Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: BarryBreensBandage on March 04, 2011, 12:08:59 AM

Title: Worst Job Ever?
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on March 04, 2011, 12:08:59 AM
I visited a factory yesterday which took in the crud and leftovers from the adjacent meat factory and compressed it, seperated the blood from the pulp, and cooked the pulp to produce oil and tallow.

The guy I visited was the lead fitter in the place - last week, the hydraulics of the 'hopper' (the bunkers where the carcasses go initially) broke down. He had to get into the middle of it to fix the problem. Took him three hours to fix.

He was an absolute Gentleman, very clued in, knew the systems inside out - working 7 days a week in fat and stench. He was telling me he has to go home early from nights out with the wife because he starts to sweat the smell of the factory.

I can't in this day and age, think of a worse job - or does anyone know worse than this?

Title: Re: Worst Job Ever?
Post by: StGallsGAA on March 04, 2011, 12:39:09 AM
QuoteI can't in this day and age, think of a worse job - or does anyone know worse than this?

Rangers equality manager?
Post by: Puckoon on March 04, 2011, 12:43:59 AM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on March 04, 2011, 12:08:59 AM
He was an absolute Gentleman, very clued in, knew the systems inside out - working 7 days a week in fat and stench. He was telling me he has to go home early from nights out with the wife because he starts to sweat the smell of the factory.

Hard to think of something less pleasant to be honest and fair play to him for the dedication - but the bit above had me in stitches. Imagine going out knowing you were on a clock until the wife told you it was time to go home because you were starting to smell. Once in a while I get a whiff of me own feet if I'm not wearing socks, but I drink on an to hell with the begrudgers.
Post by: thebigfella on March 04, 2011, 01:04:03 AM
Teacher? O yeah forgot they get in handy
Post by: mc_grens on March 04, 2011, 07:17:08 AM
I think the lads holding up signs all day on Grafton St. have a pretty soul sucking job.
Post by: Agnes Dipesto on March 04, 2011, 09:46:33 AM
I used to work in a garage/shop in my younger days and a fella used to come in all the time for his lunch from a nearby pig farm. The smell was horrendous and he'd get lashed into the sandwich no problem. He was that used to the smell it didn't bother him. Couldn't have helped his love life though.
Post by: The Subbie on March 04, 2011, 09:46:48 AM
Enda Kenny
Post by: The Gs Man on March 04, 2011, 10:11:10 AM
Worked in an abbatoir myself when I was a student. Scraping the spinal cord out of cattle carcasses before they went to the fridges. You soon get used to it.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on March 04, 2011, 11:06:13 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 04, 2011, 12:43:59 AM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on March 04, 2011, 12:08:59 AM

Hard to think of something less pleasant to be honest and fair play to him for the dedication - but the bit above had me in stitches. Imagine going out knowing you were on a clock until the wife told you it was time to go home because you were starting to smell. Once in a while I get a whiff of me own feet if I'm not wearing socks, but I drink on an to hell with the begrudgers.

;D ;D
Post by: tbrick18 on March 04, 2011, 11:13:36 AM
The worst job I ever had was with the UN War Crimes commission.
I remember when we found the mass grave of about 10,000 snowmen. We later fount out it was a carrot field.

(not mine, but I thought it was funny)

:)
Post by: laoislad on March 04, 2011, 11:13:54 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on March 04, 2011, 10:11:10 AM
Worked in an abbatoir myself when I was a student. Scraping the spinal cord out of cattle carcasses before they went to the fridges. You soon get used to it.

Worked in a Slaughter hall myself for a few months scraping the mess up off the floor..I believe most of it went off to become burgers.
Post by: AbbeySider on March 04, 2011, 11:47:55 AM
Quote from: laoislad on March 04, 2011, 11:13:54 AM

Worked in a Slaughter hall myself for a few months scraping the mess up off the floor..I believe most of it went off to become burgers.

