Following the success of last year's 1911 project the 1901 census will be available to search for all 32 counties tomorrow.
http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/ (http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/)
How worth while is this project? What will be in it that wasn't in the 1911 census?
Quote from: Capt Pat on June 02, 2010, 10:32:58 AM
How worth while is this project? What will be in it that wasn't in the 1911 census?
People who died before 1911 I'd imagine........
Perhaps dead relatives you'd never heard of - like an infant there in 1901 that's not there in 1911 for one or perhaps a great great grandparent may be there in 01 not there in 1911
Interests me - obviously doesn't interest everyone.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 02, 2010, 10:38:49 AM
Perhaps dead relatives you'd never heard of - like an infant there in 1901 that's not there in 1911 for one or perhaps a great great grandparent may be there in 01 not there in 1911
Interests me too SS, looking forward to looking at it tomorrow evening
LL
Were most of your relatives not shipped off to Van Diemen's Land?
I enjoyed rooting around in the 1911 one - this should be interesting too.
The 1911 one was an excellent resource so I expect the additonal one to be of added value now. Great way to spend a few hours.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 02, 2010, 10:49:13 AM
LL
Could have been worse, they could have been brought to Longford
Is there any plan to release the 1921 one?
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 02, 2010, 10:52:53 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 02, 2010, 10:49:13 AM
LL
Could have been worse, they could have been brought to Longford
Jaysus, I can imagine the rabid hordes already gathering on the outskirts of Edgytown awaiting your next visit to the halcyon plains of the Camlin.
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 02, 2010, 10:58:15 AM
Is there any plan to release the 1921 one?
Wasn't there a lot of them burnt in a fire?
I'm not sure what survived but I think alot of the census for some years were destroyed
The returns for 1821, 1831, 1841 and 1851 were, apart from a few survivals, notably for a few counties for 1821 and 1831, destroyed in 1922 in the fire at the Public Record Office at the beginning of the Civil War. . The first full government census of Ireland was taken in 1821 with further censuses at ten-yearly intervals from 1831 through to 1911. No census was taken in 1921, because of the War of Independence. The first census of the population of the Irish Free State was taken in 1926.
This is great. There are a few issues that would be settled in my family tree that were raised by the 1911 census. My grandfather's father seemed to have two women aged 44 and 43 living with him. He was 46. They are both bearing his surname. There are 16 children listed in the house and three of them are imbeciles with another two lunatics. The 1911 census will show who he was with first. My grandfather told me that when a woman could bear children anymore (doctors say about 44-49 though Madonna was 46 when she had a couple of black ones) men would just lift her younger sister and start again.
They should go flat out now and hold censuses right back til about 1100.
Quote from: Doogie Browser on June 02, 2010, 10:52:40 AM
The 1911 one was an excellent resource so I expect the additonal one to be of added value now. Great way to spend a few hours.
Both brilliant resources. Pity there weren't more.
Quote from: Olly on June 02, 2010, 11:56:45 AM
This is great. There are a few issues that would be settled in my family tree that were raised by the 1911 census. My grandfather's father seemed to have two women aged 44 and 43 living with him. He was 46. They are both bearing his surname. There are 16 children listed in the house and three of them are imbeciles with another two lunatics. The 1911 census will show who he was with first. My grandfather told me that when a woman could bear children anymore (doctors say about 44-49 though Madonna was 46 when she had a couple of black ones) men would just lift her younger sister and start again.
They should go flat out now and hold censuses right back til about 1100.
Excellent!
Ah don't encourage him.
Is it impossible to tell if one of your ancestors was gay?
Would it have been admitted then?
Olly, which side did you come from? :)
I don't understand? I'm a Catholic.
Quote from: JUst retired on June 02, 2010, 12:19:17 PM
Quote from: Olly on June 02, 2010, 12:22:00 PM
Of course he is, sure doesn't he have a green helmet.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 02, 2010, 10:38:49 AM
Definite interest to me too Shamrock. Thanks for posting, as I'll look forward to logging into it tomorrow evening.
