GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: slow corner back on February 26, 2010, 08:37:07 PM

Title: National Hurling league round 2
Post by: slow corner back on February 26, 2010, 08:37:07 PM
Here we go for another week
Limerick V Cork Last years strikers V this years. Although Justins team appear better than Geralds last year they still will not be able to match Cork who should win with a bit to spare
Dublin V Tipp: Last week was very poor for Dublin. Anthony Daly will be looking for a reaction from his players. He may well get one but not enough to beat Tipp IMO. Tipp by about 5
Galway V Waterford: May well be the match of the weekend. Waterford were impressive against Dublin and Galway did just about enough against Limerick. I think Galway will improve this week a nick a tight one Galway by two
Kilkenny V Offaly : Offaly must have annoyed someone in Croke Park. Trips to Leeside and Nowlan park for your first two games is a bit unfair. Offaly did beat KK in the walsh cup and put up a decent show for about 55 minutes against Cork however the Cats will want revenge for the walsh cup and should get it.
Whoever Offaly annoyed Down must have upset also because they follow up a trip to Ennis with one to Wexford. After a hiding last week this week things will be similar but maybe not so clinical. Wexford with a bit in hand
Carlow still hurting from a one point reverse in Belfast wil be looking to get a win under their belts against westmeath. This will be a close one but home advantage might swing it for westmeath.
Kildare get to host Antrim who are a long way from being world beaters but should have too much for Kildare
The last match in Div 2 is Laois against Clare. This could be a close exciting game if Laois can play to the top of their ability but even so I would still expect Clare to edge them.
Lower down wins for London Kerry and Meath fingal and South Down ( maybe)
Title: Re: National Hurling league round 2
Post by: stevecw on February 26, 2010, 09:48:14 PM
Limerick v Cork - Cork by 10
Dub v Tipp - Tipp by 6
Galway v Wat - Gal by 4
Kilk v Off - Kilk by 9

Div 2
Wexford v Down - Wex by 14
Carlow v Westmeath - Carlow by 5 (slow corner back, its actually Carlow at home this weekend, not Westmeath as u seem to think!)
Kildare v Antrim - Antrim by 4
Laois v Clare - Clare by 4
Post by: lilpaulie85 on February 27, 2010, 01:50:55 PM
my pick of div 1,
cork tipp wat and kk all to win.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 28, 2010, 04:16:17 PM
Limerick 1-14 Cork 2-21

Galway 4-15 Waterford 1-15

Dublin 1-21 Tipperary 1-12

Kilkenny 1-17 Offaly 0-12
Post by: seafoid on February 28, 2010, 05:16:28 PM
I thought Waherford would be better than that. Or maybe Galway are simply magnificent..
Post by: INDIANA on February 28, 2010, 06:02:03 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 28, 2010, 05:16:28 PM
I thought Waherford would be better than that. Or maybe Galway are simply magnificent..

What about Dublin? One of the best days I've had in Parnell ;D
Post by: slow corner back on February 28, 2010, 06:27:46 PM
The Dubs undoubtedly had the result of the day. Not too many of us saw that coming. In fairness to Laois they came very close to upsetting Clare, Rigney seems to have them moving in the right direction. Surprisingly comprehensive win for Carlow too, fair play to them.
Post by: thejuice on February 28, 2010, 07:38:15 PM
Well done to the Dubs, would be nice to see them carry this into the summer and take a big scalp. Meath came away with a draw against Armagh. Happy enough with that.
Post by: Onlooker on February 28, 2010, 07:41:44 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on February 28, 2010, 06:02:03 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 28, 2010, 05:16:28 PM

What about Dublin? One of the best days I've had in Parnell ;D
Fine performance by Dublin, probably their best in the NHL for years.  As a Tipp man, I thought we were awful, but I would not take anything away from Dublin.  They could, and probably should, have won by more.  This is a serious wake up call for Tipp and there are serious problems re lack of depth outside the regular starting 15.
Post by: orangeman on February 28, 2010, 07:56:07 PM
Where did that Dublin performance come from ???

Did Tipp undersetimate them ?
Post by: stevecw on February 28, 2010, 10:10:02 PM
Quote from: slow corner back on February 28, 2010, 06:27:46 PM
The Dubs undoubtedly had the result of the day. Not too many of us saw that coming. In fairness to Laois they came very close to upsetting Clare, Rigney seems to have them moving in the right direction. Surprisingly comprehensive win for Carlow too, fair play to them.

Yes it was a much bigger than expected win for us. I only saw the 2nd half, as for some crazy reason our footballers were playing wexford in O'Byrne shield final at 1.30 in a different part of Carlow. Hurling started at 2.30...so missed 1st half of hurling as did many others who were at the football.
In 2nd half we totally dominated them, and for a change took our chances. 5-17 is a great score to get. Pity we couldn't have had that kind of accuracy last week in Casement.
But encouraging signs, play Down away next..and then Wexford and Clare at home. If we keep playing like today, might manage to pull off a shock v one of the big 2!
Post by: imtommygunn on February 28, 2010, 10:47:46 PM
Down -Carlow should be interesting though I'd expect Carlow to win by a few.

Dublin looked a lot fitter than Tipp. While it was a great result I do think it was perhaps reflective of where they were at in their training...

