Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Denn Forever on July 06, 2010, 01:12:32 PM

Title: Players of this World Cup
Post by: Denn Forever on July 06, 2010, 01:12:32 PM
Before the World Cup all the press talk was of Kaka, Messi, Ronaldo, Rooney, Villa etc.

Who will go for big money now?
Title: Re: Players of this World Cup
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 06, 2010, 01:13:33 PM
Never buy anyone on the back of a good World Cup or Euro Champs!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on July 06, 2010, 01:20:10 PM
Quote from: A Quinn Martin Production on July 06, 2010, 01:13:33 PM
Never buy anyone on the back of a good World Cup or Euro Champs!

El Hadj Diouf + Salif Diao perfect examples of that. Still making a fortune 8 years later
Post by: Geoff Tipps on July 06, 2010, 01:52:01 PM
My top 3 players of the World cup in no particular order:

Sjneider
Forlan
Villa
Post by: Rav67 on July 06, 2010, 01:55:33 PM
The whole Germany starting team plays in Bundesliga I think although Boateng is on his way to Man City.  I'd expect the English teams, Real, Barca and Bayern to be sniffing round the non-Bayern players like Ozil and Khedira.  Ozil would fetch £25m surely.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 06, 2010, 02:04:56 PM
Ozil definitely gets my "Best Player I Have To Admit I'd Never Heard Of Before The World Cup" award
Post by: Denn Forever on July 06, 2010, 02:28:44 PM
The players that impressed me most is Honda from Japan.  A very limited team playing without a Number 9 but most things revolved around him. 

I wonder will anybody go for him?  Celtic maybe?
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 06, 2010, 02:30:34 PM
Messi was class tho didn't getting going in the Germany game... he's no Maradonna tho 
Post by: AZOffaly on July 06, 2010, 02:58:13 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on July 06, 2010, 02:28:44 PM
The players that impressed me most is Honda from Japan.  A very limited team playing without a Number 9 but most things revolved around him. 

I wish he wore squad number 50.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 06, 2010, 03:00:03 PM
Thomas Muller and Bastian Schweinsteiger for me - along with Villa and Snjeider
Post by: paco on July 06, 2010, 03:16:55 PM
Think Ozil and Lahm have been the stars of the German team, not Muller or Schweinsteiger. Apart from all the above mentioned I was really impressed with Fabio Coentrao, who looked far and away the best player in a mediocre Portuguese side. Bound to move for a big sum. Hugely dissapointed with Di Maria, expected more from him, never really performed in any of the matches.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 06, 2010, 03:37:18 PM
Quote from: paco on July 06, 2010, 03:16:55 PM
Think Ozil and Lahm have been the stars of the German team, not Muller or Schweinsteiger. Apart from all the above mentioned I was really impressed with Fabio Coentrao, who looked far and away the best player in a mediocre Portuguese side. Bound to move for a big sum. Hugely dissapointed with Di Maria, expected more from him, never really performed in any of the matches.

He spent the entire WC trying to nutmeg his opponent.  Never came off once.  Apart from that nada.  I was very impressed by the Japanese centre back (no 22) Nakazawa??
Post by: From the Bunker on July 06, 2010, 03:37:56 PM
Could be any of the following.......

Fabiano

Johnson

Sjneider

Robben

Forlan

Muller

Schweinsteiger

Villa

Close

Honda

Ozil

Maicon

Vittek

Enyeama

Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 06, 2010, 04:26:24 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 06, 2010, 02:58:13 PM

I wish he wore squad number 50.

I don't usually find you funny but that did make me laugh.. :)
Post by: ONeill on July 06, 2010, 04:34:11 PM
Remember Graham bought this dungbag after the Euros in 1992 - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q66sbVUOx7M
Post by: Billys Boots on July 06, 2010, 04:35:38 PM
Without looking, this has to be John Jensen?
Post by: Geoff Tipps on July 06, 2010, 04:37:55 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 06, 2010, 03:37:56 PM

Fabiano

Johnson

Sjneider

Robben

Forlan

Muller

Schweinsteiger

Villa

Close

Honda

Ozil

Maicon

Vittek

Enyeama

Johnson?? Surely not Glen??
Post by: Bogball XV on July 06, 2010, 05:03:17 PM

A bit out of celtic's league I think, fairly sure he went to cska for 10-12 million and is rated way above that now