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 02, 2010, 01:13:54 PM
Quote from: JUst retired on June 02, 2010, 12:19:17 PM
Quote from: Olly on June 02, 2010, 12:22:00 PM
Of course he is, sure doesn't he have a green helmet.
He really gotta go to the Doctors. Sounds like a nasty infection our Olly has there.
Up on the site now. Some interesting research coming up this weekend :)
Quote from: ziggysego on June 03, 2010, 08:57:23 AM
Up on the site now. Some interesting research coming up this weekend :)
Had a quick look for some ancestors there...take care, the spelling is up the left!
Seems to be a fair few "R Cathlick" as well.
How come the RIC members didn't have to give their full names? No names for workhouses either.
The day that Billie Joe McAllister jumped off the Tallahatchee Bridge.
By using the 1911 census I was able to pass on some information to a man in the States who was researching his family. He did a DNA analysis comparison with my brother and it turns out the american and us are related through a man who emigrated to America in 1755 which implies that emigrant's father is a direct ancestor of mine. Unfortunately we don't know who he was.
On the other hand I think I've unearthed a skeleton in the closet.
I have discovered that the enumerator, in part of the 1911 Monaghan census, was a half illiterate moron.
Not only did he record my sacred family name with serious spelling mistakes but he records the town as Ballybary and not Ballybay.
It turns out he was a constable in the RIC, stationed in the town barracks, a Cavan farmer's son!
The rational explanation does not help my mood.
Quote from: Main Street on June 04, 2010, 12:43:42 PM
I have discovered that the enumerator, in part of the 1911 Monaghan census, was a half illiterate moron.
Not only did he record my sacred family name with serious spelling mistakes but he records the town as Ballybary and not Ballybay.
It turns out he was a constable in the RIC, stationed in the town barracks, a Cavan farmer's son!
The rational explanation does not help my mood.
A Ballybary man?
Did you dance on The Late Late when you were small?
Wtf is a Ballybary man?
The only place Ballybary existed was in what passes for a brain in a RIC man, son of a Cavan farmer, who did not even know how to say or spell the name of the town he was posted in.
found my great grandfather's house in the 1901 census, but no sign of them at all in the 1911 census. Wonder why
Quote from: tyssam5 on June 07, 2010, 09:21:41 PM
found my great grandfather's house in the 1901 census, but no sign of them at all in the 1911 census. Wonder why
Workhouse?
Quote from: Ulick on June 07, 2010, 09:23:23 PM
Workhouse?
No that me. Fairly sure they were in the same house up to the 1940's
Is it not a record of who's in the house the night of the census?
Quote from: ziggysego on June 07, 2010, 10:48:00 PM
Is it not a record of who's in the house the night of the census?
Found them, they were listed as Mac in 1911 not Mc
I have just found my great great grandfather James Mc Donnell from Tullycorbet, you might know him Main Street? :D
He moved to Drumhowan after marrying where half my current family now hail from.
Some spot Ballybary...do you ever be in my mum's cousins pub The Central? A wild spot altogether!
Shocking amount of families with servants! :o
Found my grandfather - 2 years old he was.
Quote from: Puckoon on June 08, 2010, 12:24:09 AM
I saw my great-grandfather had one listed. But with 11 people in a 2 (maybe 3 room) cottage I don't think he was the butler type of servant! 15pr old to help out on the farm, probably the room and board a big part of the deal, also saved his own family same.
Quote from: Puckoon on June 08, 2010, 12:24:09 AM
Found my great-grandfather and he had
TWO servants. Right, I'm on the money trail!! Some fecker must have diddled them put of it somewhere aong the line!!
I noticed that there was a lot of servants as well. Also lots of relatives e.g. grandnephew living in the house, I wondered if it was because it was fairly common for parents to die at a young age so relatives took them in or even neighbours in the case of them having servants.
At that time you were taking your life in your hands if you got pregnant. High blood pressure, pre-eclampsia, difficult labour, infections after, mastitis. With no penicillin or Cesarean sections it was a dangerous time.
