GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: upmonaghansayswe on July 28, 2011, 12:15:47 AM

Title: The most baffling refereeing decission ever?
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on July 28, 2011, 12:15:47 AM
Just after attending a Monaghan Reserve Div 1 Championship Final. The referee awarded a contentious 21 yard free in for a pick up off the ground. This decision was contested by one of the defenders, who called the referee a bollocks!!. The ref then changed his mind and upgraded the freekick to a penalty!.. (which was scored, with 4 points being the winning margain!). Is this provided for in the GAA rulebook??.. Confused!.

BTW, the ref explained the situation as Ive outlined it to one of the managers after the match who was as bewildered as we were up in the stand!..
Title: Re: The most baffling refereeing decission ever?
Post by: boojangles on July 28, 2011, 12:28:38 AM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on July 28, 2011, 12:15:47 AM
Just after attending a Monaghan Reserve Div 1 Championship Final. The referee awarded a contentious 21 yard free in for a pick up off the ground. This decision was contested by one of the defenders, who called the referee a bollocks!!. The ref then changed his mind and upgraded the freekick to a penalty!.. (which was scored, with 4 points being the winning margain!). Is this provided for in the GAA rulebook??.. Confused!.

BTW, the ref explained the situation as Ive outlined it to one of the managers after the match who was as bewildered as we were up in the stand!..

Sure referees can do what they like. But in this case he is wrong. He should have booked or sent the player off for Verbal abuse but the free should have stood.
Post by: David McKeown on July 28, 2011, 12:30:00 AM
I thought it could only be moved to a 13 metre free. Mind you in the last three or 4 years I have seen the following bizzare decisions.

1. A forward receive a straight red card for what the ref called deliberate and persistent square ball.

2. A booking for lifting the ball off the ground during which the ref said "if you don't know the basic skills this will soon teach you.

3. A ref move a free kick in because of descent from the crowd in the stand. The first three all from the same ref

4. An inter county ref move a free kick from approximately 55 yards out on the sideline onto the 13m line in front of the nets for descent. When asked after the match why he responded "in accordance with playing rule 4.1 when a free kick is to be moved for descent in injury time it must be moved as far as possible"

5. Joe Sheridan's "goal"

We also had ref about 6 weeks ago who had the score wrong by 2 points at ht and refused to change it and also waved play on for every foul if either team had an advantage. So if the team that had committed the foul had an advantage he shouted out "play on theres an advantage there"
Post by: DuffleKing on July 28, 2011, 07:36:01 AM
Dissent
Post by: highorlow on July 28, 2011, 08:54:57 AM
With that kind of knee jerk reaction the defender must have been right. Is it any wonder they get locked into car boots.
Post by: screenexile on July 28, 2011, 09:06:08 AM
Had a crap referee the other night who

1. failed to give a penalty when both attacker and defender lay prostrate on the 6 yard line (in the 6th Minute of injury time at the end of the game with the attacking team losing by a point)
2. he stopped play about 4 times for injury and then resumed with a free to the team in possession (my understanding is this should be a hop ball)
3. then with about 3 minutes to go in extra time (the game was a draw) he gave a hop ball on the 21 yard line. Our FF is a big lad well capable of winning the ball and about 3 inches taller than the man he's standing beside. The ref lines up opposite the 2 and then throws the ball 10 yards up the pitch to 2 lads not expecting it.
4. The defending team won the ball from that and he blew it up 3 minutes before the end of extra time and said "let somebody else referee you crying bastards... DRAW!"
Post by: Canalman on July 28, 2011, 09:16:10 AM
Quote from: screenexile on July 28, 2011, 09:06:08 AM

1. failed to give a penalty when both attacker and defender lay prostrate on the 6 yard line (in the 6th Minute of injury time at the end of the game with the attacking team losing by a point)
2. he stopped play about 4 times for injury and then resumed with a free to the team in possession (my understanding is this should be a hop ball)
3. then with about 3 minutes to go in extra time (the game was a draw) he gave a hop ball on the 21 yard line. Our FF is a big lad well capable of winning the ball and about 3 inches taller than the man he's standing beside. The ref lines up opposite the 2 and then throws the ball 10 yards up the pitch to 2 lads not expecting it.
4. The defending team won the ball from that and he blew it up 3 minutes before the end of extra time and said "let somebody else referee you crying b**tards... DRAW!"

