Post by: thejuice on January 17, 2012, 10:55:11 AM
They sang "swing low" when Martin Johnson was playing I think when they bate them a few years ago.

I think the words were "coming for to carry YOU home".

This is my local pub the weekend Ulster played Northampton last year and Rory Mc was golfing about on the telly the night before.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9-VVSg2WXAs

All good fun so it was. Ulster rugby fans are as good craic as any and not sectarian by any means from what I've seen.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 17, 2012, 10:56:42 AM
Quote from: thejuice on January 17, 2012, 10:55:11 AM
They sang "swing low" when Martin Johnson was playing I think when they bate them a few years ago.

I think the words were "coming for to carry YOU home".

This is my local pub the weekend Ulster played Northampton last year and Rory Mc was golfing about on the telly the night before.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9-VVSg2WXAs

All good fun so it was. Ulster rugby fans are as good craic as any and not sectarian by any means from what I've seen.

Post by: muppet on January 17, 2012, 10:59:39 AM
A large bunch of Scottish supporters sang Swing Low in a pub in Dublin during the 6N a few years ago, much to the shock of the rest of us. But then they added a verse:

You can stick yer f*cking Chariots up yer Arse,
You can stick yer f*cking Chariots,
Stick yer f*cking Chariots,
You can stick yer f*cking Chariots up yer Arse!
Post by: lawnseed on January 17, 2012, 11:09:14 PM
shouldnt the ulster flegs be yellow and red? and maybe the team colours
Post by: Maguire01 on January 17, 2012, 11:11:51 PM
Don't Connacht play in green?
Post by: lawnseed on January 17, 2012, 11:42:10 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 17, 2012, 11:11:51 PM
imo the red and white ulster flags are off putting. but i accept not having been to a match i could be getting the wrong impression
Post by: Maguire01 on January 17, 2012, 11:56:06 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 17, 2012, 11:42:10 PM
imo the red and white ulster flags are off putting. but i accept not having been to a match i could be getting the wrong impression
Ravenhill has a great atmosphere and I'd have no hesitations in attending there. The fact that the red and white flag is flown in the crowd alongside the yellow and red says a lot.
Post by: lawnseed on January 18, 2012, 12:10:27 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 17, 2012, 11:56:06 PM
Ravenhill has a great atmosphere and I'd have no hesitations in attending there. The fact that the red and white flag is flown in the crowd alongside the yellow and red says a lot.
its not quite the same thing as fermanagh lads wearing celtic jerseys to clones though is it? wee bit of a politcal flavour me thinks i wouldnt be too cosy with it
Post by: GAA_Talk on January 18, 2012, 02:25:31 AM
lads we need to get over this apparent subliminal i love the ra and all things to do with being 'catholic', against, i don't go to mass and appreciate all religions there for i'm an acceptable member of society...balls! some people don't actually care. deal with it!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 18, 2012, 08:13:14 AM
Lawnseed wouldnt eat a Cumberland sauage FFS!! Or Devon custard  ;)
Post by: ballinaman on January 18, 2012, 10:33:39 AM
Was up at the Ulster Munster Rabbo direct a few weeks ago and thought it was a great atmosphere, apart for the lad who insisted on whistling SUFTUM into my ear throughtout the match...
4 lads decked out in Munster gear beside me from Crossmaglen, got chatting and they said the can't abide Ulster rugby and travel to most games in Thomand park.
Think it just reinforces the "club" nature of rugby, don't necessarily have to be from the province to support a team...
Post by: screenexile on January 18, 2012, 11:35:33 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on January 18, 2012, 10:33:39 AM
Was up at the Ulster Munster Rabbo direct a few weeks ago and thought it was a great atmosphere, apart for the lad who insisted on whistling SUFTUM into my ear throughtout the match...
4 lads decked out in Munster gear beside me from Crossmaglen, got chatting and they said the can't abide Ulster rugby and travel to most games in Thomand park.
Think it just reinforces the "club" nature of rugby, don't necessarily have to be from the province to support a team...

You see that's ithe problem. Even where I'm from there's a huge stigma attached to Ulster Rugby and that they are seen as a protestant or Unionis team. While this may have been the case years ago it certainly isn't now in the professional era and with the popularity of Rugby rising even among the Catholic community Ulster will have more and more Catholic players over the next while.

Does anyone know if Ulster still fly the Union Jack at Ravenhill? I had a look around on Friday but couldn't see it. I know there was uproar when Ireland played Italy a few years ago that it wasn't to be flown but I wonder have they removed it altogether . . . I don't see any need for it to be there I mean you don't see Union Jack's flying around Premier League grounds or anything so why should it be the same in Rugby!
Post by: Evil Genius on January 18, 2012, 04:57:29 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 16, 2012, 10:23:54 PM
I laughed out loud when i went to Ravenhill and they chanted "stand up for the Ulster men, stand up for the Ulster men. It's played to the tune of Go west by the Pet Shop Boys!!!

I turned to my 6 4" rugby friend and let out a howler. He shook his head as he knew what I was getting at. I think it's a song for the younger generation of the supporters
Having been to a handful of Ulster games (home and away), I think what is more embarrassing than the actual song is the fact that it is the only song they have.

Worse, it was stolen from football (or "soccer", if you prefer), where it was first sung by WBA fans as "Go West, Bromwich Albion".

