GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: PatDaly on June 13, 2010, 07:36:24 PM

Title: Ard Mhacha v Dún na nGall - 26ú Meitheamh
Post by: PatDaly on June 13, 2010, 07:36:24 PM
Will this game be played at Páirc Oilobheir Pluinceid, Crois Mhic Lionnáin?
Title: Re: Ard Mhacha v Dún na nGall - 26ú Meitheamh
Post by: JMohan on June 13, 2010, 07:44:27 PM
Armagh will put up a good fight, but rumours or unrest and the manner of the loss to Monaghan will seriously put doubt in their minds if it stays close.
On the other side Donegal might not even turn up if the weathers good and John Joe is on the way out also ...

Could be a make or break day for POR and Co
Post by: Orior on June 13, 2010, 07:58:18 PM
Quote from: JMohan on June 13, 2010, 07:44:27 PM
Armagh will put up a good fight, but rumours or unrest and the manner of the loss to Monaghan will seriously put doubt in their minds if it stays close.
On the other side Donegal might not even turn up if the weathers good and John Joe is on the way out also ...

Armagh won Division Two and had a hicup against Monaghan. Why would there be rumours of unrest?

I think Armagh should start favourites for this.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 13, 2010, 08:06:00 PM
It's going to be a horribly short year for one of these teams. A very hard one to call.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on June 13, 2010, 08:09:48 PM
I would be wary of Armagh.

When they lost to Down they slaughtered Donegal in the next round. However this is championship football. If Armagh lose a man theyre doomed.
Post by: Shortso79 on June 13, 2010, 08:25:05 PM

Match has to be played in Crossmaglen

Post by: bennydorano on June 13, 2010, 09:09:17 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 13, 2010, 07:58:18 PM
Quote from: JMohan on June 13, 2010, 07:44:27 PM

Armagh won Division Two and had a hicup against Monaghan. Why would there be rumours of unrest?

I think Armagh should start favourites for this.

I second the bullshit rumours sentiment.  We got a tanking with 14 men end off, move the f**k on. 

A terrible draw for Armagh, Donegal have all the motivation in the world to beat us.  We needed a soft one to get the show on the road again, this is far from it but if we come through it it will be worth ten times what would be achieved in tanking London or Carlow.

I hope the Armagh Co board fight to their dying breaths to get this game in Cross.  A Saturday eveing game in Clones or Omagh would proably get a thousand more than Cross, there's little financial gain to be had (for Armagh anyway) especailly if we get beaten! 
Post by: ardchieftain on June 13, 2010, 09:19:52 PM
My son was heartbroken that he wouldn't  be attending an ulster final this year so come on Armagh, put a smile on my wee lads face by winning on his birthday.

If Armagh do lose this, where do we go from here ?
Post by: Armaghgeddon on June 13, 2010, 09:23:04 PM
Quote from: ardchieftain on June 13, 2010, 09:19:52 PM
My son was heartbroken that he wouldn't  be attending an ulster final this year so come on Armagh, put a smile on my wee lads face by winning on his birthday.

Sorry to bring it up again....But hopefully the county board will move heaven and earth to get Grimley.
Post by: bennydorano on June 13, 2010, 09:27:18 PM
You could still take him to the Ulster Final if the minors get there ;)

If we lose, we lose. IMO We're in a better position now than when we started the year (without Ronan clarke too), we've progressed - we're not gona break any delph for a year or two - people need to accept that and reassess what they expect from the team.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 13, 2010, 09:29:41 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on June 13, 2010, 09:23:04 PM

Sorry to bring it up again....But hopefully the county board will move heaven and earth to get Grimley.
He doesn't want the job! People need to move on.
Post by: bennydorano on June 13, 2010, 09:31:06 PM

Grimley had his opportunity and turned it down, move on.  I really think he's letting someone else do the rebuilding and he'll slip in in a two or three years when hopefully we should be realistic challengers again.
Post by: PatDaly on June 13, 2010, 09:32:43 PM
This should definitely help the Armagh cause.......

http://www.setanta.com/ie/Articles/2010/06/07/Molloy-hit-with-suspension/gnid-70209/

Donegal youngster Dermot Molloy will miss his side's opening game in the All-Ireland qualifier series after landing a four-week ban.

The rising star, known as 'Brick', has been hit with the penalty after referee Joe McQuillan was asked by the CCCC to review video footage of an incident involving him and Down's Damien Rafferty in last weekend's Ulster SFC quarter-final defeat.

The referee reportedly told the powers that be that had he seen the incident at the time he would have sent the young man – who bagged 1-3 in the game in what was his Championship debut - off via a straight red card.

However, he will now miss John Joe Doherty's first qualifier game as they look to get over the extra-time defeat that they suffered in Baleybofey.
Post by: Orior on June 13, 2010, 09:37:27 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on June 13, 2010, 09:31:06 PM

Grimley had his opportunity and turned it down, move on.  I really think he's letting someone else do the rebuilding and he'll slip in in a two or three years when hopefully we should be realistic challengers again.

We were also blessed with an unbelievable team from 1998 to 2005. Those of us who remember the wilderness years tend not to set our sights too high.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 13, 2010, 09:56:13 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on June 13, 2010, 09:31:06 PM

Yes, by which time Stevie McDonnell and possibly Ronan Clarke will have hung up their boots. It might well take Armagh a few more years to be realistic challengers (nationally) again.
I'm sure the likes of Monaghan in 1988 or Donegal in 1992 didn't think they'd be waiting as long on their next Ulster title. Armagh has had a period of unprecedented success and it may be more than a short-term rebuilding process before they reach similar heights.
Post by: bennydorano on June 13, 2010, 10:03:13 PM
Monaghan and Donegal didn't have interim AI champs at U18 and U21 grades - should have been another U21 as well a few years back.  I think we've reason to be optimistic about the future.
Post by: Shortso79 on June 13, 2010, 10:38:18 PM
Armagh get Donegal qualifier

Armagh boss Paddy O'Rourke told BBC Sport on Sunday night that Ronan Clarke will "definitely not" be in the frame for the Donegal game.

Clarke has suffered an apparent setback in his recovery from an Achilles injury and O'Rourke said that the former All-Star's foot is in plaster again.

"He'll be out of football for some time. I'm not sure for how long but he'll not be playing against Donegal," said O'Rourke.

The Armagh manager also confirmed that the county will be appealing against Brian Mallon's controversial sending-off against Monaghan.

Mallon picked up an automatic one-month ban for a high challenge on Rory Woods which is in line to rule the Armagh forward out of the qualifier.

O'Rourke further added that there were suggestions that a couple of his players had picked up knocks in weekend club games but that these reports were as yet unconfirmed.

O'Rourke said that Armagh are expecting the game to be played in Crossmaglen.

"It might have to be all-ticket but we certainly believe that Cross should be the venue for this game given that we were first out of the hat.

"We expect it to be a very tough and close game.

"Everything went right for us in Letterkenny and everything went wrong for them."

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/8737968.stm
Post by: borderfox on June 13, 2010, 10:41:14 PM
Id be confident of a win if the game is played in cross
Post by: Maguire01 on June 13, 2010, 10:45:12 PM
Why has it taken Armagh so long to get the Athletic Grounds sorted?
Post by: Orior on June 13, 2010, 10:55:33 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 13, 2010, 10:45:12 PM
Why has it taken Armagh so long to get the Athletic Grounds sorted?

Cause they're useless feckers?
Post by: balladmaker on June 13, 2010, 11:19:01 PM
Let's forget about Ronan Clarke for this year, even of he was declared fit, he has been out for so long it would take some time to be match fit.

Would be very important for Armagh to have the game in Cross, not that Cross is a fortress for Armagh, but the atmosphere of a partisan home crowd in the Championship should not be underestimated.
Post by: StGallsGAA on June 13, 2010, 11:53:23 PM

As I pointed out on the other thread,  Grimley was met last week and sounded out.

Post by: Maguire01 on June 13, 2010, 11:57:41 PM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on June 13, 2010, 11:53:23 PM
As I pointed out on the other thread,  Grimley was met last week and sounded out.
I'd be dubious about reports of what Grimley supposedly said, especially when with another team in mid season when things are going well.
Post by: J70 on June 14, 2010, 12:11:31 AM
Bollocks to this anyway... we just can't handle the Armagh physical game and I will be seriously shocked if we come through this tie. I do not expect us to stand off Armagh like we did in the recent league game and they're not quite Cork in terms of melding the physical game with superb attacking, but I don't see too many ways for us to win. Throw in the fact that McFadden will have to be brought back into the team in place of Molloy, and most of the time he'll do little in a game like this. Would be a nice evening for him to get into one of his occasional unmarkable moods though and take a bit of the pressure and cover away from Murphy. But I thought we played decent enough, given the personnel we have, in the Down game, and even that probably just won't be good enough. While we owe them, Armagh have serious amends to make as well, so I'm very pessimistic. The last team I wanted! And I'm not saying that to get the excuses in or save face: I thought we had a great chance against Down beforehand, and I said so (I still think we should have got something from the game) and I would do so this time if I really thought that. But more often than not the best we can do is lose by a couple of points. We were lucky in 2007 with a soft goal, even though we came back well in a match we looked beaten in, but even when we've played well against them such as the 2006 Ulster final, the 2005 first round drawn game, 03 AI semi and even 02 Ulster Final, we just can't get across the line.
Post by: Schkite on June 14, 2010, 12:13:56 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 13, 2010, 11:57:41 PM
I'd be dubious about reports of what Grimley supposedly said, especially when with another team in mid season when things are going well.

He'll be with Monaghan again next year I'd say.
Post by: JMohan on June 14, 2010, 12:38:14 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 13, 2010, 11:57:41 PM

That's true

However there's no way there's another 50k in Monaghan for him next year
Post by: mountainboii on June 14, 2010, 09:08:45 AM
Shite draw as usual. Seven years now since we faced a non-Ulster team in the qualifiers and three times in a row that we've faced arguably the toughest team in the pot. If we get them to Cross I'd be confident enough, but elsewhere it's anyone's guess. We're not going to be lifting any cups this year, but it's vital that we win this game. Another early exit will put a lot of pressure on the manager heading into next year. The lack of Championship games in the last couple of years can not be helping the development of our younger players either.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 14, 2010, 10:06:36 AM
What's the capacity of XMG? Is it 10k did I read last week? I'd imagine that should be just about ample. Lads, I wouldn't be too despondent, whichever team comes through this will be back on track and could go on a bit of a run. Think of it as an USFC game with the winners meeting a beaten semi-finalist i.e. parity restored. Should be a good contest and would like to see it in Cross. It's a shame for Armagh to have to relinquish home advantage twice in the one year..
Post by: mountainboii on June 14, 2010, 10:11:48 AM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 14, 2010, 10:06:36 AM
What's the capacity of XMG? Is it 10k did I read last week? I'd imagine that should be just about ample. Lads, I wouldn't be too despondent, whichever team comes through this will be back on track and could go on a bit of a run. Think of it as an USFC game with the winners meeting a beaten semi-finalist i.e. parity restored. Should be a good contest and would like to see it in Cross. It's a shame for Armagh to have to relinquish home advantage twice in the one year..

