Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Dougal Maguire on February 03, 2011, 09:32:36 PM

Title: Off duty cop shoots robber in Belfast
Post by: Dougal Maguire on February 03, 2011, 09:32:36 PM
A man has been shot dead by an off-duty police officer during a suspected robbery at a petrol station .

The PSNI said it happened on the Albertbridge Road in Belfast at 1905 GMT on Thursday.

It is believed the dead man was armed with a knife and was attempting to rob the the filling station. Nobody else was injured.

A PSNI spokesman said: "Initial enquiries suggest that an off-duty officer discharged his firearm.
Title: Re: Off duty cop shoots robber in Belfast
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 03, 2011, 09:42:05 PM
Crazy, will hold judgement till I hear the whole story. Could he not have shot him in the legs or something???
Post by: Lady GAA GAA on February 03, 2011, 09:42:42 PM
Bring back the RUC.
Post by: Tubberman on February 03, 2011, 09:48:12 PM
Jesus Christ, he shot him dead!?  :o

I have no time for ciriminality, but he was attempting to rob a petrol station. Unless he was about to stab someone with the knife, I don't see how shooting him can be justified.
Post by: orangeman on February 03, 2011, 09:55:44 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on February 03, 2011, 09:48:12 PM
Jesus Christ, he shot him dead!?  :o

I have no time for ciriminality, but he was attempting to rob a petrol station. Unless he was about to stab someone with the knife, I don't see how shooting him can be justified.
[/b]

They'll have no bother justifying this.

3 months for stealing a pair of jeans, life, literally for robbing a filling station.

Crazy world boys !
Post by: muppet on February 03, 2011, 09:58:56 PM
We need to wait for the facts.

However robbing defenseless petrol attendants with a knife is not a good place to start on the sympathy scale.
Post by: lawnseed on February 03, 2011, 09:59:10 PM
dont know what happened but as a relation of someone who has been robbed several times i've very little sympathy for the robber. 
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2011, 10:00:12 PM
Hard to say it can't be justified when you've someone weilding a knife and committing an armed robbery. Potentially excessive? Maybe - but its pretty low on details currently.

If you're going to step outside of the law - be prepared for the worst.
Post by: Tyrones own on February 03, 2011, 10:02:12 PM
Exactly...we've one less knife wielding criminal on the streets this evening!
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 03, 2011, 10:04:34 PM
Presumeably the rest of the story will emerge tomorrow with more details, but the first thing I thought was why could this officer not have held him at gunpoint before calling colleagues?
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 03, 2011, 10:07:12 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on February 03, 2011, 10:02:12 PM
One more murderer.
Post by: lawnseed on February 03, 2011, 10:12:05 PM
was it harry callaghan?
Post by: 118cmal on February 03, 2011, 10:16:16 PM
Allegedly the off-duty policeman told the robber to drop the machete and at this point the robber attempted to attack the policeman.  This is when the shot was fired.

Allegedly.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 03, 2011, 10:18:16 PM
f**k him.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 03, 2011, 10:20:00 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on February 03, 2011, 10:07:12 PM
One more murderer.
Convicted already? Maybe the robber attacked the peeler with the knife? If he attacked me I'd put a bullet in him too.
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 03, 2011, 10:22:43 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 03, 2011, 10:20:00 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on February 03, 2011, 10:07:12 PM
One more murderer.
Convicted already? Maybe the robber attacked the peeler with the knife? If he attacked me I'd put a bullet in him too.
Yes so would I, but in the foot or leg or something. Incapacitate the ****. Not shoot him dead. You'd think they'd have been trained on how to deal with situations like this.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 03, 2011, 10:29:30 PM
Yeah again I'll wait. Hate knife crime and had he come at me I'd probably shoot him also (him or me situation) but these criminals don't care about what they do, or lives they destroy. would we be saying different had this guy actually killed an attendant at a station?
Post by: lawnseed on February 03, 2011, 10:32:51 PM
this will kick off the whole personal protection weapons debate again, i think it was last year the shinners wanted the guns off the cops when they were'nt on duty
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2011, 10:38:26 PM
I dont know about you fellas - but if news arrived at my old mans door that I'd been shot and killed trying to rob a store - he wouldnt have too many complaints. I think he'd be right.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 03, 2011, 10:40:58 PM
You go out with a lethal weapon with a threat to use it, don't be surprised what comes your way.
Post by: Minder on February 03, 2011, 10:43:29 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 03, 2011, 10:40:58 PM
You go out with a lethal weapon with a threat to use it, don't be surprised what comes your way.

