Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Never beat the deeler on March 25, 2010, 10:10:33 PM

Title: AFL 2010
Post by: Never beat the deeler on March 25, 2010, 10:10:33 PM
The new season got out of the blocks last night (Thurs) with Carlton Blues soundly beating Richmond Tigers at the MCG.

Blues, who have sold their troublesome but prolific frontman Brendan Fevola, were also without skipper Chris Judd.

However, they spread around the goal scoring duties, with 9 different scorers and Setanta O Hailpin among those who top-scored with three goals.

Carlton have persevered with Setanta, who has played all over the field for them, but late last season it was as a target man he most impressed, and it looks like he will play a large part for them this season.

More here: http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/91077/default.aspx (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/91077/default.aspx)
Title: Re: AFL 2010
Post by: Carmen Stateside on March 26, 2010, 09:14:17 AM
Geelong vs Essendon
http://www.justin.tv/judd120b#r=cGhzNJ0~ (http://www.justin.tv/judd120b#r=cGhzNJ0~)
Post by: Canalman on March 26, 2010, 09:20:30 AM
Best of luck to my old pals Collingwood......... the "Irish" team in Melbourne (not a coincidence that they are also the best supported).
Post by: Aerlik on March 26, 2010, 09:27:50 AM
Quote from: Canalman on March 26, 2010, 09:20:30 AM
the "Irish" team in Melbourne (not a coincidence that they are also the best supported).

Where did you get that from?

Perhaps you might ask them to support their team outside the MCG.  Some think they need passports to go to away games.

Richmond are going to have a very painful season.  The drugcheat is still with them, but he is under suspicion concerning the death of West Coast great, Chris Mainwaring.  He was the last person to see Mainy, and noticed a plate of cocaine in his room, before he left.    yeah right....
Post by: Canalman on March 26, 2010, 10:42:26 AM
Common knowledge in Melbourne that the Magpies were the traditional Irish/Catholic team in the Melbourne area. With the passage of time I suppose this has mellowed.

Lived in Melbourne for a while and was told this by a number of people. A team loved/loathed by many so I can understand why some Irish in Oz don't like this   "Irish " connection especially if they loathe them.
Post by: stephenite on March 28, 2010, 11:43:07 AM
Nicholas Murphy must have paid one of the St. Kildas lads to exact revenge on his behalf - Kennelly got flattened from behing and had to be helped from the pitch with concussion

Not a bad performance from the Swans considering some of the big names they've lost. Once they start to gel they should be in contention for a finals berth
Post by: JimStynes on March 28, 2010, 12:31:44 PM
Big win for the pies over early premiership favourites western bulldogs. Marty Clarke is bound to look at these games and say what the f**k did i come home for.  Aerlik will be a happy man if Freo can hang on here against the Crows.
Post by: Aerlik on March 28, 2010, 03:48:07 PM
Hi there Jim, I'm not long in from the game and what a turn around in a few short months.  We won by 56 points and had some excellent performances all around the place, most notably from Barlow who broke the AFL record (since 1994 that is) for most possessions by a debutant.
Chris Mayne was powerful, despite his woeful kicking in the first quarter and Stephen Hill has got some engine.  Sandilands was on the ground for 95 of the first 97 minutes, took a break and was back in the thick of it.

Second on the ladder.  Long may it last. ;D
Post by: stiffler on March 28, 2010, 03:51:00 PM
Anyone know what AFL Coverage there is on tv over here?
Post by: Club Rossa on March 28, 2010, 08:02:39 PM
Easy win for Hawthorn,hammered Melbourne by 56 points.
Post by: Johnnie99 on March 29, 2010, 01:54:16 PM
Quote from: stiffler on March 28, 2010, 03:51:00 PM
Anyone know what AFL Coverage there is on tv over here?

From espn,

Live Australian Football League (AFL)
Live and exclusive coverage of up to 3 matches a week plus highlights from the AFL including the 4-week finals series culminating with the Grand Final. The AFL is one of Australia's most popular sports and its competition is the second most attended sporting competition in the world.
Post by: Aerlik on March 29, 2010, 04:04:39 PM
Quote from: Johnnie99 on March 29, 2010, 01:54:16 PM
The AFL is one of Australia's most popular sports and its competition is the second most attended sporting competition in the world.

In terms of participation, I'd say swimming would be more popular if one were to ask what sports an Aussie participated in, however, footy is light years ahead of the NRL and Super 14, and galaxies ahead of soccer.

I wonder if the last comment about refers to the AFL Grand Final?
Post by: mick999 on March 29, 2010, 04:19:33 PM
Quote from: stephenite on March 28, 2010, 11:43:07 AM
Nicholas Murphy must have paid one of the St. Kildas lads to exact revenge on his behalf - Kennelly got flattened from behing and had to be helped from the pitch with concussion

More on Kennelly here :

http://www.irishecho.com.au/2010/03/29/kennelly-felled-by-sickening-blows-in-swans-defeat/2671 (http://www.irishecho.com.au/2010/03/29/kennelly-felled-by-sickening-blows-in-swans-defeat/2671)

Any video of it anywhere ??
Post by: stephenite on March 30, 2010, 12:13:10 AM
Quote from: mick999 on March 29, 2010, 04:19:33 PM
Quote from: stephenite on March 28, 2010, 11:43:07 AM

More on Kennelly here :

http://www.irishecho.com.au/2010/03/29/kennelly-felled-by-sickening-blows-in-swans-defeat/2671 (http://www.irishecho.com.au/2010/03/29/kennelly-felled-by-sickening-blows-in-swans-defeat/2671)

Any video of it anywhere ??

Had a look for it but couldn't find it
Post by: JimStynes on April 02, 2010, 02:32:26 PM
See big Setanta kicked 4 goals today although Carlton still got beat by the Lions. Setanta looks like hes starting to get the hang of this Aussie Rules craic.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 02, 2010, 04:12:09 PM
C'mon the Hawthorns.

I see Pierce Hanley didn't get a game for the Lions V Western Eagles, Lions could be dangerous this year with Brendan Fevola. Barry Hall with Western Bulldogs now, tough cookie.
Post by: JimStynes on April 02, 2010, 11:50:33 PM
Hanley apparently had a stormer for the Lions 2nd team. Tommy Walsh came off injured in his first match but done rightly in the 1st quarter. Its harder for the Gaelic fellas to get used to the physical side of the game than the oval ball.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 03, 2010, 12:29:38 AM
(http://memorabiliamagic.com.au/images/hawksPicture3.jpg)
Post by: Aerlik on April 03, 2010, 06:26:02 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on April 02, 2010, 02:32:26 PM
See big Setanta kicked 4 goals today although Carlton still got beat by the Lions. Setanta looks like hes starting to get the hang of this Aussie Rules craic.

