Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Real Laoislad on August 10, 2010, 08:56:41 PM

Title: USPGA Championship 2010
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 10, 2010, 08:56:41 PM
As far as I know my aul pal Westwood won't be competing this week.
Tiger was awful last week so only a fool would back him surely?
Didn't realise Shane Lowry had qualified until I saw his name on paddypower

My bets are

Tiger Woods  :) @ 16/1 €10 e/w
Jim Furyk @ 35/1 €10 e/w
Justin Rose @ 45/1 €5 e/w
For the craic Shane Lowry to finish Top 10 €10 @ 18/1
Title: Re: USPGA Championship 2010
Post by: thewobbler on August 10, 2010, 09:19:38 PM
Betting on golf is for mugs.

Choi, Clarke and Singh, each £2ew.
Post by: Rois on August 12, 2010, 12:45:53 PM
We're doing a pot in work for this - someone tell me who to put my fiver on. 

Post by: AZOffaly on August 12, 2010, 12:58:55 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 10, 2010, 08:56:41 PM
As far as I know my aul pal Westwood won't be competing this week.
Tiger was awful last week so only a fool would back him surely?
Didn't realise Shane Lowry had qualified until I saw his name on paddypower

My bets are

Tiger Woods  :) @ 16/1 €10 e/w
Jim Furyk @ 35/1 €10 e/w
Justin Rose @ 45/1 €5 e/w
For the craic Shane Lowry to finish Top 10 €10 @ 18/1

Depends how Lorwy handles the whole first Major in the US thing. But it is as close to Links as you get over there, so he might well be worth that tenner at 18/1.
Post by: Billys Boots on August 12, 2010, 01:11:05 PM
Quote from: Rois on August 12, 2010, 12:45:53 PM

John Duggan (Today FM) is a bit of a golf punter and he tipped Adam Scott this morning.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on August 12, 2010, 01:11:26 PM
Notice this txt from a punter on the BBC coverage of the USPGA

"I have a bet on Justin Leonard which I thought was a steal at 125/1 but I accidentally wrote Jason Leonard on the slip. Any chance England's most capped prop has a chance this weekend?"

Post by: beer baron on August 12, 2010, 01:19:54 PM
Tenner on woods at 16/1 purely because i couldn't live with myself if he won at that price and i didn't have him backed!Heard hes playing dire though! 2.50 e/w on jimenez as well because ive a soft spot for him.
Post by: Rois on August 12, 2010, 01:28:03 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on August 12, 2010, 01:11:05 PM

John Duggan (Today FM) is a bit of a golf punter and he tipped Adam Scott this morning.

One of the guys in here beat me to that one. 
I stuck my fiver on Bubba Watson cause he was the first person tipped on golf365.com.  I know flippin nothing about golf or Mr Watson but he won some tournament recently.
Post by: Rossie11 on August 12, 2010, 01:50:38 PM
South Africa all the way
Goosen 35/1 Schwartzel 110/1 and Oosthuizan 70/1

Might back Harrington in-running if he starts well. Think he has a great chance
Post by: muppet on August 12, 2010, 02:25:25 PM
Quote from: Rois on August 12, 2010, 01:28:03 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on August 12, 2010, 01:11:05 PM

One of the guys in here beat me to that one. 
I stuck my fiver on Bubba Watson cause he was the first person tipped on golf365.com.  I know flippin nothing about golf or Mr Watson but he won some tournament recently.

He won the Louisiana U-19 B amateur golf Championship after the two leaders were disqualified.
Post by: Rois on August 12, 2010, 02:45:19 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 12, 2010, 02:25:25 PM

He won the Louisiana U-19 B amateur golf Championship after the two leaders were disqualified.

Clueless but not stupid.  Think he won a tournament held on a course near the Upper Springfield Road in Belfast.  Travelers Championship it was called.
Post by: AZOffaly on August 12, 2010, 02:50:37 PM
Rory McIlroy might be worth a punt.
Post by: Catch the high ball on August 12, 2010, 03:10:26 PM
Just backed Darren Clarke at 125/1 each way, Anthony Km 100/1 each wayand Nick Watney 50/1 to win.