Seems to me that bar 4 (and he was probably morally right there) that the ref was right.

Afaik, lying prostrate on the ground is not grounds for a free.

Screenexile,  read the rules of the game.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 28, 2011, 10:13:31 AM
In the Cavan Donegal game in the championship this year Marty Duffy awarded Cavan a free, Donegal player gave dissent and  he moved it forward 10 meters. Then there was some other verbals, presumably from a Cavan player and he moved the balll back 10 meters to where the original foul took place. Never seen that done before!
Post by: Bingo on July 28, 2011, 10:17:40 AM

You forgot to mention that he evened it up with 5 to go when a forward made his way into the box, lined up a defender, jumped into him and let a roar out of him that was heard all over the place as he fell to the ground.

But yes the first decision was a strange one but it was a 14 yard free for a pick up in large square, not a 21 yard free.
Post by: amallon on July 28, 2011, 10:41:55 AM
I a reserve game a good few years ago the opposition were awarded a 50.  The ref then went and sat the ball down on the 21 yard line.  When we asked him what he was doing he said its a 50.  We had to explain to him that 50's are usally taken a bit further out the field.  Eventually he agreed too.  He made some other crazy decisions during the game and afterwards we came to the conclusion that he did the game for a bet and couldn't have been a real ref.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on July 28, 2011, 10:47:58 AM

4. The defending team won the ball from that and he blew it up 3 minutes before the end of extra time and said "let somebody else referee you crying b**tards... DRAW!"

Was the ref not right with number 2. If he stops play for an injury it's essentially a free for the team which had posession. Although they can't kick for a score.
Post by: Canalman on July 28, 2011, 10:52:43 AM
Norf Tyrone, of course the referee was right. "Indirect" free to team in possession when referee stopped game for the injury.
Post by: Boycey on July 28, 2011, 11:12:09 AM
Was also at that game last night and as Bingo says it was a 14 yard free not a 21, I'd not be sure of the rules but in my opinion if the defender did call him a bollix I'd have little sympathy for him. Like all good refs he evened it up 5 mins later with an equally "soft" decision at the other end..
Post by: AQMP on July 28, 2011, 11:18:38 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on July 28, 2011, 10:13:31 AM
In the Cavan Donegal game in the championship this year Marty Duffy awarded Cavan a free, Donegal player gave dissent and  he moved it forward 10 meters. Then there was some other verbals, presumably from a Cavan player and he moved the balll back 10 meters to where the original foul took place. Never seen that done before!

Should he not have been moving it (back and forward) 13m??
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 28, 2011, 11:21:51 AM
Quote from: AQMP on July 28, 2011, 11:18:38 AM

He should have but I used a calibrated rule to check and it was actually 10m both ways.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 28, 2011, 11:24:11 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on July 28, 2011, 12:30:00 AM
I thought it could only be moved to a 13 metre free. Mind you in the last three or 4 years I have seen the following bizzare decisions.

1. A forward receive a straight red card for what the ref called deliberate and persistent square ball.

2. A booking for lifting the ball off the ground during which the ref said "if you don't know the basic skills this will soon teach you.

3. A ref move a free kick in because of descent from the crowd in the stand. The first three all from the same ref

4. An inter county ref move a free kick from approximately 55 yards out on the sideline onto the 13m line in front of the nets for descent. When asked after the match why he responded "in accordance with playing rule 4.1 when a free kick is to be moved for descent in injury time it must be moved as far as possible"

5. Joe Sheridan's "goal"

We also had ref about 6 weeks ago who had the score wrong by 2 points at ht and refused to change it and also waved play on for every foul if either team had an advantage. So if the team that had committed the foul had an advantage he shouted out "play on theres an advantage there"

I burst out laughing at that one :D
Post by: Jinxy on July 28, 2011, 11:57:56 AM

5. Joe Sheridan's "goal"

What a legend.  :D
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 28, 2011, 12:03:33 PM
Quote from: AQMP on July 28, 2011, 11:18:38 AM

trying to remember if he was wrong to move it back or not.
Think he either should have left it where it was and cautioned the cavan defender or he should have cautioned the defender (tick in the book) and threw up the ball.
Post by: lynchbhoy on July 28, 2011, 12:04:28 PM
4. An inter county ref move a free kick from approximately 55 yards out on the sideline onto the 13m line in front of the nets for descent.
un-fecking-believeable.
Post by: Onion Bag on July 28, 2011, 12:21:52 PM
Martin Sluddens decision to allow that goal in last years Leinster Final (Shocking)
Post by: crossfire on July 28, 2011, 12:34:04 PM

