Poll
Question:
Champions League Final: Who's gonna win?
Option 1: Barcelona
votes: 28
Option 2: Manchester United
votes: 16
Let's get it started ;D
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
We have seen these type of threads before!
OOOh it would be sweet to bring this up again!
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on April 26, 2011, 09:52:34 PM
We have seen these type of threads before!
OOOh it would be sweet to bring this up again!
I see on the utd thread you missed the game CS. If you had seen it you would understand me starting this thread. Utd will tear them a new ass hole in Old Trafford.
So what, Schalke cant improve? or even United play shite?
Yea both are very possible..This tie is far from over...A team that score 5 at the San Siro can't be that bad
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on April 26, 2011, 10:01:51 PM
So what, Schalke cant improve? or even United play shite?
Of course anything is possible but I would put a very large amount of Money on utd being in the final but the odds will mean it is not worth it.
Plus United will be resting players for the 2nd leg. one of the many examples that anything can happen in football>>http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/champions_league/3609737.stm
Looks like Utd are joining that illustrious list (Real, Milan, Benfica (twice), Juve and Valencia) of teams who have lost 2 finals in the space of three years.
That's one way to look at it O'Neill however it's some feat by Fergie to get United to three CL finals in 4 years.
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 26, 2011, 10:19:58 PM
That's one way to look at it O'Neill however it's some feat by Fergie to get United to three CL finals in 4 years.
That it is.
Quote from: ross4life on April 26, 2011, 10:08:24 PM
Plus United will be resting players for the 2nd leg. one of the many examples that anything can happen in football>>http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/champions_league/3609737.stm
Same year Monaco turned Madrid over as well! Some brilliant performances.
Slight difference though - those second legs were at home. Schalke have to overturn a two goal deficit away from home. In Champions League history on Ajax in '97 and Inter at Bayern this year have managed to progress having lost the first leg at home.
(http://www.whoateallthepies.tv/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/man-utd-alex-ferguson-mobility-scooter-pies.gif)
Fergie on the road to Wembley again.
Time to update the title of this thread to Manchester United v Barcelona
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 27, 2011, 09:37:43 PM
Time to update the title of this thread to Manchester United v Barcelona
Agreed. Barca will be massive favorites and rightly so but you never know.
No its not...This is going to end bad :-\
Barca are the one team that will match Man United's work ethic and on a head to head probably only VDS and Vidic would get into their team. If Barca don't win 3 or 4 nil there is a fix on.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 27, 2011, 09:58:47 PM
Barca are the one team that will match Man United's work ethic and on a head to head probably only VDS and Vidic would get into their team. If Barca don't win 3 or 4 nil there is a fix on.
If a feeble Arsenal side can beat Barca i wouldn't rule out a United side with vast experience.
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 27, 2011, 10:09:42 PM
If a feeble Arsenal side can beat Barca i wouldn't rule out a United side with vast experience.
Not a hope in hell, only Barca can beat Barca. Barca's midfield v the work horses, no offence mate but it's like comparing a Group 1 winner in the Curragh to a National Hunt winner in Punchestown.
As United fan winning number 19 this season is the main priority! getting to see United in the CL final (if they get there) will be added bonus.
Worth pointing out if it's Man United v Barcelona final..it will be a win-win situation for me as i have money on Barca since the group stages.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 27, 2011, 10:19:07 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 27, 2011, 10:09:42 PM
Not a hope in hell, only Barca can beat Barca. Barca's midfield v the work horses, no offence mate but it's like comparing a Group 1 winner in the Curragh to a National Hunt winner in Punchestown.
Only barca can beat barca what is that supposed to mean? i don't know nothing about horse racing however I'm sure comparing it to football is like chalk & cheese.
:D :D Have to laugh at the bitter Arse fan....If you's nearly beat Barca then there are about 10 other teams in Europe in with a chance
utd should have lost 3-0 against bayern back in 99 but didnt. they are the one club that is surrounded in luck, therefore in a one off game anything is possible no matter who the opposition is. even if they are 3-0 down at h/t dount count them out.
Sincerely doubt that. Ferdinand, Rooney and Evra all have real claims.
If United do make it, I'll not be watching thanks to a fixture clash with the Athletic Grounds. :(
Quote from: clarshack on April 27, 2011, 11:21:20 PM
utd should have lost 3-0 against bayern back in 99 but didnt. they are the one club that is surrounded in luck, therefore in a one off game anything is possible no matter who the opposition is. even if they are 3-0 down at h/t dount count them out.
I would totally discount them, they can't score if they don't have the ball and they won't have the ball against Barcelona, no matter what "plan" Ferguson comes up with.
and why would they not have the ball
Quote from: ross4life on April 27, 2011, 10:27:22 PM
As United fan winning number 19 this season is the main priority! getting to see United in the CL final (if they get there) will be added bonus.
Worth pointing out if it's Man United v Barcelona final..it will be a win-win situation for me as i have money on Barca since the group stages.
Rubbish. United need to be winning these competitions. You get no cup for getting to a final. As for it being win-win for you - what kind of supporter are you????!!!!! Ridiculous.
I think Barcelona are awesome but the Arsenal games have to give United hope.
Quote from: Minder on April 27, 2011, 11:28:13 PM
I would totally discount them, they can't score if they don't have the ball and they won't have the ball against Barcelona, no matter what "plan" Ferguson comes up with.
its got a utd win written all over it - just like liverpool in 05.
Quote from: superblues on April 27, 2011, 11:34:56 PM
Because Barcelona will have it for about 70% of the game.
Quote from: superblues on April 27, 2011, 11:34:56 PM
OK, who wants to go first?
away you go
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 27, 2011, 11:36:21 PM
Rubbish. United need to be winning these competitions. You get no cup for getting to a final. As for it being win-win for you - what kind of supporter are you????!!!!! Ridiculous.
True getting to a final has no cup but if United win the PL prior to this game I'll be happy enough & i don't think i need to prove what kind of supporter i am? I'll gladly swap the cash for glory...as they say money doesn't buy happiness!!
