Option 1: Pour funds into Both Galway and Mayo
votes: 4
Option 2: Amalgamate Sligo and Leitrim
votes: 4
Option 3: Centre of Excellence for each County
votes: 9
Option 4: Bring in Ringers from Kerry
votes: 12
Its sad to see the sorry state of Connacht football once more. We are at an all time low. When you have a team of the caliber of Sligo rising to the top its the sure sign of a sinking ship. Its rare to see both Mayo and Galway perform poorly in the same year but it is the crossroads we are are it. The Connacht council need to pour some funds into the future development of both Galway and Mayo, we cant have the situation where a team of Sligo's standard represents the province. Here is hoping for a Galway victory in the Replay.
Why not PSTG? If they're good enough, they're good enough.
Peter,
Is the hogan stand site down.???
Go back and look at your comments after the Mayo V Sligo game. You talked about the passion and guts of Sligo. Cop on to yourself. Do you remember the 70-80's with Roscommon.
Jaysus Mayo Lads. I had no idea ye had such notions about yourselves vis a vis other counties. Firstly Longford get damned with feint praise, and then Connacht needs to be saved from Sligo representing it as champions.
I realise it's tongue in cheek, and it's not that many of ye, but it's surprising all the same.
There is no denying the Connacht football is at an all time low, what can we do to make it better. I think the weekends events have shown this. The Galway Sligo match was terrible unforced errors bad misses Mayo who only lost by four to Sligo getting beat by Longford. This Sligo team which is now perhaps the best in Connacht is mediocre when compared to Tyrone, Monaghan, Cork, Kerry even Dublin. There is no denying this. I feel Galway, Mayo and perhaps Roscommon have the potential to raise the standard.
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 28, 2010, 02:30:58 PM
Jaysus Mayo Lads. I had no idea ye had such notions about yourselves vis a vis other counties. Firstly Longford get damned with feint praise, and then Connacht needs to be saved from Sligo representing it as champions.
I realise it's tongue in cheek, and it's not that many of ye, but it's surprising all the same.
2 or 3 of a fairly large crowd of Mayo people on this board - it looks bad and thus your comment but if anyone cares to take the time to read most of the Mayo threads you'd notice that the vast majority of us have no notions about ourselves vis a vis anyone
I'm slagging ye Stephenite.You can choose your friends, but you can't choose your (GAA) family :D
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 28, 2010, 02:45:30 PM
I'm slagging ye Stephenite.You can choose your friends, but you can't choose your (GAA) family :D
Fair enough but it annoys me to see such comments, you're only as good as your last championship season in GAA world; right now we're right down there and it's where we belong, Sligo and Longford are a cut above us and for a county that was contesting All Irelands not too long ago that can be hard to take but you have to give credit where it's due to those that defeated us.
Actually, now that I think about it - how did ye Offaly cope with the wilderness years :P
I'll let you know when we come out of them.
We say we want football to be more competitive yet as soon as "weaker" counties start winning games people lament the drop in standards.
I think this years championship has been a breath of fresh air.
Lots of attacking football and surprise results.
It's not beyond the realms of possibility that we could have 4 new provincial champions.
We already have 3.
The standard is not great in Connacht at the moment alright. Galway and Mayo both have very average teams by their standards. The Rossies have a young team who might amount to something in a few years but right now are no great shakes. Leitrim keep plugging away but realistically there is a ceiling with them. Sligo probably have one of the best teams they have ever had at the moment so if they win another Connacht you could not begrudge them. They have to make hay while the sun shines as the big two in Connacht always have an ability to reemerge with a new talented team quicker than the rest and are rarely in the doldrums for long at least as far as winning Connacht titles is concerned.
By the way even if Galway win Connacht this year I still don't think the standard will have been great. In comparision to say the late 90's early 00's when Galway, Mayo and Roscommon all had good sides and Sligo were improving. Provincial fortunes will ebb and flow though so I wouldn't say it's a reason for panic.
This has to be the Worst troll job on the GaaBoard I'm thinking it's Jack L from Hoganstand?
