GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Mickeys beard on August 02, 2010, 01:43:16 PM

Poll
Question: If you would definitely support a fellow Provincial team in the final against anyone, which province are you from?
Option 1: Ulster votes: 41
Option 2: Munster votes: 3
Option 3: Leinster votes: 2
Option 4: Connaught votes: 8
Title: Provincial bitterness poll!
Post by: Mickeys beard on August 02, 2010, 01:43:16 PM
Now that the dust has settled for Tyrone and Kerry, I decided to entertain myself with a subjective socio-philisophical meandering.....(?!)  I was wondering if we in Ulster are unique in our support for fellow Ulster-men at the latter stages of the All-Ireland.  (Is this the case or am I looking through rose-tinted, red-handed glasses?  I suspect that a few Apple-pickers may disagree)   I suspect that in Munster any other county would like to see Kerry Bate.  How do Kildare and Meath feel about the Dubs progressing?  What about Connaught?  Is there a County in your province that you would like to see beaten in the final? 
Title: Re: Provincial bitterness!
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 02, 2010, 01:49:55 PM
Sligonian will say he hates Mayo, Rossfan the same.
Post by: Jinxy on August 02, 2010, 01:51:05 PM
Up Leinster!
Post by: 5 Sams on August 02, 2010, 01:52:06 PM
Quote from: Mickeys beard on August 02, 2010, 01:43:16 PM
Now that the dust has settled for Tyrone and Kerry, I decided to entertain myself with a subjective socio-philisophical meandering.....(?!)  I was wondering if we in Ulster are unique in our support for fellow Ulster-men at the latter stages of the All-Ireland.   (Is this the case or am I looking through rose-tinted, red-handed glasses?  I suspect that a few Apple-pickers may disagree)   I suspect that in Munster any other county would like to see Kerry Bate.  How do Kildare and Meath feel about the Dubs progressing?  What about Connaught?  Is there a County in your province that you would like to see beaten in the final?

Beleive me we're not all like that....
Post by: Louth Exile on August 02, 2010, 02:23:42 PM
I would love to see both the Dubs and the Lillies make the AI final and preferably a Lilly win
Post by: Hound on August 02, 2010, 02:25:15 PM
Down guys close to me where cheering for the Dubs yesterday. But not because they like Dublin more, I'm pretty sure it was because they'd fear Tyrone more if they met later on.
Post by: ONeill on August 02, 2010, 02:26:51 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on August 02, 2010, 01:52:06 PM

Beleive me we're not all like that....

100% behind Down was thought they were magnificent on Saturday. Was even nervous for them. Down did not return the support in the following game though maybe that's human nature - after 3 All-Ires in recent years and having beaten them a month earlier maybe I'd have done the same.
Post by: Banana Man on August 02, 2010, 02:45:36 PM
A bit harsh to say Down weren't behind ya's, fair enough some individuals may not have been but a lot of Down fans were behind Tyrone, I wouldn't begrudge anyone an all-ireland win even if they did have 3 in quick succession

it was hard luck for tyrone but a very enjoyable game

on another note where have all the dublin fans gone too???
Post by: Mickeys beard on August 02, 2010, 04:36:33 PM
Just occurred to me that maybe we are more tribal/entrenched as a province due to our recent history. 
Post by: AZOffaly on August 02, 2010, 04:42:23 PM
Quote from: Mickeys beard on August 02, 2010, 04:36:33 PM
Just occurred to me that maybe we are more tribal/entrenched as a province due to our recent history.

