Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Kerry Mike on March 04, 2011, 09:36:03 AM

Title: Stephen Ireland - King of the Langers
Post by: Kerry Mike on March 04, 2011, 09:36:03 AM
Ireland: I'd rather shoot myself than live in Cork - By Ben Lyttleton - Examiner - Friday, March 04, 2011

STEPHEN IRELAND is at the centre of another controversy today after allegedly declaring he would rather "shoot himself" than return and live in his native Cork.

In another no-holds-barred interview, this time for a French magazine, the Newcastle player hasalso ruled out a return to the Irish national set-up, declaring the Ireland set-up as "amateurish" and Giovanni Trapattoni as "arrogant".

The midfielder, who has just moved on loan to Newcastle, also hit out Roberto Mancini, Manchester City and Gerard Houllier in the interview, published in So Foot magazine in France today. Ireland revisited the lies he told about his grandmothers having died back in September 2007 and claimed they were "a pretext".

"International teams don't interest me. As it is, a season lasts more than 60 matches, so to go off for three days for a game against Andorra, I've got better things to do," he said.

"When you're Irish, you know very well that you're never going to win the World Cup, and even when I was in the youth teams, it used to piss me off to have to go. Everyone came from Dublin and I was the only one from Cork. I had to take the train on my own, pay for a taxi, there was no hotel, no food, and it was run in a very amateurish way.

"Ireland just reaps what it has sown. We've built buildings just for the sake of it, and at the end of the day no-one lives inside them. It costs a huge amount of money and no-one can pay it back. But I don't care about Ireland. I really don't know whether I will ever go back there one day. I'd rather shoot myself than live in Cork. I prefer Los Angeles."

Ireland also laid into coach Trapattoni, saying: "I have never seen anyone so arrogant. I met him once, he was on the phone every two minutes and he left me hanging around in this office for a quarter of an hour.

"In the end, he said, 'If you want to come and play, fine, if you don't, no problem'. He did that in reality just so the media would leave him alone."

Ireland, who met with a journalist from So Foot magazine, then turned his anger on City and the manner in which he was pushed out of the club. "Mancini never liked me, he wanted his own players, and that's fair enough. But he's gone too far, he's got rid of everyone, even the cook left. The family club I spent nine years with does not exist any more. What's going to happen when Mancini leaves? Will he take the 50 people he brought in with him? And ever since he's been there, City's matches have become as boring as hell. The club has lost its soul."

Last summer, Ireland moved to Aston Villa — only because City stopped him talking to Manchester United and Liverpool, he claimed — but one day after he signed, coach Martin O'Neill resigned from his position, leaving Ireland with a coach, Houllier, who had not chosen him.

"After 15 matches on the bench, Houllier told me to stay at home," he explained. "I would train all week and on Friday he would say, 'It's not worth coming, you're not in the team'. That's even though I was best player in training, that didn't seem to matter to him. But I have nothing against Houllier, after all, he wasn't the one who chose me."

Ireland has moved to Newcastle for the rest of the season but his comeback from injury this weekend could be put on hold after Magpies boss Alan Pardew yesterday confirmed Ireland was suffering from a thigh strain.

"We're a little concerned about him," Pardew said. "You get that when you come back from lay-offs, it's something we'll police between now and Saturday."

Title: Re: Stephen Ireland - King of the Langers
Post by: Arthur_Friend on March 04, 2011, 09:39:40 AM
What a tosser.
Post by: ExiledGael on March 04, 2011, 09:40:31 AM
Lovely lad, never forgot his roots did our Stephen.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 04, 2011, 09:41:06 AM
http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_6793454,00.html

jees this boy knows how to make himself popular; id guess he dont take many holidays over here lol
Post by: Bingo on March 04, 2011, 09:44:46 AM
A shining light of the golden era of professional soccer players.

You get the impression that he'll never be happy.
Post by: Arthur_Friend on March 04, 2011, 09:52:05 AM
(http://www.automotive-access.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/02/pink-range-rover-stephen-ireland-manchester-city.jpg)
Post by: Hardy on March 04, 2011, 09:59:00 AM
Having lived in Cork for nineteen years, I have to say I see his point.
Post by: ziggysego on March 04, 2011, 10:12:53 AM
He makes it hard for even his own mother to love him.