I'd say the capacity would be fine, but it could be the number of seats or disabled access or some red tape issue like that which prevents the game from going ahead there.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 14, 2010, 10:51:20 AM
Quote from: AFS on June 14, 2010, 10:11:48 AM

I'd say the capacity would be fine, but it could be the number of seats or disabled access or some red tape issue like that which prevents the game from going ahead there.

True.. Inniskeen capacity is circa 6k but GAAHQ fixed it at 3k for the NFL game aganist Tyrone. Bureaucrats!!  :)
Post by: mackers on June 14, 2010, 11:00:00 AM
Quote from: AFS on June 14, 2010, 10:11:48 AM

Sh1te draw for the reasons that others have pointed although in fairness it's worse for Donegal as they must be sick of the sight of us. Armagh have a crap record in the back door (except for 03) and this is a serious test.
It would be a huge boost for us to get it to Cross. Our record in Cross is excellent but if the minors weren't allowed to play a home game there against Monaghan it's unlikely the seniors will be allowed to play there. I'd say we'll all be on the road to Clones on Saturday week.
Armagh have a lot of work to do in training to correct the mistakes made in Casement, both in personnel and in tactics.
Post by: naka on June 14, 2010, 11:08:20 AM
as i said before cross would have more than enough space for this match
didnt know minors were refused permission to play monaghan in cross, was it not that Armagh agreed before the Ulster championship to forfeit their home advantage in Ulster,
I remember watching Down minors  play an Ulster semi-final in Cross a few years back think it went to extra time
if i were armagh would be fighting tooth and nail to keep home advantage considering that it will be a saturday night game which will be on tv
Post by: mackers on June 14, 2010, 11:12:04 AM
Quote from: naka on June 14, 2010, 11:08:20 AM
didnt know minors were refused permission to play monaghan in cross, was it not that Armagh agreed before the Ulster championship to forfeit their home advantage in Ulster,
I remember watching Down minors  play an Ulster semi-final in Cross a few years back think it went to extra time
if i were armagh would be fighting tooth and nail to keep home advantage considering that it will be a saturday night game which will be on tv
Why would they do that?  I assumed that they weren't allowed to play there. I asked on another thread what the reason for it was.
Post by: hobit hunter on June 14, 2010, 11:14:01 AM
Unfortunately I don't see Cross getting the stamp of approval and agree we'll all be off to Clones again.

With regards to the draw, I've mixed feelings about it.  It could have been worse, can you imagine taking the road to Newbridge to face Kildare or west to take on Mayo?  I think most just want to see a bit of variety and seeing us play someone that we rarely get the chance to line out against in championship football.  But Murphy's law being what it is, it's another Ulster draw for us.  Donegal must be the less happier of the two though - to come so close to disposing of Down and then to draw us again and away from home, nightmare for them. 

If we get through this draw am I right in thinking that the winners of these ties get drawn against each other for round 2 before the semi-losers come into the reckoning for round 3?
Post by: armaghniac on June 14, 2010, 11:54:27 AM
QuoteIf we get through this draw am I right in thinking that the winners of these ties get drawn against each other for round 2 before the semi-losers come into the reckoning for round 3?

No. Eight teams come through this round and they play 8 semi losers (2 from each province). We could manage Donegal and get Cork.

Post by: rory on June 14, 2010, 11:55:53 AM
16 teams in Round 1 become 8
Round 2 sees those 8 play the 8 losing semi finalists
Round 3 sees the round 2 winners play each other to get it down to 4
Round 4 sees those 4 play the 4 provincial losers
Post by: mountainboii on June 14, 2010, 11:58:08 AM
Quote from: hobit hunter on June 14, 2010, 11:14:01 AM
Unfortunately I don't see Cross getting the stamp of approval and agree we'll all be off to Clones again.

With regards to the draw, I've mixed feelings about it.  It could have been worse, can you imagine taking the road to Newbridge to face Kildare or west to take on Mayo?

Neither was a possibility. We were guaranteed a home game against either of those two.
Post by: Main Street on June 14, 2010, 12:02:32 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on June 13, 2010, 09:09:17 PM

A terrible draw for Armagh, Donegal have all the motivation in the world to beat us.  We needed a soft one to get the show on the road again, this is far from it but if we come through it it will be worth ten times what would be achieved in tanking London or Carlow.

My first reaction was that it is an excellent draw for Armagh. A home draw against a team with some talent, that might have a hope that they can beat you. Win this and you will be in better shape to meet the challenge in the 2nd round.
Post by: hobit hunter on June 14, 2010, 12:06:29 PM
Quote from: AFS on June 14, 2010, 11:58:08 AM

With regards to the draw, I've mixed feelings about it.  It could have been worse, can you imagine taking the road to Newbridge to face Kildare or west to take on Mayo?

Neither was a possibility. We were guaranteed a home game against either of those two.

How so AFS?  I thought that it was first out of the hat got the home draw and the old lower ranked team thing was kicked out?
Post by: mountainboii on June 14, 2010, 12:10:06 PM
Quote from: hobit hunter on June 14, 2010, 12:06:29 PM
Quote from: AFS on June 14, 2010, 11:58:08 AM

How so AFS?  I thought that it was first out of the hat got the home draw and the old lower ranked team thing was kicked out?

We were away last year, so guaranteed a home tie this time round provided we weren't drawn out second against a team that was also away last year. We could only have been away to Tipperary, Offaly, Carlow, Longford or London.
Post by: naka on June 14, 2010, 01:09:29 PM
Quote from: mackers on June 14, 2010, 11:12:04 AM
Quote from: naka on June 14, 2010, 11:08:20 AM
Why would they do that?  I assumed that they weren't allowed to play there. I asked on another thread what the reason for it was.
i thought that each county had to nominate a county ground at the start of the championship and armagh were the only ones who didnt have one therefore they didnt nominate 
Post by: jobo11 on June 14, 2010, 01:22:59 PM
Well well, i ve decided to give this a try because I'm sick of reading bullsh@~t from bar stool footballers. this is a great draw for armagh , we didn t want a easy draw , you have to beat the best anyway. i think also that this armagh team will stay together as a strong unit for the next couple of years, no one will retire. this year is only a stepping stone to bring the team on and to gel. next year will be the important one , playing the likes of Kerry, cork, monaghan, mayo, this will be a test to see how far armagh has come and if they can challenge for all irelands, which i believe they can.
Post by: Oakleafer1993 on June 14, 2010, 02:08:51 PM
Actually hoped Derry would get drawn against you lot again - but Donegal should turn Armagh over.
Post by: jobo11 on June 14, 2010, 03:00:20 PM
Thats cheap coming from a derry supporter. you s will be lucky to get into round 2 .
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 14, 2010, 03:41:23 PM
Quote from: Oakleafer1993 on June 14, 2010, 02:08:51 PM
Actually hoped Derry would get drawn against you lot again - but Donegal should turn Armagh over.

Derry should be happy enough with Carlow for now...  ;)
Post by: Down South on June 14, 2010, 05:10:08 PM
Game confirmed for Crossmaglen 3.30pm. Live on RTE TV.
Post by: mackers on June 14, 2010, 05:12:12 PM
See the match is in Crossmaglen......happy days. Big advantage us playing there. There'll be a good atmosphere, the alternative would've been an empty Clones.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 14, 2010, 05:41:09 PM
The first football championship match to take place in County Armagh since 1995 or 1996?
Post by: stew on June 14, 2010, 06:06:22 PM

Bollocks, Grimley is staying put and Paddy is the man in the job and deserves a fair crack of the whip, he led us to promotion and we are a team that is only a year or two away from really being a challenger for the AI.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on June 14, 2010, 06:26:42 PM
Quote from: Down South on June 14, 2010, 05:10:08 PM
Game confirmed for Crossmaglen 3.30pm. Live on RTE TV.

Any other games live on RTE?
Post by: mhacadoir on June 14, 2010, 07:18:23 PM
that will be a great bonus for Armagh playing in Cross. The hurlers are also due to be playing a home game on the 26th in the semi final of the Nicky Rackard Cup, would be great for the hurlers to have a double header.
Post by: armaghniac on June 14, 2010, 07:26:09 PM
QuoteThe first football championship match to take place in County Armagh since 1995 or 1996?

An interesting question is when a championship match might last have taken place in Cross'.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 14, 2010, 07:28:07 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 14, 2010, 07:26:09 PM
QuoteThe first football championship match to take place in County Armagh since 1995 or 1996?

An interesting question is when a championship match might last have taken place in Cross'.

Possibly never?
Post by: Armaghgeddon on June 14, 2010, 07:49:36 PM
Quote from: stew on June 14, 2010, 06:06:22 PM

Bollocks, Grimley is staying put and Paddy is the man in the job and deserves a fair crack of the whip, he led us to promotion and we are a team that is only a year or two away from really being a challenger for the AI.

Seriously?
Post by: ardmhachaabu on June 14, 2010, 09:15:48 PM
I fear too many Armagh fans have unrealistic expectations of the squad as it is currently.  As many others have said, the squad seems leaderless in times of panic and trouble. 

I tip Donegal to bate Armagh by 5 points

All this talk of Grimley is an annoying distraction.  Grimley and Geezer combined won't solve the problems Armagh have.  Only the current squad and management can do that, in my opinion

I hope they prove me wrong and slaughter Donegal but I can't see it
Post by: balladmaker on June 14, 2010, 09:21:26 PM
QuoteI tip Donegal to bate Armagh by 5 points

That will be a 21 point turn around from the league, dramatic to say the least...different ball game I know but ...
Post by: lawnseed on June 14, 2010, 10:13:04 PM
armagh to win! and why you ask? simple! theres no way arron kernan is gonna make a show of himself like he did in Belfast. this guy when he gets the finger out is the difference between what we saw against donegal and down and what monaghan did to us. i firmly believe he lacks confidence despite his list of honours, also the home venue will spur on hearty and the other cross lads. over the last 10 years the cross lads lead the county with their aggression, and bloody will to win. this is a backs to the wall high pressure match just what this team needs to bring them together and strengthen their camaraderie. i hope its close and we come from behind. basically its "come home with your shield or on it"
Post by: borderfox on June 14, 2010, 10:19:56 PM
Im really glad this games going to cross and it should be a sellout,It could be the game we need to kickstart ourselves again plus we owe them one from 2007.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 14, 2010, 10:20:20 PM
I'm confident of an Armagh win, 4 or 5 points in it.
Post by: anportmorforjfc on June 14, 2010, 10:22:40 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 14, 2010, 10:20:20 PM
I'm confident of an Armagh win, 4 or 5 points in it.

Wish i felt the same. Think it will be very close 1 or 2 in it either way.
Post by: armaghniac on June 14, 2010, 10:32:35 PM
I see on the Armagh club thread that Francie scored a goal for Cross, on home turf he could be our new full forward.

