GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: ONeill on August 14, 2011, 02:12:35 PM

Title: Dublin - The Superpower
Post by: ONeill on August 14, 2011, 02:12:35 PM
Fighting on all fronts, in all codes - can the Jackeen Juggernaut be stopped? (Bearing in mind Tipp might chip a little bit off that later)
Title: Re: Dublin - The Superpower
Post by: Jinxy on August 14, 2011, 03:02:52 PM
All hail our new overlords.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 14, 2011, 04:09:40 PM
Country scribed and hyped........................nothing else
Post by: armaghniac on August 14, 2011, 04:55:03 PM
Some of you in Tyrone have been campaigning for years to be ruled by Dublin.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 15, 2011, 12:08:07 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 14, 2011, 04:55:03 PM
Some of you in Tyrone have been campaigning for years to be ruled by Dublin.

While us down in Mayo are sick of being ruled by them.
Post by: Bingo on August 15, 2011, 12:17:34 PM
Time to split the county in two, maybe even three  - Northside, Southside and Blowins.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 15, 2011, 03:24:12 PM
Quote from: Bingo on August 15, 2011, 12:17:34 PM
Time to split the county in two, maybe even three  - Northside, Southside and Blowins.

+ Westside, Tallaghfornia, the Liberties, North County Dublin, South County Dublin, Hill of Howth, Dublin 4.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 15, 2011, 03:48:46 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 15, 2011, 03:24:12 PM
Quote from: Bingo on August 15, 2011, 12:17:34 PM

+ Westside, Tallaghfornia, the Liberties, North County Dublin, South County Dublin, Hill of Howth, Dublin 4.

Marty Morriseyisms are alive and well I see

Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 15, 2011, 03:58:09 PM
Any chance of a few million between Mayo, Roscommon, Sligo, Leitrim and North & West Galway for hurling development.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 15, 2011, 04:03:04 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 15, 2011, 03:58:09 PM
Any chance of a few million between Mayo, Roscommon, Sligo, Leitrim and North & West Galway for hurling development.

friends of mayo hurling or .............................. mighty ming
Post by: Coddler on August 15, 2011, 04:17:21 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 15, 2011, 03:58:09 PM
No. Conor Mortimer would just waste it on hairdressers and tanning booths.
Post by: Blowitupref on August 15, 2011, 04:54:19 PM
Must be expensive following all these Dublin teams this year.
Post by: ONeill on August 28, 2011, 02:55:22 PM
Oh to be a Dub.
Post by: muppet on August 28, 2011, 05:23:32 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 28, 2011, 02:55:22 PM
Oh to be a Dub.

In fairness it is a tough bandwagon to mount.
Post by: ross4life on August 28, 2011, 07:23:00 PM
Great time to be a Dub i can imagine, Hurling,Minor,U21 finals & football Senior,Minor finals but i suppose they will need to win some of those finals.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 28, 2011, 07:55:37 PM
(http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSlBcXkWIIEVSlBFiSZGiUmbq44s0Qu5Fi-FTLDt3MwWidcJ9M)
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 28, 2011, 08:24:01 PM
Wont be much of a bandwagon, kerry surely will get most of the tickets for this one........................heard tommy hilfiger is coming in for this one, yerra yerra galvin
Post by: ONeill on August 28, 2011, 09:22:03 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 28, 2011, 07:23:00 PM
Great time to be a Dub i can imagine, Hurling,Minor,U21 finals & football Senior,Minor finals but i suppose they will need to win some of those finals.

Thank feck for Tipp seniors we'd be sick of the Boys in Blue.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 29, 2011, 10:06:40 AM
Is this the best year ever in Dublin GAA History? Or as Eddie Moroney (effin Eddie) said to the Aherlow lad he was interviewing 'The best day in history in GAA circumstances'.

Minor Footballers - favourite in All Ireland Final
Senior Footballers - 50-50 in All Ireland Final
Senior Hurlers - League Champions, All Ireland Semi Finalists
Minor Hurlers - favourite in All Ireland Final
Under 21 Hurlers - maybe favourites in All Ireland Final.

An awesome year in fairness. The best dual county at the moment by a long chalk.
Post by: ONeill on August 29, 2011, 10:08:54 AM
The 6 billion euros Bertie pumped into the Dubs is certainly paying dividends.

Did you see the bit yesterday when O'Rourke said a Dublin All-Ireland would be good for GAA and Brolly asked him why? The Meath man was without reason.
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 29, 2011, 12:18:58 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 29, 2011, 10:08:54 AM
The 6 billion euros Bertie pumped into the Dubs is certainly paying dividends.