(Though to be fair, the rugby boys did come up with one amusing ditty when they played Toulouse in the Heineken a while back. To the tune of Mary Hopkin's "Those Were the Days", they sang "You're going to lose Toulouse, you're going to lose Toulouse, you're going to lose, you're going to lose Toulouse etc". Of course, it would have been even better had Toulouse not humped them, mind...)
Post by: Feckitt on January 18, 2012, 06:44:29 PM
Have to agree with most of the posters on this so far.  I went to Ravenhill last year for the first time ever and was really impressed.  Yes there were NI flags, but plenty of yellow Ulster flags as well, and people stood side by side flying both.  There were no union jacks, and the atmosphere was really good.  I would recommend it to anyone for a good Friday Night Out.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 18, 2012, 08:01:28 PM
Quote from: GAA_Talk on January 18, 2012, 02:25:31 AM
lads we need to get over this apparent subliminal i love the ra and all things to do with being 'catholic', against, i don't go to mass and appreciate all religions there for i'm an acceptable member of society...balls! some people don't actually care. deal with it!
What the hell are you talking about? What has going to mass got to do with standing up for the Ulster men?
Post by: michaelg on January 18, 2012, 08:39:43 PM
Or that they are bitter as f**k
Who really gives a shite if there is the odd NI flag?  Surely the fact there there are yellow Ulster flags and red and white NI flags is a good thing / in the spirit of the GFA
Post by: Maguire01 on January 18, 2012, 08:48:39 PM
The word 'bandwagon' springs to mind.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 18, 2012, 09:16:04 PM
There has always been the perception that Ulster rugby was the preserve of the Unionist middle-class. Nowadays it looks like you're more likely to find a Catholic attending than a working class Prod.
Post by: ballinaman on January 19, 2012, 09:48:00 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 18, 2012, 08:48:39 PM
Not sure about that now,met them for a pint before the Castres match last week and they have been season ticket holders for the last 4 years in Thomand, making the 7 hour round trip for every home game.
They said they had no affiliation to Ulster Rugby as it's a professional club, much the same as if you support an English premiership side when you are from Ireland. When it comes it GAA and the railway cup for example, I'd say they have a different story.
Post by: screenexile on January 19, 2012, 10:19:59 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on January 19, 2012, 09:48:00 AM
Not sure about that now,met them for a pint before the Castres match last week and they have been season ticket holders for the last 4 years in Thomand, making the 7 hour round trip for every home game.
They said they had no affiliation to Ulster Rugby as it's a professional club, much the same as if you support an English premiership side when you are from Ireland. When it comes it GAA and the railway cup for example, I'd say they have a different story.

Eh?? Are POC and ROG just doing it for the love of the game?
Post by: ballinaman on January 19, 2012, 10:26:24 AM
Quote from: screenexile on January 19, 2012, 10:19:59 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on January 19, 2012, 09:48:00 AM

Eh?? Are POC and ROG just doing it for the love of the game?
Nah, think they are getting a few bob alright, more than Young Munster and Cork Con can pay them anyways.
Post by: NAG1 on January 19, 2012, 10:39:25 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 18, 2012, 09:16:04 PM
There has always been the perception that Ulster rugby was the preserve of the Unionist middle-class. Nowadays it looks like you're more likely to find a Catholic attending than a working class Prod.

Says more about the upward mobility of the Catholic population or maybe the disintegration of the Protestant working communities, than it does about the sport itself. Its the cool place to be seen on a Friday night when its live on Sky and you can go into your mixed work place and say oh did the Ulster men do so well on Friday night!  ;)

Bit like the Giants with a bit more history.
Post by: Hardy on January 19, 2012, 11:06:09 AM
Surely a good thing that there's at least one element of popular culture that's bridging the sectarian/community divide? Isn't it in small steps like this, where people find interests and loyalties in common, that normalisation proceeds and the "shared future" of fond vision eventually materialises.

I'm surprised we haven't yet had the "Castle Catholics", "Stoops at play" jibes from those who cherish the divided past and dread the shared future.

Maybe there's hope.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 19, 2012, 11:16:54 AM
Lads, before you all go apoplectic on the Cross players supporting Munster I want to point something out.  The club has had very strong links with Cork for over 30 years now and we travel up and down to Ballincollig every year at different levels.  The mentality of people generally in the area is to look south rather than north for associations and it is not a political thing more an association to a similar cultural mentality.  I would have a fair idea about lads from the area who follow Munster religiously and there would be personal connections between a number of players from both squads.  There may be a bit of bandwagoning about it but no more so than say someone from Offaly  :P following Munster rugby over Leinster. 
Post by: oisinog on January 19, 2012, 12:09:05 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on January 19, 2012, 10:39:25 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 18, 2012, 09:16:04 PM

Says more about the upward mobility of the Catholic population or maybe the disintegration of the Protestant working communities, than it does about the sport itself. Its the cool place to be seen on a Friday night when its live on Sky and you can go into your mixed work place and say oh did the Ulster men do so well on Friday night!  ;)

Bit like the Giants with a bit more history.

I dont get this at all. Rugby has become more popular because the IRB found better ways to promote it. Also with the success Irish teams have had in Europe has also increase the popularty of the sport.

Personaly I have followed Ulster since the won the ERC many moon ago now.

