GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: paddymcg115 on February 03, 2011, 12:39:53 PM

Title: london v kilkenny
Post by: paddymcg115 on February 03, 2011, 12:39:53 PM
Can anyone out there get me the phone number of Ruislip club or someone who will be at the match between London and Kilkenny on sunday. I would like to keep up with the latest scores. Or even failing that would it be on a local London radio station? Yours in anticipation.
Title: Re: london v kilkenny
Post by: mannix on February 03, 2011, 01:47:50 PM
i wonder what kind of footballer plays with kilkenny? do they train hard or really care? or is it a case of curiosity for a club hurler that would like to see what county level looks like. I know the great DJ played football for them one day against wexford.
the beatings they get from carlow and the likes makes me wonder.
Post by: John Martin on February 03, 2011, 01:49:29 PM
I'm planning on heading to the match on Sunday.

I'll put up the scores at half time and fulltime if ya want.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 03, 2011, 03:49:05 PM
Dedication. Remeber Roy Castle used to sing this song at the end of each Record Breakers show on the BBC.

London v KIlkenny won't get many a pulse racing, but I salute those that make the effort to get there or tune in.

Sadly this year (as opposed to previous years) there won't be a 'weekend of it' when Longford travel to Ruislip. Flying in and out on the Sunday to save money.

For shame  >:(
Post by: irunthev on February 03, 2011, 04:12:14 PM
I played against Kilkenny the very first time London played them in the League in 1993. The game was in Nowlan Park and there were exactly 23 people there - one of our subs counted them.

We won that game but I also played on London teams that were beaten by Kilkenny and one that drew with them. :-\

Not in London any more but it will be a difficult enough game for them as it is their first outing of any description this year, whereas at least Kilkenny will have had two games under their belt.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 03, 2011, 04:30:01 PM
If the wife ever finds out that she'll get a trip to London if we get relegated to Division 4 she'll start throwing stones at our lads.
Post by: paddymcg115 on February 03, 2011, 10:18:28 PM
Many thanks to John Martin. Are you going to post the half time score on this forum or what?
Post by: John Martin on February 03, 2011, 10:25:27 PM
Yeah I'll try to, not sure what the reception will be like in Ruislip but I'll give it a go.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 03, 2011, 11:23:42 PM
Fair play to Kilkenny, many give off about the effort they put into Football, no different than Letrim to both codes and Donegal/Cavan/Monaghan/Slgo to hurling
Post by: The Forfeit Point on February 03, 2011, 11:28:38 PM
Quote from: mannix on February 03, 2011, 01:47:50 PM
i wonder what kind of footballer plays with kilkenny? do they train hard or really care? or is it a case of curiosity for a club hurler that would like to see what county level looks like. I know the great DJ played football for them one day against wexford.
the beatings they get from carlow and the likes makes me wonder.

could make for an interesting book or documentary that!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 04, 2011, 10:31:13 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 03, 2011, 11:23:42 PM
Fair play to Kilkenny, many give off about the effort they put into Football, no different than Letrim to both codes and Donegal/Cavan/Monaghan/Slgo to hurling

I take it you're stirring but for the record Leitrim/Donegal/Cavan/Monaghan/Slgo all enter teams into their respective hurling championships whereas Kilkenny don't even make a fist of the qualifiers, shameful IMO, one of my bugbears.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 04, 2011, 11:36:43 AM
from recollection I was told that there are a few footballing areas in kilkeny - mostly north on the border of carlow and laois.
the county doesnt encourage football.
there is football but its the complete reverse of most of the counties we know where hurling fixtures are pushed back to accomodate football.
I knew a few lads from kilkenny that played football.

have heard/read that such kilkenny stars like pat oneill, DJ carey and more whose names I cannot remember all played football and for the county team when they had time. But as much as they liked football , these dual players first allegience was to hurling.

I think a country fixtures plan, plus county level club fixtures plan would go a long way to stop the dual star row.
someone has to have the gumption and desire to take this and create such a template !
Post by: paddymcg115 on February 05, 2011, 11:42:15 AM
John what time is London game at on sunday?
Post by: gallsman on February 05, 2011, 11:49:57 AM
I've been a fan of Kilkenny hurling for as long as I remember and was brought to Croker to see them from the days you were still able to sit on your da's lap.