Do you still eat burgers?
Post by: laoislad on March 04, 2011, 11:58:14 AM
Quote from: AbbeySider on March 04, 2011, 11:47:55 AM
Quote from: laoislad on March 04, 2011, 11:13:54 AM

Do you still eat burgers?

Yeah no bother.
Post by: Aerlik on March 05, 2011, 02:55:47 AM
There was a doco on here a few weeks ago about an English fella who came out to Oz to live the dream only to discover it was a pipedream.  So he set up his own business in Perth cleaning up people's property after there was a murder/suicide or whatever in there.  Also had the 'contract' for cleaning up the mess of a suicide on the rail tracks in Perth.  No pun intended but he is making a killing as no-one else wants to do it.  Fair play to that man. ;)
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on March 05, 2011, 06:15:08 AM
I know a fella who use to do that round Belfast. His affectionate nickname was "lift a stiff".

I Worked in the slaughter hall in dungannon meats one summer. I had to put the tags on the warm carcasses after they'd been skinned. I found it strangely intriguing to see them twitching even though they had been skinned, had no head and had been sliced down the middle.

The whole talk about the left over bit of the cattle was that they had a special bin for them to be minced and sent to McDonalds. They got the worst of the worst.
Title: Deascadh
Post by: drici on March 05, 2011, 10:36:26 AM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on March 05, 2011, 06:15:08 AM

The whole talk about the left over bit of the cattle was that they had a special bin for them to be minced and sent to McDonalds. They got the worst of the worst.

