Heading to NY in summer. Any suggestions as to what would be good? Don't mind doing the typical tourist stuff or the offbeat stuff .....
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=12336.0
Deadly city...all you need is in this link here above from your GAA mates...Might be worth PMing Heganboy ..the font of all NYC knowledge on here.
From my own experience...if you are in Manhattan...walk, walk and then walk....highlights are Top of the Rock...a dander down 5th Ave, Central Park.
Last time I was there myself and the bro in law got the subway to Battery Park, walked around Ground Zero, Wall St, etc, then just headed up town on Broadway...taking in the sights and sounds....ended up in Times Square...have your breakfast in a good deli...you won't need any lunch...then head to the village, Little Italy or Chinatown for your dinner...you might find an Irish bar then for a few scoops ;)
Centre of the Universe IMHO...enjoy.
you have to do all the tourist spots just to say you did them although ground zero is just a building site with very little to see.to see how the other half live take a dander round bloomingdales,designer gear at crazy prizes and go into abercrombie and fitch on 5th ave,a mad store where the music will deafen you and all the floor staff are out of work models so deadly woman wearing very little.
take the Staten island ferry to see manhatton from the water,for a deadly steak head to peter Luger's in Brooklyn,best steak you will ever taste.for a real ny breakfast go to the bus stop cafe in the west village (hudson st) and people watch and you might get a glimpse of a famous face and at night not far from the bus stop cafe go to the bars and clubs around the meat packing district although it can be a bit pretentious
Walking across the brooklyn bridge & getting away from the hustle & bustle of the city by walking through central park are worth doing.
Playwright,O'Reilly's(near the Empire State Building) are fine spots for food & drink.
Great city, was there myself a few months ago. If you have an iPhone then get an app for the subway so you can navigate around town. The subway's deadly handy once you figure out how it works, gives you the freedom of the town. If you want to get all the tourist sights under your belt then take any of the open top bus tours where you can hop on and hop off. I did the uptown tour one day and the lower Manhattan tour the next day because there's so much to see. In fact I'd do the bus tours first so you can get your bearings and see where everything is. After that you can build up a better picture of all the things you want to see. Times Square is a good place to start since that's where the uptown and downtown tours meet and there's plenty of eating houses, pubs, shops and stuff around there.
Staten Island Ferry is a great job, and it's free. You'll get some great photo opportunities with the skyline in the background.
Ground Zero as the man says isn't very impressive to look at, but it's worth going to see just to see how mundane and 'business as usual' the place really is. It really is just another construction site, and to look at it you wouldn't know thousands of people had died there.
I stayed in a hotel in Secaucus, New Jersey near the entrance to the Lincoln Tunnel, which was a bad idea in hindsight because there was a shitty hotel shuttle service into town that stopped running at 10pm and there was no public transport alternative, so I didn't get to take in any shows or any of the nightlife. Stay somewhere near a subway or railway line (like Queens or Brooklyn) so you have a backup for getting around. You can get rooms in Manhattan but you have to share a bathroom with people in other bedrooms before they become more affordable. It's a step down from your normal hotel but a step up from a youth hostel if you know what I mean. Personally I like my wee creature comforts when I'm on holiday but that's just me.
I wouldn't bother renting a car if I were you, it'd be more of a hindrance than a help unless you want to see something away out in the wilds, but sure there's enough going on in the city to keep you occupied for weeks.
Wear training shoes because you'll be doing a lot of walking. I remember my feet killing me but I carried on walking anyway because I thought "f*** it I might not be here again for a while."
I'll tell you one thing that struck me about the place, that was the friendliness of them. They're a bit more direct than West coast people and not as laid back, but they're not aggressive or rude either.
I must go back again in a few years and see a bit more of it.
Definitely a city to see on foot!
Mollys on 3rd Avenue is a great wee bar but I would nearly recommend staying away from the Irish bars if you are coming for a bit of culture and to see something different. At least don't sit in them all day or you might as well be at home.
Hoboken is a great spot for photos of downtown from the other side of the hudson. Give me a shout if you're about and I'll point you in the right direction.