However, as a fan of the GAA in general, the disregard shown for football down there is a disgrace. And I'm not even fussed on football!

MR, that Leitrim comment was fantastic.
Post by: ross4life on February 05, 2011, 09:38:53 PM

A bit unfair on leitrim whom have a tiny population with a big emigration they are a football county with huge passion but are fighting a unfair balance

for me there Connacht title in 1994 was one of greatest GAA achievements i've seen.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 05, 2011, 10:10:13 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 05, 2011, 09:38:53 PM

A bit unfair on leitrim whom have a tiny population with a big emigration they are a football county with huge passion but are fighting a unfair balance

for me there Connacht title in 1994 was one of greatest GAA achievements i've seen.

Will not talk about Roscommon's hurling then?
Post by: ross4life on February 05, 2011, 10:25:01 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 05, 2011, 10:10:13 PM
Quote from: ross4life on February 05, 2011, 09:38:53 PM

Will not talk about Roscommon's hurling then?

Again where mainly a football county only really 2 towns in Roscommon that play hurling. you can't be serious that leitrim don't put effort into football?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 05, 2011, 10:42:37 PM
I can, with only two wins in over a 110 years last being 1994 and before that 1927, are you being serious?? even Antrim have won ten Ulster championships. Albeit in the 50's
Post by: trileacman on February 05, 2011, 11:11:33 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 05, 2011, 10:42:37 PM
I can, with only two wins in over a 110 years last being 1994 and before that 1927, are you being serious?? even Antrim have won ten Ulster championships. Albeit in the 50's
Ten??  what is your titles to pop ratio then if you are so great?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 05, 2011, 11:24:24 PM
Quote from: trileacman on February 05, 2011, 11:11:33 PM
Ten??  what is your titles to pop ratio then if you are so great?

Population of Leitrim - 28,950
Population of Antrim - 616,384

Adjust for religon if you wish but Leitrim have 5% of Antrim's population yet 20% of their total of provincial titles.
Post by: ross4life on February 05, 2011, 11:26:48 PM

Your comparing leitrim committed to football with Kilkenny. leitrim a team that always push us all the way & the also gave Dublin,Galway & Mayo etc a few scares in the recent meetings

Kilkenny on the other hand will be delighted to come out of london with 8/9 defeat

You need to spent a weekend in Ballinamore,Mohill or Cloone & see what real blood sweat & tears is like without reward.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 05, 2011, 11:46:53 PM
adjust it to  GAA members would be better. we also hurl. Armagh dont have a wild lot more Ulster titles to Antrim and again we wont talk hurling
Post by: trileacman on February 06, 2011, 12:08:28 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 05, 2011, 11:46:53 PM
adjust it to  GAA members would be better. we also hurl. Armagh dont have a wild lot more Ulster titles to Antrim and again we wont talk hurling
Well done. Have a biscuit.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 06, 2011, 12:24:37 AM
A biscuit?? aye i'll have a biscuit!!
Post by: spuds on February 06, 2011, 10:04:55 AM
A totally uninformed and ignorant comment about Leitrim, if other counties had the passion and drive of Leitrim GAA people the organisation would be the better for it. The comment is a cheap shot at a proud county which will always struggle with a below the critical mass population. If Antrim had anywhere near the participation rate of Leitrim they would be thriving.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 06, 2011, 10:09:00 AM
Why use Leitrim? Fermanagh don't have any provincial titles. They must take their football even less seriously than Leitrim!

And do Antrim's titles show that they haven't taken football seriously since the 50s?
Post by: ross4life on February 06, 2011, 11:20:28 AM
Quote from: spuds on February 06, 2011, 10:04:55 AM
A totally uninformed and ignorant comment about Leitrim, if other counties had the passion and drive of Leitrim GAA people the organisation would be the better for it. The comment is a cheap shot at a proud county which will always struggle with a below the critical mass population. If Antrim had anywhere near the participation rate of Leitrim they would be thriving.

