Did any of you read the article in tonights edition of the Tele, by a so called columnist named Julie Burchill. It was an ill informed,sectarian, hate filled rant against the Pope,the Church and catholics in general, which would equal if not exceed the worst excesses of Paisleys Protesant Telegraph in its hey-day. If such an article had been penned about the Muslim religion it would have sparked fury around the world, and rightly so. I believe a case could be made against the Tele, under the incitement to hatred act, and would exhort the Church or some influential lay groups within it to consider such an action. No religious body should be subjected too such ignorant and prejudiced trash being published as opinion, masquerading as fact. in the pages of Newspaper which claims to be liberal and non-sectarian. If there is not an uproar about this article, then we can only assume that this socety has abandoned all pretence of upholding values of balance,tolerance,and decency, and our Catholic Church leaders and laity have become gutless worms.
Quote from: Pangurban on September 10, 2010, 03:22:25 AM
If there is not an uproar about this article, then we can only assume that this socety has abandoned all pretence of upholding values of balance,tolerance,and decency, and our Catholic Church leaders and laity have become gutless worms.
I havent read the article, cant find it online and I dont buy the Tele, but as for
your leaders, what else can you expect from the people who abused generations of children or those who covered up the abuse by their peers.
Your leaders are rotten from the top down and I mean the very top.
Quote from: Pangurban on September 10, 2010, 03:22:25 AM
Did any of you read the article in tonights edition of the Tele, by a so called columnist named Julie Burchill. It was an ill informed,sectarian, hate filled rant against the Pope,the Church and catholics in general, which would equal if not exceed the worst excesses of Paisleys Protesant Telegraph in its hey-day. If such an article had been penned about the Muslim religion it would have sparked fury around the world, and rightly so. I believe a case could be made against the Tele, under the incitement to hatred act, and would exhort the Church or some influential lay groups within it to consider such an action. No religious body should be subjected too such ignorant and prejudiced trash being published as opinion, masquerading as fact. in the pages of Newspaper which claims to be liberal and non-sectarian. If there is not an uproar about this article, then we can only assume that this socety has abandoned all pretence of upholding values of balance,tolerance,and decency, and our Catholic Church leaders and laity have become gutless worms.
Controversy is Julie Burchill's currency. Best ignored although the Tele's readership will lap it up.
Some wild diatribe in that article.....typical appeal to the dumb demographic of your readership rubbish no different to the NOTW etc etc
Bits of ugly truths about the Catholic Church though which will not be taken on board by catholics regardless of how she put them.
She makes Myles the Slasher appear almost tolerant and liberal ;D
I don't know this journalist but strange that she manages to get in a lengthy reference to women who have been treated badly/betrayed.
Sounds like Julie was let down by some man, grew horns after and keeps them sharp with her hate.
Yeah she reminds me of Millie Tant from Viz
(http://www.vizprints.com/lowres/47/kiosk_img/1/148963.jpg)
Quote from: Main Street on September 10, 2010, 10:14:09 AM
She makes Myles the Slasher appear almost tolerant and liberal ;D
I don't know this journalist but strange that she manages to get in a lengthy reference to women who have been treated badly/betrayed.
Sounds like Julie was let down by some man, grew horns after and keeps them sharp with her hate.
She's a well known "firebrand" feminist journalist in England. Was married to Tony Parson's and has got a lot of mileage out of a feud with him. So you're spot on.
I didn't realise that John Terry and Ashley Cole were of catholic upbringing!
Is there a bit of catholic blood in the bold Iris as well??
You owe me 2 minutes Pangurban
just read that there, i am also now owed 2 minutes of my life back.
While i'm not a fan of the church either, some of the stuff in that is pure sectarian drivel
Tony Parsons is a right bitter wee twisted man too imo
Quote from: johnneycool on September 10, 2010, 10:27:59 AM
I didn't realise that John Terry and Ashley Cole were of catholic upbringing!
Is there a bit of catholic blood in the bold Iris as well??
Was'nt Iris Robinson's name Collins before she was married. Sounds like a good Republican name to me. I read one time that she has Catholic relations in England. Maybe she just ended up in the wrong political party and would have been more at home in Dail Eireann!!.
I am surprised that so many "Gaels" actually read the Belfast Telegraph.
QuoteAnd her husband has been acting exactly as Catholic men are expected to — choosing one sort of woman to marry, and another sort to have sex with. The first time he visited hookers she was a virgin; the second she was pregnant. Seems pretty prayer book/textbook to me.