Is it possible to be forced to get your surname changed by deed poll. This is something Enda Kenny should look at. ;)
Post by: Bingo on March 04, 2011, 10:15:04 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on March 04, 2011, 10:12:53 AM
He makes it hard for even his own mother to love him.

Is it possible to be forced to get your surname changed by deed poll. This is something Enda Kenny should look at. ;)

If only his granny, grannys were alive today to talk some sense to him.
Post by: Banana Man on March 04, 2011, 10:15:55 AM
he had to wait in an office for a quarter of an hour, i.e. 15 minutes, the outrage eh!!

as someone said on another thread, he needs the blue pipe
Post by: whiskeysteve on March 04, 2011, 10:27:19 AM
Quote from: Banana Man on March 04, 2011, 10:15:55 AM

as someone said on another thread, he needs the blue pipe

Colin Howell's garden hose treatment?
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 04, 2011, 10:34:56 AM
He is a tr**p of the highest order, glad Villa are shot of him.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on March 04, 2011, 10:50:02 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on March 04, 2011, 10:34:56 AM

Calling someone a tr**p is a bit harsh don't you think?
What makes someone a tr**p these days?

It's not like he raped someone,killed someone by drink driving,beat his wife or even set out to end another professionals career with a pre mediated horror tackle.
He is a highly talented footballer who quite obviously has a few mental issues,he doesn't want to play for his country which I really can't fathom at all but we are better off without him if he doesn't want to play.
The guy has a serious chip on his shoulder and needs to see a shrink IMO,but calling him a tr**p.. really?
Post by: Cold tea on March 04, 2011, 10:55:57 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on March 04, 2011, 10:50:02 AM

It's not like he raped someone,killed someone by drink driving,beat his wife or even set out to end another professionals career with a pre mediated horror tackle.
He is a highly talented footballer who quite obviously has a few mental issues,he doesn't want to play for his country which I really can't fathom at all but we are better off without him if he doesn't want to play.
The guy has a serious chip on his shoulder and needs to see a shrink IMO,but calling him a tr**p.. really?

Saying someone has a few mental issues because he doesn't want to play for his country is a bit harsh don't you think?
Post by: Bingo on March 04, 2011, 10:56:37 AM

Yeah, he's no Neil Lennon or Ray Darcy  ;)  ;D
Post by: Doogie Browser on March 04, 2011, 10:56:44 AM

:D - holy shit, been a tough week has it??
Post by: The Real Laoislad on March 04, 2011, 10:56:51 AM
Quote from: Cold tea on March 04, 2011, 10:55:57 AM

Saying someone has a few mental issues because he doesn't want to play for his country is a bit harsh don't you think?

I didn't say he had a few mental issues because he doesn't want to play for his country.
Post by: haranguerer on March 04, 2011, 11:12:10 AM
Fair f**ks to him. Better than everyone else who thinks this stuff but would never (prob cos they've more sense in fairness) say it.

Hes not likeable, but hes refreshing. Why should he play for Ireland or anyone else if he doesnt want to?
Post by: J OGorman on March 04, 2011, 12:05:38 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on March 04, 2011, 11:12:10 AM
Fair f**ks to him. Better than everyone else who thinks this stuff but would never (prob cos they've more sense in fairness) say it.

Hes not likeable, but hes refreshing. Why should he play for Ireland or anyone else if he doesnt want to?

my hole. No one benefits from this, especially Stephen Ireland. Most folk have some built in common sense that stops us saying stuff that doesn't warrant saying
Post by: Cold tea on March 04, 2011, 12:07:06 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on March 04, 2011, 10:56:51 AM
Quote from: Cold tea on March 04, 2011, 10:55:57 AM

I didn't say he had a few mental issues because he doesn't want to play for his country.

