Do you?
Option 1: Yes
votes: 15
Option 2: No
votes: 73
Plenty of people do it, judging by the decibel level
No one admits to doing it
Now's your chance to 'fess up
Could you change the reason for not doing it on the poll? I always wait to the end but it has nothing to do with 800 years of tyranny - it's just out of respect. I can wait a few seconds longer before I start roaring my head off for 70 minutes.
Quote from: charlie linkbox on February 21, 2007, 03:42:56 PM
Could you change the reason for not doing it on the poll? I always wait to the end but it has nothing to do with 800 years of tyranny - it's just out of respect. I can wait a few seconds longer before I start roaring my head off for 70 minutes.
Fair enough, I was being facetious, but for the sake of clarity . . .
I sing the anthem. it would be a bit on the mental side to sing it all then on the last line let a big 'yeeeeeaaaaaaaaagggggghhhhh'
outta me
I have just more respect for the National Anthem than that!
I would imagine most of the folk on this board are real GAA fans. Therefore I'd wager that there'll be an overwhelming vote for "no" as all the premature roaring and shouting is usually done by the bandwagon, beer swilling, straw hat brigade that every county has; people who have never heard of nor visited this site.
I always used to do it, it was something I grew up doing, I have wained from doing it this past few years but back in the day when Armagh played 1 or 2 championship a year ye were reved up like nothing ordinary and went buck mad near the end of the anthem.
Also were has the tradition of flag waving gone. I know its a nuisance for viewing games but always loved the look of it on TV.
I think it's very disrespectful to cheer before the end, always annoys me. I usually attend the home soccer games as well and it's always sang until the end at those. I always find it a bit embarrasing that respect is shown for it at soccer matches but not at GAA matches!
I do it. Its all part of the anticipation and the excitement of the occasion for me, and it seems to be tradition. Personally I get a real buzz when the roar goes up, with only seconds till throw in. I don't see anything wrong with it.
Let those who disrespect "Amhran na bhFiann" shut the f*ck up about "God save the Queen", please, otherwise you would come across like hypocrites and we can't have that here now can we??
I hate it when people sing before the end ,it's disrespectfull and anyone that does it is ignorant.The Anthem isn't played for our entertainment it's our identity as a nation.You don't hear Scottish fans doing it before the end of Flower of Scotland or Welsh fans before the end of Land of our Fathers,they sing their anthem with pride and passion till the end and not turn it into who can be heard the most before the end of it
I always wait to the end of the Anthem, before I cheer. For the same reasons as Charlie Linkbox, respect for the Anthem. However, it doesn't annoy me if others cheer. Has Paddy Heaney says, it's the way things are.
Quote from: cicfada on February 21, 2007, 09:36:13 PM
Let those who disrespect "Amhran na bhFiann" shut the f*ck up about "God save the Queen", please, otherwise you would come across like hypocrites and we can't have that here now can we??
Must have missed some thread here!
If you're talking about jeering "God Save the Queen", that's hardly the same thing as the traditional, albeit premature, cheer at the climax of Amhrain na bFhiann, now is it?
I think that people cheer (and when I say people, I mean in the main younger elements in the crowd, and probably older with a few jars in them) simply because the actual last two lines of Amhrán na bhFiann from a melody perspective lends itself to it.
Le guna screach fé lámhach na bpiléar (A big pause, tension mounting etc etc)
(Then with gusto)Seo libh canaídh Amhrán na bhFiann.
I personally have no problems with people cheering, I don't think those that do disrespect anyone or anything and to me the cheer always gives me a shiver as battle is about to commence. As for The Real Laoislads comment "I hate it when people sing before the end ,it's disrespectfull and anyone that does it is ignorant", cop yourself on FFS.
Quote from: sureyouwill on February 22, 2007, 07:58:25 AM
I think that people cheer (and when I say people, I mean in the main younger elements in the crowd, and probably older with a few jars in them) simply because the actual last two lines of Amhrán na bhFiann from a melody perspective lends itself to it.
