GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on September 23, 2010, 09:22:59 PM

Title: Ca bhfuil Cuig Sams?
Post by: T Fearon on September 23, 2010, 09:22:59 PM
He always goes missing when Down bite the dust ;D By the way the Cork Down game is being shown on Setanta tonight. I'll enjoy it even more now that I know the outome and the pressure's off ;D
Title: Re: Ca bhfuil Cuig Sams?
Post by: heffo on September 23, 2010, 09:41:05 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 23, 2010, 09:22:59 PM
He always goes missing when Down bite the dust ;D By the way the Cork Down game is being shown on Setanta tonight. I'll enjoy it even more now that I know the outome and the pressure's off ;D

Unlike you to be rubbing someone's nose in it now T!

Was that you I seen in Croker on Saturday night last queing up for the photo ops??
Post by: fer fox ache on September 23, 2010, 09:42:08 PM
Tony you are a p***k.
Post by: T Fearon on September 23, 2010, 09:46:14 PM
It was Heffo! Also got three books autographed by Micko and one by Canavan! ;)
Post by: ONeill on September 23, 2010, 10:15:04 PM
(http://i.crackedcdn.com/phpimages/photoshop/6/5/2/31652.jpg?v=1)
Post by: heffo on September 23, 2010, 10:20:41 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 23, 2010, 09:46:14 PM
It was Heffo! Also got three books autographed by Micko and one by Canavan! ;)

I was going to go over and introduce myself but you were bending the ear off Micko not to mention a couple of Dublin greats!
Post by: ross4life on September 23, 2010, 10:37:49 PM
Your not old enough to remember the 60s but 1991/94 must have shocking years for you Tony  ???
Post by: lawnseed on September 24, 2010, 12:59:41 AM
kicking them when theyre DOWN..  :) :) ;D
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on September 24, 2010, 01:43:14 AM
Poyntzpass' Pleasure (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t9B-ZoS0wvU)
Post by: T Fearon on September 24, 2010, 09:00:15 AM
Ach Heffo, you should have introduced yourself! I was telling Barney Rock that I was in the Hogan that day in '83 when he scored the late equaliser against Cork at the Hill end. "Go on out of that" he guffawed!

Showed the photos to a few ladies up here, they are all mightily impressed with Bernard Brogan, and it's not for his point kicking abilities either ;D
Post by: Hardy on September 24, 2010, 10:50:40 AM
Sweet Jesus.
Post by: T Fearon on September 24, 2010, 11:07:22 AM
What's Lena Martell got to do with it? ;D
Post by: ONeill on September 24, 2010, 11:39:53 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 24, 2010, 09:00:15 AM
"Go on out of that" he guffawed!

Guffawed? Haven't read that since The Beano.

a burst of deep loud hearty laughter
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on September 24, 2010, 11:59:21 AM
Quote from: ONeill on September 24, 2010, 11:39:53 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 24, 2010, 09:00:15 AM
"Go on out of that" he guffawed!

Guffawed? Haven't read that since The Beano.

Far too subtle and highbrow for our Tony.
Post by: T Fearon on September 24, 2010, 12:34:52 PM
Jaysus, I forgot to mention to Barney about his Dublin team defeating Tyrone in 1984, the day when Frank didn't get a kick of the ball  ;D
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on September 24, 2010, 12:41:26 PM
You will have to look outside of Armagh if you are after 2 Sams Tony, nevermind 5.
Post by: T Fearon on September 24, 2010, 01:00:07 PM
Its been a difficult year for 5sams and the rest of Down. The unbridled joy of getting to two Croke Park Finals, then the despair of being defeated by an embryonic Armagh team, and a Cork team that cannot beat anyone else only Down in All Ireland Finals ;D
Post by: anglocelt39 on September 24, 2010, 01:26:18 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 24, 2010, 01:00:07 PM
Its been a difficult year for 5sams and the rest of Down. The unbridled joy of getting to two Croke Park Finals, then the despair of being defeated by an embryonic Armagh team, and a Cork team that cannot beat anyone else only Down in All Ireland Finals ;D

In fairness OneSam all this started getting a small bit repetitive about 3,500 posts ago
Post by: Naomh Pol CLG on September 24, 2010, 02:56:47 PM
(http://www.susheewa.com/blog/uploads/snore.gif)
Post by: cadhlancian on September 24, 2010, 04:12:57 PM
Did you also forget to tell him , that you had failed miserably in your numerous dieting attempts, and had just gladly accepted your role in life as a large .............................
Post by: In the Onion Bag on September 24, 2010, 11:06:03 PM
Tony,   
Its nearly a full week since our deserved defeat which has been accepted in an exceptionally and sportingly manner by all Down fans and management. We do not cry or seek excuses when a better team beats us, its just not the Down way!