Galway made waterford look very ordinary though the goalie deflecting a point into the net was the beginning of the end for Waterford. A lot of waterford old hands not about. I would think looking at it it'll be a few years before they're a force again in munster. (I would expect a few of them back in the summer though)
Post by: mountainboii on February 28, 2010, 10:48:43 PM
Quote from: thejuice on February 28, 2010, 07:38:15 PM
Well done to the Dubs, would be nice to see them carry this into the summer and take a big scalp. Meath came away with a draw against Armagh. Happy enough with that.

Yis got very lucky it seems, equaliser in the 6th minute of injury time. Another good result for Armagh against a Christy Ring team though, no reason why we can't be playing in that competition next year.
Post by: INDIANA on March 01, 2010, 08:54:15 AM
Quote from: orangeman on February 28, 2010, 07:56:07 PM
Where did that Dublin performance come from ???

Did Tipp undersetimate them ?

Dublins was a reaction from last week. I would say Tipp had themselves all geared to play Kilkenny and mentally suffered a bit when it was called off. All respects to ourselves but playing Dublin was probably a bit of  a letdown after that. Sheedy won't worry too much about losing to us. The only thing I'll say is Tipp are still heavily reliant on Eoin Kelly and I would say that more than anything will worry Sheedy. They have some other fantastic forwards but the jury is till out whether they will take up the slack if Kelly was injured.

We were so bad last week hard not to underestimate us. Best we've played probably for about 5/6 years since we beat Kilkennys full team in a Walsh Cup final.  But consistency has always been our problem. So the Offaly game is huge in 2 weeks. And Offaly will feel that is a game at home that is there to be won for them.
Post by: deiseach on March 01, 2010, 11:55:32 AM
Cheers for that, Dublin. Are Waterford any good or not? No fecking idea at this point
Post by: cicfada on March 01, 2010, 12:45:31 PM
Quote from: deiseach on March 01, 2010, 11:55:32 AM
Cheers for that, Dublin. Are Waterford any good or not? No fecking idea at this point

Hey deis...long time no read!!
Hard to say  how good Waterford or indeed Galway are at  this stage!! We will see in the Summer  I guess. A big gamble on davy's part resting the more senior lads and Galway have to find a  few forwards to help JC out!! The draw is not bad for Galway in Leinster and Waterford would be playing the winners of Cork v Tipp v Limerick...assuming they get over Clare themselves  of course!! A good league campaign is vital to both teams. galway play Tipp next of course in Thurles!! Should be interesting!
Post by: INDIANA on March 01, 2010, 01:22:37 PM
Quote from: cicfada on March 01, 2010, 12:45:31 PM
Quote from: deiseach on March 01, 2010, 11:55:32 AM

Hey deis...long time no read!!
Hard to say  how good Waterford or indeed Galway are at  this stage!! We will see in the Summer  I guess. A big gamble on davy's part resting the more senior lads and Galway have to find a  few forwards to help JC out!! The draw is not bad for Galway in Leinster and Waterford would be playing the winners of Cork v Tipp v Limerick...assuming they get over Clare themselves  of course!! A good league campaign is vital to both teams. galway play Tipp next of course in Thurles!! Should be interesting!

How many of those senior players will start for Waterford this year? Bar Mc Grath, Kelly and Mullane I would be surprsied if any of the others missing make the first 15. I think a lot of the current players will be playing. Those 3 though would make a huge difference to any side.
Post by: lilpaulie85 on March 01, 2010, 06:09:21 PM
Tony Browne will be brought back in aswell so i would think wil Eoin Murphy. Maybe not till the championship tough. The team playing at the moment need more games under their belt to improve plus alot of them will need to improve their strenght in the tackle. Some very promising players on display in the waterford team at present and with all the older heads due back it should provide competition for places throughout the season.
Post by: orangeman on March 07, 2010, 09:36:50 PM
Liam Sheedy pushed Cody along the sideline today in a confrontation.

That would be a fair auld scrap I'd say.

Who would you put your money on ??
Post by: imtommygunn on March 07, 2010, 09:50:55 PM
Dunno about that. We don't know what Cody said and he looked mighty peeved too so it wasn't like he had won by riling him up.
Post by: orangeman on March 07, 2010, 10:46:01 PM
What about getting Cody and Sheedy into a ring in Croke Park, get a few auld boxers like Dunne, Mc Closkey and boys like that as the undercard, fill the place and raise a few yoyos for the teams training funds ?? Of course Cody and Sheedy would have to cut a cut as well.

Croke Park might only charge around €800,000 for use of the facilities - cut price rate for the GAA !   ;)
Post by: INDIANA on March 08, 2010, 10:50:12 AM
Tipp needed that win yesterday badly. But they needed most of their choice 15 to do it. thats the reality and Cody won't be too unhappy missing half his team yesterday. Tipp need to find some depth somewhere. Sheedy looked a bit silly to be honest- shouldn't be putting himself under that strain for a league game. No-one in Tipp will remember that game if kilkenny beat them in the championship. But from morale's point of view Tipp needed to win and they did.
Still think Galway are the team most likely to beat Kilkenny.

