Heard this on Friday and I couldn't believe my ears . Very poor form from some clowns
masquerading as decent Munster supporters . This never happens in Thomond Park but it could be clearly heard as the kicker approached the ball . Northhampton could have won that game , it was one of the closer games that Munster have faced in Thomond Park in many a year . Just goes to show how the bandwagonner's get bitter when it looks like their team might lose.
I hope some of the true Munster rugby people who were there beside those fools who boo-ed put them straight for embarrassing themselves and the Munster tradition . If I had my way I would never allow them to another Munster game again.
Bing are you serious?
More than half the crowd there are bangwagoners as you call them.
Bing, that happened once or twice max, and as you say, they were quickly told to shut up. Of course you have some loolas that think they are funny, especially when they have a scatter of pints in them, but they are a serious minority. When the place is quiet, all it takes is one eejit to shout or roar and it sounds like a lot.
Were you there? I was, and I didn't think it was that bad.
Munster against Northhampton again. How is this possible?
I was tempted to lie here but the answer is no I was not at the game . I only live about a half a mile away from the grounds but I'd still rather watch the game on telly rather than deprive a real rugby supporter of a ticket . The cowardly roars could be clearly heard on the telly . I'm a hurling man first and foremost but I still have a lot of respect for Munster , I suppose you might call me a telly bandwagoner , just like most other people . I was saddened , embarrassed and disappointed that these so called Munster fans roared as the kicker kicked for the posts . I'll bet whoever they were they were well reddened from those around them .
I watched it on TV and i didnt think it was that bad! Certainly not to the extent that i would be ''saddened , embarrassed and disappointed''
Quoteembarrassing themselves and the Munster tradition
So history has been rewritten and it's now a munster tradition.
I was watching this as well and I heard booing but I think it was from one person and he was probably mad at the others not doing tit too.
I think Munster are looking good but they do small bits of cheating that the big referees later on the the tournamanet wont let go unpunished.
I think it's a rugby tradition, that is observed at Thomond Park. It's also observed at the RDS in fairness. Is that better Dinny?
I remember first going to Munster matches, and the contrast between the noise and effing and blinding during play to the silence for the kicks was what marked it out. Maybe that's why people think it's a 'Munster' tradition.
One thing that I'm more worried about turning into a Munster tradition is our scrum going backwards quicker than the oppisition scrum half can run to keep up.
Quote from: Olly on January 25, 2010, 11:38:11 AM
I was watching this as well and I heard booing but I think it was from one person and he was probably mad at the others not doing tit too.
I think Munster are looking good but they do small bits of cheating that the big referees later on the the tournamanet wont let go unpunished.
Those 'small bits of cheating' go on all the time. They've been getting away with it for years. The best exponents are great players, see McCaw, R.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 25, 2010, 11:35:35 AM
Quoteembarrassing themselves and the Munster tradition
So history has been rewritten and it's now a munster tradition.
Never said it was a Munster only tradition , what is your point ?
Fair enough ludemore maybe I am a little OTT but still it's a fair comment .
QuoteNever said it was a Munster only tradition , what is your point ?
It's not a munster tradition, period, it's a rugby tradition and it existed since day dot, from any junior ground in Ireland to Welford road in England. Rugby did exist before the Heineken Cup you know.
QuoteI remember first going to Munster matches, and the contrast between the noise and effing and blinding during play to the silence for the kicks was what marked it out. Maybe that's why people think it's a 'Munster' tradition.
In a Munster supporters head maybe, watch any of the Rugby Gold games on TG4 and you'll see any of the old 5 nations grounds go into complete silence particularly the 70s and 80s games.
Thanks for clearing that up Dinny with your mad head .
Do you admire those yahoo's who were roaring on Friday ? What your opinion on that ?
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 25, 2010, 11:40:03 AM
Those 'small bits of cheating' go on all the time. They've been getting away with it for years. The best exponents are great players, see McCaw, R.
was waiting for Dinny to say this (as its his hobbyhorse) but mccaw is in the ha'penny place in terms of cheating in comparison to Quinlan,A
!!!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jUg-55W0V6c&feature=related
To be honest Bing i cant hear a whole lot of booing for the penalties, none at all for the first couple and the last one is near the end of the clip doesnt sound bad at all
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 25, 2010, 12:39:50 PM
was waiting for Dinny to say this (as its his hobbyhorse) but mccaw is in the ha'penny place in terms of cheating in comparison to Quinlan,A
!!!!
Does that mean he is better or worse at cheating than McCaw?