He's taken his time :P
There have been several articles re. the Fevola transfer to the Lions.  No longer is he top dog (or as he saw himself to be at the Blues) so there seems to be a belief that with Judd still to come into the team, there is great potential for a top 4 finish this year, although the faithful would be happy with a finals finish I reckon.  With Brown kicking another bagful including one gem from the boundary on the '50'm Fevola will be realising his is not as indominatable as he liked to think he was.    I didn't see the game on Thursday, but by all accounts it was pretty entertaining stuff.

With Fevola gone, it will free up the blues forwards a bit more as everything was always aimed at Fev.  Put a half decent man-marker on Fev and you had just taken out half the team's scores.
Post by: Aerlik on April 03, 2010, 11:23:30 AM
Collingwood scrape home by the bare minimum against Melbourne.  there'd have been some celebrations in the rest of the continent had that one gone Melbourne's way. :-\
Post by: Aerlik on April 03, 2010, 09:39:10 PM
St.Kilda throttle North Melbourne byn 104pts. and Port Adelaide beat West coast by 3 in Perth.

some of us are smiling.
Post by: down6061689194 on April 03, 2010, 10:37:01 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-WJWFijLRTw

Tadgh Gets wiped out near the end.

Post by: Aerlik on April 04, 2010, 08:29:22 AM
Fremantle hammers Essendon in Melbourne...

Some of us are DEFINITELY smiling this afternoon.

It probably won't last long as we have Geelong in Perth next Sunday.  Tarrant and Ibbotson are both doubtful after ankle and shoulder injuries respectively.

Sydney had a great win in Adelaide today.  Tomorrow, Hawthorn and Geelong play.  Could be a cracker of a game but I think the cats will be too strong.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 04, 2010, 06:35:20 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on April 04, 2010, 08:29:22 AM
Fremantle hammers Essendon in Melbourne...

Some of us are DEFINITELY smiling this afternoon.

It probably won't last long as we have Geelong in Perth next Sunday.  Tarrant and Ibbotson are both doubtful after ankle and shoulder injuries respectively.

Sydney had a great win in Adelaide today.  Tomorrow, Hawthorn and Geelong play.  Could be a cracker of a game but I think the cats will be too strong.

Hawks V Cats, should be a cracker alright, is it in the G or on Taz, I'm guessing in Melb as would be a real crowd puller.
Post by: Aerlik on April 05, 2010, 02:32:30 AM
MCG, starting in 2 hours and Buddy's back!
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 05, 2010, 02:41:05 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on April 05, 2010, 02:32:30 AM
MCG, starting in 2 hours and Buddy's back!

You in Australia Aerlik, can you post some scores later, thanks.

(http://www.abc.net.au/reslib/200806/r258651_1072809.jpg)
(http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/images/uploadedfiles/editorial/pictures/2008/04/20/buddy1_(350_x_486).jpg)
Post by: stephenite on April 05, 2010, 06:03:35 AM
Hawks by 19 points half way through second quarter
Post by: Miley Cyrus on April 05, 2010, 07:22:14 AM
does anyone know If Tommy Walsh playing for sandringham?? Up the sainters!!!!
Post by: stephenite on April 05, 2010, 08:13:30 AM
Geelong win by 9
Post by: Aerlik on April 08, 2010, 03:47:00 PM
Setanta won the Gary Coleman medal on the footy show tonight for his game-opening goal celebrations last week.  Quite funny to watch Setanta when he scores. 

Great to see that p***k Cousins playing out his drug-cheating career at the shittiest club in the competition.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on April 09, 2010, 12:29:05 AM
Poor old Demons, just watched the highlights of the Melbourne V Collingwood.

Ya Ben Cousins is a right twat, watcing Richmond V Western Bulldogs now.
Post by: JimStynes on April 09, 2010, 12:41:17 AM
Cousins was and still is a great player. One of the best midfielders of his generation, dont listen to Aerlik hes just a jealous Freo supporter. Ive been impressed with Barlow from  Freo so far this season, highest possession winner in his 1st two games of AFL football. The Freo recruitment department done some job getting him.
Post by: JimStynes on April 09, 2010, 12:44:56 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bADbFOWx8J8
Good highlights video from 2000-2009
Post by: Aerlik on April 09, 2010, 04:25:34 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on April 09, 2010, 12:41:17 AM
Cousins was and still is a great player. ::) One of the best midfielders of his generation, dont listen to Aerlik hes just a jealous Freo supporter.

He was made to look 'great' by the grafters in the team, i.e. Judd and Kerr.  He would never go to ground for a contested ball and ALWAYS hung off the pack waiting for the pass to run.  There's talk today on the wireless that he is in bother again.  And we won't even begin to mention his connections with Perth's lowlives...his suppliers no doubt.

Great win for St.Kilda v Collingwood tonight.  The pies kicked 9 singles for the whole second half.  4.17 in total.  Only Cloke of the recognised forwards scored.  Bad news for Saints, though, with Nick Reiwoldt tearing the hammy.  He was taking a mark and grabbed the leg mid air and fell a fair clatter on his schnozzle.
Post by: JimStynes on April 09, 2010, 05:03:47 PM
The half the AFL is at the drugs, do i need to bring up the Freo players who i witnessed taking drugs??  Cousins was a great player before and Judd and Kerr arrived on the scene. The man was afl rising star, has about 6 or 7 All Australian awards, a brownlow, numerous club b&f awards, a premiership, etc Yes he is a dickhead but no1 can deny he was a great player.

Listened to the game on the internet earlier (anyone know a good site that streams the games live) and sounded like St Kilda has plyers going down all over the place. Low scoring game by AFL standards. As i said before Marty Clarke is bound to ask himself why the hell did he come home while watching these games.
Post by: Aerlik on April 09, 2010, 05:23:15 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on April 09, 2010, 05:03:47 PM
Cousins was a great player before and Judd and Kerr arrived on the scene. The man was afl rising star,...true...

has about 6 or 7 All Australian awards, a brownlow, numerous club b&f awards, a premiership
all whilst he was on the whizz...fact.  Even his da admitted it.
I've been to about a dozen derbies and a few Eagles games and he did feck all tackling. 
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 10, 2010, 10:32:00 AM
Swans vs Richmond
http://p2pstation.net/afl.html (http://p2pstation.net/afl.html)

Stream has been takin down so dont bother trying link.  Swans winning easy at the start. Away to work :(
Post by: JimStynes on April 10, 2010, 10:58:15 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on April 09, 2010, 05:23:15 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on April 09, 2010, 05:03:47 PM
Cousins was a great player before and Judd and Kerr arrived on the scene. The man was afl rising star,...true...

has about 6 or 7 All Australian awards, a brownlow, numerous club b&f awards, a premiership
all whilst he was on the whizz...fact.  Even his da admitted it.
I've been to about a dozen derbies and a few Eagles games and he did feck all tackling.

