GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: tyroneman on February 13, 2010, 09:22:28 PM

Title: Who can stop Dublin?
Post by: tyroneman on February 13, 2010, 09:22:28 PM
They have beaten the All ireland Champions, they have now beaten the team which hammerd Tyrone........who can stop the Dubs this year.............?????????????????????????
Title: Re: Who can stop Dublin?
Post by: Redgreenery on February 13, 2010, 09:25:21 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on February 13, 2010, 09:22:28 PM
They have beaten the All ireland Champions, they have now beaten the team which hammerd Tyrone........who can stop the Dubs this year.............?????????????????????????

Mayo.
Post by: Minder on February 13, 2010, 09:28:27 PM
Where have you been Redgreenery?!
Post by: Redgreenery on February 13, 2010, 09:35:42 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 13, 2010, 09:28:27 PM
I've been around, but busy with school work lately and stuff!! Been keeping an eye on this every now and then though, from a safe distance!!  :D Miss me much then?! :)
Post by: Minder on February 13, 2010, 09:44:57 PM
Quote from: Redgreenery on February 13, 2010, 09:35:42 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 13, 2010, 09:28:27 PM
I've been around, but busy with school work lately and stuff!! Been keeping an eye on this every now and then though, from a safe distance!!  :D Miss me much then?! :)

The "latest scores" thread hasn't been the same. Welcome back.
Post by: ONeill on February 13, 2010, 09:52:50 PM
Beards.
Post by: Nally Stand on February 13, 2010, 09:54:31 PM
Anyone. By a huge margin in the AI quarter final.
Post by: Nally Stand on February 13, 2010, 09:55:19 PM
Anyone. By a huge margin in the AI quarter or semi final.
Post by: johnpower on February 13, 2010, 10:03:32 PM
Still credit where credit is due I thought that Derry would be a step too far for them .The question for Dublin is how will they approach the Leinster championship ?
Post by: Fishbat on February 13, 2010, 10:16:01 PM
easy on now.......dublin have class, thats true, but don't shit the nest......a great job on the animals though
Post by: johnpower on February 13, 2010, 10:19:46 PM
Quote from: Fishbat on February 13, 2010, 10:16:01 PM
easy on now.......dublin have class, thats true, but don't shit the nest......a great job on the animals though

I know Dublin have loads of  class .
Post by: Aaron Boone on February 14, 2010, 11:42:54 AM
What route does the open top bus take when the Dubs win Sam?
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 14, 2010, 12:30:33 PM
Probably the Hill and the hype.
Post by: Dinny Breen on February 14, 2010, 01:07:07 PM
KILDARE  ;D
Post by: Maguire01 on February 14, 2010, 01:51:26 PM
Quote from: johnpower on February 13, 2010, 10:03:32 PM
Still credit where credit is due I thought that Derry would be a step too far for them .
But to be fair, it was Derry without Paddy and Eoin Bradley. And Dublin only pulled away in the last 10 minutes.
Post by: The Aristocrat on February 14, 2010, 02:29:24 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 14, 2010, 01:51:26 PM
Quote from: johnpower on February 13, 2010, 10:03:32 PM
Still credit where credit is due I thought that Derry would be a step too far for them .
But to be fair, it was Derry without Paddy and Eoin Bradley. And Dublin only pulled away in the last 10 minutes.

Dublin were without A.Brogan, Quinn, Cahill, Connolly, Flynn, Henry, Cluxton, O Carroll, McMahon, Jayo, Cullen, Brennan,Keaney and no Whelan and Ryan  ;) and still manage to turn around a 10 point defeat last year to winning by 7 this year.

Also why is it always the culchnords that start threads on Dublin. Truly facinating.
Post by: ONeill on April 27, 2010, 10:08:43 PM
I'm buying into this as of tonight. Their seniors, U21s and minors in football and hurling could fecking lift silverware all over the joint this year

The future is sky blue. Bloody is too.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on April 27, 2010, 10:49:23 PM
who can stop Dublin, apart from themselves...Cork, kerry, Tyrone...etc...
Post by: rossie mad on April 28, 2010, 11:01:30 AM

