Bring it on!
monaghan by 10
Monaghan by a cricket score
Hard to see anything other than a Monaghan win but there's no pressure on Fermanagh, they've nothing to lose and they have a great record against Monaghan. I doubt very much it'll be a kicking in match as Fermanagh at the very least will frustrate the shite outa Monaghan. Look like they've found a forward or two as well.
O'Rourke's a wily hoor though and will be working tonight on Monaghan's weaknesses.
Sidebottom & McHugh appeared to ejaculate simultaneously when yer big fella Quigley scored - see http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/8737173.stm about 5:50
In a way i'm very glad that it's Fermanagh - it will stop any complacency. As Benny mentioned, our record against them is awful and 2008 will be fresh in the minds of the Monaghan team. This always had the potential to be a banana skin, winning the 'difficult' game and slipping up on the 'easy' one.
Fermanagh had a few impressive players today - Carson, Quigley, O'Brien and Ward were handy up front. I think Monaghan will need to win midfield and cut off supply to the forwards to progress here - if we get the same kind of game from the likes of Finlay, Clerkin and McQuaid as last week, we should be able to manage this.
Monaghan will be the clear favourites for this - and deservedly so. We'll have to be on our guard, but we should come out the other side.
I can't see anything other than a Monaghan win by 7+ points
Yeah I'd agree with that Maguire, the memories of 2008 should be fresh in the mind of every Monaghan player and that should really provide any extra motivation we need and guard against complacency. Also it's a much more mature team than 2 years ago and I imagine Banty and Grimley will be drilling it into them that Fermanagh are going to be very tough, which they will.
Fermanagh look to have found a few new players, forwards especially. Carson and Quigley are certainly going to be a handful for us! We need to keep up the performance from the Armagh game. No good in Finlay, Tommy, Dick etc. playing out of their skins in the first round and not producing the goods in the semi. But I'm confident they'll be well up for it(as they should), and I'm confident we can come through it. It'll not be easy at all, Fermanagh have a great record against us and we'll be favourites, but it's about time we learned to live with that tag and live up to it for once. If Monaghan are the team we believe they are then we should be getting to the Ulster final.
Where's eamonn maguire and mark murphy this weather?
Quote from: trileacman on June 12, 2010, 11:39:01 PM
Where's eamonn maguire and mark murphy this weather?
In think Maguire is injured and Murhpy's travelling, maybe?
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on June 12, 2010, 07:26:35 PM
Monaghan by a cricket score
You're right - hard to see anything else. Armagh are some side and they hammered them sure.
I reckon monaghan will take it easily - clerkin will score more of those wonder points he regularly does, and hanratty'll get about 3.5.
Forget cricket scores - i'd settle for a one pint win. If it was another Clerkin 'wonder point', that would be nice. :P
Would have to agree.
We have not a chance against the mighty men from Monaghan.
It's Banty's final year and he is a man on a mission.
It's division 1 versus division 4.
We are mighty all right. I'd advise you to stay at home.
Unusual though to be hot favourites for an Ulster semi final. In case Monaghan were getting some high ideas, it's good that there is some score to settle, after getting deservedly spanked in that ambush last time in Brewster Pk.
Quote from: Main Street on June 13, 2010, 11:49:13 AM
Unusual though to be hot favourites for an Ulster semi final. In case Monaghan were getting some high ideas, it's good that there is some score to settle, after getting deservedly spanked in that ambush last time in Brewster Pk.
??? What about almost every other time they've met in the last decade?
Yes, but in 2008 we were expected to come through it after a good year in 2007.
Quote from: haranguerer on June 13, 2010, 11:54:22 AM
I make it 2-2 in the last decade... I will stand corrected though..
There's no way Monaghan can lose this one.
Fermanagh were in turmoil up to a few weeks ago, so to beat Monaghan would be impossible
Definitely Impossible alright!! ;D
Quote from: Fermanaghandsam on June 13, 2010, 07:26:25 PM
Yeah yeah yeah lads. Hardly much point in goin to it sure. Yous caught us in the long grass in 2008. 'Fool me once,shame on you. Fool me twice,shame on me'
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 13, 2010, 08:14:08 PM
Yeah yeah yeah lads. Hardly much point in goin to it sure. Yous caught us in the long grass in 2008. 'Fool me once,shame on you. Fool me twice,shame on me'
"There's an old saying in Tennessee — I know it's in Texas, probably in Tennessee — that says, fool me once, shame on — shame on you. Fool me — you can't get fooled again." —President George W. Bush, Nashville, Tenn., Sept. 17, 2002
Yeah, just had a look at the quailfier draw there, in the 2nd round I would hope we would draw the winners of Wexford/London or Cavan/Wicklow, that would give us a chance to win another game this year ;). And good luck to Monaghan in the final!!
Is this game in Breffnie?
http://ulster.gaa.ie/// - interviews with lots of fans coming out of Breffni, including Marty McGrath, and Marty McGrath.. they all reckon they'll take Monaghan. Funny that. I guess they weren't going to say they weren't!
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 13, 2010, 01:36:54 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on June 13, 2010, 11:54:22 AM
I make it 2-2 in the last decade... I will stand corrected though..
In all comps - I'd guesstimate 8 - 3 or so?
Quote from: Fermanaghandsam on June 13, 2010, 08:21:39 PM
Yeah, just had a look at the quailfier draw there, in the 2nd round I would hope we would draw the winners of Wexford/London or Cavan/Wicklow, that would give us a chance to win another game this year ;). And good luck to Monaghan in the final!!