However Kilkenny have a problem in the sense their is no long-term replacement for Henry. Henry was DJ's replacement. Who's Henry's? Shefflin is 50% of what makes kilkenny unbeatable and they aren't the same without him. I would have expected Kilkenny to have a  replacement by now and I think its going to make them more beatable n the years ahead.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 08, 2010, 10:59:27 AM
I think Noel Hickey is another one that's tough to replace INDIANA. I don't think it's coincidence that last year was probably the closest games Kilkenny had in the 4 in a row, with Dublin, Waterford, Galway and Tipp all being well in games with them. Dublin apart the rest scored on them, and I think Noel Hickey's absence had a lot to do with that. Brian Hogan is grand, but I think he's a hurler. Noel Hickey can hurl, but he is the ultimate guardian of the square.

Post by: orangeman on March 08, 2010, 04:00:55 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 08, 2010, 10:59:27 AM
I think Noel Hickey is another one that's tough to replace INDIANA. I don't think it's coincidence that last year was probably the closest games Kilkenny had in the 4 in a row, with Dublin, Waterford, Galway and Tipp all being well in games with them. Dublin apart the rest scored on them, and I think Noel Hickey's absence had a lot to do with that. Brian Hogan is grand, but I think he's a hurler. Noel Hickey can hurl, but he is the ultimate guardian of the square.
[/b][/size]

Couldn't agree more - Hickey just gets her out of there and up the field. Hard nut.
Post by: heffo on March 08, 2010, 04:03:58 PM
Noel Hickey can hurl, but he is the ultimate guardian of the square.

Whats the latest on his injuries - I heard a while back that he'd be back towards the end of the league but rumours persist that he's had a further breakdown - hope he makes a full recovery...top class full back..
Post by: Asal Mor on March 08, 2010, 04:09:41 PM
Yes and  of course the last time they lost in the championship Hickey was missing, and Niall Healy scored a hat-trick at full - forward. I wish him well but it's hard to imagine he will be able to regain his former magnificence.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 08, 2010, 05:15:54 PM
Quote from: heffo on March 08, 2010, 04:03:58 PM
Noel Hickey can hurl, but he is the ultimate guardian of the square.

Whats the latest on his injuries - I heard a while back that he'd be back towards the end of the league but rumours persist that he's had a further breakdown - hope he makes a full recovery...top class full back..

I think he was on the bench on Sunday.
Post by: bottlethrower7 on March 09, 2010, 12:16:30 PM
he was. Hes back and injury free now, and all he needs is to bring his hurling up to speed.

It remains to be seen what Cody has in mind longer term for full back. Tyrell is going so well at 6, and its hard to drop Hogan, so Hickey might just find himself crowded out.
Post by: INDIANA on March 09, 2010, 12:49:18 PM
Quote from: bottlethrower7 on March 09, 2010, 12:16:30 PM
he was. Hes back and injury free now, and all he needs is to bring his hurling up to speed.

It remains to be seen what Cody has in mind longer term for full back. Tyrell is going so well at 6, and its hard to drop Hogan, so Hickey might just find himself crowded out.

No comparison between Hogan and Hickey in my view. Hogan is a fine hurler but Hickey is different league. I don't think kilkenny will win this year without Hickey- nearly cost them the all-ireland last year.
Post by: Reillers on March 11, 2010, 11:14:12 PM
Cork team for the KK match..

The Cork Senior Hurling team to play Kilkenny in the Allianz National Hurling League on Sunday, March 14th at 2.30pm in Páirc Uí Chaoimh will be as follows:

1. Donal Og Cusack - Cloyne
   2. Shane O'Neill - Bishopstown
   3. Eoin Cadogan - Douglas
   4. Shane Murphy - Erin's Own
   5. John Gardiner - Na Piarsaigh
   6. Ronan Curran - St Finbarr's
   7. Brian Murphy - Bride Rovers
   8. Tom Kenny - Grenagh
   9. Cathal Naughton - Newtownshandrum
  10. Ben O'Connor - Newtownshandrum
  11. Mark O'Sullivan - Dripsey
  12. Niall McCarthy - Carrigtwohill
  13. Kieran Murphy - Sarsfields (Captain)
  14. Aisake O hAilpín - Na Piarsaigh
  15. Patrick Horgan - Glen Rovers

Subs:
Anthony Nash - Kanturk
Conor O'Sullivan - Sarsfields
Sean Óg O hAilpín - Na Piarsaigh
Michael Walsh - Kildorrery
Graham Callanan - Glen Rovers
Jerry O'Connor - Newtownshandrum
Michael Cussen - Sarsfields
Paudie O'Sullivan - Cloyne
Luke O'Farrell - Midleton

Eh..that team. While it's great to see that mid pairing..the rest..some major problems.
And even the bench is poor. No Egan, no Ray Ryan, no Cian McCarthy, no Chris Murphy, no O Leary, hopefully he's just being rested after the Fitzgibbon Cup. But really like.

But some of the decisions are a bit strange. Hoggie still lost up at corner forward..Shane O Neill still in the corner, Gaa at 5, Curran at 6 again, Brian Murphy on the wing yet again ffs. ..Niall mc ahead of Cian mc and Aisake ahead of Cussen. That's a bit of a joke. There's no way he should be in there aheadof Cussen. And Niall Mac against Kilkenny ahead of Cian McCarthy..what's the point like ffs.
Like there are positives. While there are some strange decisions sub wise, Mike Walsh and Luke O'Farrell are on the panel Mark O'Sullivan at centre forward is a plus. As it having the Newtown boys eventually back.