Hear hear, or here here as they say on the Gaa Board, when someone is armed with a deadly weapon they can have no complaints if they are met with lethal force. I am sure he was a "gentle giant".
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on February 03, 2011, 10:45:07 PM
Personally dont have a great deal of sympathy for the robber- well at least until i hear the full story.

But someone's father, son, brother, cousin has been killed which is never a good thing.

Saying that he may of been the lowest of the low and i suppose it's lucky no-one else was killed.
Post by: Over the Bar on February 03, 2011, 10:54:44 PM
Isn't it funny how those with right-wing views are quick to defend a policeman shooting a man with a knife dead without needing to know anything further about the case/facts/situation.

I pity the defendant gets you lot on jury duty!! ;D
Post by: sammymaguire on February 03, 2011, 10:55:21 PM
Why do off duty police men walk around with loaded guns?  ???

Dirty cowardly bastards, the pair of them but he should not have been shot dead ffs
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 03, 2011, 10:56:36 PM
Shooting the hoor dead sounds a bit ott. Do all off duty PSNI lads pack heat?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 03, 2011, 10:57:26 PM
If he wasn't out robbing he wouldn't have been shot, let that be a lesson to all of ye potential criminals
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 03, 2011, 10:58:44 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 03, 2011, 10:57:26 PM
If he wasn't out robbing he wouldn't have been shot, let that be a lesson to all of ye potential criminals
Was that aimed at tyrone girl?
Post by: Minder on February 03, 2011, 11:03:32 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on February 03, 2011, 10:54:44 PM
Isn't it funny how those with right-wing views are quick to defend a policeman shooting a man with a knife dead without needing to know anything further about the case/facts/situation.

I pity the defendant gets you lot on jury duty!! ;D

I dont think he was going to peel an apple with the knife.
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2011, 11:04:56 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 03, 2011, 10:58:44 PM

Poor choice of words there Tony. Even if Illdecide aims at her all the time.
Post by: ardal on February 03, 2011, 11:06:17 PM
I know of someone who got into their car after a few pints. smashed it into a mother and her young daughter. He didn't mean to kill them, he din't even have a lethal weapon; or did he. Perhaps he should also have aimed for their legs?
Post by: lawnseed on February 03, 2011, 11:07:28 PM
shamrock i dont think they all have guns off duty, i think they have to get permission, its not their 'work gun' as far as i know its one they buy. the debate about the weapons started when some cop shot their spouse in a domestic and was fueled buy revelations that alot of cops were actually in need of counselling, probably because they had lost a packet in property and the ira had let them down by persuing a political path instead of providing them with loads of overtime and ready access to the SPED scheme ie a scheme where the taxpayer would buy their house at the original price (inflated) to allow them to move for their own "safety"
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 03, 2011, 10:56:36 PM
Shooting the hoor dead sounds a bit ott. Do all off duty PSNI lads pack heat?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 03, 2011, 11:16:08 PM
Lawnseed, would you carry a gun about if you thought your life was threatened?

this is the way it's been, is it right? not really

i very much doubt they need counselling because of losing money in the property market, your trying to be funny by your really crap at it TBH.

Lawseed you sound the type had you been brought up a Prod would have been a proper RUC man, possibly a B Special given half the chance.
Post by: lawnseed on February 03, 2011, 11:28:20 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 03, 2011, 11:16:08 PM
Lawnseed, would you carry a gun about if you thought your life was threatened?

this is the way it's been, is it right? not really

i very much doubt they need counselling because of losing money in the property market, your trying to be funny by your really crap at it TBH.

Lawseed you sound the type had you been brought up a Prod would have been a proper RUC man, possibly a B Special given half the chance.
wha? milltown i own several guns, what has religion got to do with my post? how do you know i'm not protestant? i think you need counselling if you want to talk about 'type'

Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 03, 2011, 11:33:17 PM
Because your not a prod!!
Post by: Dougal Maguire on February 03, 2011, 11:41:59 PM
So we all support the death penalty then Indeed to hell with the court system just shoot on site and save all the tax payers the cost of a trial.
Post by: muppet on February 03, 2011, 11:50:09 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on February 03, 2011, 11:41:59 PM
So we all support the death penalty then Indeed to hell with the court system just shoot on site and save all the tax payers the cost of a trial.

You're right, lets invade Liverpool and the world will be a better place.

Thank you for your clarity.
Post by: tyssam5 on February 04, 2011, 03:04:42 AM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on February 03, 2011, 10:04:34 PM
Presumeably the rest of the story will emerge tomorrow with more details, but the first thing I thought was why could this officer not have held him at gunpoint before calling colleagues?

