GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Maguire01 on February 07, 2011, 08:13:43 PM

Title: Ard Mhacha v Muineachán - 20/02/11 - Ard Mhacha
Post by: Maguire01 on February 07, 2011, 08:13:43 PM
Roll on round 2. Both teams will be keen to get 2 points on the board - it would leave Monaghan in a great position if we could get a second win, although i'd settle for a point at this stage.

It will be a definite step up from the Galway game but we had a bit to spare there and should have another few players back for this.

Is Ronan Clarke going to be back for Armagh?

Looking forward to getting a good look around the Athletics Ground and hopefully after yesterday Monaghan can bring a decent crowd along. We have a fairly good record against Armagh over the last few years - I think we've won our last 2 league encounters and our last Championship head to head.

I expect a tight game and think it's too close to call at this stage.
Title: Re: Ard Mhacha v Muineachán - 20/02/11 - Ard Mhacha
Post by: Main Street on February 08, 2011, 12:27:15 PM
It's great to have a win behind you, but thats where it lies.
We only had about 4 or 5 regulars against Galway and just about 10 players made league debuts, with some of them making McManus look meaty by contrast. There isn't much point if Armagh are thinking to gain some sort of revenge for last year, some of our players aren't even old enough to remember it.
Finlay was lost for a while at FF against Galway and needs to be hovering between hf and mf. I hope someone else will be selected at ff.
I'd expect that quite a few of the new and newish players will still be figuring in the team. Mark Keogh looks sound enough in goals. There should still be starting places for McAdam, Turley, Doogan, Downey, McGuinness and possibly Galligan.
Both McAdam and Downey have played on occasion before, but now both of them look to be serious contenders to become regulars.

Post by: mackers on February 09, 2011, 10:53:21 AM
Quote from: Main Street on February 08, 2011, 12:27:15 PM
There isn't much point if Armagh are thinking to gain some sort of revenge for last year, some of our players aren't even old enough to remember it.
It isn't about revenge at all, simply two points. If we don't get them then we're into a relegation dogfight straight away and we'd rather not do that.
We would want to build on our performance on Saturday night and cut out the mistakes that cost us the game.
I have heard that Ronan Clarke won't be back in for this match hopefully Nippy can continue from where he left off on Saturday night.
I'd expect a bigger crowd for this match than the Dublin game, weather permitting.
Post by: armaghniac on February 09, 2011, 11:35:55 AM
I hope there is a good crowd. There was a very poor crowd from Monaghan at the championship game last year, the Monaghan team deserved better support for one of their best performances. It is unclear whether Saturday night games get as big a crowd as Sunday games, perhaps Sunday will provide evidence.

Attendance at Casement last year and at the Dubs game last week was reduced by heavy rain earlier in the day which would have dissuaded people from setting out. Met.ie suggests much the same on Sunday, but this may yet change.
SUNDAY: Overnight rain will continue to push eastwards across the country during the morning and early afternoon, turning heavy and persistent, with the risk of some spot flooding.
Post by: mountainboii on February 09, 2011, 12:03:59 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 09, 2011, 11:35:55 AM
I hope there is a good crowd. There was a very poor crowd from Monaghan at the championship game last year, the Monaghan team deserved better support for one of their best performances. It is unclear whether Saturday night games get as big a crowd as Sunday games, perhaps Sunday will provide evidence.

Attendance at Casement last year and at the Dubs game last week was reduced by heavy rain earlier in the day which would have dissuaded people from setting out. Met.ie suggests much the same on Sunday, but this may yet change.
SUNDAY: Overnight rain will continue to push eastwards across the country during the morning and early afternoon, turning heavy and persistent, with the risk of some spot flooding.

I'd be fairly certain that Sunday afternoon crowds trump Saturday night ones. Night matches are shite.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on February 09, 2011, 12:29:42 PM
Quote from: AFS on February 09, 2011, 12:03:59 PM

I'd be fairly certain that Sunday afternoon crowds trump Saturday night ones. Night matches are shite.

& they always clash with something!
Post by: Main Street on February 09, 2011, 12:48:03 PM
The Indo reports that Tommy Freeman will be available for this season at least. He might be available for this game.
Eoin Lennon and Vinny Corey are back in training and Damien Freeman sometime later in the season.
That might be all we need to make a game out of it.

Alas, the great Rory Woods has/or is soon to depart and will not grace an Armagh field with his presence.
Post by: mackers on February 09, 2011, 01:41:31 PM

The game is on Sunday week, not this Sunday, these Monaghan boys are just very eager in getting the thread up and running. ;)

Post by: Maguire01 on February 09, 2011, 06:40:50 PM
I hope there is a good crowd. There was a very poor crowd from Monaghan at the championship game last year, the Monaghan team deserved better support for one of their best performances.
Whilst it's no excuse for not getting out to support the team, that was in part down to Armagh's decision to take the game to Casement so that Monaghan wouldn't have home advantage. Worked a treat.
Post by: armaghniac on February 09, 2011, 06:55:26 PM
QuoteThe game is on Sunday week, not this Sunday, these Monaghan boys are just very eager in getting the thread up and running.

Bollix. I knew that!

QuoteWhilst it's no excuse for not getting out to support the team, that was in part down to Armagh's decision to take the game to Casement so that Monaghan wouldn't have home advantage

Should we move Sunday's Sunday week's game somewhere for your convenience?
Post by: Maguire01 on February 09, 2011, 07:18:01 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 09, 2011, 06:55:26 PM
QuoteWhilst it's no excuse for not getting out to support the team, that was in part down to Armagh's decision to take the game to Casement so that Monaghan wouldn't have home advantage

Should we move Sunday's Sunday week's game somewhere for your convenience?
Nah, sure Armagh will do rightly. It's not far from a home game.
Post by: Main Street on February 10, 2011, 09:06:01 PM
Quote from: mackers on February 09, 2011, 01:41:31 PM
The game is on Sunday week, not this Sunday, these Monaghan boys are just very eager in getting the thread up and running. ;)
Our celebrations are out of the way and we look forward, but I suppose we have to appreciate that your last game's postmortem takes a while to get sorted.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 10, 2011, 10:02:46 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 10, 2011, 09:06:01 PM
Quote from: mackers on February 09, 2011, 01:41:31 PM
Our celebrations are out of the way and we look forward, but I suppose we have to appreciate that your last game's postmortem takes a while to get sorted.
I like this.
Post by: armaghniac on February 10, 2011, 10:44:43 PM
Quoteand we look forward,

Commiserations. That cannot be much fun for you. Chin up!
Post by: Maguire01 on February 10, 2011, 10:51:12 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 10, 2011, 10:44:43 PM
Quoteand we look forward,

Commiserations. That cannot be much fun for you. Chin up!
It's more fun now than it was a week ago! And it's probably at least as enjoyable as it is for you.
Post by: armaghniac on February 11, 2011, 12:23:30 AM
QuoteAnd it's probably at least as enjoyable as it is for you.