If you banged your toe and it turned septic you were on a bit of a sticky wicket.
That is very true. My grandfather told me that he was "cured" of the measles by getting a donkey to lick him all over. He says there were mad things done to donkeys then. They used to get a recently dead body and put it on the donkey and walk the donkey round and round the house before the mourners at the wake arrived. They'd arrive and see the dead man on the donkey trotting round and round the house. He said women would faint.
He also said they used to put dead people on the coathanger behind the front door. When people arrived at the wake they'd go to put their coat up and see the body hanging there and faint. He said also if a boy was dying on his deathbed, they would wait for him to die. Then they'd put the dead man under the bed and they themselves would get into the bed and call the solicitor in and change the will, pretending to be the dead person, leaving a lot of stuff to them.
He says also that they used to block the Holy River way up stream every night at midnight. Old people thought this was a miracle and would gather at the road where the rived ran under it and wait for the river to "stop" and then say prayers for this miracle. They didn't know but my granda was blocking the river with stones and rocks way up stream. That's why it is called the Holy River. It was called The River just before that.
Jesus Olly, your whole family's mad in the head.
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 07, 2010, 11:59:25 PM
I have just found my great great grandfather James Mc Donnell from Tullycorbet, you might know him Main Street? :D.
He moved to Drumhowan after marrying where half my current family now hail from.
I was inTullycorbert once in my life. Drumhowan is an upgrade, your GGF moved up in the world.
QuoteSome spot Ballybary...!
Ballybary???
If you can spell Tully fxckin corbert, surely you can spell Ballybay?
Ballybay or Ballabay in the vernacular.
The next person who writes Ballybary will be shot.
Quotedo you ever be in my mum's cousins pub The Central? A wild spot altogether!
Whenever I am visiting the town, I try to maintain sobriety :)
QuoteWhenever I am visiting the town, I try to maintain sobriety
How do you face it sober?
Quote from: Main Street on June 08, 2010, 03:41:21 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 07, 2010, 11:59:25 PM
I have just found my great great grandfather James Mc Donnell from Tullycorbet, you might know him Main Street? :D.
I was inTullycorbert once in my life. Drumhowan is an upgrade, your GGF moved up in the world.
QuoteSome spot Ballybary...!
Ballybary???
If you can spell Tully fxckin corbert, surely you can spell Ballybay?
Ballybay or Ballabay in the vernacular.
The next person who writes Ballybary will be shot.
Quotedo you ever be in my mum's cousins pub The Central? A wild spot altogether!
Whenever I am visiting the town, I try to maintain sobriety :)
You were the one that brought it to our attention. Anyway I've heard you are about as accurate as a Mayo forward choking on a huge pressure sandwich.
Ballybary! :P
Just found my Great Great Grandmother and my Great Grand Father and numerous other relations, none of them could read or write. I'm sure they would all be baffled to know I am reading about them now over 110 years later on a type of printing press with a big glass panel and a yoke with a load of buttons on it with letters and symbols that you push and they magically appear on the window pane.
What the feck will they be reading about us in 100 years time, the mind boggles !!!
Quote from: Kerry Mike on June 08, 2010, 11:34:14 PM
Just found my Great Great Grandmother and my Great Grand Father and numerous other relations, none of them could read or write. I'm sure they would all be baffled to know I am reading about them now over 110 years later on a type of printing press with a big glass panel and a yoke with a load of buttons on it with letters and symbols that you push and they magically appear on the window pane.
What the feck will they be reading about us in 100 years time, the mind boggles !!!
They won't believe that Kerry used to play football!
T'is a great resource altogether, looks like my great-great grandfather couldnt write but was a great man with a shovel and worked as a miner (probably in Castlecomer Coal Mines, and there was me thinking that we had some tie up with the Dell family.
Just looking at the Kerry football team that won their first All-Ireland, by any chance would yer man lying on the ground in the front row be any way related to Willie Joe Padden or Colm Parkinson. I could find a few Parkinsons all right and my money is on the ones from Carhoonakineeley down the road from Tarbert. There were no Paddens allowed into Kerry at that time so given the few facts that are available one has to agree that Laois played a vital role in this All-Ireland.