Paddy Power is paying 6 places each way.
Post by: Puckoon on August 12, 2010, 03:22:04 PM
If Sean O'Hair keeps the form his displayed for most of the bridgstone invitational, he will do well. Hit's the ball very very straight.
Post by: maco on August 12, 2010, 03:39:23 PM
Mike Weir @ 200-1 and Zach Johnston @ 100-1 carry my hopes for the weekend.
Post by: Rossie11 on August 12, 2010, 03:50:50 PM
Fog is lifting.. Good stuff
Post by: Canalman on August 12, 2010, 04:44:09 PM
Have E5 e/w on both Graham McDowell and Adam Scott.
Post by: Rois on August 12, 2010, 04:45:54 PM
Bubba Watson wasn't available to bet on in the bookies my colleagues went to  ???

Stuck the money on Hunter Mahan. 
Post by: Doogie Browser on August 12, 2010, 04:47:26 PM
Boo Weekly and Anthony Kim each way for Doogie.
Post by: angermanagement on August 12, 2010, 05:31:52 PM
Choi 66/1 and Appleby 33/1 for me.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on August 12, 2010, 05:39:37 PM
Pointer 80-1 & casey 40-1 are my hopes
Post by: Catch the high ball on August 12, 2010, 05:57:48 PM
Anybody got any good links for the Golf?
Post by: Catch the high ball on August 12, 2010, 09:11:50 PM
Quote from: Rois on August 12, 2010, 04:45:54 PM
Bubba Watson wasn't available to bet on in the bookies my colleagues went to  ???

Stuck the money on Hunter Mahan.

Bubba is 1 shot of the lead after 13 holes, for your sake I hope he doesn't win. Maybe your colleagues were not familiar with the gambling etiquette! ;D
Post by: mc_grens on August 12, 2010, 09:46:56 PM
Quote from the Sports Guy, Bill Simmons after two holes...

QuoteBirdie, birdie... wait a second, is Tiger in Eff You Mode??? Hide the women, children and cocktail waitresses!!! He's back!

Post by: Hoof Hearted on August 12, 2010, 11:44:20 PM
Quote from: Catch the high ball on August 12, 2010, 05:57:48 PM

St.Andrews
Post by: omagh_gael on August 13, 2010, 12:40:57 AM
Shane Lowry playing a blinder so far. Three under through 5!
Post by: Celt_Man on August 13, 2010, 12:58:34 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on August 13, 2010, 12:40:57 AM
Shane Lowry playing a blinder so far. Three under through 5!

Aye serious start from Lowry... Harrington play a stinker I take it?
Post by: sammymaguire on August 13, 2010, 08:22:05 AM
Tiger @ 8s, Molinari @ 20/1 and Clarke @ 40/1 will keep me interested till the end surely...
Post by: offtheground on August 13, 2010, 08:50:55 AM
Quote from: Catch the high ball on August 12, 2010, 05:57:48 PM

http://www.pga.com/pgachampionship/2010/scoring/ (http://www.pga.com/pgachampionship/2010/scoring/)
Post by: Brick Tamlin on August 13, 2010, 01:06:09 PM
Jim Furyk, Chad Campbell & Zak Johnson
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on August 13, 2010, 02:59:07 PM
Play delayed again by fog...can they not use yellow balls??
Post by: Celt_Man on August 13, 2010, 03:30:06 PM
What are the personal issues that Monty is going through - for the second time this year apparently?!
Post by: Geoff Tipps on August 13, 2010, 05:06:02 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on August 13, 2010, 03:30:06 PM
What are the personal issues that Monty is going through - for the second time this year apparently?!

