Any idea which hotel Down are going to after the final to show off SAM? Cork already have the Burlo booked!
If Down take the City West, I'm backing them. How many winners have been in City West over the recent past? I remember one of the years Kerry lost to Tyrone, they were in Jurys custom House. I knew it was a bad omen :D
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 31, 2010, 03:48:50 PM
If Down take the City West, I'm backing them. How many winners have been in City West over the recent past? I remember one of the years Kerry lost to Tyrone, they were in Jurys custom House. I knew it was a bad omen :D
we never won whenever we stayed there :(
Armagh was in the City West in 2003.
Quote from: ziggysego on August 31, 2010, 04:24:25 PM
was they ? ;)
Quote from: ziggysego on August 31, 2010, 04:24:25 PM
And 2002
Bit early for this. I think Sean Og has Friar Tuck's in Newry booked but just in case.
Quote from: the Deel Rover on August 31, 2010, 04:14:27 PM
Well to be honest we never won when we stayed anywhere.
Where did Down stay in 1991 & 94? I'm sure Cork have tried to find that lucky hotel since 1990
I have some recollection of Down staying in Malahide but having the banquet in the Burlington .
Heard they were down checking out the CityWest yesterday .
Citywest is now in the ownership of NAMA. The place could be closed in three weeks!
city west for sure
The hotel is the most important thing alright, it will decide the gam like.. :-\
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=25.msg844662#msg844662 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=25.msg844662#msg844662)
Post the All Ireland Final there will be a Banquet on Sunday evening 19 September 2010 at the City West Hotel in Dublin. The City West was chosen in order to facilitate as large as attendance as possible at the banquet and meet national media requirements. With this in mind banquet tickets have also been priced at £60 per head. An order form for banquet tickets will shortly be available to be downloaded from the Down GAA website and will also be forwarded to club secretaries in due course. Martina Casement at the County office: 028 4377 0880 will be co-ordinating the tickets for the post match banquet.
That's it. Lump on Down.
Up DOWN
Just grab a snac box after the game, taxi out to City West and gatecrash!! I know when Tyrone were there in 08 was no probs gettin in and joining the party, the more the merrier!
Match tickets guaranteed (and promised another 2 today), Citywest booked, Banquet sorted. :D
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 31, 2010, 10:58:54 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on August 31, 2010, 04:14:27 PM
Well to be honest we never won when we stayed anywhere.
Maybe Mayo teams should get the bus back home straight away then!
Any news on the homecoming after the banquet (win, lose, or draw)?
SURELY ALONG NEWRY CANAL ON THE 20TH NITE OF SEPTEMBER 2010 ;D
Well, Tipp are in the Burlington tonight and Kilkenny are at Citywest. So much for the 'winners' hotel' theory.
Whats the dress code for one of these banquets? I wasnt really into banquets in 91 and 94 so have no experience of them.
Quote from: panc56 on August 31, 2010, 03:27:57 PM
Any idea which hotel Down are going to after the final to show off SAM? Cork already have the Burlo booked!
(http://www.grimmemennesker.dk/data/media/2/LOL.jpg)
45 metres you are one bitter bollix, do us a favour and F off.
Brilliant 45 metres :D
It must have been a ball in Citywest last night. Imagine losing your first All Ireland Final then haing tolisten to Patrick Kielty as well :D
Quote from: T Fearon on September 20, 2010, 09:24:51 AM
Brilliant 45 metres :D
It must have been a ball in Citywest last night. Imagine losing your first All Ireland Final then haing tolisten to Patrick Kielty as well :D
Do you have many friends?
What sort of menu is normally served at a post all-Ireland banquet? Is it the usual wedding type shite of roast beef or salmon or is there more to it?
Seafoid i'd love you to explain what you think might replace 'wedding shite' in a banquet for footballers.
Seafoid, its exactly like a Wedding reception banquet. Was at Armagh's do in the Citywest in 2003. Bizarre experience. Ballroom readied for a party, Paddy Cole lined up to entertain etc, but it was more like a wake than a celebration. Stirring speeches from the County Chairman and big Joe resolving to return with Sam next year, group hug for Diarmuid Marsden on acount of the grave miscarriage of justice. At the end of the night every player was drunk out of his skull, and the mood was sombre to say the least. I suppose though we didn't have to listen to Paddy Kielty!