(http://www.hollow-hill.com/sabina/images/no-shit-sherlock.jpg)

Sorry, couldn't help myself :D Ah no, I think the accepted wisdom down south is exactly that. We assume the Ulster counties tend to support each other a lot more because a) They've had comparatively little success until fairly modern times, Cavan and Down excluded, and b) One thing that was certainly affecting Ulster's competitiveness in the 70s and 80s was the troubles, and there's an assumption that ye could relate with other counties difficulties, so cheered them on when they 'represented' Ulster in Croker.
Post by: Mickeys beard on August 02, 2010, 04:49:54 PM
What's Marc Almond got to do with it? ;D
Post by: caughtredhanded on August 02, 2010, 05:35:50 PM
It would be hard to not notice the really appalling stuff posted on Facebook forums at the minute particularly from the Orchard county. It has become necessary to deconnect kids from the BBC Championship facebook page because of the disgraceful language and bitterness coming across (some of it quite obviously from members of this forum)

Those people should hang their heads in shame. To talk like that in public without due regard beggars belief. Is that how they talk at home?
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 02, 2010, 06:03:59 PM
Funny enough would be quite happy to see Dublin win the All-Ireland this year plenty of Dublin mates who are delighted with their team and are grateful to Gilroy for weeding out the hype, the bandwagon and getting everyone moving in the same direction...
Post by: Rossfan on August 02, 2010, 06:11:21 PM
I hope no Connacht county wins Sam this year  :D
Post by: emainmacha on August 02, 2010, 06:23:25 PM
From Armagh and will always support Ulster side (happy as a pig when Down, Donegal, and Derry  won in the 90s), then again grew up in an era when all Ulster were the same.
Down were once looked on as the team to beat with the same sort of banter as goes on with Tyrone supporters now.
Love to see them take Sam home again, Down's had great teams and hopefully this side will prove to be the same.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on August 02, 2010, 06:32:14 PM
Quote from: Hound on August 02, 2010, 02:25:15 PM
Down guys close to me where cheering for the Dubs yesterday. But not because they like Dublin more, I'm pretty sure it was because they'd fear Tyrone more if they met later on.

I might have been one of them.

And yeah, one of the reasons was, rightly or wrongly, I fear Tyrone more than Dublin.
Post by: stiffler on August 02, 2010, 06:39:41 PM
always like to see the Ulster teams do well (bar Armagh!)
Post by: pintsofguinness on August 02, 2010, 06:51:01 PM
Quote from: caughtredhanded on August 02, 2010, 05:35:50 PM
It would be hard to not notice the really appalling stuff posted on Facebook forums at the minute particularly from the Orchard county. It has become necessary to deconnect kids from the BBC Championship facebook page because of the disgraceful language and bitterness coming across (some of it quite obviously from members of this forum)

Those people should hang their heads in shame. To talk like that in public without due regard beggars belief. Is that how they talk at home?
right, if it's quite obvious name the members of this forum talking shite on facebook please.
Post by: WeePeteIsALegend on August 02, 2010, 06:54:56 PM
Quote from: stiffler on August 02, 2010, 06:39:41 PM
always like to see the Ulster teams do well (bar Armagh!)

^ This ^

Although have to say for a short while I felt bitterness towards Tyrone for taking cynicism and negativity to new heights. I've since realised that it was coming one way or another and they were the first to introduce it in such a successful way it made them AI Champs.

Always especially give plenty of support to Cavan due to their tradition.
Post by: on your own on August 02, 2010, 08:17:18 PM
As a Tyrone fan, Down fans were not really supporting Tyrone around me but they weren't shouting for the Dubs either which is kind of understandable having trounced them in recent times.

I will never forget 2004 tho when Fermanagh fans all cheered on Mayo against us, that will always stick in my throat especially after suffering the death of Cormac Mc Anallen earlier in the year.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on August 02, 2010, 08:47:11 PM
Quote from: on your own on August 02, 2010, 08:17:18 PM
I will never forget 2004 tho when Fermanagh fans all cheered on Mayo against us, that will always stick in my throat especially after suffering the death of Cormac Mc Anallen earlier in the year.

Especially?

Sorry, but what does one (albeit a massive tragedy) have to do with the other?  ???
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 02, 2010, 08:55:58 PM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on August 02, 2010, 08:47:11 PM

Especially?

Sorry, but what does one (albeit a massive tragedy) have to do with the other?  ???

