GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: 5 Sams on January 14, 2010, 02:19:39 PM

Title: Off the Fence - Irish News
Post by: 5 Sams on January 14, 2010, 02:19:39 PM
I usually quite enjoy this piece....usually some excellent points by most of the punters and sometimes they publish letters from absolute headers for the crack. Some of the retorts by Heaney et al are quite witty....however they published a letter today from some boyo called Ryan Kelly calling himself a "Life Long Armagh GAA Supporter". He comes up with a load of points about the present Armagh team and how it should be run and asks that Paddy O'Rourke should adhere to the basics of the game in the way the "Down All Ireland winning team of 1992 " did in "dismantling an Armagh side...in the first round of the Ulster Championship at the Athletic Grounds"

A Life long Armagh GAA Supporter who was obviously born in 1993. :-\
Title: Re: Off the Fence - Irish News
Post by: armaghniac on January 14, 2010, 02:27:15 PM
Indeed. Wrong on two counts.
Post by: 5 Sams on January 14, 2010, 02:31:19 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 14, 2010, 02:27:15 PM

I would say three counts....no matter what way you look at it Down did not dismantle Armagh
Post by: cornafean on January 14, 2010, 02:47:36 PM
I think he is guilty of sloppy phrasing more than anything else. Down did dismantle Armagh in the first round of the 1992 Ulster Championship at the Athletic Grounds. They were All Ireland champions at the time.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 14, 2010, 02:48:30 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on January 14, 2010, 02:31:19 PM

I would say three counts....no matter what way you look at it Down did not dismantle Armagh

That was that horrible wet day down in the Marshes if I remember rightly.  Only for a slip by Aidan Short I believe Armagh would have won that day.  I remember 6 of us huddled under a golf umbrella at the bottom goals doing our level best to avoid slipping on our holes, ah the memories :P
Post by: boojangles on January 14, 2010, 02:49:29 PM
That Ryan Kelly must have alot of time on his hands lately.I read another of his letters to the Telegraph I think. Lets just say most of us wouldn't be on the same wave length as Ryan.
Post by: cornafean on January 14, 2010, 02:51:21 PM
There seems to be a touch of Alan Partridge in some of his recent letters in the various papers.
Post by: 5 Sams on January 14, 2010, 02:52:25 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 14, 2010, 02:48:30 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on January 14, 2010, 02:31:19 PM

That was that horrible wet day down in the Marshes if I remember rightly.  Only for a slip by Aidan Short I believe Armagh would have won that day.  I remember 6 of us huddled under a golf umbrella at the bottom goals doing our level best to avoid slipping on our holes, ah the memories :P

Did Jim McConville not miss a sitter that day too BC1...ball was on the ground, wet day, empty net and he pulled his shot wide....thanks be to fcuk ;)
Post by: mountainboii on January 14, 2010, 04:32:08 PM
Quote from: cornafean on January 14, 2010, 02:51:21 PM
There seems to be a touch of Alan Partridge in some of his recent letters in the various papers.

I hope, for his sake, that he's not using his real name because he's made a bit of a cnut of himself in at least three papers over the last couple of weeks.
Post by: ziggysego on January 14, 2010, 04:48:53 PM
Quote from: boojangles on January 14, 2010, 02:49:29 PM
That Ryan Kelly must have alot of time on his hands lately.I read another of his letters to the Telegraph I think. Lets just say most of us wouldn't be on the same wave length as Ryan.

What is it about these Armagh ones and their letter writing?
Post by: red hander on January 14, 2010, 06:18:12 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 14, 2010, 04:48:53 PM

Probably because literacy is a fairly recent concept in Buckfast land
Post by: T Fearon on January 14, 2010, 09:38:16 PM
Once again some people show just how stupid they are. Down, the then reigning All Ireland Champions, did beat Armagh (assisted by the fact that Armagh couldn't convert a free to save their lives on the day if I recall) fairly heavily in the first round of the Ulster Championship at the Athletic Grounds in 1992. So Mr Kelly is entirely correct on all points.

Fairly nostalgic occasion as my late brother was the Armagh team Doctor that day and I distinctly remember an altercation he had with Paddy O'Rourke over water on the pitch (ie he wouldn't give O'Rourke a drink ;D)
Post by: Celt_Man on January 14, 2010, 09:47:34 PM

Reading between the lines, he is a gobshite so...

Post by: mountainboii on January 14, 2010, 09:59:44 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 14, 2010, 09:38:16 PM
Once again some people show just how stupid they are. Down, the then reigning All Ireland Champions, did beat Armagh (assisted by the fact that Armagh couldn't convert a free to save their lives on the day if I recall) fairly heavily in the first round of the Ulster Championship at the Athletic Grounds in 1992. So Mr Kelly is entirely correct on all points.