Quote from: T Fearon on September 20, 2010, 12:14:38 PM
Seafoid, its exactly like a Wedding reception banquet. Was at Armagh's do in the Citywest in 2003. Bizarre experience. Ballroom readied for a party, Paddy Cole lined up to entertain etc, but it was more like a wake than a celebration. Stirring speeches from the County Chairman and big Joe resolving to return with Sam next year, group hug for Diarmuid Marsden on acount of the grave miscarriage of justice. At the end of the night every player was drunk out of his skull, and the mood was sombre to say the least. I suppose though we didn't have to listen to Paddy Kielty!
Must have been cat alright !
Try telling the Birmingham 6, Guilford 4 etc about the grave miscarriage of justice Marsden suffered.....The Armagh 1
I bet they all went to bed with dreams of any easy QF win over Fermanagh...oh wait :o
I know we dont get to finals that often, but surely we can do better that what was on show last night in the Shitty West. It was badly organised, there were quite a few people left with no seats, some of whom deserve better for their service to their county. The food was dire. No I`ll be honest here and I`ll do it in my best French, it was fu*king awful. I know it cant be easy catering for the best part of 2000 people, but if the biggest hotel in the country cant get it right then who can.
Paddy Kielty. Paddy does one routine, end of. Sectarianism, with a dash of racism thrown in for good measure. He is not funny. He should have been dragged off the stage last night. His jokes about the waitresses were not in good taste and it says a lot for many of the patrons who found them funny. If you take the cliched sectarian jokes out of Paddys gig you are left with the square root of f*ck all. If he`d threw in a few mother in law gags he would have been an ideal replacement for Bernard Manning.
Quote from: MCMLX on September 20, 2010, 01:00:38 PM
I know we dont get to finals that often, but surely we can do better that what was on show last night in the Shitty West. It was badly organised, there were quite a few people left with no seats, some of whom deserve better for their service to their county. The food was dire. No I`ll be honest here and I`ll do it in my best French, it was f**king awful. I know it cant be easy catering for the best part of 2000 people, but if the biggest hotel in the country cant get it right then who can.
Paddy Kielty. Paddy does one routine, end of. Sectarianism, with a dash of racism thrown in for good measure. He is not funny. He should have been dragged off the stage last night. His jokes about the waitresses were not in good taste and it says a lot for many of the patrons who found them funny. If you take the cliched sectarian jokes out of Paddys gig you are left with the square root of f*ck all. If he`d threw in a few mother in law gags he would have been an ideal replacement for Bernard Manning.
Quote from: Leo on September 20, 2010, 01:14:01 PM
Quote from: MCMLX on September 20, 2010, 01:00:38 PM
I know we dont get to finals that often, but surely we can do better that what was on show last night in the Shitty West. It was badly organised, there were quite a few people left with no seats, some of whom deserve better for their service to their county. The food was dire. No I`ll be honest here and I`ll do it in my best French, it was f**king awful. I know it cant be easy catering for the best part of 2000 people, but if the biggest hotel in the country cant get it right then who can.
Agree full time with this post. Cringeworthy stuff at the worst organised event I have been at in years. Crap hotel, dingy, dirty venue in the middle of nowhere - some long-term Down sponsors who had no places allocated to them, you couldn't see the stage - have they no stage lighting? What was the point of big screens if there is no camera to show the players coming in? Nobody could see them. Why is a dirge of backgroiund music played in a packed hall where you have to shout at the person beside you to be heard? Awful stuff complimented by Kielty's inane and insulting and unfunny routine. Bad bad end to the journey.
It could have been worse... you might have had to listen to BigO or Gene Fitzpatrick ;D
Im guessing that the enjoyment of events like these really depend on the result of the game. Like if Down had had Sam there last night, they could have served up camel dung washed down with dogpiss and I'm sure everyone would have enjoyed it.
I heard Armagh's event in 2002 at Citywest was out of this world, but I know from being there that 2003 was a damp squib altogether.
Still its out of order not treating sponsors like Kings.
Quote from: T Fearon on September 20, 2010, 01:24:50 PM
It could have been worse... you might have had to listen to BigO or Gene Fitzpatrick ;D
Im guessing that the enjoyment of events like these really depend on the result of the game. Like if Down had had Sam there last night, they could have served up camel dung washed down with dogpiss and I'm sure everyone would have enjoyed it.