Nothing.
Post by: ross4life on August 02, 2010, 08:57:29 PM
My Dad is a Donegal man he's always supported the ulster team's for Sam but he can't understand why there is hate among some ulster football fan's

In connacht the only rossies that dislike Mayo are the one's close to the Mayo Border & Mayo man not close to the Roscommon border doesn't know what all the fuss is about  :D

Leitrim dislike for us & hope we lose every game we play..don't really know why? cause i always liked them

Galway are admired by Sligo,Roscommon,leitrim fan's for flying the flag of connacht for so many years it's a shame Mayo dislike them so much
Post by: Seandoc on August 02, 2010, 09:01:18 PM
As a Tyrone fan, Down fans were not really supporting Tyrone around me but they weren't shouting for the Dubs either which is kind of understandable having trounced them in recent times.

I was sitting amongst about 100 Down fans in the Hogan stand and only two were supporting Dublin the rest were not particularly vocal in supporting Tyrone but were generally applauding when tyrone scored.

After the Dublin goal the two down fans who were supporting Dublin got up and began to cheer,
a 'lady' from tyrone sitting behind me said we were all a shower of b astards and that she would never support down again, so much for ulster unity.

I tried to reason with her but to no avail, incidentally I didn't hear a peep out of her during the Down match.
Post by: on your own on August 02, 2010, 09:15:19 PM
Quote from: RadioGAAGAA on August 02, 2010, 08:47:11 PM

Especially?

They don't, but Tyrone were a fellow provincial team who would have been well fancied for back to back all Irelands, then having suffered the tragic loss of our captain you'd think they mightn't have been as jubilant when Mayo knocked us out.
Remember they beat Armagh by a point in the first match that day.
Title: Re: Provincial bitterness poll!
Post by: ONeill on August 02, 2010, 09:23:01 PM
Fermanagh in general have never liked Tyrone. Have seen some real bitterness in Tyrone against Armagh and Derry especially in East Tyrone.

Much of Armagh revel in any Tyrone or Down misfortune. Antrim are sort of harmless though up around Toome or Rasharkin I'm not sure.

Most like Donegal apart from many in West Tyrone. Not sure what the Derry City wans think of Donegal. I think most like Fermanagh apart from some up around the Fivemiletown direction. Armagh and Monaghan have a bit of niggle. Cavan? Maybe the Oriel crowd. Derry wouldn't be fond of Tyrone, nor would Donegal or Down for some reason. Antrim and Tyrone seem to have a bit of affinity for one another.
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 02, 2010, 09:29:05 PM
I think in general Cavan people would always root for the Ulster team, even begrudgingly for Monaghan. The only time I have cheered against one would be Tyrone. Not that I dislike Tyrone just that natural thing where you like to see the mighty humbled by someone new. I was happy enough to see the dubs win for that reason.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 02, 2010, 09:29:31 PM
Quote from: ONeill on August 02, 2010, 09:23:01 PM
Fermanagh in general have never liked Tyrone. Have seen some real bitterness in Tyrone against Armagh and Derry especially in East Tyrone.

Much of Armagh revel in any Tyrone or Down misfortune. Antrim are sort of harmless though up around Toome or Rasharkin I'm not sure.

Most like Donegal apart from many in West Tyrone. Not sure what the Derry City wans think of Donegal. I think most like Fermanagh apart from some up around the Fivemiletown direction. Armagh and Monaghan have a bit of niggle. Cavan? Maybe the Oriel crowd. Derry wouldn't be fond of Tyrone, nor would Donegal or Down for some reason. Antrim and Tyrone seem to have a bit of affinity for one another.

Little enough niggle between Armagh and Monaghan really. Think to a certain extent some Monaghan and Louth people were a wee bit annoyed at the level of support some of their countymen gave us in the early part of the last decade. Understandable really why that would be a bit irksome.

Monaghan and Cavan would be their main rivalry I would have thought.

South Armagh people, ie the ones who would tend to work or have gone to school in Newry would see Down as the major rivals. Towards the north of the county its Tyrone they want to beat.
Post by: on your own on August 02, 2010, 09:31:56 PM
Yeah Fermanagh really dislike Tyrone as do Derry,Donegal and Armagh.