For me the best have been Ozil, Schweinsteiger, Forlan, Robinho, but Villa has been the stand out, he really has dragged a Spanish team who haven't been great (or been unlucky enough to come up against the most defensive set of teams imaginable – bar the 2004 Greeks).
Sneidjer has been good, but not as good as I thought he would be after the brilliant season he had with Inter, in fact, I'd say Robben has impressed more in his 2 games.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 06, 2010, 05:12:23 PM
My team, in the obsolete 4-4-2 formation is

Stecklenburg (NED) (by default almost)

Lahm (GER)
Puyol (SPA)
Lucio (BRA)
Coentrao (POR)

Mueller (GER)
Schweinsteiger (GER)
Sneijder (NED)
Oezil (GER)

Villa (SPA)
Forlan (URU)
Post by: ross4life on July 06, 2010, 05:24:13 PM
Eduardo for Portugal was excellent i thought, Forlan continues to impress & where would Spain be without Villas goals? Sneijder has been the best for the Dutch & if they win it he's likely to be named player of the tournament

Post by: paco on July 06, 2010, 05:38:08 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 06, 2010, 05:12:23 PM
My team, in the obsolete 4-4-2 formation is

Stecklenburg (NED) (by default almost)

Lahm (GER)
Puyol (SPA)
Lucio (BRA)
Coentrao (POR)

Mueller (GER)
Schweinsteiger (GER)
Sneijder (NED)
Oezil (GER)

Villa (SPA)
Forlan (URU)

Hard to argue with that, although I think Alexis Sanchez should get an honourable mention. Pity they came up against Brazil so early, would have loved to seen more of him.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 06, 2010, 07:21:58 PM

Some engine on him.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 06, 2010, 08:03:44 PM
Quote from: Geoff Tipps on July 06, 2010, 04:37:55 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 06, 2010, 03:37:56 PM

Fabiano

Johnson

Sjneider

Robben

Forlan

Muller

Schweinsteiger

Villa

Close

Honda

Ozil

Maicon

Vittek

Enyeama

Johnson?? Surely not Glen??

Sorry, was a bit day-dreamy earlier on ment Kingston - the ghana Keeper!
Post by: Capt Pat on July 06, 2010, 08:33:36 PM
Kingson was the best goalie up until his mistake in the semi final and not getting near any penos. Stecklenburg was the best up until tonights mistake.

Sneider has been good, effective but nothing special. The Germans have been the best, the best football, the best players but no one player stands out. Swinestiger, Ozil, Muller and Lahm are best for them. Messi was good bdfore the quarter final. Forlan and Suarez are also candidates for player of the tournament. But I think Villa is ahead at this point.

It will be Villa or a German depending on how their semi final plays out.
Title: Re: The Official 2010 FIFA World Cup
Post by: stiffler on July 06, 2010, 11:03:15 PM
Ozil was linked with an 8mil pound move to liverpool a few months back, i think he has only 1 year left on his contract. I expect to see him end up at chelski though.
Post by: under the bar on July 06, 2010, 11:41:05 PM
Kuyt actualy looks half decent when playing with a good team around him.  No wonder he looks like a complete donkey when playing for Liverpool!
Post by: paco on July 07, 2010, 12:04:59 AM
Quote from: under the bar on July 06, 2010, 11:41:05 PM
Kuyt actualy looks half decent when playing with a good team around him.  No wonder he looks like a complete donkey when playing for Liverpool!

I would have given him man of the match, can't understand how Sneijder got it. Kuyt worked hard as he usually does and set up a goal and created quite a few other chances which he usually doesn't do.
Post by: ballinaman on July 07, 2010, 01:46:08 AM
Coentrao for Portugal as AZOffaly pointed out impressed me. The german midfield in general has been lethal also. Sanchez the Chile winger looked lively too.
Post by: Rav67 on July 07, 2010, 09:54:54 AM
Quote from: ross4life on July 06, 2010, 05:24:13 PM
Eduardo for Portugal was excellent i thought, Forlan continues to impress & where would Spain be without Villas goals? Sneijder has been the best for the Dutch & if they win it he's likely to be named player of the tournament

At previous world cups they've always awarded the player of the tournament before the final.  A bit stupid really, I remember Khan getting it before the final in 02, and then he fucked up and Ronaldo scored 2 goals to finish up with 8 for the championships.  He would surely have got it if the award was made after the game.
Post by: EagleLord on July 07, 2010, 10:24:03 AM
Zidane got it in '06 too. Seems silly. Kinda the same as picking the Uslter College All-stars before the Macrory quarter finals have even been played! Surely it should be picked after each competition has been played and assess which players had the greatest influence for their team......
Post by: Bogball XV on July 07, 2010, 11:04:15 AM
In 2006 Fifa announced the 3 players in the running pre final, then at half time the final votes from the panel (mostly journos had to be in) that's why Zidane got it.
Post by: mountainboii on July 07, 2010, 11:10:11 AM
Zidane was the best player at the last World Cup though, headbutt or no headbutt.
Post by: Main Street on July 07, 2010, 11:25:58 AM
For me, 2006 was Cannavaro's World Cup.
Post by: Billys Boots on July 07, 2010, 11:34:57 AM
Quote from: Main Street on July 07, 2010, 11:25:58 AM