I doubt it, all that stoney grey soil, Apple Blossom is so much nicer.
Post by: lawnseed on February 15, 2011, 10:02:34 AM
armagh will win this one by 2 or 3 points, expect fireworks.
Post by: illdecide on February 15, 2011, 12:22:38 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on February 15, 2011, 10:02:34 AM

I agree Lawnseed, the farney men are getting carried away with a win against Galway who appear to be the worst team in the div. Armagh will put up a better fight than Galway did and i expect to have 2pts to spare come the end of the game...take it outta that.
Post by: Main Street on February 15, 2011, 12:46:53 PM
Armagh should win it. If not, they would have to consider the nightmare of being worse than Galway.
At this stage, it's hard to judge what Monaghan are capable of, considering the plight of Galway.
And only an Armagh bumpkin like Illdecide could interpret that Monaghan folk are getting carried away ;D
At least the Monaghan kids are playing with a confidence that I haven't seen with debutants in the last few seasons.

Post by: lawnseed on February 15, 2011, 01:37:11 PM
wonder if its on the telly, it would save the farney lads changing money to see their team get beat :D
Post by: armaghniac on February 15, 2011, 01:55:25 PM
QuoteAnd only an Armagh bumpkin like Illdecide

A Monaghan person calling someone a bumpkin. It's a bit like FF telling the opposition that they haven't a clue. :D

I hope for a good game on Sunday, with Armagh getting one over the Farney men, we owe them one, and putting us in good shape for the Granite cutters the following week.
Post by: illdecide on February 15, 2011, 02:47:24 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 15, 2011, 12:46:53 PM
Armagh should win it. If not, they would have to consider the nightmare of being worse than Galway.
At this stage, it's hard to judge what Monaghan are capable of, considering the plight of Galway.
And only an Armagh bumpkin like Illdecide could interpret that Monaghan folk are getting carried away ;D
At least the Monaghan kids are playing with a confidence that I haven't seen with debutants in the last few seasons.

Aye very good main street. Read over your posts from your game with Galway and then you'll see who's getting carried away, as for the name calling...you can take your face for a shite for all i care saan
Post by: naka on February 15, 2011, 02:48:06 PM
any news on whether we will see  ronan clarke for a 15 minute cameo( ground might be a little bit heavy)
Post by: illdecide on February 15, 2011, 03:52:42 PM
Quote from: naka on February 15, 2011, 02:48:06 PM
any news on whether we will see  ronan clarke for a 15 minute cameo( ground might be a little bit heavy)

Naka if he's fit enough i would imagine the soft ground would be better for him than a hard pitch with a bigger impact
Post by: lawnseed on February 15, 2011, 04:45:08 PM
i was told two years ago that clarky was finished, we cant keep hoping against hope we need to focus on the players who are able to field. this is like people talking about john toal playing again after nearly losing his leg ::) ronan has had a serious injury and he simply cannot be expected to perform as before..
Post by: Main Street on February 15, 2011, 06:31:51 PM
Quote from: illdecide on February 15, 2011, 02:47:24 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 15, 2011, 12:46:53 PM

Aye very good main street. Read over your posts from your game with Galway and then you'll see who's getting carried away,
Go on, humour me,  which part of the only post I made after the game would you regard as getting carried away?
perhaps this bit?
"a second half stroll against a totally disheveled and dispirited Galway"

Quote from: armaghniac on February 15, 2011, 01:55:25 PM

I hope for a good game on Sunday, with Armagh getting one over the Farney men,
For the sake of the game, I hope Armagh manage to get the ball over the half way line before the usual 40 passes are completed in their own half.

Post by: Maguire01 on February 15, 2011, 07:00:44 PM
Quote from: illdecide on February 15, 2011, 12:22:38 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on February 15, 2011, 10:02:34 AM

I agree Lawnseed, the farney men are getting carried away with a win against Galway who appear to be the worst team in the div. Armagh will put up a better fight than Galway did and i expect to have 2pts to spare come the end of the game...take it outta that.
Can you quote any examples of this?
Post by: PAULD123 on February 15, 2011, 07:33:44 PM
Armagh should win this by 2-3 points at least. However last week Monaghan were well down but didn't give in. For me iit will come down to Monaghan's ability to score. Armagh WILL score quite a decent amount. Though I wonder how Armagh will react if in the last ten minutes Monaghan are ahead and they are staring at a fourth straight defeat and zero league points?

It would be interesting. But in all honesty my prediction is that the game will be still fairly close going into last fifteen, giving a false gloss of excitement. But then Armagh will gently ease ahead opening up a 3-4 point lead and the last five minutes or so will peter out. I'll come back on Sunday to hodl my hands up if i'm wrong.
Post by: ogshead on February 15, 2011, 07:44:24 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on February 15, 2011, 04:45:08 PM
i was told two years ago that clarky was finished, we cant keep hoping against hope we need to focus on the players who are able to field. this is like people talking about john toal playing again after nearly losing his leg ::) ronan has had a serious injury and he simply cannot be expected to perform as before..

??? ??? Two years ago Ronan played a full season for the Ogs winning a championship!! It was only just before last years championship that he got injured. I remember him playing at least one full game for the Ogs in the league and then came on against Donegal at the end of NFL.
Post by: bennydorano on February 15, 2011, 08:08:38 PM
Good to see Armagh fans haven't lost the fickle as f**k approach, dont understand the (over?) Confidence, different game to the Dubs, the intensity will fall back to normal league levels, the minds wont be as focused, i fancy a Monaghan win. (prob good for Armagh tbh)
Post by: armaghniac on February 15, 2011, 08:53:15 PM
I don't think there is overconfidence, but if we can't win a home game against a team likely to be in the lower half of the division, then we might as well just go to division 2 and I don't see how that benefits Armagh.
Post by: get up there on February 15, 2011, 10:19:12 PM
so the same team out as last time lads,, any changes??? vincey martins out any more???
Post by: lawnseed on February 16, 2011, 09:41:43 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on February 15, 2011, 08:08:38 PM
Good to see Armagh fans haven't lost the fickle as f**k approach, dont understand the (over?) Confidence, different game to the Dubs, the intensity will fall back to normal league levels, the minds wont be as focused, i fancy a Monaghan win. (prob good for Armagh tbh)

benny surely thats the managers job to ensure that the team are up for every game, i wouldnt like to think that only games against big name opposition get attention, i've no doubt the admission fee will be the same ;)
Post by: ck on February 17, 2011, 08:50:51 PM
For what it's worth, here is my prediction...