Good plan, but the man wielding the knife would have to agree to it as well. Perhaps he didn't I'm sure there will be a few witnesses at that time of the day.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 04, 2011, 08:43:05 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 03, 2011, 10:00:12 PM
Hard to say it can't be justified when you've someone weilding a knife and committing an armed robbery. Potentially excessive? Maybe - but its pretty low on details currently.

If you're going to step outside of the law - be prepared for the worst.

Agreed.  I was waiting on the usual brigade to come out preaching that the poor robber didn't deserve this, that he should have been shot in the legs etc.  Next thing we will have his weeping mother on TV saying how he was a good boy and how the officer in question should be charged for murder.  Maybe a few more incidents like this would make the cowards think twice about going about with knives and going into shops and terrifying innocent people trying to earn a wage.
Post by: EC Unique on February 04, 2011, 10:20:06 AM
Good enough for him and well done to that copper. If it were my sister or mother behind the counter I would want the copper to do exactly this. The low life went out to rob without regard for anyone so f.uck him.  And as for this 'shoot him in the leg' that is complete bull. Shoot him dead and he will not kill anyone with his knife now. Shoot him in the leg and he would probably get ££££££ in compo.
Post by: ziggysego on February 04, 2011, 10:26:39 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 03, 2011, 10:58:44 PM

I don't think tyrone girl deserves to be shot for using red diesel.
Post by: Hardy on February 04, 2011, 10:27:47 AM
Shoot him in the leg? Which leg? Where in the leg? Why not be really careful and just shoot him in the little finger?
Post by: johnneycool on February 04, 2011, 10:30:39 AM
Quote from: Hardy on February 04, 2011, 10:27:47 AM
Shoot him in the leg? Which leg? Where in the leg? Why not be really careful and just shoot him in the little finger?

Aye, some on here must have watched too much Cagney and Lacey back in the day. We don't even know if the robber agreed to stand still long enough to allow the officer to take proper aim.
Post by: Groucho on February 04, 2011, 10:31:09 AM
Quote from: Hardy on February 04, 2011, 10:27:47 AM

Too many on here believe all they see on Starsky and Hutch ::)
Post by: paco on February 04, 2011, 10:54:13 AM
Did your man have his weapon drawn when the robber ran at him?
Post by: Minder on February 04, 2011, 11:09:52 AM
It sounds like the robber was armed with a butchers knife and a hard on.
Post by: theskull1 on February 04, 2011, 11:52:51 AM
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 04, 2011, 12:02:12 PM
Amazed at the number of right wing, gun-toting, Sarah Palin-esque rednecks on this board.

The use of lethal force should only be used as a last resort and not by someone off duty. It's not the US of A we live in. A Taser or simply getting a fat person to sit on him may well have been better options.
Post by: Capt Pat on February 04, 2011, 12:05:48 PM
Sounds a bit strtange, maybe the robber was high on drugs .........or the copper. It shouldn't have resulted in him being shot dead.
Post by: thewobbler on February 04, 2011, 12:26:11 PM
Regardless of how it all played out I've greater sympathy for the policeman who was put in that position than I do for the armed robber who put him in that position.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 04, 2011, 12:28:21 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 04, 2011, 12:06:57 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 03, 2011, 10:40:58 PM
Are you talking about the peeler or the thief?

Either, take your pick.
Post by: Ulick on February 04, 2011, 12:34:48 PM
There's no reason for the peelers here to be routinely armed with guns and that young lad would alive today if they weren't. In a stroke it would also deny the 'dissidents' of their "legitimate targets".
Post by: illdecide on February 04, 2011, 12:41:14 PM
was the robber wearing a Celtic top ;) that would justify the cop killing him (cops view)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 04, 2011, 12:44:59 PM
Quote from: Ulick on February 04, 2011, 12:34:48 PM
There's no reason for the peelers here to be routinely armed with guns and that young lad would alive today if they weren't. In a stroke it would also deny the 'dissidents' of their "legitimate targets".

........or you could also say that younglad sc**bag would be alive today if he didn't go to rob a petrol station with a knife.
Post by: muppet on February 04, 2011, 12:46:53 PM

Yes he could have continued on unhindered with his machete and the petrol station staff.

I wish he hadn't died either but if the choice is him or any of the innocent going about their daily life people, then the crook with the machete gets my nomination every time.

The dissidents have no mandate anywhere from anyone.
Post by: Ulick on February 04, 2011, 12:58:13 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 04, 2011, 12:46:53 PM
Yes he could have continued on unhindered with his machete and the petrol station staff.

I wish he hadn't died either but if the choice is him or any of the innocent going about their daily life people, then the crook with the machete gets my nomination every time.