The Ninja Restaurant is a good experience, as is the revolving restaurant, soak it all up, theres a ton of things to do. A few different parks would have dance/rave festivals on at various times throughout the summer so worth keeping on top of that and the music scene as you may chance upon something opportune!
Quote from: Take Your Points on April 09, 2011, 12:01:44 AM
Bronx Zoo but don't go by the subway, take the Liberty Line bus from 5th Avenue.
Ellis Island, stand in the main arrivals hall for quite an emotional experience.
Spot on. Didn't even know if any of mine went through Ellis but just knowing the history put a shiver up my neck. central park is good if you have a day. there is a brilliant wendy's on 5th or 6th avenue that is great for a burger. Canal street is a must if you want a good deal on anything and everything. Don't be scared to haggle. ground zero is spooky and there is an underground there if you fancy it. All the big stuff is within walking distance. If you go to the empire state don't buy the ticket to the very top floor. you see the same from the 98th? as you do the 105th but it cost $15 extra to get up higher. I'm going back in July and can't wait to go. have a good one
Quote from: andoireabu on April 09, 2011, 03:10:29 AM
Quote from: Take Your Points on April 09, 2011, 12:01:44 AM
Bronx Zoo but don't go by the subway, take the Liberty Line bus from 5th Avenue.
Ellis Island, stand in the main arrivals hall for quite an emotional experience.
Spot on. Didn't even know if any of mine went through Ellis but just knowing the history put a shiver up my neck. central park is good if you have a day. there is a brilliant wendy's on 5th or 6th avenue that is great for a burger. Canal street is a must if you want a good deal on anything and everything. Don't be scared to haggle. ground zero is spooky and there is an underground there if you fancy it. All the big stuff is within walking distance. If you go to the empire state don't buy the ticket to the very top floor. you see the same from the 98th? as you do the 105th but it cost $15 extra to get up higher. I'm going back in July and can't wait to go. have a good one
Ellis Island is great, and sad, at the same time. Even more poignant these days. I've been in Cobh a few times, and there's a statue there on the quay to Annie Moore, the first immigrant processes in Ellis Island. There's a similar statue in Ellis Island to commemorate the end point of her voyage.
Very eerie to think of it, and to try an imagine the sense of loneliness she must have had.
Go to "milanos" , it's a bar on Houston street in lower manhattan where frank Sinatra used to hang out and is one you should see. You could try the helicopter rides around manhattan, they are worth the money. The natural history museum on the upper west side is a good day out. The united nations building has a great tour. Definetly visit grand central terminal to see the ceiling.you could try going to see a Yankee game, not as boring if you can learn the way it operates.
And you"ll be busy looking at the birds with skimpy gear if you visit in the summer.
Wear white low sports socks or sandals without socks just so you don,t look like an idiot. Lots of Irish fellas wear the black ones with runners and big white legs to set it off.
Quote from: mannix on April 09, 2011, 12:43:07 PM
Go to "milanos" , it's a bar on Houston street in lower manhattan where frank Sinatra used to hang out and is one you should see. You could try the helicopter rides around manhattan, they are worth the money. The natural history museum on the upper west side is a good day out. The united nations building has a great tour. Definetly visit grand central terminal to see the ceiling.you could try going to see a Yankee game, not as boring if you can learn the way it operates.
And you"ll be busy looking at the birds with skimpy gear if you visit in the summer.
Wear white low sports socks or sandals without socks just so you don,t look like an idiot. Lots of Irish fellas wear the black ones with runners and big white legs to set it off.
We spotted you a mile off Mannix ;D
Quote from: FL/MAYO on April 09, 2011, 04:20:22 PM
it was the farmers tan that was the giveaway ;)
Quote from: The Iceman on April 09, 2011, 02:37:07 AM
Definitely a city to see on foot!
Mollys on 3rd Avenue is a great wee bar but I would nearly recommend staying away from the Irish bars if you are coming for a bit of culture and to see something different. At least don't sit in them all day or you might as well be at home.