Same as Buddy Franklin, same as Palmer (Freo rising start who i witness taking drugs) and same as ur hero Jeff Farmer. The whole lot of them are on the drugs.
Post by: Aerlik on April 11, 2010, 12:10:46 PM
I'm just in from the Fremantle-Geelong game.  What a win.  The best game/atmosphere I've experienced in any AFL game.  If you want a lesson in how never to give up to show your team then show them the last quarter of the is game.

Talk about never giving in.  This season has started in the best way for us.  3 out of 3.  Three weeks ago I was expecting 0 out of 4!
Post by: Aerlik on April 25, 2010, 05:20:13 AM
Round 4 last weekend didn't provide any real "shocks" as such but this weekend (round 5) has given us two and we're only half way through.

Melbourne, at one time favourites for the wooden spoon, walloped Brisbane Lions by 53 points yesterday in Melbourne.  Great to see Jim Stynes in the crowd cheering on his men. 
Port Adelaide, fresh off a 90 point-plus hiding from Geelong last weekend, beat St.Kilda by 10 last night.  This was an average game to be honest.

Just hope Richmond don't get above my boys tonight.
Post by: red hander on April 25, 2010, 05:37:40 PM
Quote from: Aerlik on April 25, 2010, 05:20:13 AM
Round 4 last weekend didn't provide any real "shocks" as such but this weekend (round 5) has given us two and we're only half way through.

Melbourne, at one time favourites for the wooden spoon, walloped Brisbane Lions by 53 points yesterday in Melbourne.  Great to see Jim Stynes in the crowd cheering on his men. 
Port Adelaide, fresh off a 90 point-plus hiding from Geelong last weekend, beat St.Kilda by 10 last night.  This was an average game to be honest.

Just back from Oz after month out there where I took in Brisbane v Carlton at the Gabba and Carlton v Essendon at the MCG.  Melbourne's tanking of Brisbane is some shock, I was very impressed by the Lions with Fevola and the captain (forgot his name) up front.  Carlton and Setanta were poor enough against the Bombers... was talking to a former AFL player in Melbourne whose three sons play currently and he was saying he didn't think Walsh would make it at St Kilda... impressed by the family atmosphere at games, very like the GAA
Post by: Aerlik on April 25, 2010, 08:55:06 PM
An average win tonight.  Ah well, 4-1 is to be enjoyed.  Now for the derby next Sunday.  Tickets anyone?
Post by: johnpower on April 25, 2010, 11:20:33 PM
Quote from: red hander on April 25, 2010, 05:37:40 PM

Just back from Oz after month out there where I took in Brisbane v Carlton at the Gabba and Carlton v Essendon at the MCG.  Melbourne's tanking of Brisbane is some shock, I was very impressed by the Lions with Fevola and the captain (forgot his name) up front.  Carlton and Setanta were poor enough against the Bombers... was talking to a former AFL player in Melbourne whose three sons play currently and he was saying he didn't think Walsh would make it at St Kilda... impressed by the family atmosphere at games, very like the GAA

Interesting to hear that Walsh is unlikely to make it .Any idea what the reasons are ?? Is he too late to the game or is a case of just not fitting in ?
Post by: JimStynes on April 25, 2010, 11:27:08 PM
Walsh was named in the best for Sandringham, St Kilda 2nd side, this week. OReilly from Down is doing well for Richmonds 2nds, with Richmond being piss poor he mite end up getting a game with the 1st by the end of the year. Pearce Hanley is doing well for the Lions 2nds, hes expected to be called up to the lions first team this week. And Big Niall McKeever was named in the best for the Lions 2nd team this week.
Post by: johnpower on April 25, 2010, 11:40:03 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on April 25, 2010, 11:27:08 PM
Walsh was named in the best for Sandringham, St Kilda 2nd side, this week. OReilly from Down is doing well for Richmonds 2nds, with Richmond being piss poor he mite end up getting a game with the 1st by the end of the year. Pearce Hanley is doing well for the Lions 2nds, hes expected to be called up to the lions first team this week. And Big Niall McKeever was named in the best for the Lions 2nd team this week.

Thanks for the update, I hope it goes well for all these guys ?
Post by: Aerlik on April 26, 2010, 07:52:51 AM
And the upsets continue.  Carlton had a wonderful win over Geelong just now.  Big Setanta, although not having his kicking boots on,  certainly played his part in a great performance by the Blues all over the park.

Going to be a tough season.
Post by: ballinaman on April 26, 2010, 10:18:45 AM
Carlton were very imprssive alright, Judd is some player. Setanta looked a bit awkward in comparsion to the 3 other quick forwards Carlton had but he did well enough.
Post by: Club Rossa on April 26, 2010, 11:36:40 AM
Hawks beaten again,poor enough start to the season.
Post by: red hander on April 26, 2010, 07:16:49 PM
Quote from: johnpower on April 25, 2010, 11:20:33 PM
Quote from: red hander on April 25, 2010, 05:37:40 PM

Interesting to hear that Walsh is unlikely to make it .Any idea what the reasons are ?? Is he too late to the game or is a case of just not fitting in ?

He was intimating it was more of the former than the latter.  He also said young Clark is very keen to go back to Oz.  Dunno if there's any truth in it, but this guy still has a lot of contacts within the game through his own career and that of his sons...
Post by: stephenite on April 27, 2010, 01:22:16 AM
Some shocks over the weekend - and I don't what's going on over Perth but Freo are flying. Lookiong forward to seeing the Swans take on the Lions this weekend
Post by: ballinaman on April 27, 2010, 01:09:56 PM
Quote from: stephenite on April 27, 2010, 01:22:16 AM
Some shocks over the weekend - and I don't what's going on over Perth but Freo are flying. Lookiong forward to seeing the Swans take on the Lions this weekend
Same here, am heading to it, will be first live AFL game i've been too,looking forward to it.
Post by: stephenite on April 28, 2010, 07:06:25 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on April 27, 2010, 01:09:56 PM
Some shocks over the weekend - and I don't what's going on over Perth but Freo are flying. Looking forward to seeing the Swans take on the Lions this weekend
Same here, am heading to it, will be first live AFL game i've been too,looking forward to it.

Are you indeed now? Thought you were the other side of the Tasman with all the sheep?

Heading to the game with the wife and the car so will skip meeting up with any young stragglers from home who are out on the beer but will be heading along to other games where full sessions will be in order so let me know if you're hanging around the Emerald city for the foreseeable
Post by: Aerlik on April 28, 2010, 12:08:23 PM

I reallly hope you enjoy it.  Perhaps Stephenite can fill you in on the game in Sydney.

