Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Tony Baloney on April 22, 2010, 11:25:42 PM

Poll
Question: What's your favourite fruit?
Option 1: Red apple votes: 4
Option 2: Green apple votes: 2
Option 3: Banana votes: 10
Option 4: Pear votes: 4
Option 5: Orange (inc. Satsuma, Mandarin, Clementine etc) votes: 4
Option 6: Peach votes: 0
Option 7: Plum votes: 2
Option 8: Strawberry votes: 7
Option 9: Raspberry votes: 0
Option 10: Kiwi votes: 2
Option 11: Pineapple votes: 10
Option 12: Grapes votes: 6
Option 13: Melon (Any kind) votes: 3
Title: Fruit
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 22, 2010, 11:25:42 PM
Had a lovely juicy pear there. Not a fan of the green apple.
Title: Re: Fruit
Post by: Rois on April 22, 2010, 11:31:19 PM
Ach 'mon Tony, none of my top 3 in there.
Pineapple
Melon (any kind)
Grapes
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 22, 2010, 11:36:01 PM
what about those apples that are green and red - I like them

My top ones though are strawberries (even if I get a sore mouth from them sometimes) and grapes.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 22, 2010, 11:38:18 PM
Fixed. But you can only pick one. Not a fan of the green grape myself but eat the black/red grapes in my porridge every morning.
Post by: ross4life on April 22, 2010, 11:38:46 PM
Red melons are just water i like the green ones

Movin' to the country I'm gonna eat a lot of peaches ;)
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 22, 2010, 11:42:28 PM
Quote from: ross4life on April 22, 2010, 11:38:46 PM
Red melons are just water i like the green ones

Movin' to the country I'm gonna eat a lot of peaches ;)
The red fleshed melon that are just water would be the watermelon :) Can be lovely too if there aren't many pips in them.
Post by: Rois on April 22, 2010, 11:43:40 PM
We get a nice fresh fruit basket in work each morning (though type has gotten a lost less exotic with cutbacks) and we're currently getting those red and green ones, is it Braeburn ones you mean pog?
Post by: stephenite on April 22, 2010, 11:44:15 PM
No Mandarins
Post by: pintsofguinness on April 22, 2010, 11:46:34 PM
Quote from: Rois on April 22, 2010, 11:43:40 PM
We get a nice fresh fruit basket in work each morning (though type has gotten a lost less exotic with cutbacks) and we're currently getting those red and green ones, is it Braeburn ones you mean pog?
Don't know what you call them just that they're red and green.

It's awful hard to get nice fruit though - you should be allowed to sample!
I haven't had a nice orange in years!
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 22, 2010, 11:47:49 PM
Quote from: Rois on April 22, 2010, 11:43:40 PM
Aye I think he does. Prefer a Cox* myself.

* Leave it Hardstation....
Post by: ziggysego on April 22, 2010, 11:50:48 PM
I like apples, but they give me the shits. So I can only eat them once in a blue moon. I like green ones best.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 22, 2010, 11:52:02 PM
Fruits I have picked, pruned, weeded, packed, grafted, planted, irrigated, wire lifted, thinned, or humped (bananas) are

Oranges (Valencia & Navel)
Mangoes (Kennsington Prides, Nam Doc Mai & R2E2)
Grapes (Table & Wine)
Tomatoes (Several types)
Apples (Several types)
Plums
Bananas
Lemons
Limes
grapefruit

Post by: spuds on April 22, 2010, 11:54:56 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 22, 2010, 11:52:02 PM
Fruits I have picked, pruned, weeded, packed, grafted, planted, irrigated or humped (bananas) are

Grapes (Table & Wine)
Tomatoes (Several types)
Apples (Several types)
Plums
Bananas
Lemons
Limes
grapefruit
read the feckin question ya turnip
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 22, 2010, 11:56:15 PM
Quote from: spuds on April 22, 2010, 11:54:56 PM
Fruits I have picked, pruned, weeded, packed, grafted, planted, irrigated or humped (bananas) are

Grapes (Table & Wine)
Tomatoes (Several types)
Apples (Several types)
Plums
Bananas
Lemons
Limes
grapefruit

Never had anything to do with turnips other than eat them, the question left out loads of fruits, and no option for other, ya fruitcake.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 22, 2010, 11:59:14 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 22, 2010, 11:56:15 PM

Grapes (Table & Wine)
Tomatoes (Several types)
Apples (Several types)
Plums
Bananas
Lemons
Limes
grapefruit

Never had anything to do with turnips other than eat them, the question left out loads of fruits, and no option for other, ya fruitcake.
Rois got extra added cos she a lady. There are loads left off. An "other" selection is non-specific. Get over it and pick your favourite from the list.
Post by: Puckoon on April 23, 2010, 12:02:01 AM
Pineapple by a country mile - although Id be fond of a good mango also.