Yawn.. Zzzzzz..
Quote from: Fermanaghandsam on June 13, 2010, 08:21:39 PM
And good luck to Monaghan in the final!!
Thanks, really, for a team of our standing, it would be beneath us to have to suffer the indignity of having to play a qualifier.
But I doubt if Fermanagh would give a flying feck about our sense of dignity.
As they say, you can't bullsh!t a bullsh!tter.
Fermanagh lads, will Quigley start do you reckon or will he be an impact sub again? The latter I'm thinking. It would be unfair on the two corner forward who played against Cavan (O'Brien & Ward) to lose out as they both done well IMHO and will give any full-back line plenty to think about..
There's no doubt that Quigley did make a big impact against Cavan but he was 100% unknown to them (and everyone else outside of Fermanagh!) That has now changed and Monaghan should have the time and resource to keep the handbrake on him...
Why do you assume its one of those two who would lose out? If he does start, it wont be for either of those.
It'll be a tough enough decision - its only fair after all to give Rory a chance of beating his own scoring record... :P
Quigley will hardly start will he? I wouldn't have thought myself he'd be fit for a full game as he's a big lad, and I know Fermanagh people that say the same. No doubt he'd rouse the crowd coming off the bench and could give the team a lift. But yeah, he's shown what he can do in his cameo against Cavan, no doubt there'll be a plan for him should he start or come on.
I did not really give Fermanagh a shout against a decent Cavan team after the league campaign so I will more than likely call this one wrong too so here goes, I think this will be closer than many on here reckon. Monaghan have a habit of self-destruction in some of the more important games and surely Banty won't be complacent in this one but the players themselves tend to fcuk it up on the pitch itself :-\ anyways, it'll be tough for either team to overcome Tyrone in the Final as they seem to be warming up nicely for the summer months ahead :-\ :-\ Monaghan have the players in Finlay, Freeman, Clerkin, McQuaid, that Keeper Hughes!! the hunger, they deserve another crack at Tyrone in the final after they gave Tyrone a healthy lead in 2007 before almost catching them in the end... gonna plump for another unlikely victory for the men in green; 2-09 to 0-14
We have flopped but I wouldn't say it's a habit of self destruction. At least last year, we did not reach a standard to say that we self destructed.
It's far too early to say where Monaghan are now. We need to prove consistency, do it over 3 games to win Ulster and this is just game nr 2. A lot of Monaghan folk liked what they saw against Armagh. As enjoyable as the 2nd half rout was, it was just a rout of a beaten team. What really pleased me was the first half performance, taking control of the game and where the visible effects of an energetic, disciplined and skillful team could be seen. It would have taken a very good Armagh team to compete in the 2nd half.
I was well pleased with Vinny around the CHB position. This is where he serves the team with great effect.
I approached the Cavan match with hope rather than expectation and I'll do the same again this week. Monaghan will go into the game as clear favourites but as Fermanagh have shown over the last decade we don't fear Monaghan. The current NFL positions don't truly reflect how closely matched these two counties are.
Monaghan are bound to be full of confidence after a convincing victory against Armagh but it'll interesting to see how they are able to deal with the pressure that comes with being favourites. This year's Ulster championship has probably been the most open in years. Tyrone were impressive in the second half yesterday but Down self destructed. There are weaknesses in this Tyrone team, highlighed with Down's dominance in the first 20 minutes, and if Monaghan are to win an Ulster championship they'll have no better chance to do it than this year.
From a Fermanagh perspecive it was pleasing to get a win over Cavan after such a disappointing league campaign. Over the last few weeks we have been able to get some key players back fit and the squad is looking as strong as it has been in quite a while. Many people have said that Malachy O'Rourke won't make any changes to a winning team but surely a sign of a good manager is one who approaches each game differently? I'm not saying he will make changes but just because we defeated Cavan doesn't mean changes shouldn't be considered. Seamus Quigley made a big impact coming off the bench and this is a role he'll continue to fulfill this weekend. Rory Gallagher was disappointing agaisnt Cavan so his place looks vulnerable with Ryan Keenan or Ciaran Flaherty being possible replacements. The defence was ok the last day but Cavan's shooting was very wayward. If Peter Sherry and Shane Goan can prove their fitness this week then both will come into contention. Ryan McCluskey did a decent job on Seanie Johnston so he'll probably be given the job of looking after Paul Finaly or Tommy Freeman. I would rather he played at centre half back but this is something Malachy will have to think about during the week.
So an Ulster championship semi final to look forward to and thankfully it is on a Sunday afternoon rather than Saturday evening. I'll wait until the end of the week before I make any match predictions but it should be pretty close.
As Main says, we need to prove consistency. We managed to do that in 2007 by beating fancied Down and Derry teams en route to the final. I don't think the Monaghan lads/mgmt will or should be looking at this year any different. The encouraging thinig about the Armagh game was the first half, not the second. Monaghan were 4/5 pts down with Stevie McDonnell shooting on site with both pegs and torturing Dessie Mone. It didn't look good. It was a bit like Down against Tyrone in the first 20 mins on Sat evening. Monaghan didn't panic, got to grips with midfield and breaking ball and our forwards started to get on the ball. This was the turning point in the game, Freemans goal I suppose. Monaghan controlled the game from there on apart from a worrying 15/20 mins in the second half where Armagh were on top but didn't make it count.