I can't comment on the intensity of Sydney-Brisbane games as I've neither been to one nor can understand the passion among fans in two predominantly NRL cities.  However, the situation is definitely very different in the west.  It is yet again a sell-out and I'm trying all avenues to try and get tickets for the first derby of the year here in Perth.  I'm a Freo member so will get to the second game but would love to see the boys hammer the eagles this Sunday.  If we do it'll be 5 and 1 v. 1 and 5.
Post by: ballinaman on April 28, 2010, 12:30:15 PM
Quote from: stephenite on April 28, 2010, 07:06:25 AM
Some shocks over the weekend - and I don't what's going on over Perth but Freo are flying. Looking forward to seeing the Swans take on the Lions this weekend

Are you indeed now? Thought you were the other side of the Tasman with all the sheep?

Heading to the game with the wife and the car so will skip meeting up with any young stragglers from home who are out on the beer but will be heading along to other games where full sessions will be in order so let me know if you're hanging around the Emerald city for the foreseeable
Indeed I was but a job offer in Sydney was too good to turn down, yep, i'll be around for the forseeable future so sessions will be had. May break out the Mayo jersey on sat (despite the standard disaster that was last sunday) so give us a shout if ya see me..
Post by: Never beat the deeler on April 28, 2010, 11:02:41 PM
There's talk of Pearse Hanley playing this weekend for the Lions in whats sure to be a great game against the Swans
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=400305&page=12
Post by: Aerlik on April 29, 2010, 11:53:21 AM
Got tickets for the derby...woohoo. ;D ;D Happy.
Post by: Club Rossa on April 29, 2010, 04:37:59 PM
What are admission prices for AFL games?
Post by: red hander on April 29, 2010, 08:41:29 PM
There seems to be different prices for where you sit, but the cheaper ones go very quickly.  I paid 52 Aussie dollars (a more expensive seat, but cheaper ones had sold out) into the Gabba and was basically behind the posts and close to the pitch.  Into the MCG was cheaper at 35 Aussie for similar seats if a bit further back, though the MCG is twice size of Gabba (there were 71,000 at that game between Carlton and Essendon)
Post by: Aerlik on April 30, 2010, 11:33:57 AM
Apart from the Grand Final and occasionally the ANZAC game, it seems to be fairly straightforward getting a ticket for a game in Melbourne and I've been told they are much cheaper that over here.  I have just paid $40 each for 2 tickets in the nosebleeds for the derby.  Tickets around the middle of the park are all members only and are bloody expensive if they come on the market, ie. the person sells them back to the AFL, at least $50.  Behind the goals are much cheaper, about $23, but better craic as you get all sorts in shouting.
Post by: ballinaman on May 02, 2010, 03:35:36 AM
Good game last night, i'll be going to as many swans games as i can. Strange atmosphere though, wouldn't have people foaming at the mouth like you would back home, maybe thats just the sydney crowd or the fact that it wasn't a knock out game but just thought it was fairly tame!
Post by: stephenite on May 02, 2010, 07:49:51 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 02, 2010, 03:35:36 AM
Good game last night, i'll be going to as many swans games as i can. Strange atmosphere though, wouldn't have people foaming at the mouth like you would back home, maybe thats just the sydney crowd or the fact that it wasn't a knock out game but just thought it was fairly tame!

Mixture of a few things I'd imagine, but mainly depends on where your sitting. The rabid supporters are members of the club, they pay upfront at the start of the season and get the best seats in the house. A very enjoyable game though - some really nice football played by both teams. Bradshaw kicked some amazing goals
Post by: ballinaman on May 02, 2010, 07:54:43 AM
Quote from: stephenite on May 02, 2010, 07:49:51 AM

Mixture of a few things I'd imagine, but mainly depends on where your sitting. The rabid supporters are members of the club, they pay upfront at the start of the season and get the best seats in the house. A very enjoyable game though - some really nice football played by both teams. Bradshaw kicked some amazing goals
True. I was far side of the pitch from the members stand at the halfway line in the lower tier. Setanta having a stormer for the blues today, cracking game or should i say a ripper of a game.
Post by: JimStynes on May 02, 2010, 09:49:07 AM
Big Setanta kicked 5 today  :o Hes having some season.
Post by: Aerlik on May 02, 2010, 12:48:37 PM
He is indeed having some season and with the players around him it can only get better.  In fact Ratten is on the official AFL website stating he could be the club's answer to the departure of Fevola.  Pity they lost though.

Just home from subiaco where Freo were just way too good for the snobs.  5-1 for the season, when everyone was predicting we'd be 1-5.  Wrong!  The young boys are really firing this season.
Post by: Cosmo Kramer on May 02, 2010, 01:32:06 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on May 02, 2010, 07:54:43 AM
Quote from: stephenite on May 02, 2010, 07:49:51 AM

True. I was far side of the pitch from the members stand at the halfway line in the lower tier. Setanta having a stormer for the blues today, cracking game or should i say a ripper of a game.

So did Hanley play then?

(I couldn't give a toss about the AFL, I'm just wondering if there's any possibility of us recruiting a centre half back for next year or the year after!)
Post by: JimStynes on May 02, 2010, 05:53:44 PM
No didn't play but had another good game for the lions 2nds. Only a matter of time before he gets a call up to the senior side
Post by: Aerlik on May 06, 2010, 03:50:29 PM
Pearce Hanley is to make his AFL return this weekend against Fremantle.  Insofar as I wish him well,  just wish to hell he wasn't playing against Freo.  The last time an Irish player debuted was Quinn for Essendon.  He did well, but has done little since.  And Freo lost that one too.

The odds are very much stacked in favour of a Lions win.  However, Freo are the surprise team of the season so far and are fast gaining a bit of respect for their agressive style of footy.

Like I said, I just wish Hanley was coming back against some other team. :(
Post by: Aerlik on May 08, 2010, 05:27:15 PM
Happy days...Freo win their first ever game at the Gabba.  They kicked 15.23 and won by 13.  Frantic last quarter.  Bring on Collingwood next friday night in Perth.  I will be there.
Post by: stephenite on May 09, 2010, 10:36:02 AM
Swans got tanked by Geelong in Skilled stadium this afternoon. Caught most of it on D'telly , not too many positives to take from it for Paul Roos
Post by: ballinaman on May 09, 2010, 10:44:35 AM
Quote from: stephenite on May 09, 2010, 10:36:02 AM
Swans got tanked by Geelong in Skilled stadium this afternoon. Caught most of it on D'telly , not too many positives to take from it for Paul Roos
Saw it too, jaysus...Ablett is some player, mopped up some serious amount of ball. Swans beaten all over the field, swans played well up till half time and just got murdered in the 3rd...