Its a while since I last used the following but I think now may be a good time to share it again.  Although you have got me to rise to your bait I hope that perhaps, even in your latter twisted, Willie Frazeresque - must be an Ourma thingy) years, can appreciate the meaning of good grace like genuine GAA people do  Anyway here goes------ [DN I posted this some 5/6 years ago so other boarder please forgive me]

Dedicated to Tony"I consider myself young at heart and still playing, albeit 3rds.  In my  life time we (Down) have secured 5, five, cuig, fünf, cinco, vijf, (I love the  way most Arma folk I encounter have difficulty believing this digit  exists).  Unfortunately for you this is something I have that you nor  none of you or your widest extended family will ever experience, but you can  continue to dream.

Call it smug if you like but you cannot take it away from me.  The small numer of Ourma a-holes like you ought to stop using the word great things already, you nor no one you know is  qualified on these matters.

Still and all, we can be content to  gift you Sunday's game safe in the knowledge that, should you bt  Fermanagh, you will again raise anxiousness as representatives of Ulster  GAA by bringing puke football on to the hallowed turf plus with the  added recurring risk of Ulster humiliation, embarrassing and ignominious  failure yet again.  Accept it, this has been your history.

I was  interested by one of your posts which mentioned Sligo v Down and the  Murphy cup.  I love this craic.  Talk about leading with your chin? (I  though Arma men were wilier that that). 

I remember being at  Croker (or in Arma's case Choker) when yous grasped a lucky draw from  the clutches of victory against who?  SLIGO.  O ye of the goldfish  memories.

Tony - I love you really.[/]
Post by: 5 Sams on September 24, 2010, 11:27:17 PM
I know I shouldnt bite but Arthur Guinness told me to....

Onion Bag you are obviously a well rounded intelligent human being ...with a higher than normal understanding of the intricacies of Gaelic football....especially that pertaining to the aristocratic level of achievement of our erstwhile football teams in Down...the thing that baffles me most is however....why in the name of sweet jesus do you give that low life from Armagh the time of day by replying to him???
Post by: In the Onion Bag on September 24, 2010, 11:42:54 PM
5Sams (Tony hates that number)

Please forgive me but in a moment of weakness, occasioned by too much Arthur's birthday celebration, led to me overreacting to the likable Tony's thread.

Silly me but, at least I'm full of cheerful "G" whereas Tony is tonight most likey right now discussing Down's defeat with his alter ego and similarly twisted mate Willie F right now.  The Orange Abu.
Post by: In the Onion Bag on September 24, 2010, 11:53:35 PM
Bye the way,
Hardshite is another Tony-type who is in serious denial regarding his hidden admiration for the sophisticated 'Down Way' of doing things - as evidence just look at the serious amount of time he invests on Down issues on this Board - clearly a Down wannabe in denial.

A message of support to Hardshite:- you will find a warm, homely and welcoming reception in Down whenever your are mentally ready to make the jump but please ck with your shrink first though. We wouldn't want to risk your treatment by pushing too fast too soon.
Post by: ONeill on September 25, 2010, 12:06:18 AM
A complete w**ker underdoes (new word) the hoors who are the Guinness family. Recently bought a book on the Guinness family history. Had to stop after 200 pages such was my rage. Even drank Harp in protest. Guinness family are fcukers of the highest order.
Post by: In the Onion Bag on September 25, 2010, 12:10:56 AM
Quote from: hardstation on September 24, 2010, 11:58:57 PM
Arthur was a complete w**ker by the way.

Apols for quoting you but "Who told you this?". Perchance you are a close relative with inside info. 