I think Fermanagh's dislike stems from Tyrone hammering them all the time, Derry's and Armagh's is more to do with competitiveness over the years I think.
Post by: down6061689194 on August 02, 2010, 09:42:14 PM
I'd rather see linfield win sam than Armagh or Tyrone. Any other Ulster team I may support.
Post by: Hardy on August 02, 2010, 09:43:29 PM
Three things I don't understand.  Why people feel the need to tell other people who they should support and the number of people who can't count to three.
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 02, 2010, 09:48:43 PM
As a Mayoman, I would have an awful time if Sligo ever won Sam, Lord Jesus they'd be on about it till eternity I imagine. Roscommon, if they win Sam before Mayo we'll never hear the end of 'we're level with ye hahahahaha'. Galway, if they win it before us, they'll be in double figures!!! :o

Wouldn't mind seeing Leitrim win it before Mayo do though, I've no ties with Leitrim at all and sure they have the least population of any county in Ireland.

Basically, I've no problem with any county winning Sam west of the Shannon, so long as Mayo can do it first...which may well be a problem! ;)
Post by: on your own on August 02, 2010, 09:53:08 PM
Quote from: down6061689194 on August 02, 2010, 09:42:14 PM
I'd rather see linfield win sam than Armagh or Tyrone. Any other Ulster team I may support.

Well I think your mention of Linfield might say a lot about your mentality, you'd be better off supporting linfield with a statement like that.
Post by: Cde on August 02, 2010, 10:03:26 PM
Quote from: on your own on August 02, 2010, 09:53:08 PM

Well I think your mention of Linfield might say a lot about your mentality, you'd be better off supporting linfield with a statement like that.

Hate to break the news to you but Linfield don't compete for the Sam McGuire Cup
Post by: on your own on August 02, 2010, 10:06:25 PM
Quote from: Cde on August 02, 2010, 10:03:26 PM

Hate to break the news to you but Linfield don't compete for the Sam McGuire Cup

Never said they did.
Post by: Cde on August 02, 2010, 10:16:21 PM
well how the f**k would they win it if they are not in it
Post by: ardmhachaabu on August 02, 2010, 10:17:45 PM
Quote from: Cde on August 02, 2010, 10:03:26 PM

What's the Sam McGuire Cup?  ???
Post by: down6061689194 on August 02, 2010, 10:25:48 PM

You fail to see the tongue in cheek nature of the remark.

The Sentiment remains the same. Anyone But Tyrone & Armagh
Post by: on your own on August 02, 2010, 10:32:09 PM
Quote from: down6061689194 on August 02, 2010, 10:25:48 PM

So you're proud that you wouldn't want two of the other eight Ulster counties to win the All Ireland, how pathetic is that?

I'm a Tyrone Gael first but an Ulster Gael aswell and will always be backing the Ulster teams.
Amazing how narrow minded some people are at times. ::)
Post by: down6061689194 on August 02, 2010, 10:43:21 PM
Quote from: on your own on August 02, 2010, 10:32:09 PM

So you're proud that you wouldn't want two of the other eight Ulster counties to win the All Ireland, how pathetic is that?

I'm a Tyrone Gael first but an Ulster Gael aswell and will always be backing the Ulster teams.

Several reasons for disliking tyrone. Their hypocritical nature, especially Hartes, they scumbags they have in their squad, SOME of their fans who are unbearable, the fact that in tyrone football only began in 2003 for some fellas and how they were one of the first teams I noticed who brought in blatant diving and puke football to the table.

So I have a very broad mind. Maybe in 20 years time I'll admire tyrone as a superb footballing side.
At the mintue no. Same with Armagh.

It's no coincidence that during the national league when scores from Tyrone and Armagh games are read out there is a large cheer if they are loosing.