I understood that Cannavaro got the nod for player of the tournament in 2006 too - am I wrong?
Post by: paco on July 07, 2010, 11:40:57 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on July 07, 2010, 11:34:57 AM
Quote from: Main Street on July 07, 2010, 11:25:58 AM

I understood that Cannavaro got the nod for player of the tournament in 2006 too - am I wrong?

Not sure about that, he definitely won the FIFA world player of the year that year though.
Post by: Capt Pat on July 07, 2010, 11:49:33 AM
Zidaine was the official plyer of the tournament(golden ball winner). Cannavaro was world player of the year. Zidaine only won it because the Brazilians flopped against him. A bit like the Dutch only being in the final because the Brazilians fell apart.
Post by: orange2009 on July 07, 2010, 11:50:30 AM
Zidane got player of the Tournament, Cannavaro got FIFA World Player of the Year.

Personally in terms of being the most influential player, its hard to look past Bastian Schweinsteiger this year.  He makes Germany tick, and whilst not being involved in flashy play like Ozil or Meuller, hes been fantastic.  Hard to see Germany getting where they are now and playing as they are without him in the side pulling the strings
Post by: Minus15 on July 07, 2010, 02:06:39 PM
Players I have been impressed with:
Salcido
Hernandez
M Pereira
Gargano
Forlan
Otamendi
Messi
Donovan
KP Boateng
Pantsil
Lahm
Ozil
Schweinsteiger
Klose
Muller
Kuyt
Maicon
Robinho
Puyol
Ramos
Alonso
Villa
Casillas

Team of the tournament:
Casillas

Lahm
Puyol
Salcido

Donovan
Schweinsteiger
Alonso
Robinho

Muller
Klose
Villa
Post by: paco on July 07, 2010, 02:33:07 PM
Quote from: Minus15 on July 07, 2010, 02:06:39 PM
Players I have been impressed with:
Salcido
Hernandez
M Pereira
Gargano
Forlan
Otamendi
Messi
Donovan
KP Boateng
Pantsil
Lahm
Ozil
Schweinsteiger
Klose
Muller
Kuyt
Maicon
Robinho
Puyol
Ramos
Alonso
Villa
Casillas

Team of the tournament:
Casillas

Lahm
Puyol
Salcido

Donovan
Schweinsteiger
Alonso
Robinho

Muller
Klose
Villa

You can't be serious?
Post by: mountainboii on July 07, 2010, 02:48:06 PM
Anyone else reckon Muller has been blown up a wee bit more than is merited? I mean, he seems like a bit of a right place at the right time man, just putting the finishing touches to Ozil and Schweinsteiger's good work. Although I suppose that's what he's there for, to tap in the tap ins. Still don't reckon his absence will hinder Germany that much tonight, there are at least 4 or 5 other lads that are more important to their team.
Post by: paco on July 07, 2010, 02:55:15 PM
Quote from: AFS on July 07, 2010, 02:48:06 PM
Anyone else reckon Muller has been blown up a wee bit more than is merited? I mean, he seems like a bit of a right place at the right time man, just putting the finishing touches to Ozil and Schweinsteiger's good work. Although I suppose that's what he's there for, to tap in the tap ins. Still don't reckon his absence will hinder Germany that much tonight, there are at least 4 or 5 other lads that are more important to their team.

Thought the same myself, tonight will tell a tale. One who I think has been doing a great job relatively un-noticed is Khedira, bound to move on from Stuttgart this season.
Post by: Bogball XV on July 07, 2010, 03:55:49 PM
Quote from: Minus15 on July 07, 2010, 02:06:39 PMTeam of the tournament:
Casillas

Casillas is charmed to still be playing for spain, imo he's been pretty awful.  Best keeper?  Tough to say what with the ridiculous ball, maybe Neur of Germany?  Kingston, I just couldn't give it to a lad who is Wigan'd 3rd or 4th choice keeper.
Post by: paco on July 07, 2010, 04:01:12 PM
There have been no keepers who have really stood out. It should probably be given to the Nigerian keeper for his performance in the game against Argentina.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 07, 2010, 04:16:51 PM
Quote from: AFS on July 07, 2010, 02:48:06 PM

Every team would love one of these, but I agree with your overall point.  However I think he's going to be a great player in 2 or 3 years.  Still only 20 (even if he looks about 38)
Post by: magpie seanie on July 07, 2010, 04:39:30 PM
Can't believe no-one has mentioned Arevalo to Uruguayan defensive midfielder. He has been fantastic. They were saying he is 28 and still playing in Uruguay. Surely he is worth a punt for someone even at that age. His work rate is immense. Really brilliant at what he does.