(1) You start off saying "we are at an all time low" what where you born in the 90s ::)
(2) Team of Sligos Caliber? they have been a breath of fresh air who want's to see Galway or Mayo year after year?
(3) The Connacht council need to pour some funds in Roscommon, Sligo & leitrim because Galway/Mayo already have a unfair advantage
(4) If Sligo win the province fair play to them & they can't do worse than galway since 2001 & btw thanks for writing us off
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 28, 2010, 03:19:45 PM
The standard is not great in Connacht at the moment alright. Galway and Mayo both have very average teams by their standards. The Rossies have a young team who might amount to something in a few years but right now are no great shakes. Leitrim keep plugging away but realistically there is a ceiling with them. Sligo probably have one of the best teams they have ever had at the moment so if they win another Connacht you could not begrudge them. They have to make hay while the sun shines as the big two in Connacht always have an ability to reemerge with a new talented team quicker than the rest and are rarely in the doldrums for long at least as far as winning Connacht titles is concerned.
By the way even if Galway win Connacht this year I still don't think the standard will have been great. In comparision to say the late 90's early 00's when Galway, Mayo and Roscommon all had good sides and Sligo were improving. Provincial fortunes will ebb and flow though so I wouldn't say it's a reason for panic.
At least someone picked up on what i meant to get across. Ross4life do you not agree that the standard of football in Connacht has dropped dramatically , its all well and good patronizing Sligo saying sure havent they great heart etc but its quite obvious that the Connacht teams have had a dramactic decline over the last number of years and the fact that a team at Sligo level lording it over the rest of us is quite a depressing fact.
Would you honestly put Sligo up there with Tyrone, Monaghan, Dublin, Meath, Cork and Kerry? I wouldnt. The best team in Connacht is mediocre and some root analysis is needed in order to correct it.
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on June 28, 2010, 03:42:41 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 28, 2010, 03:19:45 PM
At least someone picked up on what i meant to get across. Ross4life do you not agree that the standard of football in Connacht has dropped dramatically , its all well and good patronizing Sligo saying sure havent they great heart etc but its quite obvious that the Connacht teams have had a dramactic decline over the last number of years and the fact that a team at Sligo level lording it over the rest of us is quite a depressing fact.
Would you honestly put Sligo up there with Tyrone, Monaghan, Dublin, Meath, Cork and Kerry? I wouldnt. The best team in Connacht is mediocre and some root analysis is needed in order to correct it.
The last time Connacht team's have been talked about as "all Ireland favourite's" would be way back in 1997/98 Sure Galway won it in in 2001 but they did it against the odds i can still remember nobody gave them a chance in the Final v Meath
so in truth you could say Connacht has been mediocre for some time, Tyrone & kerry are a level ahead of the rest (stats prove that) & on there day Sligo or Galway could still beat Dublin monaghan & Meath from what i saw of them
For me it would be refreshing to see new province Champions this year (Limerick,Monaghan,Roscommon/Sligo,Louth) it would be good for the game from the boring kerry/cork, tyroneArmagh, galway/mayo Dublin) that the Gaa football Championship has become these days
I think the standard of Connact football can be found in the teams that will put us out of the Championship this year.
So far Longford beating Mayo is not a good sign, I can see Galway really struggling against Wexford if they lose next week and we wait and see with the other teams.
I think the standard of Connacht football is in a poor place at present and whoever the Connacht champions may be will struggle in the quarter-final if they come up against decent opposition such as Armagh, Derry, Fermanagh, etc.
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on June 28, 2010, 02:16:00 PM
Its sad to see the sorry state of Connacht football once more. We are at an all time low. When you have a team of the caliber of Sligo rising to the top its the sure sign of a sinking ship. Its rare to see both Mayo and Galway perform poorly in the same year but it is the crossroads we are are it. The Connacht council need to pour some funds into the future development of both Galway and Mayo, we cant have the situation where a team of Sligo's standard represents the province. Here is hoping for a Galway victory in the Replay.
I find this sort of thing very tiresome.