That sounds offal.
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 05, 2011, 10:52:12 AM
Quote from: mc_grens on March 04, 2011, 07:17:08 AM
I think the lads holding up signs all day on Grafton St. have a pretty soul sucking job.
There's a girl holds up a sign on a main road near where I live for some sort of shop.
I can't think of anything worse and in the name of God what is the benefit for a business to pay someone to stand and hold a sign  ???
Post by: Tyrones own on March 06, 2011, 05:56:40 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 05, 2011, 10:52:12 AM
There's a girl holds up a sign on a main road near where I live for some sort of shop.
I can't think of anything worse and in the name of God what is the benefit for a business to pay someone to stand and hold a sign  ???
Minimum wage pay and it drives traffic to your place of business in droves
Post by: Puckoon on March 06, 2011, 09:36:49 AM
I understand the minimum wage part TO, but I've never even contemplated going to any of the businesses that employ these sign bearers. It obviously works, as these people are everywhere, but I don't understand how. It certainly doesn't work on me.
Post by: Aerlik on March 06, 2011, 11:40:38 AM
It is not unknownf for traffic management staff to earn A$80,000/year working in outback Aus.  Mind you standing out in the fecking sun for 12 hours a day everyday...no thanks.
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 06, 2011, 11:42:09 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on March 06, 2011, 05:56:40 AM
Why can't they put the sign up on a pole?
Maybe more people notice it if it's someone holding it but I highly doubt that there's enough sales generated from it to justify a person's wage. Like Puck, I would never go to a place that has someone doing that. 
Post by: Hardy on March 06, 2011, 12:57:50 PM
You don't support businesses that employ people?
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 06, 2011, 01:09:33 PM
How about earning your crust as a sewer worker? The very thought of it makes my skin creep.
I've a pal who works as a bin man for Dublin City Council and I'd certainly not fancy his job but to hear him go on about those who maintain and repair the sewers is enough to make me switch out of the conversation.
For starters, the system is overrun by rats. That, btw, is  a natural part of  the whole process and the sewerage disposal wouldn't work efficiently without the rats that are needed to break down the you know what and the discarded food bits that would otherwise clog up the system.
Apparently, a fairly close watch is kept on rat movements in the underground system and it can be necessary at times to increase the number of those little furry rodents in a particular area. So, in the dead of night when they is no one about to see what is going on some council workers come along with buckets of food scraps and empty them down selected manholes. Some time later, one of the workers may have to be lowered into the sewer below to do a visual inspection.
There are times too when pipe joints have to be repaired and when sludge builds up and some one has to come along with a brush and shovel to loosen the mass and get it moving again. The poor bloke has to be extra careful to ensure he is not knocked off his feet when the buildup behind the blockage starts to flow again.
It seems rats are inclined to stampede. Hundreds of them can take off without warning and race from one place to another.
Pity the poor hoor who happens to be working at something or other when the rats coming flying along!
All he can do is to stop moving and try and curl up as much as possible and let them climb all over him. He has to make sure at all times that his overalls are zipped up tight and that his neck is covered so a rat doesn't get stuck anywhere inside his clothing.
If the rat is trapped, it will bite so the workers have to stay covered up from top to bottom even though the place is stifling hot. To add to the horrors, the smell must be truly awful.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 06, 2011, 02:03:44 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 06, 2011, 01:09:33 PM
How about earning your crust as a sewer worker? The very thought of it makes my skin creep.
I've a pal who works as a bin man for Dublin City Council and I'd certainly not fancy his job but to hear him go on about those who maintain and repair the sewers is enough to make me switch out of the conversation.
For starters, the system is overrun by rats. That, btw, is  a natural part of  the whole process and the sewerage disposal wouldn't work efficiently without the rats that are needed to break down the you know what and the discarded food bits that would otherwise clog up the system.
Apparently, a fairly close watch is kept on rat movements in the underground system and it can be necessary at times to increase the number of those little furry rodents in a particular area. So, in the dead of night when they is no one about to see what is going on some council workers come along with buckets of food scraps and empty them down selected manholes. Some time later, one of the workers may have to be lowered into the sewer below to do a visual inspection.
There are times too when pipe joints have to be repaired and when sludge builds up and some one has to come along with a brush and shovel to loosen the mass and get it moving again. The poor bloke has to be extra careful to ensure he is not knocked off his feet when the buildup behind the blockage starts to flow again.
It seems rats are inclined to stampede. Hundreds of them can take off without warning and race from one place to another.
Pity the poor hoor who happens to be working at something or other when the rats coming flying along!
All he can do is to stop moving and try and curl up as much as possible and let them climb all over him. He has to make sure at all times that his overalls are zipped up tight and that his neck is covered so a rat doesn't get stuck anywhere inside his clothing.
If the rat is trapped, it will bite so the workers have to stay covered up from top to bottom even though the place is stifling hot. To add to the horrors, the smell must be truly awful.
Dublin is full of shit.
Post by: Maguire01 on March 06, 2011, 02:37:31 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 06, 2011, 11:42:09 AM
Maybe more people notice it if it's someone holding it but I highly doubt that there's enough sales generated from it to justify a person's wage. Like Puck, I would never go to a place that has someone doing that.
I imagine they're not allowed. Otherwise it would obviously be a lot cheaper.
Post by: illdecide on March 06, 2011, 02:54:16 PM
There is some stories told here FFS. Rats don't serve any purpose in treating sewage, thats what treatment works are for. Rats don't surge in Hundreds and crawl down men's boiler suits :D :D :D

Don't even know why i'm responding to that post...lol. Lar i can't believe you took that serious from someone :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 06, 2011, 02:59:51 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on March 06, 2011, 02:37:31 PM
I imagine they're not allowed. Otherwise it would obviously be a lot cheaper.
The road I'm talking about has signs on loads of poles, I can't see how they wouldn't be allowed.

Quote from: Hardy on March 06, 2011, 12:57:50 PM
Not in that way, no.  I would try and avoid businesses who have reputations for treating staff poorly also. 

Post by: Hardy on March 06, 2011, 03:36:28 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 06, 2011, 02:59:51 PM
Not in that way, no. 

Why?
Post by: fitzroyalty on March 06, 2011, 03:39:26 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 06, 2011, 03:36:28 PM
Not in that way, no. 

Why?
There is one in Belfast, Royal Ave. Haven't even looked at the sign so don't know what the business is. It is degrading more than anything.
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 06, 2011, 03:46:50 PM
Not in that way, no. 