So, what I'm trying to say is that if you look back now it seems like Monaghan waltzed through Armagh and it was effortless. Time glosses over the cracks and it is easy to look at games like that with a big pair of rose tinted galsses on! Anyone who watched the game will know that this was not the case. Monaghan have plenty of homework and hopeuflly they'll have it done for next Sunday as excuses such as 'the dog ate it' or 'I spilt red lemonade on it and had to throw it in the bin' will not be tolerated! Forget about the second half. Ten minutes into the second half Monaghan had tacked on another 4 points and put the game beyond Armaghs reach and the rest was a rout. It happens to teams the odd time but should not be dwelt on. I don't think the Monaghan mgmt will dwell on that and I think the players are experienced enough now to realise this also.
Monaghan seemed focused this year, there's a hunger to win and competition for places, all postive attribbutes. They'll not under estimate Fermangh, they probably did in 2008 and got their just rewards..
Fermangh will be very tough opponents and will not lie down, of that I've no doubt. They'll make it very awkward for Monaghan and they've a forward unit with a mixture of size and speed that will cause problems to any defence.
I'm gonna nail my colours to the mast here and say Monaghan by 2...
The game will only be covered live on tv by BBCNI.
I suppose that makes it all the more, a cosy local affair.
Quote from: Main Street on June 21, 2010, 01:47:05 PM
Ayh, sure RTE aren't even showing the Dub v Meath game live and are showing the Louth v Westmeath game. That god damend oul World Cup.. ;)
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 21, 2010, 02:02:30 PM
Ayh, sure RTE aren't even showing the Dub v Meath game live and are showing the Louth v Westmeath game. That god damend oul World Cup.. ;)
I don't think RTE can show a match at the same time as TV3 and TV3 seem to have the rights to all Dublins games in Leinster.
Quote from: timmyot501 on June 21, 2010, 02:18:24 PM
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 21, 2010, 02:02:30 PM
Aha, didn't know that.. Every day's a school day..
I don't think RTE can show a match at the same time as TV3 and TV3 seem to have the rights to all Dublins games in Leinster.
What about the goal keeping situation in Monaghan??
Will it be Hughes again??
I'm going for Monaghan by 5.
FERMANAGH v MONAGHAN
Fermanagh have never won the Ulster championship while Monaghan won the
last of their 13 Ulster titles in 1988. Question is - who can keep their ambitions
alive in 2010?
The sides last clashed in the Ulster GAA Football Championship in 2008 when
Fermanagh won a quarter-final tie by 2-8 to 0-10 in a game where Ciaran
McElroy and Liam McBarron were the goal scorers. Fermanagh have a good
record against Monaghan in recent times, winning four of their last five Ulster
GAA Football Championship clashes. The winners will play Tyrone in the final
on July 18.
Last Five Championship Clashes
2008: Fermanagh 2-8 Monaghan 0-10 (Ulster quarter-final)
2002: Fermanagh 4-13 Monaghan 2-11 (Ulster quarter-final)
2001: Monaghan 2-10 Fermanagh 0-14 (Ulster quarter-final)
2000: Fermanagh 3-12 Monaghan 1-10 (Ulster preliminary round)
1999: Fermanagh 2-12 Monaghan 1-10 (Ulster preliminary round)
Story so far...
Monaghan turned in one of the best displays of the championship beating
Armagh by 1-18 to 0-9 in the quarter final while Fermanagh knocked out
Cavan on a 1-13 to 0-13 scoreline.
Taken from: http://www.hoganstand.com/Monaghan/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=130883
What is the word on Dessie Mone after he was subbed early in the game against Armagh?
Is he just not playing well or still recovering from an injury?
Probably not likely to start against Fermanagh?
Quote from: Main Street on June 22, 2010, 01:37:15 PM
What is the word on Dessie Mone after he was subbed early in the game against Armagh?
Is he just not playing well or still recovering from an injury?
Probably not likely to start against Fermanagh?
He hasn't been playing well this year IMHO. He didn't feature in the early rounds of the NFL due to injury but he doens't appear to have regained his form. McDonnell tortured him until he was switched with JP. He gave McDonnell far too much space and seemed to be 'zone marking' rather than 'man marking!'. I'd say he will start but I thought McArdle done well when introduced and always seems to steady the ship. I'd start McArdle but I reckon Banty'll start Dessie..
Young Greenan would have been a shoe in IMO had he been fit. I rate him highly and could/should be the man-marker for the future..
Alot depends where Darren Hughes lines out I suppose.
Banty has a few to choose between in the defence ahead of Sunday. Dessie's spot has been pushed all the way by McArdle and also Hughes if he isn't need between the posts. I would expect walsh, JP, McQuaid, Damien and Corey all to hold onto their spots after the armagh game.
Lennon and Clerkin will remain at midfield.
Jap, Tommy & Conor will all retain their spots so I presume the choice is any 3 from Jinxy, Hanratty, Woods and Kieran Hughes with Hugh McElroy also fighting for an unlikely starting spot. There is also the option of moving Corey to the forwards but after his performance against Armagh I'd be keeping him at no. 6
We could ceratinly do with this fella on Sunday
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/photo_galleries/7427035.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/photo_galleries/7427035.stm)
A few on Monaghan's current players were playing that day too.