I heard Armagh's event in 2002 at Citywest was out of this world, but I know from being there that 2003 was a damp squib altogether.
I wouldn't normally respond to some tw*t who wasn't at the event but interestingly Kielty only had one funny line all night (which he probably picked up from a lesser known wag in the foyer who had said it earlier) namely that Down have now lost the same number of All-Irelands as Armagh have won (nice one, McCoy from Warrenpoint).
Quote from: Leo on September 20, 2010, 01:59:50 PM
I wouldn't normally respond to some tw*t who wasn't at the event but interestingly Kielty only had one funny line all night (which he probably picked up from a lesser known wag in the foyer who had said it earlier) namely that Down have now lost the same number of All-Irelands as Armagh have won (nice one, McCoy from Warrenpoint).
this is why most armagh fans fking hate down with a vengeance, we werent there yesterday but you still have to harp on about us
;D ;D ;D
Ye didnt have to watch Up for the Match or be at the banquet to realise that Paddy Keilty is very very unfunny.
this is why most armagh fans fking hate down with a vengeance, we werent there yesterday but you still have to harp on about us
If you chose to translate a gentle humorous neighbourly jibe into "hate" and vengeance" you are truly sad and far removed from the friendly cross-county banter that has been the hallmark of the healthy Down-Armagh rivalry for generations.
Quote from: Leo on September 20, 2010, 02:19:11 PM
If you chose to translate a gentle humorous neighbourly jibe into "hate" and vengeance" you are truly sad and far removed from the friendly cross-county banter that has been the hallmark of the healthy Down-Armagh rivalry for generations.
Its more to do with jealousy and frustration. Some armagh fans look over the fence at their neighbours role of honour and feel utterly frustrated that the best squad they have ever had only delivered once. To listen to some they would argue that armagh should have been in contention with Kerry and Tyrone for the title of team of the decade.
Of course Armagh will be mentioned, as many Down supporters would have had their downturn in fortunes brought to the fore and rubbed in by their neighbours. Now come full circle with the golden age of Armagh football at an end, all their more successful neighbours (Down,Louth and Tyrone) look into Armagh safe in the knowledge that they hold the bragging rights over them.
CityWest is in administration or examinership whatever you want to call it. I've been there a few times only because I had to - its not a nice place to go as far as I'm concerned. Too big and not enough "care" for what you are paying for.
I'd imagine the stories here would have been different if the Cup had been there but it wasn't. Not many people have experience of organising for such huge numbers and the hotels don't really care especially since the camera's weren't there.
Next time it'll be better organised - but in 2045 who reading this will be there? :D
Quote from: naka on September 20, 2010, 02:04:46 PM
this is why most armagh fans fking hate down with a vengeance,
Ah, So it's not jealousy then.. ;)
Jealous? Why? After all, Down haven't beaten Armagh in the Championship for nearly 20 years, and a young transitional Armagh team beat Down in a National Final at Croke Park this year by two points, while Cork could only manage a
Quote from: Hardy on September 01, 2010, 10:38:45 AM
Quote from: ross4life on September 01, 2010, 01:55:08 AM
Where did Down stay in 1991 & 94?
In front.
Anyone else remember that banner?
'The Man in front is Mickey Linden'
a 1 point win yesterday.
Armagh have been far in the ascendancy for at least ten years and there is evidence now to suggest Down are chokers on the big days at Croker as yesterday and this year's NFL Div 2 Final proves.
Down this year should inspire every middle of the road county as to what can be achieved in the modern era, with hard work, luck of the draw in the qualifiers, and referees who cannot discern square ball infringements.
They had a replica of that banner on the hill yesterday only Linden's name was replaced with Coulter.
The funniest banner I saw though was "Brolly for the bullshit, Cork for Sam!" :D
I thought it said "Marty Clarke is big DOWN under".
Still would love to know why you hate Down so much Hardstation.
I can see why you'd feel letdown at a massive banquet, but the one after the AI is something I'd love to attend just once to get the jist for myself.
As for Citywest, I stayed there once and wasn't a fan. Too big is ok if you have the staff to support it, but they clearly didn't - the reception desk was tiny and the breakfast area was like a works canteen. No manager or someone-in-charge anywhere to be seen. A major chain like Hilton or Marriott would do a fine job with it actually.
