Time to get this thread up & running, can Leitrim cause another shock?
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 25, 2011, 12:07:24 AM
They can but hopefully they wont. Fergie and this particular Ross side are pretty grounded though. And why wouldnt they? Hammered by Longford in the league final and only beat what now looks to have been a very poor NY side. Leitrim always raise their game for us anyway and now they have the confidence of this last win plus its in Carrick.
However Sligo were unlucky and perhaps a little over confident the last day. Leitrim smelled blood and went for it. I think Roscommon will stay focussed and expect a dogged, tough encounter. With Shine... Kilbride...Cregg they have a number of scoring options which I think should see them narrowly through.
As in most games now this game will be decided on who wins the battle in the middle third. We are without Casey from last years h/b line and O'Gara from the half forward line – 2 big losses. If we play Cregg out the field we loose a scoring threat nearer the goal and yet I think we need him hoovering up the breaks and breaking forward.
I do not know how good Leitrim are. They obviously played well last Sunday but was that a once off? They did not show great league form but last year we were relegated and won Connacht so hard to draw any conclusions from Div 3 or 4 form – Leitrim may have been focused on the Sligo game all along.
Last years game in the Hyde was a decent enjoyable game that we won after a bit of a first half struggle. I expect this will be a much more intense contest and Leitrim will be approaching the game in a far better frame of mind. The question then is how much if any have we improved from last year – the return of Kilbride and Devanney are pluses but somewhat offset by the loss of Casey and O'Gara.
This will be a struggle for us and can go either way. And if Leitrim win I won't consider it a shock.
Yes they can / Is féidir leo.
However as Matt said Fergie will keep our lads grounded and they will know that they can expect a ferocious challenge from our north western neighbours for whom this is their All Ireland.
If we go in with heads wrong there will be only one outcome - a replay in the Hyde :-[
Familiar fixture for us it's like the 90s all over again where we play Leitrim every year, this will be the first time since 1991 (20 years ago) that we visit Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada as defending Connacht champions & that alone should fire up the laytrum lads even more.
Yes we have a excellent record in Carrick but we got some recent scares there.. 2004 we drew & i still don't know how we beat them in 2003 when Jimmy Nail scored that last minute winner. as regards their league form laytrum could & should have beaten us & longford & that would have meant they would have got promotion instead of the Larries. since the league Moran has switched Conor Beirne to full forward with Croal,Glancy on the wings making it a very potent full forward line.
As already said midfield will be the key & Karl Mannion would want to play better than he did v leitrim a month ago! i hope we can get a win to get to another Connacht final but i wouldn't be surprised if game ends in a draw.
If i were a rossie i would be concerned about the amount of scores let in at the back even New York scored 1-11 in the last game.
It's said the league counts for little come championship, but the performance and attitude of the Leitrim players during our recent tie played at The Hyde was impressive. At 0.4 - 0.9 down after 30 minutes, Leitrim produced a blitz either side of HT which saw them outscore us by 0.8 - 0.1 quickly turning a five point deficit into a two point lead. While we managed an opportunist goal to regain the lead, Leitrim came back strongly at us again and finished the game on the attack, looking for a goal which would have brought them a just about deserved away win. That typified Leitrim, they work hard, fight to the bitter end and never settle for anything less than victory. With six scorers at The Hyde that day Leitrim showed they're not short of capable marksmen either. We've been sitting on our hands since the start of the month and will go in cold, while Leitrim are up to championship pitch and are probably buzzing after their impressive away toppling of Sligo. We'll definitely need to avoid a repeat of the last year's slow start and try to ensure the second half workrate of that occasion is present from the opening throw in here. Carrick has always been a tough battleground for us, this year will be no different. Our lads will strive with might and main to defend their title and won't be under any illusions about the battle ahead, while Leitrim admittedly appear to have much more momentum going into this one. The Laythrumite who commandeered the PA system at the end of our last visit to Pairc Sean two years ago - only to get cut off half way through his defiant rendition of Lovely Leitrim - will justifiably fancy his chances of getting a lot more airtime after this latest battle, I reckon.
We drew with Westmeath today in a challenge game in Ballyfarnon.
Couldnt make it myself R4Life.
Any idea of the team?
Luckily I have some outdoor activities to attend to now so will be able to avoid TV and the rugby frenzy that seems to be gripping the townies around here. Then luckily I'll be home in time for Down/Armagh on BBC2.
Claffey,Carty,Domican,Ormsby Mckeague,I kilbride,keenan,finneran,kenny. Cregg,Shine, O'grady,Rogers, S kilbride D mcdermott. & all these subs came on in second half Miley,Garvey,Mannion,Devaney,Daly,purcell,kelly.
Come on guys only 10 until this game & i have to go to page 3 to find this thread.
Ticket info
Ticket Prices:
Seating- €30
Sideline seating- €25
Terrace €20
Children €5 (Under 16)
Group passes available from Connacht GAA office
Students can get refund of €10 on Sideline Seating or Terrace Tickets with valid ID at Ticket kiosk at the venue
OAPs can get refund of €10 on Stand, Sideline seating or Terrace Tickets with valid ID at Ticket kiosk at the venue.
€30 stand tickets means no sell out for this game.
Quote from: ross4life on May 28, 2011, 10:36:04 PM
Claffey,Carty,Domican,Ormsby Mckeague,I kilbride,keenan,finneran,kenny. Cregg,Shine, O'grady,Rogers, S kilbride D mcdermott. & all these subs came on in second half Miley,Garvey,Mannion,Devaney,Daly,purcell,kelly.
Strong enough lineout Ross.
Did you hear much about the game? I dont really know how good Westmeath are to grade what drawing with them in a challenge means.
Quote from: ross matt on June 02, 2011, 05:53:51 PM
Did you hear much about the game? I dont really know how good Westmeath are to grade what drawing with them in a challenge means.
I'd say they are a level slightly ahead of us but hard to judge challenge games as they are nothing more than a work out, we used 24 players in that game John Rogers injured his hand & Cathal Cregg went off with a hamstring injury on 40mins
I also read we beat Louth in Louth by 4pts on Tuesday night another strong team started Niall Carty played at FB & Domican at CHB. S Kilbride,D Shine got the majority of the scores.
I heard that Ros beat Louth by 6 points in that challenge at a Louth venue on Tuesday evening, 2-17 to 1-14.
John Rogers is doubtful for the Leitrim game with a hand injury picked up in the Westmeath challenge game.
Cathal Cregg picked up a slight hamstring strain in the same game, but is expected to be fit.
No offence to Rod but it would be a great story to see our neighbours in leitrim back in a provincial final. Carrick is a tough venue for the away team and I wonder have Ros the stomach for the battle.
Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 02, 2011, 07:49:49 PM
No offence to Rod but it would be a great story to see our neighbours in leitrim back in a provincial final. Carrick is a tough venue for the away team and I wonder have Ros the stomach for the battle.
If we don't have the stomach for the battle in a big local derby in Carrick then Fergal & his players will need to have a good look at themselves.
I wouldn't begrudge Leitrim appearance in the Connacht final but they usually get to it by beating us in Hyde Park.
Quote from: ross4life on June 02, 2011, 06:26:45 PM
Quote from: ross matt on June 02, 2011, 05:53:51 PM
I'd say they are a level slightly ahead of us but hard to judge challenge games as they are nothing more than a work out, we used 24 players in that game John Rogers injured his hand & Cathal Cregg went off with a hamstring injury on 40mins
I also read we beat Louth in Louth by 4pts on Tuesday night another strong team started Niall Carty played at FB & Domican at CHB. S Kilbride,D Shine got the majority of the scores.