He was caught playing away from home and it's alleged he's got one of thoese super injunctions out on some sunday rag so they can't print yer one's story.
Post by: ONeill on August 13, 2010, 08:25:05 PM
The Big Fcukin Dungannon Puddin shoulda stayed in his leaba.
Post by: omagh_gael on August 13, 2010, 11:24:01 PM
McIlroy -5 and tied 4th. Going well.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 13, 2010, 11:47:21 PM
Lowry must have had a disaster back 9,last I checked he was even par now he is +5..
Harrington will have to put in a good round to keep the Irish flag flying at this,they reckon the cut will be +2 and Harry is +3 and just starting his 18 now
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 14, 2010, 09:46:34 AM
Rory will keep her flying ;-)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 14, 2010, 10:41:17 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 13, 2010, 11:47:21 PM
Lowry must have had a disaster back 9,last I checked he was even par now he is +5..
Harrington will have to put in a good round to keep the Irish flag flying at this,they reckon the cut will be +2 and Harry is +3 and just starting his 18 now

Harrington back to even par now after playing 7 holes last night,will finish his round this morning, another few birdies and he might even be in contention on Sunday
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 14, 2010, 10:48:24 AM
how is tiger doing ?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 14, 2010, 10:49:31 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on August 14, 2010, 10:48:24 AM
who is tiger doing ?

Some waitress from the local take away.. :)

-1 after 6,will resume today
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 14, 2010, 10:53:15 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 14, 2010, 10:49:31 AM
who is tiger doing ?

cheers LL did not realise the 2nd round wasn't completed yesterday , so will tiger have to play 30 holes today ? hope he has the stamina for 30 holes
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 14, 2010, 11:06:22 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on August 14, 2010, 10:53:15 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 14, 2010, 10:49:31 AM
who is tiger doing ?

cheers LL did not realise the 2nd round wasn't completed yesterday , so will tiger have to play 30 holes today ? hope he has the stamina for 30 holes

He will if there's hair on them..
Post by: screenexile on August 15, 2010, 11:21:04 AM
Can Rory do it today???
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 15, 2010, 01:24:52 PM
If he was leading I would give him less of chance but he's 3 shots off and chasing perfect position for him, definitely worth a punt and I thnk he'll go close. Would love it...
Post by: Catch the high ball on August 15, 2010, 06:19:59 PM
When does Mc Ilroy tee off?
Post by: DrinkingHarp on August 15, 2010, 07:02:06 PM
Quote from: Catch the high ball on August 15, 2010, 06:19:59 PM
When does Mc Ilroy tee off?

Half hour from now--7:26    2:26ET
Post by: Minder on August 15, 2010, 07:47:53 PM
Double bogey by Watney at the first.
Post by: omagh_gael on August 15, 2010, 07:51:08 PM
Quote from: Minder on August 15, 2010, 07:47:53 PM

Exxxxxcellent *rubs hands together*
Post by: Catch the high ball on August 15, 2010, 08:03:04 PM

What do I do? I have 3 quid on Watney at 50/1, see page 2. So its either 150 smackers or homeboy Rory? Head or heart?

At this stage I'd rather see Mc Ilroy do it tbh.
Post by: highorlow on August 15, 2010, 08:03:30 PM
Just to let everyone know that this is available to view online.
Post by: randomtask on August 15, 2010, 08:14:20 PM
Where can I watch online?
Post by: highorlow on August 15, 2010, 08:32:58 PM
My mistake its only the leaders (or the leaders at the start of the day) and the Par 3's they are showing.

Google USPGA and you will get it.
Post by: down6061689194 on August 15, 2010, 08:36:07 PM
Quote from: Catch the high ball on August 15, 2010, 08:03:04 PM

What do I do? I have 3 quid on Watney at 50/1, see page 2. So its either 150 smackers or homeboy Rory? Head or heart?

At this stage I'd rather see Mc Ilroy do it tbh.

LAY!

Pre round you could have laid for maybe £20.
Then have £17 on Mcilroy at a good price & loose nothing.

