GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Mayo4Sam on August 08, 2011, 12:04:06 PM

Title: Largest deficit over turned?
Post by: Mayo4Sam on August 08, 2011, 12:04:06 PM
Just wondering what the largest deficit ye remember being turned around?
Mayo were 12 points down to Dublin in the league this year and got back to level terms but then lost the game.
6 down to cork the last day, 7 to the dubs in '06 and was it 7 to Galway in '04?

There was also some game there in the mid 90's that we were 6 points up but we drew that thank God  :-\

Edit: maybe keep it to intercounty
Title: Re: Largest deficit over turned?
Post by: David McKeown on August 08, 2011, 12:07:44 PM
Armagh were at least 7 down to Fermanagh at the Athletic Grounds in the early 90's with 5 minutes to go and won by a point.
Post by: ONeill on August 08, 2011, 12:10:33 PM
Down were 9 up against Tyrone in 2003. Not overturned I suppose.
Post by: Onlooker on August 08, 2011, 12:16:30 PM
Tipperary minors were 11 points behind Kerry in the first half of the Munster Semi Final and 10 points behind at half time, but won by a point.  Armagh minors pulled back a very big lead against Down.  I am not sure of the lead that Down had, but AFAIK it was in the 10 points region.  Only for an unlucky extra time defeat for Armagh by Roscommon the All Ireland Quarter Final, Tipp and Armagh would have met in the All Ireland Semi Final in 2 weeks time.  That would have been a game to look forward to.
Post by: AQMP on August 08, 2011, 12:19:52 PM
I seem to remember way back in the blearly eyed mists of time in the 1982 Ulster Minor Final, Antrim were at one point possibly 11?? points down against Down and went on to win.  Time may have stretched this deficit but they were at least 9 points down at one stage.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 08, 2011, 01:33:01 PM
Quote from: Onlooker on August 08, 2011, 12:16:30 PM
Tipperary minors were 11 points behind Kerry in the first half of the Munster Semi Final and 10 points behind at half time, but won by a point.  Armagh minors pulled back a very big lead against Down.  I am not sure of the lead that Down had, but AFAIK it was in the 10 points region.  Only for an unlucky extra time defeat for Armagh by Roscommon the All Ireland Quarter Final, Tipp and Armagh would have met in the All Ireland Semi Final in 2 weeks time.  That would have been a game to look forward to.

Armagh were 12 down with 20 mins to go this year against Down and won the game.
Post by: PAULD123 on August 08, 2011, 03:44:34 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on August 08, 2011, 12:07:44 PM
Armagh were at least 7 down to Fermanagh at the Athletic Grounds in the early 90's with 5 minutes to go and won by a point.

It was 9 points down with around 5-6 minutes to go. Fermanagh were a bit cocky and brought on some young lads as a run-out. Armagh more-or-less having given up on the sidelines brought on Barry O'Hagan to give him a debut. Barry got the ball wide and ran at the defence. Even though Armagh needed goals badly, Barry hit the ball over the bar. To be honest he just looked like he wanted a score on his championship début. The rest of the team looked at him like he was an idiot. Anyway from the kickout the ball went to midfield where it was fielded and then booted forward - Goal. few minutes left and now five points in it. Grimley was moved to full forward from midfield and the result was pretty much two kickouts, two catches, two punts forward and two net busters.

Armagh won by a point and if it hadn't been for O'Hagan's point it would have been a draw at best. The Athletic Grounds was half empty by the time the final whistle was blown as a lot of Armagh fans had left early in disgust. I passed lots of orange flags that had been thrown in the hedges and ditches as I left the ground. I was thinking that I bet those guys wished they had stayed and never thrown their flags away.

