GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: GalwayBayBoy on September 07, 2010, 05:17:38 PM

Title: Official Galway manager thread
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 07, 2010, 05:17:38 PM
Only 48 pages to go to catch up with the Mayo lads. Get typing. ;D

QuoteLiam Kearns is among a list of five nominees to succeed Joe Kernan as Galway football manager.

Kearns, who has expressed an interest in the vacancy, has also been nominated for the Limerick job - a position he held from 1999 to 2005. The Kerryman also had a spell in charge of Laois in 2006 and '07.

Galway minor boss Gerry Fahy, who managed Offaly in 2004, has also been nominated, as has former Clare manager Frank Doherty, who guided Caltra to an All-Ireland club title in 2004.

Pete Warren, who served as a selector under John O'Mahony when Galway won All-Ireland titles in 1998 and 2001, is also on the shortlist which is completed by former Mayo midfielder Pat Fallon, who had guided Barna to the semi-finals of the Galway SFC.

The Galway football board was due to meet last night to discuss the process for appointing the county's fourth manager since 2007.

Anyway straight away I would rule out Fahy and Doherty. Not the most inspiring list you'd ever see to be honest.
Title: Re: Official Galway manager thread
Post by: Duine Eile on September 07, 2010, 09:55:57 PM
Liam Kearns wasn't nominated after all the talk about him. The official list is Pat Fallon, Peter Warren, Tomas OFlatharta, Matt Duggan and Gerry Fahy. John Divilly and Frank Doherty were also nominated but withdrew their names from the race. That list doesn't make for great reading, no name hopping out as a front runner at all. Surprised Alan Mulholland wasn't nominated, his name was being mentioned in the list of potentials.
Post by: Barney on September 07, 2010, 10:14:05 PM
Who is the favourite locally? A Galway man has managed ye for only 2 of the last 12 seasons! 9 years of Mayo men and Big Joe for one.

I presume Pete Warren will be given a shot at this stage?

Who is Matt Duggan?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 07, 2010, 10:28:43 PM
Quote from: Barney on September 07, 2010, 10:14:05 PM
Who is the favourite locally?

None of the above from what I can make out. There is actually very little talk about who will take over and the possible names mentioned would do well to stir any passion amongst their own wives. Let alone amongst Galway football fans. It's an underwhelming selection to say the least. I guess after spending big last year it was always likely it would be back to the bargain bucket for next year.
Post by: Duine Eile on September 07, 2010, 10:49:48 PM
Don't think there is a local favourite, the chairman still gets a nomination but I'd say John Joe will be watching himself this year, Joe Kernan arrived after his crusade last year so he's come in for a lot of criticism. Matt Duggan used to play for Annaghdown, I'm not certain but I think he might have played county at some stage, open to correction there though. He's probably only in his 30s, not sure if he has any managerial experience, bit of a wildcard really.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on September 07, 2010, 10:52:35 PM
Have many of the 1998 team taken up club management?

What about the likes of Ja Fallon?
Post by: Duine Eile on September 07, 2010, 10:59:56 PM
I think Ja is traumatised after his last management experience, he was in Peter Ford's backroom team, made a big comeback on the field in a qualifier against Westmeath and had to come off injured after playing terribly. Don't think he has the presence for management to be honest, he's done it all on the field but he's a fairly quiet and unassuming person.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 07, 2010, 11:07:56 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on September 07, 2010, 10:52:35 PM
Have many of the 1998 team taken up club management?

What about the likes of Ja Fallon?

Ja, Michael Donnellan and Tomas Mannion were quiet unassuming lads as DE said. Doubt they are the management type to be honest.

The two you could definitely see making good coaches at some point were Kevin Walsh and Padraig Joyce. Walsh is staying with Sligo while PJ still plays on.

Sean Og de Paor is another who I think could do well at some point but so far the only experience he has is with St Mary's college.
Post by: moysider on September 07, 2010, 11:44:11 PM

Sean Óg is a quiet unassuming fella. Has been involved at U21 level. Not sure management his thing. PJ an obvious candidate any time he feels like it. But he could be another Val Daly - and we all know how Seán Óg felt about him as manager. Probably the only man fella  DePaor was negative about in his book. PJ a great player but strikes me as a man that doesn't suffer fools gladly. Manager s have to suffer fools.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on September 07, 2010, 11:50:41 PM
Divilly was over NUI Maynooth this year and was relatively successful with them. They put out UUJ up the North and lost against DCU having been well in the game until the last few minutes. That was a decent Sigerson for them considering their size relative to UUJ and DCU. Any reason why he's not in the running?