Le guna screach fé lámhach na bpiléar (A big pause, tension mounting etc etc)
(Then with gusto)Seo libh canaídh Amhrán na bhFiann.
I personally have no problems with people cheering, I don't think those that do disrespect anyone or anything and to me the cheer always gives me a shiver as battle is about to commence. As for The Real Laoislads comment "I hate it when people sing before the end ,it's disrespectfull and anyone that does it is ignorant", cop yourself on FFS.
Typical from sureyouwill and very predictable but you come to expect it from him.
Anyways on your point that the Anthem lends itself to the atmosphere and builds up the crowd and tension near the end,you have a fair point here,don't agree however it's just the younger crowd who shout and sing before the end as many grown men who should know better also provide us with premature shouting.If these people want to sing and shout so much they should go out and learn the Anthem and sing it with pride like the Scots and Welsh and god forbid even the Americans and the English for that matter
As i've said in a previous thread i think the Ulster County fans are by far the best at respecting the Anthem
Ive alway done it and always will. It part of years of Great GAA tradition to do it . It what really sets the atmos fopr the match and reminds me of why its good to be living and breathing GAA supporter .
Its great to live in a free republic that you can do things like that and not be in mortal fear of your beloved Ruler / Monarch
I think it's wrong and very wrong at that.People died for that Free Republic your talking about ros at the very least people could remain silent till the end.As for it being a GAA tradition i don't agree.I remember being a good few matches where the announcer would actually tell fans to stay silent till the end
Quote from: rosnarun on February 22, 2007, 10:16:48 AM
Ive alway done it and always will. It part of years of Great GAA tradition to do it . It what really sets the atmos fopr the match and reminds me of why its good to be living and breathing GAA supporter .
Its great to live in a free republic that you can do things like that and not be in mortal fear of your beloved Ruler / Monarch
Do things like what?
Not sing the full Anthem of the 'Free Republic' that was fought for???
I stand to attention and sing the Anthem with pride, then cheer when the singings done, all this shite about cheering before the end being tradition is bollox, people cheer before the end of the singing of the anthem to be heard first, almost like a race, we'll show them that we'll be the first to cheer and loudest (these peoples attitude is fcuk the anthem - i want to be heard first!!!).
Sorry for the rant but the attitudes of "oh it's ok cause it's tradition" wind me up. I actually don't get to hung up on the cheering on matchdays as i'm to busy singing with pride and enjoying myself! ;)
Quote from: Romeo on February 22, 2007, 10:27:15 AM
Do things like what? Not sing the full Anthem of the 'Free Republic' that was fought for???
Exactly Romeo and Gaoth you hit the nail on the head.That is the ignorance i was talking about loud mouthed people just wanting to be heard first and not actually realising they are being disrespectfull
Spirit of 98, are you going back now? ;)
Cheering before the end or not giving respect to the anthem really annoys me. People have no respect for anything these days.
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 22, 2007, 10:39:10 AM
Quote from: Romeo on February 22, 2007, 10:27:15 AM
Do things like what? Not sing the full Anthem of the 'Free Republic' that was fought for???
Exactly Romeo and Gaoth you hit the nail on the head.That is the ignorance i was talking about loud mouthed people just wanting to be heard first and not actually realising they are being disrespectfull
A bit of counselling you need lad, first you create multiple personalities to chat to yourself, then you get blocked and delete one of a night, then you accuse me of guessing you password and "stealing" you're account, now you're about to have a nervous breakdown because when people go to football matches they actually enjoy themselves, some even go mad and get a bit noisy towards the end of the National Anthem, God forbid – chill pills lad, chill pills!
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 22, 2007, 10:43:08 AM
Cheering before the end or not giving respect to the anthem really annoys me. People have no respect for anything these days.