I believe the game was 1993.
Post by: blanketattack on August 08, 2011, 04:02:25 PM
2008: Wexford 10 down to Meath and won by 1
'72 hurling final. Cork 8 up with 13 min to go and Kilkenny scored 2-9 to win.
'91 Munster hurling: Tipp 9 pts down to Cork and won by 4
'08 A-I Semi. Cork were 8 points down to Kerry with 2 min to go and 6 pts down with the 70 minutes up and scored 2 goal in injury time to draw. In the replay Cork came from 10 points down to draw level only to see the Gooch score a late goal to win.
Post by: Bogball XV on August 08, 2011, 04:17:47 PM
Quote from: PAULD123 on August 08, 2011, 03:44:34 PM

It was 9 points down with around 5-6 minutes to go. Fermanagh were a bit cocky and brought on some young lads as a run-out. Armagh more-or-less having given up on the sidelines brought on Barry O'Hagan to give him a debut. Barry got the ball wide and ran at the defence. Even though Armagh needed goals badly, Barry hit the ball over the bar. To be honest he just looked like he wanted a score on his championship début. The rest of the team looked at him like he was an idiot. Anyway from the kickout the ball went to midfield where it was fielded and then booted forward - Goal. few minutes left and now five points in it. Grimley was moved to full forward from midfield and the result was pretty much two kickouts, two catches, two punts forward and two net busters.

Armagh won by a point and if it hadn't been for O'Hagan's point it would have been a draw at best. The Athletic Grounds was half empty by the time the final whistle was blown as a lot of Armagh fans had left early in disgust. I passed lots of orange flags that had been thrown in the hedges and ditches as I left the ground. I was thinking that I bet those guys wished they had stayed and never thrown their flags away.

Was that not the game that Denis Holywood scored a couple of goals in?
Post by: Stevie g 8 on August 08, 2011, 04:46:45 PM
wexford in 2008 in the leinster championship was one of the best turnarounds i ever saw.what was the deficit in the 1994 hurling final between offally and limerick
Post by: haze on August 08, 2011, 05:00:46 PM
Quote from: Stevie g 8 on August 08, 2011, 04:46:45 PM
wexford in 2008 in the leinster championship was one of the best turnarounds i ever saw.what was the deficit in the 1994 hurling final between offally and limerick

Offaly 5 five down with 5 to play and won 6. Some turnaround. I'll never forget the faces of some of the Limerick fans leaving that match.

Post by: AZOffaly on August 08, 2011, 05:03:53 PM
Neither will I :D
Post by: naka on August 08, 2011, 05:06:59 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on August 08, 2011, 04:17:47 PM

it was
felt really sorry for fermanagh manager that they--he was in tears at the end
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 08, 2011, 05:26:12 PM
We were 0-7 to 0-0 down to Kerry in the 2000 AI final and the game eventually finished 0-14 all. We should have won it at the death too. Still sick over that one.

I also remember the Galway hurlers being 9 points up at half-time against Kilkenny in 97 I think before a DJ inspired 2nd half comeback.

Hard to beat the 1994 hurling final though for dramatic comebacks.
Post by: INDIANA on August 08, 2011, 05:34:22 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on August 08, 2011, 05:26:12 PM
We were 0-7 to 0-0 down to Kerry in the 2000 AI final and the game eventually finished 0-14 all. We should have won it at the death too. Still sick over that one.

I also remember the Galway hurlers being 9 points up at half-time against Kilkenny in 97 I think before a DJ inspired 2nd half comeback.

Hard to beat the 1994 hurling final though for dramatic comebacks.

dublin were about 10 behind against kerry in thurles in 2001 in the first game and came back to draw.
Post by: blanketattack on August 08, 2011, 05:44:49 PM
1986 All Ireland final. Kerry 7 points down, would have been 9 if Tyrone scored a goal from a penalty instead of a point, Kerry won by 8.
Post by: ross4life on August 08, 2011, 05:44:52 PM
Tipperary minors were 11 points behind Kerry in the first half of the Munster Semi Final and 10 points behind at half time, but won by a point.  Armagh minors pulled back a very big lead against Down.  I am not sure of the lead that Down had, but AFAIK it was in the 10 points region. Only for an unlucky extra time defeat for Armagh by Roscommon the All Ireland Quarter Final, Tipp and Armagh would have met in the All Ireland Semi Final in 2 weeks time.  That would have been a game to look forward to.
What has your last piece got to do with the largest deficit over turned & does that mean your not looking forward to the semi final now?