Did you see the bit yesterday when O'Rourke said a Dublin All-Ireland would be good for GAA and Brolly asked him why? The Meath man was without reason.
I'd expect that with the rugby world cup looking like it is going to be a complete disaster for Ireland, there needs to be another sporting 'hero' to take its place.
Dublin winning the AI would be a massive boost to GAA in the county and it would get kids interested in it more so than a Kerry win and another glorious failure would do.

Then if Dublin win, there would be a lot more potential money to be made in sponsorship for the GAA.
Good for the GAA game in these recessionary times ...!
Post by: neilthemac on August 29, 2011, 12:27:26 PM
Maybe Dublin could start paying themselves for the €1 million they receive annually for their coaching structures? Thats money from the TAXPAYER

No other county gets 50 FULL TIME coaches to go into schools and clubs.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 29, 2011, 12:57:48 PM
Quote from: neilthemac on August 29, 2011, 12:27:26 PM
Maybe Dublin could start paying themselves for the €1 million they receive annually for their coaching structures? Thats money from the TAXPAYER

They should get more if they utilise it as well as they have done with the hurling development plan. About a quarter of the population of the country live there FFS. I'm not a Dublin fan and felt sick that Donegal made me support them yesterday but if we had 50 full time coaches going into schools in Sligo....well sadly I wonder if it would make much difference.
Post by: Orior on August 29, 2011, 02:15:28 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 28, 2011, 07:23:00 PM

And of course there is Shamrock Rovers. Hang on thats soccer. None of that sort of talk on the Hill I hope.
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 29, 2011, 11:34:09 PM
QuoteThe best dual county at the moment by a long chalk

We already have Christy Ring won this year, t'would be a rare and nice double if we take the other Corkman to the Kingdom too.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on August 30, 2011, 12:09:38 AM

Thats a lot of fulltime coaches alright, but probably needed given the population of the Dublin area. Proportionally though Cork for example would probably have a lot more..not sure what way the funding works with them.

I can't f*cking wait for this final anyway, hopefully the ticket race isn't too bad...
Post by: armaghniac on August 30, 2011, 12:11:15 AM
QuoteI can't f*cking wait for this final anyway, hopefully the ticket race isn't too bad...

Why not hope for warm sunny weather, while you are at it.
Post by: mannix on August 30, 2011, 08:36:44 AM
they certainly did not look so super on sunday last
Post by: heffo on August 30, 2011, 08:45:57 AM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on August 30, 2011, 12:09:38 AM

Thats a lot of fulltime coaches alright, but probably needed given the population of the Dublin area.

It is a lot of fulltime coaches alright but bear in mind that the clubs pay for half of the GPO's salary.
Post by: Hill16 Blues on August 30, 2011, 12:03:03 PM
Would suggest people try and take broader view re investment in GAA in Dublin. Irish rugby team might be banjaxed but Leinster rugby definitely aren't. If anything Leinster have overtaken Dublin in large areas of the county as foremost sports team. Media certainly here give them huge attention. You can also notice dearth of Dublin jerseys around the city this year + fairly sizeable fall of in attendances at Dublin games this Summer. Of course that will chnage with runup to AIF.

Dublin GAA need an All Ireland very badly to compete with rugby & soccer in the city. The GAA itself needs a strong GAA in Dublin to ensure media coverage and sponsorship nationally. Them's the facts whether you like/dislike Dublin.
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 30, 2011, 12:09:13 PM
rugby and soccer are for poofs  ;)

If ya can turn a man gay you can turn him gaa  ;D
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 31, 2011, 07:23:10 AM
well, with a signature that says "play with wild gay abandon" we'll have to take your word for it  ;D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 31, 2011, 01:45:39 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 31, 2011, 07:23:10 AM
well, with a signature that says "play with wild gay abandon" we'll have to take your word for it  ;D

I think it is a political statement about another Gay from Dublin abandoning the Presidental race.
Post by: Canalman on August 31, 2011, 04:47:41 PM
Nobody I know spouting this type of "superpower " guff here in Dublin.Maybe mischievous antidubs are at it.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 18, 2011, 02:36:59 PM
Seems we have a new Superpower, Tipperary!!

Dublin in 4 finals and could lose all them!!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 18, 2011, 02:41:53 PM
Dubs have lost 3 All-Ireland finals now in the past 3 weeks. Can the senior footballers save them from the worst kind of clean sweep?
Post by: ross4life on September 18, 2011, 05:21:13 PM
Well the Dubs won the one they wanted most.