The d4 media incorporating rte,the star which will have its daily two page spread on the dubs from next month on,i presume the other red tops are the same,the indo even with its hatred for everything GAA it still wants to see €€€,the times although this will be more to do with the coverage surrounding the financial setback on the GAA when the dubs get knocked out.
Post by: Canalman on April 28, 2010, 11:22:01 AM
Jeez lads, your obsession with the Dubs is a tad unhealthy. Dublin are rebuilding and I'm sorry to tell you that here in Dublin we know that. No silverware for the Dublin seniors this year. An U21 title would be great but unlikely also imo.
If you rely on the Star/Sun/E Herald as indicators of fact/ a true reflection of Dublin GAA thinking then I'm afraid there is no hope for you.
Post by: heffo on April 28, 2010, 12:32:44 PM
Quote from: rossie mad on April 28, 2010, 11:01:30 AM

The d4 media incorporating rte,the star which will have its daily two page spread on the dubs from next month on,i presume the other red tops are the same,the indo even

How many media outlets covering Gaa are based in D4?
Post by: ONeill on May 01, 2010, 08:47:21 PM
I'm telling yiz lads. These hoors mean business the year.
Post by: heffo on May 02, 2010, 02:09:13 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 01, 2010, 08:47:21 PM

Yerra  :P
Post by: INDIANA on May 04, 2010, 12:07:23 PM
Cavan beat Dublin in a challenge yesterday. End of the Dublin resurgence. Ah it was nice when it lasted.
Post by: Jinxy on May 04, 2010, 12:28:08 PM
Why was Rory O'Carroll playing in that challenge?  ???
Heard he had to go off injured.
Post by: heffo on May 04, 2010, 12:54:18 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 04, 2010, 12:28:08 PM
Why was Rory O'Carroll playing in that challenge?  ???
Heard he had to go off injured.

He wasn't and he didn't!
Post by: Jinxy on May 04, 2010, 01:38:40 PM
Where the hell did I read that.
Post by: INDIANA on May 04, 2010, 02:03:57 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 04, 2010, 01:38:40 PM
Where the hell did I read that.
Brother Ross O Carroll got injured against Antrim on thursday
Post by: Jinxy on May 04, 2010, 02:15:48 PM
Got my O'Carrolls mixed up.
Post by: mannix on May 04, 2010, 03:27:21 PM
They look great skinning folk in leinster but then collapse when the real games come. Much like our own Mayo lads. Neither will do much anytime soon.
Post by: johnpower on May 04, 2010, 11:02:50 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 01, 2010, 08:47:21 PM

Serious business , I think Leinster will be used as a training run . Wont make the mistakesof last number of Augusts
Post by: illdecide on May 05, 2010, 09:34:31 AM
Dublin to win Leinster at 1/1 is money from America...sell your house, your car and even your wife and get the money on Dublin for Leinster...it's a licence to print money 8)
Post by: The Aristocrat on May 05, 2010, 08:12:16 PM
Dubs wont win Leinster and will be hard to make even a quarter final this year with the rebuild job. Kildare are favorites and then Meath and maybe Wicklow and then Dublin if we get a bit luck.

Everybody talking up Kildare this year, i hope they can cope with the pressure.
Post by: antoinse on May 05, 2010, 09:22:32 PM
The Dublin clubs are doing it all by themselves buying in all the culchies and depriving their own club players of progressing.
Post by: heffo on May 05, 2010, 10:00:40 PM
Quote from: antoinse on May 05, 2010, 09:22:32 PM
The Dublin clubs are doing it all by themselves buying in all the culchies and depriving their own club players of progressing.

This is a new & interesting development that hasn't been discussed at length here before - tell us more.
Post by: antoinse on May 05, 2010, 11:47:18 PM
I know it has  been discussed to death but unfortunately the clubs are more interested in club championship than developing their own players from their own parish to represent their own county and win their own championship >:(.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 06, 2010, 06:23:38 PM
Quote from: The Aristocrat on May 05, 2010, 08:12:16 PM
Dubs wont win Leinster and will be hard to make even a quarter final this year with the rebuild job. Kildare are favorites and then Meath and maybe Wicklow and then Dublin if we get a bit luck.

Everybody talking up Kildare this year, i hope they can cope with the pressure.

Go way out of the yerrah talk for feck sake - it doesn't suit yee!

Certainly nobody within Kildare is talking up our chances. We were abysmal throughout the NFL.
Post by: stew on May 07, 2010, 07:27:33 PM
Quote from: heffo on May 05, 2010, 10:00:40 PM

:D :D :D :D :D

Brilliant stuff.