Why?
Because I feel bad for someone who has to do that. I see it as degrading. I'd bet they're not even getting minimum wage and I don't think it's necessary.  I don't think like people/companies who don't treat their staff right.  Like if I ran a business I'd never ask/expect someone to stand out holding a sign for it. 
Post by: Hardy on March 06, 2011, 03:50:08 PM
Surely it's a source of income for the worker involved and his decision whether it's degrading.
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 06, 2011, 03:53:57 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 06, 2011, 03:50:08 PM
Surely it's a source of income for the worker involved and his decision whether it's degrading.
Doesn't stop me being uncomfortable with it.
The one I'm talking about it's a girl of about 16/17 that does it. 
I'd never send a girl of that age out to hold a sign anywhere!
Post by: Tyrones own on March 06, 2011, 04:53:46 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 06, 2011, 03:46:50 PM
Not in that way, no. 

Why?
Because I feel bad for someone who has to do that. I see it as degrading. I'd bet they're not even getting minimum wage and I don't think it's necessary.  I don't think like people/companies who don't treat their staff right.  Like if I ran a business I'd never ask/expect someone to stand out holding a sign for it.
That's why you'll probably always be an employee...not that there's anything wrong with that, different strokes for different folks!
Post by: FL/MAYO on March 06, 2011, 07:26:44 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on March 05, 2011, 02:55:47 AM
There was a doco on here a few weeks ago about an English fella who came out to Oz to live the dream only to discover it was a pipedream.  So he set up his own business in Perth cleaning up people's property after there was a murder/suicide or whatever in there.  Also had the 'contract' for cleaning up the mess of a suicide on the rail tracks in Perth.  No pun intended but he is making a killing as no-one else wants to do it.  Fair play to that man. ;)

I was on a call here in Florida in August 2009, the neighbors of this lady called us because they had not seen her in a month. As soon as we pulled up to the house you could get the smell of rotten flesh. We got the front door open and went inside, we found the lady in her bedroom with half her body already rotted away, the smell stuck with me for hours. The house was also full of cats that still looked well fed, we presumed they were eating their former owner prior to our arrival. I remember leaving the house and wondering what type of person in their right mind would have a job of cleaning that house up.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 06, 2011, 09:15:27 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on March 04, 2011, 01:04:03 AM
Teacher? O yeah forgot they get in handy

But lots of us will be unemployed next September.
Post by: seafoid on March 06, 2011, 10:23:43 PM

The worst jobs are in the poorest parts of the world . But this must be one of the very worst. 

http://www.tehelka.com/story_main13.asp?filename=Cr073005Dont_look_at.asp

Condemned and mute, for centuries, they have been washing the clothes of the dalits, giving them haircuts, slaughtering dead cattle, and doing other menial jobs. To this day, they wash the bloodstained clothes of dalit women in labour, and the clothes of dalit girls who attain puberty. Worse, till a few decades ago, they were shunned as 'unseeables'. It was a curse to even 'look' at them. In those days, the Vannars had to complete their work in the night and stay out of sight of the other castes in the daytime.

If they ventured out during the day, they had to tie a coconut leaf to their body, which they pulled along wherever they went. The frond swept the ground and wiped out their footmarks. They could not even spit on the ground as the others did so routinely. Instead, they had to spit into a halved coconut shell, which hung from their necks. "This horrible practice had been in vogue for hundreds of years. It was the Justice Party that enacted a law abolishing it in 1932. Once declared illegal, the practice slowly faded out," says TM Prakash, a social activist working among Puthirai Vannars in the dalit-dominated Tiruvannamalai district. Not much headway has been made after that landmark social reform.