Post by: lawnseed on January 19, 2012, 05:49:40 PM
what colour is the ulster flag? when did the six county statlet come into existence? was rugby in ulster before the six counties came into existence as a political entity? the flying of the red and white flag of the northern ireland  'IS' a political statement IMO especially when it is known in rugby that the term ulster refers to 9 counties not 6. people who bring the wrong flag to the match are not supporting ulster they are supporting 'northern ireland' that team doesn't exist in rabbo or Heineken or in rugby. just like people who bring Palestinian flags to gaa matches are making political statements. i find the practice uncomfortable as a person from a republican background who may be interested in supporting my own province.
Post by: trileacman on January 19, 2012, 06:06:12 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 19, 2012, 05:49:40 PM
what colour is the ulster flag? when did the six county statlet come into existence? was rugby in ulster before the six counties came into existence as a political entity? the flying of the red and white flag of the northern ireland  'IS' a political statement IMO especially when it is known in rugby that the term ulster refers to 9 counties not 6. people who bring the wrong flag to the match are not supporting ulster they are supporting 'northern ireland' that team doesn't exist in rabbo or Heineken or in rugby. just like people who bring Palestinian flags to gaa matches are making political statements. i find the practice uncomfortable as a person from a republican background who may be interested in supporting my own province.

What about the flying the tricolour at GAA matches? Does that not make a "political statement" that may make people from a unionist background uncomfortable in supporting their county team?

I couldn't give a f**k either way but you can't go around the whole time looking for something to annoy you.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 19, 2012, 06:14:52 PM
Quote from: trileacman on January 19, 2012, 06:06:12 PM
I couldn't give a f**k either way but you can't go around the whole time looking for something to annoy you.
But he can, and will.
Post by: Feckitt on January 19, 2012, 06:25:12 PM
Ulster Protestants live in a wee world all of their own, I would say that most of them would be saying to themselves. " What are them yellow Northern Ireland flags for?'.  Flying the NI flag doesnt make them sectarian or political.  As far as they are concerned they are from Ulster and that is the Ulster flag.  No harm done, and no offence meant.  Of course if you want to be offended.............
Post by: lawnseed on January 19, 2012, 06:27:35 PM

What about the flying the tricolour at GAA matches? Does that not make a "political statement" that may make people from a unionist background uncomfortable in supporting their county team?

flying the tricolour at gaa at matches is a gaa rule. and you are right political statements sometimes make people feel uncomfortable at sporting events that's my point. rugby is a peculiar sport in ireland and riddled with anomalies i do enjoy it but as in the cross lads referred to earlier I'd find myself drifting toward supporting the other 3 provinces before ulster and thats the vibe i get from it. hard to teach an old dog new tricks. 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 19, 2012, 06:51:30 PM
Then travel with your Cross mates. You'll meet southern prods though
Post by: oisinog on January 19, 2012, 06:58:42 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 19, 2012, 06:27:35 PM

flying the tricolour at gaa at matches is a gaa rule. and you are right political statements sometimes make people feel uncomfortable at sporting events that's my point. rugby is a peculiar sport in ireland and riddled with anomalies i do enjoy it but as in the cross lads referred to earlier I'd find myself drifting toward supporting the other 3 provinces before ulster and thats the vibe i get from it. hard to teach an old dog new tricks.

Try going to ravenhill and see if a political statement is made. Any time I have been the only talk is the match. Its the only sporting stadium in Northern Ireland that does not have any political afflication.
Post by: lawnseed on January 19, 2012, 07:25:20 PM
Quote from: oisinog on January 19, 2012, 06:58:42 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 19, 2012, 06:27:35 PM

Try going to ravenhill and see if a political statement is made. Any time I have been the only talk is the match. Its the only sporting stadium in Northern Ireland that does not have any political afflication.
you mean the north of ireland ;)
Post by: snoopdog on January 19, 2012, 11:13:35 PM
its rugby, its shite. getting wound up over a nothing game
Post by: oisinog on January 19, 2012, 11:38:12 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on January 19, 2012, 11:13:35 PM
its rugby, its shite. getting wound up over a nothing game

10 times better than the snore fest soccer
Post by: Windmill abu on January 20, 2012, 01:15:40 AM
QuoteIts the only sporting stadium in Northern Ireland that does not have any political afflication.

The Jim Baker Bowling Stadium & the Odyssey Arena, home of the Belfast Giants, might wonder what "political afflication" you apply to them
Post by: lawnseed on January 20, 2012, 09:19:52 AM
Quote from: michaelg on January 18, 2012, 08:39:43 PM
Or that they are bitter as f**k
Who really gives a shite if there is the odd NI flag?  Surely the fact there there are yellow Ulster flags and red and white NI flags is a good thing / in the spirit of the GFA
maybe if your at a match you could ask one of these guys why they brought the wrong flag. i didnt notice any of these flags at six nations or in new zealand yet loads of fans from the other 3 provinces wore their provincial jerseys indeed there were alot of flags bearing the "4 proud provinces of ireland...." (hard to beat a bit of phil) ::)
Post by: oisinog on January 20, 2012, 10:21:11 AM
Quote from: Windmill abu on January 20, 2012, 01:15:40 AM
QuoteIts the only sporting stadium in Northern Ireland that does not have any political afflication.

The Jim Baker Bowling Stadium & the Odyssey Arena, home of the Belfast Giants, might wonder what "political afflication" you apply to them

Being honest I didnt think of those two Stadiums. You would be right in saying that they have no satigmata associated with them   
Post by: Rossfan on January 20, 2012, 10:35:28 AM
Quote from: oisinog on January 20, 2012, 10:21:11 AM
QuoteBeing honest I didnt think of those two Stadiums. You would be right in saying that they have no satigmata associated with them

The 5 wounds of Christ   :o :o
Mixing Religion and politics ..... now that's goin too far.
Post by: lawnseed on January 20, 2012, 11:02:15 AM
Quote from: oisinog on January 20, 2012, 10:21:11 AM

Being honest I didnt think of those two Stadiums. You would be right in saying that they have no satigmata associated with them
stigma! oisin its the triple crown not the crown of thorns.. ahouch ;)
Post by: muppet on January 20, 2012, 11:57:54 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 19, 2012, 11:16:54 AM
Lads, before you all go apoplectic on the Cross players supporting Munster I want to point something out.  The club has had very strong links with Cork for over 30 years now and we travel up and down to Ballincollig every year at different levels.  The mentality of people generally in the area is to look south rather than north for associations and it is not a political thing more an association to a similar cultural mentality.  I would have a fair idea about lads from the area who follow Munster religiously and there would be personal connections between a number of players from both squads.  There may be a bit of bandwagoning about it but no more so than say someone from Offaly  :P following Munster rugby over Leinster.