Sound. Hope Cregg is ok for Carrick.
Pity ye Ros or indeed Leitrim bucks don't talk as much on this forum as us Mayo lads do. ;)
Our people stick to our own excellent Stolensheep.
Meanwhile the Laythrum lads are still trying to come to terms with paper and pens :P
Good read from the Leitrim Gaa website.
Neighbourhood Watch
As it gurgles out from deep underground on the Cuilcagh Mountains, the Shannon River has no idea of the effect it has on life in Ireland. It is written of in song and story, it drains and floods in turn, it is the powerhouse for hundreds of boats and cruisers, it entertains many a hopeful angler, its route is mapped on countless brochures, it has attracted thousands of visitors to its banks and it has been photographed and painted for generations. Like the river itself, its story could go on and on.
But all of this pales into insignificance compared to the effect it has on what colour of jersey we will be wearing on our way to Páirc Seán on Sunday June 12th. Will we be decked out in green and gold or will we be sporting the primrose and blue?
It depends on which side of the Shannon we first saw light of day. Was it in Cootehall or Leitrim Village, Cortober or Bridge Street, Mahanagh or Mount Allen, Bornacoola or across the bridge in Rooskey, Drumsna or Kilmore – you could throw a stone from one into the other, but there is a very distinct dotted line somewhere on a map that makes all the difference. We’re either Leitrim or Roscommon and no one will ever change that.
The Shannon shouldn’t have to take all the blame, for the border in places is just a laneway or a gripe. Sean and Charlie Flynn could run out their front door at Cartron Beg on the Drumkeerin road and jump into Roscommon, but atwo more committed Leitrim supporters you couldn’t find. When the Connacht Champions of ‘94 toured the county with the Nestor Cup, hadn’t the Flynns the biggest bonfire in Leitrim – burning especially brightly just to tease the Roscommon neighbours!
There will be lots of cross-border teasing in the run up to the big game in Carrick.
Wait till we get ye in Carrick – look what we did to Sligo.
What did we do to Sligo last year? Ye haven’t a hope!
So the banter will go on – at the mart, in the pubs, in the Observer, on Shannonside, everywhere. A sort of civil war will break out in families that inter-married across the great divide, in some gardens both flags will fly side by side.
There will be plenty of hype and great expectation. Roscommon will repeat and repeat how they always fear coming to Páirc Seán, but deep down they will presume they will win again, noting that records show they have always left with a victory; Leitrim will say its time to draw a line in the sand -- no point in putting up a good show but being on the wrong end of the scoreboard.
Roscommon will be buoyed by the thoughts of the St. Brigid’s backbone in their team, but James Glancy will be reminding Leitrim that the Glencar Manorhamilton contingent provides one equally strong, as the Connacht Club Championship game showed last Autumn – man for man the fifteen on each side have very little between them, so it’s all to play for.
Páirc Seán will be a mass of colour as Dessie Foley steers the Kiltubrid Pipe Band around the pitch in the pre-match parade, past the “Lurganboy on Tour” banner behind the lower goals, in those tense moments before Amhrán na bhFiann and the throw-in. We will even have colour television!
But whose cheeks will be the rosiest with pride at about half three on Sunday 12th, as they head home to gloat at their neighbours a few yards away on the other bank of the Shannon?
Any comments on Paddy Power's odds for Sunday.......
Leitrim 11/4.............Draw 13/2.........Roscommon 2/5.
Put a €5 on the draw :D
This will be a tough oul struggle as games against us are Leitrim's All Ireland ( no matter how much they deny it they always want to take us down a peg or two) .
As long as we don't get drawn into a dogfight , easier said than done when neighbours meet , we should win this one and bring a bit of business to Ros town on CF day.
Quote from: Shrewdness on June 06, 2011, 06:32:35 PM
Any comments on Paddy Power's odds for Sunday.......
Leitrim 11/4.............Draw 13/2.........Roscommon 2/5.
Odds alot shorter than the Connacht final last year & the Leitrim v Sligo this year, draw looks the best value.
Do you guys expect many changes from the New York game? I think only one with Kenny starting instead of O'Grady.
G Claffey
S McDermott, P Domican, N Carty
D Ward, D Keenan, I Kilbride
M Finneran, K Mannion
E Kenny
C Devanney, K Higgins, C Cregg
S Kilbride, D Shine
Barring any injuries I'd say you won't be too far out with that lineup.
Quote from: Rossfan on May 25, 2011, 11:20:02 AM
Yes they can / Is féidir leo.
However as Matt said Fergie will keep our lads grounded and they will know that they can expect a ferocious challenge from our north western neighbours for whom this is their All Ireland.
If we go in with heads wrong there will be only one outcome - a replay in the Hyde :-[
Lads I've no vested interest in this game whatsoever but the condescension is absolutely dripping from this post and if that subconscious attitude is shared by any of the players Roscommon will be in bother. Equally if I was a Leitrim player reading this it would gall me much more than one of Roscommon's young players talking about a Connacht Final or some such - you'd just write him off as an eejit. This is much more dismissive and patronising altogether, and all the more so because it's not meant to be.
Intended or not, here's how it reads:
"Fergie will keep our lads grounded" - the manager will be well aware of complacency in the squad and will try to stamp on it but if he wasn't there the players would be looking forward to a handy day out.
"this is their All Ireland" - We've much bigger fish to fry to be getting too emotional about this day, but for Leitrim, beating Roscommon is the most they can possible hope for. Ignore the fact that they border several counties, Roscommon is the real big name for them and if they can beat us, they'll have seannchaí telling the tale of the day for years. This doesn't matter to us, but it does to them.
"If we go in with heads wrong there will be only one outcome - a replay in the Hyde" I'm scanning this for sarcasm and I'm genuinely not sure - but taken at face value it suggests that the most Leitrim could dream of achieving is a draw, and even at that it could could only come about if Roscommon have the wrong attitude. If Roscommon play well, then Leitrim can do the divil and all, it won't matter a shi'ite.
I'm not sure about the last comment, but the second one in particular is a spectacular insult to Leitrim. I'll be interested to see if the likes of AhFeckRef thinks it as such.
I myself think Roscommon will win this but the idea that this attitude is even anywhere close to the surface in Roscommon would put me off any notion of betting on them.
I dunno - I reckon Leitrim will win this one.
If they can beat Sligo no reason they can't beat Roscommon.
I can't see Roscommon losing this one to be honest. Sligo kinda blew their chance last year and it all went downhill for them since, so Leitrim beating them wasn't a great surprise. No more than all neutrals, I'll be hoping Leitrim can cause an upset.
I thnk Lone Shark that few Ros supporters would be over confident or condescending. Even if Fergie has the team fully prepared for a battle we can still lose and I wont consider it a surprise. There is little enough between the teams - we may have gained some experience from winning Connacht last year and the Brigid's players will also have experience of playing in an AI Club Final. On the other hand Leitrim have home venue, have momentum from the Sligo game and have a lot of new players that we know little enough about. The league game between us was close and we had a strong team out that day and were at home so nothing to suggest we should be overwhelming favourites.
I think those Ros supporters that feel we will win are taking a line from the League and maybe that we have had the edge over Leitrim at underage for the past 5 or 6 years. That may count for something but I am expecting a close game that may well be decided on a lucky break, a refereeing decision and probably whichever team takes it chances.