Going back to the topic i bet Meath over turned some big scores.
Post by: blast05 on August 08, 2011, 06:29:19 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on August 08, 2011, 12:04:06 PM
Mayo were 12 points down to Dublin in the league this year and got back to level terms but then lost the game.
6 down to cork the last day, 7 to the dubs in '06 and was it 7 to Galway in '04?

There was also some game there in the mid 90's that we were 6 points up but we drew that thank God  :-\

I thought we were 14 down against Dublin at one stage in the league this year... not 'just' 12 !
Post by: mannix on August 08, 2011, 06:57:15 PM
i played in a junior game in dublin in the late nineties where we were losing by 22 points at half time and won by a point. we had a fella playing the second half that was lets just say not very junior in the skills department. anyway the herald refused to accept the scoreline, outlandish amount of goals.
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 08, 2011, 07:52:44 PM
Cavan were 7 behind wicklow in the qualifiers last year and down to 13 men and won by a point.
Post by: Kerry Mike on August 08, 2011, 08:39:02 PM
86 a clear winner we did it on the biggest stage not some junior b game and Spillane was the main man.  ;)
Post by: David McKeown on August 08, 2011, 09:22:08 PM
Quote from: naka on August 08, 2011, 05:06:59 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on August 08, 2011, 04:17:47 PM

it was
felt really sorry for fermanagh manager that they--he was in tears at the end

That was my first championship game in the athletic grounds and probably accounts for my love affair with county football. Remember meeting people outside after who wouldn't believe me Armagh had won
Post by: Onlooker on August 09, 2011, 10:31:39 AM
Quote from: ross4life on August 08, 2011, 05:44:52 PM
Tipperary minors were 11 points behind Kerry in the first half of the Munster Semi Final and 10 points behind at half time, but won by a point.  Armagh minors pulled back a very big lead against Down.  I am not sure of the lead that Down had, but AFAIK it was in the 10 points region. Only for an unlucky extra time defeat for Armagh by Roscommon the All Ireland Quarter Final, Tipp and Armagh would have met in the All Ireland Semi Final in 2 weeks time.  That would have been a game to look forward to.
What has your last piece got to do with the largest deficit over turned & does that mean your not looking forward to the semi final now?

Going back to the topic i bet Meath over turned some big scores.
Just a comment that 2 teams that had appeared to be definitely out of the Championship at an early stage almost met in an All Ireland Semi Final.  Certainly looking forward to the game with Roscommon and meant no offence to any Ros players or supporters.  I note the bookies have RN installed as favourites to reach the final with Dublin the hottest of favourites in the other semi.
Post by: blanketattack on August 09, 2011, 10:34:31 AM
Quote from: blast05 on August 08, 2011, 06:29:19 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on August 08, 2011, 12:04:06 PM

I thought we were 14 down against Dublin at one stage in the league this year... not 'just' 12 !

It was 14 points. 4-4 to 0-2 after 23 minutes. And that was without B Brogan who had missed his flight after meeting Barack Obama in the White House.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on August 09, 2011, 12:48:46 PM
1999 Leinster champ agin Wexford in a wet and windy Enniscorthy.

10 points down early doors second half - managed to get a draw and won the replay in Longford.
Post by: J70 on August 09, 2011, 01:59:08 PM
Wasn't there a big comeback in a Meath-Wexford game a couple of years back?

Can't remember who came back or who won!
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 10, 2011, 11:39:39 AM
Any of my Rossie mates out there?
A few years ago in a Connacht semi-final, Galway had built up a huge lead at half time.  I just can't recall the details now but it was an absolutely cat day in the Hyde. Roscommon had performed so badly in the first half that it seemed Galway could start making plans for the final.
However, the sheepophiles had other ideas and came out fighting when the game restarted. Galway didn't know what hit them. Even making allowances for the weather, Roscommon deserved great credit for their second half display.  They won with several points to spare.
I think this happened in 2004 but I'm not sure.
Post by: Bogball XV on August 10, 2011, 12:13:56 PM
Quote from: J70 on August 09, 2011, 01:59:08 PM

the game was the same day derry went to ballybofey and won, wexford won as they played in the leinster final that year, but I can't remember if it was they who threw away the lead but ultimately prevailed or if meath threw away the lead.  It was May 2008 iirc.