Did Hanley get any game time Aerlik??
Post by: JimStynes on May 09, 2010, 10:52:23 AM
Another good perfromance from Kennelly today, hes fitted back into the swans team with ease.
Post by: Aerlik on May 09, 2010, 04:28:12 PM
Game wasn't shown over here. We had Australian Ironman on instead.  Ablett is some player.  I was pretty pissed off with him last year as he lay down the minute anyone came near him, but this year he was in the thick of things all over the place.  Him and Tom Chapman are a great duo.  I'm glad Freo only play them once.  The Sydney defeat leaves Freo 2nd.  The highest the club has ever been.

It annoys me the bias that Melbourne commentators show.  On Friday night they were bemoaning how unfortunate Melbourne were to lose to Western Bulldogs and brought up the Collingwood game earlier in the season too.  FFS, Melbourne had the chances and didn't take them.  On the other hand, Freo and dare I say the Eagles have been slammed constantly as simply not good enough.

Big game tomorrow night for Setanta v. St.Kilda.  This will prove/test his ability.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on May 10, 2010, 01:01:39 AM
Fair play to Freo. I didnt think theyd beat the Lions at the Gabba (hasnt happened in 15yrs but theres a first time for everything). Pearse got limited enough time, think he had 10 disposals.

Tarrant was immense on Jonny Brown, keeping him to one goal. Fev only got three out of McPharlin.

A pity for the Lions to lose three on the bounce after having an impressive start. Injuries starting to mount too:
Brennan, Drummond, Patfull, Merrritt, Clark.

(BTW Aerlik I'm sure it was only a typo, but Geelong's forward unit looked extremely strong yesterday:
Big lads Podsiadly, Johnson, Mooney, and small forwards Ablett, Paul Chapman and Varcoe all multiple goal scorers)
Post by: Aerlik on May 10, 2010, 03:46:21 PM
Oops, you're right, it is Paul Chapman.  A tank of a man.  When he, TOM Hartley(sp?) and Abblett were in the middle of the park it was difficult enough at times to know who was who.  Only Abblett's white boots were the difference.

A superb win for Setanta and Carlton tonight.  They thrashed St.Kilda and that keeps Freo in second on the ladder.  There'll be a couple of very happy lads at work tomorrow.   Setanta kicked a couple and missed some too.  It's good to see the Carlton back in the top I reckon.  It takes a bit of the attention off the maggots and Essendon.
Post by: Aerlik on May 16, 2010, 10:39:13 AM
Setanta kicked another three today, and should have kicked at least three more, as Carlton beat Port Adelaide in a great game to watch.  The lead swung from end to end throughout the game but in the end the power of Chris Judd in midfield was one of the most telling influences.  The win now puts Carlton in fifth position.
Tadhg's Swans got a belting from the Western Bulldogs in the game which saw Barry Hall play against his old team for the first time.
Hanley's Lions got slaughtered by Geelong in Brisbane, but Pearce didn't make the panel. 
And I won't say too much about Fremantle's loss to Collingwood on Friday night, suffice to say the winners midfield were particularly impressive,the umpires were particularly unimpressive (True), and I have ended up with the sorest bloody throat and feckin cold for my efforts.  But we're still third.
Post by: JimStynes on May 16, 2010, 11:10:41 AM
Freo brought back down to earth, wont do them any harm Aerlik. The pies are playing great but just cant see them pushing on and winning it. Hope they prove me wrong.

Tommy Walsh had another great game today for St Kilda reserves, hes been playing in defence all season but they moved him into the forward line for a few quarters today and he played well. Touhy has been getting great reviews at Carltons 2nds about how good his skills are and how agressive he is.  All the other Irish lads seem to be doing rightly aswell. Quinn and Hanley are going to have to wait until injuries his their sides though before they are going to be able to get another go in the seniors.

Bad news for Niall McKeever though as he done a medial ligament and is out for about 2 months.
Post by: Aerlik on May 16, 2010, 04:28:37 PM
Aye the loss isn't a bad thing in the sense that they now really know what is required to win a flag.  You can beat Geelong in a one-off but you must beat the top teams consistently.  On a down side, a knee injury to Luke McPharlin is a real blow to Freo as he was playing mighty stuff this season alongside Chris Tarrant.

Any chance of Quinn making a start for Essendon any time soon?  After today's great win against St.Kilda, I wouldn't think it'll be for a while.  It's a pity none of the Irish lads are based over here so I could go and watch them in the WAFL.  The standard has picked up considerably in the last year.
The West Australian has reported that the Mt.Lawley Hawks have been kicked out of their leagues for drug abuse.  Geez JS, good job you weren't here for that.  Woosha would never have given you that call.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/94448/default.aspx
Post by: JimStynes on May 17, 2010, 05:46:39 PM
Michael Johnson from the Dockers found with drugs on him. I seen him and Rhys Palmer (rising star) taking drugs last year in a perth night club. Cant understand why they would risk their career for drugs.
Post by: stephenite on May 18, 2010, 12:33:49 AM
Do they hand drugs out in the dressingrooms after AFL Games, a win bonus maybe? Last weeks report of the surge in positive results on tests for recreational drug use was fairly depressing.

Swans playing Freo this weekend Aerlik, think I might toddle along to this one if I can get the pass!
Post by: ballinaman on May 18, 2010, 12:38:43 AM
Speaking of AFL dressing rooms, whats the deal with the lack of seats? Is it the macho Aus mentality again that they are too hard to have a sit down at half time??

Ya,missing that game this saturday due to work..sickened.Swans need a win badly.
Post by: stephenite on May 18, 2010, 01:12:44 AM
Although if this rain keeps up .......... ::)

Remind you of anywhere Ballinaman? :D
Post by: ballinaman on May 18, 2010, 01:20:19 AM
Quote from: stephenite on May 18, 2010, 01:12:44 AM
Although if this rain keeps up .......... ::)

Remind you of anywhere Ballinaman? :D
Tis great!Bitta home weather for a few days,no harm. If another person complains of a 21 or 22 degree day as cold i'll think i crack  :D
Post by: Aerlik on May 18, 2010, 10:53:08 AM
Aye, feckin disaster for Freo.  MJ caugth in possession and stood down from the club.  Got no sympathy for him.  Just so disappointed for my son as Johnson was a former player at my son's club.  McPharlin out for a while and Broughton out, too.  Head says Swans, heart, ... well, always a freo man.

Stephenite, a full unbiased Swans report to follow on Saturday!!!
Post by: Aerlik on May 23, 2010, 08:00:40 AM
No luck for the Irish lads this week.  As I write, Carlton have just been very surprisingly pasted by Hawthorn so Setanta's golden boot mustn't  have been too well tied as he never scored a thing.