Monaghan will win by a few points.
Armagh are on the slide. They will have a worse year than last year. Paddy has zero respect from the players. Things are far from rosy behind the scenes.
Post by: whitegoodman on February 17, 2011, 09:06:01 PM
Do u no alot of the players??

And they have told u this then have they??

Are is this u just surmising or being controversial for the sake of being controversial??
Post by: ck on February 17, 2011, 09:54:13 PM
Quote from: whitegoodman on February 17, 2011, 09:06:01 PM
Do u no alot of the players??

And they have told u this then have they??

Are is this u just surmising or being controversial for the sake of being controversial??

No not trying to be controversial. I know it to be true. Watch the Armagh results over the next few months!
Post by: mackers on February 18, 2011, 10:01:40 AM
The Armagh team is listed in the IN. Two enforced changes with Miceal O'Rourke in for B Mallon and Finn Mo in to replace V Martin. Neither change increases or decreases our chances IMO. BJP is listed as CF with MOR at CHF, they may swap positions???
Hope Grugan has learnt from his first league game and shows us a little more of his potential. If we can out the silly mistakes from the last day we could sneak a win. I'd say it could be a high scoring match going by both teams first outing although the weather forecast is poor.
Post by: DuffleKing on February 18, 2011, 10:13:09 AM

Looks like a more deliberate synopsis of the usual formation with bjp coming out around the middle to leave 2 inside. Have to say, padden doesn't inspire me - i thought he was awful against the dubs.

We should be beating this monaghan team out the gate - 4/5 point win expected.
Post by: gander on February 18, 2011, 10:30:14 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on February 18, 2011, 10:13:09 AM

Looks like a more deliberate synopsis of the usual formation with bjp coming out around the middle to leave 2 inside. Have to say, padden doesn't inspire me - i thought he was awful against the dubs.

We should be beating this monaghan team out the gate - 4/5 point win expected.

I though padden played well in the first half against the Dubs, faded in the second half but its early days yet.  Anyone have the full team listing?
Post by: gander on February 18, 2011, 10:30:58 AM
never mind have it here:

1. Philip Mc Evoy Dromintee

2. Andy Mallon Pearse Og

3. Brendan Donaghy Clonmore

4. Finnian Moriarty Wolfe Tones

5. Kevin Dyas Dromintee

6. Ciaran Mc Keever St. Patrick's

7. Paul Duffy Pearse Og

8. Kieran Toner Granemore

9. Charlie Vernon Armagh Harps

10 Rory Grugan Ballymacnab

11 Micheal O'Rourke Dromintee

12. Malachy Mackin St. Patrick's

13. Billy Joe Padden Carrickcruppin

14. Gareth Swift Armagh Harps

15. Steven McDonnell Killeavy

16. John Mc Cullagh Carrickcruppin

17. Gavin McParland Ballymacnab

18. Colm Watters Cullaville

19. Conor Clarke Pearse Og

20. John Murtagh Crossmaglen

21. Brian Mallon Tir na nOg

22. Gareth O'Neill Dromintee

23. Declan McKenna Armagh Harps

24. James Lavery Maghery
Post by: DuffleKing on February 18, 2011, 11:09:45 AM

Defenders are very thin on the ground looking at that squad
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 18, 2011, 11:35:09 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on February 18, 2011, 11:09:45 AM

Defenders are very thin on the ground looking at that squad

You could push Vernon back if necessary.  Is it that there are so many injuries or just simply a dearth of defensive talent?
Post by: DuffleKing on February 18, 2011, 11:40:12 AM

Who's injured? Martin - is there anyone else? ak is obviously an experienced defender to come in but beyond that we're all hopeful for McKeown & Morgan but they've never played at this level. to be honest, it'd have to be a hell of an emergency to countenance playing cv in defence in my book, toner back would probably be more likely.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 18, 2011, 11:45:45 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on February 18, 2011, 11:40:12 AM

Who's injured? Martin - is there anyone else? ak is obviously an experienced defender to come in but beyond that we're all hopeful for McKeown & Morgan but they've never played at this level. to be honest, it'd have to be a hell of an emergency to countenance playing cv in defence in my book, toner back would probably be more likely.

true, Toner would be a better defensive option.  The reality though is that there are not a whole pile of options defensively once there are a few injuries. 
Post by: DuffleKing on February 18, 2011, 11:51:32 AM

Very odd that the likes of shannon from dromintee or smith from mullaghbawn aren't on the panel for cover, even in the short term.
Post by: bennydorano on February 18, 2011, 02:15:18 PM
Very watery looking subs bench, a couple of injuries and we'd be screwed.  Lavery must be kat with the hamstrings??  Always seem to be bothering him
Post by: armaghniac on February 18, 2011, 04:31:24 PM
QuoteVery watery looking subs bench

Watery looking day too. This will diminish the crowd.

SUNDAY will start off dry across the eastern half of the country with some sunny spells. However cloud and rain will push in from the west early on, extending countrywide later in the day. Breezy throughout, with mainly fresh southeast winds persisting. Mild though, with temperature ranging 9 to 12 degrees.
Post by: mackers on February 18, 2011, 04:34:59 PM
Sure we'll be kept warm and dry sitting in our brand new stand!! 8)
Post by: armaghniac on February 18, 2011, 05:35:52 PM
QuoteSure we'll be kept warm and dry sitting in our brand new stand!! 8)

Indeed we will, God Bless it.
They should have an underground car park under the stand for season ticket holders.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 18, 2011, 09:35:29 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on February 18, 2011, 11:51:32 AM

Very odd that the likes of shannon from dromintee or smith from mullaghbawn aren't on the panel for cover, even in the short term.

Can't understand Shannon's ommission from the panel. Only 2 players best suited to the full back line in that entire squad. Hopefully young Morgan has the mental strength for a speedy intercounty development. I can envisage him starting against Down in the championship.
Post by: get up there on February 18, 2011, 11:23:38 PM
did barry shannon not walk away from it all ?
Post by: fan01 on February 19, 2011, 07:38:05 AM
no sure they were told that there services were not needed anymore....martin o'rourke, barry shannon and one of the kernans.
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 19, 2011, 01:20:06 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 18, 2011, 09:35:29 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on February 18, 2011, 11:51:32 AM

Can't understand Shannon's ommission from the panel. Only 2 players best suited to the full back line in that entire squad. Hopefully young Morgan has the mental strength for a speedy intercounty development. I can envisage him starting against Down in the championship.
Is Morgan the great white hope for corner back then? TBH I'd rather Finn Mo there myself as there are plenty of options in the HB line.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 19, 2011, 01:59:51 PM
M Keogh
K Duffy   D Hughes   C Walshe
D Wylie   D Mone   D Hughes
N McAdam   D Clerkin
G Doogan   M Downey   J Turley
C McGuinness   P Finlay   C McManus

I don't expect Darren Hughes to stay @ #3 - probably a swap between him and Dessie Mone. Also Downey and Finlay likely to swap places if we're struggling to get the ball in to the forwards.