Quote from: Tatler Jack on June 06, 2011, 10:26:44 PM
I thnk Lone Shark that few Ros supporters would be over confident or condescending. Even if Fergie has the team fully prepared for a battle we can still lose and I wont consider it a surprise. There is little enough between the teams - we may have gained some experience from winning Connacht last year and the Brigid's players will also have experience of playing in an AI Club Final. On the other hand Leitrim have home venue, have momentum from the Sligo game and have a lot of new players that we know little enough about. The league game between us was close and we had a strong team out that day and were at home so nothing to suggest we should be overwhelming favourites.
I think those Ros supporters that feel we will win are taking a line from the League and maybe that we have had the edge over Leitrim at underage for the past 5 or 6 years. That may count for something but I am expecting a close game that may well be decided on a lucky break, a refereeing decision and probably whichever team takes it chances.
That's what I thought - as I type I'm here in St Brigid's country (the good lady is from Cam) and there would be plenty of respect for Leitrim in general, but that made me all the more surprised at the condescension in that post. I don't mind confidence - I respected Conal Keaney for his interview before the hurling in Croke Park against ourselves - but the belittling of Leitrim in that post above kind of took me aback is all. You can be confident by all means, but you don't have to demean the opposition in the process.
Lone Shark, maybe you have taken rosfan post out of context?
Starts off answering the question.. can Leitrim cause another shock? yes they can
He went on to use the words "grounded" which would refer to Fergal having his troops grounded until after the NY game, "ferocious challenge & their All Ireland" it's another way to describe how Leitrim give a extra 10% everytime they play the Rossies & finally "replay in the Hyde" reference to our good record in Carrick.
I'm under no illusion to what type of battle lies ahead i'll be delighted with any type of win but won't be shocked if they beat us.
You've summed my views up to a T there Ross4life.
Don't know what that Shark is getting his knickers in such a twist over . Quite obvious he doesnt understand the psychology and mindsets , sub plots etc getween us and our North Eastern neighbours .
Maybe it's due to a lot of them Cam folks never having been next nor near Leitrim or its natives in their lives. :)
I dont think many Roscommon supporters will be in danger of being over confident before a championship match anytime soon. There have been too many bad days and even after the resurrection last year the Longford match in Croker recently would have lowered expectations again and reminded everyone of how fragile our standing is.
That been said Ross should be capable of winning this coming game. Whether last year was lucky or unexpected it still gave the squad alot of badly needed experience and they should be able to progress this year as a result of it. The addittion of Kilbride is also a big advantage.
Leitrim are young and raw plus they caught a poor Sligo off guard. Fergie will be expecting a full blooded close championship match and he will have the lads prepared for it to go down to the wire. I would expect will win but only by 2-3 points.
http://www.yr.no/place/Ireland/Connacht/Carrick_on_Shannon/long.html
Weather forecast is not great and no repeat of the scorching day 2 years ago.
Don't quite agree with Matt on the merits of Leitrim's win over Sligo - I think it was more than catching a "poor Sligo off guard". By all accounts Leitrim played good football and some of the newer players impressed. Sunday will be a test for these players to see if they can repeat this and certainly Ros have more experience albeit they also are still raw enough. Really little enough to go on to call this game especially as Leitrim are a bit of an unknown quantity but we cannot discount their win over Sligo.
No knickers twisted lads, I assure ye. I'm just a betting man constantly on the lookout for the psychology and mentality that teams and counties approach a game, and there is a world of difference between saying a match is "their All-Ireland" and saying that they may raise their game 10%. The two things don't say the same thing at all.
All I'll say is that I saw one warning sign putting me off backing Roscommon at the weekend, and this is another. I may be wrong, indeed I often am, but a man has to make his own judgement and this is me making mine. That is all.
Quote from: Tatler Jack on June 07, 2011, 12:12:18 PM
Yeah was some weather in Carrick on shannon in 2009 & wasn't to bad in Hyde park last year either, this time it looks like a wash out that might suit a big strong Leitrim side.
Would love to see Leitrim win it but if I was betting, I'd say the draw might be the way to go
I got odds of 15/2 for a draw today so i popped a few bob on that. Leitrim won't mind a replay in Hyde park either. btw is their extra time in this game if level after 70mins?
Have a feeling that Leitrim will continue their run and pick up a victory on Sunday. I'd love to see them do it aswell, although I do feel that Roscommon would be better suited to challenge Mayo/Galway given their success last year and the weakness of the ''Big Two'' in Connacht this year.
Mickey Moran has named an unchanged side for this weekends meeting with reigning Connacht Champions Roscommon in the Connacht Football Championship semi final.
Liatroim
1 Cathal McCrann (Gortletteragh)
2 Dermot Reynolds (Annaduff)
3 Ronan Gallagher (Mohill)
4 Paddy Maguire (Glencar Manorhamilton)
5 Barry Prior (Aughawillan)
6 Gary Reynolds (Carrigallen)
7 Wayne McKeon (Ballinamore Sean O'Heslin's)
8 Tomás Beirne (Eslin)
9 Daniel Lowe (St Mary's)
10 Paul Brennan (Melvin Gaels)
11 Emlyn Mulligan (Melvin Gaels)
12 Robert Lowe (St Mary's)
13 Adrian Croal (Glencar Manorhamilton)
14 Conor Beirne (Eslin)
15 James Glancy Capt (Glencar Manorhamilton)
So have we :-
Roscommon name an unchanged team from the side that defeated New York in the opening round which means that Donal Ward, Niall Carty and Senan O'Grady will make their first Championship starts on Irish soil after making their debut's in the May 1st clash.
The team is as follows:
1 Geoffrey Claffey (Castlerea - St. Kevins)
2 Seán McDermott (Western Gaels)
3 Peter Domican (Capt) (St. Brigids)
4 Niall Carty (Padraig Pearses)
5 Ian Kilbride (St. Brigids)
6 David Keenan (St. Barrys)
7 Donal Ward (Western Gaels)
8 Michael Finneran (St. Dominics)
9 Karol Mannion (St. Brigids)
10 Senan O'Grady (St. Faithleachs)
11 Kevin Higgins (Western Gaels)
12 Cathal Cregg (Western Gaels)
13 Conor Devanney (Kilbride)
14 Senan Kilbride (St. Brigids)
15 Donie Shine (Clann na nGael)
16 Mark Miley (St. Dominic)
17 Stephen Ormsby (St. Faithleachs)
18 James McKeague (Creggs)
19 Seamus O'Neill (Kilbride)
20 Ger Heneghan (Castlerea - St. Kevins)
21 John Rogers (Strokestown)
22 Paul Garvey (Kilmore)
23 Niall Daly (Padriag Pearses)
24 Enda Kenny (Castlerea - St. Kevins)
25 Darren McDermott (Castlerea - St. Kevins)
26 Seán Purcell (Boyle)
So where both unchanged! we have some good options on the bench but it's a shame the like's of Casey,F.Cregg,O'Gara & C.Shine are injured.
I think Roscommon will win by 3 or 4 points but paddypower odds are way too short! Leitrim will be on a high but this Roscommon team are a very close knit and focused team so i cant see them losing, I can even see them giving the final a good shot aswell if they get there...
Nerves beginning to kick in now as the time is getting closer.
We have never ( I believe) lost a Championship game v Leitrim in Carrick which instead of being a source of comfort becomes a record wating to be broken.
We have an almost new defence since last year but no one in the County is very confident if it( conceded 2-15 ish to Wicklow who could only score 0-5 v Kildare) , midfield is middlin' and rumours of Shaq not being available for a 20 minute cameo is not very comforting, forwards - at least we have a bit of help here this year for Donie if we can get anough possession and subsequent ball up to them.
Hoping we will shade it by a few points and will be happy to be still in the Connacht Championship as we go back over the bridge to God's own land 8) Sunday evening.