Do you know for a fact he has mental issues, if not bit harsh don't you think?
Post by: fitzroyalty on March 04, 2011, 12:55:33 PM
There's a difference between having mental issues and being a yappy p***k. He doesn't like Mancini, doesn't seem to like Houllier and doesn't like Trappatoni despite having never played under him. Ireland are better without a primadonna like him anyway. He's not fit to wear the jersey.
Post by: haranguerer on March 04, 2011, 01:14:56 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on March 04, 2011, 12:05:38 PM

my hole. No one benefits from this, especially Stephen Ireland. Most folk have some built in common sense that stops us saying stuff that doesn't warrant saying

Whats your point? That everyone should only say stuff they benefit from??!

That noone should give their actual views, unless they conform to the norm? Quality world you're envisioning there. Work in PR, do you?
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 04, 2011, 01:16:57 PM
I think he should be forced to live in Cork.
Post by: anglocelt39 on March 04, 2011, 01:27:57 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on March 04, 2011, 01:16:57 PM
I think he should be forced to live in Cork.

He
was
forced to live in Cork Myles which possibly explains a lot, ditto for some Keane bloke whose first name escapes me corkman with inferiority complex thought he was only as good as everybody else etc.

Stevie is clearly an interviewers dream, you'd love to hear the full text of interviews and how he is set up for some of the soundbites. Interviewer..........."Mr. Mancini who turfed you out of Man C where you spent 8 years as an apprentice and has since spent 300 million buying in a group of posing pussies hasn't exactly had huge Success don't you think Stephen??" and cue rant. Kind of reminds me of former Ozzie rugby great David Campese who had an unfortunate habit of opening his mouth before he engaged his brain. Made great copy mind, and Campo had a lot more to talk about in terms of his achievements than our Stevie.
Post by: J OGorman on March 04, 2011, 01:43:05 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on March 04, 2011, 01:14:56 PM

That noone should give their actual views, unless they conform to the norm? Quality world you're envisioning there. Work in PR, do you?

my point is that your initial point re Stephen Ireland mouthing off as 'refreshing' and 'fair f$%ks' was complete cak
Post by: Arthur_Friend on March 04, 2011, 01:49:50 PM
Doesn't take much to start a fight round here :D
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 04, 2011, 02:08:39 PM
The guy is an absolute clown who has had one good season as a professional footballer and has fallen out with people everywhere he's been. From his ridiculous cars to his tacky as f**k houses to the roadkill he had transplanted onto the top of his little baldy head. A complete f**king idiot.
Post by: Banana Man on March 04, 2011, 02:16:07 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 04, 2011, 02:08:39 PM
The guy is an absolute clown who has had one good season as a professional footballer and has fallen out with people everywhere he's been. From his ridiculous cars to his tacky as f**k houses to the roadkill he had transplanted onto the top of his little baldy head. A complete f**king idiot.

:D  :D  :D
Post by: deiseach on March 04, 2011, 02:16:21 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on March 04, 2011, 09:36:03 AM
Ireland revisited the lies he told about his grandmothers having died back in September 2007 and claimed they were "a pretext".

Is he saying that the final explanation - his girlfriend having a miscarriage - was a lie too? No surprise there
Post by: rrhf on March 04, 2011, 02:40:06 PM
Just another run of the mill soccor player.  Is he any worse that Terry, Cole, Bellamy or any of them guys.  I wouldnt be surprised.  If you play a dick's sport, drive a dick's car, act like a dick and talk like a dick, 9 out of 10 times you're probably a bit of a dick.   
Post by: laoislad on March 04, 2011, 02:46:04 PM
Quote from: rrhf on March 04, 2011, 02:40:06 PM
Just another run of the mill soccor player.  Is he any worse that Terry, Cole, Bellamy or any of them guys.  I wouldnt be surprised.  If you play a dick's sport, drive a dick's car, act like a dick and talk like a dick, 9 out of 10 times you're probably a bit of a dick.

What has this got to do with Rugby?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 04, 2011, 03:01:51 PM
The lad needs to have a hurl put in his hand and sent into full foward against Kilkenny or Waterford.

Them boys would straighten him out in no time. He's a tosser but feck him. I don't care what he thinks.
Post by: deiseach on March 04, 2011, 03:04:24 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 04, 2011, 03:01:51 PM
The lad needs to have a hurl put in his hand and sent into full foward against Kilkenny or Waterford.