Anyone else hear if any of the regulars are available on the bench? Lennon? Freemans? Corey? K Hughes?
Post by: Maguire01 on February 19, 2011, 02:11:15 PM
I see this game seems to be listed for 2.45 - anyone know why the change?
Post by: armaghniac on February 19, 2011, 02:51:55 PM
It has been at 2:45, partly to ensure that the hurling game before does not have to start too early.

It seems the rain might not reach Ulster until later in the day. If this leads to a decent crowd then the 2:45 start will suit as the people who were trying to get there for 2:30 will still be trying to get parked! 
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on February 20, 2011, 12:38:18 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 19, 2011, 01:59:51 PM
M Keogh
K Duffy   D Hughes   C Walshe
D Wylie   D Mone   D Hughes
N McAdam   D Clerkin
G Doogan   M Downey   J Turley
C McGuinness   P Finlay   C McManus

I don't expect Darren Hughes to stay @ #3 - probably a swap between him and Dessie Mone. Also Downey and Finlay likely to swap places if we're struggling to get the ball in to the forwards.

Anyone else hear if any of the regulars are available on the bench? Lennon? Freemans? Corey? K Hughes?

We could do with a bit more differentiation on the Hughes issue.. I'd say Darren at FB, David at WHB. I'd imagine Corey will feature at some stage, possibly for Wylie or Keith Duffy. As far as I know Kieran Hughes is out for another few weeks, though I stand corrected.

Post by: lawnseed on February 20, 2011, 11:22:10 AM
i said armagh would win by a couple of points; looking at the squad we've out i'm jumping ship- monaghan by 5 or 6 as calls for the head of POR go from a murmer to a din
Post by: DuffleKing on February 20, 2011, 12:02:57 PM

Can't see monaghan beating us with that forward line
Post by: mackers on February 20, 2011, 12:55:18 PM
They have two top freetakers from either side............need to be disciplined in the tackle (esp Finn Mo).
Post by: lawnseed on February 20, 2011, 01:01:43 PM
we dont have an answer to clerkin. if hes fit and can stay on the pitch we're sunk. sorry
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on February 20, 2011, 01:06:51 PM
Quote from: mackers on February 20, 2011, 12:55:18 PM
They have two top freetakers from either side............need to be disciplined in the tackle (esp Finn Mo).

Good point mackers. This encounter has came down to frees the last two times. I remember in 2008 Finlay scoring the winner in the dying seconds of the game after a very evenly fought match. But you're right, freetakers are worth their wait in gold in these kinda games (or any type in the modern game I suppose!)

What are your options in this regard, apart from Stevie? Is Swift a place kicker?

Post by: Main Street on February 20, 2011, 01:27:52 PM
Darren Hughes aside, it's basically the same inexperienced Monaghan team that started against Galway.
But Hughes coming in, importantly frees up Dessie Mone to go in at CHB.
Armagh have to be warm favourites to win.

Is there any better radio coverage than the Cavan infested Northern Sound?

Post by: Carbery on February 20, 2011, 01:35:58 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 20, 2011, 01:27:52 PM
Darren Hughes aside, it's basically the same inexperienced Monaghan team that started against Galway.
But Hughes coming in, importantly frees up Dessie Mone to go in at CHB.
Armagh have to be warm favourites to win.

Radio Ulster 1341MW
Post by: Maguire01 on February 20, 2011, 01:38:20 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on February 20, 2011, 12:02:57 PM

Can't see monaghan beating us with that forward line
Whose forward line?
I assume you can't be talking about Monaghan, who managed to score 19 points with the very same forwards against Galway. If Monaghan have a weakness this afternoon, I don't expect it to be in the forward line.
Post by: Main Street on February 20, 2011, 01:48:09 PM
Quote from: Carbery on February 20, 2011, 01:35:58 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 20, 2011, 01:27:52 PM

Radio Ulster 1341MW
I can't get MW and the RU sports coverage is not part of their schedule for the web or for satellite.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on February 20, 2011, 02:45:23 PM
Any radio links lads?
Post by: Main Street on February 20, 2011, 02:50:52 PM
"The funs starts here -  Northern Sound"

That's a form of flagellatory humour, Northern Sound is pure torture to listen to.

Post by: Main Street on February 20, 2011, 02:51:31 PM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on February 20, 2011, 02:45:23 PM
Any radio links lads?
http://www.northernsound.ie/ (http://www.northernsound.ie/)
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on February 20, 2011, 02:52:13 PM
heavy police presence at the Drumarg end, uncalled for with locals supplying stewards.

Also local charity collecting for a Childrens trip to Lourdes was cleared off by at 3 car loads of them
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 02:58:56 PM
Armagh 0-02 Monaghan 0-02, 9mins gone. all scores from frees. McDonnell and Grugan scored Armagh frees
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on February 20, 2011, 03:00:31 PM
who won the hurling?
Post by: Main Street on February 20, 2011, 03:00:59 PM
4 points, 3 yellow cards.
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 03:03:05 PM
Armagh 0-02 Monaghan 0-03, 13mins gone.

McManus with last pointed free for Monaghan

Post by: Main Street on February 20, 2011, 03:04:45 PM
Northern Sound couldn't wait to switch over to waffler Michael Tynan at the scintillating Cavan Westmeath game.
He'll have great fun counting the wides.
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 03:08:19 PM
Armagh 0-03 Monaghan 0-03, 19mins gone.

Grugan with last free for Armagh
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 03:16:17 PM
Armagh 0-03 Monaghan 0-04
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 03:16:50 PM
Armagh 0-04 Monaghan 0-04

Grugan from play for Armagh
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 03:18:32 PM
Armagh 0-05 Monaghan 0-04, 29mins gone.

