Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Tony Baloney on January 02, 2010, 05:28:39 PM

Poll
Question: Do you use any of the following?
Option 1: Hair straighteners votes: 5
Option 2: Fake tan/sun bed votes: 6
Option 3: Moisturiser votes: 56
Option 4: Waxing (back/sack/crack or other) votes: 13
Option 5: None of the above votes: 69
Title: Male Grooming
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 02, 2010, 05:28:39 PM
Was at the shops today and I overheard a doll saying she had to call to Argos to change her brothers hair straighteners! What is the world coming to? I know of a few fellas in work regularly using sunbeds and one that straightens his hair.

Is this common in 21st Century Ireland? Be honest!
Title: Re: Male Grooming
Post by: no mo do yakamo on January 02, 2010, 05:35:04 PM
GAA board Or GAY board?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 02, 2010, 05:37:13 PM
Ive had enough of poncey men today - though Ive become aware of at least 2 men who use hair straighteners.  One of them has no hair to be straightening (he also uses fake tan), I don't understand what he does with them. - and I just remembered I know of another boy who uses some sort of taning moisturiser.
Post by: wallyman on January 02, 2010, 06:05:25 PM
Theres a lad i know who shaves his feet on a regular basis
Post by: Shazam on January 02, 2010, 06:06:25 PM
I wouldn't wax but I would trim my bum hair and pubes regularly.
Post by: ross4life on January 02, 2010, 06:06:49 PM
i think he ticks most of those boxes

(http://news.bbc.co.uk/media/images/42286000/jpg/_42286294_henson416gt.jpg)
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 02, 2010, 06:11:28 PM
Quote from: Shazam on January 02, 2010, 06:06:25 PM
How do you trim your bum hair yourself??  I can't say I've tried it but it has nasty accident wrote all over it.
Post by: muppet on January 02, 2010, 06:11:42 PM
Quote from: Shazam on January 02, 2010, 06:06:25 PM

Wwwwhy.......why...........and again why.............why would you do that?

How would you do that and who would care?
Post by: Shazam on January 02, 2010, 06:18:19 PM
I have a hair trimmer thing, I set it to a level one and go nuts on it. It involves what can only be described as contortionism. But I get there in the end.

Muppet - I do it because my bum is far too hairy, I used to get slagged something shocking about it in school and got a complex about it. So now I like to keep it trim in case anyone sees it. The girlfriend would see it and maybe if I stripped somewhere but havent done that in a while.
Post by: wallyman on January 02, 2010, 06:22:53 PM
Quote from: Shazam on January 02, 2010, 06:18:19 PM
I have a hair trimmer thing, I set it to a level one and go nuts on it. It involves what can only be described as contortionism. But I get there in the end.

Muppet - I do it because my bum is far too hairy, I used to get slagged something shocking about it in school and got a complex about it. So now I like to keep it trim in case anyone sees it. The girlfriend would see it and maybe if I stripped somewhere but havent done that in a while.

how did ur classmates come across your hairy arse?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on January 02, 2010, 06:24:46 PM
Quote from: wallyman on January 02, 2010, 06:05:25 PM
Theres a lad i know who shaves his feet on a regular basis

I think I know the same boy. He doesn't shave them regular enough though.
Post by: J70 on January 02, 2010, 06:29:18 PM
Use moisturizer on my hands, as I do a bit of climbing and the chalk dries the crap out of your skin. Apart from that, just trim the nose and ear hair a wee bit. May have to start of the eyebrows soon too. Its amazing how as the hair starts to thin out on top, it starts popping up everywhere else!
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 02, 2010, 06:33:36 PM
Quote from: J70 on January 02, 2010, 06:29:18 PM
Use moisturizer on my hands, as I do a bit of climbing and the chalk dries the crap out of your skin. Apart from that, just trim the nose and ear hair a wee bit. May have to start of the eyebrows soon too. Its amazing how as the hair starts to thin out on top, it starts popping up everywhere else!

I'll admit I use hand cream but only because if I don't they go all dry and scaly and start bleeding!
Post by: tyrone girl on January 02, 2010, 06:55:06 PM
Boyfriend goes on sunbed in summer months, gets his eyebrows waxed, hmm what else ... uses some aul moisteriser on his face. Not wise - drives me mad.
Post by: ross4life on January 02, 2010, 06:57:25 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 02, 2010, 06:55:06 PM
Boyfriend goes on sunbed in summer months, gets his eyebrows waxed, hmm what else ... uses some aul moisteriser on his face. Not wise - drives me mad.

so in truth is more a girly than you  :P
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 02, 2010, 06:59:17 PM
He gets his eyebrows waxed!!!!!!!!!??????
Post by: Galwaybhoy on January 02, 2010, 07:01:24 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 02, 2010, 06:33:36 PM
Quote from: J70 on January 02, 2010, 06:29:18 PM

I'll admit I use hand cream but only because if I don't they go all dry and scaly and start bleeding!