Quote from: ludermor on January 25, 2010, 12:47:33 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jUg-55W0V6c&feature=related
To be honest Bing i cant hear a whole lot of booing for the penalties, none at all for the first couple and the last one is near the end of the clip doesnt sound bad at all
There wasn't a peep , not a peep when Ronan was kicking but when the other lad was was kicking there was plenty of it . You're right it didn't happen till the second half and that's because Munster supporters were still confident of a victory . It wasn't until the second half when it looked like they may well lose that the bollucks acting started . Over the recent years ( H C years ) you never heard this , as far as I'm concerned one voice is all it takes to disrespect the opposition when it comes to kicking time .
Quote from: Dinny Breen on January 25, 2010, 12:04:55 PM
QuoteNever said it was a Munster only tradition , what is your point ?
It's not a munster tradition, period, it's a rugby tradition and it existed since day dot, from any junior ground in Ireland to Welford road in England. Rugby did exist before the Heineken Cup you know.
QuoteI remember first going to Munster matches, and the contrast between the noise and effing and blinding during play to the silence for the kicks was what marked it out. Maybe that's why people think it's a 'Munster' tradition.
In a Munster supporters head maybe, watch any of the Rugby Gold games on TG4 and you'll see any of the old 5 nations grounds go into complete silence particularly the 70s and 80s games.
Ah but they did not have the microphones going all round the sidelines in the old days :)
It is a rugby tradition and you would remark unfavourably when it was not observed.
But it was not wholly observed in the 70's. International games were different, not a 100% rugby crowd perhaps? A visiting kicker would get a decent jeer at a Lansdowne rd international and visiting kickers would get jeered at internationals in other countries
Club games were different.
Thomond park for years has gained a reputation where this tradition has been observed to impeccable high standards, almost a type of religious fanaticism. I´d say the strict observance of the tradition at TP has had a positive effect on other grounds.
In fairness re: the jeering at one or two kicks in the second half when I watched the replay on Friday night it definitely sounded like kids or teenagers doing it. Probably from the schoolboy section. Hard to police everyone.
Quote from: Main Street on January 25, 2010, 01:09:31 PM
Thomond park for years has gained a reputation where this tradition has been observed to impeccable high standards, almost a type of religious fanaticism. I´d say the strict observance of the tradition at TP has had a positive effect on other grounds.
That about sums it up . It's for this reason the roaring was so despicable .
Quotewas waiting for Dinny to say this (as its his hobbyhorse) but mccaw is in the ha'penny place in terms of cheating in comparison to Quinlan,A
!!!!
Ha!very true though..
Quote from: ludermor on January 25, 2010, 12:48:29 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on January 25, 2010, 12:39:50 PM
!!!!
Does that mean he is better or worse at cheating than McCaw?
dont knw which is 'better' at it - I suppose mccaw, as quinlan is caught more often - though I dont recall mccaw gouging or using he boot as recklessly as quinlan often does ...
(id still rather have them on my team than against it btw - Dinny will disagree ..at least until the laws are tightened up and these kinds of actions are always penalised in the actual games)
Urrghhh - McCaw is well a cheat but is a fine cheat and rarely gets caught in the black arts, his support play and defence is outstanding, one of the greatest players ever to grace the game. To mention that liability Quinlan in the same sentence as McCaw does the great man a disservice, Quinlan was trying his best to wind up Northampton players meanwhile Northampton were cleaning up at the breakdown and winning penalties that if the Saints had a kicker would have won the game for them.
I like my backrow players at the bottom of a ruck not prancing about the backline avoiding work.
The funny thing is that now most pubs go silent as well when a kick is being taken.
And absolutely ridiculous it is too, it drives me mad when I'm in a pub and some tool says to be quite when yer man is kicking, and I'm there thinking he's in France ffs and you probably didn't know the difference between an egg and a rugby ball 4 years ago.
Gripping stuff all right, narrow win in the end for Munster 0-4 to CLG Northampton 0-3, all scores from placed balls. Is there any other sport where you get a rousing round of applause for kicking the ball out of play?
I was at the game too on Friday and while there was a few boos it was just very isolated, tis hard to control 26000 and a fair few of them with pints on board.
A fellow in front of me shouts out to Blondie Geraghty at one stage after he missing another kick "Martin Johnson is watching you" and a fellow next to me retorts "so is Declan Kidney and he dosen't f**king want you either".
Jaysus the next thing they will be stopping fellows having a bit of craic at games.
Interestingly, Northampton had three different kickers for their 9 pts : Stephen Myler, Bruce Reihena and Shane Geraghty. So there was no major target for the alleged boo-boys
Can someone rename this the Official Munster Thread?