Quote from: FermGael on June 22, 2010, 05:02:51 PM
I think he'll probably start. Experienced head, and should have plenty of space to play in if Banty keeps corey in chb, though I'm not sure he will. I'm expecting the same team. Quigleys fitness isn't the issue over whether he starts or not - a player like that doesnt have to make too many hard runs - its what you do with the rest. And also, it may be prudent to see whos struggling first, for he'd give the team a lift coming off the bench. Blobby and Quigley both are most effective close to goal, but also need nippy lads about for breaking ball - if the two of them do start, there'll be significant changes; I could see someone (little perhaps?) playing chf and pushing up towards the ff line as the ball comes in. Otherwise it'll be rory trying to set the ball up, out around mf.
We have a better mf, even with Marty underpar, and the cavan game will have brought him on immeasurably, so there should be enough ball coming in. I think Clucker will most likely be playing chb, with Finlay being his direct opponent, and he usually does very well on him, tho banty could start finlay in mf to try to get him worked into the game. The danger is the ff line, while before tommy was it really, mcmanus is a threat now, and will take some watching. Being so light and fast, he will win frees too, and with refs and defenders a bit more aware of Tommys nudges in the back at opportune moments, is the danger for a goal I fear. Mulrone did aright the last day, but takes far too much out of the ball - he was lucky to get away with it a few times against cavan. I'd much rather see Goan in - is he fit?
Quote from: FermGael on June 22, 2010, 05:02:51 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/photo_galleries/7427035.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/photo_galleries/7427035.stm)
A few on Monaghan's current players were playing that day too.
It's interesting that all of those scores that Rory got that day didn't require pace, just excellent timing and movement. Although scoring feats like that day are probably beyond him now I still think he can make a good contribution in the forward line. As Haranguerer has said already he brings experience to the team, which is needed with young players like Chris O'Brien and Daryl Keenan around him, however, he needs to make a bigger conribution to the scoreboard to secure his position, especially from frees. It's probably a confidence issue. If he knocks over a couple of early scores on Sunday we'll hopefully then see the best from him.
Quote from: FermPundit on June 22, 2010, 06:00:21 PM
It's interesting that all of those scores that Rory got that day didn't require pace, just excellent timing and movement.
And 2-04 from the placed ball.
Feel that Clucker will start in the corner. Do not think we have a choice, even if Goan is fit.
He will pick up Freeman and Bogue will pick up McManus
Tommy will pick up Finaly in my opinion because if Finlay drops deep, which he will, it gives us another scoring
threat up there.
I would leave the team as it is. Mulrone did well the last day(though took too much out of the ball at times) and
deserves his place.
Monaghan have a good, experienced midfield pairing, and they will be more than a match for McGrath and Sherry.
IMO it's 50-50 in that sector but hopefully 70 minutes against Cavan will have brought McGrath on a good bit.
We need him at his 08 levels if we are to win this game.
I would leave the front 6 as they are. Rory would need to get the finger out though.
Cannot afford him to play like he did in the first half against Cavan.
Leave Quigley on the bench and if the game is close with 20 to go, he could bring us over the line.
Monaghan will have there homework done on O'Brien and Ward. They have better corner backs than Cavan.
I think we can do it. Put then again hope is a dangerous thing
Martin Duffy is referee. That sounds too much like a Monaghan name for my liking
Quote from: FermGael on June 22, 2010, 06:46:38 PM
Martin Duffy is referee. That sounds too much like a Monaghan name for my liking
And he looks like Barry McGuigan.
It's worse its getting Maguire.
Next you will be telling me he is doing goals
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 22, 2010, 06:44:23 PM
It's interesting that all of those scores that Rory got that day didn't require pace, just excellent timing and movement.
Which included two brilliantly taken penalties with the Monaghan keeper about 10 yards off his line on both occasions.
So just 1-06 from play then
He could play a mean guitar as well.
Quote from: Emmett on June 22, 2010, 08:39:37 PM
So just 1-06 from play then
No, just 1-05
Still bitter...tut tut...:D :D
Shouldnt you be happy? 'Monaghan' and 'record' in the same sentence for the forseeable future after all I'd think... ;)
haha good man Maguire, I slipped up badly there!
Not much talk about this match from the media just yet. I work with a few Monaghan men and the banter is great. They are far from arrogant about the outcome but feel Monaghan should just shade it. Hard to argue with that
Quote from: haranguerer on June 22, 2010, 09:38:34 PM
Shouldnt you be happy? 'Monaghan' and 'record' in the same sentence for the forseeable future after all I'd think... ;)
Bitter? Not at all. A distant memory - we've had plenty dark days. Onwards and upwards.
And we all know that 'Fermanagh' are the only county in Ulster to have one particular 'record'. :P
Quote from: FermGael on June 22, 2010, 06:46:38 PM
Feel that Clucker will start in the corner. Do not think we have a choice, even if Goan is fit.
He will pick up Freeman and Bogue will pick up McManus
Tommy will pick up Finaly in my opinion because if Finlay drops deep, which he will, it gives us another scoring
threat up there.
Monaghan will have there homework done on O'Brien and Ward. They have better corner backs than Cavan.
Could well be the case with clucker. If it is then it'll be Mulrone at chb I imagine, and I'd worry for him tbh. If Finlay gets into his groove hes a class act. Cant see Tommy picking him up. Not sure how much of a scoring threat Tommy is - I dont think his feet are that great. When he does score its noticeable aright, cos its the outside of the boot, but if Finlay is going to drop deep then I'd rather see his marker sit about our 45 and only pick him up when he crosses it. Clucker is great for influencing a game from that position, which is why I'd rather see him there, but as you allude to, hes needed everywhere really...