I'm afraid for me Ulster is a category, not a god given order to follow anything within it. I call the games as they come. I supported St. Galls as much as the next man.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on August 02, 2010, 10:49:23 PM
Quote from: down6061689194 on August 02, 2010, 10:43:21 PM

Several reasons for disliking tyrone. Their hypocritical nature, especially Hartes, they scumbags they have in their squad, SOME of their fans who are unbearable, the fact that in tyrone football only began in 2003 for some fellas and how they were one of the first teams I noticed who brought in blatant diving and puke football to the table.

So I have a very broad mind. Maybe in 20 years time I'll admire tyrone as a superb footballing side.

It's no coincidence that during the national league when scores from Tyrone and Armagh games are read out there is a large cheer if they are loosing.

I'm afraid for me Ulster is a category, not a god given order to follow anything within it. I call the games as they come. I supported St. Galls as much as the next man.

Pot. Kettle. Black.  :)
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 02, 2010, 11:00:46 PM
Didn't down try and mimic the style of mass defense as introduced by tyrone. Didn't coulter himself say it made for such a,poor spectacle that he wouldn't go and watch a down game as a fan. Sounds like u will be unable to support down now either.
Post by: Mickeys beard on August 02, 2010, 11:01:43 PM

While I don't agree with a lot of that, at least your honest.
Post by: Lazer on August 02, 2010, 11:12:42 PM
My like and dislike of teams is more to do with there Style and attitude as opposed to where they are from.
I also have a tendancy to suppost the underdogs - would love to see Fermangh win Ulster.

The only team I actually dislike is Tyrone, I really don't like their style, them (and to a certain extent, Armagh) brought negativity and cynicism to football - when I think of Tyrone, I think of diving, time wasting and ultra defensive.
Until Saturday, I wasn't a fan of Dublin, but after watching them, I like their style!

Outside of Ulster, I have a soft spot for Kildare - they play free flowing attacking football, the kind that is entertaining. Hopefully the semi - final will be very entertaining, with Down to win of course!
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 02, 2010, 11:18:22 PM
I just cant support anyone outside Sligo bar waterford hurlers without it feeling fake, i dont know why but ive always went mental watching the waterford hurlers. Have an undeniable soft spot for them.

The rest i dont really care about although i hope Louth win leinster soon, followed by fermanagh,....I dont hate anyone outside Sligo as much as i make out, its all about Sligo for me. I have respect for most county supporters as we are all more alike than we admit, and but for the grace of God id be a mayoman or vice versa, i certainly didnt chose to be a Sligoman but i'll stay loyal. ;)

Sometimes i feel our football opinions on here are used as barometer of us as people but its not the case, ive good friends from Mayo and would do anything for them vice versa but in football terms we hate each other. It doesnt mean i hate the people.
Post by: ziggysego on August 02, 2010, 11:25:04 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on August 02, 2010, 06:51:01 PM
Quote from: caughtredhanded on August 02, 2010, 05:35:50 PM

right, if it's quite obvious name the members of this forum talking shite on facebook please.

Shite? It's quite obvious who it is if you looked
Post by: barelegs on August 02, 2010, 11:25:26 PM
As a Tyrone man, (East Tyrone to be more precise) I have to say Derry could never be beaten by enough. That 1995 semi final is still probably my favourite game in spite of everything that has happened over the last 7 or 8 years. The rivalry with Armagh has thawed somewhat over the last while. I think there's a healthy respect for what Armagh achieved in the early part of the 2000s. No particular bitterness towards the other Ulster counties, though I think I could sense some fright from Down as Tyrone creeped towards there 5 All Irelands. You never know, they might extend that lead this year.
Post by: Mickeys beard on August 02, 2010, 11:34:30 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 02, 2010, 11:18:22 PM
I just cant support anyone outside Sligo bar waterford hurlers without it feeling fake, i dont know why but ive always went mental watching the waterford hurlers. Have an undeniable soft spot for them.

The rest i dont really care about although i hope Louth win leinster soon, followed by fermanagh,....I dont hate anyone outside Sligo as much as i make out, its all about Sligo for me. I have respect for most county supporters as we are all more alike than we admit, and but for the grace of God id be a mayoman or vice versa, i certainly didnt chose to be a Sligoman but i'll stay loyal. ;)

Sometimes i feel our football opinions on here are used as barometer of us as people but its not the case, ive good friends from Mayo and would do anything for them vice versa but in football terms we hate each other. It doesnt mean i hate the people.