McDonnell for Armagh
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 03:21:51 PM
Armagh 0-06 Monaghan 0-04, 32mins gone

McDonnell free
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 03:25:16 PM
Armagh 0-06 Monaghan 0-05

Finlay free
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 03:26:17 PM
Armagh 0-06 Monaghan 0-05

Half time
Post by: our_fella on February 20, 2011, 03:27:13 PM
With a really strong wind we wud have wished for a bigger lead :-\
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 03:45:20 PM
Armagh 0-06 Monaghan 0-06

McManus for Monaghan
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 03:45:43 PM
Armagh 0-06 Monaghan 0-07
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 03:49:31 PM
Armagh 0-07 Monaghan 0-07

Grugan free
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 03:51:34 PM
Armagh 0-08 Monaghan 0-07

O'Rourke
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 03:52:23 PM
Armagh 0-08 Monaghan 0-08

Finlay

10 gone in 2nd half
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 03:54:27 PM
Armagh 0-08 Monaghan 0-09
Post by: Main Street on February 20, 2011, 04:02:16 PM
Tommy Freeman about to come on.
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 04:03:06 PM
Armagh 0-08 Monaghan 0-10

Brian Mallon on for BJP
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 04:04:08 PM
James Lavery for Malachy Mackin
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 04:04:46 PM
Armagh 0-09 Monaghan 0-10

McDonnell
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 04:05:51 PM
Armagh 0-10 Monaghan 0-10

McDonnell again

25 played
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 04:07:27 PM
Armagh 0-10 Monaghan 0-11

Finlay free
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 04:08:43 PM
Armagh 0-10 Monaghan 0-12
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 04:11:31 PM
Armagh 1-10 Monaghan 0-12

Miceal o'Rourke from McDonnell shot that fell short
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 04:15:54 PM
Armagh 1-10 Monaghan 0-13

33 mins gone
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 04:16:46 PM
2 mins of additional time to be played
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 04:18:01 PM
Armagh 1-11 Monaghan 0-13

Andy Mallon

1 min left
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 04:18:33 PM
Brian Mallon being booked for stopping quick kick out
Post by: HalfFitHalfBack on February 20, 2011, 04:19:20 PM
Armagh 1-11 Monaghan 0-13

full time
Post by: Main Street on February 20, 2011, 04:22:39 PM
Armagh scrape home by a point.
A bit fortunate according to the unbiased Nudie on Northern Sound.

Post by: David McKeown on February 20, 2011, 05:11:01 PM
Strange game really with Armagh slightly on top between the two 45's but Monaghan much better inside. Wind made a huge difference and made it difficult for the defending team to get out of their own half. Very inconsistent refereeing didn't help what was a poor enough game. Bright point from an Armagh perspective was to get the win. The low point was undoubtedly the stupidity of some of the tactics. Monaghan full back line won about 95% of the high ball played in but struggled with the ballin front. Upon noticing this what did Armagh do? Attempt at all times to put the high ball.

Real difference between the teams was Armagh took their goal chance whilst Monaghan missed theirs.

Monaghan will improve Armagh will have to
Post by: bennydorano on February 20, 2011, 05:23:54 PM
A good win albeit maybe a bit fortunate. I thought we were very jittery and nervous and played pretty poorly throughout bar the last 10 minutes, that makes the win even sweeter i suppose the fact that we did play poorly and won.

I honestly thought Monaghan had our measure for most of the game and going in at HT one point ahead having played with such a strong wind I tought a tanking was quite possibly on the cards, but fair play to the team they did dig out the win. Very noticable how many mistakes we made, alot of them were clinically punished.

Not many stand out performers, Ciaran McKeever never give Jap a kick of the ball but because he stayed on him at FF we lacked presence at CHB, F MO was poor enough, the HB line was probably our weakest line today IMO, poor all round. Donaghy was ropey enough, Andy Mallon caught a few times but generally top drawer and a fine winning point!

Probably even enough in MF, Toner & Vernon getting through a mountain of work, we looked as thou we done a bit of work on break-ball in training, up front Stevie probably the pick, Nippy didn't get a sniff off Hughes at FB but contributed rightly in the 2nd half, thought Mal Mackin played rightly and was unlucky to get subbed, Grugan doesn't do it for me i have to say, year or 2 too early IMO. MOR does give us more options at 11, can spread it round nicely but a few times his man went bombing through and Miceal was nowhere to be seen. Lavery coming on with about 15 to go made a big impact, Vernon moving to the HF line to good effect adn Brain Mallon contributed a lot in his 15 mins as well.

I'd imagine Monaghan will be gutted to lose that, it really was theirs to lose (and they did). They seem a lot more tactically astute and aware than Armagh and they really have the makings of a serious team with a lot of their newcomers looking very useful. I wouldn't be impressed with our management tbh, seem to be sreiously lacking tactically.

Final word has to go to the ref who was absolutely brutal, where did they get that clown?
Post by: Maguire01 on February 20, 2011, 05:45:17 PM
Disappointing result as I thought Monaghan were the better team. Armagh got the goal at the right time leaving Monaghan with little time to respond. Was at the other end of the field to the goal but it looked like it was a fortunate enough one with the defence failing to clean up a high ball that wasn't meant to be anywhere close to the goal.

The referee was terrible and went from being ridiculously fussy at the start of the game to missing/ignoring a serious amount of pulling, dragging and lifting the ball straight off the ground. I'm biased obviously, but I thought a fair few decisions went against Monaghan - would be good to hear the Armagh perspective on this.

For Monaghan, Darren Hughes was immense at #3 - a very safe pair of hands and a good successor to JP Mone in that position. Colin Walshe also had a very good game. Good to see Tommy Freeman back, although I think if he had been on for another 10-15 minutes he could have made a difference.

Despite the disappointment, there were plenty of positives for Monaghan and at least the scoring difference was kept to the minimum.
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 20, 2011, 05:46:51 PM
Very fortunate to get out with the win IMO. Like Benny said played shite but still came out on top so thats always good.

McEvoy a lot more reassured, kick outs improved and seemed more confident, came out for a number of loose balls and cleaned up in first half.

Defensively we were just ok, McKeever was the only one you could say had a good game, the rest made a lot of handling errors and general "fannying about". 2nd half Dyas came into it more and deserves some credit. Worrying how easy Monaghan were able to cut through the middle.

MF we were shit. Dick Clerkin cleaned up and time and time again was give time and space for which to launch Monaghan attacks. Toner was a mile off the pace and CV despite getting through a ton of work often undid this by running into traffic or in one case near the end giving the ball away when a fist over the bar would have puts us 1 up.

HF again didn't set the world alight. Grugan showed well and provided a good outlet for attack. MOR was anonymous for large parts and Mackin didn't have a great game either. Padden did ok but still looks a bit laboured, as for Swift, he didn't get a sniff at FF all day, in Hughes' pocket. McDonnell was the only standout forward, a number of classy points from play.
Post by: bennydorano on February 20, 2011, 05:57:59 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on February 20, 2011, 05:46:51 PM
Very fortunate to get out with the win IMO. Like Benny said played shite but still came out on top so thats always good.

MF we were shit. Dick Clerkin cleaned up and time and time again was give time and space for which to launch Monaghan attacks. Toner was a mile off the pace and CV despite getting through a ton of work often undid this by running into traffic or in one case near the end giving the ball away when a fist over the bar would have puts us 1 up.