Ó Flaharta is a handy operator and would get Galway up to a decent level IMO.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 08, 2010, 12:00:06 AM
Quote from: moysider on September 07, 2010, 11:44:11 PM
PJ a great player but strikes me as a man that doesn't suffer fools gladly. Manager s have to suffer fools.

Possibly but people would probably have said the same about McGeeney before his spell with Kildare.

I actually don't know if PJ will even go into coaching although it's long been rumoured that he will. I think because he has such a great brain on the football field it is presumed that it will translate into being a good coach and while it might you just don't know. There are so many variables into what makes a good coach. Not least you have to actually want to be one.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on September 08, 2010, 12:09:20 AM
I thought I heard something on the wireless about Seán Fada Ó Domhnaill being a contender?
Post by: Duine Eile on September 08, 2010, 12:17:06 AM
Padraic has been involved with our u-21s the last few years and the lads have the highest praise for him, he was involved in the international rules management a few years back as well with Sean Boylan. Actually, he has more managerial experience than some of the lads being mentioned  :-\  Sean Fada-I don't think so, sure wasn't he there this year and didn't make much of an impression really.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on September 08, 2010, 08:33:52 AM
Its a poor enough list of names in all fairness.  Have to say im very disappointed that Alan Mulholland doesnt feature.  Personally, I would like to see a management team of Alan, Sean Og and either Mannion or Silke giving it a shot.  Some of these might not be everyones cup of tea but they are all fiercely passionate about Galway football and their relative youth would also bring a new freshness to the county setup which seems to have been lacking in recent years.  Unfortunately though, I think John Joe will be playing it very safe this year!
Post by: North Longford on September 08, 2010, 09:00:34 AM
Matt Duggan is a Longford man who played intercounty midfield with Longford. Think he was a garda and transferred clubs when he moved down there. Not sure if he played intercounty with Galway cos almost sure he still played some with Longford after his club transfer. As far his managerial ability would go...no idea altho he was rather inconsistent as a midfielder. Hes also probably well into his 40's.
Post by: Duine Eile on September 08, 2010, 09:46:39 AM
Maybe I have the wrong Matt Duggan, I presumed he was one of the Duggans from Annaghdown, he's also involved with some coaching scheme at board level I think. This Matt Duggan isn't a guard either.
Post by: mouview on September 08, 2010, 04:34:59 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on September 07, 2010, 10:59:56 PM
I think Ja is traumatised after his last management experience, he was in Peter Ford's backroom team, made a big comeback on the field in a qualifier against Westmeath and had to come off injured after playing terribly. Don't think he has the presence for management to be honest, he's done it all on the field but he's a fairly quiet and unassuming person.

Not entirely accurate. Ja was injured early in the game before he really had a chance to make an impact (and had he continued perhaps we may not have lost said game).

Did I read something that the committee (i.e. top table) are allowed enter a wildcard pick of their own - thus Kearns?
None of the candidates are exactly standout; Duggan hasn't great experience; Waldo would be ok; O Flathartha too expensive?! Fahy has Galway football at heart but really should have gotten the minors over the line v Cork last week; Fallon an interesting inclusion given his Mayo background but going great guns with Barna at the moment.

Great former players don't necessarily make good managers and I'm not sure if PJ would command universal respect in the dressing room at the moment - too outspoken to quite a few players from what I hear. Didn't know De Paor disparaged Val Daly in his book - what did he say?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 08, 2010, 04:58:52 PM
Quote from: mouview on September 08, 2010, 04:34:59 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on September 07, 2010, 10:59:56 PM
Did I read something that the committee (i.e. top table) are allowed enter a wildcard pick of their own - thus Kearns?

Doesn't look like it. The official site only lists the following nominations...

Pat Fallon

Peter Warren

Tomas O'Flatharta

Matt Duggan

Gerry Fahy

Actually in the Times it does say that Kearns may still be interviewed as a wild card alright.
Post by: North Longford on September 08, 2010, 05:34:26 PM
Excerpt form the Killoe Emmet Og Gaa notes from July......