I'm worried about that half back line, can't see it holding. It's a tad bit suicidal to be fair. Sure fingers crossed. I thought that we'd give them a right go, but now..with that team. Was looking forward to going to the match..now dreading it a bit. You're asking for trouble with that team.

But wait and see I suppose.
Post by: Asal Mor on March 12, 2010, 11:13:53 AM
Reillers, what's the story with Sean Og and Jerry O Connor? Are they returning from injuries or are they just not making the team at the mo? Aisake ahead of Cussen seems a strange one alright given their recent performances.
Post by: heffo on March 12, 2010, 12:12:16 PM
How do you see it going Reillers?
Post by: INDIANA on March 12, 2010, 12:53:40 PM
tipp v galway is the clash of the weekend. Kilkenny are missing a good few so I'd see their match with cork being tight enough with both defences dominating.

Offaly v Dublin is too close to call despite our win against tipp- offaly in tullamore will be very very difficullt and waterford will mince limerick.

Tipp v Galway should be a cracker. Heading to Tullamore myself so I'll miss it.
Post by: GAA_Punter on March 12, 2010, 01:01:09 PM
Allianz National Hurling League Division 1 Round 3
Tipperary v Galway, 2.30pm, Semple Stadium, Thurles

Having secured victory over Kilkenny last weekend after their Round 1 clash with the Cats eventually got the go-ahead Tipperary enter this Sunday's game with one victory from two games.
Galway are currently unbeaten and recorded a comfortable three goal win over Waterford two-weeks ago.
NUI Galway's Fitzgibbon Cup success last weekend will be a boost for the likes of John Lee approaching this tie. However a repeat display by Tipperary's of last weekend's performance will see them edge a tight encounter.

VERDICT – Tipperary
Allianz National Hurling League Division 1 Round 3
Cork v Kilkenny, 2.30pm, Páirc Uí Chaoimh

Cork welcome back Newtownshandrum duo Ben O'Connor and Cathal Naughton for this 'battle of the titans' at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.
It's a welcome boost for Denis Walsh's charges, with Donal Og Cusack also recalled between the posts.
Kilkenny are wounded after losing to rivals Tipperary last weekend, but the Cats rarely lose two games in succession and are unlikely to do so this Sunday.
VERDICT – Kilkenny

Rest the weekend hurling previews on
http://www.sportsnewsireland.com/2010/03/12/weekend-hurling-previews-saturday-13th-sunday-14th-march/
Post by: seafoid on March 12, 2010, 01:45:25 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 12, 2010, 12:53:40 PM

Offaly v Dublin is too close to call despite our win against tipp- offaly in tullamore will be very very difficullt and waterford will mince limerick.

Do the Waterford lads do much mincing ?
Post by: Reillers on March 12, 2010, 02:12:04 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on March 12, 2010, 11:13:53 AM
Reillers, what's the story with Sean Og and Jerry O Connor? Are they returning from injuries or are they just not making the team at the mo? Aisake ahead of Cussen seems a strange one alright given their recent performances.

Sean Og is injured. He's resting Jerry I suppose.
Looking at it now. Like while there are some strange decisions the bench is strong enough, we're not wasting space. And we've Jerry, Cussen, and as well Luck O Farrell who's playing really well and Paidi who seems to have come back into form.
It's better than previous years anyway. It's good to see Naughton start midfield with Kenny, which is what I think could be a great partnership, but in some ways it's dissapointing to see Gaa dropped back when he's been doing really well in the mid, hopefully he'll end up dropping back to the centre in the hb line because I really wouldn't play him anywhere else.
It's good to see Mark Sull up at centre forward, he's been doing well and it'll be a big test up against Tyrell who's been hurling well of late.

I don't understand what he's doing with Brian Murphy and Shane O Neill. THe other positions and choices you can find an explanation, a reason for them. But I just see no reason for what he's doing position wise with these two players.

And when it comes to Aisake well, it's sink or swim at this stage, he needs to up it a bit and prove himself. Curran has to step up as well.

I don't know..sure at the end of the day I suppose it's only the 3rd game in in the League and things are still being experimented with and positions and players being tested. We'll have to wait and see. It's not the team a lot of us would have picked, but it's interesting and there's a strong bench as well.
If he changed it around slightly I would have been looking forward to it positively hoping for a good result..now. Not so sure. Fingers crossed though. It's our first time in a long time that we've played KK on equal ground, ya it's only the start of the League but it will be a good barometer for where we are and where we need to be.
Post by: Asal Mor on March 13, 2010, 11:45:33 AM
Should be a cracker anyway, played at championship intensity. It always adds to the spectacle when the two teams dislike eack other as much as these two do. As well as Tipp have been doing in the last year, Cork v Kilkenny is still the most enthralling clash in hurling.
Post by: orangeman on March 14, 2010, 06:32:14 PM
Great win by Cork against KK. Some performance. Fair dues to them and considering they weren't full out it was a great victory.
Post by: Reillers on March 14, 2010, 07:28:09 PM
Well that was more then interesting. Full hell for leather stuff at times. Very fired up match.
There are positives and negatives to take out of it, but f**k it like, we beat KK and that's always a great feeling.
Post by: Minder on March 14, 2010, 07:31:22 PM
I was actually more impressed with Kilkenny today, especially the fact that they played the second half with 14 men. Was great match this early in the year. Gardiner had some game for Cork.
Post by: Reillers on March 14, 2010, 07:39:26 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 14, 2010, 07:31:22 PM
I was actually more impressed with Kilkenny today, especially the fact that they played the second half with 14 men. Was great match this early in the year. Gardiner had some game for Cork.

