GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Chris agus Snoop on May 26, 2010, 10:48:44 AM

Title: Any protestants play GAA in the north?
Post by: Chris agus Snoop on May 26, 2010, 10:48:44 AM
I'm from Cork so I wouldn't know, but there seems to be a few N I posters on here so i'll ask: Is there any sort of movement from the protestant community towards taking part in GAA in the north? Or is still considered taboo? Would catholic GAA people have a problem if a protestant started training with their club?
Title: Re: Any protestants play GAA in the north?
Post by: stpauls on May 26, 2010, 10:53:59 AM
we already have one or two with our club, one of them used to play and is now manager of the U-14 squad. we also have a couple of policemen playing for us!
Post by: haranguerer on May 26, 2010, 11:13:58 AM
Just to pre-empt the Darren Graham affair (a prod lad who was given abuse about it in a championship game in an attempt to get him to react;made all the papers): he was back playing two or three weeks after said incident, and continues to do so.

Chris, no-one up here would have any problems with a prod training with them - the vast majority would go out of their way to be welcoming. Dunno where you're getting the notion that there would be a problem. You've hardly been reading the News Letter, have ye?
Post by: bingobus on May 26, 2010, 11:21:38 AM
Quote from: Chris agus Snoop on May 26, 2010, 10:48:44 AM
I'm from Cork so I wouldn't know, but there seems to be a few N I posters on here so i'll ask: Is there any sort of movement from the protestant community towards taking part in GAA in the north? Or is still considered taboo? Would catholic GAA people have a problem if a protestant started training with their club?

Depends if he was any good or not  ;)
Post by: the colonel on May 26, 2010, 11:40:14 AM
Played at University in Scotland with a good few, one even started the Rangers Supporters Club in the University. He actually turned out to become our club secretary. The Glentoran goalkeeper at the minute James Taylor also played for us in the University Championships. No bother with them or any other protestants
Post by: Chris agus Snoop on May 26, 2010, 11:48:39 AM
Thats great to know. I personally think  its brilliant that protestants are involved in playing GAA.
But you'd hear things from unionist politicians who try to politicize the GAA, I could see how that would discourage them.
Post by: Down South on May 26, 2010, 12:42:00 PM
There will be at least one protestant playing in Ballybofey on Sunday.
Post by: sammymaguire on May 26, 2010, 12:53:31 PM
bit of a side issue but some of them foreign lads could potentially make great footballers, some of them are massive, its the ball skills which would be the key
Post by: the colonel on May 26, 2010, 12:56:53 PM
We have a Polish fella playing for our junior hurlers, been scoring at least a goal per game, sometimes more. Beast of a man, he is engaged to a daughter from a strong hurling family and after watching for a few years he decided to give it a go.
Post by: haranguerer on May 26, 2010, 01:22:41 PM
Quote from: Down South on May 26, 2010, 12:42:00 PM
There will be at least one protestant playing in Ballybofey on Sunday.

Thats nothing - sure there'll be thousands of them playing in Rossnowlagh in July  :P :D
Post by: fer fox ache on May 26, 2010, 01:51:26 PM
I run the minor team in my club and we have two Protestant lads in our squad one starts at corner-back and another who's made a few substitute appearances. Not the best kick-passers you'll ever see but great hands, strong in breaking tackles and balls of steel when it comes to winning breaking ball. There's a mixed Grammar School in the town and a lot of our lads play rugby at school, come the summer we tend to get the odd fella who fancies a go at the football and comes along with his mates, most them seem to enjoy it.
Post by: Hardy on May 26, 2010, 02:13:26 PM
Quote from: Chris agus Snoop on May 26, 2010, 10:48:44 AM

When was it taboo ? ? ?

And what kind of problem would "catholic GAA people" have with "protestants" training with their club?

I didn't know there were categories of GAA people (other than the categories the GPA are trying to introduce). And certainly not categories based on religion. How would people know individual members were "protestants", anyway? I don't think anybody gets asked, so labelling somebody as "protestant" can only be an assumption.