Mayo's performance is Mayo's problem. Looking for help from the Connacht Council is like Ross4life blaming geography, population and everyone else for Roscommon's performances. If Sligo win Connacht, and I hope they do, they will have done it the hard way and will thoroughly deserve it. It will also be good for the game in the province and good for the game in general.
So less of the poor mouth please and more of the 'we will be back sooner rather than later'.
Quote from: muppet on June 28, 2010, 06:04:59 PM
Mayo's performance is Mayo's problem. Looking for help from the Connacht Council is like Ross4life blaming geography, population and everyone else for Roscommon's performances. If Sligo win Connacht, and I hope they do, they will have done it the hard way and will thoroughly deserve it. It will also be good for the game in the province and good for the game in general.
So less of the poor mouth please and more of the 'we will be back sooner rather than later'.
Ross4life blaming geography, population and everyone else for Roscommon's performances nope you picked me up wrong us losing to two mediocre teams by 17/20 points you don't need excuses other than your shit* & at least you picked up one of my point's good for the game in the province and good for the game in general ;)
Quote from: muppet on June 28, 2010, 06:04:59 PM
Bang on. muppet. Mayo are out of the championships because they weren't good enough to get past Sligo. I also hope Sligo win out in Connacht but if either Galway or Roscommon beat them, I'll have no problem as long as they get beaten on merit.
Having Galway and Mayo meeting year after year has done nothing much for the state of football west of the Shannon. I think if we had a more competitive set up in the province it would be good for all the counties concerned.
With this in mind, I'm all for the success of the new project in Bekan; anything that serves to raise football standards within the province is good for all counties concerned. I sincerely hope that whoever wins out in Connacht goes all they way and gives the rest of us something to aim at next year.
You could count on one hand the number of years in the past 40 a Connacht team would be rated in top 3 in the country. Ros - 79/80. Mayo- 97/98. Galway -99/00. That s about it. Sligo have a very good team right now and will be kicking themselves if they don t win it this year. If they struggle in quarters? Nothing new there. So have Galway and Mayo as champions.
Roscommon are poor and will improve again. Leitrim do as best they can with the numbers they have. Mayo are in a hole of their own digging right now and will probably manage to dig their way out eventually. Galway are going through a bit of a dip and that has happened before. All teams fortunes do ebb and flow.
Anyway Connacht not really that relevant any more as an entity.It s every county for itself any more. From what I can see most punters take great satisfaction from the misfortune of their provincial neighbours. How many people go to see the provincial team play. Only at Colleges' level is it of relevance.
Quote from: moysider on June 28, 2010, 09:09:59 PM
You could count on one hand the number of years in the past 40 a Connacht team would be rated in top 3 in the country. Ros - 79/80. Mayo- 97/98. Galway -99/00. That s about it. Sligo have a very good team right now and will be kicking themselves if they don t win it this year. If they struggle in quarters? Nothing new there. So have Galway and Mayo as champions.
Roscommon are poor and will improve again. Leitrim do as best they can with the numbers they have. Mayo are in a hole of their own digging right now and will probably manage to dig their way out eventually. Galway are going through a bit of a dip and that has happened before. All teams fortunes do ebb and flow.
Anyway Connacht not really that relevant any more as an entity.It s every county for itself any more. From what I can see most punters take great satisfaction from the misfortune of their provincial neighbours. How many people go to see the provincial team play. Only at Colleges' level is it of relevance.
Too true, look at Rossfan's contempt for all things Mayo, and Sligonian's detestment for all things in the Green and Red. It makes me sick.
Sport/Football tends to be cyclical.........when three teams in the province are competitive the Connacht Champions tend to do better in Croke Park.........There are no Willie Joe Padden type figures in the game these days........blah blah blah blah....
This thread isn't going to shed any light on anything I don't think.......and I really should be doing something usefull like the ironing.......
Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 28, 2010, 09:29:16 PM
look at Rossfan's contempt for all things Mayo, and Sligonian's detestment for all things in the Green and Red. It makes me sick.