(http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/exhibition/kerry/sport_cultural/small/GAA009.jpg)
What ever happened to the Railway Shield anyway?
I reckon there was a wee bit of vanity at play too. I was checking the ages and dates of birth for my ancestors and cousins in 1911 and then checked the 1901 census. Seems they didn't have the decimal system back then, but everything was by the baker's dozen, as all the ages are wrong except the very youngest children.
Found a relation who was bilingual at 17 in Irish and English in 1911. Also found a 'servant' living in my great uncle's house, who, likewise, was bilingual.
Also in the hill country of Ballinascreen/Draperstown there were still Irish-only speakers in 1911. Likewise in the more remote townlands of the Glens of Antrim.
My mother used to lament how our elderly neighbour was never sat down and recorded for the wealth of information he know about who was related to whom in the district. But she is a wealth of knowledge herself. I have managed to find out the names of my great, great grand parents on her maternal lineage. And it is now official...
I am related to half of North Derry, especially Dungiven, Ballerin and Drumsurn
Quote from: Aerlik on June 09, 2010, 12:51:14 PM
I reckon there was a wee bit of vanity at play too. I was checking the ages and dates of birth for my ancestors and cousins in 1911 and then checked the 1901 census. Seems they didn't have the decimal system back then, but everything was by the baker's dozen, as all the ages are wrong except the very youngest children.
Found a relation who was bilingual at 17 in Irish and English in 1911. Also found a 'servant' living in my great uncle's house, who, likewise, was bilingual.
Also in the hill country of Ballinascreen/Draperstown there were still Irish-only speakers in 1911. Likewise in the more remote townlands of the Glens of Antrim.
My mother used to lament how our elderly neighbour was never sat down and recorded for the wealth of information he know about who was related to whom in the district. But she is a wealth of knowledge herself. I have managed to find out the names of my great, great grand parents on her maternal lineage. And it is now official...
I am related to half of North Derry, especially Dungiven, Ballerin and Drumsurn
Likewise my gr-grandfather in 1901 claimed to be 50 but by 1911 he was 64...life
was hard in those days. Wonder if it had anything to do with the advent of the Old Age Pension in 1908??
My great grandfather was 35 in 1901 & 1911! He had a 4 year old daughter called Jane in 1901, somehow she became a 14 boy called Jame in 1911. Looks like my great great grandfather was the only Valentine Blacker in Ireland in 1901. My granny who was one in 1911 celebrated her 100th birthday last November, she's still going strong and living on her own.
QuoteMy granny who was one in 1911 celebrated her 100th birthday last November, she's still going strong and living on her own.
Unreal, I'm sure she has some stories to tell!
http://www.askaboutireland.ie/griffith-valuation/index.xml (http://www.askaboutireland.ie/griffith-valuation/index.xml)
This is very useful too. Strange the way you grow up to know somewhere and when you see it on old maps its referred to as something you never heard of. For example (the armagh lads will know this one) the bridge on the old moy road is referred to as Gearys bridge. I grew up beside it and never heard of it called that.
Quote from: maddog on July 13, 2010, 11:59:28 AM
http://www.askaboutireland.ie/griffith-valuation/index.xml (http://www.askaboutireland.ie/griffith-valuation/index.xml)
This is very useful too. Strange the way you grow up to know somewhere and when you see it on old maps its referred to as something you never heard of. For example (the armagh lads will know this one) the bridge on the old moy road is referred to as Gearys bridge. I grew up beside it and never heard of it called that.
Flip maddog. You've saved my life with that link.
Great link.
Don't have to argue with muppets all night now. :o
Quote from: Hereiam on June 02, 2010, 11:29:41 AM
The returns for 1821, 1831, 1841 and 1851 were, apart from a few survivals, notably for a few counties for 1821 and 1831, destroyed in 1922 in the fire at the Public Record Office at the beginning of the Civil War. . The first full government census of Ireland was taken in 1821 with further censuses at ten-yearly intervals from 1831 through to 1911. No census was taken in 1921, because of the War of Independence. The first census of the population of the Irish Free State was taken in 1926.