Post by: Minder on March 14, 2010, 07:46:02 PM
Quote from: Reillers on March 14, 2010, 07:39:26 PM

Reasoned debate as usual Reillers.
Post by: Reillers on March 14, 2010, 07:48:13 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 14, 2010, 07:46:02 PM

An incredible amount of bitter people I've come across today. So excuse my lack of patience.
Post by: glens73 on March 14, 2010, 07:54:27 PM
I had a wager on Cork at 12/1 the other day, to win the All Ireland, too good a price to turn down for a county of their stature.
Post by: Minder on March 14, 2010, 07:55:10 PM
Quote from: Reillers on March 14, 2010, 07:48:13 PM

An incredible amount of bitter people I've come across today. So excuse my lack of patience.

WTF would I be bitter about ? Kilkenny matched Cork for the whole second half minus a player if you can't applaud that maybe it is you that is the bitter one.
Post by: slow corner back on March 14, 2010, 08:11:09 PM
Just a curiosity question here but when was the last time Cork beat KK before today?
Post by: Minder on March 14, 2010, 08:12:36 PM
Quote from: slow corner back on March 14, 2010, 08:11:09 PM
Just a curiosity question here but when was the last time Cork beat KK before today?

2004 AIF? Maybe a league match but I can't remember.
Post by: slow corner back on March 14, 2010, 08:41:56 PM
I was thinking the AIF if so it is a hell of a long time.
Post by: Reillers on March 14, 2010, 09:36:46 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 14, 2010, 07:55:10 PM

WTF would I be bitter about ? Kilkenny matched Cork for the whole second half minus a player if you can't applaud that maybe it is you that is the bitter one.
Read my post (I can only dream) I never said you were bitter. I said I came across incredibly bitter people today, leaving me with f**k all patience.
Post by: heffo on March 14, 2010, 09:52:34 PM

Leave Donal Og, 'Ga', Sean Og and 'Sully' out of this..
Post by: Minder on March 14, 2010, 09:52:59 PM
Quote from: Reillers on March 14, 2010, 09:36:46 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 14, 2010, 07:55:10 PM

Read my post (I can only dream) I never said you were bitter. I said I came across incredibly bitter people today, leaving me with f**k all patience.

Fair enough.
Post by: Reillers on March 14, 2010, 10:04:07 PM
Quote from: heffo on March 14, 2010, 09:52:34 PM

Leave Donal Og, 'Ga', Sean Og and 'Sully' out of this..

The same Donal Og and Ga who had blinder of games. Sean Og, injured. And Sully, incase you didn't know..is retired. His brother was excellent today though.
Showed no sign of biterness. Just incredible motivation as ever.
Post by: Minder on March 14, 2010, 10:07:26 PM
I thought Donal Og should have kept the goal out.
Post by: Reillers on March 14, 2010, 10:07:56 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 14, 2010, 10:07:26 PM
I thought Donal Og should have kept the goal out.
Made a few good saves, including a penalty.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 14, 2010, 10:11:38 PM
Cork having settled down after the controversy last year, could be the team to deny KK the 5 in a row. I've a sneaky suspicion they might beat Tipp on the 31st of May.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 14, 2010, 10:53:45 PM
Definitely thought cusack should have saved the goal. I think he knew it himself as Mulhall didn't hit it as well as he could have.

Still don't think Cork will have the forwards to challenge come business end but they look in better nick. They're probably capable of beating anyone but KK on their day though. The young O'Sullivan looked good though.

KK will probably replace the FB line(depending on what happens with Hogan/ Hickey), the midfield and 3 of 6 forwards come championship. Cork will replace about 3 players so that also tells you how close they were to full strength.

It will make Munster interesting again this year now that Cork are back again though. Be good to see a Cork - Tipp munster final.
Post by: Minder on March 14, 2010, 11:09:00 PM
Cork play Tipp on May 30th in Munster Championship.
Post by: Reillers on March 14, 2010, 11:23:54 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 14, 2010, 10:53:45 PM
Definitely thought cusack should have saved the goal. I think he knew it himself as Mulhall didn't hit it as well as he could have.

Still don't think Cork will have the forwards to challenge come business end but they look in better nick. They're probably capable of beating anyone but KK on their day though. The young O'Sullivan looked good though.

KK will probably replace the FB line(depending on what happens with Hogan/ Hickey), the midfield and 3 of 6 forwards come championship. Cork will replace about 3 players so that also tells you how close they were to full strength.

It will make Munster interesting again this year now that Cork are back again though. Be good to see a Cork - Tipp munster final.