In terms of the generic fruit Id have to go for a banana.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 23, 2010, 12:02:33 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 22, 2010, 11:59:14 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 22, 2010, 11:56:15 PM

Grapes (Table & Wine)
Tomatoes (Several types)
Apples (Several types)
Plums
Bananas
Lemons
Limes
grapefruit

Rois got extra added cos she a lady. There are loads left off. An "other" selection is non-specific. Get over it and pick your favourite from the list.

After spenging so much time with fruit I can hardly treat the subject so flippantly.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 23, 2010, 12:05:10 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 23, 2010, 12:02:01 AM

Mangoes are bastards, they spit a posion at ya when you pick them. By the time the consumer eats them the sap is no longer present, but if you eat too many of them too often you may suffer some of the same affects as the pickers. Mangoes cause rashes, swelling, sickness, shock and even death among pickers, I witnessed all but the last one. O the joys of backpacking  ::)
Post by: Puckoon on April 23, 2010, 12:05:35 AM
Hope this thread doesnt spoil.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 23, 2010, 12:07:38 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 23, 2010, 12:05:35 AM
Hope this thread doesnt spoil.

All it takes is one bad apple.
Post by: Puckoon on April 23, 2010, 12:09:08 AM
You're bananas.
Post by: Bogball XV on April 23, 2010, 12:37:52 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 22, 2010, 11:46:34 PM

never a truer word said pog, so much fruit looks the part, then tastes like shite, I especially refer to oranges where it particularly hard to tell what it will taste like and there are so many different tastes from them.  In saying that, I occasionally chance on a nice bag and then run off and buy a second bag asap.
Post by: gawa316 on April 23, 2010, 12:39:05 AM

Have to agree with this, although they are a bitch to get into, so not great for convenience
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 23, 2010, 12:45:10 AM
Quote from: hardstation on April 23, 2010, 12:44:00 AM
Who here likes grapefruit? Jesus Christ, it's fcukin stinking.

And its a thorny bastard of a tree which rips you to bloody shreds. The evil bastards.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 23, 2010, 12:45:35 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on April 23, 2010, 12:37:52 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 22, 2010, 11:46:34 PM

never a truer word said pog, so much fruit looks the part, then tastes like shite, I especially refer to oranges where it particularly hard to tell what it will taste like and there are so many different tastes from them.  In saying that, I occasionally chance on a nice bag and then run off and buy a second bag asap.

Nothing like an Orange straight off the tree as you work in the upper 30'c's never tasted a sweeter orange in my life.

Post by: spuds on April 23, 2010, 12:53:41 AM
walnuts give us your story
god help us
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 23, 2010, 12:59:40 AM
Quote from: spuds on April 23, 2010, 12:53:41 AM
walnuts give us your story
god help us

Never picked them but saw a video of 2 friends of mine picking them (think it was Walnuts), they laid out a net, then bate the shite out of the tree and hey presto, tree picked. One of them also got a shotgun and part of the job was to run around shooting birds.
Post by: lurganblue on April 23, 2010, 01:13:20 AM
Apples, and of them granny smyths are my favourite.

Can eat most fruit except pears and grapefruit. By f**k grapefruit I stinkin.

Kiwi is nice too
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 23, 2010, 01:31:25 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on April 23, 2010, 01:13:20 AM
Apples, and of them granny smyths are my favourite.

Can eat most fruit except pears and grapefruit. By f**k grapefruit I stinkin.

Kiwi is nice too

Ya grapefruit is rank. Used get angry if I was on the grapefruit, coz I always forgot my lunch and could get by on oranges (fckn ran like a bastard on the bog at night) but if I was on the grapefruit I would rather go hungry all day.
Post by: cokers on April 23, 2010, 02:09:26 AM
A real good naval orange is hard to whack but often hard to come by.

Fresh strawberries in a bowl af ice cream cant be beat either
Post by: Never beat the deeler on April 23, 2010, 04:43:06 AM

Are you me??
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 23, 2010, 09:30:05 AM
Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit, wisdom is knowing not to put it in a fruit salad!
Post by: illdecide on April 23, 2010, 09:46:02 AM
I love fruit, everyday in my lunch box i have an apple (red or green), pear, red grapes, banana, small orange, kiwi fruit and a yogurt to round it all off. I know it's not fruit but 3l of water every day too and you'll never have any trouble with bowel movements ;)
Post by: JohnDenver on April 23, 2010, 09:52:25 AM
Anybody eat a Kiwi like an apple, skin and all?  Or is it a poofin match with spoons and scooping out the middle?
Post by: Overthebar! on April 23, 2010, 09:53:38 AM
i tried the kiwi skin there recently, doesn't feel right to me.
any of yous ever try the pineberry?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/food/article-1262312/Pineapple-strawberries-sale-Pineberries-cream-new-summer-treat.html
Post by: omagh_gael on April 23, 2010, 09:54:25 AM
Quote from: illdecide on April 23, 2010, 09:46:02 AM
I love fruit, everyday in my lunch box i have an apple (red or green), pear, red grapes, banana, small orange, kiwi fruit and a yogurt to round it all off. I know it's not fruit but 3l of water every day too and you'll never have any trouble with bowel movements ;)