Would have to disagree there, Clerkin did little of note, a very scrappy MF, maybe about 5 clean catches the whole game, i thought we did ok round there in general.  Toner is as honest as the day is long, a real tryer, I thought he did fine.
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 20, 2011, 06:13:30 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on February 20, 2011, 05:57:59 PM

Would have to disagree there, Clerkin did little of note, a very scrappy MF, maybe about 5 clean catches the whole game, i thought we did ok round there in general.  Toner is as honest as the day is long, a real tryer, I thought he did fine.
Certainly in the first half Clerkin was able to burst through with no one near him, and possibly once or twice in the second. I think he also may have got a point. In terms of fielding it was even enough, though I think Monaghan were able to launch more attacks from MF than us, Clerkin ran 60 odd yards and won a free on the 21, such was the freedom afforded to him.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 20, 2011, 06:14:42 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on February 20, 2011, 06:13:30 PM

Certainly in the first half Clerkin was able to burst through with no one near him, and possibly once or twice in the second. I think he also may have got a point. In terms of fielding it was even enough, though I think Monaghan were able to launch more attacks from MF than us, Clerkin ran 60 odd yards and won a free on the 21, such was the freedom afforded to him.
Don't think Clerkin scored today.
Post by: Armamike on February 20, 2011, 06:19:30 PM
A really inept performance from Armagh, got 2 points and a win despite our best efforts. The play was Keystone copish at times. Very rarely has a team done so much to shoot itself in the foot.  Couldn't fault the honesty and endeavour but there were a lot of stupid performances from the Armagh players and not much intelligence from the line either.  Our teamwork is very poor.  Players don't look overly comfortable on the ball and don't have great options with players supporting, run into space. Not near enough running off the shoulder or into space.  Tactically very poor.  After 5 mins it was obvious Gareth Swift was gonna get nothing out of his marker around the square. But he stood rooted to the spot nearly the full game, only coming out in the last 5-10 mins - by that stage his confidence was well and truly shot.  If the management didn't have the wit to tell him to take the full back for a run, then he should have known himself. Poor stuff imo. On the basis of the last few games there's a serious lack of football intelligence around that set up at the moment - Monaghan are no world beaters but we made them look very good at times today. Playing Cork and Kerry is a scary thought right now.
Post by: bennydorano on February 20, 2011, 06:27:59 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on February 20, 2011, 06:13:30 PM

Fair enough points, thou I would attiribute that particular run moreso to F MO being at CHB, little or no presence when McKeever was at FB marking Finlay.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on February 20, 2011, 06:40:32 PM
Obviously very annoyed we didn't get at least a point out of that today. I thought the wind advantage and our tight defence would have seen us over the line in the second half. Armagh changed their game plan in the second half and deserved their win. A scrappy goal or not, they all count. As I said earlier, we're probably the two most evenly matched teams in Ulster in the past 4/5 years so there was only ever gonna be a Small margin in it. I'm impressed with what I've seen/heard of Monaghan to date and the new lads have definitely taken their chance, which is great from a squad point of view. Keeping the score difference to the min was important too as it usually comes down to that, remember last year??

So, disappointed that we didn't get a point at least but we're not the 'over the hill' and 'missed the boat' squad that is alluded to by many...

Roll on Cork!!

Post by: get up there on February 20, 2011, 06:46:10 PM
very unconvincing win today some armagh players just looked flat, we really need to find the next gear if were to stay in divison 1
Post by: ardchieftain on February 20, 2011, 07:15:29 PM
Vital win today, great fighting spirit shown despite not playing well at all.
Thought Micael O'Rourke played rightly and is definitely an option. Grugan showed a few glimpses of the player he will become but needs more confidence and experience. He must be persevered with. Stevie is a still a class act.
We lose a lot when McKeever moves away from centre halfback, too many runs through the middle which is unforgiveable in my opinion
Liked Dyas' distribution and our ability to actually win some breaking ball for a change.
Nippy was roasted but then again the ball in was a full backs wet dream.

The referee was a clown.

There is room for improvement but we have a talented panel. The main problem we have is the management. I got ate for saying this before, but O'Rourke hasn't a clue. There doesn't seem to be much of a gameplan and the substitutions seem preordained.

Overall though, i'm delighted we won one in the Athletic Grounds.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 20, 2011, 07:22:58 PM
On the subject of the Athletics Grounds, nice stand. Although they haven't got the 'toilet facilities : punters' ratio right - stand not even full yet big queues at half time for both male and female toilets.

Also, what happened to the National Anthem. Two minutes of silence followed by people clapping!
Post by: ck on February 20, 2011, 07:30:26 PM
Just off hand how far off would both teams be from "full strength"? I'd guess a long way off?
Post by: Main Street on February 20, 2011, 07:31:02 PM
Thats strange, I  heard AnbF  clear enough on the radio, maybe you were upwind :)  and the sound didn't come your way. There was a minute's silence before AnbF.

Post by: bennydorano on February 20, 2011, 07:35:30 PM
Felt for the young girl doin the anthem, handed a mike that didn't work. Not a total suprise unfortunatey :(
Post by: Maguire01 on February 20, 2011, 07:35:38 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 20, 2011, 07:31:02 PM
Thats strange, I  heard AnbF  clear enough on the radio, maybe you were upwind :)  and the sound didn't come your way. There was a minute's silence before AnbF.
I was downwind actually! But near the end of the stand. I 'heard' the minute's silence, but everyone down our end looked a bit confused by the lack of the anthem.
Post by: Abble on February 20, 2011, 07:38:35 PM
that was hard viewing today, until about the last 10 mins or so when Armagh finally decided to shake themselves up a bit. when it came to the crunch, they produced, not convincingly, but they have the all important points. from that i can see us getting no better than a draw in down.

the amount of basic stuff today going wrong was unreal, very frustating having to watch them almost throw a game away.
apart from some atrocious ball handling at times and then constant running into trouble holding on to ball too long (will we never learn and of all the teams to try it against!), i was thinking throughout that some of the boys have went backward in the last 2 years...but sometimes all it takes is a wee bit of spark, something to ignite them and one player in particular who i'm alluding to is Andy. he was caught out a good few times today and i know that wasn't the mallon of old, but low and behold, after a couple of near incidents where you could see furstration coming thru he finally decides to give us a bit of the old magic and then to make it all the more sweet he pops over the winner.

this in its own and the manner of how we finished would give me a slight glimmer of hope for the marshes, so hopefully things are improved from the whole squad next.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on February 20, 2011, 08:09:08 PM
Quote from: ck on February 20, 2011, 07:30:26 PM
Just off hand how far off would both teams be from "full strength"? I'd guess a long way off?