Will this be all ticket, perchance?

also interesting quote in the paper today from Jack O'Connor
"It would be up there with the Armagh All-Ireland quarter final win in 2006," beamed O'Connor afterwards. "We were facing a mountain at half-time, we were four points down, facing a strong wind and Cork were playing serious football and appeared to have the legs on us. But from somewhere we just dug it out."

Read more: http://www.examiner.ie/sport/defiant-kerry-keep-meeting-the-challenges-122435.html#ixzz0qrjRru3a
Post by: lawnseed on June 14, 2010, 11:00:47 PM
the kerry lads do respect armagh, darragh o sea said mcgrane was the toughest nut of his career. interesting that in a pole i read of the greatest gaa matches. the 2000 matches against kerry were in the top 10 ever played including hurling. we must have been doing something right
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 14, 2010, 11:06:09 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 14, 2010, 10:32:35 PM
I see on the Armagh club thread that Francie scored a goal for Cross, on home turf he could be our new full forward.

Will this be all ticket, perchance?

also interesting quote in the paper today from Jack O'Connor
"It would be up there with the Armagh All-Ireland quarter final win in 2006," beamed O'Connor afterwards. "We were facing a mountain at half-time, we were four points down, facing a strong wind and Cork were playing serious football and appeared to have the legs on us. But from somewhere we just dug it out."

Read more: http://www.examiner.ie/sport/defiant-kerry-keep-meeting-the-challenges-122435.html#ixzz0qrjRru3a

Probably though they'll not really be needed. Won't be at all surprised if they end up slashing the capacity for the standing side of the pitch. I think Cross can probably hold 10,000 at a push. Couldn't see there being many more there than our usual League crowd. The extra few you'd expect for a championship match will probably be cancelled out by the diminished crowds Saturdays always cause. 6 or 7 thousand I'd say.
Post by: jobo11 on June 15, 2010, 12:37:09 AM
lawnseed i take it your from cross. ak not a centre forward and has no leadership qualities but a good footballer all the same.armagh by 4
Post by: balladmaker on June 15, 2010, 01:03:49 AM
When are the refs announced?  Lord, don't let it be Sludden!
Post by: Orior on June 15, 2010, 08:35:29 AM
Quote from: jobo11 on June 15, 2010, 12:37:09 AM
lawnseed i take it your from cross. ak not a centre forward and has no leadership qualities but a good footballer all the same.armagh by 4

And if he cannot defend, then where would you play AK?

(btw, is your name Stephen Kernan?)
Post by: mrgaa1 on June 15, 2010, 09:36:27 AM
the fact that the match is at 3:30pm and live on RTE will ensure about 6-7,000 with not a whole pile coming from Donegal. 
I can't see the team changing much from previous unless injury dictates so.  All throughout the league the team has been pretty constant and to make whole sale changes would be dangerous.  However I'd expect more subs to come on during the match to get more championship time.
Armagh did very well in Ballybofey but remember Donegal were to play the All-Ireland U21 final the following Wednesday and took Murphy off when things were going badly.  I'd expect a different Donegal performance given they have an opportunity to play Armagh again in Crossmaglen and try and avenge that humilitiating defeat - their backs are to the wall and there is only one way out.....
Title: Luchógaí Móra
Post by: drici on June 15, 2010, 09:52:49 AM
Quote from: mrgaa1 on June 15, 2010, 09:36:27 AM

their backs are to the wall and there is only one way out.....

(http://www.pestcontrol-at-home.com/brown%20rat.png)

On a similar note - a phrase I've often heard is "rats as big as cats". Again, I have dealt with rats in all locations from inner city hospitals to rural farms and I have never seen any of these leviathan rats. My favourite one has to be "if you corner a rat, it will go for your neck". This one is easy to explain. Rats have very poor eyesight and if chased into a corner, pursued by a burly farmer wearing a big winter coat, may, in a panic, try to escape by heading for the nearest point of light. Where is the narrowest part on the silhouette of the farmer? You guessed it - the neck. All the rats I ever cornered tried to escape along the wall past my ankles.

(comparingteamstorodents.com)

Post by: illdecide on June 15, 2010, 10:16:54 AM
Ryan Henderson hurt his medial ligament against Madden on Sunday and will be out for 3-4 weeks at the very least.
Post by: Skiddybadoo on June 15, 2010, 11:11:24 AM
Wouldn't be too confident of a win. The league result was an abberdation and Donegal had given up the fight in the first half. They also had an u-21 final on the horizon and some of those players will make a difference esp McHugh. While Don will miss Molloy it will give their injured players that wee bit more time to recover. I think we will be in for a very rough afternoon. In saying that, Armagh are capable of winning so good luck to all the squad.
Post by: Ulick on June 15, 2010, 11:34:48 AM
"We owe Armagh one" - Cassidy

Published Date: 15 June 2010
By Alan Foley
Donegal have suffered numerous heartbreaks at Armagh's hands down the years but captain Kevin Cassidy and manager John Joe Doherty are relishing the chance to face the Orchard County in the first round qualifiers on Saturday week.
The Central Competitions Control Committee (CCCC) met yesterday to finalise the dates and times of the pairings but at the time of going to press no venue has been announced.

Donegal were hammered 2-16 to 0-6 the last time they bumped into Paddy O'Rourke's team in the last league game of the season at Letterkenny in April. That result, and the subsequent Division Two final win over Down, made Armagh one of the favourites for the Ulster championship before they were heavily beaten by Monaghan in Belfast.

Under the management of Joe Kernan, Armagh defeated the north-westerners during five successive championships between 2002 and 2006, with the only Donegal success coming in the 2007 Ulster quarter-final in Ballybofey.

"Armagh gave us a real battering in the league and of course we'll be trying to put that right, but you could also say we owe them one for all those defeats down the years," captain Kevin Cassidy said.

"They'll also want to put that defeat to Monaghan behind them, so it'll be interesting. With that in mind, we're on an even playing field and will really look forward to the game. It's what the championship is all about."

Donegal manager John Joe Doherty, who last week said he would prefer a more difficult draw, insists that the sort of pairing that was pulled out of the hat on Sunday night can ignite his county's campaign.

"It's probably the biggest of all the first round ties," Doherty said. "Last year we had two Division Four teams at home in Carlow and Clare and it was painful stuff to watch from us at times.

"It took a big draw in Derry and a good win to get us going and we're facing a similar game now. It should be no problem motivating ourselves. Donegal teams have plenty of motivations for all those defeats against Armagh for the last decade or so."

Armagh manager O'Rourke confirmed Ronan Clarke is certain to miss the Donegal game after the former All-Star suffered an Achilles' injury setback, while they also plan to appeal Brian Mallon's red card against Monaghan. Donegal's Dermot Molloy will miss the game after he was given a retrospective four-week ban for a late challenge on Down's Damien Rafferty in the Ulster championship quarter-final.

Meanwhile, the Donegal hurlers, who defeated Warwickshire on Saturday, will also be in action on Saturday week when they take on the winners of Cavan or Fermanagh in the Lory Meagher Cup semi-final.
Post by: mackers on June 15, 2010, 01:26:09 PM
It is vital that Armagh get off to a flying start, if they can get ahead Donegal have a tendency to implode especially with Armagh's excellent recent hsitory against them. They have to use their physicality (legally) as there are a number in the Donegal ranks that don't like that side of things at all.

However if we give Donegal a sniff they have enough class players to beat us, we have to come out of the blocks flying.

If Henderson is out along with Mallon, our forward options which weren't plentiful to begin with are stretched further.

Front six of Swift, AK, Dyas, S Forker, Stevie and J Clarke???
Post by: Orior on June 15, 2010, 02:23:23 PM
Mal Mackin - brilliant club player - but how do we best utilise his talents on the county scene?
Post by: jobo11 on June 15, 2010, 02:39:19 PM

I would put him on the bench, luckly we haven t got colm watters fit . he will definately be armagh s number 11 in the near future.
Post by: jobo11 on June 15, 2010, 02:46:20 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 15, 2010, 02:23:23 PM
Mal Mackin - brilliant club player - but how do we best utilise his talents on the county scene?

I think mal mackin needs to play a more central role in the team. his best football days were when he lined out for Armagh in 2005 at centre forward i recall only for an injury he had to retire for the season.
Post by: illdecide on June 15, 2010, 03:47:44 PM
Mal Mackin - brilliant half decent club player - but how do we best utilise his talents on the county scene?

fixed that for you...Mal's a good lad and to me he's above average for a club player but he's not inter county material (far to slow)
Post by: Armaghtothebone on June 15, 2010, 09:54:28 PM
As someone who believes in not being personal on boards....I would simply ask if Malachy Mackin could honestly say he deserves to keep his place after the Monaghan game?
Post by: Orior on June 15, 2010, 10:31:12 PM
Quote from: Armaghtothebone on June 15, 2010, 09:54:28 PM
As someone who believes in not being personal on boards....I would simply ask if Malachy Mackin could honestly say he deserves to keep his place after the Monaghan game?

I accept your point about not being personal, but we're only saying what happens on the terraces anyway. Its part and parcel of intercounty football.
Post by: Uladh on June 16, 2010, 12:50:11 AM
Quote from: jobo11 on June 15, 2010, 02:39:19 PM

I would put him on the bench, luckly we haven t got colm watters fit . he will definately be armagh s number 11 in the near future.

He's never fit
Post by: Uladh on June 16, 2010, 12:51:45 AM

Is mal a brilliant club player?

capable of producing 10 mins of mighty stuff in club games ok
Post by: JUst retired on June 16, 2010, 09:08:47 AM
This game is all-ticket. Tickets have to be ordered by Friday 18th June.
Post by: done and dusted on June 16, 2010, 11:20:28 AM
Cassidy holds no fear of Armagh

Donegal captain Kevin Cassidy is relishing his side's All-Ireland football qualifier against Armagh at Crossmaglen on Saturday week.

The Tir Chonaill men have a poor record against the Orchard County, having suffered five successive championship losses to them between 2002 and 2006, and were hammered by 16 points in this year's winner-takes-all NFL Division 2 promotion clash between the sides. However, Donegal did win the last championship meeting between the sides in 2007.

"I've always wanted to play for Donegal in Crossmaglen," Cassidy said.

"I don't think I've ever played there, maybe I did in a McKenna Cup match once or something, but never in a big game like this. The game would have been equally as tough even if it had been in Ballybofey, so I don't think that matters.

"From a personal point of view, going over the Crossmaglen is something I'm really looking forward to."
Post by: rory on June 16, 2010, 11:51:06 AM
Ticketmaster has the game up, tickets not on sale yet:

http://www.ticketmaster.ie/event/180044CFAFD7304D?artistid=942992&majorcatid=10004&minorcatid=229 (http://www.ticketmaster.ie/event/180044CFAFD7304D?artistid=942992&majorcatid=10004&minorcatid=229)

£10 - £20
Post by: jobo11 on June 16, 2010, 12:34:29 PM
Uladh when he is fit he will play centre forward for armagh. better quality of footballer then ak .
Post by: RMDrive on June 16, 2010, 01:05:29 PM
Quote from: done and dusted on June 16, 2010, 11:20:28 AM
Cassidy holds no fear of Armagh

Donegal captain Kevin Cassidy is relishing his side's All-Ireland football qualifier against Armagh at Crossmaglen on Saturday week.