Quote from: clarshack on April 27, 2011, 11:38:14 PM
It wouldn't be near as big a fluke as that if it happened.
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 27, 2011, 11:45:00 PM
Quote from: clarshack on April 27, 2011, 11:38:14 PM
It wouldn't be near as big a fluke as that if it happened.
Thats true but the gulf in class between the two finalists would be similar.
f**k sake. This thread title is ridiculous. United are not through to the final yet. There's still another 90 minutes to play.
I'm a United fan and I hate shit like that.
Quote from: CC1 on April 27, 2011, 11:47:36 PM
f**k sake. This thread title is ridiculous. United are not through to the final yet. There's still another 90 minutes to play.
I'm a United fan and I hate shit like that.
Actually you are right. Ill leave this now until hopefully United secure their place.
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 27, 2011, 11:36:21 PM
Totally agree complete BS just being happy getting to the final...United are the biggest and best club in the world and will never settle for 2nd best...I don't care how good Barca are any time United take the field they always have a chance of winning and IF united make the final it will be no different, And you's are all forgetting we have Fergie calling the shots.....
How would you go about engineering a straight red card for Messi in the return leg? ???
New devil when i said I'll be happy enough.. i don't mean I'll be happy with a final defeat & i agree Fergie's United will never settle for 2nd best.
United are the first ever team to keep six away clean sheets in a single CL season, only one CL away defeat in 4 years & on the verge 3 finals in 4 years.. so i think United have already proved how good they are..obviously a CL trophy could be the cherry on top.
Quote from: ross4life on April 28, 2011, 12:15:18 AM
United are the first ever team to keep six away clean sheets in a single CL season, only one CL away defeat in 4 years & on the verge 3 finals in 4 years.. so i think United have already proved how good they are..obviously a CL trophy could be the cherry on top.
That's just meaningless tabloid tripe. Arsenal kept 5 clean sheets away from home in 2006 but that means nothing when your keeper is sent off after 10 mins in the final. All those stats mean fcuk all unless you win the thing. If Arsenal had gone through the 03/04 league season unbeaten but still didn't win the thing it meant sweet FA.
Quote from: ONeill on April 28, 2011, 09:51:07 AM
That's just meaningless tabloid tripe. Arsenal kept 5 clean sheets away from home in 2006 but that means nothing when your keeper is sent off after 10 mins in the final. All those stats mean fcuk all unless you win the thing. If Arsenal had gone through the 03/04 league season unbeaten but still didn't win the thing it meant sweet FA.
Agree. The only stat that matters is winning it in 2008, the rest means nothing now.
Quote from: ONeill on April 28, 2011, 09:51:07 AM
Not sure about the clean sheet thing myself, however if true that away record is pretty impressive & i think it shows for the first time in a few years we'll have the best two sides in Europe in the final.
Speaking of tabloid tripe, i read today Messi has never scored on English soil, All set up for him to score a hat-trick in the final i feel.
Much to some peoples disappointment this thread is looking safe.
Should be a cracking final. That's if United can keep the diving of Rooney, Nani, Berbatov and the rest to a minimum.
Quote from: EC Unique on May 04, 2011, 08:51:30 PM
Much to some peoples disappointment this thread is looking safe.
similar sentiments if someone started a FC Barcelona 2011 Champions League winner thread at this stage!
I know your trying to wum the United lads gallsman however Nani,Berbatov won't play much part in the final.
Could be one of the most one sided CL Finals ever. Barca by 3 or 4 I reckon
The most onesided final i've seen was when Barca were hammered by AC Milan.
3 finals in 3 years really cements our place as the best club side ever
Quote from: new devil on May 04, 2011, 09:34:19 PM
Really?
Could have swore Inter played Munich last year ::)
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 04, 2011, 09:32:29 PM
And the first half in 2005 :) And the second half in 2005 :)
That Milan team was something else with Gullit, Van Basten, Baresi, Maldini etc etc. Was a poor enough Barca side though.
Ah sure Barca have it wrapped up already. Should Utd bother turning up even??? :(
Quote from: laoislad on May 04, 2011, 09:35:28 PM
Really?
Could have swore Inter played Munich last year ::)
May 2008 was 3 years ago...come on man learn how to count
Will really be too much for United, think they can now concentrate on the Chelsea game and forget about turning up at Wembley.
Next year Sep Blatter is introducing a handicap against Barca, they are minus a goal a game, plus they have to play away in every game.
Probably still win
Yea but its nice to be there ;)
Yep, was an outstanding Milan performance. Especially as Barca had hockeyed United 4-0 earlier in the season. ;)
An odd competition this year - one side of the draw was full of quality, the other a gift for whoever came out as the best of the worst.
I can see Barca walloping Utd 5-0.
Great to see United in another CL final hopefully it's a repeat of the Cup winners cup final in 1991 & Fcuk the money i'll lose :)
It certainly does, and the Buffalo Bills are the greatest ever NFL team for getting to four consecutive Superbowls in the 90's.
Any tickets knocking about for this one? wouldnt mind heading to it.
Quote from: gallsman on May 04, 2011, 09:42:50 PM
Yep, was an outstanding Milan performance. Especially as Barca had hockeyed United 4-0 earlier in the season. ;)
Ah, thought I had you. Was out by a year!
Barcelona even money to win in 90mins.... is this bet of the season?
Think Barca are the home team for this one, will have to wear those poxy white jerseys! Can't see anyway for United to win this one. Will be there anyways in hope of a miracle!
Quote from: ballinaman on May 04, 2011, 09:57:30 PM
Think Barca are the home team for this one, will have to wear those poxy white jerseys! Can't see anyway for United to win this one. Will be there anyways in hope of a miracle!
Why the fack not, we have "Fergie calling the shots" after all" 8)
Hope they pack the tubes of Polyfilla with them this time...
Some nasty holes left in the dressing room walls last time Manure played in Wembley .