While you on the other hand love us all and feel awful any time ye beat any of us :-* :-* :-*
Quote from: Beard on June 28, 2010, 10:10:15 PM
Sport/Football tends to be cyclical.........when three teams in the province are competitive the Connacht Champions tend to do better in Croke Park.........There are no Willie Joe Padden type figures in the game these days........blah blah blah blah....
This thread isn't going to shed any light on anything I don't think.......and I really should be doing something usefull like the ironing.......
This thread was a bad attempt at a wind up and should have been ignored.
Well said Seanie. It must have been a wind up, because Mr Solan the Great couldn't be as big a patronising bollocks as the title of this thread makes him seem.
Quote from: Shrewdness on June 28, 2010, 11:36:18 PM
Well said Seanie. It must have been a wind up, because Mr Solan the Great couldn't be as big a patronising bollocks as the title of this thread makes him seem.
Galway's loss today goes forward to back up my claim. Sad times for Connacht football. Its far to say that Roscommon and Sligo will have at most 2 games left in the championship.
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on July 10, 2010, 04:15:29 PM
Galway's loss today goes forward to back up my claim. Sad times for Connacht football. Its far to say that Roscommon and Sligo will have at most 2 games left in the championship.
Let's make a bet. If either county wins their next game after the Connacht Final will you run naked around the Octagon, one lap for each point they win by?
Then you must must post photos for the benefit of our lady posters and Ziggy on the hot men thread.
Since 2006 how many games has Mayo/Galway won outside of the Connacht championship?
Mayo beat Cavan in the backdoor since 2006. :-[
Quote from: muppet on July 10, 2010, 04:32:29 PM
Let's make a bet. If either county wins their next game after the Connacht Final will you run naked around the Octagon, one lap for each point they win by?
Then you must must post photos for the benefit of our lady posters and Ziggy on the hot men thread.
Its a deal.
Peter solan the great - the great gimp more like.
Didnt see this thread until now,
Have to say myself and ould man had quite a snigger at the fact that Sligo, LEITRIM and Roscommon outlasted both Mayo and Galway in the championship.
I take this thread as wummery tbh, Ye have total control of connacht off the field and everyone else has to appease the powers that be so we dont get totally screwed. It is everyone for themselves in connacht but mayo has long lead the way in this regard.
I certainly wouldnt begrudge some of the genuine mayo heads an AI, but why feel sorry for yereselves, it could be alot worse, you could be from a county with no hope of provincial in sight like carlow, no offence. Take the good with the bad.
For me its great for Connacht that Sligo and Roscommon are in the final.
From a Leitrim perspective all I can say is :
::) heard it all before in 94!
....the usual s**t talk when one of the other three makes the break.
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 10, 2010, 11:51:24 PM
Have to say myself and ould man had quite a snigger at the fact that Sligo, LEITRIM and Roscommon outlasted both Mayo and Galway in the championship.
I take this thread as wummery tbh, Ye have total control of connacht off the field and everyone else has to appease the powers that be so we dont get totally screwed. It is everyone for themselves in connacht but mayo has long lead the way in this regard.
I certainly wouldnt begrudge some of the genuine mayo heads an AI, but why feel sorry for yereselves, it could be alot worse, you could be from a county with no hope of provincial in sight like carlow, no offence. Take the good with the bad.
Honestly do you not agree that the standard of GAA in Connacht is a laughing stock at this moment. A Serious root review of Connacht football needs to be undertaken. Football begins at underage level. Sligo hasnt won a Connacht minor football championship since 1968 and since winning in 1968 have only been in the final twice in 1996 and 1998. Its a five horse race in Connacht so that statistic is amazing. At least Leitrim put in some effort at Underage.
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 10, 2010, 11:51:24 PM
It is great indeed. It shows that the stranglehold of tradition can be broken by belief. And fair play to Sligo they never let anything stand in their way when facing Galway with a few minutes to go and them 2 behind. Now, if only Connacht teams could actually carry this onto the national stage, we'd all be better off. But Mayo and Galway are where we are and we should do something about it (maybe the review will help) to bounce back again.