LOTTO
Lotto numbers drawn on weekend July 4 2010 were 6, 11, 12 and 29. There was no jackpot winner. e20 winners were Jim McGoldrick, Ennybegs; Alfie Thompson, Esker; Matt Duggan, Galway; Michael Lynch, Clonrollagh; Tony Poule c/o Begleys. Seller's prize Frank Toher Jackpot e8,600. Membership for 'Club Killoe' is now due for renewal. Existing members will receive correspondence re renewal and any persons wishing to join this club initiative please contact any Emmet Og Officer.

After that win he should come fairly cheaply to the Galway county board!!!
Post by: GAA_Punter on September 10, 2010, 02:38:47 PM
Billy Morgan "Dark Horse" for Galway football managers job
Written by: Gary Quinn http://www.sportsnewsireland.comb

If money talks, it appears Billy Morgan could be the dark horse for the Galway manager's job. Even after nominations were announced Monday evening, Morgan has emerged as a possible successor to Joe Kernan.

John Mulholland bookmakers have reported substantial money in the last few days for the former Cork manager which forced them to slash his odds from an opening quote of 16/1 into 9/2 before suspending the market.

Earlier money had suggested Frank Doherty was the favoured candidate at home and there was also strong support for Pat Fallon but now it looks like Galway could once again look further a field for an answer to the county's recent decline in fortunes.

Even with the money coming for Morgan it still looks like a two horse race between Minor manager Gerry Fahy and ex-Mayo midfielder Pat Fallon, who managed Barna to the semi-finals of the Galway Senior Football Championship.

John Mullhollands
(Tel:1850 722 722)

Gerry Fahy 6/4
Pat Fallon 6/4
Tomás O'Flatharta 11/4
Billy Morgan 9/2
Frank Doherty 8/1
Matt Duggan 10/1
Pete Warren 14/1
Padraic Joyce 16/1
John Divilly 20/1
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 10, 2010, 03:20:13 PM
Apparently Billy's Morgan's parents were from Galway. Never knew that. Not sure if he's a genuine runner or not though.
Post by: robertemmet on September 10, 2010, 03:33:07 PM
Would Alan Mulholland not be in the running?
Post by: Frank Casey on September 10, 2010, 10:54:25 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on September 10, 2010, 03:20:13 PM
Apparently Billy's Morgan's parents were from Galway. Never knew that. Not sure if he's a genuine runner or not though.

That gives him twice the connection that Joe Kernan had!!

Billy runs his own financial services company. One wonders if, in these troubled times for that industry, he would have the time for another county job at some distance.

Not sure if he's a realistic option. He won two All Irelands with a good bunch of players and two Kildare men. His second coming was not so rewarding with a couple of right trimmings from the Kingdom culminating in the where was the keeper final of 2007.

Post by: orangeman on September 10, 2010, 11:00:13 PM
Speculation linking Billy Morgan with the vacant Galway senior football managerial role has intensified after bookermakers suspended betting on Morgan taking over.

A Galway bookermaker yesterday slashed the odds of Morgan being appointed to the role before eventually closing betting.

While Morgan's name was not put forward in time to meet the deadline for club nominations he could be nominated for the post by the county board.

Joe Kernan stepped down as Galway manager last month, on the back of the county board refusing to sanction the reappointment of his backroom staff.

Morgan is one of several people being linked with the job, with former Laois and Limerick manager Liam Kearns already expressing his interest.

Post by: GAA_Punter on September 29, 2010, 04:57:26 PM
Both Mayo and Galway Senior football managers could be known tonight

The Mayo manager will be definitely be announced tonight, With all the late support coming for James Horan to edge out Tommy Lyons.

Tommy Lyons looked to be the front runner for the post after John Maughan pulled out of the race, but it now seems the majority of Mayo supporters want Horan to get the job.