Catering for 1600 must be a nightmare but this event is primarily for the players, their families and friends. While Kielty clearly wasn't everyone's cup of tea,I thought he was funny and did the almost impossible job of lifting our spirits.I can't imagine what it would have been like if we had won.
Quote from: Dubh driocht on September 20, 2010, 07:46:59 PM
Catering for 1600 must be a nightmare but this event is primarily for the players, their families and friends. While Kielty clearly wasn't everyone's cup of tea,I thought he was funny and did the almost impossible job of lifting our spirits.I can't imagine what it would have been like if we had won.
It is not primarily for the players and their families - I would say they find it a nightmare, especially after defeat. It is (or at least in this caase clearly was) a money making exercise for the county board.
AS for Kielty, funny does not belong in the same language. He spent the first 5 minutes trying to get people to cheer hhis own introdcution of himself ( a reflection of the disinterested responese he initially received) he then proceeded wit ha charade of "pretending we won" which was an insult to the players. It was all downhill after that and if this is the so-called "Down Way" then it is a new way and one not to be welcomed.
In contrast a great turn-out at Newry tonight were treated to a dignified and really uplifting genuine speech from Ambrose Rodgers that would rally any troups.
Re Banquet-
Food and waiter service dire, more door staff on duty than waiting staff - priority obviously on income generation not service ouput- more PLC guff Paddy Kielty - unimaginative and crass, his Kelly Brooke comment totally out of place
Cringe worthy interviews from guys who would rather be anywhere rather than on that stage
Chaotic shambles of a start to the evening- some guys enjoying a free reception elsewhere whilst the masses waited... and waited...
Given that we had just lost an AI however i thought the mood amongst the majority of attendees was positive and even the rain sodden walk back to the bus, bad organisation, poor food and crap service - didnt detract from that great feeling of being being a down man, it was brilliant to be amongst so many proud Down people, gracious in defeat and focused on the future!
In the wee small hours i stumbled upon a tete a tete between wee James, Paddy Mo and Micky Linden- a fatherly stance from Paddy Mo and Mickeys hand resting on james shoulder reassuring and sincere- i went to bed content that the future of Down football was in good hands -a special memory from a day i didnt think i would see
Down people have hardly discerning palates in any event. In a q&a session in last week's Irish News, Benny's retort to the favourite food question was Friar Tucks :D. He'll not be bumping into Gordon Ramsey anytime soon ;D
Hilarious altogether.
Really.
seriously.
Friar Tucks...Gordonn Ramsay (Ba-dum-tish!!)
Its the way you tell them Tony
FFS, Who when asked to name their favourite food, would say "Friar Tucks!" I mean, FFS, :D. I bet even the dimmest Premiership soccer player woulod come up with something more sophisticated, like steak and chips or something
Now that he's been to Croke Park a few times perhaps next year Benny will upgrade his taste, to the Croke Park Hot Dog, Drink and Grab bag meal deal :D
Yes Tony, you're right (as always) what was Benny Coulter thinking.
I mean, even the dimmest premiership soccer player could come with something more sophisticated like stealk and chips.
That one about the Croke Park hot dog, drink & grab bag meal deal is definitely a keeper.
How do you think these up, your material is up there with the best.
Tell us another nugget.
Please.
From what i hear Tony, you are brave and fond of Friar tucks yourself ,maybe even a little john ln the making ...unlike Benny of course... you dont do the GIGO bit - ya know garbage in garbage out!
Whilst i know i should ignore you, quoting trivia from a space filling folly in the the Irish news is a new low in half assed put downs - get a life! ya sadsack
Oh dear, clearly it going to take a little while for the pain of yesterday to subside.
Incidentally I wouldn't be seen dead in Friar Tucks, far too expensive, you'd get an extra large double meal in Mc Donalds for the price of a bog standard burger and chips in Friars :D
No pain Tony none at all - the better team on the day won, fair and square...... yes im sorry Sams not in Down tonight but there ya go ..its a new day move on......
On in relation to your gourmet palate ...yep. -id say you have had a fair share of extra large double meals in macdonalds ,
Dont know what the fuss is about with you fearon. Friar Tucks is unreal. Who doesnt love gettin their teeth into one of their famous chicken burgers? Quality. God, Im psyched for lunchtime now....