With numbers the way they are Mayo should be winning Connacht minor most years anyway - if properly managed. Same U-21. The recent U 21 run shows what can be achieved with even a smidereen of competent management. Remember Galway is almost exclusively half a hurling county and can often field an AI winning hurling team at minor. When Mayo and Galway were doin ok in the past, and the others nowhere, I dont remember anybody being concerned about the state of football in Connacht. As I ve said already the whole concept of Connacht football largely irrelevant anyway.
Galway this year have been badly affected by injury but probably a bit shy of quality at the minute anyway. That happens everywhere. Mayo s problems are diferent. 3 Connacht titles since 2000 is a disgrace considering the advantages we have. But rather than beating ourselves up about funding and coaching etc, lets just call a spade a spade. Football in Mayo in the noughties was defined by two disastrously useless managements.
Fair play to Sligo and Roscommon. Whoever wins the bloody thing can hardly do much worse in 1/4 than Mayo and Galway have anyway in recent years. Provided they dont meet Cork of course.
Connacht needs good Galway and Mayo teams. As much as it also needs good Leitrim, Sligo and Roscommon teams. On the reverse have we ever heard Mayo or Galway people saying Connacht GAA needs Leitrim, Sligo and Roscommon. I'd say the two of them were quiet happy to have the monopoly on the Nestor Cup.
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 11, 2010, 02:57:05 PM
Connacht needs good Galway and Mayo teams. As much as it also needs good Leitrim, Sligo and Roscommon teams. On the reverse have we ever heard Mayo or Galway people saying Connacht GAA needs Leitrim, Sligo and Roscommon. I'd say the two of them were quiet happy to have the monopoly on the Nestor Cup.
Indeed they were very happy. Interesting to note the distribution of the 2010 Connacht Titles....
SENIOR - Roscommon or Sligo....
UNDER 21 - Roscommon
JUNIOR - Sligo
MINOR - Galway or Mayo
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on July 10, 2010, 08:20:27 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 10, 2010, 04:32:29 PM
Its a deal.
Just saving your commitment.
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 11, 2010, 02:57:05 PM
Roscommon should be on this list, I wonder were Rossies feeling sorry for Mayo in the late '60s, 1970's and early 1980's!
A hammering is dished out to Sligo by an average team. Connacht again is the laughing stock. Some serious action is needed
As i said on the other thread, this will not look good. Realistically in a five team province with only two traditionally stronger teams you will get years like this where the two teams misfire and the smaller guys get a run. Happened in Connacht before in the early 90s and even in Munster in 1992. It doesn't look good when the teams that come through bollox it up like this though.
Well it's hard to believe where the only one's left to fly the Connacht flag :o go easy on us lads because we know our limitations in Roscommon & we will be happy enough with good effort v Cork,Kildare,Down or Dublin
Quote from: ross4life on July 24, 2010, 09:23:24 PM
Well it's hard to believe where the only one's left to fly the Connacht flag :o go easy on us lads because we know our limitations in Roscommon & we will be happy enough with good effort v Cork,Kildare,Down or Dublin
Who would you like to draw R4L? Down look a good bet. If ye drew them, ye would not be given a chance given Sligos demise against them. But i think ye would have a chance.
Quote from: Cosmo Kramer on July 24, 2010, 08:42:20 PM
As i said on the other thread, this will not look good. Realistically in a five team province with only two traditionally stronger teams you will get years like this where the two teams misfire and the smaller guys get a run. Happened in Connacht before in the early 90s and even in Munster in 1992. It doesn't look good when the teams that come through bollox it up like this though.
Cosmo, when it comes to bollixing things up, Mayo are the galacticos, so none of that condescending shite about the lesser counties (in your opinion) coming through.
You might have to get used to it. Have you seen anything from Mayo and Galway this year to say that things will be any better for them in 2011???......I haven't.
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 24, 2010, 10:57:59 PM
Who would you like to draw R4L? Down look a good bet. If ye drew them, ye would not be given a chance given Sligos demise against them. But i think ye would have a chance.
Hard to know who would be a good draw? where really punching above our weight but it should be a great experience for the young lads, i think Dermot has ask for Kildare v Roscommon in the heaven's above & that would be in his words "Mighty.