For me the player of the tournament is Forlán. He has played way better than I thought he could. His first touch in tight situations has been simply superb and remember he is not playing in a star studded team - he is the leader. Scored a few screamers with both feet. Brilliant.
Post by: Bogball XV on July 07, 2010, 08:32:43 PM
This year fifa are allowing journalists to continue voting until the final whistle of the final for the player of the tournament.
Post by: Family guy on July 07, 2010, 08:54:14 PM
Am i the only one doesnt rate david villa???The man doesnt pass,wouldnt have him in my team at all
Post by: Bogball XV on July 07, 2010, 09:10:17 PM
Quote from: Family guy on July 07, 2010, 08:54:14 PM
Am i the only one doesnt rate david villa???The man doesnt pass,wouldnt have him in my team at all
but then your team wouldn't be in the world cup semi, so it's catch 22
Post by: Geoff Tipps on July 07, 2010, 09:10:51 PM

Does your team like to score goals??
Post by: Family guy on July 07, 2010, 09:13:39 PM
Greedy **** if u ask me,torres twice the striker wen on form
Post by: Bogball XV on July 07, 2010, 09:24:19 PM
Quote from: Family guy on July 07, 2010, 09:13:39 PM
Greedy **** if u ask me,torres twice the striker wen on form
you won't find too many agreeing i reckon
Post by: EagleLord on July 07, 2010, 09:45:45 PM

You surely cannot be serious? The man scores goals for the craic, look up his record! At club level, for a decent Valencia team, scary to think what numbers he will produce at Barca next few seasons. And his record for Spain? 43 goals in 63 games, 0.68 goals a game, cant be many better than that in the game at international level..except may Francis Jeffers, scored in every international game he played in...1.... :)
Post by: sammymaguire on July 07, 2010, 10:08:44 PM
Landon Donovan was impressive as were the keepers of all 4 semi finalists
Post by: Rav67 on July 07, 2010, 11:16:53 PM
Team of tournament so far i'd go:

Kingston

Ramos   Puyol   Lucio    Lahm

Sjneider  Schweinsteigger  Xavi   Robinho

Villa  Forlan
Post by: paco on July 07, 2010, 11:18:30 PM
Xavi has to be up there now, getting better and better as the tournament goes on and was brilliant tonight.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on July 07, 2010, 11:20:29 PM
Kuyt
Post by: ross4life on July 07, 2010, 11:30:00 PM
I'd go for

EDUARDO

RAMOS    M.PEREIRA   LAHM

SNEIJDER    XAVI    SCHWEINSTEIGER  ÖZIL

VILLA MÜLLER FORLAN

Post by: ross4life on July 07, 2010, 11:32:10 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 07, 2010, 11:20:29 PM
Kuyt

The lad has done well fair fcuks but Kuyt=world cup winner

(http://www.gifshare.com/uploads/images/20071023/full_size/7805_scratchhead.gif)
Post by: paco on July 07, 2010, 11:34:40 PM
Neuer
Lahm Puyol Mertesacker Coentrao
Ozil Alonso Xavi
Messi
Villa Forlan
Post by: Bogball XV on July 07, 2010, 11:35:47 PM
Kuyt
he's been excellent, one of holland's best players (shite, maybe main street was right when he said they're boring)

Apparently the short list for player of the tournament will be released on friday by fifa, then its voted on by journalists until the final whistle in the final.
Post by: southdown on July 08, 2010, 08:44:32 AM
I think Iniesta has oozed class every class in every game so far, but he never seems to get the credit he deserves.
Post by: Billys Boots on July 08, 2010, 09:25:03 AM
Quote from: EagleLord on July 07, 2010, 09:45:45 PM

You surely cannot be serious? The man scores goals for the craic, look up his record! At club level, for a decent Valencia team, scary to think what numbers he will produce at Barca next few seasons. And his record for Spain? 43 goals in 63 games, 0.68 goals a game, cant be many better than that in the game at international level..except may Francis Jeffers, scored in every international game he played in...1.... :)

Ahem, Ferenc Puskas got 84 goals in 85 internationals.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 08, 2010, 10:42:43 AM
Aye, some impressive records out there but how they hold up in hindsight is a different story, plus the opposition quality has to be analysed.