Hoboken is a great spot for photos of downtown from the other side of the hudson. Give me a shout if you're about and I'll point you in the right direction.
The Ninja Restaurant is a good experience, as is the revolving restaurant, soak it all up, theres a ton of things to do. A few different parks would have dance/rave festivals on at various times throughout the summer so worth keeping on top of that and the music scene as you may chance upon something opportune!
The last couple of times i was over i stayed close to Hoboken in Jersey city, good nightlife in Hoboken (plenty of live bands) & as you said excellent photo opportunities.
I have found hotel's cheaper around there & on the PATH train you can get to WTC in 15 mins & about 20mins to 33rd street, $1.75 for a one-way ticket.
I must check out that Ninja Restaurant the next time i'm over.
Quote from: the Deel Rover on April 09, 2011, 04:30:49 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on April 09, 2011, 04:20:22 PM
it was the farmers tan that was the giveaway ;)
And that walk you boys do so well up in North Mayo was a dead giveaway as well, ;)
The firefighter museum is well worth a visit after you see Ground Zero, there is a good exhibit for September 11th in there.
www.nycfiremuseum.org
Was there myself a good while ago and have to say Ellis Island was an incredible place to visit. To those people that whinge about the eastern europeans coming to Ireland it is worth seeing how many of Irish got to the US and died trying.
Quote from: mylestheslasher on April 09, 2011, 06:14:44 PM
Was there myself a good while ago and have to say Ellis Island was an incredible place to visit. To those people that whinge about the eastern europeans coming to Ireland it is worth seeing how many of Irish got to the US and died trying.
There was a wild pile of eastern europeans went through ellis too iirc, there can't be many left over there by this stage?
Cheers folks. Lot of good suggestions. Will have to plan carefully as will prob take a day trip to Boston or Washington too.
Quote from: tyroneman on April 08, 2011, 10:38:28 PM
Heading to NY in summer. Any suggestions as to what would be good? Don't mind doing the typical tourist stuff or the offbeat stuff .....
Depends what your interests are. There is so much to see and do that you should be kept busy no matter what you like!
I'd definitely do some of the tourist stuff - going up either the Empire State Building or 30 Rock is a must. Haven't been to Ellis Island in years. Didn't impress me then, but maybe its better now. There are tonnes of amazing museums though, especially the American Museum of Natural History and the Metropolitan Museum of Art, which sit on opposite sides of Central Park, which itself is a must see in the summer, even if only to check out the women (they are amazing in NYC in the summer! 8))
Union Square is great too, with lots of good bars and restaurants and its only a few minutes walk to the east and west villages from there. I would spend at least a night in each. I wouldn't know where to begin in terms of eating, but there is a huge array of choices in terms of ethnic foods and price ranges. Just consult websites such as Yelp for reviews.
Water trip is well worth it too. As has been said, Staten Island ferry is free. Another option well worth trying, especially if you stay in Jersey City or Hoboken (both only a few minutes away on the PATH train) are the water taxis. For example, the trip from Newport or Exchange Place in Jersey City up to west 39th Street in Manhattan takes about 10-15 minutes and costs about $6-7. Well worth taking. There loads of other routes between various points in NJ, Manhattan and Queens.
Another one I love is the Roosevelt Island Tram, a cable car which goes across the East River from Roosevelt Island to East 59th Street (Bloomingdales area) and runs alongside the 59th Street Bridge. Anyone who's seen the first Spiderman movie will remember the big climactic scene!
Use the subways. Very cheap and, especially in Manhattan, comprehensive. Easy to navigate too, if you take a few minutes to familiarize yourself with the layout of the city.
There are some nice neighbourhoods outside of Manhattan too. I absolutely love Bedford Avenue in Williamsburg in Brooklyn. Its like a little version of the village, with lots of nice little bars and restaurants. Very laid back, peaceful spot. One stop from East 14th Street in Manhattan (five minutes) on the L train.
I would definitely take a trip upstate, especially if you're there in the autumn. The Shawanagunks, Catskills and Adirondacks are amazing, particularly if you enjoy the outdoors. Lots of hiking and kayaking and climbing.