What about someone from Mayo who, to some degree, supports all 4?
Post by: lawnseed on January 20, 2012, 12:01:04 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 20, 2012, 11:57:54 AM

what fleg does he have? as they say in coalisand
Post by: muppet on January 20, 2012, 12:01:38 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 20, 2012, 12:01:04 PM

what fleg does he have? as they say in coalisand

Not flegs, flegons.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 20, 2012, 12:19:32 PM

At least you will be nearly guaranteed following a team that will win a real  trophy for a change(sorry had to say it ;D)
Post by: Billys Boots on January 20, 2012, 12:20:47 PM
There may be a bit of bandwagoning about it but no more so than say someone from Offaly  :P following Munster rugby over Leinster.

Well said, that always stumped me!
Post by: thejuice on January 20, 2012, 12:47:18 PM
These lads who say they only support the southern 3 provinces must be awful die-hard partitionists.

I also would support all four with no real leaning towards any over another. I have followed rugby (well just the international team) as long as I have GAA.

Up until about 10-12 years ago, I didn't realise provincial rugby teams existed so for that I find it hard to get worked up about them now or the need to develop some sort of allegiance to one of them.
Post by: ballinaman on January 20, 2012, 01:17:55 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 20, 2012, 12:47:18 PM
These lads who say they only support the southern 3 provinces must be awful die-hard partitionists.

I also would support all four with no real leaning towards any over another. I have followed rugby (well just the international team) as long as I have GAA.

Up until about 10-12 years ago, I didn't realise provincial rugby teams existed so for that I find it hard to get worked up about them now or the need to develop some sort of allegiance to one of them.
I'd be with you on that note. Hope all the provinces do well at weekend and Connacht get some luck for a change!
Heading to the Northampton V Munster game tomorrow evening in Milton Keynes. Going with 7 die hard Munster lads so should be a bit of craic...well oiled come 6pm anyways  :D
Post by: AZOffaly on January 20, 2012, 02:10:52 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 20, 2012, 12:20:47 PM
There may be a bit of bandwagoning about it but no more so than say someone from Offaly  :P following Munster rugby over Leinster.

Well said, that always stumped me!

Ain't biting lads. I have a book released on this.

Stand up and fight!
Post by: thejuice on January 20, 2012, 03:43:46 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on January 20, 2012, 01:17:55 PM
Heading to the Northampton V Munster game tomorrow evening in Milton Keynes. Going with 7 die hard Munster lads so should be a bit of craic...well oiled come 6pm anyways  :D

Likewise, I dont have much red and white to wear but have a few green and gold jersies.  :P

Funny thing about Munster; supported by a load of Leinster lads and they sing a Connacht when they are winning.  :D
Post by: AZOffaly on January 20, 2012, 04:27:58 PM
Stand Up and Fight is beginning to make inroads in terms of the singing Juice. TFOA still gets a belting, but Stand Up and Fight is the 'official' song.
Post by: muppet on January 20, 2012, 08:23:21 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 20, 2012, 12:19:32 PM

At least you will be nearly guaranteed following a team that will win a real  trophy for a change(sorry had to say it ;D)

Just to be on the safe side I support both Oxford & Cambridge in the boat race and all the women tennis players at Wimbledon.
Post by: cicfada on January 20, 2012, 08:59:17 PM
Watching the Connacht match here, they are full of spirit but Harlequins have done well in the first and you would expect them  to  turn it on now with the wind in the second half!!  As a franchise Connacht are poxed  to be in this competition at all and will probably get in again if one of the other provinces win   the whole thing again! I mean how many free passes  do you get?? In any case I hope that either Ulster or Leinster beat Munster in the knockout stages!  That assumes of course that Ulster get through! The dickhead Munster fans, ( those ones who only surfaced around 10 years ago)  and they are many!!, are getting into full knockout mode down here. Most insecure people I have ever met! Grasping onto the Munster rugby  bandwagon for  all they're worth! Of course they will get tickets through their membership of the supporters club where people who have played the game and have actually followed the sport all thier lives will struggle to get tickets!! Rant over now, looking forward to the second half of the match online here.  The head of Connacht rugby union  Gerry Kelly used to teach me in school, now if they need the hairdryer treatment at halftime he is the man to give it to them! Anger management would never have worked on him, I tell ya!
Post by: Myles Na G. on January 21, 2012, 12:14:29 PM
I've been a season ticket holder at Ravenhill for about 6 years now. You'll see loads of different flags at the ground on match night: white Ulster flags, yellow Ulster flags, Ulster rugby flags, Croatian, Japanese (for the colours), NZ (for the Kiwi players)...anything goes and noone gets hung up about it. My mates from a unionist background don't get their knickers in a twist when people wave tricolours at the Ireland international games, even though that is just as inappropriate / appropriate as NI flags at Ulster games. Munster and Leinster fans come up to Ravenhill and stand with the Ulster supporters and there's no need for lines of police to keep the peace. Friday nights at Ravenhill are class, especially for HC games. If you haven't been before, do yourself a favour and give it a go.