Mighty altogether."
Quote from: Shrewdness on July 24, 2010, 11:51:56 PM
Cosmo, when it comes to bollixing things up, Mayo are the galacticos, so none of that condescending shite about the lesser counties (in your opinion) coming through.
You might have to get used to it. Have you seen anything from Mayo and Galway this year to say that things will be any better for them in 2011???......I haven't.
You beat Leitrim and Sligo and suddenly you are dumping all your pessimism on us! Mayo have had their worst season since the introduction of the qualifiers but why dwell only on that year? We could easily play into September 2011.
Undoubtably no but Galway and Mayo do have an ability to rediscover their mojo quicker than the other Connacht counties. They can go from being rubbish one year to quite good the next. Not that I'm expecting that to happen. As bad as both have been this year you would still expect one of them to win Connacht next year.
Easy there lad. Probably as well to leave the Mayo slagging until after your QF. If you win that (and I genuinely hope you do) you'll have plenty of reason to shout.
My dividing of the province in two is not without substance. Couple of questions for you. Is it or is it not 30 years next month since any of Roscommon, Sligo or Leitrim won a game in the All Ireland Series (i.e. QF, SF or final)? And how games at that level have Mayo and Galway won in the interim?
EDIT: Just realised I never answered your question at the end of your post. With 4 of the last 5 Connacht U-21s and 3 in a row at minor, i have plenty of hope for Mayo. Throw the best of them in with our half a dozen or so best of the more senior players and there's every chance we can win Connacht in 2011. And we generally have a decent record of going further on in the Championship the years we win provincial titles (4 of the last 6 times we have gone further), so big improvement is possible next year - only with the right manager of course.
Galway I'm not so sure about, but if they get their forwards fit, particularly Meehan of course, they can compete with anyone in a one off big game. They don't seem to have as much coming through as Mayo though, but I would still expect them to win more Connacht titles in the next decade than any of the other three.
And also - I didn't use the word 'lesser'. There is a big difference between smaller and lesser, one is condescending and the other is not.
Sligo really have shone the torchlight of shame on Connacht once more. Its hard not to be angry with them. Please God that Roscommon will have 15 men behind the ball and at least keep it respectable.
Where to from here? this centre of excellence from Connacht is a start no surprises that it is being led by Mayo.
County by County guide
Sligo really have to start outting the effort in at underage. They can hardly expect sustained success at Senior level with out the underage to back it up. They cant be expecting the likes of Alan Costelloe from other counties all the time. There in Division 2 next year we'll see how forward or backwards they have gone then
Roscommon have put in the effort at underage but i think they have a over reliance on the minor crop of 2006. They need a few hard men and from having watched the club scene from time to time there is plenty of them there. There on the right track though they need to get out of division 4 next year.
Leitrim there doing there best with limited resources, very high emigration in the county. keep plugging away and hope for a bit of success, the underage set up in leitrim is far superior to that in sligo.
Galway i think that they are too interested in Arts festivals and skinny latte's at this stage to be honest. Half a hurling county and half a football county massive population they'll come right at some stage they should start with appointing a galway man as director of football and as manager and not spending vital money on rent a managers.
Mayo probaly have the most potential, the club scene has gone down hill a bit no doubt about it the recession has hit hard. Good underage teams have dominated Connacht for the last few years the "genisis" report will tell us more. The "West Mayo" team is the template we need to follow for Junior players.
Quote from: ross4life on July 25, 2010, 12:31:09 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 24, 2010, 10:57:59 PM
Hard to know who would be a good draw? where really punching above our weight but it should be a great experience for the young lads, i think Dermot has ask for Kildare v Roscommon in the heaven's above & that would be in his words "Mighty. Mighty altogether."
It sure would
Quote from: muppet on July 25, 2010, 01:27:32 AM
You beat Leitrim and Sligo and suddenly you are dumping all your pessimism on us! Mayo have had their worst season since the introduction of the qualifiers but why dwell only on that year? We could easily play into September 2011.