And for day trips, although they've been getting a bit of bad rap lately after a couple of accidents, its hard to beat the discount buses. Myself and herself went to DC last summer for $38 return each on Bolt Bus! There are many other's, but do a bit of research beforehand. A lot of them operate out of Chinatown.
As mentioned: Ellis Island, walk to Brooklyn across the bridge, great view of city as you go across, you can walk on around Brooklyn heights which is a nice relaxed neighborhood you might enjoy if you want a break from Manhattan, then take subway back. 'Top of the Rock' is IMO better than going up Empire state, handy to St. Patrick's cathedral if you fancy a bit of praying too and right in the middle of 5th Ave shopping if that's more your thing.
Broadway is a good street to walk down to see a few different areas. Little Italy is kind of BS - watch the Sopranos instead, but Chinatown is more legit, if bringing a lady she might enjoy purchasing some knock-off bags etc.
Find the bike rental place in Central Park, biking around the park is fun.
Chinatown?! I walked through there and the smell of the place would have lifted paint. Dirty, rotten boggin' stinkin'.
NY is an unbelievable town. I could walk for days around it.
Do an open top bus tour to get a feel for distances on your first day. Don't feel the need to hop off at every stop; you'd be surprised how close many things are, and you'll be able to plan things a lot better with this knowledge.
One tip - if you value time more than money, don't stand in the queue at TKTS for discount on a show. If a show is worth seeing, the TKTS price won't be that much of a saving, and you could spend 2-3 hours of your life in queue to find out all the discount tickets are gone anyhow.
Or put another way, pick a show you really want to see, then book the tickets direct. Then spend those 2-3 hours enjoying one of the nicest walks of your life around Central Park, without spending any money.
Go see a Mets or a Yankees game. The sport isn't that entertaining, but it's a great experience, with beer flying.
Don't spend hours in a queue for the Empire State. Check out the Rockefeller for a better view with smaller queues.
I found Brooklyn boring, very suburban.
Almost sure this thread has been done before. Might be worth looking back on board for it.
For me the "must do's" in NYC are
Coney Island......... get there by subway and a small walk. Very melancholy and interesting place.
Baseball batting cages near Chelsea pier. Some craic belting away. For a litigious place, I was amazed that we were simply handed a hardhat and tokens and off you go.
Sitting in a bar all night with mates from home/ school you haven't seen in years shooting the breeze.
Staten Isalnd ferry trip.
Walking and walking.
Quote from: Canalman on April 12, 2011, 01:10:01 PM
Coney Island......... get there by subway and a small walk. Very melancholy and interesting place.
Coney island was very run down the last time I was there but that was 10 odd years ago, beach is ok and the boardwalk has a few touches of the old freakshow days, certainly interesting.
I have to go to Chicago on Sunday, but to avoid flying on my own, I'm thinking of flying to NYC on Sat with a colleague and having an afternoon and Sunday morn there before flying on to Chicago Sun eve.
Bearing in mind I am a female, have never been to NYC and will prob be staying near Times Square (haven't even booked hotel yet), and I only have an evening and a morning, what would be the best things to do? I am totally clueless.
There's a few motels around times square that wouldn't be to expensive..Super 8 and holiday Inn pretty clean and would do the job for one night
What are you looking for? like bars, nightclubs etc? Send me a picture of you and friend, If yous pass the test i might come meet yous :P
We got the Paramount Hotel just off Times Square through hotwire over a year ago. Super job for the money. For that time probably best to just stroll around, Subway down to Ground Zero, back up through Little Italy, Union Square and Broadway. Then there's always the shopping on 5th Avenue, Central Park and a visit to the Rockefeller if you've the time.
Agree. For that period of time just stroll around at your leisure. Area around Time Square/Midtown is not my favourite part of NYC.
Quote from: tyroneman on April 10, 2011, 09:57:35 AM
Cheers folks. Lot of good suggestions. Will have to plan carefully as will prob take a day trip to Boston or Washington too.