Likewise for catholics, or any other religious grouping. If national demographics are anything to go by, a substantial proportion of GAA members are atheists.
Post by: Donegal Danny on May 26, 2010, 02:59:25 PM
And the one player playing in Ballybofey on Sunday is not from Down. A great hockey player in his youth. Still gets plenty of slagging about the Hockey
Post by: Ceart agus Cóir on May 26, 2010, 03:00:05 PM
Hardy you would be lieing if you were to be disregarding it as a taboo. We all know the history, and clearly there is strong foundational element of nationalism within the Cumann Luthchleas Gael.

But its great to see protestants play. Shows the sport is earning it's respect as a sport rather than a political symbol! I feel that over the next 20 years the GAA will transform the cluichí, with the great work underage being done across primary schools encouraging all types of race and religions to participate!
Post by: eireogatron on May 26, 2010, 03:08:03 PM
was Peter Withnell who won the AI with Down not a protestant??

We've had a few come and train with us over the last few years. Its still a taboo thing in alot of protestant households (and GAA clubs if truth be told), and I'd be surprised if we ever see a widespread growth in the number of protestants playing our games. Similarly we wont see a great deal of Catholics in the North playing hockey for example - unless this becomes part of the schools system on both sides.

On the subject of immigrants playing GAA games, in the near future we will see a massive increase in this I believe. With an ever increasing number of immigrant children going to mainstream Catholic schools all over the country, its only a matter of time before they integrate into the GAA family, which I think is a great thing. Promotion of GAA across Europe and the globe can only happen when non-Irish citizens become actively involved.
Post by: Hardy on May 26, 2010, 03:09:42 PM
Quote from: Ceart agus Cóir on May 26, 2010, 03:00:05 PM
Hardy you would be lieing if you were to be disregarding it as a taboo. We all know the history, and clearly there is strong foundational element of nationalism within the Cumann Luthchleas Gael.

There was never sectarianism. Nationalism ≠ catholicism.
Post by: thejuice on May 26, 2010, 03:16:32 PM
I might be an athiest but I'm still catholic.

Its good to know that there are a number of protestants taking up the game.

I wonder would it be worth putting a number on it and sticking it under the nose of Mr McCausland.

In regards SammyMaguires point, theres a young lad named Sam Ogungbe for Nobber who's showing a lot of promise. Could be lining out in the Green and Gold in the next 10 years or so.
Post by: eireogatron on May 26, 2010, 03:22:49 PM
Sam Ogungbe from Nobber?
Post by: Denn Forever on May 26, 2010, 04:18:56 PM
Posted this a while back.  Hopefully it will go on and on.

Well done everyone involved.

Gaelic Games Unites Communities

Enniskillen Cúchulainns were today crowned as Champions of Ulster GAA's cross community Gaelic Football Tournament which was held in the Mid Ulster Sports Arena in Cookstown.  The Enniskillen side beat off strong competition from Armagh Cúchulainns in the final.

Four teams competed in the cross-community tournament: Lurgan-Armagh, Dungannon, Magherafelt and Enniskillen.  All teams were made up of players from a mixture of schools from the controlled and maintained sectors.

Today's tournament is an extension to Ulster GAA's pioneering cross community Initiative, which brings together young people from a range of backgrounds who have little or no experience participating in Gaelic Games.

The initiative is backed by the 'Unite Against Hate' Campaign which embraces the Northern Ireland Assembly's vision for the future as:  "A peaceful, inclusive, prosperous, stable and fair society firmly founded on the achievement of reconciliation, tolerance, and mutual trust and the protection and vindication of human rights for all".

Presenting the winning side with the Cúchulainn Football Cup, Ulster GAA Provincial Secretary Danny Murphy said, "Ulster GAA is very proud of this flagship cross-community initiative – the Cúchulainn Cup.  When we first set out to develop this initiative we hoped that it would bring together young people from all sections of our community to experience and enjoy Gaelic Games and to break down barriers through sport.  That hope is now been realised with the Cúchulainn Initiative continuing to grow from strength to strength.  The tournament is also about raising awareness and respect of Gaelic Games and the Association to those from non-GAA backgrounds.

"All the lads who participated in this year's football and hurling tournament, are playing their part in building a better society, breaking down barriers and promoting good relations.  I commend all the schools and teachers involved who have made this possible, and I also pay tribute to the parents and families of the young men who are taking part, and the young men themselves.

"A hearty congratulations to the Enniskillen Cúchulainns who proved to be a strong side throughout the competition and who came away today as victors."