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 04, 2011, 09:36:09 PM
And the first half in 2005 :) And the second half in 2005 :)
That Milan team was something else with Gullit, Van Basten, Baresi, Maldini etc etc. Was a poor enough Barca side though.
Old age AZ, Van Basten was injured, Baresi suspended and Guillit wasn't with AC that year. That was the greatest performance that I can remember in a European final, all the more remarkable as Barca were favourites. Pep played that night as well.
Could be worse sure at least they won't have to wear grey jerseys as they wouldn't have been able see each other on the pitch...
Sorry Dinny, I must be losing it. Although my point was more general than just that one game. I meant that Milan team in the general sense. (That's my story and I'm sticking to it).
I presume Donadoni was playing, and Costacurta? OR am I losing it completely?
:D :D LL you must be really sick tonight...Your trying to hard
Last night Barcelona celebrated like they won the final however United treated that win tonight like any other game.
Quote from: laoislad on May 04, 2011, 10:01:37 PM
Hope they pack the tubes of Polyfilla with them this time...
Some nasty holes left in the dressing room walls last time Manure played in Wembley .
Quote from: The Worker on May 04, 2011, 09:52:11 PM
Barcelona even money to win in 90mins.... is this bet of the season?
Sounds good alright,might have some of that myself.
Where did you see that btw?
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 04, 2011, 10:08:09 PM
Last night Barcelona celebrated like they won the final however United treated that win tonight like any other game.
I think the fact that it was Real Madrid might have had something to do with it.
If Utd play with the pace and work rate they did in the first half yesterday they will make a game of it.
Outright Betting: Barcelona 4/9 Man Utd 7/4. Paddy Power.
The Utd posters who where bleating about the playacting and harassing the referee by the Barca team in the semi final have went very quiet on the behaviour of Utd yesterday.
I can't help feeling if Chelsea were in this final instead of United they would be given more of a chance & closer odds.
Quote from: oakleafgael on May 09, 2011, 03:51:02 PM
The Utd posters who where bleating about the playacting and harassing the referee by the Barca team in the semi final have went very quiet on the behaviour of Utd yesterday.
Back this up with facts??
United destroyed Chelsea, were denied 2 penalties. Ivanovic should have been sent off.
What are you on about ? Did you watch the match.
The number 1 priority has been wrapped up barring a disaster, anything else is a bonus.
Quote from: snoopdog on May 09, 2011, 04:32:03 PM
United destroyed Chelsea, were denied 2 penalties. Ivanovic should have been sent off.
The number 1 priority has been wrapped up barring a disaster, anything else is a bonus.
The "facts" I saw yesterday where Giggs running to the referee to try and get Ivanovic sent off and Rooney feigning injury to do the same. The same things that some Utd posters where condemning Barca for.
Quote from: oakleafgael on May 09, 2011, 04:38:39 PM
The "facts" I saw yesterday where Giggs running to the referee to try and get Ivanovic sent off and Rooney feigning injury to do the same. The same things that some Utd posters where condemning Barca for.
Rooney didn't feign injury - he was clearly caught and it looked sore. Its never good to see players asking for cards like Giggs in particular did. I suppose its becoming so common in United v. Chelsea games that the ref forgets to produce the second yellow for Chelsea players that the United players frustration is understandable. The game on Sunday wouldn't have mattered if Luiz had rightly been sent off in the first meeting of these teams.
Whatever about my take on things above - if you genuinely think United's players carried on the same way on Sunday as Barca's did in the recent games against Barca then you are deluded.
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 09, 2011, 11:13:10 PM
Rooney didn't feign injury - he was clearly caught and it looked sore. Its never good to see players asking for cards like Giggs in particular did. I suppose its becoming so common in United v. Chelsea games that the ref forgets to produce the second yellow for Chelsea players that the United players frustration is understandable. The game on Sunday wouldn't have mattered if Luiz had rightly been sent off in the first meeting of these teams.
Whatever about my take on things above - if you genuinely think United's players carried on the same way on Sunday as Barca's did in the recent games against Barca then you are deluded.
United's anctics were nowhere near Barca's but Rooney did dive into Ivanovic in the 2nd half and in the 1st he did go down after a challange, turn around and realise it was Ivan and then lay down. Not arguing Ivan was lucky to last the 90 minutes but I did feel United were going out of their road to get him red carded.
If you want to take the Luiz thing to the next extreme, we'll Luiz would not have been red carded in the first game for the foul on Rooney if Rooney had've been rightly suspended for the elbow on James McCarthy.
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 10, 2011, 10:48:09 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 09, 2011, 11:13:10 PM
United's anctics were nowhere near Barca's but Rooney did dive into Ivanovic in the 2nd half and in the 1st he did go down after a challange, turn around and realise it was Ivan and then lay down. Not arguing Ivan was lucky to last the 90 minutes but I did feel United were going out of their road to get him red carded.
If you want to take the Luiz thing to the next extreme, we'll Luiz would not have been red carded in the first game for the foul on Rooney if Rooney had've been rightly suspended for the elbow on James McCarthy.
...and McCarthy should have been sent off in the previous Wigan game for fouling a guy who was filling in for a guy who had been injured by a reckless tackle from another player who should have been red carded in the first half of that game.... ::)
Looking at the path's to the final for both teams it's almost identical.
1) Both topped groups with 14pts
2) Barca & United beat Shakhtar & Schalke 6-1 on AGG
3) Barca won the all Spanish tie 3-1 AGG & United won the all English tie 3-1 on AGG
The big difference though is the goals scored as Barcelona are way ahead however United are very solid at the back.
Has the makings of fascinating final & will be alot closer game than some of the posters here think.
Am I imagining things or was there a discussion on here somewhere re: Irish players to play in European semis/finals?
At least Utd fans here have some sense of reality, jaysus some of the stuff I've been listening to about how Utd are going to piss it. Do they not remember the last final? Not forgetting that Fletcher was missing last time of course :P Little love that I have for Utd aside, I'll be very very suprised if they beat Barca. Barca -1 for me
Quote from: laoislad on May 04, 2011, 10:05:34 PM
Could be worse sure at least they won't have to wear grey jerseys as they wouldn't have been able see each other on the pitch...