No quality issues..price is too expensive
Quote from: T Fearon on September 20, 2010, 02:54:52 PM
Jealous? Why? After all, Down haven't beaten Armagh in the Championship for nearly 20 years, and a young transitional Armagh team beat Down in a National Final at Croke Park this year by two points, while Cork could only manage a
Ah, grand so...Your 1 All Ireland all those years ago is better than our 5 All Irelands from all those years ago...Forgot about that.... :D
Quote from: omagh_gael on September 20, 2010, 12:44:20 PM
I bet they all went to bed with dreams of any easy QF win over Fermanagh...oh wait :o
Mayo??
Quote from: Donkeywalloper on September 20, 2010, 02:30:55 PM
Quote from: Leo on September 20, 2010, 02:19:11 PM
Its more to do with jealousy and frustration. Some armagh fans look over the fence at their neighbours role of honour and feel utterly frustrated that the best squad they have ever had only delivered once. To listen to some they would argue that armagh should have been in contention with Kerry and Tyrone for the title of team of the decade.
Of course Armagh will be mentioned, as many Down supporters would have had their downturn in fortunes brought to the fore and rubbed in by their neighbours. Now come full circle with the golden age of Armagh football at an end, all their more successful neighbours (Down,Louth and Tyrone) look into Armagh safe in the knowledge that they hold the bragging rights over them.
Louth, catch a grip. Also at least we in Armagh have had a Golden Age. You might remove the plank from your own eye there. Of course it is natural to look at Tyrone and Down with some envy, show me another Ulster County in the modern era that can't. And most neutral observers also place Armagh up there with Tyrone and Kerry in the noughties. An interesting statistic produced by the Tribune on Sunday, that well know Armagh Fanzine placed Armagh as the 4th most consistent team of 2010 in the top flight behind Down and Cork.
Quote from: Naomh Pol CLG on September 21, 2010, 10:15:58 AM
Ah, grand so...Your 1 All Ireland all those years ago is better than our 5 All Irelands from all those years ago...Forgot about that.... :D
Why is it that Down are the only county who keep harping on about All Irelands won 50 years ago. I dont know any other county who'd harps on about past glories so much....
Quote from: Applesisapples on September 21, 2010, 11:29:03 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on September 20, 2010, 12:44:20 PM
Mayo??
Two Sam's in three years eased that particular pain pretty quickly ;)
Children please!
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 21, 2010, 11:49:25 AM
Why is it that Down are the only county who keep harping on about All Irelands won 50 years ago. I dont know any other county who'd harps on about past glories so much....
It is nice to have history and past glories, and the class that goes with it ;). It is not just Down who go on about 1960. Every serious commentator on gaelic Games recognise that as a sea change in gaelic Games.No matter what county you go to in Ireland ( well bar one) we are constantly reminded of what that team of the sixties did for gaelic football.
Each era is defined by certain teams such as Kerry & Dublin in the 70s & early eighties, the northern breakthrough in the nineties and the high standards set by Tyrone & Kerry in the noughties.
Incredible bitterness and warped minds that have been polluting these threads since sunday from a very jealous neighbour.
Quote from: T Fearon on September 20, 2010, 10:28:48 PM
Oh dear, clearly it going to take a little while for the pain of yesterday to subside.
Incidentally I wouldn't be seen dead in Friar Tucks, far too expensive, you'd get an extra large double meal in Mc Donalds for the price of a bog standard burger and chips in Friars :D
I'm surprised you don't have
reservations about posting on a thread involving CityWest Tony.
Quote from: muppet on September 21, 2010, 03:15:30 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 20, 2010, 10:28:48 PM
I'm surprised you don't have reservations about posting on a thread involving CityWest Tony.
Oh he has Muppet, but they're not the right ones.
:D :D :D I do. The applemunchers have no choice but too, to feel accepted/ validated. Their inferiority complex is on another level altogether. Hardly suprising when they are surrounded by Louth,Down and Tyrone, all much much more successful counties.
Quote from: norabeag on September 21, 2010, 02:36:37 PM
It is nice to have history and past glories, and the class that goes with it ;). It is not just Down who go on about 1960. Every serious commentator on gaelic Games recognise that as a sea change in gaelic Games.No matter what county you go to in Ireland ( well bar one) we are constantly reminded of what that team of the sixties did for gaelic football.
Each era is defined by certain teams such as Kerry & Dublin in the 70s & early eighties, the northern breakthrough in the nineties and the high standards set by Tyrone & Kerry in the noughties.