Fairly nostalgic occasion as my late brother was the Armagh team Doctor that day and I distinctly remember an altercation he had with Paddy O'Rourke over water on the pitch (ie he wouldn't give O'Rourke a drink ;D)

This bit may have been fine, but some of the other stuff he came out with was just mental. Finn Mo at left half forward FFS!
Post by: T Fearon on January 14, 2010, 10:19:00 PM
Don't know, Moriairity scores goals quite regularly, more often than some of our forwards. Might be worth experimenting with in the half forward line, in the league for a game or two.
Post by: harlechman on January 14, 2010, 10:37:38 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 14, 2010, 10:19:00 PM
Don't know, Moriairity scores goals quite regularly, more often than some of our forwards. Might be worth experimenting with in the half forward line, in the league for a game or two.

I think we've had enough of playing backs in half-forward line
Post by: passedit on January 14, 2010, 11:42:13 PM
Another nom de plume tony?
Post by: T Fearon on January 15, 2010, 09:16:04 AM
Never used a nom de plume in my life, and I admire people like Ryan Kelly who like myself are unafraid to append their authentic names to their musings.
Title: Ainm
Post by: drici on June 17, 2010, 11:11:03 AM
See a French man called Enahs Llieno from Yvanelg has a complaint in today on his own behalf and on that of nineteen other members of his family who appear to be currently boycotting the paper.
Post by: OverThePostsAWide on June 17, 2010, 05:04:34 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 14, 2010, 10:19:00 PM

And did his father not win All Star awards at both corner back and corner forward?  ;)
Title: Re: Ainm
Post by: longrunsthefox on June 17, 2010, 05:10:40 PM
Quote from: drici on June 17, 2010, 11:11:03 AM
See a French man called Enahs Llieno from Yvanelg has a complaint in today on his own behalf and on that of nineteen other members of his family who appear to be currently boycotting the paper.

Saw that one... it was quite funny. Take a bow Enahs... good of Heaney to explain it for us like we wouldn't figured it out  ::)
Title: Re: Ainm
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 17, 2010, 11:15:57 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on June 17, 2010, 05:10:40 PM
Quote from: drici on June 17, 2010, 11:11:03 AM

Saw that one... it was quite funny. Take a bow Enahs... good of Heaney to explain it for us like we wouldn't figured it out  ::)
Where is the bollix? Was it him sent the letter in or someone assuming his name?
Post by: Ulick on June 17, 2010, 11:54:14 PM
Well is anyone going to paste it in or is this some sort of guerilla marketing campaign on behalf of the IN?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 18, 2010, 12:00:45 AM
Not possible to copy and paste from the online IN these days Ulick -- only option is to type the whole fecking thing out and... sorry  ;)
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 18, 2010, 08:39:07 AM
Can someone explain the craic then as I read it and didn't get it at all? Cheers.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 18, 2010, 09:31:29 AM
GMF, Enahs Llieno from Yvanelg in is an acronym for a well known board member who many believe also has an alter ego with an eccentric outlook on life. His letter is a dressing down of the IN for their slating of the French football team and in response to this Enahs and his 19 family members, who all suscribe to the IN in France, will boycott the paper in protest.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 18, 2010, 11:29:32 AM
Got it OG, cryptic! (or maybe not now that I understand!  ;))
Post by: Carmen Stateside on June 18, 2010, 01:54:56 PM
Someone type it for us please  :D
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 18, 2010, 03:38:18 PM
Easy solution would be to take a print of the screen and post it up as an image
Post by: The Worker on June 18, 2010, 06:22:04 PM
Pure cringeworthy.
Post by: unitedireland on June 28, 2011, 10:32:09 AM
What is the email address or number for off the fence? Have to get the problems with Fermanagh Senior Management off my chest
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on June 28, 2011, 01:01:23 PM
Quote from: Celt_Man on January 14, 2010, 09:47:34 PM

Reading between the lines, he is a gobshite so...

just simply reading the lines tells me he's a gobshite...
Post by: ExcellentDriver on June 28, 2011, 06:08:19 PM
Quote from: red hander on January 14, 2010, 06:18:12 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 14, 2010, 04:48:53 PM

Probably because literacy is a fairly recent concept in Buckfast land

Maith thu mo chara! :)
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 28, 2011, 07:33:02 PM
Quote from: unitedireland on June 28, 2011, 10:32:09 AM
What is the email address or number for off the fence? Have to get the problems with Fermanagh Senior Management off my chest
Surprisingly it is offthefence@irishnews.com or like Armagh supporters you could get blocked and ring 02890337457.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 28, 2011, 08:27:29 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 28, 2011, 07:33:02 PM
Quote from: unitedireland on June 28, 2011, 10:32:09 AM
Surprisingly it is offthefence@irishnews.com or like Armagh supporters you could get blocked and ring 02890337457.