If he took on Waterford's full back line he might come out ahead
Post by: bcarrier on March 04, 2011, 04:07:09 PM

(http://a323.yahoofs.com/ymg/ept_sports_sow_experts__12/ept_sports_sow_experts-195903463-1284654876.jpg?ymds9xDD4rDaCWCX)

Aston Villa's Stephen Ireland is an unusual fella. He has all those wacky cars, once considered putting a shark tank in his kitchen floor, and revealed himself to be kind of a hypocrite after getting dumped by Man City. Plus, there's that fake dead grandmother business he pulled with the Irish national team years ago. Clearly, this is a man who must have a wonderfully unusual home that you really want to see, even though you know it will probably be a shock to your senses. So come with us now as we explore (via photos from his VIP Magazine spread) the inner-sanctum of the man who just might have the worst taste in football.

Right off the bat, as you can see above, Ireland has a black felt pool table with his own last name on it. Of course he does. But on the scale of 1-madness, this actually ranks as one of the more reasonable parts of his house. Prepare to be amazed...

More here
http://sports.yahoo.com/soccer/blog/dirty-tackle/post/A-photographic-tour-of-Stephen-Ireland-s-ridicul?urn=sow-270226
Post by: haranguerer on March 04, 2011, 04:22:15 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on March 04, 2011, 01:43:05 PM

my point is that your initial point re Stephen Ireland mouthing off as 'refreshing' and 'fair f$%ks' was complete cak

I suppose theres no point in asking you to explain why? Let him say what he wants. I find it amusing. People are easily outraged.
Post by: J OGorman on March 04, 2011, 04:30:52 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on March 04, 2011, 04:22:15 PM

I suppose theres no point in asking you to explain why? Let him say what he wants. I find it amusing. People are easily outraged.

well, since my last post. I got up from my chair and announced to everyone @ work that this place was
crap. Told my boss exactly what i thought of him. Told the girl beside me to go easy @ the vending
machine as it wasnt doing her fat hole any favours. The receptionist was then told her unbutton her
blouse a little more and let those puppies breathe. I also announced that I was the
best bloody employee this company has and that every hooer should remember that and show me the respect my talents deserve

Could not believe the reaction to my outburst. Arms around me by co-workers telling me how 'refreshing' my outburst was. 'Fair
fucks to you John' others said...on cloud 9 now, should do it more often
Post by: Bingo on March 04, 2011, 04:33:10 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on March 04, 2011, 04:30:52 PM
well, since my last post. I got up from my chair and announced to everyone @ work that this place was
crap. Told my boss exactly what i thought of him. Told the girl beside me to go easy @ the vending
machine as it wasnt doing her fat hole any favours. The receptionist was then told her unbutton her
blouse a little more and let those puppies breathe. I also announced that I was the
best bloody employee this company has and that every hooer should remember that and show me the respect my talents deserve

Could not believe the reaction to my outburst. Arms around me by co-workers telling me how 'refreshing' my outburst was. 'Fair
f**ks to you John' others said...on cloud 9 now, should do it more often

As good as a reply I've seen in a while  ;D
Post by: deiseach on March 04, 2011, 04:36:29 PM
I see the little weasel is resorting to the tried-and-tested defence of "I was misquoted (http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2011/mar/04/stephen-ireland-interview-villa-newcastle)".

Stephen Ireland claims he was misquoted in interview

• Ireland criticised Gérard Houllier and city of Birmingham
• 'I feel like I've been portrayed in the wrong way'

The 24-year-old midfielder, who joined Newcastle on loan in January, has released a statement claiming some of his comments in the French football magazine So Foot were taken out of context.

"I'm upset with what has been printed this morning because I feel like I've been portrayed in the wrong way," Ireland said. "I was misquoted and things have been blown way out of proportion. That is the reason why I feel like I needed to say something because the quotes are very unfair.

"What I said during the interview has been twisted to sound particularly blunt and a lot of what was written about my home town of Cork – which me and my family visit regularly – was just plain ridiculous.

"The comments regarding Birmingham were taken way out of context as I had only been at Villa a few months and didn't even live there, so I have no idea what Birmingham is like to live in. Everyone I have met from Birmingham have been nice – my girlfriend's father is from Birmingham, so why would I say that? It's just crazy.