Meath posters??
Post by: squire_in_navy_slacks on August 10, 2011, 12:47:55 PM

Wexford.........................53 mins gone meath 10 or 11 clear, wexford came back and won by 1.................... i had the royals backed, money spent and everything
Post by: Jinxy on August 10, 2011, 02:26:05 PM

Me neither.
It must have been us, after all we are the comeback kings.
NEXT!
Post by: Hardy on August 10, 2011, 02:39:41 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on August 10, 2011, 12:13:56 PM

the game was the same day derry went to ballybofey and won, wexford won as they played in the leinster final that year, but I can't remember if it was they who threw away the lead but ultimately prevailed or if meath threw away the lead.  It was May 2008 iirc.

Meath posters??

No - sorry - can't remember.

We've had so many, they all blur into one.
Post by: Jinxy on August 10, 2011, 02:50:05 PM
Do Wexford even have a football team?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on August 10, 2011, 03:14:39 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on August 10, 2011, 11:39:39 AM
A few years ago in a Connacht semi-final, Galway had built up a huge lead at half time.  I just can't recall the details now but it was an absolutely cat day in the Hyde. Roscommon had performed so badly in the first half that it seemed Galway could start making plans for the final.
However, the sheepophiles had other ideas and came out fighting when the game restarted. Galway didn't know what hit them. Even making allowances for the weather, Roscommon deserved great credit for their second half display.  They won with several points to spare.

I can't remember us losing to Roscommon in championship since the 2001 game. In 2004 I think we lost the semi to Mayo. Did we not go 1-3 to 0-0 up after 5 minutes but got overhauled.
Post by: ross4life on August 10, 2011, 04:10:16 PM

2006 we almost held Galway scoreless at HT they got a dodgy free 3mins into injury time to make it 6-1 then they went goal crazy in the 2nd half. Sligo had a big lead over us in 1998 & Galways minors also had big lead in 08 but i can't recall a senior comeback v them.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 10, 2011, 04:18:36 PM
Quote from: ross4life on August 10, 2011, 04:10:16 PM

2006 we almost held Galway scoreless at HT they got a dodgy free 3mins into injury time to make it 6-1 then they went goal crazy in the 2nd half. Sligo had a big lead over us in 1998 & Galways minors also had big lead in 08 but i can't recall a senior comeback v them.
It was 1-14 ro 0-10 with 8 mins left and MM took off 3 Sligo players at once and unsettled our team, ros scored 2-2 and went a 1pt ahead, we equalised with 45 and lost replay by a 1pt.

Sligo 2-9 to 0-10 down to Armagh in 2002 with 6 mins left and just got a man sent off and came back to draw, did something similar to Kildare in Markievicz qualifier to win. Obviously Galway replay last yr was an exciting comeback with 3 mins left and 3 down.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on August 12, 2011, 12:18:40 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 10, 2011, 02:50:05 PM

Well at least they gave Limerick a decent game the last time they played them.
Post by: Gabriel on August 12, 2011, 02:07:00 AM
Already mentioned but bizarre to think it actually happened - 2003 Ulster Final, Tyrone were nine points behind early in the second half against Down who had been reduced to fourteen players before half-time. When Down got their third goal (Liam Doyle?) to go nine ahead Paddy O'Rourke started jumping up and down the sideline like a fool in front of Mickey Harte... of course Tyrone hauled the deficit back and mauled Down by 15 in the replay. Tyrone went on to win the All-Ireland, Down lost heavily to Donegal in their next game.
Post by: Jinxy on August 12, 2011, 12:37:56 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 12, 2011, 12:18:40 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 10, 2011, 02:50:05 PM

Well at least they gave Limerick a decent game the last time they played them.

Fair play to them.
We actually beat Limerick the last time we played them in the championship Michael.
Google is your friend.  ;)
Post by: J70 on August 20, 2011, 02:58:11 PM
Was reading a piece by McEniff in the Donegal Democrat recently. He says that in the 1974 Ulster Final replay, Donegal came from nine points down with twelve minutes left to win by three! Surely that must be up there in terms of amazing comebacks in big games?