How would an off duty garda have handled the situation?

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/fearless-garda-armed-with-hurley-halts-gunman-attack-1649736.html (http://www.independent.ie/national-news/fearless-garda-armed-with-hurley-halts-gunman-attack-1649736.html)?

I know a girl working in the PSNI who is currently seconded to Store St in Dublin and she was saying for the first few months she was routinely reaching for her 'invisible' gun (they're not allowed to take them in the south). After a while it became second nature to use initiative and other methods rather than jumping straight to the threat of lethal force. This isn't the first time incidents like this have happened and sadly won't be the last. 
Post by: Tonto on February 04, 2011, 01:10:02 PM
In a stroke it would also deny the 'dissidents' of their "legitimate targets".
Either that or it would give the dissidents 'soft targets'.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on February 04, 2011, 01:18:44 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 04, 2011, 12:02:12 PM
Amazed at the number of right wing, gun-toting, Sarah Palin-esque rednecks on this board.

The use of lethal force should only be used as a last resort and not by someone off duty. It's not the US of A we live in. A Taser or simply getting a fat person to sit on him may well have been better options.

If he deemed it necessary to use lethal force I don't see why it's relevant if he was off duty.
Post by: EC Unique on February 04, 2011, 02:00:24 PM

He was no 'young lad'. He was a 29 year old man who thought it would be ok to rob people at knife point!  He is now dead. The world is better off without him. I feel sorry for the cop, the other people in the shop and the dead mans family but not him.
Post by: Main Street on February 04, 2011, 02:05:06 PM
You don't bring a knife to a gunfight.

I thought the off duty psni were only allowed to have guns for their own protection. This incident, on appearances, doesn't seem to come under use for self protection.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 04, 2011, 02:48:26 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 04, 2011, 02:05:06 PM

I thought the off duty psni were only allowed to have guns for their own protection. This incident, on appearances, doesn't seem to come under use for self protection.

How does a maniac in a shop wielding a knife not categorise this incident as a matter of self protection for anyone in the knife-holders vicinity?
Post by: Main Street on February 04, 2011, 03:01:28 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 04, 2011, 02:48:26 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 04, 2011, 02:05:06 PM

How does a maniac in a shop wielding a knife not categorise this incident as a matter of self protection for anyone in the knife-holders vicinity?
I don't know the details do you? The matter is being investigated.
But I assume the definition of use for self protection does not qualify, if the threat to him came after he pulled the gun.
So, the threat to his person has to be evident before he pulls the gun out for self protection.
Post by: Minder on February 04, 2011, 03:24:49 PM
I saw earlier that they are permitted to use their gun if they or a member of the publics life is at risk, reports that he held the knife to the shop workers throat.
Post by: johnneycool on February 04, 2011, 03:40:10 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 04, 2011, 03:24:49 PM
I saw earlier that they are permitted to use their gun if they or a member of the publics life is at risk, reports that he held the knife to the shop workers throat.

so shooting the knife out of his hand was out of the question then?  ::)
Post by: Puckoon on February 04, 2011, 03:44:08 PM
Johnney are you serious? Or have you watched too much tv?

Post by: Tonto on February 04, 2011, 03:46:16 PM
Ah blatant sectarianism as well as posting that you wished the police officer had been killed.  I won't hold my breath waiting for the mods to enforce their own rules.
Post by: The Iceman on February 04, 2011, 05:00:14 PM
Who knows what went down here lads. The Cop may have tried to control the situation but when a Machete wielding criminal comes at you, likely at close range, the cop had to shoot or be seriously injured himself. In that situation to pull off a shot to the legs or shoulder could be difficult.
Not a big fan of anyone dying regardless of what they have done but if you're going to live by the sword you better be prepared to die by it too......
Post by: Maguire01 on February 04, 2011, 05:02:48 PM
Quote from: illdecide on February 04, 2011, 12:41:14 PM
was the robber wearing a Celtic top ;) that would justify the cop killing him (cops view)
Not very familiar with the Albertbridge Road then!
Post by: Maguire01 on February 04, 2011, 05:04:21 PM
Man shot dead by off-duty police officer is named

The man who was shot dead by an off-duty police officer in Belfast was 29-year-old Marc Alexander Ringland.

He was from the east of the city. He died during a suspected robbery at a petrol station on the Albertbridge Road at 1905 GMT on Thursday.

Investigators are examining claims he had a knife and was carrying out a robbery.

Twenty investigators from the NI Police Ombudsman's Office are working to establish what led to the shooting.

They are studying CCTV footage of the events in the filling station which could provide vital clues as to why Mr Ringland was killed.