Goodnight HS.  I'm outta here, I have more interesting people to spend time with.
Sleep well and don't believe everthing those little voices tell you.

Take that stuff about the G family to the non-GAA thread if you think it has any life in it.
Post by: In the Onion Bag on September 25, 2010, 12:14:50 AM
Quote from: hardstation on September 25, 2010, 12:12:35 AM
Balloon.

Yours has been bursted. Bon Nuit Tit.
Post by: MCMLX on September 25, 2010, 12:22:02 AM
Quote from: hardstation on September 25, 2010, 12:09:06 AM
Quote from: ONeill on September 25, 2010, 12:06:18 AM
A complete w**ker underdoes (new word) the hoors who are the Guinness family. Recently bought a book on the Guinness family history. Had to stop after 200 pages such was my rage. Even drank Harp in protest. Guinness family are fcukers of the highest order.
Cannot disagree with that.

Shock horror, the first couple of the gaaboard in agreement.  :o Is it kicking out time in the Kremlin already?
Post by: In the Onion Bag on September 25, 2010, 12:23:10 AM
Hardstation I think you may be getting a little angry (you should go to bed). 

Anyway, I now hope to get back to the main business of this thread so I repeat my earlier post that you have only served to be distraction from.

Quote from: In the Onion Bag on September 24, 2010, 11:06:03 PM
Tony,   
Its nearly a full week since our deserved defeat which has been accepted in an exceptionally and sportingly manner by all Down fans and management. We do not cry or seek excuses when a better team beats us, its just not the Down way!

Its a while since I last used the following but I think now may be a good time to share it again.  Although you have got me to rise to your bait I hope that perhaps, even in your latter twisted, Willie Frazeresque - must be an Ourma thingy) years, can appreciate the meaning of good grace like genuine GAA people do  Anyway here goes------ [DN I posted this some 5/6 years ago so other boarder please forgive me]

Dedicated to Tony"I consider myself young at heart and still playing, albeit 3rds.  In my  life time we (Down) have secured 5, five, cuig, fünf, cinco, vijf, (I love the  way most Arma folk I encounter have difficulty believing this digit  exists).  Unfortunately for you this is something I have that you nor  none of you or your widest extended family will ever experience, but you can  continue to dream.

Call it smug if you like but you cannot take it away from me.  The small numer of Ourma a-holes like you ought to stop using the word great things already, you nor no one you know is  qualified on these matters.

Still and all, we can be content to  gift you Sunday's game safe in the knowledge that, should you bt  Fermanagh, you will again raise anxiousness as representatives of Ulster  GAA by bringing puke football on to the hallowed turf plus with the  added recurring risk of Ulster humiliation, embarrassing and ignominious  failure yet again.  Accept it, this has been your history.

I was  interested by one of your posts which mentioned Sligo v Down and the  Murphy cup.  I love this craic.  Talk about leading with your chin? (I  though Arma men were wilier that that). 

I remember being at  Croker (or in Arma's case Choker) when yous grasped a lucky draw from  the clutches of victory against who?  SLIGO.  O ye of the goldfish  memories.

Tony - I love you really.[/]

Post by: MCMLX on September 25, 2010, 12:32:20 AM
The fact that you are stuck up O`Neills hole on every topic on the board kinda gives u away.
Post by: In the Onion Bag on September 25, 2010, 12:45:20 AM
Quote from: hardstation on September 25, 2010, 12:38:00 AM
Quote from: MCMLX on September 25, 2010, 12:32:20 AM
The fact that you are stuck up O`Neills hole on every topic on the board kinda gives u away.
I suppose you're right.
I must view his last posts and go and back him up.

Anyway, the Guinness family, are you saying we are wrong, or, are you just being a dick for the sake of it?

Hardstation ( I am now trying to be respectful towards you).  You are continuing to be a distraction by going off topic.  Why not make name for yourself and start a new invigorating thread on that G crap instead of polluting yet another Down thread.
Post by: In the Onion Bag on September 25, 2010, 12:55:59 AM
Quote from: hardstation on September 25, 2010, 12:48:58 AM
When did this become a Down thread?

Tony had a go at 5Sams.
You quoted.....and quoted a heap of bollix to have a go at Tony.