Anyhow Johne Murphy has signed a 2 year deal with Munster.
Looks like Munster need Leinster to produce backs for them, Dowling, Jones, Hurley and now Murphy.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 01, 2010, 02:44:09 PM
Looks like Munster need Leinster to produce backs for them, Dowling, Jones, Hurley and now Murphy.
Can we not rename it the Official Booing Thread? I wanted to rant about the fans at the Ally Pally in the darts over Christmas booing a lot of the non-English players!
He is a great signing for Munster - Murphy has been doing the business for Leicester regularly for the past few season.... Probably another case of coming home to further his international career
Aye, ye did a lot of producing when it comes to Dowling and Hurley. Couldn't wait to get rid of them, and if Murphy is any good, we'll have Leicester to thank :D
You left out the best of the young backs, Keith Earls, and he was produced out at the Killing Fields of Young Munster.
Did ye send a letter to Thomond PArk to thank them for Eoin Reddan yet?
Quoteand if Murphy is any good, we'll have Leicester to thank
Cill Dara RFC, Newbridge College, Lansdowne and Leinster u/19s would I'm sure like to differ :P
QuoteDid ye send a letter to Thomond PArk to thank them for Eoin Reddan yet?
So good Leinster are bringing Boss in next season ;)
On a serious note though are you not concerned by the lack of talent coming through the Munster Academy, only 4 players in the current u/20 squad and not one back? Slightly worrying from a Irish perspective.
Can't find another suitable thread
Bit of a blow but I reckon there's more than a decent chance that Jean will be back
De Villiers set to leave Munster
Munster have confirmed that Jean de Villiers will return to South Africa at the end of the current season with the player keen to force his way into the South African 2011 World Cup squad.
De Villiers, who is currently with the Munster squad on a warm-weather camp said: 'My decision to return to South Africa is solely determined by a desire to put myself in contention for the Sprinboks Rugby World Cup (RWC) 2011 squad.
'I feel this is perhaps my last opportunity to represents my country at the Rugby World Cup and after consultation with SARU it has become clear that to qualify for selection players must be playing their rugby in South Africa in the season leading up to the competition.
'I'm thoroughly enjoying my time here in Munster and I think it would be fair to say that had the RWC not been a factor, then I would be remaining for at least the next 2 seasons.
'I would not rule out returning here after RWC 2011 either, if the opportunity arose.'
De Villiers is now turning his attention to winning more trophies with Tony McGahan's side before leaving the club.
'For now though, my entire focus is on the Magners League and Heineken Cup campaigns.
'There's a lot of rugby to be played yet in the red shirt and I'm looking forward immensely to continuing my involvment with a great squad.'
Listening to the France Wales game.
Minutes silence but somebody had to shout out.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on February 01, 2010, 08:30:02 PM
Quoteand if Murphy is any good, we'll have Leicester to thank
Cill Dara RFC, Newbridge College, Lansdowne and Leinster u/19s would I'm sure like to differ :P
QuoteDid ye send a letter to Thomond PArk to thank them for Eoin Reddan yet?
So good Leinster are bringing Boss in next season ;)
On a serious note though are you not concerned by the lack of talent coming through the Munster Academy, only 4 players in the current u/20 squad and not one back? Slightly worrying from a Irish perspective.
Thats the issue with Rugby .Top class backs are hard to get no matter what Province .As a back Guys can bulk up but they cant improve speed of hand (imo)
Plenty of jeering of Sexton tonight.
We won't be hearing much more self congratulation about the legendary sporting Thomond Park atmosphere for a while.
Its always easy come across as being sporting and gracious when you're winning of course.
I just commeted it on the Leinster Thead, I thought it was a disgrace and it was very audilbe on the TV, Sexton was called a 'W*nker' etc etc.
Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 02, 2010, 10:11:38 PM
I just commeted it on the Leinster Thead, I thought it was a disgrace and it was very audilbe on the TV, Sexton was called a 'W*nker' etc etc.
Bad form from supposedly the best fans in Ireland.
Watched the game in Clohessys and couldn't believe it when everyone starting ssshhhing for the freekicks, was in stitches...
Quote from: orangeman on April 03, 2010, 12:09:52 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on April 02, 2010, 10:11:38 PM
Bad form from supposedly the best fans in Ireland.
I thought that was the lads at Windsor??!!
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on April 07, 2010, 01:59:36 PM
Watched the game in Clohessys and couldn't believe it when everyone starting ssshhhing for the freekicks, was in stitches...
Watched the England game in a pub in Bangor and they were at the same craic. Hilarious.