It is believed the officer was in the petrol station when the robbery is alleged to have taken place. He shot the man who died at the scene. Nobody else was injured in the incident.

A spokesman for the NI Police Ombudsman's Office said a forensic examination of the scene had taken place and investigations were continuing.

"We have also identified and spoken to a number of witnesses, and would like to appeal for anyone else who may know anything about what happened to contact us on our freephone witness appeal line. The number to call is 0800 032 7880," he said.

It is understood Mr Ringland had an extensive criminal record.

He was on licence for offences of criminal damage, driving while disqualified, making a threat to kill, burglary, theft and assault occasioning actual bodily harm.

The licence was imposed at Belfast Crown Court in March last year when he was also jailed for nine months. He had a total of 17 cases against him in both the Crown and Magistrates Courts dating back at least five years.

The filling station is on a busy route running from east Belfast into the city centre.

BBC NI home affairs correspondent Vincent Kearney said that the building contains a number of closed-circuit television cameras and that they could be central to the investigation.

He added that police policy was that officers could only open fire when his or her own life or the life of a member of the public was in danger.
Post by: Minder on February 04, 2011, 05:20:30 PM
Sounds like a real gent.
Post by: Tyrones own on February 04, 2011, 05:46:36 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 04, 2011, 05:20:30 PM
Sounds like a real gent.
Ah not so fast minder... his rap sheet could be an exaggeration or perhaps interpreted wrong  ::)
Post by: EC Unique on February 04, 2011, 05:49:41 PM
Sounds like a real gent.

Like I said - the world is better without him.
Post by: screenmachine on February 04, 2011, 06:20:53 PM
Its ridiculous how many people on here took the side of a a maniac wielding a knife when he was shot dead trying to rob a petrol station. If only a few more officers would step up to plate and start nailing some of these scumbags. There was uproar when police stood by in Rathcoole and said they will arrest suspects after reviewing CCTV. Now that a policeman has eventually done his job and removed a viable threat to the public there's even more uproar???
Post by: gallsman on February 04, 2011, 06:57:16 PM
Twenty cops are investigating? Does it really need twenty???
Post by: EC Unique on February 04, 2011, 07:57:30 PM
Quote from: gallsman on February 04, 2011, 06:57:16 PM

there is CCTV coverage of the whole thing. Not much to investigate I would guess!
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 04, 2011, 08:44:50 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on February 04, 2011, 05:46:36 PM
Sounds like a real gent.
Ah not so fast minder... his rap sheet could be an exaggeration or perhaps interpreted wrong  ::)
He probably had no one to hug him when he was growing up
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 04, 2011, 08:45:17 PM
Quote from: gallsman on February 04, 2011, 06:57:16 PM
:D Thought that myself. I'm sure there are police forces in England haven't got that for a major murder investigation let alone one that will almost certainly have been captured on CCTV.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 04, 2011, 08:46:48 PM
Overtime?? It's been a tough Xmas ;)
Post by: angermanagement on February 04, 2011, 09:52:19 PM
It's the police ombudsmans office which is a complete
joke of an organisation. A total waste of time and money.

As for the sc**bag who was killed no sympathy what so ever for him. The worlds a better place without him.
Post by: Gaaboardmod3 on February 05, 2011, 01:25:14 PM
Quote from: Tonto on February 04, 2011, 03:46:16 PM
Ah blatant sectarianism as well as posting that you wished the police officer had been killed.  I won't hold my breath waiting for the mods to enforce their own rules.

Perhaps you should have reported the post instead of making snide comments. Maybe then you could have saved some of that breath.

TransitVanMan, as per rule, picks up a warning for inappropriate sectarian posts.
Post by: theskull1 on February 05, 2011, 01:31:53 PM
Aye Tonto, just ignore the 99.9% of posts which don't say anything of the sort but home in on one eejit and somehow infer that opinions like his are typical of the views held on this forum.

You've a bit too heavy a trigger finger to be worth listening to
Post by: Hereiam on February 05, 2011, 01:36:29 PM
The cops really have nothin to do, a friend of mine drove out in front of another car which was been drivin by a polish guy, not too much damage done. My friend phone the RUC and they said if no one is hurt then there is no point in them comin out to it. Once she mentioned that it was a polish guy and that his english was bad he told her thay would send someone out. 10 mins later 3 car load of cops arrived wtf is that about.
Post by: Tonto on February 05, 2011, 01:42:13 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on February 05, 2011, 01:31:53 PM
Aye Tonto, just ignore the 99.9% of posts which don't say anything of the sort but home in on one eejit and somehow infer that opinions like his are typical of the views held on this forum.