Id say Armagh were missing Hearty, Kernan and the two Clarke's from the starting line up! When we get these players back I'm hoping for a big improvement.
Post by: Smokin Joe on February 20, 2011, 08:11:47 PM
I thought Paul Duffy was immense, he is a great outlet and is always an option.  He did make some mistakes in possession, but that's just because he does so much with the ball every time he gets it.
Post by: Sandy Hill on February 20, 2011, 09:20:19 PM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on February 20, 2011, 08:09:08 PM
Quote from: ck on February 20, 2011, 07:30:26 PM

Id say Armagh were missing Hearty, Kernan and the two Clarke's from the starting line up! When we get these players back I'm hoping for a big improvement.
I'm beginning to wonder if Ronan will ever be back!
Post by: crossfire on February 21, 2011, 02:42:31 AM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on February 20, 2011, 08:11:47 PM
I thought Paul Duffy was immense, he is a great outlet and is always an option.  He did make some mistakes in possession, but that's just because he does so much with the ball every time he gets it.
[/b]

yeah he gives it to the opposition almost every time ???
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on February 21, 2011, 06:49:57 AM
You obviously don't watch too many Armagh games then.

Post by: thewanderer on February 21, 2011, 09:19:00 AM
duff unfortunately gave away 2 crucial balls in the 2nd half which resulted in scores, however fair play to him he pressed on and was involved in the move for the winning point. crossfire u dont go to all games as ur club never ordered 1 ticket for the dublin game. sour grapes or what. but good luck next weekend but i wont be ther.
Post by: gander on February 21, 2011, 09:25:14 AM
People blame the management for Armagh not being fantastic today, but its not O'Rourkes fault the players give the ball straight to the opposition on countless occasions, i'd say nearly all Monaghans points came from either armagh errors out the field or from Free kicks.

On midfield I thought it was a massive improvement, won a lot more break ball and 5 or 6 clean catches.  Toner made 4 clean catches on his own.
Post by: illdecide on February 21, 2011, 10:28:25 AM
It's amazing the different opinion's you get from different fellas, any midfielder who gets 5 clean catches in the middle of the field during one game has contributed big time to his team also guys from rival clubs in Armagh who always think the county lad from his rival club was crop and gave away points and missed sitters. FFS lads call a spade a spade and call it how it was
Post by: mackers on February 21, 2011, 10:33:02 AM
We must have been watching two different games. Yesterday was easily Duffy's worst performance in an Armagh shirt in about two years. He has been one of our better players during this time and I'm sure it'll be a once off but he had a stinker for me.
Dyas got MOTM match in the IN this morning and rightly so, he's improving game after game.
Fair play to McEvoy who was rightly criticised after his last couple of performances but he showed conviction yesterday in coming for a couple of balls that he hadn't done previously.
Frustrating is a word popping up in a number of posts and that's exactly how it was. Some of the errors whilst in possession by some of the Armagh players were unbelievable. We continued pumping high ball into Swift when it was blatantly obvious that it wasn't working. Darren Hughes is a superb footballer but we made him look even better yesterday with some naive play. When we started playing the ball in front of the FF line we started to get some joy and in a way I was glad to see us playing into the breeze because we had to play this way in the second half.
I thought Grugan played better yesterday and linked the play well along with MOR. Malachy Mackin had one of his better games and was unlucky to be taken off when he was.
Stevie was the other Armagh player who was a contender for MOTM and is starting to look a lot sharper.
I hope that there is lot of work done with the ball in hand this week in training as we have to cut out some of the basic errors if we are going to beat Down.
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on February 21, 2011, 11:05:51 AM
Lovely set up.. Just one observation we noticed from the terrace side.. The top of the commentary box is way off level with the roof.. Looks a bit odd.. Must have been some hungover levelling done that day!!
Post by: BerfArmagh on February 21, 2011, 11:13:35 AM
Very enjoyable game yesterday is less than perfect conditions. Monaghan will feel hard done by as I thought they were marginally the better team. There full back was outstanding.

From an Armagh point of view, far too much pissing about coming out of defense, the amount of times we spoilled ball, directed passes to the opposition was shocking. Duffy was particularly at fault, though he does offer a lot going forward (sometimes neglecting his defensive duties). I thought Donaghy had a poor game by his standards. Armaghs stand out performer (& I have been a critic to date) was Dyas, absolutely excellent. Stevie was excellent in teh scond half and was really up for it & showed great leadership. Massive improvement in midfield on the dublin game.

One thing we need to really improve upon is the ball which goes into the forwards. The quality of ball which went into swift was appalling, he had no chance against an outstanding monaghan full back. It was worth noticing nippy improved and got more into the game the last 20 mins when he come outthe field a bit.
Good results, need to improve if we are to beat down. Good sized crowd yesterday. One thing i noticed from the shed, is that there is terrific nosise generated from the new stand. National anthem was a complete balls up... fair play to everyone for singing (as it should be)

Up Armagh
Post by: Never in the house on February 21, 2011, 12:23:56 PM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on February 21, 2011, 11:05:51 AM
Lovely set up.. Just one observation we noticed from the terrace side.. The top of the commentary box is way off level with the roof.. Looks a bit odd.. Must have been some hungover levelling done that day!!

Supposedly when they put the stand up the last bits that went up were in the middle and when it went up it bowed, so it was left as such.
Post by: orchard 8195 on February 21, 2011, 01:18:03 PM
Quote from: mackers on February 21, 2011, 10:33:02 AM
We must have been watching two different games. Yesterday was easily Duffy's worst performance in an Armagh shirt in about two years. He has been one of our better players during this time and I'm sure it'll be a once off but he had a stinker for me.
Dyas got MOTM match in the IN this morning and rightly so, he's improving game after game.
Fair play to McEvoy who was rightly criticised after his last couple of performances but he showed conviction yesterday in coming for a couple of balls that he hadn't done previously.
Frustrating is a word popping up in a number of posts and that's exactly how it was. Some of the errors whilst in possession by some of the Armagh players were unbelievable. We continued pumping high ball into Swift when it was blatantly obvious that it wasn't working. Darren Hughes is a superb footballer but we made him look even better yesterday with some naive play. When we started playing the ball in front of the FF line we started to get some joy and in a way I was glad to see us playing into the breeze because we had to play this way in the second half.
I thought Grugan played better yesterday and linked the play well along with MOR. Malachy Mackin had one of his better games and was unlucky to be taken off when he was.
Stevie was the other Armagh player who was a contender for MOTM and is starting to look a lot sharper.
I hope that there is lot of work done with the ball in hand this week in training as we have to cut out some of the basic errors if we are going to beat Down.