The Tir Chonaill men have a poor record against the Orchard County, having suffered five successive championship losses to them between 2002 and 2006, and were hammered by 16 points in this year's winner-takes-all NFL Division 2 promotion clash between the sides. However, Donegal did win the last championship meeting between the sides in 2007.

"I've always wanted to play for Donegal in Crossmaglen," Cassidy said.

"I don't think I've ever played there, maybe I did in a McKenna Cup match once or something, but never in a big game like this. The game would have been equally as tough even if it had been in Ballybofey, so I don't think that matters.

"From a personal point of view, going over the Crossmaglen is something I'm really looking forward to."

I love the sensationalism ...

What Cass said ... "From a personal point of view, going over the Crossmaglen is something I'm really looking forward to."

What the honourable media outlet decided to go with ... "Cassidy holds no fear of Armagh"

Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 16, 2010, 06:04:00 PM
Quote from: Uladh on June 16, 2010, 12:51:45 AM

Is mal a brilliant club player?

capable of producing 10 mins of mighty stuff in club games ok

Well I don't see too many better midfielders in the First Division. Over the past 2 years he's been consistently our best player.
Post by: Uladh on June 16, 2010, 06:09:08 PM
Quote from: jobo11 on June 16, 2010, 12:34:29 PM
Uladh when he is fit he will play centre forward for armagh. better quality of footballer then ak .

Does he actually exist?

I think he may be a mythical figure, a bit like the holy ghost. Right enough people keep telling me he's great but any time i've been at a club or county game he should be playing in, he's mysteriously missing...
Post by: our_fella on June 17, 2010, 02:41:37 PM
Anyone else hear about McKeever walking out of the squad?
Post by: Onion Bag on June 17, 2010, 02:55:21 PM
I dont rate Mackin either as an inter county player, decent enough club player but thats as far it goes,
Post by: Armaghgeddon on June 17, 2010, 03:23:31 PM
Makin was made to look good in front of a tired Down team.
Post by: maddog on June 18, 2010, 10:01:02 AM
Wouldnt mind this lining out in cross

Hearty
A Mallon
Donaghy
Moriarity
Kernan
McKeever
Duffy
Toner
Lavery
Vernon
Swift
Forker
Henderson
McDonnell
J clark

Would give us at least 4/5 forwards well capable of taking scores.

What ever happened to that lad o'Rourke from Newtown, he started against Tyrone last year and looked the part to me anyway.
Post by: mountainboii on June 18, 2010, 10:36:42 AM
Quote from: maddog on June 18, 2010, 10:01:02 AM
Wouldnt mind this lining out in cross

Hearty
A Mallon
Donaghy
Moriarity
Kernan
McKeever
Duffy
Toner
Lavery
Vernon
Swift
Forker
Henderson
McDonnell
J clark

Would give us at least 4/5 forwards well capable of taking scores.

What ever happened to that lad o'Rourke from Newtown, he started against Tyrone last year and looked the part to me anyway.

Moriarty in the FB line is a bad idea.
Post by: eireogatron on June 18, 2010, 11:24:43 AM
Finn Mo is a half back and deserves to stay there.

Its reckoned that Henderson has damaged his medial according to what I've been told by a clubmate of his and could be out 4-6 weeks.
Post by: Hank Everlast on June 18, 2010, 01:40:38 PM
I can see paddy goin with

Hearty
A Mallon
Donaghy
Shannon
Moriarity
McKeever
Duffy
Toner
Lavery
Vernon
kernan
mor
Swift
McDonnell
J clark

with swift dropping out to around midfield, leaving jamie and Stevie in on their own again.
Post by: illdecide on June 18, 2010, 01:49:30 PM
Did MOR not pull his hamstring last week against Cross
Post by: PatDaly on June 19, 2010, 03:45:31 AM
My guess for the starting 15 vs Dún na nGall

Paul Hearty

Andy Mallon
Brendan Donaghy
Barry Shannon

Finnian Moriarity
Ciaran McKeever
Paul Duffy

Kieran Toner
James Lavery

Charlie Vernon
Aaron Kernan
Gareth Swift

Stefan Forker
Steven McDonnell
Jamie Clark

Does anyone think it would make a positive difference to put Charlie Vernon as our centre half forward and Aaron Kernan as a wing half forward?
Post by: The Voice Of Reason on June 19, 2010, 12:47:34 PM
Anyone got any tips on getting from Dublin to Crossmaglen? Do any buses go there? Thanks
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 19, 2010, 02:35:45 PM
Quote from: The Voice Of Reason on June 19, 2010, 12:47:34 PM
Anyone got any tips on getting from Dublin to Crossmaglen? Do any buses go there? Thanks

Buses would be awkward. You'd have to get a bus to Newry then the 42 bus to Crossmaglen.

Directions are relatively straightforward. Its signposted from the motorway (Dundalk centre, Castleblayney, Crossmaglen signpost). Then turn right off the Dundalk - Castleblayney road (also signposted for Crossmaglen). That'll take to into Cross on the "Pitch" side of the town. You can't really go wrong and you won't hit a town from Dublin to Cross.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 19, 2010, 03:17:54 PM

That makes me smile.
Post by: illdecide on June 19, 2010, 11:39:27 PM

Only to get cheap/dodgy diesel :D
Post by: illdecide on June 21, 2010, 10:39:13 AM
Someone was saying this morning that there is a chance this game may be moved to Brefni??? did anyone hear anything about this
Post by: Hank Everlast on June 21, 2010, 10:46:46 AM
Am only after hearin the same myself, seemed pretty definite about it as well!
Post by: illdecide on June 21, 2010, 10:57:01 AM
Aye apparently for H&S reasons they say Cross cannot cope with the demand and that they have reduced the capacity down to is 4k to 5k but the fella who told me wouldn't be the most honest of fellas :D so until i hear it from a better source i'll take it with a pinch of salt
Post by: Hank Everlast on June 21, 2010, 11:14:50 AM
I checked the other board there and they hav something similar posted about the capacity..
Title: Fosta
Post by: drici on June 21, 2010, 11:20:18 AM
Quote from: Hank Everlast on June 21, 2010, 11:14:50 AM

I checked the other board there and they hav something similar posted about the capacity..

And Breffni coincidentally spelt Brefni as well.
Title: Re: Fosta
Post by: illdecide on June 21, 2010, 12:15:08 PM
Quote from: drici on June 21, 2010, 11:20:18 AM

Ohh Sherlock Holmes did i spell that right for you or should i have spelt Cross as Crossmaglen or should it have read KingsSpan Brefni Park ;). you guys are unbelieveable over spelling WTF like, do you guys sit around all day waiting on someone to spell a word wrong or spell it the same as someone else and then convict them...Sad men
Post by: mackers on June 21, 2010, 12:17:53 PM
Is the capacity really such a big issue? How many do you think are going to be there at 3.30 on a Saturday afternoon when it is live on TV? If they take it to Breffni it'll be played in front of £10k max and will make for a crap atmosphere. Leave it in Cross FFS!!
Post by: armaghniac on June 21, 2010, 12:25:09 PM
QuoteAye apparently for H&S reasons they say Cross cannot cope with the demand and that they have reduced the capacity down to is 4k to 5k

The Culloville Road side of Cross is entirely up to modern standards and can take 5K+, and there is surely room for another couple of thousand elsewhere in the ground. They should rent one of those temporary stands and put it behind the Culloville goal.

QuoteSherlock Holmes did i spell that right for you or should i have spelt Cross as Crossmaglen

did I spell that right for you or should I have spelt Cross' as Crossmaglen.  ;)
Post by: illdecide on June 21, 2010, 02:19:22 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 21, 2010, 12:25:09 PM
QuoteAye apparently for H&S reasons they say Cross cannot cope with the demand and that they have reduced the capacity down to is 4k to 5k

The Culloville Road side of Cross is entirely up to modern standards and can take 5K+, and there is surely room for another couple of thousand elsewhere in the ground. They should rent one of those temporary stands and put it behind the Culloville goal.

QuoteSherlock Holmes did i spell that right for you or should i have spelt Cross as Crossmaglen

did I spell that right for you or should I have spelt Cross' as Crossmaglen.  ;)

I don't know what category of game the council have in place for this game but the expected crowd should meet the allocation for the game in Cross so it should be keep there. That bank on one side may not qualify for patrons so they may be excluding that (not too sure of it's current condition).
Post by: mhacadoir on June 21, 2010, 02:59:57 PM
Armagh's Nicky Rackard game with Sligo has been moved to Breffni Park, sat at 5pm. Armagh had home advantage. why the game couldn't have been played at Crossmaglen before the Donegal baffles me.
Post by: Onion Bag on June 21, 2010, 03:02:14 PM
heading over to newcastle this w'end on a stag, anyone know any pubs that we could watch the match, i know with the world cup on we might struggle
Post by: Zapatista on June 21, 2010, 03:07:10 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on June 21, 2010, 03:02:14 PM
heading over to newcastle this w'end on a stag, anyone know any pubs that we could watch the match, i know with the world cup on we might struggle

You might find something here -

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=16304.0
Post by: mountainboii on June 21, 2010, 03:18:25 PM
Quote from: mhacadoir on June 21, 2010, 02:59:57 PM
Armagh's Nicky Rackard game with Sligo has been moved to Breffni Park, sat at 5pm. Armagh had home advantage. why the game couldn't have been played at Crossmaglen before the Donegal baffles me.

Especially considering the average attendance at the other Rackard Cup games in Cross this year has been about 50.
Post by: our_fella on June 21, 2010, 04:40:27 PM
Anyone else hear about any inclusions to the Armagh panel this week?
Post by: mhacadoir on June 21, 2010, 06:50:43 PM
Quote from: AFS on June 21, 2010, 03:18:25 PM
Quote from: mhacadoir on June 21, 2010, 02:59:57 PM

Especially considering the average attendance at the other Rackard Cup games in Cross this year has been about 50.

exactly. it was a great chance to give the hurlers some prominance, especially as both they and the minors have been doing well this year
Post by: imtommygunn on June 21, 2010, 07:29:27 PM
why did brian mallon request a hearing and then not turn up to it??

doesn't make any sense...
Post by: bennydorano on June 21, 2010, 08:58:11 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on June 21, 2010, 03:02:14 PM
Irish centre, 200ft from St James and 500ft from tity bars.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on June 21, 2010, 09:07:21 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 21, 2010, 07:29:27 PM
why did brian mallon request a hearing and then not turn up to it??

doesn't make any sense...

I believe he got a mouth injury at training, 10 stitches or something like that so might not have been able to speak properly. Could be a possible reason.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 21, 2010, 09:11:44 PM
Ah, that explains it. Wasn't stirring just found it strange.

Then again wouldn't be as good a story if that part were in the news article.
Post by: done and dusted on June 21, 2010, 11:57:50 PM
Donegal duo opt out

Donegal's Leo McLoone
18 June 2010

Leo McLoone and Fergal McNulty have quit the Donegal football squad ahead of tomorrow week's All-Ireland qualifier against Armagh.