When did I state that his opinions were typical of the views on this forum?  I contribute regularly on this forum to topics that interest me and don't ignore "99.9% of posts".

BTW, did you know that 63% of statistics are made up on the spot?
Post by: Tonto on February 05, 2011, 01:44:42 PM
Quote from: Gaaboardmod3 on February 05, 2011, 01:25:14 PM
Perhaps you should have reported the post instead of making snide comments. Maybe then you could have saved some of that breath.
Seeing as I don't know who the mods are I wasn't comfortable with them having my email address which would have been sent by reporting the post.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 05, 2011, 01:56:37 PM
Quote from: Tonto on February 05, 2011, 01:44:42 PM
Seeing as I don't know who the mods are I wasn't comfortable with them having my email address which would have been sent by reporting the post.
The mods here aren't scumbags like you have on OWC. Well apart from Ziggy obviously.
Post by: theskull1 on February 05, 2011, 06:46:42 PM

So you don't send PMs and you don't hold your breath. Anything else don't do whilst visiting this forum?
Post by: Tonto on February 06, 2011, 06:16:29 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on February 05, 2011, 06:46:42 PM

So you don't send PMs and you don't hold your breath. Anything else don't do whilst visiting this forum?
I do send PMs.  Also, you didn't answer my question.
Post by: under the bar on February 06, 2011, 07:48:31 PM
You have to laugh at the conflicting reports.   The PSNI damage limitation spin that says he may had the knife to the shop assistants throat and the presumably eywitenss account that he was leaving the shop when shot in the chest.

Did the PSNI propaganda dept not give any thought to the credibiltity of their story before releasing it?  Like how does a man get shot in the chest when holding a knife to someones throat?  ::)
Post by: Maguire01 on February 06, 2011, 08:07:52 PM
Quote from: under the bar on February 06, 2011, 07:48:31 PM
You have to laugh at the conflicting reports.   The PSNI damage limitation spin that says he may had the knife to the shop assistants throat and the presumably eywitenss account that he was leaving the shop when shot in the chest.

Did the PSNI propaganda dept not give any thought to the credibiltity of their story before releasing it?  Like how does a man get shot in the chest when holding a knife to someones throat?  ::)
What inside knowledge do you have that we don't?
Anyway, it's all on CCTV and being investigated by the Ombudsman, so I doubt it will be settled on the basis of 'damage limitation spin'.
Post by: thewobbler on February 06, 2011, 08:40:36 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on February 05, 2011, 01:36:29 PM
The cops really have nothin to do, a friend of mine drove out in front of another car which was been drivin by a polish guy, not too much damage done. My friend phone the RUC and they said if no one is hurt then there is no point in them comin out to it. Once she mentioned that it was a polish guy and that his english was bad he told her thay would send someone out. 10 mins later 3 car load of cops arrived wtf is that about.

i'd say the police make an educated guess that if it's two locals involved, then there's a pretty good chance both have insurance. But when a foreign national is involved, then it's perhaps not so legitimate.

I'd agree with them.
Post by: Tonto on February 06, 2011, 08:58:09 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 05, 2011, 01:56:37 PM
The mods here aren't scumbags like you have on OWC. Well apart from Ziggy obviously.
One man's sc**bag is another man's freedom fighter.  Like Ziggy, obviously. ;)
Post by: theskull1 on February 06, 2011, 09:15:52 PM
Quote from: Tonto on February 05, 2011, 01:42:13 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on February 05, 2011, 01:31:53 PM

When did I state that his opinions were typical of the views on this forum?  I contribute regularly on this forum to topics that interest me and don't ignore "99.9% of posts".

BTW, did you know that 63% of statistics are made up on the spot?

Quote from: Tonto on February 06, 2011, 06:16:29 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on February 05, 2011, 06:46:42 PM

I do send PMs.  Also, you didn't answer my question.

The answer is you didn't state it, nor did I say you stated it. I said that your comment about not holding your breath for the mods to do anything about yer man post inferred that this post would be seen as acceptable to this forum and it's member therefore would not be dealt with by the mods.
Post by: Tonto on February 06, 2011, 09:36:47 PM
Perhaps you don't remember that the particular sectarian gem "hun" is (or at least was) deemed acceptable to those in power on this forum.
Post by: ardal on February 06, 2011, 09:47:05 PM
Quote from: Tonto on February 06, 2011, 09:36:47 PM
Perhaps you don't remember that the particular sectarian gem "hun" is (or at least was) deemed acceptable to those in power on this forum.

"Hun" historical european tribe? You've decided it's sectarian.

"Tonto" enslaved native american to big nasty white man? This is even a tad racist.