In answer to someone else's question - I'm not sure if the union flag is still flown above Ravenhill on match nights. I haven't checked recently. I tend not to notice these things, in all honesty. The first time I became aware that it was flown was when the row blew up before the Italy game a few years ago, even though the flagpoles are above the entrance I use.
Post by: The Worker on January 21, 2012, 01:30:07 PM
Quote from: Myles Na G. on January 21, 2012, 12:14:29 PM
I've been a season ticket holder at Ravenhill for about 6 years now. You'll see loads of different flags at the ground on match night: white Ulster flags, yellow Ulster flags, Ulster rugby flags, Croatian, Japanese (for the colours), NZ (for the Kiwi players)...anything goes and noone gets hung up about it. My mates from a unionist background don't get their knickers in a twist when people wave tricolours at the Ireland international games, even though that is just as inappropriate / appropriate as NI flags at Ulster games. Munster and Leinster fans come up to Ravenhill and stand with the Ulster supporters and there's no need for lines of police to keep the peace. Friday nights at Ravenhill are class, especially for HC games. If you haven't been before, do yourself a favour and give it a go.

In answer to someone else's question - I'm not sure if the union flag is still flown above Ravenhill on match nights. I haven't checked recently. I tend not to notice these things, in all honesty. The first time I became aware that it was flown was when the row blew up before the Italy game a few years ago, even though the flagpoles are above the entrance I use.

Do you see any tricolours at ulster games?
Post by: fitzroyalty on January 21, 2012, 02:14:34 PM
To be honest anyone getting hung up about what flag is being flown clearly isn't there for the rugby. Who gives a rat's arse.
Post by: oisinog on January 21, 2012, 02:38:57 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on January 21, 2012, 02:14:34 PM
To be honest anyone getting hung up about what flag is being flown clearly isn't there for the rugby. Who gives a rat's arse.

The same pople complaining about the flags probably support man utd or liverpool who fly the union flag at their games
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 21, 2012, 03:09:11 PM
Quote from: The Worker on January 21, 2012, 01:30:07 PM

Do you see any tricolours at ulster games?

Bring one the next time you come
Post by: screenexile on January 21, 2012, 05:34:36 PM

I don't write understand what you're on about here? Why would someone get their knickers in a twist about Ireland flags being flown at an Ireland game?
Post by: Myles Na G. on January 21, 2012, 06:56:51 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 21, 2012, 05:34:36 PM

I don't write understand what you're on about here? Why would someone get their knickers in a twist about Ireland flags being flown at an Ireland game?
I'll spell it out for you then: the 26 county tricolour has as much relevance for the 32 county Irish rugby team, as the 6 county Ulster flag has for the 9 county Ulster rugby side, no more no less. Yet some on here feel their arses tighten if they catch sight of a NI flag at Ravenhill, yet don't seem to mind about the tricolours at the Aviva.
Post by: screenexile on January 21, 2012, 08:37:07 PM
Not that it hugely bothers me at all but the red and white flag is not a '6 County Ulster Flag' it is a Northern Ireland flag. The reason it gets on some peoples wick is that Northern Ireland are not the team playing which would suggest that the people flying the flag are trying to make some kind of political statement.

How anyone could get annoyed at people flying an Ireland flag at an Ireland game is well completely beyond me!

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flag_of_Ulster
Post by: Maiden1 on January 21, 2012, 08:55:24 PM
Ulster could have won that game, would have been a huge advantage to have a home quarter final.  They had a kickable penalty with 5 minutes to go when 5 behind then someone gave out to the ref and he swapped the penalty. They got another penalty with time up and had to then go for the try. Silly mistake.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 21, 2012, 09:33:40 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 21, 2012, 08:37:07 PM
Not that it hugely bothers me at all but the red and white flag is not a '6 County Ulster Flag' it is a Northern Ireland flag. The reason it gets on some peoples wick is that Northern Ireland are not the team playing which would suggest that the people flying the flag are trying to make some kind of political statement.

How anyone could get annoyed at people flying an Ireland flag at an Ireland game is well completely beyond me!
You're clearly only seeing this from your own viewpoint. Looking at it objectively:

Ulster = 9 counties, but 'Ulster Banner' = 6 counties
Ireland = 32 counties, but tricolour = 26 counties

So some Ulster nationalists get annoyed that some Ulster supporters wave a flag that doesn't represent them, and some unionists get annoyed that some Ireland supporters wave a flag that doesn't represent them. But most people have better things to get annoyed at and won't give a crap.
Post by: Myles Na G. on January 21, 2012, 10:43:39 PM

You're nearly there - just a wee bit more and you'll have it: Northern Ireland are not playing at Ravenhill on rugby nights, therefore the NI flag maybe isn't the most appropriate thing to wave. The Republic of Ireland isn't playing when Paul O'Connell leads the rugby lads out on to the pitch, therefore the flag of the republic should maybe be left at home. See? Easy peasy.  ;)
Post by: andoireabu on January 22, 2012, 03:20:42 AM
Sport and politics shouldn't be mixed. It seems on this thread some people are trying to.

If it has to be so then would it not be good if a few waving the ulster banner and a few waving the provincial flag were grouped in amounst each other? the common denominator being the team that they ALL follow.  Then over time the flags wouldn't be noticed. 