5. Joe Sheridan's "goal"

How low can you get. ;)
Post by: David McKeown on July 28, 2011, 12:45:12 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on July 28, 2011, 07:36:01 AM
Dissent

In my defence I am heavily dyslexic so that wasn't a bad effort.
Post by: Bogball XV on July 28, 2011, 01:29:22 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on July 28, 2011, 12:45:12 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on July 28, 2011, 07:36:01 AM
Dissent

In my defence I am heavily dyslexic so that wasn't a bad effort.
yip, pretty descent attempt
Post by: cornerback on July 28, 2011, 01:45:07 PM

I'll try to explain these a bit better...
1. attacker hauled down in the large box, referee way behind play but by the time he caught up both attacker & defender hadn't moved & were still lying close/within the small box yet he still gave a 14m free.
2. Referee was correct on this one.
3. Two opposing men stepped forward to contest the throw ball, ref did well to clear the rest of the players 4-5m back (when is it ever 13m) & he still just randomly threw it up the field.
4. Needs no further explanation.

Also, his definition of a foul seemed to be any incidental contact in the tackle!
Post by: screenexile on July 28, 2011, 02:08:54 PM
Quote from: cornerback on July 28, 2011, 01:45:07 PM

I'll try to explain these a bit better...
1. attacker hauled down in the large box, referee way behind play but by the time he caught up both attacker & defender hadn't moved & were still lying close/within the small box yet he still gave a 14m free.
2. Referee was correct on this one.
3. Two opposing men stepped forward to contest the throw ball, ref did well to clear the rest of the players 4-5m back (when is it ever 13m) & he still just randomly threw it up the field.
4. Needs no further explanation.

Also, his definition of a foul seemed to be any incidental contact in the tackle!

That was the one you were most irate about at the match you c**k! It was always my belief that if the ref stops a game for an injury it is a hop ball regardless of what player is lying down or who is in possession.
Post by: Rav67 on July 28, 2011, 07:40:03 PM
A man who has been reffing for 2 years (although I think he only does underage) turned round recently while watching a club game and asked how many minutes it was each half.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 28, 2011, 08:16:26 PM
Screen - with regards to point 2 - the following rule was implemented after Congress 2010.

"If play is stopped by the referee to enable a seriously injured player to be treated, play will now resume with a free to the team that had possession. However, it will not be permitted to score from such a free. (If neither team is in possession, play shall restart with a throw-in.)
Post by: zoyler on July 28, 2011, 10:22:59 PM
Many years ago in a 4th div game in South Armagh my brother rounded the keeper and his tap over the line was kicked away by their umpire! When he roared ' For fxxx sake REf!' he was sent off for foul language.  Suspension was confirmed by the County Board and ever after he just played soccer!
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on July 28, 2011, 10:52:11 PM
Quote from: Bingo on July 28, 2011, 10:17:40 AM

You forgot to mention that he evened it up with 5 to go when a forward made his way into the box, lined up a defender, jumped into him and let a roar out of him that was heard all over the place as he fell to the ground.

But yes the first decision was a strange one but it was a 14 yard free for a pick up in large square, not a 21 yard free.

Apologises. 14 yard free.
I didn't forget. Had nothing to do with the point I was making. And Id hardly call it evening it up. First penalty finished the game effectively. Second penalty was too near the end to build on. Mind you, the best team won.

Post by: PAULD123 on July 29, 2011, 08:18:36 AM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on July 28, 2011, 10:52:11 PM
Quote from: Bingo on July 28, 2011, 10:17:40 AM

I didn't forget. Had nothing to do with the point I was making. And Id hardly call it evening it up. First penalty finished the game effectively. Second penalty was too near the end to build on. Mind you, the best team won.

Thing is, if he moved it forward because of dissent then he was incorrect. As the rule says the ball is moved up but only to the 13m line. Also if it was his first offence in the game you could argue that he shouldn't even be booked, providing you say he wasn't challenging the ref's authority just the award of the free.

There is no provision for a penalty to be awarded.

But I have to say that the problem is not the end conclusion. This referee punished a team in a way which technically he should not have done. But the real question is why did he do it? If the answer is because he was getting abuse and having his authority challenged throughout the game then I think that is the real problem that has to be addressed.