"I can only apologise if anyone was offended, but the way the interview was written made me sound very harsh and I am not that kind of person."

Ireland is said to have described Birmingham as a "crap" city and said he would rather shoot himself than live in Cork. The interview also includes comments claiming Houllier wasted his time at Villa and that he had no interest in playing international football for the Republic of Ireland again despite several attempts by Giovanni Trapattoni to tempt him to return.

Ireland was poised to make his Newcastle debut in Saturday's game against Everton after recovering from a knee injury. But he suffered a setback on Thursday when he hurt his hip in training.

And he might be right, that he's been done by some shyster hack. But I don't see why he should be entitled to the benefit of the doubt
Post by: tyssam5 on March 04, 2011, 05:26:09 PM
You'd think he could afford a full size pool table, that one looks like oe you'd get an 8 year old.
Post by: Minder on March 04, 2011, 07:10:41 PM
I am sure his granny is turning in her grave at those comments about Cork.
Post by: deiseach on March 04, 2011, 07:33:52 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 04, 2011, 07:10:41 PM
I am sure his granny is turning in her graves at those comments about Cork.

Fixed that for you
Post by: magpie seanie on March 04, 2011, 08:29:55 PM
Sure if he was misquoted he can sue the bollix out of the journalist can't he?

No, don't think that will happen either.

I heard a bit of his retraction interview on Newstalk and he sounded a bit reasonable which is unlike him. Would say this was a case of shooting off at the mouth and then - "Oh Jesus, what have I done".
Post by: dillinger on March 04, 2011, 09:55:02 PM
The guy must have mental problems. Maybe he should change his name to England. No, better than that, change it to Stephen Northern Ireland and maybe he can play for us.  ;D
Post by: mylestheslasher on March 04, 2011, 09:57:09 PM
Quote from: dillinger on March 04, 2011, 09:55:02 PM
The guy must have mental problems. Maybe he should change his name to England. No, better than that, change it to Stephen Northern Ireland and maybe he can play for us.  ;D

You;s are welcome to him. I wouldn't give him an Ireland jersey if he came crawling on his knees looking for one.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 04, 2011, 10:13:43 PM
Nice Stephen, nice.

(http://a323.yahoofs.com/ymg/ept_sports_sow_experts__12/ept_sports_sow_experts-347268121-1284655773.jpg?ymd69xDD8aFw5Fsn)
Post by: dillinger on March 04, 2011, 10:30:49 PM

You;s are welcome to him. I wouldn't give him an Ireland jersey if he came crawling on his knees looking for one.

Don't blame you, have to wonder what is going on in his head
Post by: orangeman on March 05, 2011, 12:05:15 AM
Quote from: dillinger on March 04, 2011, 10:30:49 PM

Don't blame you, have to wonder what is going on in his head

He's got issues.
Post by: ONeill on March 05, 2011, 12:45:59 AM
I like this lad.

His views may not make any sense but it's a lot more interesting than the personalityless crew of Duff, Keane, Given etc who are afeard to speak their mind for fear of contract.

More power to lunatics.
Post by: muppet on March 05, 2011, 01:01:58 AM
Quote from: ONeill on March 05, 2011, 12:45:59 AM
I like this lad.

His views may not make any sense but it's a lot more interesting than the personalityless crew of Duff, Keane, Given etc who are afeard to speak their mind for fear of contract.

More power to lunatics.

Chianti?
Post by: highorlow on March 06, 2011, 09:10:57 PM
QuoteThe lad needs to have a hurl put in his hand and sent into full foward against Kilkenny or Waterford.

or get Donal Og to sort him out....
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on March 06, 2011, 10:18:48 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on March 04, 2011, 04:22:15 PM

;D ;D ;D
Post by: haranguerer on March 07, 2011, 08:37:28 AM

The implication being that you wouldnt say that despite it being what you actually think because your fellow workers might think worse of you...sensible, but Irelands approach is a lot ballsier and a lot more amusing.