Naomh Conaill attacker McLoone, who was one of the stars of Donegal's run to this year's All-Ireland under 21 final, informed manager John Joe Doherty last week of his decision to leave the panel.

Urney clubman McNulty has also withdrawn his services in frustration at a lack of opportunities since he was drafted into the panel at the start of the year.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 22, 2010, 12:02:03 AM
Downtown radio tonight said that the match was throwing in at 3pm. Are they just wrong or has anything changed?
Post by: winsamsoon on June 22, 2010, 12:44:33 AM
So where is it at? Breffni, Brefni, Cross' or Crossmaglen?  ;) nothing is ever simple with Armagh. But what is noticeable is the amount the support has dropped the glory hunters have hung them up
Post by: David McKeown on June 22, 2010, 08:52:03 AM
Quote from: winsamsoon on June 22, 2010, 12:44:33 AM
So where is it at? Breffni, Brefni, Cross' or Crossmaglen?  ;) nothing is ever simple with Armagh. But what is noticeable is the amount the support has dropped the glory hunters have hung them up

I don't think its just that, I think Armagh supporters have become spoiled, the number of my family of friends who used to go to every game regardless of the competition but now would even miss championship games is quite large.  I wouldnt call these people glory hunters but I get your point about crowds dropping and there being fewer glory hunters.

Personally I blame the introduction of the qualifiers, the Ulster Championship cant be as exciting as it was when it was pure knock out and after a heavy defeat there its hard to get motivated for the qualifiers
Title: Míniú
Post by: drici on June 22, 2010, 09:45:28 AM
Where did this derive from? There must be previous.
Quote from: illdecide on June 21, 2010, 12:15:08 PM
Ohh Sherlock Holmes did i spell that right for you or should i have spelt Cross as Crossmaglen or should it have read KingsSpan Brefni Park ;). you guys are unbelieveable over spelling WTF like, do you guys sit around all day waiting on someone to spell a word wrong or spell it the same as someone else and then convict them...Sad men
Whoosh.

The post on the other Board was obviously made by the same person who drew attention to a story about the possibility of the match being moved on this Board.

Hence this reply.
Quote from: drici on June 21, 2010, 11:20:18 AM

Nothing to do with perceived slights on a GAABoard character's spelling capacity but about the fact that putting the same rumour on two Boards does not lend any further credence to it.
May get someone to come along and do Cole's Notes on the posts at this rate.

Jaysis.

Unbelievable.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 22, 2010, 10:04:00 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on June 22, 2010, 08:52:03 AM

I don't think its just that, I think Armagh supporters have become spoiled, the number of my family of friends who used to go to every game regardless of the competition but now would even miss championship games is quite large.  I wouldnt call these people glory hunters but I get your point about crowds dropping and there being fewer glory hunters.

Personally I blame the introduction of the qualifiers, the Ulster Championship cant be as exciting as it was when it was pure knock out and after a heavy defeat there its hard to get motivated for the qualifiers

I would say it's got everything to do Armaghs unprecedented success in Ulster in the last decade and that the impact of the qualifier system would be negligible IMHO.
Post by: eireogatron on June 22, 2010, 10:33:33 AM
this is the 10th year of the qualifiers so it cant be anything to do with it. Especially as we have only been in 2 qualifiers since 2003 and we lost them both anyway.

money, people assuming there'll be a better game in a few weeks cos we've been spoiled in the last decade, an element of glory hunting etc would be stronger reasons for the dip.
Post by: BerfArmagh on June 22, 2010, 12:22:12 PM
numbers are down, because there is a lot of people currently out of work. Even though its cheaper than rugby & soccer is till think the gaa needs to do a bit more to entice families, but to be fair to them they are trying.

Also, when its on the box, its hard not to take the handy option. I for one will be heading to cross on sunday. I missed the monaghan match as I was away on holidays and from what i heard I am afraid the watch the tape i have of it. It might be a blessing in disguise for the team, i thought everyone got carried away after the win over what was a clueless derry team.

What has disappointed me though, is POR going back to the old defensive systems. I for one came out of the national league final quite elated by the performance, as it was fluid positiive and we played with 6 forwards, moving the ball at speed. I don't know why he has reverted, but i for one would take defeat happily on the chin as long as armagh go out to win the games. The last 2 tactiical deployments only communicate to the opposition a fear of losing

good luck ion sunday armagh, lets start playing some decent football again
Post by: armaghniac on June 22, 2010, 12:40:48 PM
Armagh kept a remarkable level of support going for a decade, this has now tailed off.

QuoteI missed the monaghan match as I was away on holidays and from what i heard I am afraid the watch the tape i have of it.

The first 15 minutes were great, watch that bit and pretend that's how it continued!
Post by: mackers on June 22, 2010, 12:47:57 PM
Quote from: BerfArmagh on June 22, 2010, 12:22:12 PM
numbers are down, because there is a lot of people currently out of work. Even though its cheaper than rugby & soccer is till think the gaa needs to do a bit more to entice families, but to be fair to them they are trying.

Also, when its on the box, its hard not to take the handy option. I for one will be heading to cross on sunday. I missed the monaghan match as I was away on holidays and from what i heard I am afraid the watch the tape i have of it. It might be a blessing in disguise for the team, i thought everyone got carried away after the win over what was a clueless derry team.

What has disappointed me though, is POR going back to the old defensive systems. I for one came out of the national league final quite elated by the performance, as it was fluid positiive and we played with 6 forwards, moving the ball at speed. I don't know why he has reverted, but i for one would take defeat happily on the chin as long as armagh go out to win the games. The last 2 tactiical deployments only communicate to the opposition a fear of losing

good luck ion sunday armagh, lets start playing some decent football again
In fairness berf, the problem in the Monaghan game was not an overly defensive approach, it was the worst defensive performance from an Armagh team I've seen in about 15 years. I agree with you about trying to play a more expansive game but I'd expect better defensive organisation against Donegal. They have shown time and again that they can't play against a blanket defence (the defeat against Down being a prime example). When the long ball into Murphy stopped working they continually took the ball into contact and were robbed. Armagh have to play Ciaran McKeever in his best position at CHB where he can provide a physical presence and stop the Donegal attack before they get into the scoring zone. Monaghan were able to walk through the centre of our defence and score at will, Donegal will do the same if they're allowed.
Post by: thewanderer on June 22, 2010, 12:49:32 PM
Key players struggling to be fit for Saturday i hear. Brian mallon def out through suspension and henderson in cast any others? possibly a good chance to at last try some new blood ie anto duffy, hanratty etc. why not it the way ahead.
Post by: David McKeown on June 22, 2010, 04:03:33 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 22, 2010, 10:04:00 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on June 22, 2010, 08:52:03 AM

I would say it's got everything to do Armaghs unprecedented success in Ulster in the last decade and that the impact of the qualifier system would be negligible IMHO.

You may well be right just judging this on what's being said within my family and around the club from fans who were there in the bad old days too. I've only missed the fermanagh v Cavan this year in Ulster but I still don't enjoy those matches as much as I used too
Post by: our_fella on June 22, 2010, 11:32:13 PM
Finn Mo, Donaghy, Andy Mallon and Lavery all doubts for Saturday, with B.Mallon, Clarke and Henderson 100% out
Post by: JUst retired on June 23, 2010, 06:40:34 AM
BerfArmagh, I would strongly advise you not to go to Cross on Sunday. The game is on Saturday
and you maybe sitting on your own. ;D
Post by: BerfArmagh on June 23, 2010, 09:37:45 AM
lol.... i think you may be right there
Post by: donegal lad on June 23, 2010, 10:33:39 AM
by the sounds of things not gonna be many up from donegal not for da fact we dont want to travel but because we are only meant to have got 1600 tickets 100 of them for the stand
Post by: Orior on June 23, 2010, 02:11:05 PM
Quote from: donegal lad on June 23, 2010, 10:33:39 AM
by the sounds of things not gonna be many up from donegal not for da fact we dont want to travel but because we are only meant to have got 1600 tickets 100 of them for the stand

Unusual to see a county chairman use such hip speak.
Post by: donegal lad on June 23, 2010, 03:37:59 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 23, 2010, 02:11:05 PM

im no county chairman just an annoyed fan who doesnt know if hes gonna get to the game due to the lack of tickets given to the county although still hope to be in cross on sat to see what should be a good game
Post by: mountainboii on June 23, 2010, 03:52:04 PM
Quote from: donegal lad on June 23, 2010, 03:37:59 PM

im no county chairman just an annoyed fan who doesnt know if hes gonna get to the game due to the lack of tickets given to the county although still hope to be in cross on sat to see what should be a good game

You should head down here. Loadsa tickets.
Post by: donegal lad on June 23, 2010, 04:10:41 PM
Quote from: AFS on June 23, 2010, 03:52:04 PM
Quote from: donegal lad on June 23, 2010, 03:37:59 PM

You should head down here. Loadsa tickets.
none to be got up here at all club cant get any more gonna get 1 on ticketmaster tonight tho they seem to have ones available
Post by: Shortso79 on June 23, 2010, 08:29:06 PM
if you make the trip down - u should get a ticket around the ground

Said in the paper Cross capacity will be limited to 7,700
Post by: BerfArmagh on June 23, 2010, 10:02:04 PM
tickets werein sale all day today in the ceannarus, not sure about tomorrow
Post by: Smokin Joe on June 24, 2010, 10:08:21 AM
I am a season ticket holder and printed out my tickets this morning.

They say "Unreserved seating" but the go on to say G5 followed by a number (seat number presumably).

There surely is no unreserved seating in Cross.  Is G5 a section number in the stand?
Post by: illdecide on June 24, 2010, 10:32:16 AM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on June 24, 2010, 10:08:21 AM
I am a season ticket holder and printed out my tickets this morning.

They say "Unreserved seating" but the go on to say G5 followed by a number (seat number presumably).

There surely is no unreserved seating in Cross.  Is G5 a section number in the stand?

thats in the army barracks saan ;)
Title: http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/donegalsport/A-tough-Cross-for-Donegal.6375670.jp
Post by: drici on June 24, 2010, 11:29:26 PM
A tough Cross for Donegal

By Tom It's a Play on Words Comack

Donegal will bid to resurrect their championship challenge when they once again face into the All-Ireland Qualifiers away to Ulster arch rivals Armagh in Crossmaglen.
The game is on Saturday afternoon and is all-ticket. It is seen as the tie of the first round and will be shown live on RTE. Donegal go into the game having lost by two points to Down in the first round of the Ulster championship.

Armagh defeated Derry in Celtic Park in the preliminary round and were beaten in the first round proper just over two weeks ago by Monaghan.

Donegal will be without corner forward Dermot 'Brick' Molloy, who picked up a retrospective four week ban following an incident with the Mourne County's Damien Rafferty and will now miss Saturday's trip to Oliver Plunkett Park.

John Joe Doherty will also have to plan with county U-21 Leo McLoone and Fergal McNulty, neither of whom were used in the Down game and who have opted out of the squad since the defeat to Mourne County.