Dublin were and are shite, they will flatter to deceive and when they meet Armagh in the AI series they will get bitch slapped.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on May 08, 2010, 01:14:53 PM
Quote from: stew on May 07, 2010, 07:27:33 PM
Quote from: heffo on May 05, 2010, 10:00:40 PM

:D :D :D :D :D

Brilliant stuff.

Dublin were and are shite, they will flatter to deceive and when they meet Armagh in the AI series they will get bitch slapped.

agree - and im a tyrone man
Post by: longrunsthefox on May 08, 2010, 02:50:53 PM
Quote from: illdecide on May 05, 2010, 09:34:31 AM
Dublin to win Leinster at 1/1 is money from America...sell your house, your car and even your wife and get the money on Dublin for Leinster...it's a licence to print money 8)

There is no-one sending money from America these days. You're showing your age! I agree with you the Dubs will win Leinster alright and hopefully will have more backbone after that than in recent years.   
Post by: marym on May 08, 2010, 08:19:39 PM
Heard that Cork beat Dublin last nite in a friendly on a score of 2-22 to 0-6.
Post by: Hound on May 10, 2010, 08:48:58 PM
Quote from: marym on May 08, 2010, 08:19:39 PM
Heard that Cork beat Dublin last nite in a friendly on a score of 2-22 to 0-6.
Played in Portlaise.

I heard Cork were at about 75% full strength. Havent heard anything reliable re Dublin's line-up. Some tanking anyway!

Lots of minor injuries circulating about the squad. Leading to rumours regarding training methods. Not the greatest preparation, but Wexford is still 5 weeks away.
Post by: Hound on May 19, 2010, 03:52:43 PM
Dublin panel was supposed to be named last night, but instead its been deferred until at least this weekend.

However, 22 lads were told they are definitely in. So another 8 to be added.

Among those not in the 22 are Alan Brogan, Darren Magee, Bryan Cullen, Paddy Andrews and Jason Sherlock. No real suprise with the latter two, though most fans would have one or both in the squad. Word is that both Magee and Cullen are unlikely to make the cut - Magee is bit a journeyman alright, though not sure that we have 4 better than him. Cullen's had a back injury since Christmas, but I'd be a bit suprised if was cut from the panel.

While Bernard Brogan has been quoted this week as saying Gilroy is keeping everyone on their toes and nobody is guaranteed a place, I'm still presuming its a formality that Alan Brogan will make the panel (and the team for that matter!).
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 19, 2010, 06:14:03 PM
Dublin must have some footballers if they can afford to leave someone like Cullen out. He won them last year's Leinster Final by marking the space in between the half-back and full-back lines in the second half.

He is not a man marker though and that's why he was exposed against Kerry. I find it strange that Gilroy hasn't deployed him in the half-forward line and given him a license to roam and mark space. He was very good as a wing forward a bout four or five years back.
Post by: Hound on May 20, 2010, 09:50:57 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on May 19, 2010, 06:14:03 PM
He is not a man marker though and that's why he was exposed against Kerry. I find it strange that Gilroy hasn't deployed him in the half-forward line and given him a license to roam and mark space. He was very good as a wing forward a bout four or five years back.
Yeah, exactly. Wing forward under Gilroy should suit him down to the ground. He has been injured during the league campaign (his back), which has frustrated everyone including Gilroy who made some odd comment in the media that it was a serious injury. But now Cullen is back and says he's fit, but it may be too late.
Post by: thewanderer on May 20, 2010, 11:10:20 AM
who can stop dublin? DUBLIN who will self implode again
Post by: Jinxy on May 20, 2010, 01:17:14 PM
Clap, clap, clap-clap-clap, clap-clap-clap-clap

MEE AD!!
:P
Post by: INDIANA on May 20, 2010, 03:52:34 PM
Quote from: Hound on May 19, 2010, 03:52:43 PM
Dublin panel was supposed to be named last night, but instead its been deferred until at least this weekend.

Among those not in the 22 are Alan Brogan, Darren Magee, Bryan Cullen, Paddy Andrews and Jason Sherlock. No real suprise with the latter two, though most fans would have one or both in the squad. Word is that both Magee and Cullen are unlikely to make the cut - Magee is bit a journeyman alright, though not sure that we have 4 better than him. Cullen's had a back injury since Christmas, but I'd be a bit suprised if was cut from the panel.