The Galway managerial picture will also become a lot clearer this evening............................

http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/2010/09/29/both-mayo-and-galway-senior-football-managers-could-be-known-tonight/
Post by: muppet on September 29, 2010, 05:10:46 PM
There would be something appropriate about revealing Galway's new manager on page 3.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 29, 2010, 05:53:47 PM
Whoever gets our job my reaction will be one of "meh" followed by "good luck". Nobody nominated that you'd lose the run of yourself over and not a jot of interest in Galway from what I can tell. Another new man in the door. Hope he's better than the last.
Post by: muppet on September 29, 2010, 06:00:35 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on September 29, 2010, 05:53:47 PM
Whoever gets our job my reaction will be one of "meh" followed by "good luck". Nobody nominated that you'd lose the run of yourself over and not a jot of interest in Galway from what I can tell. Another new man in the door. Hope he's better than the last.

I thought the previous manager was poorly treated but that is not saying that our lot are any better.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 29, 2010, 07:07:37 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 29, 2010, 06:00:35 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on September 29, 2010, 05:53:47 PM

I thought the previous manager was poorly treated but that is not saying that our lot are any better.

Well he probably should have got another year at least but obviously the sums didn't add up. You'd think the county board would have budgeted for two years minimum anyway but it looks like they didn't and wanted to cut costs. I can understand cutting costs but maybe they should have thought of that from the start.
Post by: JMohan on September 30, 2010, 08:27:53 AM
I wonder will Tommy Lyons jump into this ring now?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 30, 2010, 12:18:27 PM
Quote from: JMohan on September 30, 2010, 08:27:53 AM

He hasn't been nominated so no.
Post by: galwayman on September 30, 2010, 09:02:59 PM
moysider - just as a matter of interest what did Sean og say about Daly as a manager in his autobiography?
Have never read it as it is "as gaeilge" and I am by no means fluent!!
Post by: JMohan on October 01, 2010, 10:00:37 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on September 30, 2010, 12:18:27 PM

I guess there's no chance then!  ;D
I wonder will Galway follow the laois, Mayo example and go for a younger 'hungrier' but unproven option then?
Seems to be the trend I guess.

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 01, 2010, 01:04:10 PM
Quote from: JMohan on October 01, 2010, 10:00:37 AM

I wonder will Galway follow the laois, Mayo example and go for a younger 'hungrier' but unproven option then?

Seems to be between Gerry Fahy and Tomas O Flatharta. Neither of whom are in the first flush of youth it's safe to say. The "younger" option was Kevin Walsh.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 01, 2010, 01:09:58 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on October 01, 2010, 01:04:10 PM

Seems to be between Gerry Fahy and Tomas O Flatharta. Neither of whom are in the first flush of youth it's safe to say. The "younger" option was Kevin Walsh.
What is the word on the ground in Galway with regards? We all know Galway CB and Walsh met up but i dont know what was said... It does suprise me that Walsh is still with us tbh.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 01, 2010, 01:42:06 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on October 01, 2010, 01:09:58 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on October 01, 2010, 01:04:10 PM

What is the word on the ground in Galway with regards? We all know Galway CB and Walsh met up but i dont know what was said... It does suprise me that Walsh is still with us tbh.

I don't think he sees eye to eye with certain people in the county board. Put it like that. And the Kernan fiasco hardly helped either I'd say re: having backroom staff foisted on him even though that was a budgetary decision.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 02, 2010, 07:39:25 PM
Tomás O'Flatharta is a really sound guy, I remember boasting to him that Galway where going to hammer them in a qualifer match a few years back, Westmeath actually went on to win, think was in Pearse. He took the slagging on the chin. But this was after a 5-a-side mixed soccer comp and holy fck he was uber-competitive, really doesn't accept losing or any excuses even if you are a girl who never kicked a ball in her life, ha ha. Would make a great manager for Galway.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 07, 2010, 07:24:27 PM
Word is that Tomás O'Flatharta has it. Unless John Maughan pips him at the last minute.
Post by: muppet on October 07, 2010, 08:17:48 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on October 07, 2010, 07:24:27 PM
Word is that Tomás O'Flatharta has it. Unless John Maughan pips him at the last minute.

It aint over until Tommy Lyons enters the ring.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 07, 2010, 11:27:35 PM
QuoteFormer Westmeath manager Tomas Ó Flaharta has been appointed to succeed Joe Kernan as manager of the Galway senior football side.

Ó Flatharta was ratified on Thursday night and will take charge for an initial three-year tenure.

