GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: oneillcup2007 on November 15, 2006, 05:25:48 PM

Title: Mistakes that cost games:
Post by: oneillcup2007 on November 15, 2006, 05:25:48 PM
Whilst not essentially a refereeing thread, this thread refers to single mistakes that cost games.  Refereiing examples include Paddy Russell all Ireland final 1995 and the recent Errigal ciaran V Enniskillen referee.  I could also include in that Joe Kernan V Mc Geeney in 2005 all Ireland semi final.  What I dont want is a series of non accurate blame games started bjust genuinely made mistakes that cost games week by week and its not intended as an abusive thread.
GAme by game if there was a mistake made.
Who made it?
Title: Re: Mistakes that cost games:
Post by: hows she cutting on November 15, 2006, 05:28:37 PM
don't think mistake on Sunday by Mr Walsh cost Enniskillen the game

Probably more to do with their decision to have 2 half forwards mark one half back.
Post by: reddgnhand on November 15, 2006, 06:14:33 PM
Down keeper Pat Donnan stepping back over the line in the 1986 Ulster Final. That goal won it for Tyrone that day.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 15, 2006, 06:19:02 PM
Derek Savage not passing to an unmarked Padraig Joyce charging through the middle of the Kerry defence in the dying moments of the drawn 2000 All-Ireland final. Instead he went for the point and dropped it into the keepers hands (if I remember correctly). There was literally dozens of people around me up screaming at him to pass the ball. Game finished level and we lost the replay. Sickener.
Post by: passedit on November 15, 2006, 06:25:50 PM
QuoteKerry defence in the dying moments of the drawn 2000 All-Ireland final

If I recall right Kerry got out of Jail similarly in the drawn semi when all Bumpy O Hagan (or was it Andy Mc Cann?) had to do was kick it dead, didn't and up the field they went for M Fitz to equalise. Or is my anti kerry paranoia playing tricks on me again.
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 15, 2006, 06:26:46 PM
Sending off McHale and Coyle on that infamous day back in 96. What did McHale actually do?
Post by: Over the Bar on November 15, 2006, 06:31:50 PM
The entire Kerry midfield & forward line contracting vertigo in the 2nd half of the AIF 2002!   :D
Post by: the green man on November 15, 2006, 06:45:45 PM
John Bannon blowing a free against Henry Downey for a text book shoulder '99. Armagh scored the free won by a point, thus starting their dominance of Ulster championships. The blanket defence could have been killed forever if he hadn't give it.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on November 15, 2006, 06:49:59 PM
Ah jaysus GalwayBB, I've been trying to get forget about that Savage/Joyce incident for the past 6 years.  At least they made up for it in 2001  :)
Post by: ONeill on November 15, 2006, 10:03:55 PM
Armagh v Galway 2001 (?) Whose pass was blocked down which ended up with Galway knocking over the winner?

Thornton v Armagh 2002. Clean through, game level. Wide. Tierney pats belly.
Post by: Pangurban on November 15, 2006, 10:07:16 PM
Paddy Russels decision in the 1995 final was the correct one
Pat Donnan definitely carried the ball over the line in the 86 ulster final, much as it pains me to say it. I was standing in direct line with the posts, and said it was a goal even before the umpire flagged it.
Post by: Cuchullainns Bhoy on November 15, 2006, 10:09:01 PM
Mc Entee i think ???, John. Piss on it if im wrong but if i can think back it was worked out through Enda Mc Nulty to Andrew Mc Cann and then to Mc Entee, although in 2001 i was 13.
Post by: belleaqua on November 15, 2006, 10:37:47 PM
O stop, dont mention the Joyce/Savage incident in 2000, was in the Uncles place sunday night an he has a load of these galway matches taped. he was watchin that game again and i saw the end of it. the worst of the whole lot was that Joyce was through for a goal even, now im sure he'd have fisted over the bar but....o stop il have nightmares tonight!!