While Bernard Brogan has been quoted this week as saying Gilroy is keeping everyone on their toes and nobody is guaranteed a place, I'm still presuming its a formality that Alan Brogan will make the panel (and the team for that matter!).

Dublin's chances will be rendered redundant when that panel is announced. Just remember who said it first. I'm still in a state of shock myself. Simply beggars belief. I keep thinking I'm in some sort of a paranoid delusionary dream that I'm going to wake up out of soon. Might take 18months though.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on May 20, 2010, 04:11:58 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 20, 2010, 03:52:34 PM

Dublin's chances will be rendered redundant when that panel is announced. Just remember who said it first. I'm still in a state of shock myself. Simply beggars belief. I keep thinking I'm in some sort of a paranoid delusionary dream that I'm going to wake up out of soon. Might take 18months though.

Is it the panel for just the Wexford game or for the season??
Post by: INDIANA on May 20, 2010, 04:15:35 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on May 20, 2010, 04:11:58 PM

The season. I suppose some of them might make the development panel. I suppose when you look at the omissions. Sam has to be coming home. If we have 30 players better then some of the omissions then Kerry and Cork can playoff for runner up.
Post by: Jinxy on May 20, 2010, 07:44:47 PM

Wouldn't be like you Indy to be pessimistic about Dublins chances.  ;)
Post by: Fuzzman on May 20, 2010, 08:00:31 PM
I presume Mcauley is in the squad?
Has a good chance of MF alongside Fennell?
Post by: heffo on May 21, 2010, 08:29:54 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 20, 2010, 04:15:35 PM

The season. I suppose some of them might make the development panel. I suppose when you look at the omissions. Sam has to be coming home. If we have 30 players better then some of the omissions then Kerry and Cork can playoff for runner up.

Brogan is going to make the 30 from what I've heard - Cullen is still 50/50
Post by: INDIANA on May 21, 2010, 09:22:21 AM
Quote from: heffo on May 21, 2010, 08:29:54 AM

Well if Al is barely good enough to make the 30 being dublin's best player of the last 6/7 years with 2 allstars- sam will be annexed in sept. A pretty embarrassing chapter all round. Why do we continue to treat our best players with such little regard.

Heard Andrews and Cullen won't. Magee too.
Post by: small white mayoman on May 21, 2010, 09:35:14 AM
Quote from: Bensars on May 21, 2010, 09:31:09 AM
Surely that cant be right ?

Where have all these players who are better than Brogan suddenly came from ?

surely brogan would have to be a shoe in for the team  ??? is he is back from injury i thought i read somewhere that he scored 2 points in a club championship game last week with jayo scoring 4
Post by: heffo on May 21, 2010, 09:48:27 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 21, 2010, 09:22:21 AM

Well if Al is barely good enough to make the 30 being dublin's best player of the last 6/7 years with 2 allstars- sam will be annexed in sept. A pretty embarrassing chapter all round. Why do we continue to treat our best players with such little regard.

Magee out - more to the Andrews issue than football
Post by: Declan on May 21, 2010, 11:11:19 AM
Mind boggling if Alan is left out alright - I'm with Indiana on the delusional bit
Post by: INDIANA on May 21, 2010, 11:57:54 AM
Quote from: heffo on May 21, 2010, 09:48:27 AM

heffo- in fairness would you not agree the Andrews thing is embarrassing? I mean its not as if he was oin the lash in Coppers or something. Darren was the best midfielder on view in the recent club championship- I saw 6 games involving the  best sides and he was outstanding bet Rooney and Begley from parnells up a stick.
Post by: heffo on May 21, 2010, 12:02:14 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 21, 2010, 11:57:54 AM

heffo- in fairness would you not agree the Andrews thing is embarrassing? I mean its not as if he was oin the lash in Coppers or something. Darren was the best midfielder on view in the recent club championship- I saw 6 games involving the  best sides and he was outstanding bet Rooney and Begley from parnells up a stick.

Andrews should without a doubt be on the panel and probably the first 15 as a forward.

There are other issues though which you may be aware of that I won't go into here - I'll pm you if you aren't aware..
Post by: INDIANA on May 21, 2010, 12:23:19 PM
Quote from: heffo on May 21, 2010, 12:02:14 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 21, 2010, 11:57:54 AM

Andrews should without a doubt be on the panel and probably the first 15 as a forward.