Brisbane Lions were somewhat surprisingly defeated by Adelaide and Hanley didn't make the team.

Tadgh unfortunately suffered a knee injury in a contested ball situation in the match where Sydney were beaten by my boys.  This could keep him sidelined for a few weeks.  As much as I want to gloat about another Fremantle win on the road, I like to keep an eye on Kennelly as he is superb to watch having seen him a few times in Perth.

Barry Hall is in trouble again.  In his favour is the fact that he was niggled and pinpointed by the North Melbourne players.  However, his past will come to haunt him.

Great win for Melbourne today against Port Adelaide; and Essendon were just too damned good for Richmond, who are yet to win a game this season.

Geelong beat Collingwood in front of a full house at the MCG.  Would love to have been there.

Geelong (1), Collingwood (2) and Fremantle (3) have very winnable games next weekend.  Only percentage separates them.  Looking forward to the game v. North Mel next weekend in Perth.  A big win could see us into 2nd.
Post by: Aerlik on May 31, 2010, 11:41:22 AM
Setanta was back to scoring form yesterday kicking three against West Coast.  They are loving him at Carlton and love his celebrations.

Brisbane had a superb win against Collingwood with a great last quarter.  No Hanley though.  Watch it if you can. 

Hawthorn sneaked home against a Tadhg-less Sydney Swans in a tight game.

Essendon had a great win against Western Bulldogs.  Jason Akermanis is in trouble again, as he made comments about homosexuals in playing Aussie Rules.

Richmond walloped Pt.Adelaide for their first win of the year in shite weather.

St.Kilda as expected thrashed Adelaide.

Geelong never broke a sweat against Melbourne.

And Fremantle...well we just keep on winning.  Second on the table now with Geelong ahead on percentage.  I'm not getting smug...yet, but it is soooooo nice to see the grimace on the faces of the Eagles fans around the city.
Post by: Rois on August 04, 2010, 11:37:50 AM
For anyone that's interested, the Irish AFL team is playing in the European Championships at the minute and have won their first two games with over 100 points to spare in each over Germany and Croatia.

One more win and they're in the final.

(Ireland are tournament favourites)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 07, 2010, 12:44:23 AM
Collingwood stil on the right track, could be our year.
Big game tomorrow against Geelong though.

I was just on the AFL website and it said the Grand Final in 2011 will be in the MCG. It go me thinking as first and formost a cricket staduim although probably used more by the AFL. Why does Aussie Rules not have its own big staduim, i find it astonishing that they would be so reliant on the Victoria cricket board to let them play there. There both competing against each other for player presumably... Id apprecaite any answer to the above.
Post by: ballinaman on August 07, 2010, 12:53:33 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 07, 2010, 12:44:23 AM

I was just on the AFL website and it said the Grand Final in 2011 will be in the MCG. It go me thinking as first and formost a cricket staduim although probably used more by the AFL. Why does Aussie Rules not have its own big staduim, i find it astonishing that they would be so reliant on the Victoria cricket board to let them play there. There both competing against each other for player presumably... Id apprecaite any answer to the above.

Looking forward to it myself tonight, should be a cracker. I was at the Swans Geelong match last weekend and Geelong were awesome.

There is alot of controversy about the 2011 grand final in the MCG. The Victoria cricket board hold the rights tothe MCG and they want to stage a poxy cricket match at the MCG the same day of next years grand final. They are demanding compensation off the AFL if they are to move their game and the AFL are refusing to pay. Head of the AFL said they'll move the game interstate if needs be, ANZ Sydney being the probable choice.

The AFL's biggest stadium that they own outright is the Ethiad stadium in Melbourne as far as i know, used to be called the Telstra dome, where Australia beat Ireland in the 03 rugby world cup. Ethiad wouldn't have a big enough capacity for a grand final. It is mad though, AFL is the where all the money is in Australia and they don't even own the MCG.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 07, 2010, 12:58:52 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on August 07, 2010, 12:53:33 AM

Looking forward to it myself tonight, should be a cracker. I was at the Swans Geelong match last weekend and Geelong were awesome.

There is alot of controversy about the 2011 grand final in the MCG. The Victoria cricket board hold the rights tothe MCG and they want to stage a poxy cricket match at the MCG the same day of next years grand final. They are demanding compensation off the AFL if they are to move their game and the AFL are refusing to pay. Head of the AFL said they'll move the game interstate if needs be, ANZ Sydney being the probable choice.

The AFL's biggest stadium that they own outright is the Ethiad stadium in Melbourne as far as i know, used to be called the Telstra dome, where Australia beat Ireland in the 03 rugby world cup. Ethiad wouldn't have a big enough capacity for a grand final. It is mad though, AFL is the where all the money is in Australia and they don't even own the MCG.
Ya when i reading that it just dawned on me the enormity of the madness that the AFL for so long have used MCG, ironically enough i would say the Cricket are totally reliant on the AFL to fill it, and rent it. Why dont they build there own staduim in Melbourne to cope with Grand final or why hasnt been done already?
Post by: ballinaman on August 07, 2010, 01:14:34 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on August 07, 2010, 12:58:52 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on August 07, 2010, 12:53:33 AM

Ya when i reading that it just dawned on me the enormity of the madness that the AFL for so long have used MCG, ironically enough i would say the Cricket are totally reliant on the AFL to fill it, and rent it. Why dont they build there own staduim in Melbourne to cope with Grand final or why hasnt been done already?
Not a clue, the AFL are throwing around money these days, new Western Sydney and Gold Coast teams for example and signing big name NRL players so it's not like they don't have the money.
The pathetic thing is that only a sparse crowd actually go to those victoria cricket games which is crazy considering the size of the MCG. The MCG is such a part of the AFL though, it would be like moving the All Irelands from croker, MCG is only a 10 minute walk from the city centre too.
Post by: Aerlik on August 23, 2010, 02:52:37 AM
It is with the greatest pleasure that I inform you of the following:

West Coast Eagles are the official winners of the 2010 AFL Premiership...