You make that "joke" about every three weeks... :-\
Quote from: pintsofguinness on May 10, 2011, 10:24:48 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 04, 2011, 10:05:34 PM
You make that "joke" about every three weeks... :-\
Only two weeks left till the next time so..
Quote from: gawa316 on May 10, 2011, 08:43:58 PM
Am I imagining things or was there a discussion on here somewhere re: Irish players to play in European semis/finals?
It was on the United thread. Conclusion we came to was that the last time 3 Irish lads played in a European Cup semi final was 1985 - Beglin, Lawrenson, Whelan - and not 1968 - Brennan, Dunne, Best as initially proposed. Then Muppet rightly pointed out that the question posed said only "European semi final" and pointed to the Arsenal bucks - O'Leary, Brady, Rice, Stapleton and a few more in possibly the Cup Winners Cup, not sure what year.
Anything to add?
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 10, 2011, 10:57:34 PM
It was on the United thread. Conclusion we came to was that the last time 3 Irish lads played in a European Cup semi final was 1985 - Beglin, Lawrenson, Whelan - and not 1968 - Brennan, Dunne, Best as initially proposed. Then Muppet rightly pointed out that the question posed said only "European semi final" and pointed to the Arsenal bucks - O'Leary, Brady, Rice, Stapleton and a few more in possibly the Cup Winners Cup, not sure what year.
Anything to add?
Just watching the Liverpool Fulham game last night with Baird and Hughes playing, got me thinking. Checked and those 2 and Duff played in last years Europa League Final. Not sure about the semi mind
Quote from: gawa316 on May 10, 2011, 11:03:55 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 10, 2011, 10:57:34 PM
Anything to add?
Just watching the Liverpool Fulham game last night with Baird and Hughes playing, got me thinking. Checked and those 2 and Duff played in last years Europa League Final. Not sure about the semi mind
That's some shout, fair play.
Busquets charged with racism by UEFA, case to be heard on Monday. Big, big blow to Barca if found guilty.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/13381508.stm
Quote from: gallsman on May 12, 2011, 04:58:57 PM
Busquets charged with racism by UEFA, case to be heard on Monday. Big, big blow to Barca if found guilty.
Would it be? He's looked average anytime I've seen him. Maybe in comparison to whats around him mind!
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 12, 2011, 06:59:18 PM
Would it be? He's looked average anytime I've seen him. Maybe in comparison to whats around him mind!
I disagree Norf. I think Busquets is a quality player. He is essentially a spoiler but he's a good passer and playmaker also.
I suppose it won't alter Barca's gameplan too much if he is suspended though. Abidal should be fit again at LB which would allow Puyol to go back into central defence. Masch would then take the defensive midfield role that Busquets has.
Keita is another player that can come in, while been charged with racism is very serious i can't help feeling with a CL final around the corner it will nothing more than a slap on the wrist.
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 12, 2011, 06:59:18 PM
Busquets is an absolutely hateful bollox with his theatrics. He's a top quality player though. Tackling, vision, passing are all outstanding.
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 12, 2011, 08:14:29 PM
Keita is another player that can come in, while been charged with racism is very serious i can't help feeling with a CL final around the corner it will nothing more than a slap on the wrist.
If he's not found guilty, they can hardy suspend him. If he is, they will and he will be fined.
Really looking forward to Saturday now. Relaxed about the game. Utd have a chance and with the league in the bag it has been a good year anyway. ;D
Yes I'm relaxed myself as regardless of the result it has been a historic season for Man United. EC maybe you can pop up a poll & see who the pundits here really think is going to win?
How do you do it R4L?
TBH, I think Man Utd have a great chance on Sat. Already won the league for a record number of times, seen as underdogs by most, at Wembley so should have a big support, should be relaxed enough, so nothing to lose??
The key factor is going to be their ability to stop Barca dominating possession and (Utd) taking any chances that present themselves. If MU score first, it could be interesting. Hope that Norwegian ballix isn't the ref...and yes I am still sore!
Good Luck.
Quote from: EC Unique on May 25, 2011, 05:48:59 PM
How do you do it R4L?
Not sure maybe you have to start a new poll thread?
Quote from: ross4life on May 25, 2011, 06:17:38 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on May 25, 2011, 05:48:59 PM
How do you do it R4L?
Not sure maybe you have to start a new poll thread?
Work away if you want but a waste of time I think. All ABU's will vote barca and Utd fans vote Utd! Means nothing really.
I
think hope 2-1 Utd. Rooney, Hernandez and Messi to score.
Not to worry there's a poll on boards.ie so i have a fair idea, BTW Andy Gray has gone for a 3-2 United win :-\
IMO we have the two best European clubs sides in final (not always the case with these finals) I'm not really fussed though who wins it i just hope it will be a good match to watch.
3-1 united....park,rio, Rooney ;)
4-4
I hear that Kevin Moran reckons United can cause problems to Barcelona's defence. How will they stop Messi though?
http://www.newstalk.ie/2011/sport/kevin-moran-discusses-the-champions-league-final/
(http://www.newstalk.ie/2011/sport/kevin-moran-discusses-the-champions-league-final/)
I think United will win it, Giggs with a late winner. All the pressure is on Barcelona, Ferguson will love that.
Quote from: davegaasportsdesk on May 27, 2011, 11:53:27 AM
I hear that Kevin Moran reckons United can cause problems to Barcelona's defence. How will they stop Messi though?
http://www.newstalk.ie/2011/sport/kevin-moran-discusses-the-champions-league-final/
(http://www.newstalk.ie/2011/sport/kevin-moran-discusses-the-champions-league-final/)
Who is davegaasportsdesknewstalk?
Mods - do you think perhaps we have enough Merchandise United threads already where this shite could feel at home?