There are other issues though which you may be aware of that I won't go into here - I'll pm you if you aren't aware..
not aware of any other issue there heffo bar the one.
Post by: heffo on May 21, 2010, 12:45:55 PM
PM'd ya
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 21, 2010, 02:22:38 PM
Mayo might stop the Dubs tonight. ;)
Post by: Fuzzman on May 21, 2010, 02:29:18 PM
Where is that match on lads?
Parnell?

Can anyone go along or is it closed doors?
Post by: small white mayoman on May 21, 2010, 02:32:14 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 21, 2010, 02:29:18 PM
Parnell?

its on in holllymount in county mayo no closed doors down here all are welcome
Post by: INDIANA on May 21, 2010, 02:38:23 PM
Quote from: small white mayoman on May 21, 2010, 02:32:14 PM
Parnell?

any chance one of our mayo friends could stick up a report- since we seem to get on so well these days ;)
Post by: heffo on May 21, 2010, 02:43:42 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 21, 2010, 02:22:38 PM
Mayo might stop the Dubs tonight. ;)

If we're going to keep a catalogue between now and when they're knocked out, this could be a very long thread!
Post by: small white mayoman on May 21, 2010, 02:43:55 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 21, 2010, 02:38:23 PM
Quote from: small white mayoman on May 21, 2010, 02:32:14 PM
Parnell?

any chance one of our mayo friends could stick up a report- since we seem to get on so well these days ;)

No probs give me a few minutes and i'll do one up for you  ;)
Post by: southsidejohnny on May 21, 2010, 07:46:22 PM
Anybody that is drawn against them in the quarter finals. But every cloud has a silver lining. I am reliably informed that Cluxton has been picked for an All Star no matter what happens.
Post by: Hound on May 22, 2010, 08:38:34 AM
Quote from: southsidejohnny on May 21, 2010, 07:46:22 PM
Anybody that is drawn against them in the quarter finals. But every cloud has a silver lining. I am reliably informed that Cluxton has been picked for an All Star no matter what happens.
Meaaaoww...
Post by: snoopdog on May 22, 2010, 02:01:05 PM
Anyone know how the Dublin Down friendly went last weekend????
Post by: INDIANA on May 22, 2010, 02:57:35 PM
Got a report on the Mayo game. Heard we were pretty poor with what the management deem to be near enough our full team. Worrying times ahead I'm afraid.

Post by: Denn Forever on May 22, 2010, 03:10:11 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 22, 2010, 02:57:35 PM
Got a report on the Mayo game. Heard we were pretty poor with what the management deem to be near enough our full team. Worrying times ahead I'm afraid.

Reports from Mayo challenge games should  be ken with a pich of salt.  A poster who went to the Cavan/Mayo challenge gave a discription wildly at odds with the Mayo report.
Post by: Jinxy on May 22, 2010, 03:22:52 PM

Challenge games are like league games.
They only matter when you lose.
Post by: muppet on May 22, 2010, 04:37:43 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 22, 2010, 03:22:52 PM

Challenge games are like league games.
They only matter when you lose.

Like All-Irelands in Kerry.
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 22, 2010, 11:16:58 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on May 21, 2010, 02:38:23 PM

Here you are, Indy; at your service as always.
You probably have  read some report by now but here's a link for those who may not have done so.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/mayo-deliver-blow-to-dublins-championship-preparations-120465.html
Post by: Hound on May 25, 2010, 08:47:06 AM
Looks like Paddy Andrews isn't totally out of contention. A Dublin team beat Westmeath in a challenge at the weekend (5-13 to 1-19). None of the men named in the panel so far were included (22-24), so it looks like these guys were fighting for the last 5, 6 or 7 places. A bit disappointed that so few of the U21s were involved. In particular I think wing backs Devereux and Cooper would have been worth a look. Surprised that Supple wasnt the next keeper in line.

Dublin team:
D Nestor
D Murray, K Nolan, J Brogan
P Brogan, B Sexton, S Cloherty
C Murphy, D Magee
B Cullen, D Rock (1-5, 3f), K Bonner
A Brogan (1-1), P Andrews (1-4), D Kelly (0-1)
Subs: B McManamon (1-1), L Óg Ó hEineacháin (0-1), D Watson (1-0), D Daly, S Murray.