Rors is playing some great up and downs.
If he gets a few circles on his card he could win this at a canter.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 15, 2010, 08:48:58 PM
Good night of golf ahead hopefully.
Would like to see Kaymer win even though I have a few quid on Furyk.
Post by: ceiphas50 on August 15, 2010, 08:53:08 PM
http://atdhe.net/16936/watch-us-pga-championship
American Comms but perfect reception
Post by: Maiden1 on August 15, 2010, 09:27:54 PM
Quote from: ceiphas50 on August 15, 2010, 08:53:08 PM
http://atdhe.net/16936/watch-us-pga-championship
American Comms but perfect reception

That site only shows the final pair.  Is there any ones which will show a few of the other players i.e.  McIlroy
Title: Re
Post by: stiffler on August 15, 2010, 09:56:14 PM
Great birdie by rory. Kaymer 2 shots clear now
Post by: mick999 on August 15, 2010, 10:13:54 PM
http://www.p2pstream.info/2010/06/channel-1.html (http://www.p2pstream.info/2010/06/channel-1.html)
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on August 15, 2010, 10:17:02 PM
http://www.firstrow.net/watch/23639/7/watch-golf---us-pga-championship.html (http://www.firstrow.net/watch/23639/7/watch-golf---us-pga-championship.html)

You'll need Veetle.
Post by: ONeill on August 15, 2010, 10:37:05 PM
http://www.iraqgoals.tv/ch4.html
Post by: highorlow on August 15, 2010, 10:37:27 PM
http://veetle.com/index.php/channel/view#4b8e3c391e48b
Post by: highorlow on August 15, 2010, 10:44:08 PM
Kaymer is wilting. It's looking like Bubba's?
Post by: Schkite on August 15, 2010, 10:52:05 PM
If Rory could land one of those birdies he could get going for the last few holes but he can't buy a putt these last few times, missing out narrowly every time. Bubba looking good now.
Post by: Puckoon on August 15, 2010, 10:52:56 PM
How is kaymer wilting? Flawless round so far

bubba in trouble.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 15, 2010, 10:53:49 PM
rory 1 behind, some finish coming up, bubba in big big trubba
Post by: gerrykeegan on August 15, 2010, 10:54:19 PM
Its anybodies. Play off I bet
Post by: highorlow on August 15, 2010, 10:56:03 PM
Some shot by Kaymer from out of the rough.

Rory not having a good time with the putter.

Whoever lands an eagle on that 16th hole will win this.
Post by: Schkite on August 15, 2010, 10:56:55 PM
Jays jus as I type that Bubba messes up bad and Rory lands another birdie, come on Rory!
Post by: Puckoon on August 15, 2010, 11:02:25 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on August 15, 2010, 10:54:19 PM
Its anybodies. Play off I bet

17 and 18 could produce a winner yet out of the three way tie.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 15, 2010, 11:02:47 PM
Rory tied leader
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 15, 2010, 11:03:22 PM
The Elk could the dark deer...
Post by: ONeill on August 15, 2010, 11:05:08 PM
Cmon te feck. Picked a bad day to give up drinking.
Post by: highorlow on August 15, 2010, 11:05:27 PM
Rory will do it.

Kaymer is looking nervous.
Post by: gerrykeegan on August 15, 2010, 11:07:33 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 15, 2010, 11:05:08 PM

Why have you given up the drink
Post by: ONeill on August 15, 2010, 11:08:54 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on August 15, 2010, 11:07:33 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 15, 2010, 11:05:08 PM

Why have you given up the drink

Couldn't get the motor out of the loanan.
Post by: gerrykeegan on August 15, 2010, 11:15:14 PM
I have dustin johnson backed at 50's.Told the wife I would be up in 10 minutes, that was two hours ago
Post by: mournerambler on August 15, 2010, 11:19:01 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on August 15, 2010, 11:15:14 PM
I have dustin johnson backed at 50's.Told the wife I would be up in 10 minutes, that was two hours ago

Must have been dodgy viagara you got gerry  :P
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 15, 2010, 11:37:16 PM

He's back in it !
Could be a late night,hopefully Kaymer will win it
Post by: gerrykeegan on August 15, 2010, 11:44:53 PM
Hope she didnt start without me
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 15, 2010, 11:46:24 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on August 15, 2010, 11:44:53 PM
Hope she didnt start without me