WOODEN SPOON

Ha ha ha.  Yep, they beat Freo to that "honour" as well
Post by: Never beat the deeler on September 03, 2010, 10:31:32 AM
Just moved to WA yesterday.. Its finals fever here with (almost) everyone cheering on Freo as they take on 2008 Premiers Hawthorn. The game is supposed to be a sell out, I wonder if there'll be a chance to buy tickets outside the stadium.... Aerlik??
Post by: stephenite on September 03, 2010, 10:53:02 AM
Changed circumstances mean I can't make the Swans game this weekend, hope to catch it on TV, hoping for a Swans win but they've been so hot and cold it's hard to know
Post by: Aerlik on September 03, 2010, 01:25:05 PM
Deeler, good luck.  :-\  It is a sell out.  I will be at the far end of the ground before the game beside a man who drives a car bedecked in Freo memorabilia.  He is a legend around the club.  You'll know me.  My young lad is my double.
there's some atmosphere around the place.  So pumped for the game.  I'll be inthe cheer squad.
Post by: stephenite on September 04, 2010, 08:58:48 AM
Freo beat the Hawks by 30! Some atmosphere, they'll be doing well to progress against the Cats who lost to St. Kilda last night
Post by: Aerlik on September 04, 2010, 03:48:09 PM
Some atmosphere alright.  My ears are still buzzing.  I was just behind the cheer squad to the right of the TV view.  Brilliant craic. and the noise was something else.  Ten of the players at Freo are either a first or second year player.  the talent at the club is phenomenal.  True, next Friday might be a bridge too far, but the Cats are starting to get long in the tooth. 
the throat is sore, the head is throbbing, the lad is happy.

Freo forever.
Post by: sheelinside on September 04, 2010, 05:52:41 PM
sorry to say it aerlik, but i think freo are over-achieving this year...next year- i think they'll settle back to mid-table---  i could be proved wrong! ;)
i fancy st. kilda-- think the cats are getting on in years and despite the hype - i'm not convinced by the magpies-- can they really really really do it-- when the season is on the line?? the amount they miss in games is criminal-- what will happen in tight games with the season resting on it----------
st' kilda have proved last year that they are within touching distance-- collingwood have never been in the situation where it is completely do or die.... i think they'll fold yet...
interesting times ahead!

think it'll be:
geelong v freo-- geelong
bulldogs v sydney--- sydney

collingwood v geelong-- geelong
st kilda v sydney-- st. kilda

and in the final- st. kilda to avenge last years loss in a low scoring game
Post by: Aerlik on September 06, 2010, 01:48:01 PM
Fair enough Sheelinside, but I think "overachieving" is unfair.  Sure the boys have exceeded expectations (of everyone except the coaching staff who have been persistent in claiming that it is just a matter of time) this season but having been at Freo games from 2001 and having seen 4th. quarter capitulations on too frequent a basis up to this year, then you will understand that there is an amazing sense of pride and expectation around the place.   They have shattered the Freo legacy of old when the team quit playing at three-quarter time.  Now they play out to the end.
I personally don't expect them to beat Geelong but only two weeks ago they were reeling from a 130+ point walloping by Hawthorn; for them to turn around in 2 weeks and beat the Hawks by 30 points (one of the Hawks' biggest losses this year) is quite an achievement.
Like I said above, the noise and euphoria of that win was quite special.  Maybe not as good as the win over Geelong in round 3 when there was but a couple of goals in it in the end.

The Sydney Carlton was the second-best game of the round.  What a match.  End to end stuff and the Carlton player who tried to outsprint the Sydney player (actually could have been a Freo player) in the last two minutes must be feeling sick.  I really like Sydney and the way they play.  Again, I doubt if they'll go the whole way but I wouldn't begrudge them.

As for the top four clubs, well the Bulldogs are all over the place and Sydney must be fancied to beat them.  St.Kilda are a well-balanced team and Geelong...well, they're a class outfit.  As for the Pies, I hope they live up to their name of the Collywobbles.

Freo Abu.
Post by: stephenite on September 07, 2010, 10:40:11 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on September 06, 2010, 01:48:01 PM
I personally don't expect them to beat Geelong but only two weeks ago they were reeling from a 130+ point walloping by Hawthorn; for them to turn around in 2 weeks and beat the Hawks by 30 points (one of the Hawks' biggest losses this year) is quite an achievement.

Ah hang now, didn't Freo send out the U-12's or something for this game, there was certainly a lot of comment and complaints about the team selection for that game.
Post by: Aerlik on September 07, 2010, 01:01:02 PM
U-21 perhaps Stephenite, not U-12.  there was a whole pile of gurning from the Vics because they are so narcissistic.  You only have to look at The Footy Show and Footy Classified.  Bias as can be.  You just never know what might happen.
Post by: stephenite on September 11, 2010, 09:33:08 AM
Freo well beaten by Geelong last night, hardly a big surprise bit still a very solid season for your lads Aerlik.
Swans taking on the Bulldogs in about an hour, I'll tip the Swans but only just
Post by: stephenite on September 11, 2010, 01:01:36 PM
Swans beaten by 5 - end of the road for Brett Kirk and Paul Roos
Post by: Aerlik on September 12, 2010, 03:56:32 PM
Yet another cliffhanger involving Sydney.  I was disappointed for them.  I thought they had it won at half time the way they were playing.  I'm not a fan of WB's as they have this perpetual feeling of the poor mob in Melbourne who don't get any sympathy and should, on those grounds, be in the top 4 annually.

I now sincerely hope that Geelong wallop the pies on Friday (which I won't be able to watch) and go on and lift the cup.  Ablett and Bartel are so exciting to watch.

The knives are out at freo.  Tarrant is going back to Melbourne, Haselby has retired and it looks like it is the end of Des headland's career.  However, there is much to be excited about over the next three seasons.
Post by: bcarrier on September 12, 2010, 08:08:15 PM
I couldnt get a link for Swans and WB but tracked it on the abc website ...seemed to be a  cracker. Kennelly seems to have had a good season . High on Dream Team points yesterday.

Another Kerryman robbed by officials ....seems obvious that if the review panel considered Halls punch the previous week "hard" enough Swans would have won.
Post by: Aerlik on September 14, 2010, 02:47:58 PM
Both prelim finals this weekend (aka semis to the rest of the world).  Hope to god Geelong beat the pies and win the whole thing.  Fed up listening to the whinging of the other three.
Post by: stephenite on September 17, 2010, 12:48:38 PM
Looks like your luck is out me old cobber - Pies leading 107-45 with a minute to go in the 3rd quarter :o

Didn't see that coming
Post by: Canalman on September 17, 2010, 01:03:52 PM
Delighted for the Maggies........... "my team" while I lived in Oz.

Traditionally the Irish Catholic team in Melbourne which makes any of their successes( sparse for a while) all the sweeter.
Post by: johnpower on September 17, 2010, 11:02:36 PM
Quote from: Canalman on September 17, 2010, 01:03:52 PM
Delighted for the Maggies........... "my team" while I lived in Oz.

Traditionally the Irish Catholic team in Melbourne which makes any of their successes( sparse for a while) all the sweeter.