Quote from: ludermor on May 27, 2011, 11:58:31 AM
Quote from: davegaasportsdesk on May 27, 2011, 11:53:27 AM
Who is davegaasportsdesknewstalk?
Ha ha no just follow their coverage.
Quote from: Agent Orange on May 27, 2011, 11:57:22 AM
I think United will win it, Giggs with a late winner. All the pressure is on Barcelona, Ferguson will love that.
Yep, these Barcelona players don't seem to perform in the big games..........
Hardly a surprise Moran a ex United player thinks this..Next thing he will be saying the Dubs can win the All Ireland :)
Kevin is only player to have an ALL Ireland and Fa Cup medal ;D
Quote from: davegaasportsdesk on May 27, 2011, 12:30:57 PM
Did he actually get a medal that time? I thought there was something that because he was sent off he didn't get one,or am I talking balls again. :D
I'm sure he did get one.
Well who do you fancy will win this one?
(please keep all match comments to the relevant thread)
did socrates not do that (as well as world cup medal)???
Oh maybe your right bananaman, my apologies.
i think I felt a tremor emanating from Cork..
Quote from: Banana Man on May 27, 2011, 01:38:46 PM
The 'Socrates won a Sigerson' Urban legend. He didn't even study in Ireland.
Quote from: whiskeysteve on May 27, 2011, 02:43:06 PM
Aye and when did he win an FA Cup medal? Or a World Cup medal?
barca 2-1. messi and villa. park scoring for utd.
3-1 barca
Barcelona 1 Man United 1 Villa,Vidic with the goals & barca to win on penalties with winning kick from Eric Abidal.
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 27, 2011, 02:52:48 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on May 27, 2011, 02:43:06 PM
He did spin a good yarn though
Aye and when did he win an FA Cup medal? Or a World Cup medal?
Which station do you guys reckon will be the best to watch this game?
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 27, 2011, 04:01:07 PM
Connolly??
Quote from: Hardy on May 27, 2011, 12:03:25 PM
Mods - do you think perhaps we have enough Merchandise United threads already where this shite could feel at home?
Hardy - saw this and thought of you! Enjoy. I know you will be with "us" in spirit tomorrow night!
http://www.thedailybeast.com/blogs-and-stories/2011-05-26/manchester-united-fan-defends-his-faith-before-champions-league-final/
Man Utd to win ............. sadly.
Personally would love to see Barcelona 3 or 4 up at halftime with the tv cameras focussing regularly on Ferguson in the 2nd half as they get hit for two more on the break.
From Barca's website.
►Since the competition has been called the Champions League (1992/93), Barça and United have scored and leaked the same number of goals (303 and 158).
►Of the nine games the Red Devils have played at Wembley (all in domestic competitions), five have been decided on penalties.
►Barça's last official visit to the place where they won their first European Cup was in the group stages of the 1999/00 season. They beat Arsenal 4-2.
►The team has already played at the new Wembley. That was in two preseason games in 2009/10 against Tottenham and Al Ahly.
►Barça have scored the most goals in this Champions League, with 27, and Manchester United have conceded the fewest goals, 4.
► Alex Ferguson's side have taken the most corners (76).
► These are the two clubs with the highest possession in this year's Champions League. The Catalans have 62% and the Mancunians 58%.
►Goalkeeper Edwin Van der Sar is retiring after the final. At 40 years of age, he already has two Champions League winners medals (1995 and 2009).
►Thanks to his 11 goals, Leo Messi will almost certainly be top scorer in the Champions League for the third season in a row. Only Gerd Müller and Jean Pierre Papin have achieved the same feat.
► The Argentinian is just one shy of the all time record under the current format. Ruud Van Nistelrooy scored 12 in 2003.
►Messi has taken the most shots in the competition (31) and is also the player who has been on the receiving end of the most fouls (30).
He also won Tops of the Town and came second only to Dana in the National Song contest.
The other 4 threads aren't official...
Quote from: muppet on May 27, 2011, 07:36:12 PM
He also won Tops of the Town and came second only to Dana in the National Song contest.
He also had a good stab at the Housewife of the year, didn't win it but came home with a calor cooker for his troubles..
Its on ITV4 tonight but ye may 8nterested.
21:00 Manchester United v Barcelona: A Footballing Rivalry (T)
A look back at recent meetings involving the two clubs who reached this season's Champions League final at Wembley Stadium
Did my poll get merged with this thread?
I wanted to get the views of all football fans, not skewed by utd fans >:(
My neighbour is having a big gay 'love-in' in his FRONT room tomorrow night, all the moaning and groaning before, during and after the game will be tough to cope with so I am gonna sneak in through the back window and enjoy the Ann Summers party in the BACK room with the gals ;)
I'd say ITV, IMO Clive Tyldesley is a better commentator than Martin Tyler,George Hamilton plus they have the added bonus of Roy Keane.
Quote from: ross4life on May 28, 2011, 12:58:31 AM
I'd say ITV, IMO Clive Tyldesley is a better commentator than Martin Tyler,George Hamilton plus they have the added bonus of Roy Keane.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2011/may/27/champions-league-final-itv-skysports
I'll be watching on Sky.
Picking XI from the 2 teams who would you go for?
here is my selection:
VDS
Alves Vidic Puyol Evra
Iniesta Busquets Xavi
Rooney Villa Messi
Subs: Valdes, Pique, Mascherano, Valencia, Giggs, Hernandez, Pedro.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 27, 2011, 08:12:51 PM
Quote from: muppet on May 27, 2011, 07:36:12 PM
He also had a good stab at the Housewife of the year, didn't win it but came home with a calor cooker for his troubles..
Socrates some fecker for attention, he always Plato da audience.
Hopefully is not a game where both teams are overly cautious and it goes to extra time, would love the game to be 4-4 maybe.
Have a feeling United are going to win. Please god im wrong!
Quote from: davegaasportsdesk on May 28, 2011, 01:59:25 PM
Hopefully is not a game where both teams are overly cautious and it goes to extra time, would love the game to be 4-4 maybe.