Muppet, i never mentioned Roscommon in my post. My post was aimed at your comment about teams breaking through and then bollixing up. You were obviously referring to Sligo, as was i.
Don't worry, we are well aware of our limitations in Roscommon.
Quote from: Shrewdness on July 25, 2010, 06:40:00 PM
Muppet, i never mentioned Roscommon in my post. My post was aimed at your comment about teams breaking through and then bollixing up. You were obviously referring to Sligo, as was i.
I made no such comment.
Doesn't even sound like me messing either.
Quote from: muppet on July 26, 2010, 12:33:13 AM
My mistake Muppet, but i stand by what i said.
I made no such comment.
Quote from: Shrewdness on July 26, 2010, 11:35:10 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 26, 2010, 12:33:13 AM
My mistake Muppet, but i stand by what i said.
I made no such comment.
Do you see the original comment about 'bollix it up'?
I cannot see Mayo doing anything of substance out of Connacht for a long time.
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 28, 2010, 08:49:27 PM
I cannot see Mayo doing anything of substance out of Connacht for a long time.
Last 5 yearsConnacht under 21 titles 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009
Connacht Minor titles 2008, 2009, 2010
So your trying to tell us all the good work at underage level by Mayo is gonna go to waste?
But it's outside of Connacht I worry about. And it could go to waste if the top brass don't get somebody good to do the job.
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 29, 2010, 03:29:36 PM
But it's outside of Connacht I worry about. And it could go to waste if the top brass don't get somebody good to do the job.
compare yourselves to someone like Cork the last decade..
Cork All Ireland runner's up in 07 09, League winner's 2009, Munster titles 4, All Ireland u21 07 09, All ireland Minor 00
Mayo All Ireland Runner's up in 06 04, League winner's 2001 Connacht titles 3, All Ireland u21 06, All ireland runner's up 00, 05, 08, 09
not a lot different to be honest
There's a bit of a difference in fairness, Mayo's league win will be 10 years ago by 2011 so is irrelevant for their future prospects. Cork also lost that 06 U21 so they have had at least 3 very good U21 teams in the past 4 years and their minor record is pretty good too. And although Munster may not be the strongest province, it has Kerry in it so if you win it your probably a pretty decent team, the same can't be said of Connacht.
The problem with Mayo IMO is that they don't produce enough 9/10 players, loads of 7 or 8/10 players but not enough really top class ones. Galway are different in that they do get the few gems but not enough of the 7 or 8/10 players and I can't see that changing for either team in the near future. The other counties just don't have the pick to be serious challengers on a regular basis but both Sligo and Roscommon have the bones of decent teams at the moment and I would be working extra hard at U16 to U21 level to try and bring another 6-7 players through to complement the best of what they have now.
I dont't think it is a question of Mayo not producing better players and just several competent players. The problem lies in how 18+ players have been allowed go quickly to seed after initial promise. There are obvious problems like fielding 2 teams at U16 and stuff but the real sinkhole has been at senior for generations. A culture of underpitching has been in place for decades in the county. It has often manifested itself as young fellas with swelled heads as soon as they get a senior start. Liam O Neill hit the nail on the head in an interview with the Mayo News. I ve posted his piece on another thread here. Players were happy enough to play club, and had no ambition to win an AI in the 80s. Nothing has changed.
The current minors have 2/3 players [form on the day always being a factor] who are 8/9 players. But so were Hanley, Parsons and Campbell and Michael Conroy at 18yrs. Our problem is not producing players of quality - it s developing them into serious senior footballers.
All counties (including Cork , Kerry and Tyrone ) need a good few top players to emerge at the same time, and when that happens there is always a number of journeymen who will be lifted by the rising tide and you have a golden era. Mayo s problem, in my time, was when we had the quality, we didn't have a Micko, Heffo or Boylan to cut out the shite that has been dragging us down for generations.
My apologies Muppet. I accept now that it wasn't you who made the original comment.
Quote from: Shrewdness on July 30, 2010, 06:34:00 PM
My apologies Muppet. I accept now that it wasn't you who made the original comment.
No problem. I could see it was an honest mistake.