Probably should have saved the goal all right, but like I said kept us in right in there with a few good saves, including a penalty.
We need to figure out who we are going to play up front. We've the O Connor twins, Ben who on his day would get into any team in the country, he was incredibly one of the worst players on the pitch today and that's rare and a one off I presume, he looked totally shattered when he came off. Jerry should now imo be played up in the forward line.

Aisake won a lot of ball today, but wasn't on the same wave length as the lads outside him, and hopefully with time that connection will improve. Cussen didn't have enough time to prove what he could do today, hopefully we'll see him against Tipp and see players that should have been in the squad today, players that could answer questions for us, rightly there.
Mark O Sullivan was nervous and it was seen but he is one for the future, and Naughton will be flying hopefully come the summer. He's come on a lot.

Young Sully Og was very good today and will only improve with game time. He was given an awful go of it for the last 2 years, no one gave him praise or encouragement from the management staff and when you're subbed early on in a game, and not said a word to early on if very disheartening for anyones, especially a young fella starting out. I really hope he pushes on now.

It would be good to see a Cork Tipp Munster final..pity we're playing them first..again.

Anyways, a good enough day out, result ore so than performance from a few. We've a long way to go yet, but still it's early yet, and we've a few players to come back and positions to sort out.
As for KK sure the win was just unfortunate one off, with us having "zero talent" and with the O Connors being "finished" and all..then sure we've no hope.

Would love to see us lift Munster, would love to say the AI, but only if we sorted out our forwards. We've a few handy players around, problem is they're either past it or too inexperienced.

We'll hopefully push on, while KK will be a different kettle of fish come further on in the season. They don't peak, they don't have to peak till well, Galway now I suppose, while we've to work and push on for Tipp, first game round. Will be interesting to see how we go.
Post by: Asal Mor on March 15, 2010, 01:42:25 AM
It was vital for Cork to win yesterday. They were at home and near enough to full-strength against a Kilkenny team missing about 7 of their championship starters and down to 14 men for the second half.Given how seriously both teams took the game it could have killed Cork's morale to lose yesterday. They should take huge heart from this and seem to be building well.

Disastrous day for Galway yesterday. Anyone here at the match in Thurles yesterday? What went wrong in the second half?
Everything by the sound of it.
Post by: johnneycool on March 15, 2010, 08:25:50 AM
Question;

Donal O'g came well off the line for the penalty, is that allowed? That's not a dig at him as i think its the right thing to do, just wondering if its legal or not.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 15, 2010, 09:14:08 AM
Great win for Offaly yesterday, and they certainly bucked a trend whereby there's been umpteen second half fadeouts. 3-19 is a good score against a good team, and hopefully that will give Offaly a bit of confidence that they can compete at this level. Dublin beat Tipp, Tipp beat Kilkenny and Galway, Galway beat Waterford. Obviously it doesn't work like that, but it should at least give them the idea that they deserve to be up in Division 1, and can compete with the teams there.

Post by: cicfada on March 15, 2010, 09:30:01 AM
 A bitter reality check for Galway hyrlers yesterday in Semple Stadium. Only 1 piont in the second half.....not good enough!!  Portumna lads can't come back quick enough!!Howver a chance to get back on track against an improving Offaly team   at home this week!!I will be at the match next Saturday in Pearse Stadium, fancy meeting up AZ?
Post by: Last Man on March 15, 2010, 10:33:18 AM
Watched the 1st half on skyplus this morning before heading to work, Aisake impressed with his ball winning ability but his decisions thereafter were ropey to say the least. The potential of a Corcoranesque ffwd in O'Hailpin or Cussen could be deadly if they can get their heads right. Think Cussen deserves a good run next day out.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 15, 2010, 11:16:31 AM
Reillers Ben O'Connor is a cracking player but for some reason every time he marks JJ Delaney he does nothing. Even with Delaney beign subbed yesterday.
Post by: INDIANA on March 15, 2010, 11:26:13 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 15, 2010, 09:14:08 AM
Great win for Offaly yesterday, and they certainly bucked a trend whereby there's been umpteen second half fadeouts. 3-19 is a good score against a good team, and hopefully that will give Offaly a bit of confidence that they can compete at this level. Dublin beat Tipp, Tipp beat Kilkenny and Galway, Galway beat Waterford. Obviously it doesn't work like that, but it should at least give them the idea that they deserve to be up in Division 1, and can compete with the teams there.

Good win for Offaly we were crap. After not hurling at all in the first half we were blessed to go in level and then went 3 points up in the 2nd half and collapsed. No excuses better team won. But the inconsistency of Dublin's performances is baffling at the moment. In trouble in the full back line all day. No player should be allowed score 2-11. I can't remember Dooley getting even one decent clip of a shoulder in the entire game. If that was Kilkenny he'd have been put on his arse after the first few scores. Too bloody nice in there. Typical Dublin.

Mc Caffrey is playing his best hurling again thankfully but that was about the only plus. Inconsistent up front all day. Offaly backs were up and strong and outhurled us. Thought Oakley enjoyed dishing out a bit of punishment on Rushe in the 2nd half. Couple of filthy pulls quite frankly. If it was me on the line I'd have sent one of the older lads in to pull low and early to put some manners on him. But thats Dublin hurling all over -too soft and too nice. And yesterday was a case study in being pushed around yet again by Offaly. offaly are a good side and will go quite well this year I'd say. Used their physique well and fair play to them thats the way it should be.