Then again we wouldnt have won in 2001 if we won that!!
Post by: Duine Eile on November 15, 2006, 10:48:20 PM
Remember that day well GBB, Padraic running in fron of the goal, arms out stretched waiting for the pass, not a one near him and Savo made a complete hames of it! Took a long time to forgive Savo for that one!We made up for it the following year but it would have been nice to beat Kerry in a major final, something this group of players haven't done I think?

On the club scene, Gerry Kinneavy awarding Caltra a 45 to tie up the county semi final when it wasn't a 45 at all but a wide, playing 7 minutes of injury time after announcing 3, (there weren't enough stoppages to justify 4 extra mins!) and blowing up the game just as Tommy Joyce was taking aim at the posts!  >:( It's going to take a long time to get over this one lads, excuse the rant!
Title: Re: Duine Eile
Post by: belleaqua on November 15, 2006, 11:18:28 PM
Ah Duine Eile come off it!! Tommy Joyce's effort nearly hit me after he kicked it and il tell ya i was a long way away from the posts!! Didnt matter a bit though cos only one team was goin to win galway this year but i see your point(excuse the pun!!)

Would have been nice to beat Kerry alright, and though i said earlier that we wouldnt have won 2001 if we bet them that year iv no doubts we'd have won it in 2003, attitude caught us out that year!!
Post by: Mac hinery on November 15, 2006, 11:39:30 PM
Pat McEneaney 1997 Ulster final missed a double bounce of the ball before larryReilly Cavan scored a point and his umpires flagged a point that was clearly wide, evidence provided by video still after the game.  The game finished in a 1 point win and Cavan took an Ulster title before being hammered in the All Ireland semi by Kerry.
Post by: Bogball XV on November 15, 2006, 11:45:02 PM
Quote from: the green man on November 15, 2006, 06:45:45 PM
John Bannon blowing a free against Henry Downey for a text book shoulder '99. Armagh scored the free won by a point, thus starting their dominance of Ulster championships. The blanket defence could have been killed forever if he hadn't give it.
Even worse, in the same game Tohill got the ball on the Armagh 14 deep into injury time, 12 Armagh defenders (well they did employ blanket defence at the time) jumped on him and dragged him down, what happened, don't remember rightly, but I think it was a free out for overcarrying.  So set in motion a long love affair between Derry and the excellent Mr. Bannon (although he may have officiated at the debacle that was the '98 semi v Galway too).
Post by: Bogball XV on November 15, 2006, 11:47:28 PM
Or the ref in Derry v Cork minor semi in 2000, Cork midfielder got 2 yellows and stayed on for the duration, game continued, Cork sneaked through by 1 pt and won the All Ireland.  Croke Park suggested Cork offer a replay, the true gael Mr Frank Murphy decided against such a magmanimous gesture.
Post by: Gnevin on November 15, 2006, 11:56:47 PM
Dublin V Kilkenny U21 final this year would of been interesting to see  what would of happened if the dub wasn't sent off
Post by: belleaqua on November 16, 2006, 12:03:47 AM
Does anyone recall Tony Davis' sending off for Cork against Derry in 1993? been a while since I have seen it but from what I remember it was very harsh, especially with the conditions that day.
Post by: Duine Eile on November 16, 2006, 12:14:02 AM
belleaqua you're obviously not a Killererin man/woman or you'd know that crucially that Kinneavy ( >:() blew the whistle seconds before the Bomb kicked it. Wouldn't be so sure about Corofin definitely beating Killererin in the final if we had gotten through, Caltra were very flat that day, Mike Meehan had a mare and nothing went right for them on the day. Corofin were the better team on the day, I'm not doubting that, but I wouldn't say for sure that they would have beaten us! Or maybe I'm just being a bit too parochial. :)

welcome aboard by the way belleaqua, nice to see another Galway poster, there's a fine herd of us gathering these days!
Post by: J70 on November 16, 2006, 02:35:14 AM
Don't have any sources at hand to check the details, but they still talk in Donegal about a league semi-final in the late 60s (against Longford, I think) where Donegal were awarded a penalty, the wind blew the ball off the spot, and the referee awarded a free-out! I think it cost Donegal the game.