As for refereeing standards, I think they should have to sit an exam each year, with the sort of questions on it that we pose on this forum. This would serve two purposes. Firstly it would force the referees to review the rules and be up to date with them. Secondly it would provide comprehensive feedback to the GAA as regards how well the rules are understood/interpreted, so that something could be done to improve consistency.

I presume there is no yearly exam?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 29, 2011, 08:43:22 AM
Quote from: zoyler on July 28, 2011, 10:22:59 PM
Many years ago in a 4th div game in South Armagh my brother rounded the keeper and his tap over the line was kicked away by their umpire! When he roared ' For fxxx sake REf!' he was sent off for foul language.  Suspension was confirmed by the County Board and ever after he just played soccer!

Proper order too :D  I wonder how much was riding on the result?
Post by: Bingo on July 29, 2011, 10:38:33 AM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on July 28, 2011, 10:52:11 PM

I knew the point you were making alright and I've no idea on the rule he applied but a few have said he was right and others have said he was wrong. So i'm still none the wiser.

The game was in the mix alright when the peno was given alright despite Blayney have alot of the ball, it wasn't a night for forwards mind.
Post by: cornafean on July 29, 2011, 10:42:52 AM
Quote from: Rav67 on July 28, 2011, 07:40:03 PM
A man who has been reffing for 2 years (although I think he only does underage) turned round recently while watching a club game and asked how many minutes it was each half.

If I'm sitting beside a loud or obnoxious hoor at a big game in Croke Park, I like to meekly ask him that question  8)
Post by: PAULD123 on July 29, 2011, 02:52:52 PM

That's just mad. Did the score stand? Because technically the player should have been booked for swearing but the goal should have stood anyway because a certain goal was likely to occur. The rule is that if the ball touches a non-player then the ball is thrown in at that point unless it was prevented from going over an end line, in that case the ball is treated as if having gone over the end line and the referee makes the appropriate award (i.e. a goal)
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 29, 2011, 03:05:22 PM
This one happened in a soccer match I was involved in but it is quite funny. Normally the games were played on a Sunday but the team we were playing requested to play the game on good friday (the game had been fixed for easter sunday). Our club agreed once it was set for 6pm ko due to having players at work. This game was on the same good friday as the a big Leinster Munster rugby game a few yrs ago. Obviously the ref had more interest in the rugby as he came into the dressing room at 5-30 and told us that he was starting the game at 5-45! I asked by what authority he could do that and he said he was the ref and he could do whatever he liked and he could start the game when he liked too. And he started the game when we were still waiting on a couple of players to show.
Post by: fitzroyalty on August 06, 2011, 01:52:34 PM
In a recent game the ref (wrongly) sent the no13 off.

After about 2/3 mins of whinging and complaining from his management he said "Sorry, my mistake", let the no13 back on to play and called over the opposition no13 and (wrongly) sent him off!

Surely that isn't allowed?
Post by: SBH1983 on March 03, 2013, 11:39:23 PM
if someone could clear this one up that'd be lovely...

14 yard free awarded, free kick sails 5ft over the posts for a point, referee disallows it for a square ball.

is it correct to award a square ball in this case even if another player from the attacking team did encroach?

just seen it today and a bit surprised by it that's all
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 03, 2013, 11:44:27 PM
Quote from: SBH1983 on March 03, 2013, 11:39:23 PM
14 yard free awarded, free kick sails 5ft over the posts for a point, referee disallows it for a square ball.

is it correct to award a square ball in this case even if another player from the attacking team did encroach?

Yes.

Regarding the recent rule change: The rule is unchanged with regard to "Set Play" i.e. Free Kicks, Line Balls and 45s – in these instances players are not permitted to enter the small rectangle before the ball.
Post by: muppet on March 03, 2013, 11:46:58 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 03, 2013, 11:44:27 PM

Yes.

Regarding the recent rule change: The rule is unchanged with regard to "Set Play" i.e. Free Kicks, Line Balls and 45s – in these instances players are not permitted to enter the small rectangle before the ball.

Never knew that!
Post by: Ard-Rí on March 03, 2013, 11:58:06 PM
I was playing B-League today, our goalkeeper had a tooth knocked out by a high tackle as he caught a 45. He kicked the ball out to the side and stood off the pitch and 4 or 5 lads called the referee's attention to it. But lo and behold, he waved play on and the other team took advantage by playing the ball in and working a goal. When questioned about this decision he claimed that it was "all in fair play". Same referee made numerous questionable decisions throughout the whole game, but that one took the biscuit.