What about the census from 1861, 1871, 1881 & 1891? Are they being digitised also?
Also, anyone know any good free software for mapping out family trees?
Quote from: LeoMc on February 28, 2012, 11:09:09 AM
Quote from: Hereiam on June 02, 2010, 11:29:41 AM
What about the census from 1861, 1871, 1881 & 1891? Are they being digitised also?
Also, anyone know any good free software for mapping out family trees?
AFAIK they were destroyed also. There are documents now optimistically called
census replacements such as Griffith's Valuation and some
Tithe records that are useful.
The following sites offer family tree software:
myheritage.com (offers membership free up to a certain number of individuals on the tree. After that it is by subscription but you will have an idea by then whether it is worth the money or not. It takes a while to get used to their software and it is not easy to navigate (I have nearly 6,000 people on my tree) but the books & reports function is really fantastic and that is what you will want at the end of your work.)
ancestry.co.uk (not sure about any free aspect but it is easier to read than my heritage.com and actually has a database of many of the areas you would want to research e.g. UK & USA census, deportation records, ship manifests etc., but you pay extra for that).
http://ifhf.rootsireland.ie/search.php (no tree software but it has almost all the birth and marriage records available in Ireland. N.B. They charge €5 per record, and you can't see the record until you have paid for it, so be very careful to narrow down your search as much as possible before buying otherwise you will waste money on the wrong records.)
google.ie (people all over the world are researching their families and many post their research free online. It can save a lot of time and money if you find some of theses trees and verify them rather than looking in the dark.)
The reason that the censuses of 1901 and 1911 are so important to genealogists and historians is that as muppet and other have said, they are the first complete surviving censuses of Ireland. For some reason the 1861 and 1871 censuses were destroyed soon after completion. The 1881 and 1891 censuses were pulped by the authorities during WW1. There are differing arguments/reasons as to why this was done. There was no census in 1921 due to the War of Independence. After partition there was a census in the North in 1931 but this was pulped during WW2. It was felt that in the event of a land invasion by the Germans that this would be a valuable source of info for them. There was no census in 1941, so after 1911 the next surviving census info for the North is the 1951 census. The Public Records Office currently operates a 100 year lock on census info so this is due to be released in 2051.
The first census in the Irish Free State was in 1926. This is due for release in 2027.
RTE have a few interesting programmes from their archives. AT&T e time of broadcast the thought of watching Radharc would have been seen as torture. But now they can be very interesting.
http://www.rte.ie/archives/exhibitions/1378-radharc/355628-the-forgotten-irish/ (http://www.rte.ie/archives/exhibitions/1378-radharc/355628-the-forgotten-irish/)
Interesting site. Boston College has posted over 41,000 missing persons notice collected from the newspapers in the 1800s. Some of it is sad to read to be honest.
http://infowanted.bc.edu/results/?sort=&order=&page=17&location=Mayo (http://infowanted.bc.edu/results/?sort=&order=&page=17&location=Mayo)
For example a wife looking for her husband:
MISSING PERSON'S INFORMATION
Name: Thomas Barrett
Alias:
Description:
Other: Lft Wi & 5 Children Destitute
SEEKING PERSON'S INFORMATION
Name: Ann Barrett
Relation to Missing: Wife
Date of Advertisement: 08-01-1846
Contact Name: Boston Pilot
Contact Address: MA, Boston
POINT OF ORIGIN INFORMATION
Home County: Mayo
Parish: Crossmolina
Townland:
Barony: Tirawley
Poor-Law: Ballina
Mayos were bad eggs even back then :P
Muppet from an (un)educated guess. Do you think these people went missing - a) because they ran away from their circumstance? b) the died from suicide, murder etc?