Gary Walsh was adjudged (harshly, in my view ;)) to have stepped over the line in an Ulster Championship game against Down in '96. I think we lost by a point!

I think it was Paddy Campbell who let a long hopeful ball drop between his legs in Brewster Park in 2001, when Donegal were 2 points ahead in the last minute against Fermanagh in an Ulster first round replay. The ball dribbled through to a Fermanagh forward about six yards out (O'Donnell?) and he made no mistake, scoring the goal. We hammered them two weeks later in the qualifiers, but it just wasn't the same.

Going back a while again, but a lot of Donegal men maintain that the free that brought Tyrone an injury time equalizer in the 1989 Ulster Final was a dive, bought by the referee! The 12 point replay hammering should never have had the opportunity to come to pass! ;)
Post by: myball22 on November 16, 2006, 07:46:22 AM
the referee that gave a free against Finian Hanly in this year's Connacht Final. A 50-50 ball is ever there was one!
Post by: Barney on November 16, 2006, 08:05:18 AM
50/50 my arse. Watch the video again Hanley was pulling and draggin' Billie Joe. Get over it. Remember Donnellan got an extremely soft free after that and blew it.

Anyway when it comes to Mayo football and mistakes on the field and on the sideline where the hell do you begin.

However one sickener was the 2001 Connacht Final. McCormack the ref from Meath sent off Ray Connelley in the wrong. Pat Holmes decided to play the rest of the game with a two man full back line and Ros score a late goal to win.

What about John Maughan getting everyone to defend a 6 point lead in 1996.

Good to see John Bannon get plenty of mentions a disaster of a ref.

And when talking about bad refs there has to be a Kinneavey story.
Post by: North Longford on November 16, 2006, 09:21:43 AM
David Barden did a very good impression of Derek Savage 3 times against Dublin this year with men free inside him. Only difference is Barden went for goals each time .......and missed. If he even had to fist the ball over the bar we'd have won.
There was an old boy in the stand beside me that day and his reaction was priceless every time it happened...........by the 3rd time I was glad there was a fence around the pitch!!!
Post by: downredblack on November 16, 2006, 09:33:31 AM
Ref sending off Greg McCartan for throwing the ball at that get McGuigan after he tripped big Greg . Ultimately cost us an Ulster title and by the way there was quare diving that day as well . I'd love to know how many times wee Peter went down in that game . Then Greg was suspended for the backdoor game against Donegal just for good measure . Fast forward a few years and lads can get away with near killing each other .
Post by: blanketattack on November 16, 2006, 09:50:03 AM
Quite a few last minute frees missed I presume e.g.
Cosgrove v Armagh in '02
Donnellan v Mayo in '06

Referee sending off Donaghy v Cork in '06 Munster Final. It cost Kerry a Munster Final, it cost Armagh an All-Ireland!
Post by: dubnut on November 16, 2006, 09:56:49 AM
This thread is paving the way for the biggest ever whingefest!

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on November 16, 2006, 10:14:03 AM
QuoteQuite a few last minute frees missed I presume
Nothing to add here  :-[
Post by: lurganblue on November 16, 2006, 10:32:24 AM
QuoteDon't have any sources at hand to check the details, but they still talk in Donegal about a league semi-final in the late 60s (against Longford, I think) where Donegal were awarded a penalty, the wind blew the ball off the spot, and the referee awarded a free-out! I think it cost Donegal the game.

brilliant  ;D
Post by: winghalfun on November 16, 2006, 10:50:00 AM
QuoteSending off McHale and Coyle on that infamous day back in 96. What did McHale actually do?

I see Pat McEneany was on Season Ticket last night and they showed a clip of this incident. I was in the pub at the time and didn't hear what he had to say about it.
Anyone, anyone?