So I guess we can now add Tony to the Hardshit/O'Neil Kremlin group.

Anyway, this thread has decended into a kind childish rubbish and I am not comfortable with that.  Hardshite, you are really not a bad fellow at all and I will be glad to converse with you later. 
Sleep well child.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 25, 2010, 05:57:34 AM
meowwww
Post by: anglocelt39 on September 25, 2010, 10:07:18 AM
so this is how you get yourself up to 16k odd posts on a discussion board.
Post by: T Fearon on September 25, 2010, 10:49:42 AM
Onion Bag, thank you for your response, which albeit flippant and loaded with the usual misplaced arrogance (that has not been anyway diluted by the defeat of Down at long last in an AI Final), is nevertheless thankfully devoid of malice or personal abuse.

I would put it to you however that one swallow does not make a summer, neither does an appearance by Down in an All Ireland Final (accruing from a catastrophic refereeing error in the semi final which shamefully robbed Kildare of a deserved place in Croke Park last Sunday), mean that the pendulum of power for over a decade has swung from Armagh to Down. Alas Down fans constant reference to 5 all ireland wins is about as relevant as Wexford and Cavan fans doing likewise about their similar hauls, though they differ as they are aware that their contemporary lack of success is the main point of emphasis.

I will leave you with one other point about the graciousness or otherwise of Down supporters. A person of my acquaintance who displays an Armagh emblem on his vehicle 12 months a year, was threatening warned to remove this in Newry, while parking his car two weeks ago. As Jim Royle might say, "Gracious supporters my arse!"

I am off now to continue enjoying what has been a fabulous week and look forward to Down's visit to Armagh in the first match of the league when we'll see, as we did in Croke Park in the NFL Final, whose boss ;D
Post by: Dougal Maguire on September 25, 2010, 11:09:27 AM
Jaysus, you're leaving yourself wide open there Tony
Post by: armaghniac on September 25, 2010, 04:00:06 PM
Typically gracious Down Supporter.

(http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRNl8-47BT-Nsw5Ej3kEeRRShu1EshHONsH3VTYhPNOJo166hE&t=1&usg=__dBLTFAAYoILr7IhSh1E7r8pzzE0=)
Post by: boojangles on September 25, 2010, 08:09:02 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on September 25, 2010, 10:07:18 AM

Often wondered that myself. Like 16,000 posts, f**king hell.
Post by: anglocelt39 on September 26, 2010, 12:43:01 PM
Quote from: boojangles on September 25, 2010, 08:09:02 PM

In fairness about 500 of those were brought on by the overwhelming joy of Antrim beating Cavan in last years Ulster 7th and 8th place play off.

Poor oul T Fearon meanwhile, age 50 plus, mental age teenage Hogan Stand WUM merchant. Most joyous event in life to date neighbouring County finally, after all these years lose an All Ireland final in Croke park, I'd say he has the Viagra prescription cancelled for at least a fortnight on the back of that one. Sad really
Post by: boojangles on September 26, 2010, 01:27:54 PM
Quote from: anglocelt39 on September 26, 2010, 12:43:01 PM
Quote from: boojangles on September 25, 2010, 08:09:02 PM

In fairness about 500 of those were brought on by the overwhelming joy of Antrim beating Cavan in last years Ulster 7th and 8th place play off.

Poor oul T Fearon meanwhile, age 50 plus, mental age teenage Hogan Stand WUM merchant. Most joyous event in life to date neighbouring County finally, after all these years lose an All Ireland final in Croke park, I'd say he has the Viagra prescription cancelled for at least a fortnight on the back of that one. Sad really

3rd and 4th place in fairness Anglo.Not that it mattered in the grand scheme of things. Hollow Man (God rest him) had the Antrim folk in an awful rage after that game if I remember rightly.
Post by: anglocelt39 on September 26, 2010, 01:45:10 PM
Christ good oul Hollow Man you'd nearly miss him in these quiet times, would start a row in a phone box but if lads from other counties were getting lippy no better lad to wind up and send off to lay waste. Reminds me of the line from the Committments when the band appointed a "Security Manager"......."jaysus he's a fookin animal".............."yeah but he's our animal............."