It is the traditional practice of Puthirai Vannars to go around the dalit homes, every morning and evening, begging for food. Rosamma from Cuddalore says, "We cry out standing outside the dalit houses, 'amma, soru podunga amma' (amma, please give some food.) They give us leftover food which we collect in a vessel." For many, it's a daily khichdi meal — of leftover food from dalit houses. Though in some villages this shameful practice has finally ended, in many others the tradition still continues.

http://www.tehelka.com/story_main13.asp?filename=Cr081305wretched_of.asp

In many villages, the Vannars cannot sit in front of a dalit. They are not allowed to take water from their street taps. "When there is a death in a dalit house, we have to perform special duties. We prepare the dead body and make the padai (burial cast). As people walk to the crematorium, we are required to spread sarees on the ground before them to walk on it. After the rituals are completed, we sit down wearing a white dhoti and the mourners drop coins on it," says Santhappan of Velankani Nagar in Tiruvannamalai district.

According to another tradition, the Vannars are required to carry the 'theepantham' (a flaming torch) during wedding processions. There is fire in their hand, and darkness within.

Those defying this ancient heirarchy are repressed ruthlessly. There have been instances when Vannars in some villages have refused to beg for food. But they have either been forced to fall in line or driven out of the village. Rosamma of Elanthapet village in Cuddalore district decided to stop this daily house-to-house begging for food, and instead started cooking food at home. But she was forced to go back after direct threats from dalits. "They forced me to eat the leftover food," she says.

All over the country, dalits suffer at the hands of upper caste people. As far as the Vannars are concerned, the same dalits are the perpetrators of atrocities against them. Irusan Ragupathi, state president of the Tamil Nadu Harijan Washermen Federation, a Puthirai Vannar outfit, talks of dalit atrocities. "In many villages in Senji taluk in Villupuram district, dalit men have raped our women, then they bear the cost of abortion and tell us to keep shut. The victimised women don't go to the police. There have been cases where dalit men have exploited our women when they go to get food from their houses."
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on March 06, 2011, 10:54:49 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 06, 2011, 02:54:16 PM
There is some stories told here FFS. Rats don't serve any purpose in treating sewage, thats what treatment works are for. Rats don't surge in Hundreds and crawl down men's boiler suits :D :D :D

Don't even know why i'm responding to that post...lol. Lar i can't believe you took that serious from someone :D

I smell a rat...
Post by: Hardy on March 07, 2011, 09:02:05 AM
How do you slaughter dead cattle?
Post by: wdusln on March 07, 2011, 11:43:34 AM
one way to pass the day!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0NFV8dHrZYM
Post by: laoislad on March 07, 2011, 11:49:38 AM

I put up signs for a business idea of mine before but got phonecalls off the council to tell me to take them down or I would be charged with littering.Maybe thats why they have someone holding it rather than nailing them to a wall or tying them to a lamp post.
I agree though I also wouldn't go into a shop that had someone out holding a placard advertising it.
Post by: johnneycool on March 07, 2011, 12:11:12 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 06, 2011, 02:54:16 PM

Urban legend has it that when they were building the sewage works for Milton Keynes, they'd designed it to be rat free, but found that due to cooking fats and the likes it kept blocking up, so they ended up introducing rats to get it to work....
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 07, 2011, 06:53:14 PM
Anyone ever see a film called Pierrepoint, The Last Hangman? It's one of them films that has you thinking about it for weeks after seeing it. All about Albert Pierrepoint (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albert_Pierrepoint).
Post by: dillinger on March 07, 2011, 08:50:16 PM
My worst was killing and plucking turkeys at Christmas, yuk. We had a nikename for a friend who was a gravedigger, Clay Balls. Because he was always up to his balls in, well, clay. :D
Post by: rosnarun on March 08, 2011, 12:10:34 AM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on March 06, 2011, 07:26:44 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on March 05, 2011, 02:55:47 AM

I was on a call here in Florida in August 2009, the neighbors of this lady called us because they had not seen her in a month. As soon as we pulled up to the house you could get the smell of rotten flesh. We got the front door open and went inside, we found the lady in her bedroom with half her body already rotted away, the smell stuck with me for hours. The house was also full of cats that still looked well fed, we presumed they were eating their former owner prior to our arrival. I remember leaving the house and wondering what type of person in their right mind would have a job of cleaning that house up.

winner