He doesnt give a f**k what the likes of us think of him, and while that makes for some uncomfortable interviews, its an attitude I respect more than yours (or indeed my own, for theres plenty I leave unsaid too).
Post by: deiseach on March 07, 2011, 09:25:06 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on March 07, 2011, 08:37:28 AM
He doesnt give a f**k what the likes of us think of him, and while that makes for some uncomfortable interviews, its an attitude I respect more than yours (or indeed my own, for theres plenty I leave unsaid too).

Seeing as he is now backing away from what he said, it seems to me that he wants to speak his mind but not suffer the consequences of speaking his mind. He can't have it both ways
Post by: Clown on March 07, 2011, 01:38:57 PM
Stephen Ireland defends himself following damaging article

Stephen Ireland has given an interview to Newstalk where he has apologised for comments printed in a recent edition of  French magazine So Foot and claimed that he was severely misquoted.

The article stated that Ireland had said he would rather shoot himself than live in his home county of Cork again. Amongst some of the other quotes attributed to Ireland were that he felt Trapattoni was the most arrogant man he had ever met.

Speaking about Trapattoni, Ireland is quoted as saying, "I have never seen anyone so arrogant. I met him once, he was on the phone every two minutes and he left me hanging around in this office for a quarter of an hour.

"In the end, he said, 'If you want to come and play, fine, if you don't, no problem'. He did that in reality just so the media would leave him alone."

However, since the furore over the article, Ireland has taken to the airwaves to try mend relations with the Irish fans. Ireland claimed that certain comments were taken out of context and exaggerated.

Speaking about the damaging article Ireland stated, "It's embarrassing the way its got, I feel really frustrated with it, it is so out of context. It is just not fair. It's not nice what is going around the country about me and it is just not true.

"This (radio interview) might do nothing for my case, but I want to show people that I have fought my corner and that I take this seriously. If I am in peoples bad books then I apologise. When I tried to get the interview pulled, and got my solicitor involved, they just said tough and printed it anyway"

Regarding his comments about Cork, Ireland said, "I love Cork, I have Cork tattooed on my body. My friends are there and my kids go back there once every two months. Its close to my heart and I am just very angry over this. "

Speaking about his quotes regarding playing for Ireland, Ireland announced, "The comments sound a lot harsher than they were meant to be. I basically said that I have only played 5 times for Ireland, not 40 times and people tend to forget that. I understand why they want me to come back but at the moment I am just trying to get back to playing football. The first thing I have to do is get myself fit and playing for my club.

"When I met Trapattoni, I didn't get a good vibe. I felt like he wasn't that interested. He didn't seem to genuinely want me back and I don't  think he ever saw me play. We never really had a proper, proper chat.

"I went into the meeting with an open mind, and I left scratching my head. I spoke to Liam Brady more than anything. I'm only 24 and anything can change regarding my international future. I am still good friends with Paul McShane and Andy Keogh. I would love for Ireland to win the World Cup.

"I regret the way I handled the situation when I left. I should have went back when Steve Staunton was manager and I almost did go back. I don't know why I did not go back. He was a good man and I met him numerous times and had lots of conversations. When he left I didn't want to change things, things were going very well at City under Hughes. Things seemed to snowballed after that.

"Returning is not something I would rule out. When I watch the games I do think I could improve things. But I'm frustrated with my injuries at the moment and need to play first team football.

"Even the way I feel now, I feel like id love to go back to Ireland and play and show people that interview was a complete stitch-up. I really enjoyed my time when I was there."

Ireland will have to wait even longer to make his debut for Newcastle following a thigh pull in training. The Cobh man faces another month on the sidelines.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 07, 2011, 01:42:43 PM
I thought he came across well enough in the interview with Gilroy. Sounds like a lad that needs a bit of help, a bit fragile mentally or something.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 07, 2011, 02:04:24 PM
He says the interview was taken out of context, but i read it and the quotes associated with him show him in a very bad light even in the context. Its like this he either said that stuff or didnt, if he didnt then he should sue, but i think everyone knows he did say those things and now its just damage limitation to take the sting of out of how he really feels.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 07, 2011, 02:41:52 PM
He was probably acting the smart ass with the interviewer (female) and when he realised what he did he had to try and apologise.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 07, 2011, 02:44:03 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 07, 2011, 02:41:52 PM
He was probably acting the smart ass with the interviewer (female) and when he realised what he did he had to try and apologise.