I grew up with GAA so rugby wasn't a big thing for me.  Perhaps because I didn't see much of it in school I thought of it as something the Protestant schools played so I hadn't much interest in Ulster rugby.  Though as I grew up and started following Ireland at the 6 nations, I started to follow rugby at a distance.  (I don't understand all the rules/laws but I mostly know when the ref has made a c**k up or a player has fouled)  The success of Munster caught my attention as well as the names associated with the Ireland team but for Ulster I wouldn't have known a thing.  Then the likes of the Best brothers, Tommy Bowe and Andrew Trimble as well as David Humphries from the years before got into my head and I took a slight interest in Ulster.  I wouldn't call myself a supporter as I haven't been to one of their games but I intend to go to one in the near future and would have no bother wishing them the best for the rest of the Heineken Cup (I know they will be thrilled). For the generation coming after me, I would have no problem letting my cub play rugby over Gaelic or Hurling if he wanted to, even if in my heart I would want him to line out for Derry (though he probably won't have the genes for that)  I hope its a good thing for the next generation to look at the ones before them and see most people getting along.  No Catholic sport against Protestant sport or one flag against another because all I have seen is that.  Not in a violent way like the past but it still lingers, the evidence is even on this thread.  It shouldn't be "us" and "them", it should be "our".

Post by: Hoof Hearted on January 22, 2012, 09:21:37 AM
When Ulster won the Heineken in 1999 at Lansdowne Road, a lot of Derry GAA men were in attendance supporting Ulster, mainly those who attended the Rainey in their schooldays. I have been talking about going to Ravenhill myself as 10 years, but some of these days i definately wil.....
Post by: Myles Na G. on January 22, 2012, 10:00:13 AM
Quote from: andoireabu on January 22, 2012, 03:20:42 AM
Sport and politics shouldn't be mixed. It seems on this thread some people are trying to.

If it has to be so then would it not be good if a few waving the ulster banner and a few waving the provincial flag were grouped in amounst each other? the common denominator being the team that they ALL follow.  Then over time the flags wouldn't be noticed. 

I grew up with GAA so rugby wasn't a big thing for me.  Perhaps because I didn't see much of it in school I thought of it as something the Protestant schools played so I hadn't much interest in Ulster rugby.  Though as I grew up and started following Ireland at the 6 nations, I started to follow rugby at a distance.  (I don't understand all the rules/laws but I mostly know when the ref has made a c**k up or a player has fouled)  The success of Munster caught my attention as well as the names associated with the Ireland team but for Ulster I wouldn't have known a thing.  Then the likes of the Best brothers, Tommy Bowe and Andrew Trimble as well as David Humphries from the years before got into my head and I took a slight interest in Ulster.  I wouldn't call myself a supporter as I haven't been to one of their games but I intend to go to one in the near future and would have no bother wishing them the best for the rest of the Heineken Cup (I know they will be thrilled). For the generation coming after me, I would have no problem letting my cub play rugby over Gaelic or Hurling if he wanted to, even if in my heart I would want him to line out for Derry (though he probably won't have the genes for that)  I hope its a good thing for the next generation to look at the ones before them and see most people getting along.  No Catholic sport against Protestant sport or one flag against another because all I have seen is that.  Not in a violent way like the past but it still lingers, the evidence is even on this thread.  It shouldn't be "us" and "them", it should be "our".
That happens already.
http://www.irishrugby.ie/news/13119.php
Post by: lawnseed on January 22, 2012, 12:26:51 PM

the official flag is red and yellow, surely the team shoud adopt those colours and seek to cut out the red and white in doing so
Post by: Gold on January 22, 2012, 12:38:55 PM
On another note see that NI Flag or Ulster Banner or whatever it's called--has it not been unofficial since 1970 or something and was it not only in use for 10 years??

Yet it still appears at the Commonwealth games etc?

It's basically an England Flag if there was to be an Official one would the NI heads not rather a different looking one?
Post by: lawnseed on January 22, 2012, 12:48:23 PM
Quote from: Gold on January 22, 2012, 12:38:55 PM
On another note see that NI Flag or Ulster Banner or whatever it's called--has it not been unofficial since 1970 or something and was it not only in use for 10 years??

Yet it still appears at the Commonwealth games etc?

It's basically an England Flag if there was to be an Official one would the NI heads not rather a different looking one?
i can only see the 'ulster banner' in one light hanging beside uvf/lvf/norn iron soccer flags. to me it represents dominance and discrimination. maybe its time rugby came out and unmuddied the waters like celtic and rangers say they are trying to do
Post by: Maguire01 on January 22, 2012, 01:55:39 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 22, 2012, 12:26:51 PM

the official flag is red and yellow, surely the team shoud adopt those colours and seek to cut out the red and white in doing so
So, here's the flag of the four provinces:
(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/6/65/Four_Provinces_Flag.svg/800px-Four_Provinces_Flag.svg.png)

Leinster's flag is mainly green, but they play in blue.
Connacht's flag is mainly blue, but they play in green.
Munster's flag is mainly blue, but they play in red.
Do you only have an issue with Ulster's colours?
Post by: lawnseed on January 23, 2012, 09:26:35 AM
and again.. the official flag IS red and yellow. why bring a sectarian/political flag to a rugby game where  as has been stated here the crowd is non sectarian/non political. for the record i have no problem in rugby adopting the composite four province flag as its official flag thus side stepping all the crap about tricolours. to my way of thinking taking the politics out of the situation is the way forward and all the better for rugby in ulster if it is to grow in the future. the presence of these ulster banners at matches is a negative image
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 23, 2012, 01:09:20 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 23, 2012, 09:26:35 AM
and again.. the official flag IS red and yellow. why bring a sectarian/political flag to a rugby game where  as has been stated here the crowd is non sectarian/non political. for the record i have no problem in rugby adopting the composite four province flag as its official flag thus side stepping all the crap about tricolours. to my way of thinking taking the politics out of the situation is the way forward and all the better for rugby in ulster if it is to grow in the future. the presence of these ulster banners at matches is a negative image