Is it any wonder we can't match Munster sides physically when we allow people to do that to us? Not in my opinion. Until as such time we decide to lower the blades when the ocasion demands it we are going to be continually pushed around by teams. Every team in the country thinks we are soft. And to tell you the truth they are dead right. We are too bloody nice. We've no physicality in our hurling.

Back to another drawing board for Dublin. If we had shares in drawing boards we'd be millionaires.
Post by: INDIANA on March 15, 2010, 11:27:56 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 15, 2010, 11:16:31 AM
Reillers Ben O'Connor is a cracking player but for some reason every time he marks JJ Delaney he does nothing. Even with Delaney beign subbed yesterday.

JJ Delaney is probably in the top 10 hurlers ever to played the game. Thats the reality. For all the hype about Tommy Walsh I know who'd I want if given a choice.
Post by: johnneycool on March 15, 2010, 11:40:10 AM
Down were beaten by a far better Carlow outfit yesterday and to be fair to the lads they battled away for the 70 minutes and were in the lead for most of the second half mostly due to a fortuitous goal caused by the Carlow fullback dropping a ball into his own net when it looked to be going wide. Only big Magic can hold his own in the physicality stakes as he was the only Down man in the 14 pairings bigger than his opposite number

Carlow have some very tidy hurlers who all looked on the youngish side so they'll be competitive with most teams in this division. They should have beaten Down by far more than two points but losing the centre back to two yellows early in the second half slowed their progress.

Very dissappointed in Owen Elliotts refereeing as I've seen him do better many's a time. He got a bit slabbery at some players in a belittling kind of way and I think referee's lose a bit of authority by doing that. He blew a few petty fouls then a few minutes later would have missed a wild pull which led to the odd melee that threatened to break out.

The Westmeath and Kildare games are must wins for Down at this stage.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 15, 2010, 11:48:42 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 15, 2010, 11:26:13 AM

Good win for Offaly we were crap. After not hurling at all in the first half we were blessed to go in level and then went 3 points up in the 2nd half and collapsed. No excuses better team won. But the inconsistency of Dublin's performances is baffling at the moment. In trouble in the full back line all day. No player should be allowed score 2-11. I can't remember Dooley getting even one decent clip of a shoulder in the entire game. If that was Kilkenny he'd have been put on his arse after the first few scores. Too bloody nice in there. Typical Dublin.

Mc Caffrey is playing his best hurling again thankfully but that was about the only plus. Inconsistent up front all day. Offaly backs were up and strong and outhurled us. Thought Oakley enjoyed dishing out a bit of punishment on Rushe in the 2nd half. Couple of filthy pulls quite frankly. If it was me on the line I'd have sent one of the older lads in to pull low and early to put some manners on him. But thats Dublin hurling all over -too soft and too nice. And yesterday was a case study in being pushed around yet again by Offaly. offaly are a good side and will go quite well this year I'd say. Used their physique well and fair play to them thats the way it should be.

Is it any wonder we can't match Munster sides physically when we allow people to do that to us? Not in my opinion. Until as such time we decide to lower the blades when the ocasion demands it we are going to be continually pushed around by teams. Every team in the country thinks we are soft. And to tell you the truth they are dead right. We are too bloody nice. We've no physicality in our hurling.

Back to another drawing board for Dublin. If we had shares in drawing boards we'd be millionaires.

Any particular reason INDIANA? Oakley is not a hatchet man normally. He bursts himself trying every day, without the skills to match, but he is usually a wholehearted player without dirt. I'd be surprised if he was pulling badly for no reason. He's no shrinking violet mind you, but it's not really in his hurling nature to skull lads or anything. Wondering what set him off.
Post by: INDIANA on March 15, 2010, 12:04:38 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 15, 2010, 11:48:42 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 15, 2010, 11:26:13 AM

Any particular reason INDIANA? Oakley is not a hatchet man normally. He bursts himself trying every day, without the skills to match, but he is usually a wholehearted player without dirt. I'd be surprised if he was pulling badly for no reason. He's no shrinking violet mind you, but it's not really in his hurling nature to skull lads or anything. Wondering what set him off.

He came right down on Rushe's head twice in the 2nd half. Thought it was dirty myself. Don't think he'd have done it to Henry or Eoin Larkin. Makes no difference these things happen in games and you have to deal with them. As ever we didn't. Offaly are Dublin's complete nemesis. We have an appalling record against them. Dooley doing a decent job there.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on March 15, 2010, 03:26:24 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on March 15, 2010, 12:04:38 PM
He came right down on Rushe's head twice in the 2nd half. Thought it was dirty myself. Don't think he'd have done it to Henry or Eoin Larkin.
Oakley wouldn't spare anyone from any county. Though his pulling at the ball is often wild by accident and exuberance  rather than intention.
He was definitely what Offaly needed as Dublin had been on top around the middle third. Once Dublin weren't able to catch the ball cleanly and distribute it through the hands, Offaly had the beating of them on the deck. Dublin players bending down trying to rise it yielded rich pickings for Offaly players flicking it away.
I think Dublin may depend too much on the tightness of Parnell Park where the ball doesn't go to ground as much.