I saw a match at U-16's level last year, where the referee gave a free and one of the defenders questioned him. He moved the ball forward shouting "now look what you've done to your team!!".
Post by: SBH1983 on March 04, 2013, 12:03:28 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 03, 2013, 11:44:27 PM

Yes.

cheers for that. seems strange if the ball clears the crossbar by a considerable distance
Post by: Dougal Maguire on March 04, 2013, 12:16:33 AM
Macrory semi final. St Macartans were 6 points to nil down after 15 minutes when the ref blew up their keeper for time wasting over a kick out and threw the ball up instead
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 04, 2013, 12:30:02 AM
Quote from: SBH1983 on March 04, 2013, 12:03:28 AM
cheers for that. seems strange if the ball clears the crossbar by a considerable distance

No prob, and indeed, the ref sounds like a right stickler (to put it mildly  :))!
Post by: ranch on March 04, 2013, 12:49:10 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 29, 2011, 08:43:22 AM

Does it matter how much was riding on it?lol.. Enough to make any player want to quit!
Post by: David McKeown on March 04, 2013, 01:46:09 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 04, 2013, 12:30:02 AM

No prob, and indeed, the ref sounds like a right stickler (to put it mildly  :))!

Not that much of a stickler otherwise he would have allowed the score I would have thought in accordance with playing rule 4.10 (ii)

ii) When a point is scored from outside the small rectangle and the ball is sufficiently high to be out of reach of all players, the score shall be allowed even though an attacking player may have been within the small rectangle before the ball - provided that the player in question does not interfere with the defence.
Post by: Pangurban on March 04, 2013, 03:29:55 AM
I have never in many years of playing and watching football seen a point disallowed because of a square ball infringement.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 04, 2013, 10:09:56 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on March 04, 2013, 01:46:09 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 04, 2013, 12:30:02 AM

Not that much of a stickler otherwise he would have allowed the score I would have thought in accordance with playing rule 4.10 (ii)

ii) When a point is scored from outside the small rectangle and the ball is sufficiently high to be out of reach of all players, the score shall be allowed even though an attacking player may have been within the small rectangle before the ball - provided that the player in question does not interfere with the defence.

Fair enough, just a very bad call it would seem (much worse than being a stickler - being only half familiar with the rules, and then trying to be a stickler).
Post by: stew on March 04, 2013, 09:54:43 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 29, 2011, 08:43:22 AM

:) Brilliant altogether!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 05, 2013, 02:51:55 PM

As for refereeing standards, I think they should have to sit an exam each year, with the sort of questions on it that we pose on this forum. This would serve two purposes. Firstly it would force the referees to review the rules and be up to date with them. Secondly it would provide comprehensive feedback to the GAA as regards how well the rules are understood/interpreted, so that something could be done to improve consistency.

I presume there is no yearly exam?

Yearly meetings to discuss rule changes and points of order, there is a fitness test also if you are to be considered for Championship games.

I'm sure we could put up a thread on the fouling that goes on that the referee can't see. Off the ball hits, players (with the ball) dragging opposing players down and coning a free. Referees being called cheats and him just brushing it off and not following through with showing cards. I could go on. If the players would play within the rules we'd have less moaning about referees, yes some are bad and in the lower divisions they can unreal, but in the main they are decent guys taking time out to referee our games, without them we'd be unable to play or watch.

I would have give off about referees and decided to give it a go, I played senior standard hurling for a right few years so I thought I'd be grand, catch out the con artists, referee the game the way I'd have liked it refereed when I played, harder than you think, eyes in the back of your head and you need to be thick necked. The abuse the referee gets in club games at all levels is crazy.
Post by: whitey on March 05, 2013, 08:39:52 PM
Playing for Castlebar Juniors in Kelly Cup versus Kilmeena in Kilmeena. Ref brother in law of opposition manager. Every single call going to the home side for obvious reasons.

A dubious 50 was moved in to the 14 yard line for dissent.

In an attempt to calm the situation down, Castlebar Captain told the dissenter to "don't worry about the ref, just focus on your man".

Unfortunately, he said this within earshot of referee who sent him off for using "foul and abusive language towards an official"