Galway minor boss Gerry Fahy, Matt Duggan and former All-Ireland winning selector Pete Warren were also interviewed for the post.
Post by: Duine Eile on October 08, 2010, 01:12:29 AM
Never before have I experienced such a mood of indifference in the county towards the hunt for a new manager. Very strange. Tomas has some job on his hands now, good luck to him.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 08, 2010, 03:14:24 AM
Fantastic appointment for Galway if its true, if he can find the players, Galway will be successful. Good Luck to him if its Tomas, good guy.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on October 08, 2010, 08:22:13 AM
Best of luck to Tomás, he has a big job ahead of him over the next couple of years.

Any idea of what backroom team he is bringing in with him?
Post by: Clarin Pearl on October 08, 2010, 08:42:24 AM
Ath-mor dhoibh go leir. They're gonna need it. Looking forward to seeing who the backroom team are.
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 08, 2010, 09:25:47 AM
Well tomas welcome to the mad world of connacht fotball jesus if this thread is anything to go by interest in football in galway seems to be at an all time low
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 08, 2010, 10:22:39 AM
Interesting appointment, will be interesting to see how Tomás gets on in the west. I would safely say he'll take his backroom team from the clubs there, Seán Ó Domhnaill and the likes
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on October 08, 2010, 10:52:39 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on October 08, 2010, 10:22:39 AM
Interesting appointment, will be interesting to see how Tomás gets on in the west. I would safely say he'll take his backroom team from the clubs there, Seán Ó Domhnaill and the likes
No!  Had his year with Big Joe and I doubt very much if he will be involved this time round.  Better selectors out there than Sean Fada TBH.
Post by: Duine Eile on October 08, 2010, 10:58:00 AM
When Pat Fallon withdrew his name the rumour was it was because he was coming in as a selector. Don't know how true that is though.
Post by: Rossie11 on October 08, 2010, 11:03:16 AM
A great week for Galway..
New manager and a seriously handy draw for 2011 Connacht championship.
You play the winners of a game between 2 teams who didnt win a championship game
between them in 2010..
Whilst last years provincial finalists battle it out of the other side..
In fairness.....  :P

Post by: GaillimhIarthair on October 08, 2010, 11:03:35 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 08, 2010, 09:25:47 AM
Well tomas welcome to the mad world of connacht fotball jesus if this thread is anything to go by interest in football in galway seems to be at an all time low
We just dont have as many Galway posters on the board unlike our Mayo counter parts.  Any day now Im sure Oliver Stone or Clint Eastwood willl stumble on the 90 odd page Mayo Manager thread and direct some cinematic epic that will do the whole process justice  ;D  Sure you might even get a role as an extra Deel  :D :D
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on October 08, 2010, 03:32:46 PM
Another outsider. What recession!
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 08, 2010, 03:53:09 PM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on October 08, 2010, 11:03:35 AM
We just dont have as many Galway posters on the board unlike our Mayo counter parts.  Any day now Im sure Oliver Stone or Clint Eastwood willl stumble on the 90 odd page Mayo Manager thread and direct some cinematic epic that will do the whole process justice  ;D  Sure you might even get a role as an extra Deel  :D :D

some times you must feel like your the only galway poster gi ;) as for the movie probably get roddy doyle to write a book and then a movie   probably call it the committed  ;D
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on October 08, 2010, 04:10:55 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 08, 2010, 03:53:09 PM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on October 08, 2010, 11:03:35 AM

some times you must feel like your the only galway poster gi ;) as for the movie probably get roddy doyle to write a book and then a movie   probably call it the committed  ;D
Very Good! :D :D :D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 08, 2010, 09:00:35 PM
Is Tomas still based up in Dublin?
Post by: Rossfan on October 08, 2010, 09:18:36 PM
He'll nearly pollute  the atmosphere as much as Mercodwyer with all the drivin'  ::) ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 08, 2010, 10:18:12 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 08, 2010, 09:18:36 PM
He'll nearly pollute  the atmosphere as much as Mercodwyer with all the drivin'  ::) ;D ;D ;D

Class Rossfan, never heard of him been referred to as that! :D
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 09, 2010, 01:30:52 PM
QuoteTomas Ó Flatharta has revealed he feels privileged to have been appointed the new manager of the Galway Senior Football team.