You will surely! You won't be fit to lift your arse of the bowl all day!  :D
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 23, 2010, 09:57:23 AM
Love a nice Gala Apple myself, banana on toast is also a favourite in the mornings.
Post by: Olly on April 23, 2010, 10:06:11 AM
This is a distasteful thread and lends itself to dark thoughts.
Post by: Aerlik on April 23, 2010, 10:15:06 AM
Northern Australia is awesome...walk down the streets of Broome and pick mangoes off the trees.  Never get fed up with mangoes.  Bananas are my favourite, though.

Other favourites are an east Asian fruit with a white flesh (can't remember the name) and persimmons. 
Post by: Hardy on April 23, 2010, 11:57:41 AM
I didn't fight my way to the top of the food chain to eat fruit.

Puck - are you Olly?

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 23, 2010, 12:59:40 AMNever picked them but saw a video of 2 friends of mine picking them (think it was Walnuts), they laid out a net, then bate the shite out of the tree and hey presto, tree picked. One of them also got a shotgun and part of the job was to run around shooting birds.
Mayogodhelpus - are you Olly?
Post by: maggie on April 23, 2010, 12:23:22 PM
Have a banana every day.
Fond of the pink lady apples.
Hate melon-its a nothing fruit.
Post by: omagh_gael on April 23, 2010, 12:36:42 PM
Quote from: maggie on April 23, 2010, 12:23:22 PM
Have a banana every day.
Fond of the pink lady apples.
Hate melon-its a nothing fruit.

Fair play to ye  ;)
Post by: Billys Boots on April 23, 2010, 12:53:55 PM
Don't mind them Puck, I like like Mangos too.  And feck off Hardy!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 23, 2010, 01:49:32 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on April 23, 2010, 10:15:06 AM
Northern Australia is awesome...walk down the streets of Broome and pick mangoes off the trees.  Never get fed up with mangoes.  Bananas are my favourite, though.

Other favourites are an east Asian fruit with a white flesh (can't remember the name) and persimmons.

Not starfruit is it?
Post by: Overthebar! on April 23, 2010, 01:53:35 PM
interesting article:

http://www.gaelicstar.com/gaa-fitness-and-nutrition-advice/fruit-do-we-know-enough/
Post by: Canalman on April 23, 2010, 03:59:15 PM
For about 3 weeks of the year in June/July the plums sold in Ireland are absolutely lovely........... red throughout. Go through punnets of them during that time.
Post by: The Iceman on April 23, 2010, 03:59:44 PM
On a dried fruit kick at the moment.  Mangoes, pineapple and pink grapefruit - perfect for a snack during the day with some walnuts or almonds.
Post by: Puckoon on April 23, 2010, 04:21:03 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 23, 2010, 11:57:41 AM
I didn't fight my way to the top of the food chain

Fixed that for you Hardy.
Post by: Puckoon on April 23, 2010, 04:21:25 PM
Fresh grapefruit is hard to beat for breakfast.
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 23, 2010, 04:42:45 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 23, 2010, 04:21:25 PM
Fresh grapefruit is hard to beat for breakfast.
You've changed man!
Post by: Puckoon on April 23, 2010, 04:47:07 PM
Wha?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 23, 2010, 04:49:56 PM
A Kiwi is hard to bate...I eat skin and all
Post by: Puckoon on April 23, 2010, 04:50:54 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 23, 2010, 04:49:56 PM
A Kiwi is hard to bate...I eat skin and all

I think supersarsfields had a run in with a kiwi from a great height oh about 18 years ago now.
Post by: mountainboii on April 23, 2010, 06:34:19 PM
Quote from: Overthebar! on April 23, 2010, 01:53:35 PM
interesting article:

http://www.gaelicstar.com/gaa-fitness-and-nutrition-advice/fruit-do-we-know-enough/

Quotethis article is complete nonsense

is pretty much the only accurate thing in that piece.
Post by: Aerlik on April 24, 2010, 08:38:06 AM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 23, 2010, 01:49:32 PM
Not starfruit is it?
Might be.  Thanks.

Also, I forgot to mention that there is a wee independent brewery in Broome called Matso's, (inconveniently located around the corner from my digs back then) which brews Mango beer.  Fcukin lush.  Serious gear, and it is now available in Perth I've heard.  Oh Christ.....