Agreed magpie
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 22, 2007, 10:43:08 AM
...where's me bus pass
:D :D
Granda
:D :D
"Its great to live in a free republic that you can do things like that and not be in mortal fear of your beloved Ruler / Monarch"
Anyone hazard a guess as to what this means ??
Quote...where's me bus pass
I feel like that a good bit alright Lynchbhoy.
I find that northern teams and supporters respect the anthem at matches moreso than the 26 county counterparts, in general. The Armagh/Tyrone 2003 final was a prime example of this.
I agree, like it or not, the Northerners had to fight for their right to be Irish citizens and therfore take greater pride in the Irish symbolism whilst the Southereners possibly dont place the same emphasis or pride on their national colours. To some its a weakness to others its a strength and to others it dosent matter one little bit.
You never know whether o'Neill is stirring or not but he is correct on this one. Before the Tyrone/Armagh All-Ireland final there was little or no cheering before the end of the anthem.
Yeah agreed the Notrhern counties do seem to respect it more,wish the rest would follow suit and respect their Anthem and not be so ignorant to it's meaning and what it represents
Many southerners see themselves as 21st century quazi european whose ethnic background wiould be half marbellan half d4. Will a national anthem not restrict these guys to being simply a paddy and not near pluralistic, tan nor metrosexual enough for them.
You're right RRHF and several years after re-unification some of you nordies will be the same.
Ill never be quite tan enough for some people seanie..
Ditto and thank God for that.
Turn your speakers right up!
How not to do it
http://youtube.com/watch?v=r8a6U2YOtlY
And How to
http://youtube.com/watch?v=jMX8D7bx-Ko&mode=related&search=
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 22, 2007, 01:55:57 PM
Yeah agreed the Notrhern counties do seem to respect it more,wish the rest would follow suit and respect their Anthem and not be so ignorant to it's meaning and what it represents
Suppose you play it before you go to bed at night laoislad after a decade of the rosary. You probably come rolling in half cut after a night out ,log on to post, delete your account and then blast Amhrán na bhFiann and all is right in your world again. I'd lay money you probably have it on your ipod, suppose it's like your own viagra, get's you to stand to attention every time.!!
A rugby alickadoo friend of mine who was at the French match, told me that a fella behind him said as the anthem started – "give it everything lads and lets show the GAA boys we can do it better than them". They did, in fairness.
I promise my couldn't-care-less attitude to anthems is not coloured by this, but the only time I ever was barred out of any place was over the anthem. It was the O'Rahillys GAA clubhouse in Drogheda (years ago). When the anthem was being played, one of our company was too drunk to stand up. When it was over, a fella came over, who was a local provo (which I knew) and a top class boxer (which I didn't know) and took my friend to task in fairly uncouth terms. I invited him to depart, in equally uncouth terms, to which he responded by flooring me with a sweet right hook to the jawbone. I bounced up fairly quick and took a swing at him, which he ducked and popped me again on the exact same spot, and down I go again. When I got up this time, my mates did me the favour of dragging me away and out and home. TKO, I suppose, would be the official result.
I called in the next night, only to be told I was barred – for being floored twice, presumably! Or maybe for having a glass jaw. Or probably because they'd have to bar somebody and the provo might be a problem. Anyway it was red card for me and I don't think he even got a ticking. The fact that I was from Meath and he was an O'Rahillys member had nothing to do with it, I'm sure
It's the only time I was ever involved in a barroom brawl and the only time I ever lost an argument with a provo, though in fairness it was also the only time I ever physically engaged with physical force 'republicanism'.
To those here who would love to chin me if they got the chance, please feel free to take vicarious pleasure in this story.
The only reason they cheer before the end is cos they dont know all the words.
Quote from: sureyouwill on February 22, 2007, 02:38:03 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 22, 2007, 01:55:57 PM
Suppose you play it before you go to bed at night laoislad after a decade of the rosary. You probably come rolling in half cut after a night out ,log on to post, delete your account and then blast Amhrán na bhFiann and all is right in your world again. I'd lay money you probably have it on your ipod, suppose it's like your own viagra, get's you to stand to attention every time.!!