Post by: Donagh on November 16, 2006, 10:52:00 AM
Marsden being sent off in the 03 football final.
Post by: Erne Man1 on November 16, 2006, 11:30:55 AM
June 1997 - Cavan v Fermanagh in the 1st round.
Two mistakes in this game:
1st minute of injury time Fermanagh a point up. McBarron on the 21 with Raymie Gallagher inside him. Raymie had scored 1-7 at this stage so Liam decides to have a shot himself. Hits the post and back into play.
2nd mistake is ever giving that p***k Jim Curran a whistle. He decides to add on 6minutes of injury time to allow Cavan an equaliser.
Match finishes level, Cavan win the replay and go on to win a very handy Ulster title.
Post by: magpie seanie on November 16, 2006, 11:50:00 AM
Donagh - I agree entirely. it was a big mistake by Marsden to get himself sent off.

As for Sligo - this year O'Hara being sent off v. Westmeath + giving Westmeath a point for a ball 5 foot wide cost us the game.

The referee's timekeeping in the '97 Connacht Final cost us at least a replay in my view.
Post by: Spiritof98 on November 16, 2006, 12:13:01 PM
Quote from: Cuchullainns Bhoy on November 15, 2006, 10:09:01 PM
Mc Entee i think ???, John. Piss on it if im wrong but if i can think back it was worked out through Enda Mc Nulty to Andrew Mc Cann and then to Mc Entee, although in 2001 i was 13.

Cuhullianns bhoy, it was actually Justin McNulty, I still remember it, we were 7 points down and clawed our way back to level, all over them and McNulty tries to fist a ball over Clancy's head and he intercepted and dispensed over the bar. Come to think of it was his brother at this carry on against Kerry.
Post by: Over the Bar on November 16, 2006, 01:45:44 PM
McEntee passing the ball to Dooher with a couple of minutes to go in the 2005 AI semi-final. 
God made him pay dearly for that mistake! :)
Post by: Hardy on November 16, 2006, 02:00:35 PM
Isn' it funny how mistakes in the first 65 minutes that lead to scores never seem to cost games. Still those scores are there on the scoreboard too, along with the 'real' scores from the last five minutes.
Post by: AbbeySider on November 16, 2006, 02:14:29 PM
QuoteSending off McHale and Coyle on that infamous day back in 96. What did McHale actually do?

I nearly broke down after reading the above line.
It all came flooding back...

I remember watching a documentary about Pat McAnaney's referring career after '96. It showed the video of the famous fight when McHale was sent off. McAnaney's argument was that McHale ran from midfield to join in the fight so he conferred with his umpires and sidline and chose McHale in the spur of the moment; just because he ran from midfield.

But I remember watching the game from the lower tier of the Cusack stand. The only player in his own half was John Madden, which meant that all the Meath backs had ran the whole length of the field to join in.... and McHale was fairly close to the fracas and was one of the last to join in.

But of course McAnaney had to pick our most influential player to send off.

As long as I live ill never forgive him. It cost us the All-Ireland
Title: Hardy
Post by: easytiger on November 16, 2006, 02:19:18 PM
Good point Hardy - I'm thinking of Jason Sherlock missing a sitter in the opening minutes of the 2001 Leinster Final, followed swiftly by Davey Byrne losing a high ball in the sun for Meath's goal - end result, Dublin wind up chasing a goal in the second half and instead of taking their points, end up losing by three.
Post by: Rossi on November 16, 2006, 02:56:54 PM
Downredandblack, you right about the diving,didn't we peter do it to perfection that day in the square and the ref bought it.The subsequent penatly was duly dispatched and Tyrone's fightback had truly begun.

Mark Ward (Meath) letting the ball slip through his hands in the last minute of the Div 2 2005 final, giving Monaghan the goal they needed to win.
Post by: mayo51 on November 16, 2006, 03:10:59 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on November 16, 2006, 02:14:29 PM
QuoteSending off McHale and Coyle on that infamous day back in 96. What did McHale actually do?                                                                                                                                                                                                                  yeah bad meomries of that game. mcananey was going to send off john mcdermott along with mchale but when he conferred with his umpires one of them said that colm coyle had to go as he was after striking 3 mayoplayers so mcanany changed his mind.it brought a smile to my face to see boylan condemming aussie thuggery last week when some of the actions of his own players were much worse back then.
Post by: Uladh on November 16, 2006, 03:24:33 PM
Quote from: Spiritof98 on November 16, 2006, 12:13:01 PM
Quote from: Cuchullainns Bhoy on November 15, 2006, 10:09:01 PM