Get off your high horse eh? ( sorry no pun intended)
Post by: TransitVanMan on February 06, 2011, 10:00:10 PM
Should I change my name to WhiteTransitVanMan.
Post by: ziggysego on February 06, 2011, 10:06:00 PM
Quote from: Tonto on February 06, 2011, 08:58:09 PM

WTF? Tony... Tonto... I'm not a mod!  >:(
Post by: theskull1 on February 06, 2011, 10:12:42 PM
Quote from: TransitVanMan on February 06, 2011, 10:00:10 PM
Should I change my name to WhiteTransitVanMan.

What about BedfordVanMan

Would tie your user name to the times when your views mights have been deemed as justified?  :)
Post by: theskull1 on February 06, 2011, 10:18:35 PM

So after all your protestations you were inferring afterall  :D

Post by: TransitVanMan on February 06, 2011, 10:36:42 PM
Skull, just because you read through a few of my posts don't presume that you really know anything about me or my views.
Post by: theskull1 on February 06, 2011, 10:45:21 PM
Why shouldn't I?

Post by: TransitVanMan on February 06, 2011, 11:13:23 PM
Because I say so.
Post by: lawnseed on February 06, 2011, 11:16:48 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on February 06, 2011, 08:40:36 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on February 05, 2011, 01:36:29 PM

i'd say the police make an educated guess that if it's two locals involved, then there's a pretty good chance both have insurance. But when a foreign national is involved, then it's perhaps not so legitimate.

I'd agree with them.
a few years ago i was running a load of mushrooms down to larne port about 12 midnight, on the way down i came across a car driving very dangerously, i tried 2 or 3 times to get past but each time the car swerved across the road in front of me and nearly ran head on into a truck heading in the other direction  i ran 999 and gave a detailed description of the vehicle including the reg and the drivers actions then for no reason the car stopped right in the middle of the road i was about to get out and administer some headbutts when i got phoned by the boss to say i was running late and to get the boot down, so i drove on. on my return journey i found the road was closed and there was a diversion when i eventually found my way back to the main road. i was curious so i stopped with a cop to ask him what had happened. he said a car matching the one i had the run in with had run head on into another car and that there were injuries and a probabal fatality. i told him that i had reported the car almost 90mins ago stopped in the middle of the road only a few hundred metres from the accident. he sent for the officer incharge and i told him what had happened and asked him why the car hadnt been apprehended. i was told they'd be in touch the matter was under investigation. about two months later a cop called to the house to ask me what had happened he had notes within the file that shouldnt have been in his posession, the police were aware of the car before i rang 999 they had had several reports they also had the registration from previous reports over a series of weekends, they knew the owner (a pole) and his address and the cop was able to tell me that when he was taken from the car at  the accident he had a bottle of whiskey between his legs and a large knife lying on the passenger seat :o. i was asked would i be willing to attend the inquest for the person who was killed and repeat my evidence, i said i would.. i never heard another word about it.
    maybe it takes something like this to focus the police and thats why they take reports of non nationals so seriously
Post by: theskull1 on February 06, 2011, 11:42:08 PM
Quote from: TransitVanMan on February 06, 2011, 11:13:23 PM
Because I say so.

So you don't want people to take anything you post on here as a represention of your views?
Post by: TransitVanMan on February 07, 2011, 12:47:30 PM
I am posting (almost) anonymously on here. Certainly, you have no idea who I am, so does it really matter.
Post by: theskull1 on February 07, 2011, 01:02:04 PM
I don't know you, but I've read comments you've made on this board. You're right though it doesn't matter.
Post by: haranguerer on February 07, 2011, 01:21:36 PM
When he set out to rob a shop with a knife, there was always the chance something like this could happen.

I dont see the relevance of the dead mans record though - the News Letter had as its headline 'Shot man had long record' - are they attempting to justify the shooting on this basis, like some on here? Thankfully there is no capital punishment in this country, nor is summary justice acceptable, I thought it was in bad taste.
Post by: Tonto on February 07, 2011, 05:31:06 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on February 06, 2011, 10:18:35 PM

Christ alive! I hope for your sake you are only pretending to be so stupid.

Firstly, no I was not "inferring" anything.  The word you are looking for is "implying".

Secondly, I did not imply that TVM's post was typical of opinions on the board, I implied that the moderators wouldn't do anything about it.
Post by: Tonto on February 07, 2011, 05:35:09 PM
Quote from: ardal on February 06, 2011, 09:47:05 PM
"Hun" historical european tribe? You've decided it's sectarian.
Wow I decided that a word was sectarian.  Sometimes I amaze myself doing the things I didn't even though I did until people on the GAABoard tell me.  Please tell me I came up with 'f*nian', 'ta*g' and 'ni*ger' too.  If so those babies are going onto my CV!