O brien and ward will have it tougher aright, thats why I think its better to have Quigley as an option when we see just who is struggling in there...
I think our mf is stronger than m'hans - need James Sherry going for 70 min though or near it, which is a rare enough event. Should be a good battle though, and there'll be plenty of break ball for whoevers hungrier...
The oul banter with the monaghan ones bes good aright Emmett, especially as results have went our way mostly the last while - its always the game I look forward to most. Miss it these days. On heres as close as I can get, but its not really the same heading into work on Monday being the only one with any interest in the gaelic...
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 22, 2010, 10:11:12 PM
Bitter? Not at all. A distant memory - we've had plenty dark days. Onwards and upwards.
And we all know that 'Fermanagh' are the only county in Ulster to have one particular 'record'. :P
Ah, sure arent you from Fermanagh? ;)
Quote from: haranguerer on June 22, 2010, 10:14:46 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 22, 2010, 10:11:12 PM
Ah, sure arent you from Fermanagh? ;)
I am.
Although despite the banter, i'd be right behind them if they were playing anyone else.
Well, I'll be supporting Monaghan when they're playing Tyrone in the final then!
Quote from: haranguerer on June 22, 2010, 10:25:09 PM
Well, I'll be supporting Monaghan when they're playing Tyrone in the final then!
Good stuff!
More of a guise, similar to the pervading of a false sense of calm to a condemned man on death watch.
Quote from: Main Street on June 22, 2010, 11:29:12 PM
More of a guise, similar to the pervading of a false sense of calm to a condemned man on death watch.
;D I like it..
I'm glad they made up I hav to say, it was starting to get a bit serious..
So McElkennon claims in todays IN that Monaghan won't be bothered with the favourites tag and can 'take the heat'. He said the players may have been affected by it a few years agos but have matured and won't be affected by it..
And I thought Fermanagh were favourites for this one given their record (4 out of the last 5) against us in recent history??
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 22, 2010, 10:28:02 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on June 22, 2010, 10:25:09 PM
Good stuff!
Football Friend!
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 24, 2010, 09:41:18 AM
So McElkennon claims in todays IN that Monaghan won't be bothered with the favourites tag and can 'take the heat'. He said the players may have been affected by it a few years agos but have matured and won't be affected by it..
And I thought Fermanagh were favourites for this one given their record (4 out of the last 5) against us in recent history??
after the way you trounced Armagh... :P :-*
According to yesterdays Fermanagh Herald Peter Sherry is back from his injury and has returned to training.
Good addition for Sunday. May even be an option at CHB
Quote from: sammymaguire on June 24, 2010, 12:26:10 PM
You obviously haven't read the article Sammy.
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 24, 2010, 02:19:12 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on June 24, 2010, 12:26:10 PM
You obviously haven't read the article Sammy.
you are right, is it online?, not been out of the house all day - playing mind games in Monaghan :o
From twitter:
Quotebbcchampionship Monaghan and Fermanagh not naming teams teams until Friday night. Speculation that Darren Hughes could start in goals again for Farney.
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 24, 2010, 08:04:53 PM
From twitter:
Quotebbcchampionship Monaghan and Fermanagh not naming teams teams until Friday night. Speculation that Darren Hughes could start in goals again for Farney.
I've heard rumours of this alright, I'll take it all with a pinch of salt til I see who's wearing the blue jersey come 3.20 or so Sunday afternoon.
I've heard that Duffy's training away but whether he's able to kick out or not is another story. Could we not wind the clock back to the olden days and get the full back (Darren Hughes) to take the kick outs?? ::)
If Duffy is not fit I think it is a plus for Fermanagh.
Firstly, Duffy ia a good shot stopper and has good kickouts.
Hughes is an excellent defender who is more than capable of taking a score.
Think he can hit a good 45' as well.He seems a natural CHB and Monaghan will miss him.
He is untested as yet in nets. One save against Armagh that was striaght at him does not make him a good keeper.
But being alert to the high ball does. There's more to being a keeper than stopping the ball aimed directly at the nets. He was quick to react to a number of high balls against Armagh which potentially avoided shots on goal.
Having said that, i'd rather have Duffy back and Hughes outfield.
Quote from: FermGael on June 25, 2010, 10:46:43 AM
If Duffy is not fit I think it is a plus for Fermanagh.
Firstly, Duffy ia a good shot stopper and has good kickouts.
Hughes is an excellent defender who is more than capable of taking a score.
Think he can hit a good 45' as well.He seems a natural CHB and Monaghan will miss him.
He is untested as yet in nets. One save against Armagh that was striaght at him does not make him a good keeper.
You're spot on there FermGael, he's more of a loss out the field than he is a gain in nets. Not too many Monaghan folk are claiming that he's a 'good keeper' but he done a job against Armagh and hopefully can do a job against Fermanagh if played there.
I'd slightly disagree about Duffy though, he's not a bad shot stopper but not great either. Padraig McBennett who was on the panel last year was a better shot stopper IMO. Duffy has a long kickout but tends to be a bit one-dimensional i.e. always straight down the middle, rarely hits the wings and rarely takes or sees the short/quick kickout.
Monaghan probably have a few more options in defence though than if a player was taken from the forwards so they should be able to plug the gap. He's a big loss out the field though, no doubt about that..