Quote from: James91 on June 09, 2011, 11:27:45 PM
I think Roscommon will win by 3 or 4 points but paddypower odds are way too short!
They've gone a three point handicap, and you think they'll win by three? How is that too short?
The match odds is just the correct price when one team is perceived to be three points better than the other.
Quote from: ross4life on June 07, 2011, 03:57:21 PM
Yeah was some weather in Carrick on shannon in 2009 & wasn't to bad in Hyde park last year either, this time it looks like a wash out that might suit a big strong Leitrim side.
I thought that myself coming up to the Sligo/Leitrim game but its not necessarily true. MM teams play a lot of short handpassing and short kick passing so dry conditions would help that. There was a good heavy shower before the Sligo/Leitrim game but it stayed dry during it.
Roscommon will need to play well to win this. I think they will but it could be a cracker, maybe not in terms of quality, but it will be exciting.
Quote from: Rossfan on June 10, 2011, 09:20:07 AM
We have never ( I believe) lost a Championship game v Leitrim in Carrick which instead of being a source of comfort becomes a record wating to be broken.
We have an almost new defence since last year but no one in the County is very confident if it( conceded 2-15 ish to Wicklow who could only score 0-5 v Kildare) , midfield is middlin' and rumours of Shaq not being available for a 20 minute cameo is not very comforting, forwards - at least we have a bit of help here this year for Donie if we can get anough possession and subsequent ball up to them.
Hoping we will shade it by a few points and will be happy to be still in the Connacht Championship as we go back over the bridge to God's own land 8) Sunday evening.
Whats up with Seamie Ross?
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 10, 2011, 02:04:55 PM
Quote from: ross4life on June 07, 2011, 03:57:21 PM
I thought that myself coming up to the Sligo/Leitrim game but its not necessarily true. MM teams play a lot of short handpassing and short kick passing so dry conditions would help that. There was a good heavy shower before the Sligo/Leitrim game but it stayed dry during it.
Roscommon will need to play well to win this. I think they will but it could be a cracker, maybe not in terms of quality, but it will be exciting.
Maybe but looking at the forecast the weather will possibly ruin an otherwise free flowing exciting game.
Quote from: ross matt on June 10, 2011, 03:53:03 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 10, 2011, 09:20:07 AM
Whats up with Seamie Ross?
Neck injury, Enda Kenny is another option from the bench & Donal can also been used in midfield if needed.
Shaqeen has a bit of a twinge alright ... .although I think he's named on the announced subs list.
However I expect he won't be on the official 24 on Sunday.
Enda Kenny certainly steadied the ship , or maybe even saved the day , in the NFL game v Leitrim .
Sounds like the weather could feck things up big time .
I'm beginning to remember the spill that came after the 2000 disaster and it's not helping the oul nerves at all. :-[
Thanks Lads. Didnt know O'Neill was injured. Named in the subs alright. Weather forecast is shite but same for both sides I guess. Not knowing so many of the newer Leitrim side it's hard to call it but we should be able to come through this one. Roscommon forwards (particularly Cregg... Shine... Kilbride) with decent possession can do damage. Midfield is patchy at time but Finneran has improved alot and Mannion is due a big game. Both of them have a serious aerial presence that should ensure of they're not winning clean kickouts then Leitrim wont be winning them either. However in closely contested local derbies a single goal can decide the outcome and Leitrim hurt Sligo that way. Its vital Roscommon defence doesnt get caught the same way on Sunday or its game over.
Quote from: Lone Shark on June 10, 2011, 10:11:40 AM
Quote from: James91 on June 09, 2011, 11:27:45 PM
I think Roscommon will win by 3 or 4 points but paddypower odds are way too short!
They've gone a three point handicap, and you think they'll win by three? How is that too short?
The match odds is just the correct price when one team is perceived to be three points better than the other.
Yea I get your point, but I mean thats what I think the result will be, but I dont think its worth putting money on as its going to be such a tight game. I dont think Roscommon are worth 2/5. Worded it a bit wrong just.
Plenty of nerves in the Roscommon camp for this one, with good reason given the disappointing performances that have dogged Roscommon in recent years however this is not a daunting fixture IMHO. I'm not saying we are world beaters but Leitrim are in rooted Division 4, have never won a game in the qualifiers and I happen to think they are actually a bit crap.
When I looked at the draw for the Connacht championship I was sure we would be facing a fired up Sligo in this round and I was fairly dubious about us beating them 2 years in a row.
Leitrim is a different matter and I regard their win over Sligo, in which they accumulated a massive 1-10, as a bit of a lucky break for us.
I know we are all supposed to be politically correct these days but I hate watching Leitrim play. Their huffing and puffing, honest endeavor and inaccurate shooting is not the type of football I like to pay money to see. They are a limited team, play poor quality football and drag teams down to their level especially in Carrick. Their lack of real quality is evidenced by the fact they don't win very many games. Some of the worst games I have ever seen have involved Leitrim. Leitrim only beat teams who:-
a.) forget to turn up;
b.) are also a bit crap; or
c.) are suffering from clinical depression.
While all of the above could also apply to Roscommon I'm hoping that we show what we are made of on Sunday and win playing well. If we meet Leitrim's honest endeavor head on we will have the quality to win it, possibly with a couple of points to spare. If Emelyn Mulligan scores 10 or 11 points and Leitrim win a good quality game playing well then I will be the first to congratulate them. However if either team scrapes through in a game that resembles the dire renewal of this fixture which took place in 2004 I will be displeased.
Don't know about that beard, in 2000 we turned up almost blew Leitrim away in the 1st half & only for leitrim's passion,desire & a knock out punch from Regan got them over the line, we weren't crap as we were established div 1 team & won a Connacht title the following year.
I think your selling Leitrim short they have been unlucky in alot of games v Mayo,Galway,Meath,Donegal & indeed v us in 2003. Leitrim always have a big performance in the locker i just hope they used that up v Sligo.
Quote from: Beard on June 10, 2011, 11:37:06 PM
Plenty of nerves in the Roscommon camp for this one, with good reason given the disappointing performances that have dogged Roscommon in recent years however this is not a daunting fixture IMHO. I'm not saying we are world beaters but Leitrim are in rooted Division 4, have never won a game in the qualifiers and I happen to think they are actually a bit crap.
When I looked at the draw for the Connacht championship I was sure we would be facing a fired up Sligo in this round and I was fairly dubious about us beating them 2 years in a row.
Leitrim is a different matter and I regard their win over Sligo, in which they accumulated a massive 1-10, as a bit of a lucky break for us.
I know we are all supposed to be politically correct these days but I hate watching Leitrim play. Their huffing and puffing, honest endeavor and inaccurate shooting is not the type of football I like to pay money to see. They are a limited team, play poor quality football and drag teams down to their level especially in Carrick. Their lack of real quality is evidenced by the fact they don't win very many games. Some of the worst games I have ever seen have involved Leitrim. Leitrim only beat teams who:-
a.) forget to turn up;
c.) are suffering from clinical depression.While all of the above could also apply to Roscommon I'm hoping that we show what we are made of on Sunday and win playing well. If we meet Leitrim's honest endeavor head on we will have the quality to win it, possibly with a couple of points to spare. If Emelyn Mulligan scores 10 or 11 points and Leitrim win a good quality game playing well then I will be the first to congratulate them. However if either team scrapes through in a game that resembles the dire renewal of this fixture which took place in 2004 I will be displeased.
Anybody got Mickey Morans email address??