Cuhullianns bhoy, it was actually Justin McNulty, I still remember it, we were 7 points down and clawed our way back to level, all over them and McNulty tries to fist a ball over Clancy's head and he intercepted and dispensed over the bar. Come to think of it was his brother at this carry on against Kerry.

twas a kick blocked down by donnellen just as he crossed the 50. donnellen recovered the ball, as with all good blocks, drove down the right, cut inside to feed clancy, who put armagh to the sword.
Post by: blanketattack on November 16, 2006, 03:27:14 PM
Penalty misses that have cost team's games???
Charlie Redmond
Trevor Giles
Jack O'Shea
Cork's 2 penalty misses v Kerry in '92
Post by: Uladh on November 16, 2006, 04:50:43 PM

Bill McCorry
Post by: hows she cutting on November 16, 2006, 05:12:51 PM
Arthur starting his son for his championship debut.

Cathal O'Rourke in the starting 15

Plunkett Donaghy dropping ball against Derry in National League Final

Mickey Moran not watching videos of any of Kerrys games in the run up to AIF

Mc Hale getting sent off in 96 AIF (why was he picked out)

Post by: Hardy on November 16, 2006, 05:45:24 PM
Quote from: mayo51 on November 16, 2006, 03:10:59 PMyeah bad meomries of that game. mcananey was going to send off john mcdermott along with mchale but when he conferred with his umpires one of them said that colm coyle had to go as he was after striking 3 mayoplayers so mcanany changed his mind.it brought a smile to my face to see boylan condemming aussie thuggery last week when some of the actions of his own players were much worse back then.
Arrah for jaysus sake who started the fight that day? You can't have it both ways - start the thing and then complain when you lose it that it's the other team's fault. If your forwards had kept their fists under control when Darren Fay was coming out with the ball there would have been no fight, no McHale sending off and, of course, Mayo would have won, as the Lord intended. Just as he intended in 89, 97, 04, 06. There's always someone else to blame.
Post by: lawnseed 2 on November 16, 2006, 05:52:46 PM
yep justin mc nultys blocked kick springs to mind although he redeemed himself when he rose high in the dying minutes of the 2002 aif and caught a long probing pass on route to a kerry forward. somebody should pass this information on to joe brolly who keeps blaming enda mc nulty. kernans substitution of geezer is unforgiveable against tyrone he gifted them an all-ireland :'(
Post by: SandyHill on November 16, 2006, 06:16:15 PM
 kernans substitution of geezer is unforgiveable against tyrone

One of the daftest decisions I've ever seen! Did anyone ever hear of the real reason why Joe did it?
Post by: belleaqua on November 16, 2006, 06:35:32 PM
just a neutral view on the mcgeeney substitution - Sean Cavanagh was running through that defence all day like he was up against an u12 team. one of the main jobs of a centre back is at all times to hold the middle and stop the defence being split open.

I know he's a legend but he was actually goin bad that day.

In fairness ya cant lay all the blame at mcgeeneys door i know, moving him would have been the best option cos i reckon it was a huge lift for tyrone to see a man of his quality go off and a terrible psychological blow to the armagh lads at a crucial time.

He's bounced back well though, loved the way he pinned the Aussie in Croker like they always do to our lads!! tough hoor!
Title: Pure nonsense
Post by: Uladh on November 16, 2006, 06:53:54 PM

the only time cavanagh got down the middle was after mcgeeney went off and ak (?) was playing 6.

like everything he posts about armagh, 5times' recall is confusing facts with what he wishes happened
Post by: Uladh on November 16, 2006, 09:48:43 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on November 16, 2006, 06:57:21 PM
I must be confused. I though Tyrone won that day and went on to win their second All-Ireland title. Maybe you saw it differently.

Yes, and is that supposed to be some sort of verification of the dream you were questioned about from your previous post?