These type games rarely live up to their billing remember the World cup final last July & 7 of Barcelona's team tonight started that final.
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 27, 2011, 04:59:01 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 27, 2011, 12:03:25 PM
Hardy - saw this and thought of you! Enjoy. I know you will be with "us" in spirit tomorrow night!
http://www.thedailybeast.com/blogs-and-stories/2011-05-26/manchester-united-fan-defends-his-faith-before-champions-league-final/
Thanks Seanie. Sadly, I don't care any more, but now is not the time for a rant about sport vs. business. Enjoy it, all who still love it.
1-0 poor defending from United, Barca should win this 2/3-0 now
Ohh wait..1-1 :o
As expected barca have most of the ball but it's been a enjoyable game so far.
Not a bad game, really is huff and puff v possession football, Barca should be leading though and might regret those missed chances and the penalty for hand ball not been awarded plus Hernadez was marginally off-side for the Manchester goal.
2-1 barca (Messi) was expecting a save from VDS on that one Evra poor on both goals
Looks like Paddy power will be refunding alot of bets tonight.
Game over!
Some team, some goal!!!
What was Nani at on that goal?
United simply could not live with the skill of the Spanish team. Valdes did not make a save.
More rubbish from United in a champions league final when their us a good team to be beaten.
I suppose the easy thing to do is to stick the knife into that Manchester side but you have to admire the fact that with that squad to reach the UCL final and win the EPL is simply an amazing achievement and should be left at that.
Tonight should be about Barcelona, without doubt the best club side I have ever witnessed, they could have won 6 or 7-1 and deserve all the plaudits they will receive.
(http://img518.imageshack.us/img518/4940/bravo310nc1.gif)
United had a good first 10 minutes (but even that was down to Barca shaking off the rust IMO after 3 weeks off). After that it was men against boys.
Barca are some team in fairness.
Quote from: Capt Pat on May 28, 2011, 09:31:05 PM
More rubbish from United in a champions league final when their us a good team to be beaten.
More than this a good team! last time i seen Barca play that well was when they beat Real Madrid 5-0
Congrats to Barca
Fergie certainly wasnt going to let a repeat of 2009 happen again, he knew where they went wrong......
Man Utd embarassed the EPL.
How the heck did Inter beat them last year I will never know, this should have been 3 in a row but probably will be over the next couple of years, or maybe Chelsea, Arsenal, Liverpool or City will put manners on them.... ??? ::)
Well sometimes you just have to hold your hands up to greatness the best possession football team i have ever seen & maybe the greatest club team ever?
From a United point of view like 09 final they only played well for the first 10mins & barca capitalised on every mistake. more one sided game than the 09 final & 3-1 wasn't a true reflection.
Congrats to Barcelona on their 4th European cup title.
Quote from: Minder on May 28, 2011, 09:38:44 PM
Fergie certainly wasnt going to let a repeat of 2009 happen again, he knew where they went wrong......
Man Utd embarassed the EPL.
Awful troll job :D Barca as they proved tonight & v Real Madrid they can embarrass the best.
Most one sided 3-1 eva.
perhaps Giggs should take out an injunction against all media preventing them from displaying how poor Man U were!!!
09 was a pretty comprehensive performance from Barcelona as well.
Best team I've seen since Liverpool 2005.
Minder, you'll have some phone bill with old data roaming on in Kilkenny!
More one sided than 2009. Barca got much better since then, Utd went backwards.
Great gesture to let Abidal lift the cup and Messi to bring it down.
Only disappointing thing about tonight is that it wasn't 5 or 6 - 1
Does the Liverpool,Chelsea & Man City fans think their clubs would have done any better tonight?
Man United are Mayo.
Fergie had no answer to the tiki taka.
Xavi, Messi and Iniesta are on a different level.
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 28, 2011, 09:56:36 PM
Does the Liverpool,Chelsea & Man City fans think their clubs would have done any better tonight?
Would any of them have left their clubs highest goalscorer for the season out of the squad?
Best team wins 9 outta 10, Barca could have stepped up 2 gears if needed. Would take a special team to beat them in next few years.
No. Barca are an awesome team that has more to give unfortunately.
Possession
* Barcelona 68%
* Man Utd 32%
Attempts on target
* Barcelona 13
* Man Utd 1
Attempts off target
* Barcelona 3
* Man Utd 2
Corners
* Barcelona 6
* Man Utd 0
Fouls
* Barcelona 5
* Man Utd 16
ross4life will love them stats...he loves stats our ross.
Quote from: laoislad on May 28, 2011, 09:59:33 PM
Would any of them have left their clubs highest goalscorer for the season out of the squad?
Probably not however having Berbatov on the squad would not have made one iota.
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 28, 2011, 10:09:42 PM
Probably not however having Berbatov on the squad would not have made one iota.
True. Very strange decision all the same.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 28, 2011, 10:07:18 PM
Possession
* Barcelona 68%
* Man Utd 32%
Attempts on target
* Barcelona 13
* Man Utd 1
Attempts off target
* Barcelona 3
* Man Utd 2
Corners
* Barcelona 6
* Man Utd 0
Fouls
* Barcelona 5
* Man Utd 16
SAF will have a plan the next time they play.
Quote from: laoislad on May 28, 2011, 10:08:09 PM
ross4life will love them stats...he loves stats our ross.
I wonder what european stats Liverpool will have next season? ohh wait :-X
He just scores lots of goals in single games, against sh1t teams like v Blackburn (5) and Liverpool (3). Not consistent enough all season and work rate not high enough at Wembley v the European aristocrats that are Barcelona FC
Quote from: sammymaguire on May 28, 2011, 10:28:09 PM
He just scores lots of goals in single games, against sh1t teams like v Blackburn (5) and Liverpool (3). Not consistent enough all season and work rate not high enough at Wembley v the European aristocrats that are Barcelona FC
You'd place him higher than Mickey Owen all the same wouldn't you?
Strange decision leaving him out IMO.