There are players who finished their international careers with incredible records, such as:

- Irans Ali Daei who scored 109 goals in 149 games
- Germanys Gerd Muller who scored 68 goals in 62 games
- Denmarks Poul Nielsen who scored 52 goals in 38 games
- Swedens Sven Rydell who scored 49 goals in 43 games &
- Japans Kunishige Kamamoto who scored 55 goals in 61 games.
Post by: Main Street on July 08, 2010, 11:19:43 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on July 07, 2010, 11:35:47 PM
Kuyt
he's been excellent, one of holland's best players (shite, maybe main street was right when he said they're boring)
You disagree with what i actually do write  and maybe agree with what I did not write :)
afair I wrote that the Dutch did not inspire me.

I think Kuyt has blown hot and cold. I thought he was struggling in the most important game so far, the s/f. Overall, well short to make the team of the tournament.

Casillas was supposed to be washed up as a top class goalie prior to this tournament, his first game here was certainly shaky. But he  has come back close to his best in the Paraguay game, probably the single most reason why Spain progressed that evening. Also probably the only goalie that comes close to being favourite to save a penalty.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on July 08, 2010, 12:15:58 PM
An odd formation but here goes (tried to include some of the players who impressed earlier)

Enyeama

Pereira   Nakazawa   Friedrich     Coentrao

Annan

Ozil           Sneijder         Schweinsteiger

Forlan

Villa
Post by: Declan on July 08, 2010, 12:19:17 PM
Xavi by a country mile
Post by: paco on July 08, 2010, 12:38:44 PM
Looks like it'll be a toss up between Xavi and Sneijder on Sunday.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 08, 2010, 12:41:07 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 08, 2010, 10:42:43 AM
Aye, some impressive records out there but how they hold up in hindsight is a different story, plus the opposition quality has to be analysed.

There are players who finished their international careers with incredible records, such as:

- Irans Ali Daei who scored 109 goals in 149 games
- Germanays Gerd Muller who scored 68 goals in 62 games
- Denmarks Poul Nielsen who scored 52 goals in 38 games
- Swedens Sven Rydell who scored 49 goals in 43 games &
- Japans Kunishige Kamamoto who scored 55 goals in 61 games.

That's the buck right there. Unreal record, including World Cup Finals goals as well.  More goals than games.
Post by: Main Street on July 09, 2010, 11:37:09 AM
Giles reckons he was more Xavi than Iniesta.
Post by: Declan on July 09, 2010, 11:56:58 AM
QuoteGiles reckons he was more Xavi than Iniesta.

Yep he wasn't as likely to beat a guy by dribbling as Iniesta can but an unbelievable passer of the ball and very skillful despite being able to look after himself as they say
Post by: Main Street on July 09, 2010, 12:50:05 PM
Though in his younger playing days <28, he could dribble past a few at ease, before spraying the pass.
Post by: paco on July 09, 2010, 01:49:38 PM
Short list: Xavi, Villa, Iniesta, Sneijder, Robben, Schweinsteiger, Ozil, Messi, Forlan, Gyan.
Post by: mountainboii on July 09, 2010, 02:00:00 PM
Quote from: paco on July 09, 2010, 01:49:38 PM
Short list: Xavi, Villa, Iniesta, Sneijder, Robben, Schweinsteiger, Ozil, Messi, Forlan, Gyan.

Muller, Ayew and Dos Santos up for the Young Player Award too.

Bit surprised not to see a defender about the place.
Post by: paco on July 09, 2010, 02:04:43 PM
Quote from: AFS on July 09, 2010, 02:00:00 PM
Quote from: paco on July 09, 2010, 01:49:38 PM

Muller, Ayew and Dos Santos up for the Young Player Award too.

Bit surprised not to see a defender about the place.

Competition must be light when Dos Santos is making that list! What age must they be to get in the Young Player shortlist?
Post by: mountainboii on July 09, 2010, 02:08:08 PM
Dunno what the age limit is, Dos Santos would be the oldest of that bunch at 21. Muller is a cert for it anyway.
Post by: paco on July 09, 2010, 02:09:52 PM
Aye definitely. Must check what age Suarez and Ozil are just out of curiosity.