Sean Cavanagh went passed Geezer that day late on in the game around the middle of the field. The look on both their faces told the story. Geezer knew he was finished, his legs had gone.

still, no he didn't...
Post by: Uladh on November 17, 2006, 10:33:48 AM

And i've just told you it's nonsense. this new fangled video thing is a great yoke.
Post by: full back on November 17, 2006, 11:03:10 AM
Quote from: lawnseed 2 on November 16, 2006, 05:52:46 PM
yep justin mc nultys blocked kick springs to mind although he redeemed himself when he rose high in the dying minutes of the 2002 aif and caught a long probing pass on route to a kerry forward. somebody should pass this information on to joe brolly who keeps blaming enda mc nulty. kernans substitution of geezer is unforgiveable against tyrone he gifted them an all-ireland :'(

Was it not Enda that stopped the long ball which was on its way to Gooch late in the AIF?
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 17, 2006, 11:08:43 AM
Quote from: Hardy on November 16, 2006, 02:00:35 PM
Isn' it funny how mistakes in the first 65 minutes that lead to scores never seem to cost games. Still those scores are there on the scoreboard too, along with the 'real' scores from the last five minutes.

Spot on Hardy - last years Armagh v Tyrone semi-final is getting mentioned quite a lot here. Armagh players and management were guilty of some bad mistakes that led to Tyrone's last two points.

Yet I know a fella that knows Stevie, and he told me Stevie was haunted by a straightforward chance that he blazed wide, from in front of the nets (going for a point), midway through the second half. Stevie cut in froim the left, on to his right foot, and a simple tap over was there for the taking! I remember it well!   :-[

By the way - just to point out - I'm not blaming Stevie - just highlighting the fact that the final score is an accumulation of many mistakes over seventy minutes!  ;) 
Post by: passedit on November 17, 2006, 12:08:52 PM
rufus you might want to add that Stevie had the batin of Kerry in the first half this year. Had he accepted the chances on offer, there was no way back for Kerry.

Still with the 65 min theory, there's always time to recover from a howler early in the game if you're good enough,thats why mistakes in the last five are more likely to 'cost' games.

for consequences and avoidability it is hard to go past the Mayo keeper letting the ball hop in 96, sure they still haven't got over it
Post by: believebelive on November 17, 2006, 12:21:35 PM
That sort of lazy analysis annoys the hell out of me. Its like when somebody says that games are only won in the last ten minutes. What shite, some games are won in the first 15 minutes if you go far ahead.
It always makes me laugh that a forward who does not touch leather for 40 minutes and is hauled off escapes any blame where a player who has won plenty of ball and scored a point or two but misses one in the last minute can be vilified
Post by: J70 on November 17, 2006, 01:19:43 PM
Refereeing mistake:

2003 All Ireland semi final - the referee's inexplicable failure to send off John McEntee for his forearm smash on Barry Monaghan with less than ten minutes to go, the game on a knife edge and the ref standing a couple of feet away. McEntee contributed to Armagh's two injury-time scores that won the game. In the same match, Ray Sweeney was sent off early in the second half, while Kieran McGeeney stayed on despite persistant fouling.
Post by: illdecide on November 17, 2006, 01:55:31 PM
Clann na Geal v Cross this years county final; Bumpy does it again, he gets booked for slabbering and then another yella for trying to stop a 3rd man tackle. Now i'm not saying we would have beat Cross with Bumpy on the field but we def would have run them to the wire! :'(
Post by: full back on November 17, 2006, 02:13:08 PM
'Run them to the wire' I doubt it very much.Cross would have won no doubt even if Bumpy had stayed on
Post by: muppet on November 17, 2006, 07:32:57 PM
QuoteIf your forwards had kept their fists under control when Darren Fay was coming out with the ball there would have been no fight, no McHale sending off and, of course, Mayo would have won, as the Lord intended. Just as he intended in 89, 97, 04, 06. There's always someone else to blame