This is what is expected of Catholic men? By who? weird
QuoteBeing a Catholic means always having to say you're sorry — but also being guaranteed that you'll be forgiven to go on and do all the vile things you've done ad nauseum.
again weird sweeping generalisation
just a bizarre, bitter rant. what is the point of it?
Its actually so bad you cant begin to dissect it on any intellectual level whatsoever, it really is just a load of old bollocks :D
I am reminded a bit of Jan Moirs homophobic diatribe in the wake of Stephen gatelys death
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/debate/article-1220756/A-strange-lonely-troubling-death--.html
Quote from: MCMLX on September 10, 2010, 11:20:53 AM
I am surprised that so many "Gaels" actually read the Belfast Telegraph.
Two efforts now, no takers
I'm surprised some of ye haven't figured out that you dont have to read
the Tele to have the Catholic church cut down at the knees...sure this
Board is full of it and not a word about it :-\
Quote from: Tyrones own on September 10, 2010, 03:50:06 PM
Would you say that those doing the cutting lack objectivity or facts?
The church hierarchy is where you should be directing your anger...not those exposing them for the self interested evil immoral so and sos that they are.
The article actually originates in the London Independent. The Belfast Telegraph just lifts it (as it does with most of its columnists) as it's free. Although the London Independent is no longer owned by O'Reilly (who owns Irish Independent and Tele) there is still an arrangement in place to share columnists (though this is very much a one-way thing - Burchill, Fisk, that **** Myers - as you'd be hard pushed to find anyone in London or Dublin interested in the poor woman's-Daily Mail rantings of Gail Walker) ... in this case (if not many others) it's not some anti-Catholic thing from the Tele
That article is a disgrace no matter where it comes from.
Quote from: theskull1 on September 10, 2010, 04:57:25 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on September 10, 2010, 03:50:06 PM
Would you say that those doing the cutting lack objectivity or facts?
The church hierarchy is where you should be directing your anger...not those exposing them for the self interested evil immoral so and sos that they are.
Anger ??? Im not angry....merely highlighting the hypocrisy at the feigned outrage of this reporter when truth be told, some here are no better!
Yer wan is a gabshite of the first order. Obviously one of these weemin who suffers from severe ugliness and has to make her mark elsewhere. She does look like ten pounds of shite in a five pounds bag. A couple of years ago she stuck the boot into the Irish in what was a seriously racist attack. However, people like that are controversial for the sake of it. She does not annoy me in the slightest, but I do hope that she dies of a skin eating disorder, coupled with brain cancer and that the hospital runs out of morphine in her last days! And that they leave her body out in the streets where the rats can trail her innards over the pavements. Other than that she is free to say what she wants.
Quote from: red hander on September 10, 2010, 05:36:16 PM
The article actually originates in the London Independent. The Belfast Telegraph just lifts it (as it does with most of its columnists) as it's free. Although the London Independent is no longer owned by O'Reilly (who owns Irish Independent and Tele) there is still an arrangement in place to share columnists (though this is very much a one-way thing - Burchill, Fisk, that **** Myers - as you'd be hard pushed to find anyone in London or Dublin interested in the poor woman's-Daily Mail rantings of Gail Walker) ... in this case (if not many others) it's not some anti-Catholic thing from the Tele
How to f**k not? So they're not responsible for what they publish, as long as it wasn't one of their reporters that wrote it???
Quote from: haranguerer on September 11, 2010, 09:36:01 AM
Quote from: red hander on September 10, 2010, 05:36:16 PM
How to f**k not? So they're not responsible for what they publish, as long as it wasn't one of their reporters that wrote it???
Maybe I should have added "this time" ... and they basically don't give a shite what they publish from columnists as long as it's free (count how many of their own reporters have a column, a column they would have to pay that reporter extra to provide)... besides, why should the Catholic church be exempt from criticism, they've hardly been paragons of virtue in Ireland, have they?
Why do youse all read it if it upsets you so much?
Read Eamonn McCann's article - it appears down the side of Burchill. McCann's a much better writer and journalist than Burchill, but his piece doesn't make any better reading for those who still think that the pope and the Vatican are on the side of the good guys.
Just found this too.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-11260290
Bit low to bring up the Hitler Youth thing. Clearly she's a horrible warped oul bitch but as whiskeysteve says the article is so bad that it is simply not to be taken seriously- eg reference to Gibson's dad being "of course" a holocaust denier. Wtf? You'd really wonder how she's ended up getting paid for writing nonsense like this.
(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-jaVrXN42sXY/TxWThtCaXWI/AAAAAAAAHwo/V3sv-73PvcU/s1600/Belfast%2BTelegraph.GIF)
Fail!