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 25, 2010, 11:33:37 AM
But being alert to the high ball does. There's more to being a keeper than stopping the ball aimed directly at the nets. He was quick to react to a number of high balls against Armagh which potentially avoided shots on goal.
Maguire good keepers do both.
If Darren Hughes is called upon to stand in goals again he will not be found wanting in shot stopping or under the high ball. He is well experienced in goals and is the type of guy you could stick in anywhere, and he has the right kind of attitude for these big games.
I'm not saying he can't or won't make mistakes but saying he's totally untested is not true. I personally think that he is a future midfielder for us and is certainly our finest young player by quite a way. I also think that he is probably one of the best goalkeepers in the county anyway but i accept that he doesn't regularly do goals and as with anything this is a risk.
Come on Monaghan!! I'll be in Brefni on Sunday and i can't wait!!
You tell 'em frank. How dare they say anything remotely negative about Hughes?!
Would also hope its true, but doubt it. Banty loves smokescreens, this is just the kind of rumour he'd perpetuate. Could see Hughes playing chb
Quote from: haranguerer on June 25, 2010, 02:51:36 PM
You're a p***k, the man is knew to the board, has 5 posts and you're responding with churlish remarks, grow up lad! >:(
http://ulster.gaa.ie/// - see confident Fermanagh fans ('well, sort of') and the verdicts on Sunday's game from Tyrone - Danny Ball, Mickey Harte and Tony Donnelly.
Quote from: GrandMasterFlash on June 25, 2010, 04:04:05 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on June 25, 2010, 02:51:36 PM
You're a p***k, the man is knew to the board, has 5 posts and you're responding with churlish remarks, grow up lad! >:(
What to f**k are you on about you dick?! Such an ott spiel about Hughes goalkeeping ability deserved a tongue-in-cheek remark, and thats what it was. Oh, hes 'knew', sure we should ignore all his posts for the first few hundred is it??!
Quote from: FermGael on June 25, 2010, 02:03:10 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 25, 2010, 11:33:37 AM
Maguire good keepers do both.
I agree entirely. I was just responding to your post that implied that all he did was block one shot that was straight at him.
RTÉ going for a draw:
Going into Sunday's clash with Fermanagh, Monaghan have already showed that they could be the team to beat in Ulster this year after crushing Armagh in Casement Park.
Fermanagh endured a difficult league campaign but the end of a 96-year stint of not beating Cavan in the Championship has ignited hopes of a first-ever Ulster title.
It promises to be a very difficult task. Monaghan, regardless of the fact that Armagh had to play with 14-men for much of the encounter, looked a well-balanced team that combined all the flair and experience it takes to win an Ulster title.
The margin of victory, 12 points, was eye-catching to say the least.
It was the way they put Armagh to the sword that really made counties across the country take notice.
They'll be very confident of seeing off Fermanagh but nothing is ever as straight forward as it seems in Ulster.
This game could potentially provide an upset, a lot is expected of Monaghan while for Fermanagh the pressure is a lot less.
Monaghan's experienced managerial team of Seamus McEnaney and Paul Grimley could prove vital if the Farney County have not put the game to bed as it enters the final quarter.
The Ernemen have won four of the last five meetings between the sides in the Championship and getting to this stage is already seen as progress.
They will have the same exuberance as Monaghan and maybe the lack of experience, particulary in attack, could suit them.
It certainly didn't affect their forward line in the Cavan match, we'll know early on in the match in Kingspan Breffni Park how they are approaching the game.
Both teams will be craving a good start, this could well require more than the 70 minutes.
Verdict: Draw
The more I'm hearing about this, the more it looks like Duffy won't be fit to play and Hughes will have to mind the nets again. Hopefully it's a load of hot air which wouldn't surprise me in the least, but I'm not liking what I'm hearing. Duffy's quad injury just hasn't cleared up sufficiently, he's training away I think but his kicking just isn't right, and lets be honest that's one of the main reasons he's there, his big weapon is that huge kick-out. Of course his other abilities like shot-stopping and the rest have improved over the years but the kick-out is why he got his foot in the door to begin with and still his main asset.
If Hughes is to be in goals again, we will need to offer him great protection so that he has as little one-on-one action with the Fermanagh forwards, though I expect there will be more goal chances for Fermanagh than there was for Armagh the last day out. It's definately over the top to be proclaiming Hughes as an unbelievable goalkeeper, or one of the best in the county, he is a great young, willing player, did a job between the sticks for a short time at underage and did very well against Armagh for someone who was asked to do it at the last minute. He won't be pulling off any Banks-esque saves but he's a big, strong man but (importantly) agile and athletic also. He knows his angles and he certainly wouldn't be found wanting under the dropping ball. I still wouldn't want him to be left exposed for one-on-one shots and as I say we'd need to protect him here. Ironically, we have always been liable to concede soft goals from high balls, and Hughes is as good a man as you'd want to be under them. Of course it's still not what you would want, we're missing one of our influential and central players from out the field, Hughes is always solid in defence and is a great man to take the game on and drive forward.
As I say, hopefully this won't matter but I fear it might.
Hughes named in goals
Monaghan: D Hughes, D McArdle, JP Mone, C Walshe, D Freeman, V Corey, G McQuaid, D Clerkin, O Lennon, S Gollogly, P Finlay, K Hughes, C Hanratty, C McManus, T Freeman. Subs: S Duffy, F Caulfield, M McElroy, D Mone, N McAdam, H McElroy, R Woods, C Greenan, G Doogan, G Flanagan.