Possibly an element of that Seanie, but he has being making similar noises for a long time now. I'm inclined to think he was trying to be funny about living in Cork, but I'd say the stuff about Ireland are close enough to the mark.

He's an awful fooleen anyway.
Post by: highorlow on November 16, 2011, 02:53:00 PM
Ha Ha Ha ;)
Post by: Forever Green on November 16, 2011, 09:07:29 PM
Quote from: highorlow on November 16, 2011, 02:53:00 PM
Ha Ha Ha ;)

+1  ;D
Post by: The Worker on November 16, 2011, 09:09:19 PM
gonna have to send a postcard to him from polkraine   :)
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 16, 2011, 09:09:28 PM
He seems to have disappeared off the face of the earth - is he still alive ?
Post by: Main Street on November 16, 2011, 11:49:58 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on November 16, 2011, 09:09:28 PM
He seems to have disappeared off the face of the earth - is he still alive ?

When the occasion calls for it, he is dragged up and parodied for our amusement.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2011/nov/16/stephen-ireland-republic-euro-2012 (http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/blog/2011/nov/16/stephen-ireland-republic-euro-2012)
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 18, 2011, 10:44:06 PM
Karma!

BTW - I'm not sure that report is correct. I don't recall people beating Trap up about Stephen Ireland. Andy Reid yes but surely everyone know Ireland was a knob
Post by: anglocelt39 on November 18, 2011, 11:09:05 PM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on November 18, 2011, 10:44:06 PM
Karma!

BTW - I'm not sure that report is correct. I don't recall people beating Trap up about Stephen Ireland. Andy Reid yes but surely everyone know Ireland was a knob

Ah no Stephen was a cause celebre for our friend Dunphy at one stage when he was having a break from singing the praises of Andy "take away order for 10 big macs to the subs bench" Reid. For the next 7 months he will move onto Wigan's promising in and out of the team 20 year old James McCarthy. Apparently Norwich City's Wes Houlihan is a Messi in waiting who has been cruelly overlooked by all and sundry (including Eamo) until the Canaries rocked up in the premiership.

In fairness, Seamus Coleman is probably the most contentious omission until you consider the options that have served on the right side of defence and midfield until now. Trap seems to operate on a system of be loyal to me by turning up and I'll be loyal to you. Hasn't worked badly to date.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 30, 2011, 01:39:59 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/16361888.stm

Post by: Tony Baloney on December 30, 2011, 03:14:35 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on December 30, 2011, 01:39:59 PM
What a f**king idiot.
Post by: muppet on December 30, 2011, 03:15:49 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 30, 2011, 03:14:35 PM
What a f**king idiot.

Where did he come on the tw*tlist?
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 30, 2011, 03:17:25 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 30, 2011, 03:15:49 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 30, 2011, 03:14:35 PM
What a f**king idiot.

Where did he come on the tw*tlist?
We might need to re-run it.
Post by: trueblue1234 on December 30, 2011, 03:17:39 PM
He should have the Missus strung up for that. Bad enough when the paps get a pic of him, but the Missus should know better.

Ditching offence if you ask me!!
Post by: mouview on December 30, 2011, 06:23:25 PM
Ireland's male equivalent of Sinead O Connor.
Post by: SHEEDY on December 30, 2011, 06:29:03 PM
what a p***k!!
Post by: lurganblue on December 30, 2011, 06:30:48 PM
Bullroot. Hasn't done a tap for villa either
Post by: 13aside on December 31, 2011, 06:33:46 AM
close this thread and forget this idiot-to everyone else Happy NewYear!!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 31, 2011, 03:30:05 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on December 30, 2011, 06:30:48 PM

until now !!  :D
Post by: lurganblue on December 31, 2011, 03:43:47 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on December 31, 2011, 03:30:05 PM

Right on que
Post by: fearbrags on December 31, 2011, 05:05:26 PM
Fair Play to Stephen  Man of the match Performance
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 31, 2011, 06:22:13 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on December 31, 2011, 03:43:47 PM

Right on que
Right on what?
Post by: muppet on December 31, 2011, 07:08:42 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 31, 2011, 06:22:13 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on December 31, 2011, 03:43:47 PM

Right on que
Right on what?