Did nobody else think Dyas gave the ball away a shocking amount of times yesterday? Yes he did a good block 1 time and was in possesion a lot but i still think he is 3rd choice wing back behind duffy and ak. IMO he was nowhere near MOTM  stevey (Who needs to stop drifting out the pitch), Toner, vernon and MOR  were prob Armaghs most effective performers
Post by: mackers on February 21, 2011, 01:48:08 PM
Don't remember him doing so but I'll admit my head was getting light at one stage with the amount of ball we were giving away.
I don't agree with your assertion that he is third choice wing back. He picked up some serious break ball yesterday, an area we have needed to improve upon a number of years now. His distribution is good, maybe not just as good as AK or Duffy yet, but he is much better defensively than either Duffy or AK.
For that reason alone he is ahead of one or other of Duffy or AK for one of the wing back slots IMHO.
Post by: mountainboii on February 21, 2011, 01:51:22 PM
Some highlights and stuff here.

http://www.u.tv/Sport/Hard-fought-win-for-Armagh/f2fb525e-ba27-4c57-b570-e7217383aa1f
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on February 21, 2011, 03:14:27 PM
Quote from: AFS on February 21, 2011, 01:51:22 PM

http://www.u.tv/Sport/Hard-fought-win-for-Armagh/f2fb525e-ba27-4c57-b570-e7217383aa1f

At 7.05.. Its a shame linesmen cant call fouls in play that referees dont see. Clear touch on the ground.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 21, 2011, 06:40:09 PM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on February 21, 2011, 03:14:27 PM

At 7.05.. Its a shame linesmen cant call fouls in play that referees dont see. Clear touch on the ground.
It wasn't the only one the ref missed.
Post by: Main Street on February 21, 2011, 07:50:33 PM
Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on February 21, 2011, 03:14:27 PM

Would have been sweet to get the deserved free and victory.
Feck it though, we have to give them a win sometime.

We looked good in those highlights. We are moving the ball fast.  All in all, a very encouraging start from the team, with so many newcomers in there.

Post by: Shortso79 on February 21, 2011, 08:38:37 PM
Why are the monaghan men complaining about the referee ?

Sure he gave yous a point that was wide
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on February 21, 2011, 08:43:45 PM
Quote from: Shortso79 on February 21, 2011, 08:38:37 PM
Why are the monaghan men complaining about the referee ?

Sure he gave yous a point that was wide

Finlays in the second half??  Finlay seemed adamant and the keeper did the obligatory double tap of the crossbar..
Post by: Shortso79 on February 21, 2011, 08:48:44 PM
The one where the umpire signalled wide and the referee went in and over ruled him - in the 2nd half

Post by: Shortso79 on February 21, 2011, 08:52:05 PM

Monaghan were by far the better team on the day and should have won

But sport is all about taking your chances

Monaghan didn't - while Armagh did

Post by: Maguire01 on February 21, 2011, 09:42:03 PM
Quote from: Shortso79 on February 21, 2011, 08:48:44 PM
The one where the umpire signalled wide and the referee went in and over ruled him - in the 2nd half
It was well inside the bar - even the Armagh defenders and keeper watched it go over their heads - there was no question about it.
Post by: Orangemac on February 21, 2011, 10:01:09 PM
Monaghan will be disappointed they didn't get at least a draw out of this but they have had 2 good performances now and with players to come back in, they are not in as bad a shape as some (myself included) would have thought when Banty left.

Tyrone game in summer should be interesting.

Where would we be without Stevie? When the game was slipping away he dragged us back into it.How will we replace him when he quits?

Another 2 wins should keep us up. Hopefully starting this weekend but if not Galway and Mayo games offer best chance.
Post by: armaghniac on February 21, 2011, 10:20:14 PM
Monaghan are indeed looking in decent shape, post Banty. McEneaney Nua showed better judgement in his first half tactics than POR. Swift was getting nothing from Hughes, yet he remained rooted to the spot rather than moving out a bit and taking a long range point or two as he had against the Dubs. Armagh showed a bit of spirit in the second half, but there were some terrible errors, these need to be reduced. Dyas is gradually becoming the player we hoped he could be.

Armagh has had two hard games, but the Dubs are in good shape, and Monaghan are no walkovers. We need to cut down the errors and get the runs going to give options for passes.
Post by: winsamsoon on February 21, 2011, 10:43:02 PM
Quote from: Shortso79 on February 21, 2011, 08:52:05 PM

Monaghan were by far the better team on the day and should have won

But sport is all about taking your chances

Monaghan didn't - while Armagh did

Not the case at all infact Armagh should have went in at ht with a five or six point lead having cleaned Monaghan out at midfield but couldn't seem to put the ball over the bar. The second half was always going to be difficult for Armagh against a strong breeze. Agree that there was far too much hand passing around crucial areas and the amount of turnover were shocking but we have to remember this is only the thrid or fourth competitive game of the year and we have a lot of time for improvements plus the cross contingent.

A few observations: Thought Dyas got through a lot of work as did MOR and Stevie. Duffy was willing to get on the ball at every attack but his ball retention was shocking yesterday. Moriarty and Vernon in my opinion are liabilites particulary on the ball. It seems Vernon will always take the wrong options ie running into 4 or 5 men instead of the easier option or trying a killer pass up the field when the simple ball will do. Against better opposition this will be punished. Moriarty seems very unflexible for want of a better phrase and can be undisciplined in the tackle as we seen yesterday a decent free tacker will punish anything within 50 -60 yards. Also a lot of unecessary free given away yesterday, saw men knocked to the ground legally only for a second or third Armagh man to come in and commit a stupid foul.

The young lad Grugan has a sweet left foot but to me he blew up and wasn't fit enough for the duration of the game. He faded in and out of the game IMO. Padden has no pace whatsoever and Brian mallon is a far better option IMO he has more pace and can finish well when through on goal. I think Mackin is a very ordinary player that will again make  alot of mistakes and take the wrong option. But all in all there are no major problems there that can't be fixed . Judging by Dublins result at the weekend Armagh are not going to badly but the retention of the ball will be crucial agaisnt down as they have a lethal forward line that will punish any silly mistakes.
Post by: Sandy Hill on February 22, 2011, 07:33:38 PM
Anyone know how many were at this game; someone said today that there were only c 4500 but there was that and more in the stand?
Post by: Maguire01 on February 22, 2011, 09:55:16 PM
Quote from: Sandy Hill on February 22, 2011, 07:33:38 PM
Anyone know how many were at this game; someone said today that there were only c 4500 but there was that and more in the stand?
Doesn't the stand hold 5,600? And it wasn't full.
Maybe they don't count children who get in for free?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 22, 2011, 10:15:28 PM
Quote from: Sandy Hill on February 22, 2011, 07:33:38 PM

Not sure, but one of them threw an egg at my (Tyrone) car as I drove past the ground with the crowds streaming in, dirty Armagh fecker!  :D
Post by: Main Street on February 23, 2011, 11:43:28 AM
A Tyrone car? I suppose the 2 pigs in the back seat were a dead giveaway.