Fermanagh -TBC
Fermanagh: Ronan Gallagher, N Bogue, S Lyons, B Mulrone, D Ward, R McCluskey, T McElroy, J Sherry, M McGrath, D Keenan, R Carson, M Little, P Ward, Rory Gallagher, C O'Brien.
Subs: C Breen, J Woods, N McGovern, M Jones, M O'Brien, D Kelly, K Cosgrove, R Jones, C Flaherty, R Keenan, C McElroy, B Cox, S Quigley, J Connolly, A McCarron.
So no changes for Fermanagh. They played as selected against Cavan but I have a feeling we might have one or two changes in personnel come throw in.
I've just noticed that Peter Sherry hasn't been named on the bench. That is a surprise if he's back to full fitness.
I think that team will start.
Cannot see why not.
Mccluskey and Mulrone will switch from the start.
If Sherry id fit, he will be togged out. Expect a fine for Fermanagh for that
I think that Corry will line out at Full back for Monaghan to counter the threat of Carson.
Would not be surprised to see Duffy in nets though and Hughes wearing a different jersey out the field.
Looking forward to Sunday.
Quote from: FermGael on June 25, 2010, 10:43:11 PM
I think that team will start.
Cannot see why not.
Mccluskey and Mulrone will switch from the start.
If Sherry id fit, he will be togged out. Expect a fine for Fermanagh for that
I think that Corry will line out at Full back for Monaghan to counter the threat of Carson.
Would not be surprised to see Duffy in nets though and Hughes wearing a different jersey out the field.
Looking forward to Sunday.
Nope, JP is the man for Carson, Vinny was excellent the last day at CHB and he should stay there. Him being at full-back would restrict his influence and ability to drive forward, we're already missing Hughes for this which is bad enough.
He's another option if JP is having bother but I see no reason why he'd start FB.
Cheers Schkite.
I have a feeling this game may be won on the line.
Quote from: FermGael on June 25, 2010, 11:15:55 PM
Cheers Schkite.
I have a feeling this game may be won on the line.
It'll to be interesting to see what type of game plan Malachy goes for. Fermanagh were very open and attack minded against Cavan, but I fear if we do the same on Sunday Monaghan's forwards will run riot. In saying this I wouldn't mind an open game of football but I suppose its all about the result and if we have to watch Fermanagh's blanket defence in operation I'll be happy if it achieves the required result.
I shouldnt be, considering his form, but surprised to see dessie mone dropped. Banty generally shows faith, and I always thought banty was very keen on dessies style of play. McArdle in the corner instead - hes got the experience aright, but not the pace - this could be a prematch change. If not, I think its an area fermanagh should aim at. I think Hughes will be in goals, with the whole jersey thing and fines its a little too elaborate to be a ploy.
Quote from: haranguerer on June 26, 2010, 01:32:43 AM
I shouldnt be, considering his form, but surprised to see dessie mone dropped. Banty generally shows faith, and I always thought banty was very keen on dessies style of play. McArdle in the corner instead - hes got the experience aright, but not the pace - this could be a prematch change. If not, I think its an area fermanagh should aim at. I think Hughes will be in goals, with the whole jersey thing and fines its a little too elaborate to be a ploy.
I'd agree with that, on form Dessie shouldn't be starting but he's might be better suited to the nippy corner-forwards of Fermanagh. I thought Banty would give him another shot myself but McArdle did well the last day when he came on and Dessie hasn't really got going this year. As you say though, I wouldn't be surprised to see that as a pre-match change.
Don't be surprised to see Colm Greenan feature in the full-back line either if needs be, but he wouldn't start.
Up Fermanagh
Bbc 2 down. Time for the radio
BBCNI >:(
"We are sorry for the break in program and are trying to correct the fault"
Back on, a minutes silence for Dermot Earley rip.
The game is running about 5 mins late, must be Cavan time.
That 'tackle' by McGrath was miles worse than Brian Mallon's the last day. Love the consistency we get in Gaelic football.
Fermanagh are absolutely dreadful. Monaghan should win this by 15-20 points.
I know there is a stiff breeze against them but Fermanagh look very poor in that half. Little is a big loss, i presume it was due to the late hit from D Freeman.
McGrath was fortunate only to get yellow, the crowd fairly went "oomph" when the hit was made, but it appears there's no damage done, maybe it looked worse that it actually was.
Hanratty's nerves must be shattered when he puts on a Monaghan shirt. pity as he could be a good player.
So far so good for Monaghan in the 1st half, McManus and Tommy Freeman are making hay.
Now into the breeze. I hope it's not going to be a game of 2 halves.
Monaghan could hit 30 points here if they keep it up. They'll probably take the foot off the gas for the last 20 minutes though.
the stiff breeze played a big part in this game as it disappeared in the 2nd half but still monaghan were a good 6-7 points better than a poor fermanagh defence
Bolllix Sammy. The breeze had nothing to do with it.
Fermanagh got completely destroyed at midfield and won very little breaking ball.
Our Defence(with the exception of Bogey) were taken to the cleaners. But then again the ball that came in was good with very little pressure applied.
The tactic of dropping Little in as a sweeper backfired. Meant Damien Freeman was free and able to pick of passes and a score or 2.
Fair play to Monaghan. Then were superb. Grimley certainly has brought them on in leaps and bounds.
McManus was excellent. Tommy Freeman was well contained today and Monaghan still destroyed us.