Que?
Post by: lurganblue on December 31, 2011, 08:11:40 PM
apologies, cue.

New year resolution, English lessons
Post by: Gold on January 01, 2012, 12:46:33 PM
Potentially a great player. Great to see him live up to it for once
Post by: Dougal Maguire on September 15, 2013, 11:41:49 AM
I see he is now considering a return to the international fold now that Trapp's gone. I'm sure the fact that he's been turfed out of Villa and is struggling to reestablish his career has nothing to do with this decision
Post by: From the Bunker on September 15, 2013, 12:08:55 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on September 15, 2013, 11:41:49 AM
I see he is now considering a return to the international fold now that Trapp's gone. I'm sure the fact that he's been turfed out of Villa and is struggling to reestablish his career has nothing to do with this decision

Ah, if we can use him? Then he can use us! Any port in a storm.
Post by: Itchy on September 15, 2013, 12:28:17 PM
Was Trapp the manager when he quit? I thought Trap was the one trying to get him back.
Post by: rodney trotter on September 15, 2013, 12:38:24 PM
He wouldn't play under Trappatoni. Last played for Ireland in 07 under Staunton.
Post by: From the Bunker on September 15, 2013, 12:38:49 PM
Quote from: Itchy on September 15, 2013, 12:28:17 PM
Was Trapp the manager when he quit? I thought Trap was the one trying to get him back.

Nah, he left during 'The Gaffers' reign as far as I remember. Started with 'Grannygate'.

Trap (and I think Brady) had talks with him. Seem to remember Brady saying he was potty!
Post by: laoislad on September 15, 2013, 12:39:39 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 15, 2013, 12:08:55 PM

His new squad number at Stoke is 32. Which means he has Ireland 32 on his back!
Post by: rodney trotter on September 15, 2013, 12:44:05 PM

He would need have to an interest himself in playing for Ireland rather then a new manager running after him. Plus performing on a regular basis, is also a big help.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 15, 2013, 12:45:43 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 15, 2013, 12:39:39 PM

His new squad number at Stoke is 32. Which means he has Ireland 32 on his back!

Up Ara!  Attaboy Stephen,  a true rebel! Will he wear a pink balaclava to match his pink Range Rover?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 15, 2013, 02:04:52 PM
Another man who didnt give a shit about Ireland, wouldnt even think of bringing him back
Post by: Orior on September 15, 2013, 07:54:22 PM
Did he get annoyed by his team mates or the manager?

I seem to remember him getting upset because someone was teasing him about being bald.
Post by: From the Bunker on September 15, 2013, 08:08:47 PM
Quote from: Orior on September 15, 2013, 07:54:22 PM
Did he get annoyed by his team mates or the manager?

I seem to remember him getting upset because someone was teasing him about being bald.

This is gas! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stephen_Ireland#Cobh_Ramblers (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stephen_Ireland#Cobh_Ramblers)
Post by: Never beat the deeler on September 16, 2013, 07:27:54 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 15, 2013, 02:04:52 PM
Another man who didnt give a shit about Ireland, wouldnt even think of bringing him back

I think that is the only thing he cares about!!
Post by: Cold tea on September 16, 2013, 07:49:44 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on September 16, 2013, 07:27:54 AM

He's a deluded attention seeking arse - any new manager should stay well clear.
Post by: red hander on September 16, 2013, 01:13:40 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on September 16, 2013, 07:49:44 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on September 16, 2013, 07:27:54 AM

He's a deluded attention seeking arse - any new manager should stay well clear.

Post by: deiseach on September 16, 2013, 01:46:14 PM
If I were manager (yeah, I know), I wouldn't be completely averse to the idea of Stephen Ireland returning. We're not so blessed with talent that we could afford to turn our noses up at someone who might be playing regular Premier League football in the near future. However, there is no way I'd be the one to pick up the phone. It's not hard to envisage a scenario where the manager of Ireland publicly expresses an interest in Ireland's return, only to have the little weasel haughtily declare his lack of interest because said manager was insufficiently worshipful of the genius of Stephen Ireland. If he wants to come back, let him make the first move.