Doherty, who had his side back for a clear the air meeting the Friday night following their Ulster exit, got back down to preparing in earnest last week.

They played a challenge game against Derry on Tuesday night with Doherty giving a number of the U-21s including Paddy McGrath and Mark McHugh a run out. The game also marked the return of Eamonn McGee to the county colours for the first time in 2010.

Colm McFadden started in the right corner of the attack in place of Molloy against Derry and he is expected to replace him on Saturday. Donegal trained again on Sunday morning and after a weekend of club activity the Donegal boss reported a clean bill of health.

"With the exception of Dermot (Molloy) and the two boys that have opted out, we have everybody else. The mood is good and everybody is looking forward to the challenge of Armagh.

"It is a tough one alright but after a few handy first round draws we can't complain and given what happened in O'Donnell Park in the league we are anxious to make amends. There is no doubt about it; the league game is a great motivating factor," said Doherty.

Donegal are due to train tonight (Thursday) before finalising the starting 15 and while the boss was giving very little away on selection it is anticipated that there will be a number of changes with both Mark McHugh and Paddy McGrath both joining Colm McFadden in the starting line up this time around.

Saturday's game will be Armagh's first championship game at Oliver Plunkett Park in Crossmaglen and amazingly it will be the Orchard county's first game at home in the championship in 15 years.
Post by: Orior on June 25, 2010, 12:49:37 AM
Was the Armagh team announced last night?
Post by: PatDaly on June 25, 2010, 01:54:29 AM
Any chance Johnny Hanratty from Crossmaglen might start for Armagh?
Post by: Goats Do Shave on June 25, 2010, 07:45:18 AM
Quote from: PatDaly on June 25, 2010, 01:54:29 AM

He's not on the panel... his younger brother Franny is.
Post by: thewanderer on June 25, 2010, 09:32:41 AM
looking like a depleted squad for tomorrow. henderson, moriarty, b mallon, lavery missing and recent rumours of another prominant player being absent wont help. maybe time to throw off the shackles and play hanratty and anto duffy and see what happens.
Post by: gander on June 25, 2010, 11:13:51 AM
Any word of the Armagh starting team yet?
Post by: armaghniac on June 25, 2010, 12:52:13 PM
Hard to know about this one. In 2007 and last year we had defeats in Ulster which still allowed some positives to be identified, but when the qualifier came around we had regressed. These years brought the end of the management in place. This year we are coming off an Ulster defeat with few positives and we have serveral players injured but with a shorter gap between games and home advantage. If we don't progress tomorrow and for another round or two then this management is holed below the waterline too and Srevie will retire if O'Rourke goes. Bad performances in the League are often related to training schedules, being charitable it is possible that McGurn had not quite timed things right training wise before the Monaghan game and that we can be a bit quicker to the mark in future games. But the team has to learn from the Monaghan exerience and step up and fight as they did when playing Donegal in the League. If every man puts pressure on Donwgal then experience suggests that we can win, but players should try to avoid getting sent off!
Post by: RMDrive on June 25, 2010, 01:12:57 PM
Donegal Team for tomorrow.

P Durcan
P McGrath, N McGee, K Lacey
M Maguire, B Dunnion, F McGlynn
N Gallagher, K Cassidy
M McHugh, R Kavanagh, D Walsh
C McFadden, M Murphy, C Dunne.

I'm surprised at this. No Toye? Maguire still there? Dunnion at CHB?
No surprise that McGrath and McHugh have been given the nod but I'd worry that they will find the physicality of the game tough going.
Post by: mrgaa1 on June 25, 2010, 04:04:01 PM
Armagh have to announce a team to allow the programme to be printed - whether its right or not is irrelevant.

I suspect one of two things tomorrow - Armagh to get so badly beaten that Armagh management step down and that the crisis that has hit the camp over the past 2 months is revealed.
OR
the makeshift team win a game that Donegal will be wondering how they ever lost it and the Armagh team move on to the next round where they will probably draw Down.

Either way the pampering, the sucking up to etc... to the players has to stop.  Apart from wiping their arse's everything else is done for them.  So its payback time by the players to their county, clubs and followers.  Stand up, be counted and play for each other.
Post by: BerfArmagh on June 25, 2010, 05:20:17 PM
good luck Armagh tomorrow
Post by: BroJolly on June 25, 2010, 06:20:52 PM
Heard on radio Dyas and Anto Duffy are in the team. Assuming that means Finn Mo and Lavery are out?
Post by: BroJolly on June 25, 2010, 07:27:41 PM
From BBC Site:
Armagh: P Hearty, A Mallon, B Donaghy, V Martin, P Duffy, C McKeever, K Dyas, C Vernon, K Toner, A Duffy, A Kernan, M Mackin, G Swift, S McDonnell, J Clarke. Subs: P McEvoy, S Forker, B Shannon, J Feeney, F Hanratty, E McNulty, P McKeown, T Kernan, Paul Kernan

Surprised Forker didn't get the nod. Playing with 7 defenders, 5 midfielders and 2 forwards. We did something similar against Monaghan last year
Post by: Apple Crumble on June 25, 2010, 09:56:26 PM
Quote from: BroJolly on June 25, 2010, 07:27:41 PM
From BBC Site:
Armagh: P Hearty, A Mallon, B Donaghy, V Martin, P Duffy, C McKeever, K Dyas, C Vernon, K Toner, A Duffy, A Kernan, M Mackin, G Swift, S McDonnell, J Clarke. Subs: P McEvoy, S Forker, B Shannon, J Feeney, F Hanratty, E McNulty, P McKeown, T Kernan, Paul Kernan

Surprised Forker didn't get the nod. Playing with 7 defenders, 5 midfielders and 2 forwards. We did something similar against Monaghan last year

High ball to Swift, knock on to McDonnell/Clarke..................I smell a few onion bags tomorrow.
Post by: crossfire on June 25, 2010, 10:26:56 PM
Quote from: Goats Do Shave on June 25, 2010, 07:45:18 AM
Quote from: PatDaly on June 25, 2010, 01:54:29 AM

He's not on the panel... his younger brother Franny is.
They are not related.
Post by: mountainboii on June 25, 2010, 10:31:43 PM
Not at all confident about tomorrow. If that team actually takes the field I'll be very disappointed. There are a couple of glaring weaknesses in personnel, and the distinct lack of scoring options will render us extremely predictable. Things will be interesting.
Post by: bennydorano on June 25, 2010, 10:38:53 PM
Young Anto's going in against rambo McGlynn on his debut, big ask but best of luck to the lad.  If he can bring the best of his club form he could suprise a few, great in the air and good feet on him.   If Nippy gets going early he'll bag plenty of scores in the FF line - if he plays there of course.
Post by: donegal lad on June 25, 2010, 11:02:10 PM
From BBC Site:

after seeing this team for armagh im going to cross in optimistic mood number of players on the donegal team didnt perform at all against down and now they have to stand up and be counted think we could be in for a great game if both teams perform to their best
Post by: mountainboii on June 25, 2010, 11:16:56 PM
donegal lad should be happy.

Quote from: Centre HalfArmagh v Donegal – LATEST TICKET INFORMATION

The Armagh v Donegal All-Ireland SFC Qualifier game is "All-Ticket" and tickets may be obtained from the GAA Van at Crossmaglen Clubhouse from 11.00am on Saturday 26 June 2010.
Post by: Orior on June 25, 2010, 11:53:27 PM
What has Finian Mo done wrong, or is he injured?
Post by: donegal lad on June 26, 2010, 12:09:23 AM
Quote from: AFS on June 25, 2010, 11:16:56 PM
donegal lad should be happy.

Quote from: Centre HalfArmagh v Donegal – LATEST TICKET INFORMATION

The Armagh v Donegal All-Ireland SFC Qualifier game is "All-Ticket" and tickets may be obtained from the GAA Van at Crossmaglen Clubhouse from 11.00am on Saturday 26 June 2010.
thanks for the info on tickets afs but thanks to having an ex county chairman as a teacher i was able to get a ticket so will b up in cross with my big donegal flag hoping for a gr8 game
Post by: mountainboii on June 26, 2010, 12:54:09 AM
Quote from: Orior on June 25, 2010, 11:53:27 PM
What has Finian Mo done wrong, or is he injured?

Injured.
Post by: Sandy Hill on June 26, 2010, 10:25:23 AM
From BBC Site:

I agree; he would pose more of a scoring threat than some of the forwards lining out.
Post by: David McKeown on June 26, 2010, 10:36:28 AM
Quote from: Sandy Hill on June 26, 2010, 10:25:23 AM
From BBC Site:

I agree; he would pose more of a scoring threat than some of the forwards lining out.

Very worried about this game, I think we have just too many injuries and boys not 100% fit to get over Donegal.  For me this will be the most disappointing season of the last 10 years because after the league I had hope of giving Ulster a good rattle and of having a decent run in the qualifiers.  Hope Im wrong though
Post by: under the bar on June 26, 2010, 01:33:38 PM
Can anyone shed any light on reports of a massive row in the Armagh camp?
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 26, 2010, 01:47:43 PM
why can't we put six forwards on the field.
Post by: Benny Barnaveld on June 26, 2010, 02:36:38 PM
Disappointed but not surprised by the selection. Hope I am proved wrong though.
Wonder where Feeney went wrong.
Thought he had a good enough league, good club form, but O'Rourke would rather play 2 midfieders and a half back ahead of him.
Wonder would Henderson have got a run if he was fit.
Post by: Mickeys beard on June 26, 2010, 03:44:23 PM
Would somebody shut thon dog up!
Post by: Gaffer on June 26, 2010, 03:49:56 PM
Quote from: Mickeys beard on June 26, 2010, 03:44:23 PM
;D ;D ;D
Post by: put-it-up on June 26, 2010, 03:51:46 PM

He is worse than a feckin vuvuzela
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 26, 2010, 03:55:45 PM
what a hit on vernon by neil mcgee !
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 26, 2010, 03:59:26 PM
the ref is getting more involved in this game than some donegal men. Thats the 2nd time the ball has hit him
Post by: new devil on June 26, 2010, 04:07:02 PM
Any links lads
Post by: FermPundit on June 26, 2010, 04:18:36 PM
Donegal are woeful. I don't think I can remember there being such a small Donegal support at a championship game.
Post by: puskas on June 26, 2010, 04:34:38 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/northern_ireland/8612039.stm
Post by: tyroneboi on June 26, 2010, 04:45:36 PM
Ger Canning is a crap commentator. According to him just now Michael Murphy is a 6 foot 2 year old! WTF?
Post by: Denn Forever on June 26, 2010, 04:51:34 PM
An word on what happened the Armagh guy who went off?  Didn't appear to any thing in it but a bit worrying when they are giving him oxygen as he went off.
Post by: tyroneboi on June 26, 2010, 04:59:05 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on June 26, 2010, 04:51:34 PM
An word on what happened the Armagh guy who went off?  Didn't appear to any thing in it but a bit worrying when they are giving him oxygen as he went off.