Great win ,Pies fans I met in my Trips to Melbourne always very proud of the Irish Catholic support . Last win was 1990 Maybe this is a gpood omen for Cork
Post by: Aerlik on September 18, 2010, 03:26:40 AM
Lads, step outside the coccoon that is Melbourne - centre of Victoria, australia and the world - and you'll find a very different view of the pies.  Right that's it, my interest in the 2010 season is unofficially officially over.  Go Saints.
Post by: Declan on September 20, 2010, 11:27:07 AM
QuoteDelighted for the Maggies........... "my team" while I lived in Oz

Same here - got a very drunken mail from a mate on Saturday!!
Post by: JimStynes on September 20, 2010, 04:43:46 PM
Judd gets his 2nd brownlow then!! I would say he only got it because there is nobody else in Carltons team who would take that many votes from him.  He is some player though and will go down in histroy as on of the best players ever.
Post by: ballinaman on September 25, 2010, 12:19:52 AM
Grand final day today....

Underpants shorts....check.
Wife beater vest......check.
Horrible VB beer.......check.
Chicken parmigiana....check.
Tim Tams................check.

Gonna throw down 50 on the Saints today....All logic points to the pies but i dunno..things rarely go according to plan in finals, they may bottle it with all the pressure!!
Post by: The Worker on September 25, 2010, 12:27:16 AM
is there any channels where the game can be seen in ireland?
Post by: ballinaman on September 25, 2010, 12:30:53 AM
Quote from: The Worker on September 25, 2010, 12:27:16 AM
Best bet is look for a stream if you wanna see it live, myp2p might have it. tg4 will have highlights in the next few days. Throws in at 2.30pm eastern Australian time which is 5.30am saturday in ireland.
Post by: The Worker on September 25, 2010, 12:37:24 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on September 25, 2010, 12:30:53 AM
Quote from: The Worker on September 25, 2010, 12:27:16 AM
Best bet is look for a stream if you wanna see it live, myp2p might have it. tg4 will have highlights in the next few days. Throws in at 2.30pm eastern Australian time which is 5.30am saturday in ireland.

fuk bit early! used to remember it starting around 7am or so over here. will be some craic round melbourne 2nite!
Post by: stephenite on September 25, 2010, 12:45:21 AM
I fancy the Saints as well-will hopefully get a chance to sit down and watch it but it's a fine spring day and the garden needs sitting in
Post by: ballinaman on September 25, 2010, 12:47:40 AM
Quote from: stephenite on September 25, 2010, 12:45:21 AM
I fancy the Saints as well-will hopefully get a chance to sit down and watch it but it's a fine spring day and the garden needs sitting in
Big time, in work out west at the mo and serious heat already! Heading to the paddo arms in paddington to watch the game. Looking forward to the game now.
Post by: Aerlik on September 25, 2010, 06:03:21 AM
Game on.

Christ at the start I thought it was game over in the first five minutes but saints are coming back.  Phew, quarter time 26-20 pies
Post by: Aerlik on September 25, 2010, 07:44:51 AM
Pies were starting to race away with it there with a fairly big halftime lead, but Saints have come back and at the end of the third quarter there are only 8 between them.  Great fight back by saints in third.
Post by: stephenite on September 25, 2010, 07:58:41 AM
Point in it now, set up for a great finish
Post by: stephenite on September 25, 2010, 08:00:11 AM
100,016 is some attendance.
Post by: Aerlik on September 25, 2010, 08:02:24 AM
Not pretty by any means but bloody exciting. go saints.  clapping and shouting for them.  Goddarrrrrrrrrrrd what a fcukin beauty.  Saints ahead for the first time in game. 6 mins to go.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on September 25, 2010, 08:04:29 AM
Watching it here live in the states on ESPN2, very entertaining match.

Whats with the round pitch?
Post by: Aerlik on September 25, 2010, 08:06:15 AM
Quote from: stephenite on September 25, 2010, 08:00:11 AM
100,016 is some attendance.

and not one of them is leaving early.
Post by: Aerlik on September 25, 2010, 08:07:50 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on September 25, 2010, 08:04:29 AM

The only pitch they could get in years gone by was a cricket pitch
Post by: DrinkingHarp on September 25, 2010, 08:13:22 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on September 25, 2010, 08:07:50 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on September 25, 2010, 08:04:29 AM

The only pitch they could get in years gone by was a cricket pitch

Thanks

Is this the championship?
Post by: JimStynes on September 25, 2010, 08:14:01 AM
Heart in mouth
Post by: Aerlik on September 25, 2010, 08:16:10 AM
It's a draw.  Only third one in history of VFL/AFL, 1948, 1977 and today.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on September 25, 2010, 08:23:29 AM
What a match, obviously don't understand all the rules but gutsy performances from both teams.

Don't know how either team can come back next week after leaving everything on the field, has to be an emotional wreck with their mindset.

I will def watch the replay.
Post by: The Worker on September 25, 2010, 08:41:14 AM
wat odds was the draw?
Post by: ballinaman on September 26, 2010, 11:56:21 AM
Quote from: The Worker on September 25, 2010, 08:41:14 AM
wat odds was the draw?
18/1......

Some game. Roll on next Saturday. I fear that the Saints might have missed their chance.
Post by: DuffleKing on September 26, 2010, 01:29:49 PM

Anywhere to see a full replay lads?
Post by: DrinkingHarp on October 02, 2010, 07:27:21 AM
Magpies handling the Saints easily here in the replay
Post by: Club Rossa on October 02, 2010, 08:47:09 AM
Convincing win for the pies,super performance.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 02, 2010, 10:23:36 AM
Quote from: Club Rossa on October 02, 2010, 08:47:09 AM
Convincing win for the pies,super performance.
Relief I'd say as they should have been home and hosed in the first game but for some poor kicking.
Post by: MCMLX on October 02, 2010, 01:11:26 PM
They should have won it last week, never in doubt this week. Great entertainment, some crowd.

Post by: Aerlik on October 03, 2010, 06:21:37 AM
Over 93,000 at the replay.  As much as it peeves me to say, they were by far the better team on the day.  And there endeth AFL 2010.
Title: Re
Post by: stiffler on October 03, 2010, 10:20:11 AM
Was it handy to get tickets for replay if u wanted 1?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on October 03, 2010, 12:06:26 PM
Delighted for the black and white, fair play. Comfortable win compared to last weeks nerve wrecker.

93000, means 7000 empty seats, doesnt make sense that, shouldnt have been a full house again?
Post by: stephenite on October 03, 2010, 12:52:53 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on October 03, 2010, 12:06:26 PM
Delighted for the black and white, fair play. Comfortable win compared to last weeks nerve wrecker.

93000, means 7000 empty seats, doesnt make sense that, shouldnt have been a full house again?

Apparently a lot of the attendance last week is down to corporations who take clients from all over down to Melbourne for the weekend for the Grand final, there are plenty of fans from both clubs who couldn't get tickets.

Also, there are a fair few who would flew interstate for the final but couldn't afford to do the same 2 weekends in a row