Jaysus Will, u must be speaking from experience there, u couldn't make that up!
No offence taken Hardy. ;)
"It's the only time I was ever involved in a barroom brawl and the only time I ever lost an argument with a provo, though in fairness it was also the only time I ever physically engaged with physical force 'republicanism'. "
Real smell of sulphur of this little sceal , it has everything . Provo (bad guy ) Hardy (hero) good overcomes evil , and our hero losses his first ever argument . 8)
Are you sure this wasnt a tyrone supporter post 1996. Hardy? Believe me i got no pleasure from the story just the way you tell them. In fairness it sounds like you took one for the peace process.
No - two differences - all my disagreements with Tyrone supporters post 1996 have been strictly verbal and I won them all. ;)
DRB
Quotegood overcomes evil
That's not the way I saw it as I was feeling my sore jaw for a week!
dont know why people are going on about respecting the anthemn of the 26 county british puppet state
You've lost me there true ulster gael!
the 26 counties still serves the english master and also the american master these days
brave men like pearse and clarke would turn in their graves at todays ireland
the free state was formed by the english so they could control ireland by the back door
amhran na bhfiann represents this corrupt puppet that no real irishman can respect
Quote from: true ulster gael on February 22, 2007, 06:49:05 PM
the 26 counties still serves the english master and also the american master these days
the free state was formed by the english so they could control ireland by the back door
amhran na bhfiann represents this corrupt puppet that no real irishman can respect
Stirring stuff!
Ok, good points I suppose... But is it a 26 county anthem? I thought that the National Anthem represents the nation i.e. the 32 counties?
not after the puppets sold out articles 2 and 3
Quote from: true ulster gael on February 22, 2007, 06:49:05 PM
I wonder what percentage of Irish people would qualify for this lads definition of " real irishman" !!!
I presume you'll be protesting outside Páirc an Chrócaigh De Sathairn???( I presume i dont need to translate the last 5 words for you :P)
yes i will be at croke park protesting
many irish men and women have sold themselves out for money,a big house,fancy car,english soccer on sky sports on their big screen tv.did joseph plunkett and sean mc dermott die for this?
Quote from: true ulster gael on February 22, 2007, 07:17:09 PM
many irish men and women have sold themselves out for money,a big house,fancy car,english soccer on sky sports on their big screen tv.did joseph plunkett and sean mc dermott die for this?
Surely you mean Seán Mac Diarmada??? I thought they died for the betterment of Irish people?
Anyway there was no TV or Satellites back then.
Do you want us all to live in the old mud wall cabins or the botháin scór of pre famine days?
As for my little houseen,second hand car,small tv - I had to pay for them all with my own money. So there !!!
Yeah and computers too !! The cheek of them .
So you go to work on yer bike and come home to listen to the wireless.
You depriving some village of their idiot !! Away you go ye bollocks ye. You are as welcome as a fart in a spacesuit !!!
What's a true Irishman to you anyway true Ulster Gael?
Quote from: Rossfan on February 22, 2007, 07:21:52 PM
Surely you mean Seán Mac Diarmada??? I thought they died for the betterment of Irish people?
Anyway there was no TV or Satellites back then.
Do you want us all to live in the old mud wall cabins or the botháin scór of pre famine days?