Teams competing in 2010 Cúchulainn Football Cup were:

■Enniskillen Cúchulainns
■Armagh-Lurgan Cúchulainns
■Dungannon Cúchulainns
■Magherafelt Cúchulainns
All teams received free coaching from Ulster GAA Coaches and County Coaches
Post by: thejuice on May 26, 2010, 05:01:29 PM
Quote from: eireogatron on May 26, 2010, 03:22:49 PM
Sam Ogungbe from Nobber?

Yes, Sam Ogungbe from Nobber.
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on May 26, 2010, 05:03:45 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 26, 2010, 05:01:29 PM
Sam Ogungbe from Nobber?

One of the Nobber Ogungbes, then ???
Post by: eireogatron on May 26, 2010, 05:06:53 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 26, 2010, 05:01:29 PM
Sam Ogungbe from Nobber?

that has to be the best name / club combo in the history of the GAA. Nobber has a new fan.
Post by: thejuice on May 26, 2010, 05:07:34 PM
Well he might actually be from Kilmainham Wood, but sure its his choice if he wants to play for Nobber.
Post by: dec on May 26, 2010, 05:53:05 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 26, 2010, 02:13:26 PMHow would people know individual members were "protestants", anyway? I don't think anybody gets asked, so labelling somebody as "protestant" can only be an assumption.
Knowing whether someone is a prod or a taig is the national sport of the six counties.
Post by: dec on May 26, 2010, 05:59:29 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 26, 2010, 03:09:42 PM
Quote from: Ceart agus Cóir on May 26, 2010, 03:00:05 PM

There was never sectarianism. Nationalism ≠ catholicism.

Not overtly, but there is sometimes the assumption that everyone involved with a club is Catholic, for example whenever club celebrations or a pitch opening include a celebration of mass.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on May 26, 2010, 06:11:03 PM
People being so pass remarkable about what religion someone is will hardly encourage sporting ecumenism.
Post by: 5 Sams on May 26, 2010, 09:10:37 PM
There's plenty of lads who won AI medals and they werent catholics...in Kerry and Meath especially ...but at the end of the day who gives a flying f**k what they are...in Down we'll take muslims, hindus...whatever...as long as there's a full back among them ::)
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on May 26, 2010, 10:53:06 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 26, 2010, 05:07:34 PM
Well he might actually be from Kilmainham Wood, but sure its his choice if he wants to play for Nobber.
:D :D :D :D
Quote from: thejuice on May 26, 2010, 03:16:32 PM

Its good to know that there are a number of protestants taking up the game.

I wonder would it be worth putting a number on it and sticking it under the nose of Mr McCausland.

In regards SammyMaguires point, theres a young lad named Sam Ogungbe for Nobber who's showing a lot of promise. Could be lining out in the Green and Gold in the next 10 years or so.
An athiest catholic?
Post by: Ulick on May 26, 2010, 11:22:53 PM
Hardy is correct, you are asking the wrong question. There are lots of Protestants playing GAA in the north but what would be more pertinent would  be to know the amount of unionists that play. I'd suspect very low.
Post by: trileacman on May 26, 2010, 11:38:59 PM
How does that work?
Post by: topo d rite on May 26, 2010, 11:54:21 PM
Ogungbe from Nobber!!! Jeez isn't Nobber a fierce strange name!!!! ;)

Looking forward to the gene pool of the GAA being enriched with all races and creeds, can only be a good thing!! Think about it, a russian gymnast in goal, a couple of maoris in the spine of the the team, 2 tall poles in midfield, an Ethiopian in the Dooher role, and a Kerry forward line!!!! Oops, we'll just have to find a way to get the Kery folk to scatter the seed around a bit more!!
Post by: rosnarun on May 27, 2010, 12:34:48 AM
Quote from: topo d rite on May 26, 2010, 11:54:21 PM

Looking forward to the gene pool of the GAA being enriched with all races and creeds, can only be a good thing!! Think about it, a russian gymnast in goal, a couple of maoris in the spine of the the team, 2 tall poles in midfield, an Ethiopian in the Dooher role, and a Kerry forward line!!!! Oops, we'll just have to find a way to get the Kery folk to scatter the seed around a bit more!!
what a racist post MODS MODS
Post by: ballinaman on May 27, 2010, 12:41:12 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 27, 2010, 12:34:48 AM

"2 tall poles in the midfield" is a decent pun it's got to be said...
Post by: stephenite on May 27, 2010, 12:56:06 AM
Quote from: trileacman on May 26, 2010, 11:38:59 PM
How does that work?