That's interesting, as Waterford are generally despised by the bigger hurling counties. Have heard many stories of serious trampish behaviour off the field.   
Post by: Pangurban on August 02, 2010, 11:41:25 PM
Would always support any Ulster team facing opponents from another Province, and think any Ulsterman who does not, is a Dog In The Manger.
Post by: dundrumite on August 02, 2010, 11:48:27 PM

Thats an incredibly harsh term to use. That is the sort of term one could use about those dropping blocks of cement at the Ardoyne but certainly not successful footballers who won 3 All-Irelans in a six year period.
Too me these men have to be respected, for constantly out thinking and working opponents on a consistent basis and still having the hunger to keep coming back to the main table. I have a huge amount of repsect for Mickey Harte as a manager and think what he has achieved with various Tyrone, Eirrigal and st Ciaran's teams is phenomenal.
Admittedly I was cheering on the Dubs, purely as I would see Tyrone as a greater threat should please God Down prevail in their semi final.
Post by: ziggysego on August 02, 2010, 11:55:59 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on August 02, 2010, 11:52:59 PM
Firmly in the manger.

Surely you'll be backing the Tyrone Minors ;)
Post by: on your own on August 03, 2010, 12:18:52 AM

Why don't you just admit you can't abide Tyrone or Armagh because they have dominated Ulster football for ages stuffing Down in the process a good few times, without bringing in tripe about 'Hypocritical nature' (wtf is that about?) and 'puke football' (are you Spillane in disguise?). At least be big enough to admit the real reason, jealousy.
Your point about the fans too is typical, every county has the moron element and I suspect you probably fill Down's quota with comments like the previous ones you have made.
Post by: ardchieftain on August 03, 2010, 02:23:11 AM
Interesting thread. No surprise that Ulster is out in front in the poll, due undoubtedly to the history aspect.

I have always supported the Ulster county/club though i have to admit that i felt a tad dirty when it was tyrone. I can thank one of my old schoolteachers for that, though geographical location is a definite factor. Tribalism is part of our make up, always has, always will be.

Post by: ballinaman on August 03, 2010, 02:24:53 AM
Waterford hurlers would be the only team I'd support passionately and actually feel disappointment when they loose. I'd support any team in Connacht apart from Galway, mainly due to stories of the grandfather getting singled out and getting kicked up and down the pitch by them, but i wouldn't hate any team, don't mind seeing them loose but being from mayo, have very little to crow about so best keep the head down and focus on your own team rather than carrying bitterness around with ya!
Post by: stephenite on August 03, 2010, 03:19:08 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on August 03, 2010, 02:24:53 AM
Waterford hurlers would be the only team I'd support passionately and actually feel disappointment when they loose. I'd support any team in Connacht apart from Galway, mainly due to stories of the grandfather getting singled out and getting kicked up and down the pitch by them, but i wouldn't hate any team, don't mind seeing them loose but being from mayo, have very little to crow about so best keep the head down and focus on your own team rather than carrying bitterness around with ya!

They only singled the out the good ones though
Post by: new devil on August 03, 2010, 06:37:48 AM
I support every ulster county when they go out off Ulster apart from Derry..hate the sight of those f**kers
Post by: Maguire01 on August 03, 2010, 07:55:40 AM
Quote from: ardchieftain on August 03, 2010, 02:23:11 AM
Interesting thread. No surprise that Ulster is out in front in the poll, due undoubtedly to the history aspect.
And the fact that the majority of posters on this board are from Ulster?
Post by: DoireGael on August 03, 2010, 09:37:56 AM
Well as a Derry man and I cant speak for all of us, but I have always supported the Ulster teams, was at the match on Sunday and cheered for Down, and actually backed Tyrone but with slighlty less enthusiasm and would always support Antrim in the Hurling in Leinster etc Seeing Armagh lift Sam in 2002 was something I had huge respect for, very very deserved, and there was huge support that day from Armagh for Derry minors.
Post by: DoireGael on August 03, 2010, 09:41:41 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 03, 2010, 07:55:40 AM
Quote from: ardchieftain on August 03, 2010, 02:23:11 AM
And the fact that the majority of posters on this board are from Ulster?