As for my little houseen,second hand car,small tv - I had to pay for them all with my own money. So there !!!
time and technology moves on but ideas will live forever
when the people of ireland stop looking after each other and try to keep up with the joneses the spirit of freedom and with it the nation is gone
too many in ireland these days want to be little englanders
Quote from: Farrandeelin on February 22, 2007, 07:29:55 PM
What's a true Irishman to you anyway true Ulster Gael?
one who does not sell him or herself out for money or power
see mi5 agent gerry adams as a good example
Are you involved with Republican Sinn Fein TUlsterGael?
ahhhh But you will be joining them for their protest at the Rugby match on Saturday???
i understand those GAA members in the 6 counties have suffered greatly at the hands of those who are represented by that GSTQ anthem,so i can sympathise with your position.
i dont think the creation of trouble though,which is bound to happen with the Ned hanger-ons that will appear will help your cause though.
i will join them as we have a common cause
if trouble should start the blame will be with the gaa who have allowed this to happen by selling out
Quote from: true ulster gael on February 22, 2007, 08:03:21 PM
if trouble should start the blame will be with the gaa who have allowed this to happen by selling out
Why don't you start your own war?
like the brits in iraq?
Oh forget it. you're a moron. I suppose this distraction keeps kids and old ladies safe in the meantime.
Quote from: GweylTah on February 22, 2007, 08:38:24 PM
Oh forget it. you're a moron. I suppose this distraction keeps kids and old ladies safe in the meantime.
again someone else gives up and tries insults to get their way
The Nut House must be really empty today with the amount of knobs and fools that are posting.In fairness to true ulster gael at least he is making a point the other tosser sureyouwill is just on one of his rambles and never actually says anything worthwhile as per usual
Great news! I just got a ticket! Now I will be able to show the standard courtesy and respect to which GSTQ isentitled in person. Then sing our national anthem at the top of my voice all the way through just as I was proud and priviliged to do at Lansdowne Road in 1973 when the RFU showed themselves to be true friends of Ireland & Irish Rugby. I will sing it just as I always have at AIFs, UFs, MFs, CFs, Rugby Internationals & Soccer Internationals. I detest Irelands Call but accept it as people of a different viewpoint also play for the team. Its called maturity and being grown up.
It would appear True Ulster Gaels vision of Ireland is one in which we all work togeather blowing up our neighbour. Should he or any one else be protesting outside I will show my contempt for them and their lunatic fringe views by ignoring them. Thank God most of us have moved on
Quote from: SuperSub on February 22, 2007, 08:56:38 PM
The Nut House must be really empty today with the amount of knobs and fools that are posting.In fairness to true ulster gael at least he is making a point the other tosser sureyouwill is just on one of his rambles and never actually says anything worthwhile as per usual
Whereas you're just full of pearls of wisdom!! ::) ::)
Wow great response i just can't come back from a post like that,you really are a legend sureyouwill you win hands down ::)
Reserving the right to cause havoc while absolving yourself of any responsibility in advance. Where have we heard that before?
If anything does happen a la the Love Ulster riot last year, I hope the gardai don't spare the batons.
Quote from: SuperSub on February 23, 2007, 12:33:57 AM
Wow great response i just can't come back from a post like that,you really are a legend sureyouwill you win hands down ::)
As opposed to your amazing retort calling me a tosser, please the baton of legend must really be handed to yourself. :o If jumped up pounces like you and laoislad would take their heads out of their arses, you would see that no one is deliberately being disrespectful to Ireland when they cheer at the last line of the national anthem, in fact I doubt the majority of supports have a tear in their eye as it is played thinking of past wrongs and hardships, that does not mean however that every single person there does not have pride in their county and their country, now dry your eyes. People are at matches to enjoy themselves, to unwind, to get away from mundane everyday life, to cheer on their county team, if over exuberance is taken as ignorance it's just another example of political correctness gone mad, but then again there will always be muppets who look for ways to be offended.
True Ulster Gael,
Your inflammatory posts have attracted more reports than anyone since the great Flameboy saga. Please tone down the political stuff, and take it to the Non-GAA section as well.
It's obvious you are on a wind up mission, but if these statements continue escalating, you'll go the way of the late, not-lamented Flameboy.