I use E4 Cream the odd time during the winter because like you my hands go all dry, crack and bleed.

Other than that I use hair gel and thats pretty normal.  I hate fake tan on girls, on men its just sad.  As for Gavin Henson in the photo up above...well I wont even comment on him.
Post by: tyrone girl on January 02, 2010, 07:01:35 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 02, 2010, 06:57:25 PM

so in truth is more a girly than you  :P

:D :D :D yep u got it in one

Yep pints and they dont even look to be in any diff shape - silly fecker! There bes a bit taken off them but thats it
Post by: ross4life on January 02, 2010, 07:16:51 PM
when i see people with FAKE tan i can't help thinking of

(http://coolest-homemade-costumes.shippony.com/images/characters/willy-wonka/oompa/oompa-loompa-costumes-01a.jpg)
Post by: ross4life on January 02, 2010, 07:23:41 PM
don't have a photobucket account it's called google image search  ::)
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 02, 2010, 07:29:36 PM
who are the people doing the waxing??????????
Post by: muppet on January 02, 2010, 07:30:06 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on January 02, 2010, 07:19:54 PM
Quote from: ross4life on January 02, 2010, 07:16:51 PM
when i see people with FAKE tan i can't help thinking of

(http://i146.photobucket.com/albums/r280/jubei_3k/OompaLoompa.jpg)

Am I alone in hoping ross4life's GAABoard account suffers a similar fate to his photobucket account!

Not so sure, after reading all the ewes admissions of waxing and hand cream I'd say we need a few more rams like Ross.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 02, 2010, 07:39:30 PM
Moisturiser is acceptable as plenty of people have dry skin. Tinted moisturisers are not acceptable products IMO.
Post by: muppet on January 02, 2010, 07:46:44 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 02, 2010, 07:39:30 PM
Moisturiser is acceptable as plenty of people have dry skin. Tinted moisturisers are not acceptable products IMO.

Moisturiser is completely unacceptable................unless it is advertised by a real man.

That rules out the likes of Beckam, Donal Og and most current Dubs.

In conclusion until I see a Dara O'Shea, Mick Lyons or at a stretch Diarmuid O'Sullivan selling it, I won't be wearing any.

(p.s. if it contains alcohol then I might consider alternative uses for it). 
Post by: ross4life on January 02, 2010, 07:50:26 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 02, 2010, 07:46:44 PM

Moisturiser is completely unacceptable................unless it is advertised by a real man.

In conclusion until I see a Dara O'Shea, Mick Lyons or at a stretch Diarmuid O'Sullivan selling it, I won't be wearing any.

i knew a guy once, when he ran out of alcohol at home he would drink aftershave
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 02, 2010, 07:52:58 PM
One voter each for use of fake tan/sun bed and hair straighteners!

Anyone want to guess which county this person or persons hail from? The tan points me in the direction of a Belfast hurler.
Post by: The Iceman on January 02, 2010, 08:39:20 PM
I use a moisturizer as my skin gets serious dry in the winter time.  I get the eyebrows trimmed in the barbers otherwise they would be rain forests. The barber offered to trim the ears but I don't think I am ready to go that far.

I know a lad in work who gets the eyebrows threaded (some form of plucking) and a few lads who visit the sunbeds.  I think some lads (especially the city boys) take it too far with the streaks, straighteners and the like but also all the macho boys who pretend not to know about any of it all make me laugh.  Nothing wrong with taking care of yourself as long as you don't cross the line into pampering...IMO
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 02, 2010, 08:42:36 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on January 02, 2010, 08:39:20 PM
I use a moisturizer as my skin gets serious dry in the winter time.  I get the eyebrows trimmed in the barbers otherwise they would be rain forests. The barber offered to trim the ears but I don't think I am ready to go that far.