What is the story with that? Do they use other forums or they to busy watching the rugby?
Post by: Banana Man on August 03, 2010, 10:16:16 AM
QuoteWell as a Derry man and I cant speak for all of us, but I have always supported the Ulster teams, was at the match on Sunday and cheered for Down, and actually backed Tyrone but with slighlty less enthusiasm  but once you hear 'nordie b's' from a few drunk Jackeen's you begin to realise what side the bread is buttered on    and would always support Antrim in the Hurling in Leinster etc Seeing Armagh lift Sam in 2002 was something I had huge respect for, very very deserved, and there was huge support that day from Armagh for Derry minors.

any wonder they give you abuse, seeing as there wasn't even a northern team playing on sunday  ;)
Post by: DoireGael on August 03, 2010, 10:18:49 AM
Quote from: Banana Man on August 03, 2010, 10:16:16 AM
QuoteWell as a Derry man and I cant speak for all of us, but I have always supported the Ulster teams, was at the match on Sunday and cheered for Down, and actually backed Tyrone but with slighlty less enthusiasm and would always support Antrim in the Hurling in Leinster etc Seeing Armagh lift Sam in 2002 was something I had huge respect for, very very deserved, and there was huge support that day from Armagh for Derry minors.

any wonder they give you abuse, seeing as there wasn't even a northern team playing on sunday  ;)

Good spot  ;D, its a bank holiday here yesterday so slighty mixted up in the ole days  :D , but the absue was directed at the players. But still you cant tar all wth one brush, most Dub's are 100%
Post by: Applesisapples on August 03, 2010, 10:40:49 AM
Well that says it all about you. As a armagh and Ulster man I was supporting Down and Tyrone on Saturday.
Post by: Nally Stand on August 03, 2010, 01:36:41 PM

I find it very hard to respect anyone who blindly repeats the analysis given by a sensationalist pundit SEVEN years ago. When I hear someone use the term "puke football" in reference to Tyrone, I immediately read it to mean "I don't like Tyrone, I have no clue about football and I need Pat Spillane to tell me what to think"!
Post by: Mickeys beard on August 04, 2010, 11:17:34 PM
I suppose as a poll, it is hardl to say that these results are conclusive, as:

(a) this is only a small cross-section of the wider GAA community, and would probably contain subjects of a milder, more diplomatic nature.

(b)  Kerry's formidable history virtually negates Munster as succes breeds contempt.  (I wonder if the two Munster votes were from Kerry?)  Similar with Dublin

(c)  There is an overwhelming majority of Ulster members.

Still, I learnt a few things about Connaught loyalties, had my eyes opened about what people from some other Ulster counties thought and enjoyed the bit of twisting. 
With a bigger pool of subjects, I suspect that Ulster would top the poll because of recent history-or is it that we comprise two of the last great Gaelic Kingdoms? ;)

Here in limerick, everyone is rooting for Down, as will I but I feel that cork will die trying if they don't win this one.
Post by: western exile on August 05, 2010, 03:50:52 PM
Surely this poll is more reflective of where the majority of board members are from!  ???
It is impossible that this poll could accurately reflect the thread title  ::)
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 05, 2010, 04:26:28 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on August 03, 2010, 02:24:53 AM

If he was a Knockmore man, he'd have given it all back! ;) :D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 05, 2010, 04:39:46 PM
Quote from: Mickeys beard on August 02, 2010, 11:34:30 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 02, 2010, 11:18:22 PM

That's interesting, as Waterford are generally despised by the bigger hurling counties. Have heard many stories of serious trampish behaviour off the field.

I would consider Sligo one of the Big 4 of Connacht hurling, the others being Mayo, Roscommon and Leitrim of course.