The following 24 names are thought to be the panel named so far (though differing views at to whether Burke and McCarthy are in or not):

Keepers: Cluxton, Savage
Defenders: Brennan, Cahill, Conlon, O'Carroll, Fitzsimons, McMahon, O'Sullivan, McCarthy
Quasi defenders: Henry, Hubbard, Bastick
Midfielders: McConnell, Fennell, MacAuley
Forwards: B Brogan, Flynn, Corkery, Keaney, K McManamon, Quinn, Connolly, Burke

Incidentally the Westmeath team was as follows:
D Quinn
F Boyle (0-1), D O'Donoghue, J Gaffey
D McDermott, T Warburton, M Dalton
D Duffy, P Bannon
J Durkan, P Sharry, J Smyth
D Glennon (0-7, 6f), C Lynam (1-2), D Dolan (0-4)
Subs: P Gilsenan (0-1), D Healy, S Gallagher, D Harte, G Egan (0-1), K Martin, M Ennis (0-1), K Maguire, R Doyle, L Smyth, I Coffey (0-2f), G Glennon.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 25, 2010, 11:00:00 AM
Quote from: Hound on May 25, 2010, 08:47:06 AM
Looks like Paddy Andrews isn't totally out of contention. A Dublin team beat Westmeath in a challenge at the weekend (5-13 to 1-19). None of the men named in the panel so far were included (22-24), so it looks like these guys were fighting for the last 5, 6 or 7 places. A bit disappointed that so few of the U21s were involved. In particular I think wing backs Devereux and Cooper would have been worth a look. Surprised that Supple wasnt the next keeper in line.

Dublin team:
D Nestor
D Murray, K Nolan, J Brogan
P Brogan, B Sexton, S Cloherty
C Murphy, D Magee
B Cullen, D Rock (1-5, 3f), K Bonner
A Brogan (1-1), P Andrews (1-4), D Kelly (0-1)
Subs: B McManamon (1-1), L Óg Ó hEineacháin (0-1), D Watson (1-0), D Daly, S Murray.

The following 24 names are thought to be the panel named so far (though differing views at to whether Burke and McCarthy are in or not):

Keepers: Cluxton, Savage
Defenders: Brennan, Cahill, Conlon, O'Carroll, Fitzsimons, McMahon, O'Sullivan, McCarthy
Quasi defenders: Henry, Hubbard, Bastick
Midfielders: McConnell, Fennell, MacAuley
Forwards: B Brogan, Flynn, Corkery, Keaney, K McManamon, Quinn, Connolly, Burke

Incidentally the Westmeath team was as follows:
D Quinn
F Boyle (0-1), D O'Donoghue, J Gaffey
D McDermott, T Warburton, M Dalton
D Duffy, P Bannon
J Durkan, P Sharry, J Smyth
D Glennon (0-7, 6f), C Lynam (1-2), D Dolan (0-4)
Subs: P Gilsenan (0-1), D Healy, S Gallagher, D Harte, G Egan (0-1), K Martin, M Ennis (0-1), K Maguire, R Doyle, L Smyth, I Coffey (0-2f), G Glennon.
apparantly a savage amount of injuries has lead Gilroy to defer from culling the panel completely and Paddy Andrews is back in there- at least for now.
There are a good few on that squad who I do not rate and time will tell how good Dublin are if Gilroy makes too many wholesale changes.
also imo Cooper is a decent young footballer but has been overhyped since he was u17. He was almost too light for u21 so will be a few years off the mark for the full senior intercounty football - if he ever makes the step up.
Post by: Hound on May 25, 2010, 01:45:08 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 25, 2010, 11:00:00 AM
apparantly a savage amount of injuries has lead Gilroy to defer from culling the panel completely and Paddy Andrews is back in there- at least for now.
There are a good few on that squad who I do not rate and time will tell how good Dublin are if Gilroy makes too many wholesale changes.
also imo Cooper is a decent young footballer but has been overhyped since he was u17. He was almost too light for u21 so will be a few years off the mark for the full senior intercounty football - if he ever makes the step up.
I'h hoping the huge amount of strains and pulls and other minor injuries are a coincidence and not something to do with training methods!

The area Gilroy has made progress in, is the full back line. With O'Carroll, McMahon, Conlon and Fitzsimons, we have good options. They lack experience of course so they will get "doings", but that comes with the territory, and its nice to have Henry available to slot in there is someone is struggling.