Excellent post even the late great Philly McGuinness would give it the stamp of approval.
Post by: GAA_Punter on February 06, 2011, 01:47:01 PM
London 0-03 0-00 Kilkenny, Ruislip, 1.30pm
http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/2011/02/06/sunday-gaa-live-score-updates-results-06-02-11/
Post by: John Martin on February 06, 2011, 02:09:39 PM
Halftime
London 0-13
Kilkenny0-00
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on February 06, 2011, 02:24:07 PM
13 down at half time against London...this does not bode well for the rest of Kilkenny's league games.
Post by: John Martin on February 06, 2011, 03:06:57 PM
Full time
London 0-16
Kilkenny 0-02
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 06, 2011, 04:33:17 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 06, 2011, 10:09:00 AM
Why use Leitrim? Fermanagh don't have any provincial titles. They must take their football even less seriously than Leitrim!

And do Antrim's titles show that they haven't taken football seriously since the 50s?

Monaghan haven't don't much recently in football. as for hurling.....

My point being, people can come on and give off about Kilkenny's lack of respect for football, when other counties, too many to mention here do feck all for hurling.

I'll name them if you like but would only have the usually suspects yapping
Post by: Galwaybhoy on February 06, 2011, 04:50:46 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 06, 2011, 04:33:17 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 06, 2011, 10:09:00 AM

Monaghan haven't don't much recently in football. as for hurling.....

My point being, people can come on and give off about Kilkenny's lack of respect for football, when other counties, too many to mention here do feck all for hurling.

I'll name them if you like but would only have the usually suspects yapping

I'd completely agree with that.  Have said that myself, great point.

However your cheap shot at Leitrim was wrong.  Also Monaghan have been in a couple of Ulster finals over the last few years and are a division 1 side in football where as Antrim have been regularly the worst team in Ulster (that may have changed over the last few years) and have done nothing in hurling.  Again your above point about counties paying lip service to hurling stands but before you start rubbishing a county like Leitrim  maybe you should look closer to home.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 06, 2011, 05:34:38 PM

No cheap shots and Leitrim. I could have mentioned their scoreless 59 minutes against Mayo a few weeks ago but didn't ;)
Post by: AidyMac on February 06, 2011, 06:21:47 PM
any ideas of the london scorers?
Post by: mannix on February 06, 2011, 07:09:33 PM
Whatever you say 2 points scored in a game  is embarrassing, I would like to see what training they do because they are very unfit or just plain poor footballers. This is not a one off score, they will get walloped all league long.time to pull them out or train to play because they are an embarrassment to the game. 
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 06, 2011, 07:13:30 PM
Quote from: John Martin on February 06, 2011, 03:06:57 PM
Full time
London 0-16
Kilkenny 0-02

At least Kilkenny got a bonus point for me in the spreads! ;D
Post by: ross4life on February 06, 2011, 07:17:23 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 06, 2011, 05:34:38 PM

No cheap shots and Leitrim. I could have mentioned their scoreless 59 minutes against Mayo a few weeks ago but didn't ;)

Or you could have mentioned these

Antrim's last game with leitrim http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/7931635.stm

Antrim's last game with Kilkenny http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/7877383.stm

Maybe you'll come to senses & admit the Kilkenny/Leitrim football comparsion is a poor one.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 06, 2011, 07:26:20 PM
Antrim did manage to beat kilkenny two/three years ago, in hurling. Leitrim was used because they haven't competed at county level or even club level and don't seem to be getting any better. I'm not telling you something we don't already know.
Post by: ross4life on February 06, 2011, 08:20:47 PM

Fair enough about leitrim & hurling but didn't you say both codes in leitrim?? they have competed in Football it's not their fault there are fighting a strong tide

Kilkenny get these hammerings in football because of the little effort they put in.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 06, 2011, 09:28:29 PM
I agree. my original post said the same. more effort less hammerings. Most county boards don't bother with hurling. If they gave a shit then they could make a difference, slowly mind you. As long as it stops the slide.
Post by: Qwerty28 on February 08, 2011, 09:39:47 PM
Scoring difference may decide this division, which after week one looks like being tight, so having Kilkenny is a waste of time and is hardly even shooting practice for teams at this stage
Post by: ross4life on February 20, 2011, 09:52:53 PM
Fair play to Kilkenny, many give off about the effort they put into Football, no different than Letrim to both codes

Quote from: gallsman on February 05, 2011, 11:49:57 AM
MR, that Leitrim comment was fantastic.