Speaking exclusively on RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta from New York in his first interview since being handed the role, Ó Flatharta told Seán Bán Breathnach that his first priority would be to put together his backroom team.

Ó Flatharta stated he would be looking for well-respected, experienced members for the team who could work together as a unit.

'The first job I have to do over the coming weeks is to finalise my backroom team. I have to sit down with a few people. I will be looking for people who have experience of dealing with teams, that have respect within the game and that are willing to work as part of a unit.

'I don't want to name anyone right now but I do have a few people in mind and I will be talking to them.'

Ó Flatharta believes the job will prove a significant test of his managerial abilities.

'It's a great challenge but I am looking forward to it. Galway are a big team with a lot of good players and a great tradition going back over the years. It's a great privilege for me to get this job and I am really looking forward to it.

'Last year someone came to me and asked if I would be interested in the job. I was just after finishing with Westmeath and I did not think I would go back into management, but when I heard it was Galway I changed my mind and decided to go for it.

'I did not get it that time but I was approached again this year and I applied again. I did my interview and it must have gone well because they offered me the job, and I'm very happy with that.'

Galway will face London or Mayo in the semi-finals of the 2011 Connacht Championship.

After a disappointing 2010, the new manager has stressed the importance of improvement next season.

'I know that this is a big job, and I can't get hung up on what has happened to Galway over the last few years. I have to look forward, that is my job.

'We all have a lot of learning to do. We have to look at the way we play, and we have to look around the county for more players, find them and, if they are good enough, give them a chance.

'Galway have a tradition of playing great, open football. The style of play I like is an attacking style, but you have to take other styles of play that have emerged in recent years into account as well. You have to get a mixture of everything. We have a good bit of learning and improving to do.'
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on October 10, 2010, 10:50:49 PM
Best of luck to Tomas and whoever else ends up on the ticket, a tough station ahead for ye in 2011 because the players are simply not there.

Expectations are at a low point and unless Galway are going well the support is always very poor for the population we have.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on October 11, 2010, 02:10:41 PM
Ray Silke isn't too happy about the appointment, how it came about and the general state of football in the county: http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/blog/post/2010/10/11/O-Flathartas-biggest-rival-in-Galway-football-Apathy.aspx

We hear a lot of old shite in the (Dublin) media about how Connacht is always a two-horse race. No, it's not. If I were from Galway I would be deeply unhappy about all this.