The trick now for Anthony Daly is to prepare for teams who will look to test Dublin physically.
The Munster teams will definitely do it in championship. In last year's Leinster final Kilkenny beat Dublin in a shooting contest without much bite. However that could be the end of the honeymoon and they next time they face the Cats, there may be a can of whup-ass unleashed.

Post by: awfulynice on March 15, 2010, 03:32:38 PM
Offaly had a good win, to be honest Offaly hurlers would have been focusing on this game and the one against Limerick to keep us in Division 1. Started well, didnt have the lead we deserved at half time, Dublin took some great scores from midfield, 7 points i think came from the two midfielders which is something Joe Dooley will have to look at. Dublin sounded a bit cocky before the game (looking at the rushe interview in the papers etc) and im not sure why dublin would be so confident?? To me Offaly, Dublin, Wexford, Clare & Limerick (With the exiled 29!!) are nearly on a par, all are about 5 - 6 points off Tipp, Cork & KK at the moment imo.

On Dublin beating Tipp, I know from someone on the Panel that they done seriously hard training the thursday and friday before the game, a lot of core and muscle building stuff and they really werent able to run about on the day.  So not trying to put Dublin hurling down, but I think ye may have slipped back a little from last year, but alll dublin supporters have to know, its going to take time, a genuine achievement for dublin over the next 4 - 5 years will be to stay in division 1 and perhaps win a leinster or at least get to another leinster final. Last year was a giant leap forward, you cant expect to take them every year, there is an unbelievable amount of interest in underage hurling in dublin, but its doubtful you will strike success with your first batch of competitive senior hurlers, the hardest thing to do in hurling is to bring a good minor / under 21 team up to senior level, be that at club or county level.

Back to Offaly, we can definately stay in division 1 which willl be a good start to the year, on the championship we could hope of a leinster final as the draw has been a lot kinder to us this year than last. After that either the qualifiers or the quarter finals will be a nice step forward. Lets hope that second half fade outs are a thing of the past from the faithful
Post by: AZOffaly on March 15, 2010, 03:36:57 PM
Quote from: awfulynice on March 15, 2010, 03:32:38 PM
Offaly had a good win, to be honest Offaly hurlers would have been focusing on this game and the one against Limerick to keep us in Division 1. Started well, didnt have the lead we deserved at half time, Dublin took some great scores from midfield, 7 points i think came from the two midfielders which is something Joe Dooley will have to look at. Dublin sounded a bit cocky before the game (looking at the rushe interview in the papers etc) and im not sure why dublin would be so confident?? To me Offaly, Dublin, Wexford, Clare & Limerick (With the exiled 29!!) are nearly on a par, all are about 5 - 6 points off Tipp, Cork & KK at the moment imo.

On Dublin beating Tipp, I know from someone on the Panel that they done seriously hard training the thursday and friday before the game, a lot of core and muscle building stuff and they really werent able to run about on the day.  So not trying to put Dublin hurling down, but I think ye may have slipped back a little from last year, but alll dublin supporters have to know, its going to take time, a genuine achievement for dublin over the next 4 - 5 years will be to stay in division 1 and perhaps win a leinster or at least get to another leinster final. Last year was a giant leap forward, you cant expect to take them every year, there is an unbelievable amount of interest in underage hurling in dublin, but its doubtful you will strike success with your first batch of competitive senior hurlers, the hardest thing to do in hurling is to bring a good minor / under 21 team up to senior level, be that at club or county level.

Back to Offaly, we can definately stay in division 1 which willl be a good start to the year, on the championship we could hope of a leinster final as the draw has been a lot kinder to us this year than last. After that either the qualifiers or the quarter finals will be a nice step forward. Lets hope that second half fade outs are a thing of the past from the faithful

More like 9 or 10 points really, if you're talking about Championship. If the likes of Tipp, Cork or Kilkenny (even Waterford or Galway) hit their straps in a Championship game against Offaly, Wexford, CLare, Dublin or Limerick, then 10 points would not be a surprising margin of defeat.

That said, games are played on the field, and if those teams have an off day, and you stick into them, there's no reason why those teams can't pull off a shock.

The problem with the qualifiers is that if that happens in Leinster or Munster, you'll end up facing them again in the 1/4 finals or something and it's hard to catch lightning in a bottle twice.
Post by: awfulynice on March 15, 2010, 04:45:33 PM
I think 5 - 6 points is more like it to be honest, although we (offaly) have a tendancy to be beat around 10 - 12 points by these teams its generally because we give up with 10 - 15 mins to go, whether that be because of belief or heart i dont know. If you look at the cork game (2 points down with ten minutes to go) the KK game (8 points away but missed some chances) i think the players believe they are 10 - 15 points away, and give it a go for 50 mins but as soon as a team get 5 - 6 points on them, theres a kind of "here we go again" attitude which thankfully didnt happen against dublin.
Post by: seafoid on March 16, 2010, 01:15:25 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 15, 2010, 03:36:57 PM
Quote from: awfulynice on March 15, 2010, 03:32:38 PM

The problem with the qualifiers is that if that happens in Leinster or Munster, you'll end up facing them again in the 1/4 finals or something and it's hard to catch lightning in a bottle twice.

Kilkenny should only get one chance. It would sharpen them up  ::) Otherwise other counties should be allowed to do an exorcism once every 5 years.