Washington is well worth a visit. I played football up there one weekend, and as the Friday didn't go so well, we spent all day Saturday plodding around. Arlington Cemetary with the eternal flame on JFK's grave is well worth a visit, also has the tomb of the unknown soldiers.
Obviously the Lincoln Memorial, the reflecting pool and the Washington Memorial are iconic images of America, and the Vietnam Wall is very poignant. You can then stroll around Capitol Hill and down towards the White House.
And of course there's things like the Smithsonian there as well.
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 18, 2011, 10:33:14 AM
Washington is well worth a visit. I played football up there one weekend, and as the Friday didn't go so well, we spent all day Saturday plodding around. Arlington Cemetary with the eternal flame on JFK's grave is well worth a visit, also has the tomb of the unknown soldiers.
Obviously the Lincoln Memorial, the reflecting pool and the Washington Memorial are iconic images of America, and the Vietnam Wall is very poignant. You can then stroll around Capitol Hill and down towards the White House.
Gonna be in PA for a few weeks in july and hoping to spin down to DC. How compact is the town for walking around bearing in mind I'll have a clatter of youngsters with me?
Quote from: passedit on May 18, 2011, 10:40:44 AM
Gonna be in PA for a few weeks in july and hoping to spin down to DC. How compact is the town for walking around bearing in mind I'll have a clatter of youngsters with me?
Time does funny things to the memory, but I seem to remember that it was all walkable. Certainly the Washington, Reflecting Pool and Lincoln memorial, and the Vietnam Wall are all very close together. I think the political district is close to there as well.
I seem to remember a bit of a walk to Arlington, a nice walk though over the Potomac (I think) but that's the only major walk I remember.
Looking like the Mariott on Broadway for me - need to be near Times Square as our office is at No 5 Times Square and I may need to pop in. Flip me, hotels are expensive! I'm working off my firm's booking system, and the company will be paying, but still, $400 a night for the branded hotels - steep. The Mariott is $300 and feels like a bargain!
Think I'll go with the walking around thing Sat afternoon/evening and obviously shopping on Sunday if I can...
new devil, thanks for the offer, my colleague is a 17-stone balding guy but I can still send a pic if you like...he'll be heading off to see his brother so I'll be on my own, hence want to stick to busy areas.
Ta for advice.
Quote from: Rois on May 18, 2011, 11:10:14 AM
Looking like the Mariott on Broadway for me - need to be near Times Square as our office is at No 5 Times Square and I may need to pop in. Flip me, hotels are expensive! I'm working off my firm's booking system, and the company will be paying, but still, $400 a night for the branded hotels - steep. The Mariott is $300 and feels like a bargain!
Think I'll go with the walking around thing Sat afternoon/evening and obviously shopping on Sunday if I can...
new devil, thanks for the offer, my colleague is a 17-stone balding guy but I can still send a pic if you like...he'll be heading off to see his brother so I'll be on my own, hence want to stick to busy areas.
Ta for advice.
You work with Lynchbhoy?
I was in the Marriot at Times Sq a few years ago, nice hotel and right in the centre of things. Mind you after my employment related duties I moved into a another place around the corner to economise for the tourist part of the stay. Some of the other hotels have smaller rooms, unlike the Marriot type rooms that are the size of the small apartment.
Perhaps one thing to do is go up the Empire State Building. There can be long queues there, but I went up at dusk and it wasn't busy and you could see the layout of things.
Quote from: armaghniac on May 18, 2011, 11:44:45 AM
I was in the Marriot at Times Sq a few years ago, nice hotel and right in the centre of things. Mind you after my employment related duties I moved into a another place around the corner to economise for the tourist part of the stay. Some of the other hotels have smaller rooms, unlike the Marriot type rooms that are the size of the small apartment.
Perhaps one thing to do is go up the Empire State Building. There can be long queues there, but I went up at dusk and it wasn't busy and you could see the layout of things.
they say top of the rock (rockefeller building) is better?