Don't go or watch Lawneed, that way you'll not be bothered. How anyone can be bothered about a flag is beyond me. If we continue to be annoyed at other peoples traditions then we will always have hate. It really is sad
Post by: oisinog on January 23, 2012, 06:21:43 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 23, 2012, 01:09:20 PM

Don't go or watch Lawneed, that way you'll not be bothered. How anyone can be bothered about a flag is beyond me. If we continue to be annoyed at other peoples traditions then we will always have hate. It really is sad

Well said MR2. Hopefully our boys can go and beat Munster and we have a good shot at the final
Post by: AZOffaly on January 23, 2012, 07:34:42 PM
Any of ye bucks planning on a trip to Limerick in April?
Post by: leaveherinsir on January 23, 2012, 08:03:29 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 23, 2012, 07:34:42 PM
Following a nine county Ulster in an all ireland sport, it will never catch on!! ;) ;) Oh wait......
Post by: Maguire01 on January 23, 2012, 09:47:45 PM
I suppose if you're looking to be offended, you'll probably find something to be offended by.
Post by: oisinog on January 24, 2012, 09:09:34 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 23, 2012, 07:34:42 PM

I would lov to go but I hopefully should
Have a 3 week old baby at that stage
Post by: lawnseed on January 24, 2012, 09:47:19 AM

so if there was an ulster banner hanging outside your house it wouldn't bother you at all? i put it to you that this flag has a political message that is not conducive to the peaceful future of this island. and the poor cretins who carry it around with them need to be left in no doubt that they are not promoting harmony or rugby but are in fact 'having a go'. they know full well that it is not the flag of ulster the province or ulster the rugby team but they seek to stamp their loyalist stamp on it. further more i think that ulster has the potential to be the dominant force in European rugby given the right image. IE the impression that it is a sport for all and not just and few ulster banner waving loyalists. if it is such an innocent flag how many of you own one (that you actually bought) I'm aware of a development of houses in a predominantly protestant village where young catholic families began to show an interest in purchasing a home. when word got  out that this was the case guess what flags were plastered over the new empty houses within days....? harmless "ulster rugby flags"(banners) so they just wanted ulster supporters no munster men? yeah that must be it : ::)
Post by: lawnseed on January 24, 2012, 09:52:46 AM
just out of interest what flag do orange lodges in monaghan cavan or donegal fly when they are marching is it yellow and red
Post by: Denn Forever on January 24, 2012, 09:56:59 AM
Will Tyrone have to bring out a new Jersey now?
Post by: screenexile on January 24, 2012, 10:07:34 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on January 24, 2012, 09:56:59 AM
Will Tyrone have to bring out a new Jersey now?

No.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 24, 2012, 11:37:37 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 24, 2012, 09:47:19 AM

so if there was an ulster banner hanging outside your house it wouldn't bother you at all? i put it to you that this flag has a political message that is not conducive to the peaceful future of this island. and the poor cretins who carry it around with them need to be left in no doubt that they are not promoting harmony or rugby but are in fact 'having a go'. they know full well that it is not the flag of ulster the province or ulster the rugby team but they seek to stamp their loyalist stamp on it. further more i think that ulster has the potential to be the dominant force in European rugby given the right image. IE the impression that it is a sport for all and not just and few ulster banner waving loyalists. if it is such an innocent flag how many of you own one (that you actually bought) I'm aware of a development of houses in a predominantly protestant village where young catholic families began to show an interest in purchasing a home. when word got  out that this was the case guess what flags were plastered over the new empty houses within days....? harmless "ulster rugby flags"(banners) so they just wanted ulster supporters no munster men? yeah that must be it : ::)

Would it be disrespectful to have a tricolour banner hanging over your house to the other side?
Post by: whitegoodman on January 24, 2012, 01:27:11 PM
I see redevelopment plans have been announced today for Ravenhill.  Perhaps we could get one of the stands painted green, white and gold to appease everyone!!!!!

Some rediculous nonsense spouted on this thread.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 24, 2012, 06:16:04 PM
so if there was an ulster banner hanging outside your house it wouldn't bother you at all?
Any flag outside my house would annoy me. Flags of any persuasion do the neighbourhood no favours.

if it is such an innocent flag how many of you own one (that you actually bought)
I don't own any flags. Do you have a collection?
It is also possible for people not to support something (e.g. that flag), but not get upset or offended when they see it.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 24, 2012, 06:16:39 PM
i think that ulster has the potential to be the dominant force in European rugby given the right image. IE the impression that it is a sport for all and not just and few ulster banner waving loyalists.
The fact that the you can already see the yellow Ulster flag in the crowd, alongside the 'Ulster Banner'... as well as the numerous people on here who support Ulster and have attended Ravenhill with no problems... demonstrates that this is already the case. Do keep up.
Post by: lawnseed on January 25, 2012, 09:49:15 AM
Quote from: whitegoodman on January 24, 2012, 01:27:11 PM
I see redevelopment plans have been announced today for Ravenhill.  Perhaps we could get one of the stands painted green, white and gold to appease everyone!!!!!

your right! ridiculous! the colours are red and yellow. just think how much redevelopment they'd need if they got rid of their sectarian trappings
Post by: oisinog on January 25, 2012, 10:52:19 AM
Quote from: lawnseed on January 25, 2012, 09:49:15 AM
Quote from: whitegoodman on January 24, 2012, 01:27:11 PM

your right! ridiculous! the colours are red and yellow. just think how much redevelopment they'd need if they got rid of their sectarian trappings

The easy thing for you is if it offends you dont watch it.