Looked to be the shoulder they were working on and the doctor seemed to be holding it when he was being stretchered off.
Post by: shark on June 26, 2010, 04:59:11 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on June 26, 2010, 04:45:36 PM
Ger Canning is a crap commentator. According to him just now Michael Murphy is a 6 foot 2 year old! WTF?

"Don't let the two goals deceive you, Armagh have had far more possession in this half".  Said just before half time.  He is some man for starting sentences when he has no idea how he is going to finish them.
Post by: magickingdom on June 26, 2010, 05:06:22 PM
Quote from: put-it-up on June 26, 2010, 03:51:46 PM

He is worse than a feckin vuvuzela

ha ha i was watching the wc listening to the non stop vevuzelas then switched over and the fockin dog was at it. the gaa need to start presenting gaa in a more professional manner, ger canning, marty morrisey? how can u listen to them? now a dog? was the sound engineer asleep?
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 26, 2010, 05:19:22 PM
f**king dog annoyed me watching that!
Donegal were horrible.
Post by: under the bar on June 26, 2010, 05:32:22 PM
£40 on Armagh ht/ft at 6/4 lifts me a nice ton!  Get in there!  ;D

Post by: Armaghgeddon on June 26, 2010, 05:43:17 PM
Quote from: shark on June 26, 2010, 04:59:11 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on June 26, 2010, 04:45:36 PM

"Don't let the two goals deceive you, Armagh have had far more possession in this half".  Said just before half time.  He is some man for starting sentences when he has no idea how he is going to finish them.

Did you hear him saying about Murphy "He is a 6ft 2 year old"
Post by: mountainboii on June 26, 2010, 05:45:58 PM
What a roller coaster year! Delighted with that. Some great performances from some of the younger lads, which is the most important thing. Won't be challenging for any All Irelands in the next year or two but if these boys keep progressing there's a lot of hope for us down the line.

Jamie Clarke is immense, the ball sticks to him like glue. He's going to be as good as McDonnell for the next decade. Franny Hanratty had an excellent debut. He was all over the pitch, full of energy. Nippy Swift might have had his best ever showing in an Armagh jersey too. He always had mountains of potential; it'd be fantastic if he could start to show what he can do more frequently. Disappointing for Duffy to go off so early, but Feeney did a sound job in his place. Hope he's not too bad, we're struggling for numbers as it is. Some very good displays from some of the more experienced lads too - Donaghy, Duffy, McKeever, Kernan. Dyas had a quiet enough day, but it'll hopefully do him the world of good to get a full 70 minutes under his belt. Couple of other boys I'm still not so sure about, they may have done alright today but they'll struggle against better teams that put up more fight.

I suppose any praise has to be tempered with the Donegal showing in mind. They looked gutless and had little fight after the two early goals. Felt very sorry for the Donegal people that gave up their Saturday to watch such in insipid display. It'll be a long spin home.
Post by: armaghniac on June 26, 2010, 05:46:03 PM
Well, I think that Armagh are clearly better than Donegal, but this is not as hard as it should be! Conor Counihan was sitting nearby, interesting that he came so far to a televised game.
Post by: mackers on June 26, 2010, 06:23:12 PM
Donegal are a poor outfit who absolutely hate playing us but there were some encouraging displays from Armagh. Jaimie Clarke is a real find, his breakthrough into the team couldn't have been better timed with Ronan's injury. His score taking is excellent but the way he can win his own ball is very encouraging, he has great hands. Swift had a great game and won what little ball that we won at midfield, with Toner and Lavery badly missed. Franny Hanratty had a good debut, and while he made a number of errors he never stopped showing for the ball and never hid. He was trying to do things that he would get away with in club football, he'll learn a lot from today. Brendan Donaghy had another great game.

Midfield is a concern and hopefully the two week break will get us a couple of our injuries back. We made quite a number of mistakes that could cost us against a better team. Good to win our first qualifier since 2003, hopefully we'll get a bit of a run together.
Post by: Denn Forever on June 26, 2010, 06:31:14 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 26, 2010, 05:46:03 PM
Well, I think that Armagh are clearly better than Donegal, but this is not as hard as it should be! Conor Counihan was sitting nearby, interesting that he came so far to a televised game.

Quick blast to Breffni tonight and off to Clones for the Fermanagh game tomorrow.  A regular football fest.
Post by: bennydorano on June 26, 2010, 06:50:35 PM
Fine win there but Donegal are basically a disgrace, no balls whatsoever.  We just seem to have their number.

Great win considering how many injuries there are at present, delighted for Nippy who had an absolute blinder.  Cant agree on Hanratty, made countless mistakes, however he'll only improve from there.  Jamie is the boy, a lot better than i thought he was having watched him for Cross and UUJ.

Can we only get a semi final loser in the next round of the draw or is it a free for all?
Post by: Smokin Joe on June 26, 2010, 06:54:04 PM
Looked like Anto did something to his leg (as it seemed to be padded).

Nippy had an absolutely brilliant game (as he tends to do in Cross).

Pretty soon the opposition's best man marker will be tasked to Jamie, and not Stevie  ;D
Post by: Armaghgeddon on June 26, 2010, 07:15:53 PM
Why does O'Rouke insist on playing Mackin?! He was awful. He needs to be used as an impact sub.

I am looking forward to seeing Ronan Clarke, Stevie Mc, Jamie Clarke and Henderson playing together.

Stevie has 18 goals. J Clarke has 3 already   ;D
Post by: Armaghgeddon on June 26, 2010, 07:16:51 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on June 26, 2010, 06:50:35 PM
Fine win there but Donegal are basically a disgrace, no balls whatsoever.  We just seem to have their number.

Great win considering how many injuries there are at present, delighted for Nippy who had an absolute blinder.  Cant agree on Hanratty, made countless mistakes, however he'll only improve from there.  Jamie is the boy, a lot better than i thought he was having watched him for Cross and UUJ.

Can we only get a semi final loser in the next round of the draw or is it a free for all?

Free for all.

Post by: PatDaly on June 26, 2010, 07:22:25 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on June 26, 2010, 07:16:51 PM

Free for all.

Are you sure about that? Where did you get that info?

http://www.gaa.ie/content/downloads/wallcharts/football_wallchart.pdf
Round 2: July 10
Each of the eight teams defeated in the provincial semi-finals shall play against one of the eight winners from Round 1.
Post by: Apple Crumble on June 26, 2010, 07:31:50 PM
Cork it is then. - Yikes!!!!!
Post by: Armaghgeddon on June 26, 2010, 07:33:29 PM
Quote from: PatDaly on June 26, 2010, 07:22:25 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on June 26, 2010, 07:16:51 PM

Free for all.

Are you sure about that? Where did you get that info?

http://www.gaa.ie/content/downloads/wallcharts/football_wallchart.pdf
Round 2: July 10
Each of the eight teams defeated in the provincial semi-finals shall play against one of the eight winners from Round 1.

Apologies you are correct.

So Armagh can get either

Down
Fermanagh/Monaghan
Louth/Westmeath
Meath/Dublin
Leitrim
Sligo/Galway
Cork
Waterford

Or am I doing it wrong ?
Post by: our_fella on June 26, 2010, 07:44:04 PM
Are we away the next match or can we have it in cross again?
Post by: mountainboii on June 26, 2010, 08:05:54 PM
Quote from: our_fella on June 26, 2010, 07:44:04 PM
Are we away the next match or can we have it in cross again?

Down generally play their home games in Newry.
Post by: our_fella on June 26, 2010, 08:34:17 PM
Living in down AFS. Still an orange man
Post by: under the bar on June 26, 2010, 08:38:04 PM
QuoteAre we away the next match or can we have it in cross again?

Surely a contender for stupid question of the year award.
Post by: our_fella on June 26, 2010, 08:44:08 PM
Under the bar, i meant are the provincial semi finalists guaranteed a home draw next round?
Post by: Shortso79 on June 26, 2010, 09:09:10 PM
I thought Hanratty was excellent for his debut

He got a great ovation when he got substituted

Hopefully young Duffy is ok - he was playing well

Pleased with the result - feel sorry for the Donegal supporters
Post by: Shortso79 on June 26, 2010, 09:11:37 PM
10.07.2010 (Sat) – Round Two – (Draw)

Each of the eight teams defeated in the Provincial Semi-Finals shall play against one of the eight winners from Round 1. 

First Team drawn has home advantage provided venue meets the criteria set down by the National Safety and Infrastructure Committee
Post by: Orior on June 26, 2010, 09:20:40 PM
Quote from: under the bar on June 26, 2010, 08:38:04 PM
QuoteAre we away the next match or can we have it in cross again?

Surely a contender for stupid question of the year award.

Why?
Post by: Smokin Joe on June 26, 2010, 09:25:53 PM
Quote from: Shortso79 on June 26, 2010, 09:11:37 PM
10.07.2010 (Sat) – Round Two – (Draw)

Each of the eight teams defeated in the Provincial Semi-Finals shall play against one of the eight winners from Round 1. 

First Team drawn has home advantage provided venue meets the criteria set down by the National Safety and Infrastructure Committee

But that is a nonsense.

As the Qualifiers' first round winners will be kept in a separate "hat" from the beaten provincial semi finalists then one basket will always be drawn out first.

They would just be safer saying that either the provincial semi finalist or the first round winner gets home advantage (depending on which hat they are going to choose from first).
Post by: mountainboii on June 26, 2010, 09:31:50 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on June 26, 2010, 07:33:29 PM
So Armagh can get either

Down
Fermanagh/Monaghan
Louth/Westmeath
Meath/Dublin
Leitrim
Sligo/Galway
Cork
Waterford

Or am I doing it wrong ?

So from that, would like to avoid Cork, Down and probably Fermanagh. Cork are better than us and would beat us, and I'd like our newer players to get another couple of games this summer. Wouldn't particularly fear Down or Fermanagh, but it'd definitely be perferable to avoid another Ulster opponent. Wouldn't lose much sleep over any of the rest. If Monaghan fcuk up tomorrow I actually wouldn't mind another pop at them, would be a great opportunity to wipe that debacle from the memory completely.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 26, 2010, 09:33:49 PM
Am I imagining things or do the game draws be made and then a separate draw to see who's at home? Probably wrong though.
Post by: Redhand Santa on June 26, 2010, 09:36:39 PM
Think they pick a ball from each bowl and then put them in another bowl spin them round and first one picked up is at home.
Post by: donegal lad on June 26, 2010, 09:44:25 PM
very disappointed with that display apart from 2 or 3 players the team didnt seem up for the challenge at all major changes needed and jj has to step down very poor manager id ask any1 that was in cross today did they see him walk the line at all. Just a word for the crossmaglen team well done on the organising for this game my bro was in the disabled end and ithe better facilites hes been in throughout ireland
Post by: seafoid on June 26, 2010, 09:46:54 PM
Did Donegal lose any players to emigration? Keith Duggan wrote about them last year and over half were unemployed I think.
Post by: lawnseed on June 26, 2010, 10:10:22 PM
i agree typ i thought swift was motm, he covered a lot of ground his fielding was top drawer. nice to see stevie getn some support i like him in the role of play maker. wouldnt mind another monaghan game cant believe theyre too much better than us. what happened to kevin cassidy where did he go? heard today that k.toner had a bad accident involving a loader tipping over hes got bad bruising and cuts according to my source hes very lucky it could have been alot worse. get well soon keiran
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 26, 2010, 10:47:45 PM
Good performance today. You have be pleased when you beat a seemingly decent Ulster side by 9 points in the championship. The roasting Jamie Clarke gave to a current All Star in his 2nd championship start is very encouraging. It could have been 3 goals for Clarke were it not for the ref awarding an untimely free.