Sure wouldn't it save you having to do the ground work
Post by: gerrykeegan on August 15, 2010, 11:48:37 PM
With Johnson making that birdie she can wait
Post by: Geoff Tipps on August 15, 2010, 11:48:55 PM

Looking good now  :D
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 15, 2010, 11:49:48 PM
Great putt from Dustin,his to lose now
Post by: gerrykeegan on August 15, 2010, 11:54:51 PM
Useless f**ker
Post by: spuds on August 15, 2010, 11:57:00 PM
fair play to McIlroy
go on boy putt it
they gave him some cheer there coming up to the 18th green
Post by: Niall Quinn on August 16, 2010, 12:03:36 AM
Ah feck.
Picked a hell of a day to quit glue sniffin.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on August 16, 2010, 12:05:47 AM
Should make that.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on August 16, 2010, 12:08:28 AM
Ahhhh boll*cks!!!
Post by: mick999 on August 16, 2010, 12:10:46 AM
Looks like a 2 shot penalty for Dustin for grounding his club in sand before 2nd shot ...
Post by: sammymaguire on August 16, 2010, 12:10:52 AM
Would be great to see Kaymer beat the two Yanks on their home turf
Post by: Puckoon on August 16, 2010, 12:12:24 AM
Interesting to see what the result of Johnson's mistake will be.

Insightful contribution there sammy - I am sure beating the yanks on their own turf is exactly what Kaymer is thinking about alright. ::)
Post by: Geoff Tipps on August 16, 2010, 12:13:54 AM
2 shot penalty for DJ?
Post by: Puckoon on August 16, 2010, 12:14:58 AM
Cruel if it pans out that way. He has had some bad luck in majors this year - but he will win one soon enough I think.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on August 16, 2010, 12:15:18 AM
Definitely grounded it.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 16, 2010, 12:15:30 AM
Very harsh on DJ if he does get a two shot penalty, how could they classify that as a bunker..
Post by: Puckoon on August 16, 2010, 12:16:29 AM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on August 16, 2010, 12:15:18 AM
Definitely grounded it.

It looks like he might have - but I dont know what footage you are watching that is 100% conclusive?
Post by: sammymaguire on August 16, 2010, 12:17:17 AM
Oh awfully sorry Puck that I can't be bothered writing an insightful thesis for you at quarter past midnight on a play off in golf tournament apart from nailing my colours to the European. Rory was unlucky though ;-( eh??
Post by: Geoff Tipps on August 16, 2010, 12:18:24 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 16, 2010, 12:16:29 AM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on August 16, 2010, 12:15:18 AM
Definitely grounded it.

It looks like he might have - but I dont know what footage you are watching that is 100% conclusive?

Yeah looking again. No 100% sure. Seems there's no issue it was a bunker. Notice in club house saying all sanded
areas are bunkers. Will be interesting to see how it pans out.
Post by: Puckoon on August 16, 2010, 12:21:03 AM
Yeah Sammy - he was unlucky - his putter just couldnt get the business done today.

Did you hear the reception he got from the mostly Yank crowd?

Maybe nail your colours to the European on his own merits - eh?

Gerry must be having serious discussions with the wife after this.

Post by: Geoff Tipps on August 16, 2010, 12:21:53 AM
He grounded the club. No question about that now.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 16, 2010, 12:24:27 AM
Ridiculous decision,how can they call that a bunker
Post by: Puckoon on August 16, 2010, 12:25:00 AM
Tough tough break! You'd be sick after having two sundays like this at majors.

Bubba to take it - or lose by 3 shots.