Perhaps I could change my job title to Wordsmith too!
Post by: Tonto on February 07, 2011, 05:36:25 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 06, 2011, 10:06:00 PM
Quote from: Tonto on February 06, 2011, 08:58:09 PM

WTF? Tony... Tonto... I'm not a mod!  >:(
Apologies Ziggy. Don't have a clue who the mods are, I was just going by Tony's post!  :)
Post by: theskull1 on February 07, 2011, 06:20:34 PM
Quote from: Tonto on February 07, 2011, 05:31:06 PM

Firstly, no I was not "inferring" anything.  The word you are looking for is "implying".

Secondly, I did not imply that TVM's post was typical of opinions on the board, I implied that the moderators wouldn't do anything about it.

"Stupid".....grow up will ye  :-\

By "stating" (rather than implying, but use imply if you want) that you didn't expected the mods to do anything about WVMs comment I believe your comments "inferred" that they would deem his words to be acceptable on this forum. What other motivation would make you state that "you wouldn't hold your breath"?

I'm sure they'll be other opertunities to handwring so don't let this failed attempt hold you back  :D

Post by: Maguire01 on February 07, 2011, 07:06:49 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on February 07, 2011, 01:21:36 PM
When he set out to rob a shop with a knife, there was always the chance something like this could happen.

I dont see the relevance of the dead mans record though - the News Letter had as its headline 'Shot man had long record' - are they attempting to justify the shooting on this basis, like some on here? Thankfully there is no capital punishment in this country, nor is summary justice acceptable, I thought it was in bad taste.
I have to say, whilst his record shouldn't be used to justify his killing, it is relevant. Just as it would be relevant if the cop had previously shot other people.
Post by: Tonto on February 07, 2011, 07:40:21 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on February 07, 2011, 06:20:34 PM
Quote from: Tonto on February 07, 2011, 05:31:06 PM

By "stating" (rather than implying, but use imply if you want) that you didn't expected the mods to do anything about WVMs comment I believe your comments "inferred" that they would deem his words to be acceptable on this forum. What other motivation would make you state that "you wouldn't hold your breath"?

I'm sure they'll be other opertunities to handwring so don't let this failed attempt hold you back  :D
FFS! I didn't "state" that I didn't expect the mods to do anything, nor did I "infer" that WVMs words reflected the general view of those on this forum.  You made all of that up by yourself.

I would understand you mis-quoting me if we were speaking to each other but there's really no excuse when it's all still on the site.

Anyway, I neither have time nor the inclination to hold your hand as I walk you through the conversation and, to be honest, we have digressed dramatically from the thread and I'm bored with this discussion that you have manufactured through a series of misquotes.  As such, like one of the dragons in the den, I'm declaring myself "out".
Post by: theskull1 on February 07, 2011, 10:24:23 PM
Youre right your right Tonto...hands up ....you didn't "state" that the mods wouldn't do anything

BUT you stated that you implied they wouldn't do anything so why get so irate with a "misquote" when its a meer technicality.

AFAICS it's as straightforward logical step to consider your comments and conclude the inference. You've given me no reason think otherwise
Post by: haranguerer on February 08, 2011, 08:44:04 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 07, 2011, 07:06:49 PM

I have to say, whilst his record shouldn't be used to justify his killing, it is relevant. Just as it would be relevant if the cop had previously shot other people.

Wrong.

The issue here isn't whether or not the man was committing a robbery - I think its clear that he was, his prior record isn't necessary to provide a view on this.

The issue is whether excessive force was used by the policeman. In determining this, his past behaviour is most relevant, if he'd shot a few other people in similar circumstance, that would rightly colour the opinion towards him. That the robber had committed other crimes is utterly irrelevant in clarifying whether or not he deserved to be shot.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 08, 2011, 06:18:16 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on February 08, 2011, 08:44:04 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 07, 2011, 07:06:49 PM

Wrong.

The issue here isn't whether or not the man was committing a robbery - I think its clear that he was, his prior record isn't necessary to provide a view on this.

The issue is whether excessive force was used by the policeman. In determining this, his past behaviour is most relevant, if he'd shot a few other people in similar circumstance, that would rightly colour the opinion towards him. That the robber had committed other crimes is utterly irrelevant in clarifying whether or not he deserved to be shot.
"Wrong"? It's good that you can tell me when my opinion is wrong. ::)

I never said anything about it being relevant to whether he "deserved to be shot".