Great to see us finally being to shed our over-reliance on Stevie; 2-10 scored by the rest of the forward line. Nippy Swift was excellent and kicked some lovely scores. The only concern was the failure to pick up a decent proportion of breaking ball around midfield. Its not entirely fair to lame that on Mal and Charlie, the half forwards need to be reacting better to loose ball.

If we avoid Cork hopefully we'd have a decent chance of making progress, possibly as far as the quarter final. Put Ronan Clarke and a couple of last years minors into that forward line in 2011 and you've the makings of a very decent side.
Post by: lawnseed on June 26, 2010, 11:17:28 PM
any word on ronan clarke will he feature soon. heard today that paul mcgrane is playing great stuff and is in super shape word is that he is to be asked to fill in while toner recovers, i,d love to see him back even if he was only doing impact sub for 20mins. failing something like that hearty is going to have to place his kickouts abit better we were cleaned out for long periods of the game today
Post by: ONeill on June 26, 2010, 11:34:10 PM
Two horrible teams. It was like watching a division 4 game at the end of the league campaign.
Post by: lawnseed on June 26, 2010, 11:48:13 PM
hold on oneill we just got our asses well and truely kicked by monaghan, we'll take any improvement on the last day. your right the pace of the game was a little pedestrain, but we had a few new faces in cross today, and imo progress was made. mal mackin has had better days but on one glaring occasion he won the ball in mid-field and laid it off to ak who went on a good run mackin ran with him and was through on goal unmarked ak passed the ball to an armagh player running out from the donegal goal and the move broke down there was nobody between mackin and the goalie, he was really pissed off. mals a tryer 
Post by: Minder on June 26, 2010, 11:50:56 PM
Didn't think it would be that easy ONeill.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on June 26, 2010, 11:52:35 PM
The good thing about today is that players will be more confident in running forward with the ball and going for points.

The only time we have been defeated this year [apart from Meath] is when we have been reduced to 14.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on June 27, 2010, 12:05:30 AM
Apart from Cross men, did anyone else think Hanratty had a good day?

No harm to the fella meant here, he cost Armagh at least 2 frees which Donegal scored from, put it wide himself on 3 occasions that I counted.  To my mind, he should have been substituted after the first 25 minutes or so, him and Mackin.  Do Armagh have replacements for the positions they play in though?  That's my worry, if Armagh are depending on good club standard players to try and lift major sliverware, they will be caught short
Post by: lawnseed on June 27, 2010, 12:09:10 AM
very little soccer style lateral or back passing today or those stupid passes to people just standing there in your way who just give it back to you as you run past. does my head in that stuff. alot of diagonal passes to the forwards, heartys looking alot cooler as well when hes coming out with the ball, fuk it, there are alot of things about todays game that I'd be happy about 
Post by: mountainboii on June 27, 2010, 12:11:33 AM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on June 27, 2010, 12:05:30 AM

Yes, me.

Anyone that thinks otherwise, is thinking shite.
Post by: Mid Down Gael on June 27, 2010, 12:16:17 AM
Quote from: AFS on June 27, 2010, 12:11:33 AM

Yes, me.

As a neutral i thought he was ordinary enough against a Donegal side who where dreadful. Two off the slackest goals iveseen in some time. Jamie Clarke had no pressure put on him at all. Armagh looked good but Donegal where woeful.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on June 27, 2010, 12:18:44 AM
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on June 27, 2010, 12:16:17 AM

Yes, me.

As a neutral i thought he was ordinary enough against a Donegal side who where dreadful. Two off the slackest goals iveseen in some time. Jamie Clarke had no pressure put on him at all. Armagh looked good but Donegal where woeful.

Might not have been the hardest of goals but being as inexperienced as him, he was very calm and played off other players really well. When he got his chances he took them. That's all you can expect from your forwards.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on June 27, 2010, 12:19:50 AM

Yes, me.

I thought he was wasteful but it is his first game. He reminded me a little of Henderson though.
Post by: Mid Down Gael on June 27, 2010, 12:21:06 AM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on June 27, 2010, 12:18:44 AM

Yes, me.

Might not have been the hardest of goals but being as inexperienced as him, he was very calm and played off other players really well. When he got his chances he took them. That's all you can expect from your forwards.

Dont get me wrong Clarke is some talent and he done what he was there for but i am just questioning Donegals defence.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on June 27, 2010, 12:24:00 AM
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on June 27, 2010, 12:21:06 AM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on June 27, 2010, 12:18:44 AM

Yes, me.

Dont get me wrong Clarke is some talent and he done what he was there for but i am just questioning Donegals defence.

Armagh just don't have the options at the moment. However with a fit Ronan Clarke and Henderson I dont think many team would enjoy playing against us.
Post by: Mid Down Gael on June 27, 2010, 11:52:53 AM
I wonder will the sunday game highlight McDonnells elbow to Barry Dunnion on the first half that was caught on camera. If it was Paul Galvin he would surely be highlighted. Brick Malloy missed yesterdays game for a similar incident.
Post by: Mid Down Gael on June 27, 2010, 11:56:26 AM
Quote from: Take Your Points on June 27, 2010, 09:48:42 AM

If I was unfortunate enough to be from Down I would be sitting back and wondering had wee James really moved forward this year.  In your own words "Donegal where woeful" and they have been twice hammered by a developing Armagh side, yet Down just about managed to beat them after extra time when Benny Coulter decided he might play for a short time or sometimes referred to as his inter county season.

Well i firstly can say its very fortunate being from a county with more than one all ireland. On the day Donegal where woeful yesterday. They put much greater effort and hunger into their ulster championship clash. Yesterday and in Letterkenny they showed no heart and desire.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on June 27, 2010, 12:28:45 PM
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on June 27, 2010, 11:56:26 AM

If I was unfortunate enough to be from Down I would be sitting back and wondering had wee James really moved forward this year.  In your own words "Donegal where woeful" and they have been twice hammered by a developing Armagh side, yet Down just about managed to beat them after extra time when Benny Coulter decided he might play for a short time or sometimes referred to as his inter county season.

Well i firstly can say its very fortunate being from a county with more than one all ireland. On the day Donegal where woeful yesterday. They put much greater effort and hunger into their ulster championship clash. Yesterday and in Letterkenny they showed no heart and desire.

You can say Donegal were woeful all you like, but they were woeful against Down. 16 wides in 70+ minutes. Down were lucky to come away with a win in that one.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 27, 2010, 01:28:29 PM
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on June 27, 2010, 11:56:26 AM

:D  :D  :D
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 27, 2010, 01:41:53 PM
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on June 27, 2010, 11:52:53 AM
I wonder will the sunday game highlight McDonnells elbow to Barry Dunnion on the first half that was caught on camera. If it was Paul Galvin he would surely be highlighted. Brick Malloy missed yesterdays game for a similar incident.

Not sure he used the elbow, think he run into Dunnion just.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on June 27, 2010, 01:56:47 PM
Anyone see the foul on Jamie Clarke when he was shoved to the ground?
Post by: mountainboii on June 27, 2010, 02:38:43 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on June 27, 2010, 01:41:53 PM
Quote from: Mid Down Gael on June 27, 2010, 11:52:53 AM

Not sure he used the elbow, think he run into Dunnion just.

There was no elbow. Dunnion made a dick of himself. Must've thought he was playing for the Ivory Coast for a bit.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on June 27, 2010, 06:29:48 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on June 27, 2010, 12:19:50 AM

Yes, me.

I thought he was wasteful but it is his first game. He reminded me a little of Henderson though.
I thought the same of him.  OTHO J Clarke looks like the real deal
Post by: ardchieftain on June 28, 2010, 02:16:03 AM
Good win, no point in repeating the already mentioned positives.

We will get Cork or an Ulster team i reckon
Post by: BerfArmagh on June 28, 2010, 09:21:50 AM
Good win on saturday, I enjoyed the game and the Armagh performance. However, Donegal were absolutely woeful, i felt sorry for the sizeable contingent of their fans that travelled up. Best for Armagh were Donagh, Swift & a fantastic performance by clarke. I also thought aron kernan played well

Some great scores from play throughout the side. Mid field however was poor. Charlie over carried the ball into the tackle on too many occasions, which resulted on one occasion on a very big shoulder which couped him (though he did hold onto the ball). Mal Mackin struggled in what was a hot day for football. Overall considering the players out injured, it was a very good performance

Fermanagh up next!! Could be tricky enough in enniskillen
Post by: illdecide on June 28, 2010, 09:42:22 AM
I was expecting a big performance from Donegal but it didn't come, they were gutless and spineless and didn't wanna be there with the camera man catching one of the players who had just been substituted joking and laughing with his team mate in the dugout...WTF.

Anyway all Armagh could do was beat what was put in front of them with a few positive performances especially from some young lads, the match in Fermanagh will be tough and I'd expect Armagh to win by 2pts.
Post by: mackers on June 28, 2010, 10:15:21 AM
Quote from: illdecide on June 28, 2010, 09:42:22 AM
I was expecting a big performance from Donegal but it didn't come, they were gutless and spineless and didn't wanna be there with the camera man catching one of the players who had just been substituted joking and laughing with his team mate in the dugout...WTF.

Anyway all Armagh could do was beat what was put in front of them with a few positive performances especially from some young lads, the match in Fermanagh will be tough and I'd expect Armagh to win by 2pts.
It was McFadden, he is the sort of player that Donegal need to get rid of if they are to get out of the rut they're in at the minute. He's a very lazy player with no bite about him at all, Dooher must've really got up his nose for him to gub him a few years ago.
Post by: BerfArmagh on June 28, 2010, 11:18:50 AM
could ye imagine thon guy Murphy playing for a decent side!!! Though Donaghy marshalled him very well
Post by: gander on June 28, 2010, 11:27:58 AM
Quote from: BerfArmagh on June 28, 2010, 11:18:50 AM
could ye imagine thon guy Murphy playing for a decent side!!! Though Donaghy marshalled him very well

Thought Donaghy was outstanding on him, Murphy was their only option when putting the ball into the forward line and he kept him too 3 points from play.
Post by: Goats Do Shave on June 28, 2010, 12:36:47 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on June 26, 2010, 11:17:28 PM
any word on ronan clarke will he feature soon. heard today that paul mcgrane is playing great stuff and is in super shape word is that he is to be asked to fill in while toner recovers, i,d love to see him back even if he was only doing impact sub for 20mins. failing something like that hearty is going to have to place his kickouts abit better we were cleaned out for long periods of the game today

Ronan has one of those space boots on again.
McGrane is flying!