Not ridiculous at all LL - it is the rule.
Post by: Schkite on August 16, 2010, 12:28:11 AM
Imagine he had holed that putt to win it and then got stripped of it!  :o
Post by: spuds on August 16, 2010, 12:28:50 AM
DJ's head must be wrecked, if he putted the short one at 18th he would have been jumping and celebrating the win
only to be told about the bunker/grounding the club sh1t

poor fecker
Post by: Celt_Man on August 16, 2010, 12:29:39 AM
Jaysus some bit of drama tonight... I thought Rory might make a push for a play off but he seemed to be a tad unlucky in the end... Can't believe this craic with Johnson although going by the rte live text commentary and in the clubhouse it says 'all sand on the golf course are bunkers'. so it seems correct going by that??
or does it, give up on the live streaming as I couldn't handle the jumping stop start carry on
Post by: sammymaguire on August 16, 2010, 12:30:22 AM
Support the Americans in the Ryder Cup cos more of them merit my support as they are better players than the Europeans regardless of where it's played?? If it was Casey v Harrington I choose Padraig, Woods v Mickelson I would prefer to see Woods

Doesn't really matter much Puck... that's tough on Johnson but rules are rules, he should have asked the question!
Post by: Puckoon on August 16, 2010, 12:30:53 AM
Quote from: Schkite on August 16, 2010, 12:28:11 AM
Imagine he had holed that putt to win it and then got stripped of it!  :o

There is a God alright - that would have been seriously bad!
Post by: ONeill on August 16, 2010, 12:32:40 AM
Picked a bad day to give up lamping.
Post by: Puckoon on August 16, 2010, 12:34:25 AM
Gerry? Gerry?

Jaysus I'd be sick.
Post by: Puckoon on August 16, 2010, 12:36:57 AM
Just been interviewed by David Feherty - fair play to him he is taking it well - understandably looks a little shellshocked.

He says the only worse thing could have happened me would be if I had have made the putt.
Post by: down6061689194 on August 16, 2010, 12:48:52 AM
Travesty. & that co-chairman who dressed it up to the hilt, clarified nothing
Post by: CountyGK on August 16, 2010, 01:14:08 AM
Kaymer wins after 3rd play off hole
Post by: DrinkingHarp on August 16, 2010, 01:23:24 AM
As bad as DJ must feel, what about Watney shooting +9 to finish T18th :o
Post by: gerrykeegan on August 16, 2010, 08:25:41 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 16, 2010, 12:34:25 AM
Gerry? Gerry?

Jaysus I'd be sick.

Its gets worse, the two shot penalty dropped him to 6th place and there were two others in 6th so there was a 2/3 tie deduction. Sick. The wife was asleep aswell!
Post by: mick999 on August 16, 2010, 12:10:46 PM
I see that Paddy Power are refunding the Win Part of  Bets on Dustin Johnson ..

Not sure how this would impact Each-Way bets ...

"We're refunding win part of bets on Dustin Johnson after the unlucky American was cruelly robbed in the USPGA."

http://blog.paddypower.com/blog/index.php/2010/08/16/us-pga-betting-dustin-johnson-refund/ (http://blog.paddypower.com/blog/index.php/2010/08/16/us-pga-betting-dustin-johnson-refund/)
Post by: gerrykeegan on August 16, 2010, 12:41:31 PM
God bless them, they originally applied the place deduction for tied 6th but paid it as a proper place in the end and refunded the win bet.
Post by: Orior on August 17, 2010, 11:04:26 PM
Happy Gilmore Sergio Garcia: [to his golf ball] "You little son of a bitch ball! Why you don't you just go HOME? That's your HOME! Are you too good for your HOME? ANSWER ME! SUCK MY WHITE ASS, BALL!"
Post by: Eire2010 on August 18, 2010, 12:22:54 AM
Fantastic footage of Garcia, it can even happen to the rest of them,

I see he is taking a two month break from golf, hopefully he will come back to his best form like in Carnoustie in 07

I have always wanted him to win a major, but i just couldn't support him in the play-off in 07 because he was up against our own POD  :D

Always been one of my favourites in the game, love his swagger, his inconsistency and the way he can pull shots off that nobody could dream off. He is always really enthusiastic and has underachieved after having a start in his professional career like Mcilroy (a top ten world ranking at the age of 20)

Enjoy your break Sergio and hope to see you back, netter than ever!  ;D