I don't see a single post blaming anyone for 89,97,04 or 06. As for your initial argument it's about as intelligent as saying if they had stayed in bed that day it wouldn't have happened. Terrible how Meath are always are always (http://www.buy4now.ie/Eason/images/cropped/p1841316318.jpg)
Post by: Dubh driocht on November 17, 2006, 10:20:51 PM
You might be a good man for the videos but you know nothing about Gaelic football.Bill Mc Corry didn't make a mistake - he tried his best and was unlucky.He had the balls to take the penalty and any player will tell you that you don't blame a man when he gives his all. I've lost an AI final in similar circumstances and it's a team thing.
A mistake is what that useless ignoramus of an Ulster President made in 1986. Pangurban is talking shite-the balll wasn't nearly over the line-I have that from the Horse's mouth.And as for 2003 UF....
Post by: ONeill on November 18, 2006, 12:03:11 AM
I watched that Armagh/Tyrone semi from the best vantage point in Croker. Three times in the opening 7 minutes Cavanagh made an eejit out of McGeeney. The first was at the throw in. Cavanagh caught it, ran at Geezer, flicked it over his head and was fouled. Then he forced Geezer into a rash challenge which set up Mellon's goal chance. The definitive moment was around 7 mins. Gormley fed Cavangh from a free. Sean looked up, saw Geezer, side-stepped him with ultimate ease leaving Geezer grasping at thin air, and stuck it over the bar from distance. And that as before the game really got started!

To be fair to Geezer, he scored a monstrous point late in injury time in the first half that took the wind out of Tyrone's sails. In the second half, after Ricey's point, Sean fielded the ball, took the return and ghosted past a disconsolate McGeeney, who uncharacteristically declined to even make contact. O'Neill stuck it over. Geezers next play was to foul Sean for another free on the 14.  It was then that Kernan decided to make the only call he could.

Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 18, 2006, 12:39:19 AM
Quote from: J70 on November 17, 2006, 01:19:43 PM
Refereeing mistake:

2003 All Ireland semi final - the referee's inexplicable failure to send off John McEntee for his forearm smash on Barry Monaghan with less than ten minutes to go, the game on a knife edge and the ref standing a couple of feet away. McEntee contributed to Armagh's two injury-time scores that won the game. In the same match, Ray Sweeney was sent off early in the second half, while Kieran McGeeney stayed on despite persistant fouling.

Don't worry J70 - the persistant fouling was well highlighted in the post match analysis, to the extent that at the handshake in Armagh's next match, the first words by Brian to Geezer were, "You watch the fouling'. It seemed to play on Brian's mind in the first half of that game!  >:(
Post by: J70 on November 18, 2006, 12:51:23 AM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on November 18, 2006, 12:39:19 AM
Refereeing mistake:

Don't worry J70 - the persistant fouling was well highlighted in the post match analysis, to the extent that at the handshake in Armagh's next match, the first words by Brian to Geezer were, "You watch the fouling'. It seemed to play on Brian's mind in the first half of that game!  >:(

You have me at a bit of a loss here: I don't remember the details of Brian McGuigan's performance against McGeeney in the final!

Or are we talking about some other "Brian"?  Did Brian White ref the final? ???
Post by: Uladh on November 18, 2006, 11:05:30 AM
Quote from: ONeill on November 18, 2006, 12:03:11 AM
I watched that Armagh/Tyrone semi from the best vantage point in Croker. Three times in the opening 7 minutes Cavanagh made an eejit out of McGeeney. The first was at the throw in. Cavanagh caught it, ran at Geezer, flicked it over his head and was fouled. Then he forced Geezer into a rash challenge which set up Mellon's goal chance. The definitive moment was around 7 mins. Gormley fed Cavangh from a free. Sean looked up, saw Geezer, side-stepped him with ultimate ease leaving Geezer grasping at thin air, and stuck it over the bar from distance. And that as before the game really got started!

To be fair to Geezer, he scored a monstrous point late in injury time in the first half that took the wind out of Tyrone's sails. In the second half, after Ricey's point, Sean fielded the ball, took the return and ghosted past a disconsolate McGeeney, who uncharacteristically declined to even make contact. O'Neill stuck it over. Geezers next play was to foul Sean for another free on the 14. It was then that Kernan decided to make the only call he could.