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 10, 2015, 07:27:30 PM
Muppet from an (un)educated guess. Do you think these people went missing - a) because they ran away from their circumstance? b) the died from suicide, murder etc?
This was 1840-1880 USA. Some probably died working tough conditions (building railways, canals, in mines, in the Army etc) and no record was made available to those at home. Others may have wanted to disappear and start a new life as they saw it. Also disease and even childbirth were major killers then.
In many families someone (usually the father and/or the oldest children) went first and saved enough money to bring more over. Sometimes it took years to put together the money to get the whole family over. But if the first to go over died and had no one with them to send word home, then they just disappeared.
I was recently trying to track a couple who eloped in the late 1880s. So there were probably lots of reasons.
Quote from: muppet on June 10, 2015, 08:22:49 PM
I was recently trying to track a couple who eloped in the late 1880s.
What harm are they doing at this stage?
A friend of mine who did his family tree was telling me that about a great-granduncle or something similar who was heading to Oz.
The last they heard of him was a letter sent from somewhere around the Gulf of Oman giving out about the heat.
Never heard from ever again.
No idea what happened him.
Quote from: Hardy on June 10, 2015, 09:43:00 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 10, 2015, 08:22:49 PM
I was recently trying to track a couple who eloped in the late 1880s.
What harm are they doing at this stage?
Their mammies want them back home now!
Findmypast.ie have free access for 1 more day and Ancestry.ie for the rest of the month for some Irish records.
Found my Great grandparents marriage and so the birth record of my Great Grandmother.
There are also petty court records, and some of the family are in there too.
It isn't always easy with spelling differences and the lack of townland in the records.
A few pages from the Ballina Chronicle in 1849: http://www.irelandoldnews.com/Mayo/1849/MAY.html (http://www.irelandoldnews.com/Mayo/1849/MAY.html)
More here: http://www.irelandoldnews.com/Mayo/index.html (http://www.irelandoldnews.com/Mayo/index.html)
Quote from: muppet on March 11, 2016, 08:36:21 PM
A few pages from the Ballina Chronicle in 1849: http://www.irelandoldnews.com/Mayo/1849/MAY.html (http://www.irelandoldnews.com/Mayo/1849/MAY.html)
More here: http://www.irelandoldnews.com/Mayo/index.html (http://www.irelandoldnews.com/Mayo/index.html)
Jeepers, Muppet, that paper gets something of nature of the times. Top left, man falls dead from starvation, bottom left ad for the "CONFECTIONERY AND ITALIAN WAREHOUSE" with all manners of cake, buns, gooseberry pie and the like.
I've been poking about the sites in the previous post, and the Mormons, and have identified that my Great Grandmother was born in 1846, you have to wonder about how things were then.
Quote from: armaghniac on March 11, 2016, 09:46:04 PM
Jeepers, Muppet, that paper gets something of nature of the times. Top left, man falls dead from starvation, bottom left ad for the "CONFECTIONERY AND ITALIAN WAREHOUSE" with all manners of cake, buns, gooseberry pie and the like.
I've been poking about the sites in the previous post, and the Mormons, and have identified that my Great Grandmother was born in 1846, you have to wonder about how things were then.
1846?! You must be 100.
Quote1846?! You must be 100.
You are thinking of Orior. Maybe I missed a generation in between or she was very young when she was born.
Quote from: armaghniac on March 11, 2016, 09:46:04 PM
You sure do.
The http://www.blacksodbayemigration.ie (http://www.blacksodbayemigration.ie) site that Ludermor posted on the other thread has data on a special service that was set up to help people emigrate in 1883. They were all from West Mayo, mainly Erris, Ballycroy and Achill. There was a man shot the previous year in 1882 in Bangor. His name was Thomas Barrett and his address was Doolough. He died shortly after the shooting. The event made national headlines and was referred to as part of the 'agrarian war'. I am guessing the philanthropist who organised the emigration (I have seen it referred to as Tuke's emigration) read about the shooting and wanted to help, but I don't know. Anyway, I think I have connected my family to the man who was shot.