If you are not watching a match then it can't offend you.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 25, 2012, 01:38:24 PM
Twisted headers on here. Lanwseed is a WUM
Post by: Evil Genius on January 25, 2012, 02:40:02 PM
i put it to you that this flag has a political message that is not conducive to the peaceful future of this island. and the poor cretins who carry it around with them need to be left in no doubt that they are not promoting harmony or rugby but are in fact 'having a go'. they know full well that it is not the flag of ulster the province or ulster the rugby team but they seek to stamp their loyalist stamp on it. further more i think that ulster has the potential to be the dominant force in European rugby given the right image. IE the impression that it is a sport for all and not just and few ulster banner waving loyalists. if it is such an innocent flag how many of you own one (that you actually bought) I'm aware of a development of houses in a predominantly protestant village where young catholic families began to show an interest in purchasing a home. when word got  out that this was the case guess what flags were plastered over the new empty houses within days....? harmless "ulster rugby flags"(banners) so they just wanted ulster supporters no munster men? yeah that must be it : ::)
Some fans who go to Ravenhill wave an NI flag (white and red). Some wave an Ulster flag (yellow and red). Some others wave an Ulster Rugby flag. Most fans do not wave any flag.
None of the people who go, drawn as they are from both communities, get in the slighest bit bothered by any of it.

In fact, the only people who do get offended are people like you, who don't even go. Oh, and the local Free Presbyterians, who object to their playing the occasional game on a Sunday.

You're well matched...  ::)
Post by: oisinog on January 25, 2012, 04:45:56 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 25, 2012, 02:40:02 PM
i put it to you that this flag has a political message that is not conducive to the peaceful future of this island. and the poor cretins who carry it around with them need to be left in no doubt that they are not promoting harmony or rugby but are in fact 'having a go'. they know full well that it is not the flag of ulster the province or ulster the rugby team but they seek to stamp their loyalist stamp on it. further more i think that ulster has the potential to be the dominant force in European rugby given the right image. IE the impression that it is a sport for all and not just and few ulster banner waving loyalists. if it is such an innocent flag how many of you own one (that you actually bought) I'm aware of a development of houses in a predominantly protestant village where young catholic families began to show an interest in purchasing a home. when word got  out that this was the case guess what flags were plastered over the new empty houses within days....? harmless "ulster rugby flags"(banners) so they just wanted ulster supporters no munster men? yeah that must be it : ::)
Some fans who go to Ravenhill wave an NI flag (white and red). Some wave an Ulster flag (yellow and red). Some others wave an Ulster Rugby flag. Most fans do not wave any flag.
None of the people who go, drawn as they are from both communities, get in the slighest bit bothered by any of it.

In fact, the only people who do get offended are people like you, who don't even go. Oh, and the local Free Presbyterians, who object to their playing the occasional game on a Sunday.

I wonder how they are going to react to the Muster - Ulster match on Easter Sunday
Post by: lawnseed on January 25, 2012, 06:55:34 PM

yeh? and whats that flag your flying? its been unofficial since 1970 so why do you use it? as YOU say its the northern ireland flag.. NORTHERN IRELAND ARE NOT PLAYING! NORTHERN IRELAND DONT HAVE A RUGBY TEAM! WHY BRING THE WRONG FLAG?
Post by: johnneycool on January 30, 2012, 11:33:52 AM
Quote from: oisinog on January 25, 2012, 04:45:56 PM

I wonder how they are going to react to the Muster - Ulster match on Easter Sunday

By trying to get the game moved but Sky were having none of it;

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/rugby_union/16741366.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/rugby_union/16741366.stm)
Post by: screenexile on January 30, 2012, 11:56:04 AM
Talk about pandering!! Just a PR stunt to keep the Free P's onside there's no way Ulster will not be fulfilling that fixture!
Post by: johnneycool on January 30, 2012, 12:00:05 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 30, 2012, 11:56:04 AM
Talk about pandering!! Just a PR stunt to keep the Free P's onside there's no way Ulster will not be fulfilling that fixture!

And it will be a sell out.

Sure there's plenty of Churchs round there to get an evening service if you so desire. The Rev Ian's place is less than a mile away.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 30, 2012, 12:56:58 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on January 30, 2012, 12:00:05 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 30, 2012, 11:56:04 AM

And it will be a sell out.

Sure there's plenty of Churchs round there to get an evening service if you so desire. The Rev Ian's place is less than a mile away.

From Thomond Park?  :o
Post by: johnneycool on January 30, 2012, 01:26:47 PM
Oops, forgot about that.

Are there no protestants in Limerick or have they all been burned and bred out?
Post by: AZOffaly on January 30, 2012, 01:27:59 PM
No Free Ps that I'm aware of. There are CoI churches around the place, but I don't know who goes to them. Can you tell them apart physically?
Post by: lawnseed on January 30, 2012, 09:13:08 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 30, 2012, 01:27:59 PM
No Free Ps that I'm aware of. There are CoI churches around the place, but I don't know who goes to them. Can you tell them apart physically?
vernier calipers... its the only way to be sure
Post by: Nally Stand on February 26, 2012, 10:56:35 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 16, 2012, 08:28:49 PM
Stand Up For The Ulster Men?

(http://gaa.ie/content/images/news/ulster/HarteMulliganInterpro.jpg)