Incredible bitterness and warped minds that have been polluting these threads since sunday from a very jealous neighbour.
Surely the Galway 3 in a row side define the 1960s?
Great praise of Paddy Kielty's contribution to the banquet in today's Irish News. Heaney noted that having a jibe at Armagh was the highlight of the night for most there.
Obsessed. :)
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on September 21, 2010, 03:35:38 PM
Surely the Galway 3 in a row side define the 1960s?
Great praise of Paddy Kielty's contribution to the banquet in today's Irish News. Heaney noted that having a jibe at Armagh was the highlight of the night for most there.
That was Paddy' Heaney's opinion and he's a Derryman. Will have a word with him re his obsession
Are Armagh and Down the new Armagh and Tyrone??? :P
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 21, 2010, 03:55:02 PM
Armagh and Down were around a lot longer than Armagh and Tyrone tensions :P
Quote from: ziggysego on September 21, 2010, 03:59:01 PM
Not when it comes to all threads reverting to these two counties. What have we to look forward to in the years ahead, Jaysus I'd love to see Tipperary and Clare kick off like it was the late nineties in the hurling section, some proper bitterness there...
Quote from: Donkeywalloper on September 21, 2010, 03:25:09 PM
You keep harping on about Louth they have won as much as Antrim
:D :D :D I do. The applemunchers have no choice but too, to feel accepted/ validated. Their inferiority complex is on another level altogether. Hardly suprising when they are surrounded by Louth,Down and Tyrone, all much much more successful counties.
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 21, 2010, 04:04:28 PM
Not when it comes to all threads reverting to these two counties. What have we to look forward to in the years ahead, Jaysus I'd love to see Tipperary and Clare kick off like it was the late nineties in the hurling section, some proper bitterness there...
Jez, that was something alright, Loughnane milked the smiling Nicky thing to the end, then wee Davy getting tore into a Tipp under-21 in a munster championship game when he was managing Clare U-21's.
I thought the Tipp/Galway tet-a-tet in the 80's was something else culminating in the Keady affair. Now that still hasn't settled going by this years quarter final build up where Bab's, the wee short arsed Tipp midfielder of the time, can't for the life of me remember his name and big Pete Finnerty still holding grudges over it. Some of the things to happen during the games and alleged comments made to some players were savage.
Tipp must have a rake of lardy bullshitters in their midst. Armagh have only the one.
Quote from: johnneycool on September 21, 2010, 04:45:51 PM
Jez, that was something alright, Loughnane milked the smiling Nicky thing to the end, then wee Davy getting tore into a Tipp under-21 in a munster championship game when he was managing Clare U-21's.
I thought the Tipp/Galway tet-a-tet in the 80's was something else culminating in the Keady affair. Now that still hasn't settled going by this years quarter final build up where Bab's, the wee short arsed Tipp midfielder of the time, can't for the life of me remember his name and big Pete Finnerty still holding grudges over it. Some of the things to happen during the games and alleged comments made to some players were savage.
Tipp must have a rake of lardy bullshitters in their midst. Armagh have only the one.
Leahy?
Quote from: muppet on September 21, 2010, 04:48:09 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 21, 2010, 04:45:51 PM
Leahy?
No, it wasn't him, he was in the half forwards then in his younger days.
Joe Hayes, thank god for google.
Ah I'd have a lot of time for Joe Hayes, think them interviews were mostly tongue in cheek and exaggerated for the cameras although they couldn't stand each other at the time. Saying that I'd disregard anything Bab's & Leahy say, Jaysus Leahy was trying to take credit for Tipp's win in the Times last week after pillorying them all summer, himself & Bab's are some operators ::)
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on September 21, 2010, 03:35:38 PM
I do hope Heaney's article was tongue in cheek otherwise Irish News objectivity has gone out the window. By any standards Kielty was juvenile, insulting, obsessed with the F word and his own importance, roaring into the mic like a drunk at a wedding and was about as funny as , well, a drunk at a wedding. Heaney ignores the blue so-called "humour" that had no place at a GAA banquet and certainly not one attended by many children.
Maybe Down will use Gene Fitzpatrick next year. After all some of his jokes were heard for
the first time in 1960, when Kevin Mussen was lifting Sam!