Hotels are dear alright, but sure if the company's paying....
http://www.gershwinhotel.com/
i stayed here a few years ago and it was grand, pretty close to the action ( its on 7 east 27th street).
And right next door to it is the http://www.museumofsex.com/info/tickets-hours-location/ , im pretty sure i seen Laoislad hanging around there.
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 18, 2011, 10:47:05 AM
Quote from: passedit on May 18, 2011, 10:40:44 AM
Time does funny things to the memory, but I seem to remember that it was all walkable. Certainly the Washington, Reflecting Pool and Lincoln memorial, and the Vietnam Wall are all very close together. I think the political district is close to there as well.
I seem to remember a bit of a walk to Arlington, a nice walk though over the Potomac (I think) but that's the only major walk I remember.
Cheers for that AZ. I was in NY at christmas and walked them from Penn Station to Central Park and back again with only a wee bit of moaning but I'd say Washington in july could be a bit trickier.
Is this the one with the revolving restaurant at the top of it (or near the top)?
That's the one. My GF, now wife, loved the place
http://www.theviewny.com/ (http://www.theviewny.com/)
It's pricey alright but its on a great location.
It moves around very slow.
Great city alright but not a patch on Aughabrack at night.
Quote from: take_yer_points on May 18, 2011, 03:15:40 PM
Is this the one with the revolving restaurant at the top of it (or near the top)?
That's the one...don't bother with the restaurant...rip off...
Going to NY in October lads, was hoping to take a few days to go somewhere else as well. We were thinking Atlantic city but it doesn't sound good. What would people recommend? We also are considering Boston, Washington or maybe the Catskills.
Quote from: The Claw on September 27, 2011, 11:07:19 AM
Going to NY in October lads, was hoping to take a few days to go somewhere else as well. We were thinking Atlantic city but it doesn't sound good. What would people recommend? We also are considering Boston, Washington or maybe the Catskills.
Was in New York in the summer with a few lads rented a car and headed off on a road trip for a few days. Washington was good, lots to see and do, the Museums are top class the Air and Space museum especially if your into that sort of thing. Very business town and a lot seemed to shut down early enough at night compared to NY. Some good bars in the Georgetown area for pints and the like. Atlantic City was alright, casinos were good laugh, but the city itself was a bit of a dump in my opinion. Took a spin through Baltimore on the way down to Washington but didn't stay long there to have a real look at the place.
Would give AC a wide berth. A kip of the highest order imo.
Personally would go to Philadelphia (90 mins by train). Nice touristy things to do and a great drinking town (if you are so inclined). They really like the Irish there too. Good stop off point also for a day trip to DC by train. Virtual 24 hour Amtrak service there to DC via Baltimore , which you can jump off for an hour or so just to say you were there.
Never been to Boston for any length of time to comment on it.
Depends on what ur interested in I suppose but you could do worse than drive upstate New York and watch the seasons change... Its pretty spectacular at that time of year. Stay in some random backward town. Boston is a great option too.
Quote from: The Claw on September 27, 2011, 11:07:19 AM
Boston or DC always worth a trip. Catskills is stunning at that time of year with the autumn leaves starting to kick in. Some very nice peaceful little towns like Woodstock too. Great place for hiking, kayaking and so on.
Getting a place in the catskills this year will be cheap as cops, they got hit very bad by the storm, washed away bridges, houses etc. Doing whatever they can to get some money back into the area
And the Hudson valley in general is well worth a tour on the way to the Catskills. Absolutely gorgeous countryside. West Point is well worth a stop (haven't done the tour, but the museum, which is outside the academy, is interesting and the location, on an bend on the Hudson, is stunning), as are places like New Paltz and the Shawangunks for hiking and climbing. Orchards and pumpkin fields are nicely ripe in October too.
Thanks for the advice lads, especially on the AC thing, doesn't sound great so I think we'll scratch that. I reckon we'll be doing a fair bit of boozing in NYC so I'd say chilling out could be an option, although a change of location could be as good as a rest to get the drinking buzz going again. Would Washington Philly or Boston be best for the drinking scene?