Quote from: boojangles on June 11, 2011, 01:32:30 PM
a.) forget to turn up;
c.) are suffering from clinical depression.While all of the above could also apply to Roscommon I'm hoping that we show what we are made of on Sunday and win playing well. If we meet Leitrim's honest endeavor head on we will have the quality to win it, possibly with a couple of points to spare. If Emelyn Mulligan scores 10 or 11 points and Leitrim win a good quality game playing well then I will be the first to congratulate them. However if either team scrapes through in a game that resembles the dire renewal of this fixture which took place in 2004 I will be displeased.
Anybody got Mickey Morans email address??
Mickey&minnie@disney.com :P
Seriously you will always get the one or two overconfident fans that doesn't rate the opposition & it's the same over on the Leitrim threads on HS, claiming rossies are not as good as last year & if they can beat Sligo they should have no problem defeating Roscommon.
Leitreim should put up a good battle but expect Rossies to win by 4 or 5
a.) forget to turn up;
While all of the above could also apply to Roscommon I'm hoping that we show what we are made of on Sunday and win playing well. If we meet Leitrim's honest endeavor head on we will have the quality to win it, possibly with a couple of points to spare. If Emelyn Mulligan scores 10 or 11 points and Leitrim win a good quality game playing well then I will be the first to congratulate them. However if either team scrapes through in a game that resembles the dire renewal of this fixture which took place in 2004 I will be displeased.
Come Beard... Come right out and say what you really think :D!
Brave post buddy.
a.) forget to turn up;
Nice to see a bit of honesty rather than usual pc bullshit, Good man Beard. I think Sligo were A,B and C the last day against Leitrim fyi.
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 11, 2011, 04:17:27 PM
a.) forget to turn up;
Nice to see a bit of honesty rather than usual pc bullshit, Good man Beard. I think Sligo were A,B and C the last day against Leitrim fyi.
fyi i'm honest with all my posts & i agree with you Sligo were A,B and C the last day against Leitrim just like we were v Longford in the league final.
Quote from: Rossfan on June 08, 2011, 03:29:08 PM
So have we :-
Roscommon name an unchanged team from the side that defeated New York in the opening round which means that Donal Ward, Niall Carty and Senan O'Grady will make their first Championship starts on Irish soil after making their debut's in the May 1st clash.
The team is as follows:
1 Geoffrey Claffey (Castlerea - St. Kevins)
2 Seán McDermott (Western Gaels)
3 Peter Domican (Capt) (St. Brigids)
4 Niall Carty (Padraig Pearses)
5 Ian Kilbride (St. Brigids)
6 David Keenan (St. Barrys)
7 Donal Ward (Western Gaels)
8 Michael Finneran (St. Dominics)
9 Karol Mannion (St. Brigids)
10 Senan O'Grady (St. Faithleachs)
11 Kevin Higgins (Western Gaels)
12 Cathal Cregg (Western Gaels)
13 Conor Devanney (Kilbride)
14 Senan Kilbride (St. Brigids)
15 Donie Shine (Clann na nGael)
16 Mark Miley (St. Dominic)
17 Stephen Ormsby (St. Faithleachs)
18 James McKeague (Creggs)
19 Seamus O'Neill (Kilbride)
20 Ger Heneghan (Castlerea - St. Kevins)
21 John Rogers (Strokestown)
22 Paul Garvey (Kilmore)
23 Niall Daly (Padriag Pearses)
24 Enda Kenny (Castlerea - St. Kevins)
25 Darren McDermott (Castlerea - St. Kevins)
26 Seán Purcell (Boyle)
Well rumour has it Ian Kilbride will be on the bench,Carty full back & Domican CHB.
Sea, is féidir linn. Creid.... ;)
Quote from: ross matt on June 11, 2011, 04:08:12 PM
a.) forget to turn up;
Brave post buddy.
I know...I'm going hard on the Rossies for this one....hope I don't have egg on my face tomorrow evening!!
Quote from: ross4life on June 11, 2011, 01:19:19 AM
Don't know about that beard, in 2000 we turned up almost blew Leitrim away in the 1st half & only for leitrim's passion,desire & a knock out punch from Regan got them over the line, we weren't crap as we were established div 1 team & won a Connacht title the following year.
I think your selling Leitrim short they have been unlucky in alot of games v Mayo,Galway,Meath,Donegal & indeed v us in 2003. Leitrim always have a big performance in the locker i just hope they used that up v Sligo.
In 2000 we should have scored 7 goals in the first half....we didn't....we thought we had the job done at half time and but we hadn't.....Leitrim played with passion and deserved to win however this does not mean they were any good, far from it, Galway annihilated them in the Connacht Final that year without getting out of 1st gear.
I firmly believe that you make your own luck.
Quote from: Beard on June 12, 2011, 02:12:06 AM
Quote from: ross4life on June 11, 2011, 01:19:19 AM
In 2000 we should have scored 7 goals in the first half....we didn't....we thought we had the job done at half time and but we hadn't.....Leitrim played with passion and deserved to win however this does not mean they were any good, far from it, Galway annihilated them in the Connacht Final that year without getting out of 1st gear.
I firmly believe that you make your own luck.
Irrelevant, the fact was Leitrim were good enough to beat Roscommon on the day & the same could happen in 14hrs.
I hope after seeing Beard's post Leitrim win today, I really, really do. Then again I was hoping that anyway without reading Beard's post.
I'd love to see Leitrim win.
What's the weather like in Carrick? I presume it's wet and overcast like Dublin. Hope it doesn't ruin what has the potential to be a very entertaining game in front of a big, loud, passionate crowd.
I'm in two minds over who I want to win. The natural tendency is to go for the underdog and Leitrim deserve another good day - they've had too many bad days in the last few years.
But if Mayo were to beat Galway (obviously a massive if), I think a Mayo v Ros Connacht Final in the Hyde could be an electric atmosphere!
No love lost between the supporters, the Rossies are very envious of Mayo and would love to get one over on them a la 2001.
Mayo would love to beat Roscommon because of the behaviour of a sizeable number of Ros fans on the terraces/in the stand.
Now, that pot is stirred enough, I'll leave it a while :P
Leitrim want to play the ball into the net, they are against the wind but should still be shooting when they get the chance.
Leitrim 0-01 Ros 0-04, 17 mins
Quote from: Aaron Boone on June 12, 2011, 02:19:08 PM
Leitrim want to play the ball into the net, they are against the wind but should still be shooting when they get the chance.
Leitrim 0-01 Ros 0-04, 17 mins
Yeah, Leitrim have plenty of possesion but are very hesitant in the forwards.
Ros kicked some fantastic scores early on, but have hit quite a few wides as well.
Goal from Shine as I type! Screamer of a shot.
1-04 to 0-01
Most of this is serious rubbish. A few top quality Roscommon scores though.
Conditions are poor to be fair to both teams.
could they not wipe the rain from the camera in the 1st half . seems to be a strong breeze. gods 1st cousin should have done better with that chance near the end
Leitrim are clueless! How many times did their forwards just walk the ball into tackles in that 1st half? Are they afraid to have a shot??
classic rte commentary
"the rain has dampened the atmosphere" Darragh Maloney
"They scored from every shot. Except the one that went wide." Joe Brolly
No sign at all of any Leitrim comeback.
Ros lead 1-8 to 0-2.
Leitrim second best in every way, skillwise, physically, handling, decision making, tactically, scoring. Hard to see any threat to an easy Ross win.
Really impressed by the work rate of the Roscommon team.
Jez ye think Leitrim would try and be a bit more direct with that wind they have. nothing to lose now!
Bit of excitement at last.