O Flatharta's biggest rival in Galway football? Apathy.
October 11, 2010 10:45 by  Ray
Ray Silke
THINGS haven't been good in Galway football for quite a while now. Even from a distance, people appreciate and acknowledge that fact.
However during the process of selecting the new Galway manager, I noticed a new and sinister development in the county.
Apathy.
Many genuine supporters just seem to have lost their interest and passion for following the fortunes of Galway football. I asked a man who used to travel the country supporting the footballers ten years ago earlier in the week who he thought would get the job, and his reply hit hard;
"Who gives a toss*? The talent is not there, no matter who they get".   (*That is not the phrase he used. You know the one he did).
Some supporters have always been a fickle bunch, but even the die-hards are disinterested and disheartened by the constant defeats in the big games since 2001, and the slipshod manner in which a lot of things in Galway football are being done and have been done for the past few years.
Joe Kernan's appointment as county manager and the manner of his selection last year got a lot of tongues wagging, and the rant was anything but positive. His rapid departure only reaffirmed the rants.
As the joke goes in the county now - "It is not the lack of kick passing that is killing Galway football, but the solo runs from those in power".
To me there appears to be a complete disconnect with those that are the power brokers in the county and those that do the work on the ground, running clubs, and the supporters of the county teams.
There is a similarity between the relationship between the current government in power in Ireland and the citizens of the state, and the supporters of Galway football and some of the county board.
The fact that all club delegates were only sent texts late Thursday afternoon to be in the Galway football centre - Lough George - that night for a meeting to ratify Tomás Ó' Flatharta, tells you all you need to know about how they are being treated.
Keep them in the dark and then have a "snap-meeting" to stop any dissent at source. When you only give people three hours before a ratification process, they are not going to be able to get organised, even if they are unhappy.
That Peter Warren (Tuam Stars) who was a selector with John O'Mahony from 1998 to 2004 could be allowed to get a blast of text messages of congratulations on Thursday morning and numerous requests for interviews for Friday as probable Galway manager only highlights the way business is being done in the county
Anyway, looking to the future, will Tomás Ó Flatharta provide the vaccine to the apathy sweeping Galway football circles?
Nobody knows for sure, but it is asking an awful lot of a man that will have to commute from Dublin at a minimum of three or four times a week to work the oracle.
What was it Liam Sheedy said as he retired in Tipperary? - "16 hour working days" - and he did not have to spend four of them driving 220 miles, just to get to training sessions or trial games.
Being positive, progress under Ó'Flatharta would be seven or eight new players coming through to the senior squad, and being developed into better inter-county players and a bit of organisation and steel in the team when they go out to play big league games and championship.
New faces are needed badly in the Galway set-up. To prove my point; 12 of the 18 man panel used when Galway lost to Westmeath in 2006 (1-8 to 0-10) in the qualifiers (Ó'Flatharta was Westmeath manager) played for Galway in last summer's championship.
Tomás will face a baptism of fire and I would expect that the side will probably be relegated from Division 1 in the spring. 
They face Monaghan and Down away in their first two games and they have only three home games, against Mayo, Cork and Dublin.
It will be difficult to blood new players in that type of competitive environment and yet that is what must happen.
If the county is to be relegated a tier or two in order for new players to be tried out and developed in competitive inter-county league action, then so be it.
Sometimes you have to go backwards, to come forward.
In the championship, Ó' Flatharta will face Mayo in Castlebar - yes, they will beat London. And with a new man - James Horan - in situ in Mayo too, and a lot of their lads with much to prove after an utterly dismal 2010 championship run, that will not be easy. (In case you have forgotten, Mayo were defeated by Sligo & Longford. Galway were not any better, beaten by Sligo and Wexford at home).
John O'Mahony for his last three years, Peter Forde, Liam Sammon and Joe Kernan all discovered that there are major issues in Galway football and major problems.
Unfortunately, I think Tomás Ó Flatharta may be just the next victim to find out that there is a dearth of talent and proactive structures in the county.

Galway's 2011 Division One NFL fixtures:
Rd 1 Monaghan (away)
Rd 2 Down (away)
Rd 3 Mayo (home)
Rd 4 Kerry (away)
Rd 5 Cork (home)
Rd 6 Armagh (away)
Rd 7 Dublin (home)
Post by: seafoid on October 11, 2010, 03:31:39 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on October 08, 2010, 11:03:16 AM
A great week for Galway..
New manager and a seriously handy draw for 2011 Connacht championship.
You play the winners of a game between 2 teams who didnt win a championship game
between them in 2010..
Whilst last years provincial finalists battle it out of the other side..
In fairness.....  :P

nice to see the rossies with their tails up .. for a change.
If O Flatharta could make some tangible progress like winning a QF within say 2 years I'd be happy.  I wouldn't be too worried about the league. Galway have been much better in this competition than in the championship in the last few years and what does it mean anyway ?   As long as we win another blast of all-Irelands  before Mayo reach the 100th barren anniversary of 1951.. 
Post by: muppet on October 11, 2010, 11:07:56 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 11, 2010, 03:31:39 PM
nice to see the rossies with their tails up ..

It gives our boots a bigger target.  ;)
Post by: seafoid on October 12, 2010, 10:50:43 AM
Quote from: muppet on October 11, 2010, 11:07:56 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 11, 2010, 03:31:39 PM
nice to see the rossies with their tails up ..

It gives our boots a bigger target.  ;)

I would have some concerns about shooting accuracy. Fellas from longford might get hurt.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 26, 2010, 02:43:12 PM
QuoteNew Galway football manager Tomas O Flatharta has named former All-Ireland winners Sean Og de Paor and Martin McNamara as his selectors.

Double All-Star de Paor, who is currently involved as a selector with the Ireland International Rules squad, was a star half back on Galway's 1998 and 2001 All-Ireland winning teams, while McNamara was goalkeeper in '98 when the Tribesmen ended a 32-year wait for Sam Maguire honours.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 26, 2010, 03:43:45 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on October 08, 2010, 10:22:39 AM

Close enough