Kilkenny 0-0 Leitrim 3-18  hmm...........
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 20, 2011, 10:08:54 PM
I think the Kilkenny hurlers would put up a better score today, better playing (albeit shit) than not
Post by: ross4life on February 20, 2011, 10:13:31 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 20, 2011, 10:08:54 PM
I think the Kilkenny hurlers would put up a better score today, better playing (albeit shit) than not

Who's talking about the hurlers? sure you thought leitrim footballers put in the same effort as kilkenny footballers!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 20, 2011, 11:04:54 PM
Ross i post what i want. if i think Leitrim are rubbish at both codes i can. If you want to defend them by posting todays scoreline thinking that means something then knock yourself out.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 21, 2011, 12:57:21 AM
Leitrim are a proud county who, like Longford, have suffered from low population , emigration and so on. I remember in Mels in Longford in the 70s/80s some great footballers that had the right mix of skill and ignorance - some of whom won a medal in 1994 (or was it 5).

Croke Park for Leitrim v Dublin in 1994 (or was it 5) was magical. I sat in front of the Leitrim priest who was president of the college above I was in 10 years earlier who lost the rag at half time with random punter and it was touch and go whether there would be a schmozzle.

While we love an auld match agin Laytrum and love to win the odd time I would never diss them.

Kilkenny county board should be fined and fined heavily for putting out such awful footballers. No other county in Ireland has such an abject senior county team. Feck sake. I am sure if you stuck me, Boots, Hardy and Laureleye up front we'd get a feckin point at least. If Longford can win silverware in hurling (I know, fourth level stuff) then FFS Kilkenny can score a fukkin point in football.

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 21, 2011, 01:34:11 PM
I'd go a step further than that. I'd ban the hurlers from the corresponding competitions that their footballers refuse to participate in or refuse to treat seriously, i.e. Leinster and the National League. I think we'd see a dramatic turnaround in their football fortunes then. I can accept that Kilkenny is unique in that there is no real football area and that there is no real support for the big ball. However I can't accept that 25 young fellas who aren't good enough to make the hurling team can't be rounded up with a decent management team to at least give a decent account of themselves against the likes of London. Utterly shameful.
Post by: Kerry Mike on February 21, 2011, 01:48:40 PM
I suggested years ago there should be a twinning between the KY's , we'd send them our B footballers  and the Cats would give us a few of their excess hurlers.

At least the Kerry county board are making an effort with a very limited hurling base available in a football dominated county, but we have a long way to go to even compete in the Munster Championship.
Post by: irunthev on February 21, 2011, 02:17:48 PM
Kilkenny are a strange set-up with football. Having been involved with London for years and years, I have had closer contact with them that most but there have been times when they have made a genuine effort and quite obviously so, and on those occasions, they have appeared at games both home and away, well-drilled and well-kitted out. Then there are years when they have quite literally been driving around Kilkenny town asking lads if they wanted a game. 2011 appears to be such a year. Three years ago they beat London in the National League and scored something like 2-13 in the one game and in 2003 they actually hammered us in Kilkenny in a pre-Championship friendly. Also back in the mid-1990s they had a win and a draw against us, so when they want to, they can at least be respectable, but at present it would appear that they aren't interested. But the apathy towards football in Kilkenny, throughout the county is incredible. To have registered just four scores in three league games is a disgrace. Even with London, when we were at our very, very worst and I am talking about games like when we played Westmeath in 1998 and the manager had to play because we only had fourteen players, we made a better hand of it than that.
Post by: Qwerty28 on February 21, 2011, 03:18:54 PM
That result is a disgrace and makes an absolute mockery of Division 4. Teams spending huge amounts of money on preparation etc never mind training and then matches like this come along. KK county board should be fined, cant blame the players really, presume they at least tried but if theres no organisation or support then whats the point?