Leitrim no. 3 sticking a sly boot in there on the Roscommon lad on the ground. Probably harmless, but what's the point? You're getting hammered you p***k, take your beating like a man!
And Mc Enaney didn't even bother with the extra time. Pat doing it his way.
Good performance by Roscommon hard to know how good they are because Leitrim are so bad. How did Sligo lose to them?
Jaysus, Leitrim were putrid.
Ros looked good at times, but hit some bad wides, sloppy play etc. Very hard to know how good they are.
But they are physically strong, have a few very good forwards, and have an excellent workrate.
Shine and Kilbride will cause massive trouble for any defence.
They could very well put back-to-back Connacht titles together.
Quote from: J70 on June 12, 2011, 03:31:24 PM
Leitrim no. 3 sticking a sly boot in there on the Roscommon lad on the ground. Probably harmless, but what's the point? You're getting hammered you p***k, take your beating like a man!
Saw that, little stamp on the right hand. Will brushed aside and never heard of again.
after last years surprises, order has been restored in the West.
The reigning champions are back in the final where they will meet one of the big two
Quote from: orangeman on June 12, 2011, 03:32:30 PM
And Mc Enaney didn't even bother with the extra time. Pat doing it his way.
You couldn't blame him for that!
Some size difference betwen the two teams. Roscommon have some very big lads dotted around the field. Leitrim looked like a collection of minors compared to them.
Quote from: western exile on June 12, 2011, 02:59:00 PM
classic rte commentary
"the rain has dampened the atmosphere" Darragh Maloney
"They scored from every shot. Except the one that went wide." Joe Brolly
prett sure o'rourke said 2.12 won't win many championship matches ??? and brolly got the words hounds gowl in to his match analysis ???
Some performance from the Rossies in fairness, they are a changed team from the Ros teams of the last decade.
They'll be hard stopped in the Hyde regardless of whether it's Galway or Mayo they're against.
Will be a throwback to the 80s with Ros going into a Connacht final as favourites at home.
How did we lose to that lot? Ross manager knows how to set up his team though-2 man full forward line and men behind the ball unlike our fella.
Ross are much better team than last year with Kilbride, Devaney, O'Grady. They will be hard stopped in final. With the outstanding O'Donned as manager they have a good chance
Quote from: Beard on June 12, 2011, 02:02:11 AM
Quote from: ross matt on June 11, 2011, 04:08:12 PM
a.) forget to turn up;
Brave post buddy.
I know...I'm going hard on the Rossies for this one....hope I don't have egg on my face tomorrow evening!!
As usual Beard you know your stuff. Well called.
Quote from: Tubberman on June 12, 2011, 12:28:58 PM
What's the weather like in Carrick? I presume it's wet and overcast like Dublin. Hope it doesn't ruin what has the potential to be a very entertaining game in front of a big, loud, passionate crowd.
I'm in two minds over who I want to win. The natural tendency is to go for the underdog and Leitrim deserve another good day - they've had too many bad days in the last few years.
But if Mayo were to beat Galway (obviously a massive if), I think a Mayo v Ros Connacht Final in the Hyde could be an electric atmosphere!
No love lost between the supporters, the Rossies are very envious of Mayo and would love to get one over on them a la 2001.
Mayo would love to beat Roscommon because of the behaviour of a sizeable number of Ros fans on the terraces/in the stand.
Yeah if ye beat Galway you better not go just in case. Those type of Roscommon supporters supposedly only turn up when Roscommon win. But shure then again thats not going to happen so you'll be safe enough.
Quote from: ross matt on June 12, 2011, 05:36:53 PM
Yeah if ye beat Galway you better not go just in case. Those type of Roscommon supporters supposedly only turn up when Roscommon win. But shure then again thats not going to happen so you'll be safe enough.
Ye're the reigning champions, will be at home, and are better than last year.
We were incredibly lucky to beat London, Galway were relegated in the league. Ros are favourites.
First of all congrats to Fergal and the lads on a professional, intelligent, mature and disciplined performance. The conditions were dire but there was still some beautiful scores from Shine and kilbride plus some great fielding from the ever improving Michael Finneran. They gave away little or no soft frees and harried from start to finish. Their retention of possession and link play was excellent and they worked well in terms of creating space and opportunities. You cant ask for much more than that.
Commiserations to Leitrim. Roscommon have had plenty of bad hammerings over the last decade so you have to temper sympathy with respect when mentioning the opposition today. They played to the final whistle and being against the wind in the first half put them on the back foot from the get go. That being said they could have taken a few more scroing chances before half time and it was surprising that they didnt drop a man back in front of the Ross big two. Then in the 2nd half they persisted far too long with short passing game when they were chasing the match and playing with the wind. When they did hit a few long ones they got a few decent scores and would have got a goal but for some exceptional defending. They will find it hard to pick it up for the qualifiers but at the same time will know they're better than they were today but not as good as they looked against Sligo.
Roscommon had a persiod in the 2nd half when they relaxed if not show boated a little. Higgins and kilbride going for goals they either should have scored or at minimum ruthlessly taken the point. But they finished strongly after that. Claffey was very imposing in goals and kicked well against the goals. Seanie Mac and co covered well in the full back line. Keenan at centre back gave a way a few bad balls as did Finneran in the first half but he is still a powerful player. Donal Ward has pace but perhaps carried a little too much. Finneran and Mannion dominated. Shine apart from his excellent scoring showed well in front for the hard ball but some of his shot selection was poor. Kilbride has a casual style that looks lazy at times but on todays performance its hard to argue with it. Cregg motored well on a day that wasnt suitted to his ball carrying skills. O'Grady worked very hard also. Higgins got better and better as the match went on after a poor start.
The plus is that with it being one of the "big two" in the final we will still go in as underdogs. Fergie will ensure a low media profile in the lead up just like last year and today. Also hopefully O'Gara will be back from injury and pushing for a place. He was our best player against Cork last year and would also help Shine and Kilbride with scores.
The down side is that we were'nt tested yet this year and when things go wrong for us they go very wrong (as in the league final). Our full back line are tenacious and comfortable on the ball but possibly suspect under a high ball that Mayo in particular could exploit. Galway in turn have the Joyce factor and maybe several of the pacy u-21 half forwards that will run at us so our defence will be on the back foot more and wont be able to be so involved in build ups. Neither Mayo or galway will allow us so much primary possession in midfield and lets face it both of those sides have bigger, tougher and better footballing defenders than Leitrim.... is Bradshaw... Forde... Andy Moran etc.
However we are a young side that has gained and built on experience so we're on the way up. We need to improve again for the final. But if they bring the same discipline and focus to the table again we are in with a decent chance and its a long time since we've been able to say that versus Galway or Mayo in championship football.
Quote from: Tubberman on June 12, 2011, 05:52:55 PM
We were incredibly lucky to beat London, Galway were relegated in the league. Ros are favourites.
Not at all. Are'nt ye and Galway the "real Connacht final". Media will love it. Cue the usual love in here where ye doff the cap to Galway and they pretend to take ye seriously by omitting to mention they've won 5 AI titles since ye last won one. Then David Brady will be wheeled out to list the amount of time he beat Galway but managed to lose all Ireland finals. Then there'll be talk of "ancient rivalry" and the saw doctors will pull in more royalties. Above all regardless of who wins neither side will be offended by the other sides supporters. In fact ye'll be nearly aplogise for winning to each other. So it'll be safe enough for the likes of you to attend. And look by the time all thats over ye'll have forgotten who ye'll be playin in the "B Final".