Someone tweeted that he didn't even go to game is that true?
Supposedly so. He's being sold in the summer, was chatting to a pal over there and it's well known in Manchester by all accounts. Cheerio Berbs
Any sign of thejuice? Go on ya good thing.
Best side won. 7-1 would not have flattered Barca.
Barca were just exceptional. No crying or theatrics or anything tonight, nobody can take anything away from them. Even Mascherano was untroubled.
Rooney can hold his head high - fought until the end and made and scored a great goal. No way any linesman could (or should) ever call something that tight offside. Valencia and Evra were very, very poor.
Prior to match thought it would be much closer than two years ago, but once again Barca were absolutely dominant. Even when United were on the front foot for the first 8/9 minutes they barely created a chance.
Alex should've asked Arsene advice on how to beat this team.
Quote from: ONeill on May 28, 2011, 10:34:56 PM
They couldn't play them at home, the League Two playoff final was on
Quote from: ONeill on May 28, 2011, 10:34:56 PM
Arsene needs to ask Fergie for advice on how to win a trophy. Arsene seems to have forgotten from about 6 years ago or so ;)
Let's face it utd had 2 or 3 boys older than messis da
Anyone know who ITV awarded MOTM (work sweepstake)?
Speaking of ITV. They were at least 5 seconds behind RTE and Sky.
Have noticed this before as well.
I'm sure it had to be Messi who got MOTM.
Rumour has it that was Guardiola's last match as Barcelona's manager! he's off to Chelsea apparently maybe he'll bring Messi with him?
Barcelona were well on top in defense and attack. One shot on goal for United in a game played at Wembley that is not quite a neutral venue. Barcelona played the game the way it should be played passing the ball makes it easy. Xavi and Iniesta have now annexed all the major trophies in the sport.
One more important point is that the players who drive this team Xavi Iniesta and Messi are all 5 ft 8 or less. That shows who the best players are yet a lot of teams would reject players for being Messis size. Smaller rugby and basket ball teams beat bigger opponents and soccer while still being a physical game can even favour smaller players who play the game skillfully and cleverly. Take note of this Chelsea.
What was the craic with Barca cutting the nets down at the end?
Quote from: Capt Pat on May 29, 2011, 01:25:19 AM
Barcelona were well on top in defense and attack. One shot on goal for United in a game played at Wembley that is not quite a neutral venue. Barcelona played the game the way it should be played passing the ball makes it easy. Xavi and Iniesta have now annexed all the major trophies in the sport.
One more important point is that the players who drive this team Xavi Iniesta and Messi are all 5 ft 8 or less. That shows who the best players are yet a lot of teams would reject players for being Messis size. Smaller rugby and basket ball teams beat bigger opponents and soccer while still being a physical game can even favour smaller players who play the game skillfully and cleverly. Take note of this Chelsea.
They won it in 2009.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2011/may/28/barcelona-manchester-united-champions-league?intcmp=122
gradually they began to find their rhythm with those five-yard exchanges that resemble a game of pass-the-parcel. And as they did so, the difference in styles became more glaringly apparent than ever. The breakdown of a Barcelona move would be followed by the ball whistling back over their heads in a fruitless attempt to find a United attacker, and the whole tiki-taka process would begin again.
The second half was more of the same, with Barcelona making United's football look rudimentary, approximate, agricultural. A triumph for artistry, patience, imagination. And not a hint of gamesmanship. Magnificent, actually
No.
On that performance it would have been about 9-0 against Chelsea. MU were totally outplayed by a much better team. No shame. How many points would Barca win the EPL by?? I agree with a lot of posters, this was a much more one sided game than 2009. Apart from the first 10 mins and the few seconds for the goal, Utd weren't in the game. There was a poignant shot in the slo-mo reply of Villa's goal where you could see Hernandez up the pitch with his hands on his hips wondering what that white round thing was. Thought Rooney was Utd's best, Hernandez, Giggs, Valencia mostly anonymous.
Very one-sided game; Barca are on a different level to all their rivals.
QuoteBarcelona making United's football look rudimentary, approximate, agricultural.
Ar feabhas! ;)
Quote from: AQMP on May 29, 2011, 12:43:00 PM
No.
On that performance it would have been about 9-0 against Chelsea. MU were totally outplayed by a much better team. No shame. How many points would Barca win the EPL by?? I agree with a lot of posters, this was a much more one sided game than 2009. Apart from the first 10 mins and the few seconds for the goal, Utd weren't in the game. There was a poignant shot in the slo-mo reply of Villa's goal where you could see Hernandez up the pitch with his hands on his hips wondering what that white round thing was. Thought Rooney was Utd's best, Hernandez, Giggs, Valencia mostly anonymous.
I can imagine Chelsea would have more bite in the middle of the park, the roles of Valencia,PJS was very disappointing last night both should have been helping out more in midfield & Carrick had the same display as 09 e.g his head must still be spinning? then your left with a 37 year old trying to cope with the xavi iniesta controling midfield :-\ no doubt a fully fit Fletcher would have added more bite.
Evra was the weak link at the back last night caught out of position on numerous occasions & was a shame all three goals came from United errors but they deserved at least 3 goals anyways.
Hernandez was a isolated/frustrated figure last night in hindsight Fergie should have started with another man in midfield & used him as a impact sub.Fair play to Rooney he worked his socks off, Fabio had a decent game & Vidic played well.
After last night United will pick themselves up dust themselves down & tip their hats to Barca but i can't help feeling even if he dies trying Fergie won't retire until he gets the better of this current Barcelona side.
R4L, this current Barcelona team will finish when Xavi is finished... In 5 years time when his current contract comes to an end. When he is 37. So hopefully United will get another crack at them before then. But your comments more or less sums it up, midfield hopelessly outplayed last night and SAF could do with another Roy Keane style combative midfield dynamo. Who that man is in world football at the moment....??