Thanks
Quote from: sureyouwill on February 23, 2007, 07:37:31 AM
As opposed to your amazing retort calling me a tosser, please the baton of legend must really be handed to yourself. :o If jumped up pounces like you and laoislad would take their heads out of their arses, you would see that no one is deliberately being disrespectful to Ireland when they cheer at the last line of the national anthem, in fact I doubt the majority of supports have a tear in their eye as it is played thinking of past wrongs and hardships, that does not mean however that every single person there does not have pride in their county and their country, now dry your eyes. People are at matches to enjoy themselves, to unwind, to get away from mundane everyday life, to cheer on their county team, if over exuberance is taken as ignorance it's just another example of political correctness gone mad, but then again there will always be muppets who look for ways to be offended.
Wow you have me know,im really going to change my mind after that post Inspiring stuff ::) Really you are the ultimate Will you marry me?
Also i believe if you check you have called people Tosser more times than i care to count so don't act the innocent little fool like you are
Sureyouwill if your going to tell me to take my head out of my arse for believing people are Dis Respecting the National Anthem by cheering before the end please have the cop on to read all this thread and be at least fair and also tell
Charlie Linkbox
Lynchboy
Ziggysego
Cicfada
Romeo
Magpie Seanie
That their opinion is wrong too and they should take their head out of their arse's too.Thanks ::)
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 23, 2007, 11:22:38 AM
Sureyouwill if your going to tell me to take my head out of my arse for believing people are Dis Respecting the National Anthem by cheering before the end please have the cop on to read all this thread and be at least fair and also tell
Charlie Linkbox
Lynchboy
Ziggysego
Cicfada
Romeo
Magpie Seanie
That their opinion is wrong too and they should take their head out of their arse's too.Thanks ::)
I stand by what I say -
but then again there will always be muppets who look for ways to be offended - if the cap fits feel free to wear it.
Quote from: SuperSub on February 23, 2007, 10:53:14 AM
Quote from: sureyouwill on February 23, 2007, 07:37:31 AM
Wow you have me know,im really going to change my mind after that post Inspiring stuff ::) Really you are the ultimate Will you marry me?
Also i believe if you check you have called people Tosser more times than i care to count so don't act the innocent little fool like you are
Feel free to post any instance where this occurred.
Quote from: sureyouwill on February 23, 2007, 11:26:17 AM
Charlie Linkbox
Lynchboy
Ziggysego
Cicfada
Romeo
Magpie Seanie
I stand by what I say - but then again there will always be muppets who look for ways to be offended - if the cap fits feel free to wear it.
I don't go out of my way to be insulted, I just have respect and pride for my National Anthem!!!! >:(
I don't go out of my way to be insulted either. This is a clear issue as there is a right way and a wrong way. Cheering before the end of the anthem is simply the wrong way.
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on February 23, 2007, 01:07:46 PM
Quote from: sureyouwill on February 23, 2007, 11:26:17 AM
Charlie Linkbox
Lynchboy
Ziggysego
Cicfada
Romeo
Magpie Seanie
I stand by what I say - but then again there will always be muppets who look for ways to be offended - if the cap fits feel free to wear it.
I don't go out of my way to be insulted, I just have respect and pride for my National Anthem!!!! >:(
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 23, 2007, 01:15:56 PM
I don't go out of my way to be insulted either. This is a clear issue as there is a right way and a wrong way. Cheering before the end of the anthem is simply the wrong way.
Ah but lads yer forgetting this is sureyouwill's take on it and he is never wrong.So we should just all take our heads from our arseholes and stop respecting out Anthem and scream shout and roar like crazed lunitics before the end of it.It's what the cool people do ;)
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 23, 2007, 01:15:56 PM
But does it make someone ignorant!!! I think not - Over exuberant maybe – but ignorant – please!!
By the way SuperSub still waiting on all those examples!!
my opinion about cheering took alot of slagging but that is what thoese heros died for, to give you the right to slag me or any one else with out fear or favour
not so someone could tell you to stay quiet while some one is singing a song.
Live free and die free there are much better things to worry about in between when we have solved all the inequlities in ireland then i stay chanting a soldier's song till the end.