Just back from a wet & blustery Carrick on Shannon conditions for a game of Football was terrible! solid,professional performance as fergal got his game plan spot on today. Obviously i'm surprised by the margin of victory but we where full value for the 12pts win.
I thought Kilbride was the class apart today he wouldn't look out of place in any forward line in Ireland,finneran/Mannion won the midfield battle hands down,Shine took his goal well & was dangerous throughout & Cregg,O'Grady,Devaney worked their socks off
As ross matt said "Commiserations to Leitrim" we know well very what days like today are like & Leitrim are better than today & hopefully their young team can recover from today's non show.
I'm still concerned about or back line & if leitrim were more clinical in the 1st half it could have been a closer game but I'm delighted with the win & the excellent performance! Looking forward to the home Connacht final where we will be underdogs again.
P.S On a awful day between div 4 teams with the game live on TV the offical attendance of 13500 was superb.
I was expecting a free flowing exciting game today however i suppose the poor weather put a end to that? Roscommon won all the key battle's all over the field & in Senan Kilbride,Donal Shine the Rossies have two fine old fashioned forwards. Will be hard for Leitrim to lift themselves after this but i hope they can get a win or two in the Qualifiers
As for the Connacht Final whoever wins the Galway v Mayo game will be odds on favourites for the title however i hope Roscommon win it as the other two have won enough.
Quote from: ross4life on June 12, 2011, 06:55:14 PM
P.S On a awful day between div 4 teams with the game live on TV the offical attendance of 13500 was superb.
Unreal turn out well done to both set of supporters.
Mayo will probably win very poorly against Galway and then Ros will be deserving favourites
but what does connacht champions mean these days anawez ?
Quote from: seafoid on June 12, 2011, 07:45:15 PM
Mayo will probably win very poorly against Galway and then Ros will be deserving favourites
Roscommon won't be favourites no matter what, how many years since Roscommon beat either of those teams & didn't they both give the Rossies bad beatings in the previous meetings?
Been Connacht champions will mean alot more to Roscommon that's why i hope they win it.
Quote from: ross matt on June 12, 2011, 06:55:03 PM
Not at all. Are'nt ye and Galway the "real Connacht final". Media will love it. Cue the usual love in here where ye doff the cap to Galway and they pretend to take ye seriously by omitting to mention they've won 5 AI titles since ye last won one. Then David Brady will be wheeled out to list the amount of time he beat Galway but managed to lose all Ireland finals. Then there'll be talk of "ancient rivalry" and the saw doctors will pull in more royalties. Above all regardless of who wins neither side will be offended by the other sides supporters. In fact ye'll be nearly aplogise for winning to each other. So it'll be safe enough for the likes of you to attend. And look by the time all thats over ye'll have forgotten who ye'll be playin in the "B Final".
Well that has really endeared Roscommon and it's supporters to me anyway :D
The size of the chip on your shoulder would make you topple over only for the balance the one on your other shoulder provides.
Quote from: seafoid on June 12, 2011, 07:45:15 PM
It should mean a lot. It s the only thing any of these teams have a realistic chance of winning anyway.
Quote from: ross matt on June 12, 2011, 06:55:03 PM
Brilliant!
QuoteThe size of the chip on your shoulder would make you topple over only for the balance the one on your other shoulder provides
Aithníonn ciaróg ciaróg eile!!! ::)
Roscommon's attitude was correct and their tactics were perfect to expose the weaknesses of a MM team. Fair play to them. Puts our deserved defeat to Leitrim into context.
Quote from: Tatler Jack on June 12, 2011, 10:07:57 PM
QuoteThe size of the chip on your shoulder would make you topple over only for the balance the one on your other shoulder provides
Ah, I like Ros really, but it's more fun to have ye as the enemy. Ye are very good at playing the part, that's a compliment by the way ;)
Micky Moran was nearly more positive after today's game than the Sligo game :o
(I like Mickey Moran - Brolly takes out personal agendas against him on tv which, I think, gets to him.)
Leitrim players have been talking up their training regime under some boxing coach in the past week.
I dunno what he has them doing because they were physically the weakest intercounty team I've seen in a long time.
Anytime they went to ground they couldn't get back on their feet with a man standing over them.
I disagree. There's something in that Leitrim team that's not far away from a provincial title. It's probably a forward who's prepared to execute something which goes against the Moran system. Roscommon were the more talented and clinical team but Leitrim had enough possession to do damage. They seem to either have no forward line or are incapaple of hitting them. Also, surely there are 2-3 heavier, stronger plodders to throw their weight about.
Rocommon are maturing alright and possess an admirable forward line in terms of sheer strength but they seem to be happy to give up a lot of possession to teams like Leitrim.
Quote from: Tatler Jack on June 12, 2011, 10:07:57 PM
I'd say that'll be lost on him Jack.
All the reverse passing and quick hands between the 45s is fine but as Ross had so many men behind the ball as soon as Leitrim gave up posession they were hit on the break. The amount of times Leitrim handpasses were given to feet etc. was terrible, posession was handed over too cheaply. Whatever way Leitrim were set up it wasn't to maximise scoring.
Quote from: ONeill on June 13, 2011, 12:02:40 AM
I disagree. There's something in that Leitrim team that's not far away from a provincial title. It's probably a forward who's prepared to execute something which goes against the Moran system. Roscommon were the more talented and clinical team but Leitrim had enough possession to do damage. They seem to either have no forward line or are incapaple of hitting them. Also, surely there are 2-3 heavier, stronger plodders to throw their weight about.
Rocommon are maturing alright and possess an admirable forward line in terms of sheer strength but they seem to be happy to give up a lot of possession to teams like Leitrim.
Dunno O'Neill. Thought Roscommon dominated possession today and did what was required of them.
Maybe stats will back you up but it seemed that, even with the wind, Roscommon's game was more of a hassling the man in possession than winning it. I thought Leitrim had serious possession against the wind as well as with it but hadn't a feckin clue what to do with it.
Quote from: ONeill on June 13, 2011, 12:37:28 AM
Maybe stats will back you up but it seemed that, even with the wind, Roscommon's game was more of a hassling the man in possession than winning it. I thought Leitrim had serious possession against the wind as well as with it but hadn't a feckin clue what to do with it.
No I havent seen the stats but I thought Finneran at mf and Shine inside won a huge amount of primary possession. That being said if Galway or Mayo had the same amount of ball as Leitrim they certainly would have done damage with it.
Couldn't believe that Leitrim opted to play against the wind in the first half? That was a really bad decision.
I know. I heard they won the toss alright. Crazy decision.
QuoteCrazy decision.
I wonder who made it? Mickey Moran mentioned on the SG that it was decided to play against the wind in the first half.... I think maybe the players overruled him. May not have made a difference to the outcome but I would think that if you are the underdog you take whatever advantage is going when you get it.
Quote from: highorlow on June 13, 2011, 12:11:29 PM
QuoteCrazy decision.
I wonder who made it? Mickey Moran mentioned on the SG that it was decided to play against the wind in the first half.... I think maybe the players overruled him. May not have made a difference to the outcome but I would think that if you are the underdog you take whatever advantage is going when you get it.
Yeah to be fair to him he was pretty protective of his players... also saying one midfielder was injured and another had a bad day so I guess if it was their decision he wasnt going to blame them. Then again if Shine hadnt got the goal and they were say only a few points down at half time it would have been hailed as a good decision. But they should have packed their defence for the 1st half if they were going to go that toute.
Moran did mention that they heard the conditions were going to get worse in the 2nd half so that was behind his decision. Either way they needed to keep the score down in the first half. Once they didnt it was going to be impossible to get enough even with the wind.