Quote from: T Fearon on September 21, 2010, 07:36:13 PM
Maybe Down will use Gene Fitzpatrick next year. After all some of his jokes were heard for
As opposed to that famous riveting magical Armagh GAA-loving comedian .....
eh .......
eh ......
goes by the name of Burns I believe.
Why would you want to be going to these banquets anyway?
Is the Flannerys -> Coppers post-match night out not good enough for yee?
Quote from: T Fearon on September 20, 2010, 03:00:08 PM
They had a replica of that banner on the hill yesterday only Linden's name was replaced with Coulter.
The funniest banner I saw though was "Brolly for the bullshit, Cork for Sam!" :D
I took a photo of it on Sunday
(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/IMG_1049.jpg)
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 21, 2010, 08:00:18 PM
the 2 biggest sh1tholes in the capital. full of k.nobs
Quote from: snoopdog on September 21, 2010, 08:27:35 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on September 21, 2010, 08:00:18 PM
the 2 biggest sh1tholes in the capital. full of k.nobs
what are ye on about..... flipping deadly, well coppers was on sat nite.....
big shout out to ciaran the dub taxi-man, got us straight in must have skipped over 300+ people!
I was in Coppers back in 2005. Met a really nice Kerry blade, but my Fermanagh mate ruined my chances with her! >:(
i just read through the thread there ..... my goodness t fearon do you talk a load of dung....!
whatever helps you sleep at night ::)
Donkey
I do. The applemunchers have no choice but too, to feel accepted/ validated. Their inferiority complex is on another level altogether. Hardly suprising when they are surrounded by Louth,Down and Tyrone, all much much more successful counties.
Personally I don't really care about Tyrone, where I'm from is a few miles from Louth, Down and Monaghan. Please tell me why I should be jealous of any of those counties?
I fail to see why down people maintian that having won things in the past bestows class upon a county.
Even though we lost i was disappointed with the way some players conducted themselves in the aftermath of the defeat.. a few left of the banquet and some did not arrive back to the hotel until monday morning!!! Half of the players could hardly see the homecoming!! It was not a good example for the kids
Quote from: downjim on September 22, 2010, 08:47:38 PM
Even though we lost i was disappointed with the way some players conducted themselves in the aftermath of the defeat.. a few left of the banquet and some did not arrive back to the hotel until monday morning!!! Half of the players could hardly see the homecoming!! It was not a good example for the kids
The boys have hardly got a drink all year, i think they deservd to go and have a session.
Will someone think of the children players.
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on September 22, 2010, 09:24:12 PM
The boys have hardly got a drink all year, i think they deservd to go and have a session.
Agree. If I had to choose between a sombre formal banquet and going on the pull in Coppers it would be no contest. Especially after being on a strict drink ban for the most part of the year.
This is unbelievable. Surely the Down team should have stayed together on Sunday night, as Armagh did at the Citywest in 2003, and by the end of that night a hell of a lot of the players had made up for lost time at the bar all season, I can tell you
Was just saying to a friend of mine earlier how dignified the Cork players were at the homecoming. They probably had a few beers ok but not that many. One of them gave an interview to a local paper and said Conor Counihan was big into the image portrayed by the players.
I rthink the motto here is "The team that plays together, should stay together!" ;D
Seroously I can't believe some Down players went awol from this function. Hugely disrespectful to all and sundry, County Board, Sponsors and supporters
Quote from: T Fearon on September 22, 2010, 11:21:18 PM
I rthink the motto here is "The team that plays together, should stay together!" ;D
Seroously I can't believe some Down players went awol from this function. Hugely disrespectful to all and sundry, County Board, Sponsors and supporters
Where is this nonesense coming from? No one went AWOL (to use your British army phraseology)
Every single Down player was at the (awful) banquet. I left at 12.30 and they were all still there. If some of them then left to be with family or friends, great, fair play to them. Non story. Move on.
(//)http://media.photobucket.com/image/fat+man+pole+dancing/dai-laffin/pole%2520dancing/super-fat-man-on-a-scooter.jpg
Tony Fearon on his way to Citywest after Sundays game.
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on September 22, 2010, 09:24:12 PM
You obviously don't frequent the Canal Court!
Quote from: Leo on September 23, 2010, 12:01:00 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on September 22, 2010, 11:21:18 PM
Where is this nonesense coming from? No one went AWOL (to use your British army phraseology)
Every single Down player was at the (awful) banquet. I left at 12.30 and they were all still there. If some of them then left to be with family or friends, great, fair play to them. Non story. Move on.