+1, I'm exicted to learn about this new philosophy. I can feel my life chaning already - doors opening that were hitherto shut in my atheist face.... 'I don't believe, but I do'
Post by: PatDaly on May 27, 2010, 03:48:08 AM
Quote from: stephenite on May 27, 2010, 12:56:06 AM
How does that work?

+1, I'm exicted to learn about this new philosophy. I can feel my life chaning already - doors opening that were hitherto shut in my atheist face.... 'I don't believe, but I do'

Is this the clarification that you're looking for?

Dara Ó Briain has said he sees himself as an atheist, but "ethnically Catholic": "I'm staunchly atheist, I simply don't believe in God. But I'm still Catholic, of course.[16] Catholicism has a much broader reach than just the religion. I'm technically Catholic, it's the box you have to tick on the census form: 'Don't believe in God, but I do still hate Rangers.'"[17]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dara_%C3%93_Briain
Post by: stephenite on May 27, 2010, 04:07:54 AM
Quote from: PatDaly on May 27, 2010, 03:48:08 AM
Quote from: stephenite on May 27, 2010, 12:56:06 AM
How does that work?

Is this the clarification that you're looking for?

Dara Ó Briain has said he sees himself as an atheist, but "ethnically Catholic": "I'm staunchly atheist, I simply don't believe in God. But I'm still Catholic, of course.[16] Catholicism has a much broader reach than just the religion. I'm technically Catholic, it's the box you have to tick on the census form: 'Don't believe in God, but I do still hate Rangers.'"[17]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dara_%C3%93_Briain

Dara O'Briain wasn't exactly what I had in mind.

I disagree with the point thought, even if it is made in jest. I was born into a religion and raised in that religion until I became a young adult and made the decision to stop. Once I stopped, I don't believe that I can still be called that which I no longer practice.
I no longer believe in God - I no longer receive the sacraments - how can I still be a catholic?

Ethically Catholic is a complete nonsense - how does that differ from the ethical protestants I wonder? And if you don't believe in God and still hate Rangers you're more likely to be an idiot than have any valid opinions on the subject.
Post by: thejuice on May 27, 2010, 09:15:57 AM
How does that work?

It works very well I'll have you know.
Post by: eireogatron on May 27, 2010, 09:42:23 AM
i think the more important question on the atheism / catholicism debate is.

Who gives a ducks trump?
Post by: talktothehand on May 27, 2010, 12:35:34 PM
we used to have quite a few protestants on our underage teams when i was u16/minor. we had a Uel, a Roy and a Duncan on our team. when my dad was flaunting the ban in the 1970s his rugby mates played gaelic under assumed names. he did the reverse in rugby season.
Post by: cornafean on May 27, 2010, 01:05:27 PM

I can't find anything remotely racist about it. Its a fact of life that certain nationalities are well known for their abilities in various areas of sport.
Post by: sammymaguire on May 27, 2010, 01:17:59 PM
them Ethopians couldn't kick snow of a rope!!  :D
Post by: Rav67 on May 27, 2010, 01:20:14 PM
Friends with a Protestant girl who's very into GAA and has played camogie in the north and down south for a while when she was living there.  She had some close relations in the RUC but definitely regards herself as a nationalist.  Said she felt a fair bit of hostility initially from quite a few on the team but won most of them over after playing for a year or 2.  When she played south of the border there was never any hostility, a bit of banter but it was all very good-natured.
Post by: armaghniac on May 27, 2010, 01:22:51 PM
Some of the people here would give you a hard time if you voted SDLP.
Post by: Mickeys beard on May 27, 2010, 04:39:32 PM
       As I see it, the North and the rest of the island aren't a million miles apart when you talk about protestant participation in GAA. I live in Limerick and Many of my Protestant friends there weren't exactly encouraged to play GAA at school.  Hockey, rugby and soccer were definitely the top sports in these schools along with athletics.  A very good friend of mine went to Croke Parkfor the first time last year, only because his girll is from Kilkenny. He is 25.  He, and my other Protestant friends have not a notion of the rules of the GAA.  It is alien to them.  Have they been shielded from it as children?  In fact, I believe that Catholics and Protestants in the North have much more in common than their southern counterparts. 
      So, I would wonder if the original question was asked for the whole island would there be much of a difference? Some people allude to some egalitarian utopian state south of the border that just doesn't exist.  Mistrust between different communities stretches back a long time and unfortunately sets up unspoken rules that can take centuries to unravel.  The political threat in the North is now gone, but I can't see how it will make a huge difference unless schools promote the sport on an equal par with others.  A bit like hurling in Tyrone!   
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 27, 2010, 06:16:59 PM
Quote from: stephenite on May 27, 2010, 04:07:54 AM
Ethically Catholic is a complete nonsense...