From a Ross point of view I was very happy with the performance. The team as a whole is gaining confidence with every win and this is huge for a relatively young side. Up to 18months ago Ross had developed a losing habit and it drained the confidence out of guys. Been in division 4 has undoubtedly helped with the improvement and added to Bridgets run in the club championship most of the players haven't tasted too many defeats the past year which helps progress up the ladder.
One part of the game which I would have a concern about was the distribution from midfield/HF into the front men.
They mixed the bad with the good and Donies goal came from a miskick.
If you had the likes of Dolan hitting Shine and Senan accurately they would do even more damage.
In that regard we are missing David O Gara bigtime as he is the most natural playmaker in the panel.
Anyone any idea how his injury is coming along?
All in all after Sunday the pressure is off, 2 potential banana skins out of the way, and the players can look forward to a home Connacht final as underdogs in front of what should be the biggest crowd in the Hyde in ten years.
Quote from: ONeill on June 13, 2011, 12:37:28 AM
That's the hallmark of MM teams, it certainly was when he was in Sligo. some adapted form of rugby league it looks like. The reason Leitrim were able to beat Sligo is that Sligo didn't work hard enough or defend in enough number and eventually a gap opened for a Leitrim player to sail through and kick a score from 25 yards in front of the goals.
Quote from: Rossie11 on June 13, 2011, 01:13:37 PM
Moran did mention that they heard the conditions were going to get worse in the 2nd half so that was behind his decision. Either way they needed to keep the score down in the first half. Once they didnt it was going to be impossible to get enough even with the wind.
From a Ross point of view I was very happy with the performance. The team as a whole is gaining confidence with every win and this is huge for a relatively young side. Up to 18months ago Ross had developed a losing habit and it drained the confidence out of guys. Been in division 4 has undoubtedly helped with the improvement and added to Bridgets run in the club championship most of the players haven't tasted too many defeats the past year which helps progress up the ladder.
One part of the game which I would have a concern about was the distribution from midfield/HF into the front men.
If you had the likes of Dolan hitting Shine and Senan accurately they would do even more damage.
In that regard we are missing David O Gara bigtime as he is the most natural playmaker in the panel.
All in all after Sunday the pressure is off, 2 potential banana skins out of the way, and the players can look forward to a home Connacht final as underdogs in front of what should be the biggest crowd in the Hyde in ten years.
Rossie 11 - I heard O'Gara would be back in contention for the next match but I'm not sure. Great drive and ability in him if he were to come in but hard to leave any of yesterdays half forward line out.
Quote from: ross matt on June 13, 2011, 03:52:03 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on June 13, 2011, 01:13:37 PM
Rossie 11 - I heard O'Gara would be back in contention for the next match but I'm not sure. Great drive and ability in him if he were to come in but hard to leave any of yesterdays half forward line out.
Club games for the next couple of weeks now & if O'Gara line's out in those he's sure to take the 26th spot on the panel now vacated by Ian Kilbride.
That game on Sunday was too feckin handy.
A Season in Div 4 followed by two handy games v NY and the Neighbours means we are going into a Connacht final with no serious test.
The last thing we need is a walloping from one of the "Big 2" who of course have to be roarin favourites ( ;D one of them is good at roarin anyway ;D).
Still we'll have to give it a shot at any rate but it is a problem going in to a big game with no serious test as a lot of lads who look good along the way can be exposed when it's too late.
However I'd take a Provincial Final any day - it's better than ploughing through 2 or 3 rounds of qualifiers so bring them on ....
Despite the easy win on the scoreboard Sunday was a decent workout. Leitrim made ye work for it which is good for the final. to be honest I think ye will win Connacht. It's a home final for Ros either way isn't it?
It is indeed Seanie.
Unless of course the Prent Connacht council rob us of it like they're doing with our minors >:( >:( >:(
I wish I could be as confident of our chances as you are . After all we have a lot of young lads who havent much experience of playing at a decent Senior level yet.
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 14, 2011, 12:06:24 PM
Despite the easy win on the scoreboard Sunday was a decent workout. Leitrim made ye work for it which is good for the final. to be honest I think ye will win Connacht. It's a home final for Ros either way isn't it?
Because of the way Fergie had Ross apply themselves it was a decent work out alright Seanie. But in terms of what Leitrim did with their posession relative to what Mayo and Galway would have done with same it was'nt.
However you can only play whats in front of you and there was no complacency in the NY or Leitrim matches so its unlikely to appear versus any of the big two. I think its great to be in another provincial final but how they measure up to this level of opponent is more important than retaining the title if you know what I mean. Unlike Sligo its a long time since we've been competitive v Galway or Mayo at senior level so regardless of underage success against them the final will be a serious step up for Roscommon.
The whole fixture schedule is a balls & it won't help us for the final, 6 weeks we had to wait for that Leitrim game & now another 5 week wait for the Connacht final if we happen to lose the final we'll be out playing 6 days later ::)
Anyways looking forward to another Connacht final.. I'm going to enjoy the build up & it's a good boost for the town of Roscommon having 30,000
Quote from: ross matt on June 14, 2011, 02:29:30 PM
Because of the way Fergie had Ross apply themselves it was a decent work out alright Seanie. But in terms of what Leitrim did with their posession relative to what Mayo and Galway would have done with same it was'nt.
However you can only play whats in front of you and there was no complacency in the NY or Leitrim matches so its unlikely to appear versus any of the big two. I think its great to be in another provincial final but how they measure up to this level of opponent is more important than retaining the title if you know what I mean. Unlike Sligo its a long time since we've been competitive v Galway or Mayo at senior level so regardless of underage success against them the final will be a serious step up for Roscommon.
I see what you are saying but I wouldn't go along with it. Ye are every bit as good as either of them at present in my view.
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 14, 2011, 04:43:08 PM
I see what you are saying but I wouldn't go along with it. Ye are every bit as good as either of them at present in my view.
Rossies still need to beat Mayo or Galway if they don't that self doubt among their fans & indeed players will remain.
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 14, 2011, 05:00:45 PM
Rossies still need to beat Mayo or Galway if they don't that self doubt among their fans & indeed players will remain.
If they're competitive and narrowly beaten there wont be self doubt. Just not quite there yet. Fergie is very much in to steady progress. If they're hammered though you're right. Self doubt will surface again.
I like the attitude of the 2 Sligo lads above. We have to believe in ourselves and believe that we can beat either Galway or Mayo.
Yes, a lot of our team are young and inexperienced, but if we need inspiration, we can get it from London. They gave it a right go against Mayo, showed no inferiority complex and almost did the unbelievable.
I don't believe that Mayo or Galway are any better this year than they were last year, and they're there to be beaten.
How many of AI winning Ross minor team played last day again Leitrim?
Quote from: spuds on June 14, 2011, 11:04:29 PM
How many of AI winning Ross minor team played last day again Leitrim?
Seven, Carty,Domican,Keenan,Higgins,Shine,Devaney,Ormsby
Strangely enough this seems like the longest summer ever and we're hardly half way through June yet. We've played two good championship games so far against Div 4 standard opposition, but it almost seems like the NY game was so long ago you'd find yourself wondering was it played last year, while it's such a long wait until the Connacht final you'd imagine it'll almost be next year before it comes around ... most peculiar scheduling, all said. Of course steady development tends towards longer term sustainability, so it's going to be interesting to see can Ros step up another few levels and be competitive against the Galways or Mayos of the western world, on a big occasion such as our provincial final. Realistically I'll be delighted if Ros are competitive in this one and really put it up to our opponents. It'd be a real boost to hopes for their further development if they are tbh, regardless of who actually wins.