O'Sullivan is a very good addition at wingback, but this is offset by the loss of Griffin. Cahill's form is mediocre but he should come good. Leaves one slot available and bizarrely Bastick seems to be in pole position. I though Devereux and Cooper were our two best players during the U21 run so thats why I suggested them. I disagree about Cooper being too light - however Gilroy and Whelan do place a big emphasis on it.

Midfield is a massive worry, and maybe that's why Bastick is a wing back contender, to be able to give a hand around the middle. McAuley looks promising, but I believe he'll need another year of intercounty experience and training to realise his potential.
Post by: INDIANA on May 25, 2010, 03:19:50 PM
Quote from: Hound on May 25, 2010, 01:45:08 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 25, 2010, 11:00:00 AM
I'h hoping the huge amount of strains and pulls and other minor injuries are a coincidence and not something to do with training methods!

The area Gilroy has made progress in, is the full back line. With O'Carroll, McMahon, Conlon and Fitzsimons, we have good options. They lack experience of course so they will get "doings", but that comes with the territory, and its nice to have Henry available to slot in there is someone is struggling.

O'Sullivan is a very good addition at wingback, but this is offset by the loss of Griffin. Cahill's form is mediocre but he should come good. Leaves one slot available and bizarrely Bastick seems to be in pole position. I though Devereux and Cooper were our two best players during the U21 run so thats why I suggested them. I disagree about Cooper being too light - however Gilroy and Whelan do place a big emphasis on it.

Midfield is a massive worry, and maybe that's why Bastick is a wing back contender, to be able to give a hand around the middle. McAuley looks promising, but I believe he'll need another year of intercounty experience and training to realise his potential.

The idea that alan brogan isn't an automatic selection says everything about where dublin are going. Most of that 24 couldn't lace his boots. in fact most of them should consider it an honour if they were asked to lace his boots for him. Its going to be one hell of a short summer. mark my words on that.

Post by: Hound on June 04, 2010, 01:05:08 PM
There'll be no stopping us now  ;)

adidas, the world's leading sports brand, on Thursday announced a new one year boot sponsorship deal with the Dublin senior footballers.  All the players will wear boots from the adidas stable depending on their playing style.

Pat Gilroy said: "We want our footballers to have access to the best in class"
Paul Moloney of adidas said: "We pride ourselves on helping athletes of all skill levels achieve peak performance"

PREDATOR™ X - €155
for additional 7% extra power and added swerve
(for the Brogans and Cluxton)

adiPURE III - €125
for refined elegance to maximise comfort and ensure a snug fit
(for all the southsiders).

F50 adiZero - €145
the lightest boot ever made, as light as a Frisbee, to allow players to travel at light speed
(for the remaining northsiders when in need of quick getaways)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 04, 2010, 02:29:21 PM
adiFROZE
for the AI Quarter Finals
(for everyone)

:P
Post by: muppet on June 07, 2010, 08:57:00 PM
adiOS

For the big games.
Post by: highorlow on June 14, 2010, 11:41:33 AM
There's no stopping them now. Some comeback yesterday.
Post by: jobo11 on June 14, 2010, 03:26:44 PM
Dont make me laugh, dublin r going no where. Poor showing yesterday but dublin will never see the third weekend of september, why, they can t handle the pressure. Who can t stop dublin? i won t even comment on that . no one will fear dublin
Post by: heffo on June 14, 2010, 04:20:15 PM
Quote from: jobo11 on June 14, 2010, 03:26:44 PM
Dont make me laugh, dublin r going no where. Poor showing yesterday but dublin will never see the third weekend of september, why, they can t handle the pressure. Who can t stop dublin? i won t even comment on that . no one will fear dublin

Jobo11 calm down, take a deep breath and google the word irony.

It wasn't meant as a serious question.

As for counties not being able to handle pressure, IMO Kerry are the only county that can look at anyone else not handling pressure - counties with a glory year of one in a row shouldn't.
Post by: Hound on June 14, 2010, 06:51:46 PM
Good man jobo, keep 'er lit!

You might want to ask your doc if he can prescribe you something for Small County Syndrome. You seem to have a severe dose!
Post by: mayoaremagic on December 21, 2017, 09:06:19 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 14, 2010, 12:30:33 PM
Probably the Hill and the hype.