Nice stories O'Neill, probably copied from hogan stand as usual. i'm not going to get into football specifics with someone who won't understand them but suffice to say there was only once while mcgeeeny was on the pitch that cavanagh was forced to go down the centre and mcgeeney actually fouled him outside shooting range. It's well known (amongst those who look for these things) that cavanagh breaks down the wings 9 times out of 10. if mcgeeney was actually the shadow of himself you claim, big sean should have had more balls and ran at him more often and tyrone could have won the game easily.

If you ask some of your more learned colleagues, thay will fill you in on the (not so) big secret that actually won the match for tyrone. they isolated a certain armagh wing back and mcginley & cavanagh poured down his wing from start to finish.

Cavanagh is extensively quoted from after the match saying that couldn't believe it when he saw mcgeeney being called off and he told himself this was his chance to attack. he also claimed that final 10 minutes after mcgeeney went off was his best in a tyrone jersey. coincidence?

Dubh driocht  - blanketattack asked about penalties missed, i simply mentioned one. having known the man personally, i don't for one minute believe that bill mccorry cost armagh that final any more than one mistake ever specifically cost any team any match. and yes, i have a video of the 53 final.
Post by: neilthemac on November 18, 2006, 11:29:20 AM
Fahy clearly picked the ball off the ground in front of his own goal in 1998, in Tuam, in the last minute of the Ros vs Galway Connacht Final... just as that bollox Seamus Prior had another bout of the famous 'temporary blindness' which seemed to inflict him so often

Post by: Uladh on November 18, 2006, 11:33:37 AM

Just on that.... who ever though it was a good idea to let seamus prior referee intercounty matches?

Jays it was bad enough to have inflicted him on the club footballlers of leitrim.

maybe it was for comedy value, considering he looks like a cast member from the muppets christmas carol?
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 18, 2006, 04:44:19 PM
Quote from: J70 on November 18, 2006, 12:51:23 AM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on November 18, 2006, 12:39:19 AM
Refereeing mistake:

You have me at a bit of a loss here: I don't remember the details of Brian McGuigan's performance against McGeeney in the final!

Or are we talking about some other "Brian"?  Did Brian White ref the final? ???

Never thought of Brian McGuigan - you're correct - I'm referring to Brain White!
Post by: ONeill on November 18, 2006, 08:00:24 PM
Starting to feel sorry for you, Uladh. Seriously. I'll not go down your path of insults (inferiority complex?), just to say I never stated McGeeney's substitution was a mistake. I was highlighting why he was substituted. Secondly your rather comical reason for Tyrone winning is too far off the mark. Armagh, for the first time in three matches, were definitely the better team. They had weathered Tyrone and were pulling away. They actually led by 2 with 6 mins left. Several individual errors cost Armagh in a period of five minutes.
Post by: Uladh on November 18, 2006, 09:47:27 PM

You make my argument for me by not disagreeing with anything i say.

"I was highlighting why he was substituted."

apart from those living on the continent of africa, there are very few people less likely to know the reason why mcgeeney was substituted, than you...
Post by: the green man on November 18, 2006, 10:02:47 PM
Mayobridge coming out for the 1st half v ballinderry
Post by: ONeill on November 18, 2006, 10:05:04 PM
No, I think we should stick to Uladh's theory. Tyrone won as McGinley 'poured' up and down the field, from start to finish....even though he was substituted at half time!
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 18, 2006, 10:12:45 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 18, 2006, 09:52:42 PM
Seriously, were you not loved as a child? Why feel inferior? OK, if I say you're not that dim, will you feel better?
So once again shane loses an argument and gets personal, he'll be correcting spelling next.  ::)
Post by: ONeill on November 18, 2006, 10:21:15 PM
Good man Pint. Checking in when the battle's o'er.......
Post by: Uladh on November 19, 2006, 09:42:48 AM
Quote from: ONeill on November 18, 2006, 10:21:15 PM
Good man Pint. Checking in when the battle's o'er.......

sure someone has to patch you up and dress your wounds in time for the nest all ireland ploughing contest thread...