Quote from: sammymaguire on May 29, 2011, 03:08:56 PM
R4L, this current Barcelona team will finish when Xavi is finished... In 5 years time when his current contract comes to an end. When he is 37. So hopefully United will get another crack at them before then. But your comments more or less sums it up, midfield hopelessly outplayed last night and SAF could do with another Roy Keane style combative midfield dynamo. Who that man is in world football at the moment....??
Remains to been seen what happens when Xavi is done it's also Mourinho theory Barca won't be as good when he's done.
Keane style midfielder is a rare breed these days though United have a couple of young guys coming through with a similar style.
Lads, did ITV come out with the usual guff that the "whole of the country " was behind Utd.? Doubt if even half of Greater Manchester wanted them to win.
Seriously humbling watching Barcelona play. Great stuff.
QuoteRemains to been seen what happens when Xavi is done it's also Mourinho theory Barca won't be as good when he's done
Xavi could call time on his international career shortly allowing him to continue playing for Barca for another 4-5 years.
For sure he is the lynchpin of the current team but they will hope to have a ready made replacement when he does decide to hang up his boots.
Currently Barca reserves and all the teams below them are coached by former Barca players, Luis Enrique, Oscar, Sergi etc.
All the teams are been coached to play the same way so it allows the players to move up the ranks seemlessly.
Xavi will go straight into coaching when he finishes up playing.
The next 2 big names are the brothers Thiago 20 and Rafinha 16. Sons of Brazilian WC winner Mazinho.
Barca fans have huge hopes for both of them.
As much as they would like to get Fabergas back, they are not bothered if they have to pay crazy money when so much talent is coming up the line.
QuoteThe next 2 big names are the brothers Thiago 20 and Rafinha 16. Sons of Brazilian WC winner Mazinho.
As Donnolly's Hollow would say
An ounce of breedin' is worth a tonne of feedin'
Quote from: Rossie11 on May 30, 2011, 11:16:40 AM
QuoteRemains to been seen what happens when Xavi is done it's also Mourinho theory Barca won't be as good when he's done
Xavi could call time on his international career shortly allowing him to continue playing for Barca for another 4-5 years.
For sure he is the lynchpin of the current team but they will hope to have a ready made replacement when he does decide to hang up his boots.
Currently Barca reserves and all the teams below them are coached by former Barca players, Luis Enrique, Oscar, Sergi etc.
All the teams are been coached to play the same way so it allows the players to move up the ranks seemlessly.
The next 2 big names are the brothers Thiago 20 and Rafinha 16. Sons of Brazilian WC winner Mazinho.
As much as they would like to get Fabergas back, they are not bothered if they have to pay crazy money when so much talent is coming up the line.
Agree about Xavi. According to Wikipedia, Xavier Hernandez i Creus (to give him his full title) was born on 25 Jan 1980. The type of player he is, I think he could easily play at the top level until he's 34/35 and maybe beyond if he jacks in Spain.
Probably the most one sided Champions League final since the first half of the 2005 Final.
The second half of the 2005 Final was the last time I enjoyed a second half of Champions League final as much as I did on Saturday night.
Have heard alot about those guys but they may have to ply their trade elsewhere as the current Barca team are set for 3/4 season at least. i wonder what the Barca fans make of Arsenal nicking their youth players? certainly something going on between the two & was no surprise to see Barcelona training at Arsenal during the week.
Quote from: ross4life on May 30, 2011, 03:00:35 PM
Have heard alot about those guys but they may have to ply their trade elsewhere as the current Barca team are set for 3/4 season at least. i wonder what the Barca fans make of Arsenal nicking their youth players? certainly something going on between the two & was no surprise to see Barcelona training at Arsenal during the week.
I doubt they are too bothered at the minute with the way they are currently playing and it woudl appear the best players are been retained and will soon be onboard as well.
Never got to see the game live, so recorded it just in case. Watched most of it last night and i have to say enjoyed every minute of it. United were simply out of there depth.
And i see they are still obsessed with Liverpool,
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/251705_212949512068922_110396845657523_661774_7550425_n.jpg)
Sad really, maybe the t-shirt should have looked like this
(http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/4039/lunapic1306756520770242.jpg)
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on May 30, 2011, 03:31:28 PM
Never got to see the game live, so recorded it just in case. Watched most of it last night and i have to say enjoyed every minute of it. United were simply out of there depth.
And i see they are still obsessed with Liverpool,
(https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/251705_212949512068922_110396845657523_661774_7550425_n.jpg)
Sad really, maybe the t-shirt should have looked like this
(http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/4039/lunapic1306756520770242.jpg)
Even Park is gesturing 5 times! :D
I don't know Liverpool,United are both obsessed however at least United are top of the pile in England now while Liverpool the once great football club have to watch & live off past glories.
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 30, 2011, 03:48:21 PM
I don't know Liverpool,United are both obsessed however at least United are top of the pile in England now while Liverpool the once great football club have to watch & live off past glories.
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 30, 2011, 03:48:21 PM
from 7 to 19 my god that's a alot watching for Liverpool fans ;)
Quote from: ross4life on May 29, 2011, 02:55:03 PM
Quote from: AQMP on May 29, 2011, 12:43:00 PM
No.
I can imagine Chelsea would have more bite in the middle of the park, the roles of Valencia,PJS was very disappointing last night both should have been helping out more in midfield & Carrick had the same display as 09 e.g his head must still be spinning? then your left with a 37 year old trying to cope with the xavi iniesta controling midfield :-\ no doubt a fully fit Fletcher would have added more bite.
Evra was the weak link at the back last night caught out of position on numerous occasions & was a shame all three goals came from United errors but they deserved at least 3 goals anyways.
Hernandez was a isolated/frustrated figure last night in hindsight Fergie should have started with another man in midfield & used him as a impact sub.Fair play to Rooney he worked his socks off, Fabio had a decent game & Vidic played well.
After last night United will pick themselves up dust themselves down & tip their hats to Barca but i can't help feeling even if he dies trying Fergie won't retire until he gets the better of this current Barcelona side.
He'll be dead long before that.