I understood that some of them did leave fairly soon after the dinner. Don't see any ral problem with it myself. They're the ones who put the effort in all year, they are entitled to a bit of choice in where they socialise.
i've been reading for 6 pages of how shite the banquet was - why then have any of you got a problem if the players left it to go somewhere else late on?
They should have stayed and been miserable all night with the fans ;D
How did Benny Coulter enjoy the banquet????
I have it on very good authority that the Citywest staff were delighted with the way the Down camp conducted themselves . "Very mannerly young men and a credit to their county" was the exact quote .
As they counted the thousands of euros......
What has that got to do with the staff ? who only got their days wages regardless of how the players and fans behaved ?
Quote from: rionach 4 on September 23, 2010, 12:17:05 PM
Benny Coulter,like every other player I saw, behaved perfectly. It constantly amazes me how decent, down to earth and unassuming top-level Gaelic footballers and Hurlers are.Having put so much into training and playing over the last 9 months for no financial reward, lose an All Ireland final by a kick of a ball and then be so patient and understanding with supporters, many of whom who are unknown to you or the worse for wear, is incredible.
Before Sunday, I thought the current squad were great role-models in County Down.
Now I know that they are great role-models for the whole of Ireland
Jesus wept
Quote from: Dubh driocht on September 23, 2010, 06:44:07 PM
Benny Coulter,like every other player I saw, behaved perfectly. It constantly amazes me how decent, down to earth and unassuming top-level Gaelic footballers and Hurlers are.Having put so much into training and playing over the last 9 months for no financial reward, lose an All Ireland final by a kick of a ball and then be so patient and understanding with supporters, many of whom who are unknown to you or the worse for wear, is incredible.
Before Sunday, I thought the current squad were great role-models in County Down.
Oh, jesus h christ...now the Nordies have invented behaving oneself at the post match function ! ....lads is there anything ye haven't invented.
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 24, 2010, 04:13:49 AM
Oh, jesus h christ...now the Nordies have invented behaving oneself at the post match function ! ....lads is there anything ye haven't invented.
Partition you guys did that all by yourselves. At least we keep our clothes on when we are in hotel public areas.
Quote from: Applesisapples on September 24, 2010, 08:44:55 AM
Partition you guys did that all by yourselves. At least we keep our clothes on when we are in hotel public areas.
That was the Rossies. ;)
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 24, 2010, 11:05:18 AM
That was the Rossies. ;)
Yiz are all freestaters!! :D
Quote from: Applesisapples on September 24, 2010, 01:06:32 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 24, 2010, 11:05:18 AM
That was the Rossies. ;)
Yiz are all freestaters!! :D
Is that what they call nudists these days?
Unlike you lot, we didnt allow the plantation of our province to succeed. If you lads had shown a bit more gumption back in the day instead of having all your Earls run away to France then the conditions for partition would never have existed.
So its all your own fault.
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 24, 2010, 07:58:48 PM
Unlike you lot, we didnt allow the plantation of our province to succeed. If you lads had shown a bit more gumption back in the day instead of having all your Earls run away to France then the conditions for partition would never have existed.
Excellent post Mike, it shows just what you know about Irish history. Maith thú
I heard Down's banquet was reduced at the last minute from 6 courses to 5, and that sour grapes, gutted sole, and kangaroo burgers were all on the menu ;D
Quote from: T Fearon on September 25, 2010, 10:57:11 AM
I heard Down's banquet was reduced at the last minute from 6 courses to 5, and that sour grapes, gutted sole, and kangaroo burgers were all on the menu ;D
No call for sour grapes. we took our defeat on the chin. Not like Armagh in 2003.
They just went on holidays, and the operator went bust!!
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on September 24, 2010, 08:06:47 PM
Excellent post Mike, it shows just what you know about Irish history. Maith thú
go on so, educate me as to why the plantation in Ulster suceeded while Munster was purged of the planters.
I look forward to your excuses.
Munster was purged of the planters? This is what I mean, you have no clue about history Mike, not even the history of your own county or province.
Don't ask me to explain as I haven't got the time nor inclination to do so. I have 2 boys under 2, the elder of which has more sense than you
I knew you were a bluffer.
It was a Munster man that signed us away.
Plus, you shot him for his troubles.
Think you are the bluffer Mike, or else you really do not know your History