EthNically, not ethically. Big difference, but maybe still bollix to you  ;)
Post by: Lawrence of Knockbride on May 27, 2010, 10:04:32 PM
Quote from: cornafean on May 27, 2010, 01:05:27 PM

I can't find anything remotely racist about it. Its a fact of life that certain nationalities are well known for their abilities in various areas of sport.
+1. Cornafean, are you from Cornafean?
Post by: topo d rite on May 27, 2010, 11:30:51 PM
No intention of being racist, I meant it when I said that it will be great to have the GAA gene pool enriched!! My aoplogies if I offended anyone from Nobber!!!!
Quote from: Lawrence of Knockbride on May 27, 2010, 10:04:32 PM

Absolutely no racist intent, but aoplogies to anyone from Nobber who might be offended  ???
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 27, 2010, 11:56:30 PM
topo d rite, take no notice, rosnarun isn't exactly without form where totally misconstruing reality's concerned  ;)
Post by: topo d rite on May 28, 2010, 08:32:22 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 27, 2010, 11:56:30 PM
topo d rite, take no notice, rosnarun isn't exactly without form where totally misconstruing reality's concerned  ;)
Ta for that FOSB, I'm new to this site and didn't want to get off to a bad start by offending people. I was taken aback when ros was screaming for 'MODS MODS' when he read the post. I'm glad that most readers of the post were able to detect the use of irony. Here's some more...., I also apologise to anyone from Ethiopia who might have been offended by being compared with Brian Dooher!  ;)
Post by: magpie seanie on May 28, 2010, 12:20:39 PM
I assumed rosnarun was joking when he said it was a racist post. Surely?
Post by: cornafean on May 28, 2010, 01:04:00 PM
Quote from: Lawrence of Knockbride on May 27, 2010, 10:04:32 PM

From there originally, yes. Up the Reds!
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 28, 2010, 02:20:32 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 28, 2010, 12:20:39 PM
I assumed rosnarun was joking when he said it was a racist post. Surely?
Let it never be said, seanie, that we don't agree at times. ;D
Ros was only testing to see if anyone here was still awake.
Really, anyone who took his post seriously should wind down a bit.
He can be as unpredictable as a baby's bum but I can never recall a time when he was gratuitously insulting or dismissive of anybody or anything. 
Post by: CompulsoryTillager on May 28, 2010, 10:46:31 PM
Edward Carson (UUP leader) played hurling when he was at Trinity
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on May 29, 2010, 07:41:04 PM
Any protestants play GAA in the north?...we get Top of the Pops up here as well now, but unfortunately Slade are still No 1
Post by: slow corner back on May 29, 2010, 09:26:32 PM
We had a team manager a few years back who was a protestant, he was on our committee for years. We had a few over the years train over the summer and hurl with our junior teams. Mainly connected to the local rugby team which we would have close ties with.
Post by: ardal on May 30, 2010, 02:24:09 PM
As a non church goer, I'm proud to say trhat I've no idea what pagan god most of the lads worship; if at all. We play gaa not god
Post by: Down South on May 30, 2010, 02:28:58 PM
Quote from: ardal on May 30, 2010, 02:24:09 PM
As a non church goer, I'm proud to say trhat I've no idea what pagan god most of the lads worship; if at all. We play gaa not god

I had the misfortune of going to mass this morning. I`d much rather be in Ballybofey, but thems the breaks. They prayed for the victims of clerical abuse, while allowing the perpetrators of that abuse to remain within the church.