Still think that Hughes will cost youse a goal or two before the championship is over.
I predict we will get Cavan in the backdoor.
Jesus...expected us to be at least competitive. Everything that could go wrong did, and when Mal turned to the line, it was the young lads who werent up to it in the league who were coming on to try to turn it round - never gonna happen. Needed clucker at chb to gain control of the ball when coming out of defence, also needed him marking each of the m'han fwds too tho...
For M'han - McManus delivered, it has taken pressure of Tommy, and Woods is a great option, as well as the lad who came on and took two (I think?) great scores. Eoin Lennon and particularly Clerkin (when did they become scoring mf'ers??) are playing the stuff of their lives, damien freeman playing excellent too, the whole team exceptionally fit and strong and versed now in a running and support game, which is effective and good to watch.
My pre-match reasoning was that Monaghan in terms of personnel are the same team that Fermanagh have always been well fit for, and I attributed the hammering of armagh as much to armaghs poorness as monaghans improvement. That m'han team today though is a different m'han team from any I've seen, incl those which beat derry and put it up to kerry etc - they look like the real deal. Good honest bunch too (stiill dirty f**kers, but noones perfect), and I think it'd be great to see banty lead them on to an Ulster title and perhaps more...
Great performance by Monaghan today, totally dominated in all areas and are flying fit. It was a bug banana skin to delighted they didn't slip up..
Just watched the Sunday Game and noticed no MOTM announcement/presentation, even though there was for the Louth/Westmeath game, what't the story there lads??
They only give out MOTM awards in the live games they show. W'Meath-Louth was live on RTE, Monaghan-Fermanagh wasn't.
McManus was the BBC MOTM.
Quote from: haranguerer on June 27, 2010, 07:16:15 PM
My pre-match reasoning was that Monaghan in terms of personnel are the same team that Fermanagh have always been well fit for, and I attributed the hammering of armagh as much to armaghs poorness as monaghans improvement. That m'han team today though is a different m'han team from any I've seen, incl those which beat derry and put it up to kerry etc - they look like the real deal. Good honest bunch too (stiill dirty f**kers, but noones perfect), and I think it'd be great to see banty lead them on to an Ulster title and perhaps more...
Before a team performs poorly they get beaten first, then the hammering comes after they have been beaten.
Stuff like that gets ignored when the focus was just on the Armagh team's dismal performance after they were beaten and not on the performance of Monaghan in the first 40 minutes of play. We tried to tell you that in this thread in the nicest possible way without sounding uncharacteristically arrogant ;)
It was a game of one half today. Few questions were asked and the performance did not have to reach the levels gained against Armagh. There was a sloppiness evident, even in the first half, that would not go unpunished against the likes of Tyrone.
But probably after 4 weeks the arthritis will have set in again to those old Tyrone joints.
The players can rightly take great satisfaction with the performance but I'd imagine the management team will be somewhat ruthless over the next 3 weeks because Fermanagh did not make Monaghan pay enough for their lax play and the way the game was closed out. Against Armagh, we took a rest in the 2nd half but were always in control and stepped into overdrive when it was needed.
I'd also guess that Shane Duffy will be back fully fit and ready to resume goalkeeping duties.
QuoteGood honest bunch too (stiill dirty f**kers, but noones perfect)
:o
Dessie is much misunderstood, he really only has eyes for the ball.
(http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/48190000/jpg/_48190812_mone_quigley.jpg)
I'd say he probably has a finger up Quigleys hole there :D
Quote from: FermGael on June 27, 2010, 06:50:35 PM
Bolllix Sammy. The breeze had nothing to do with it.
Fermanagh got completely destroyed at midfield and won very little breaking ball.
Our Defence(with the exception of Bogey) were taken to the cleaners. But then again the ball that came in was good with very little pressure applied.
The tactic of dropping Little in as a sweeper backfired. Meant Damien Freeman was free and able to pick of passes and a score or 2.
Fair play to Monaghan. Then were superb. Grimley certainly has brought them on in leaps and bounds.
McManus was excellent. Tommy Freeman was well contained today and Monaghan still destroyed us.
Still think that Hughes will cost youse a goal or two before the championship is over.
I predict we will get Cavan in the backdoor.
I didn't say we'd have beaten them FG as they were much better in all parts of the field and fully deserved the win, they'll be quietly confident of taking Tyrone I'm sure and will have learned alot from 2007 but I still don't think Fermanagh would have been 11 down at half-time, maybe 5-6 if the wind wasn't as strong... doesn't matter a fcuk now anyway, Armagh will beat them easily enough unless O'Rourke can perform some kind of miracle.
Good honest bunch too (stiill dirty f**kers, but noones perfect)
The worst thing I saw was McGrath's high tackle. (And I don't doubt that had Walshe lay down on the ground for a while, McGrath would have been shown the line - but good to see him hop back up.)
Didn't think there was anything particularly dirty in the game.
Anyway, great result from Monaghan. Took the foot off the gas near the end, but it didn't matter at that stage. I don't think that would have happened if they had been defending a slim margin.
Good honest bunch too (stiill dirty f**kers, but noones perfect), and I think it'd be great to see banty lead them on to an Ulster title and perhaps more...
Monaghan yellow cards: D Freeman, S Gollogly, P Finlay.
Fermanagh yellow cards: S Long, M McGrath, R McCluskey, N Bogue, D Ward, S Quigley.
That's 2:1 by my arithmetic..
Thanks for the vote of confidence though! ;)