I know a lad in work who gets the eyebrows threaded (some form of plucking) and a few lads who visit the sunbeds.  I think some lads (especially the city boys) take it too far with the streaks, straighteners and the like but also all the macho boys who pretend not to know about any of it all make me laugh.  Nothing wrong with taking care of yourself as long as you don't cross the line into pampering...IMO
sunbeds and straighteners are across the line and well into pampering! they'll be getting their nails done yet.
Post by: wallyman on January 02, 2010, 08:51:25 PM
i know a lad on this board who got a back crack and sack wax before heading off to oz. hes only home recently too
Post by: leenie on January 02, 2010, 09:08:16 PM

i would find it extremely weird if a fella who was straight used sunbeds and faketan...

i myself use neither, some girls find it strange that i don't ... but i am irish and fair skinned and like my freckled arms.....  8)
Post by: ziggysego on January 02, 2010, 09:18:43 PM
and a fine looking girl without all that rubbish on ya leenie. I see women with all that on them and they look really fake.
Post by: gerry on January 02, 2010, 09:20:39 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 02, 2010, 09:18:43 PM
and a fine looking girl without all that rubbish on ya leenie. I see women with all that on them and they look really fake.

get a room
Post by: leenie on January 02, 2010, 09:50:20 PM
 i was outside rue last week and fella came up talking to me, he was well groomed and started to complain that his life was hard because he sooooo good looking and that people only see him for his looks and that really he was shy blah blah blah....

my response... "looks can fade, wrinkles will come and hair will recede but you'll always have a shite personality..." he then left!
Post by: gerry on January 02, 2010, 09:54:18 PM
i wonder why he left
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 02, 2010, 10:01:04 PM
Quote from: leenie on January 02, 2010, 09:50:20 PM
i was outside rue last week and fella came up talking to me, he was well groomed and started to complain that his life was hard because he sooooo good looking and that people only see him for his looks and that really he was shy blah blah blah....

my response... "looks can fade, wrinkles will come and hair will recede but you'll always have a shite personality..." he the left!
sounds like you got a lucky escape there leenie, yon was a bollocks.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 02, 2010, 10:03:28 PM
Quote from: leenie on January 02, 2010, 09:50:20 PM

my response... "looks can fade, wrinkles will come and hair will recede but you'll always have a shite personality..." he the left!
Wasn't a poster on the gaaboard by the sounds of him!
Post by: gallsman on January 02, 2010, 10:15:20 PM
Out of curiosity, why is hair gel seen as much more "acceptable" than moisturiser. If anything gel is poncier as it is done for sheer vanity whereas moisturiser can relieve pain.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on January 02, 2010, 10:15:48 PM

Didn't the Rock rub a load of axle grease around his eyebrows before matches. Was that acceptable?

(http://www.insideireland.ie/uploads/image/Sports/O%27Sullivanstory.jpg)
Post by: ziggysego on January 02, 2010, 10:16:49 PM
Quote from: gerry on January 02, 2010, 09:54:18 PM
i wonder why he left

I'm glad I didn't take that room you wee offering
Post by: gerry on January 02, 2010, 10:23:21 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 02, 2010, 10:16:49 PM
i wonder why he left

you can do better ziggy
Post by: muppet on January 02, 2010, 10:39:53 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 02, 2010, 10:15:48 PM

Didn't the Rock rub a load of axle grease around his eyebrows before matches. Was that acceptable?

That was so the Tipp/Clare forwards would slide off him as he shouldered them with his head.
Post by: ONeill on January 02, 2010, 10:52:14 PM
I admit that about a decade or so ago I used a facial yoke for about a month. Gave up and only shower at weekends now. Once I didn't look in a mirror for 2 months.
Post by: Minder on January 02, 2010, 10:58:59 PM
My 3 year old daughter was lying in the bed beside me this morning and informed me I was "stinking".

Harsh
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 02, 2010, 11:00:07 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 02, 2010, 10:58:59 PM
My 3 year old daughter was lying in the bed beside me this morning and informed me I was "stinking".

Harsh
It's her mother I feel sorry for.
Post by: Minder on January 02, 2010, 11:01:51 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 02, 2010, 11:00:07 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 02, 2010, 10:58:59 PM

Harsh
It's her mother I feel sorry for.

I shower every day. This was pre-shower.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 02, 2010, 11:38:15 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on January 02, 2010, 10:15:48 PM

Apparently there was plenty of Vaseline about the changing rooms.
Post by: Puckoon on January 03, 2010, 04:23:30 PM
On a somewhat related note, I believe my hair line is un-receeding.

Which if true is fecking fantastic.
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 03, 2010, 04:34:47 PM
It might be just your ear hair getting longer.

Or it could be one of these:

(http://www.dailypets.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2007/06/combover.jpg)
Post by: gallsman on January 03, 2010, 05:30:37 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 02, 2010, 11:38:15 PM

How long did that one take you to come up with?
Post by: Trevor Hill on January 03, 2010, 05:36:30 PM
As it stands 44.4% of the gaaboard take no pride in their personal appearance. ::)  Are they all from Tyrone?
(http://dreamingarm.files.wordpress.com/2008/08/_44930792_tyronedub2.jpg)
Post by: Dougal on January 03, 2010, 05:38:12 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on January 03, 2010, 05:36:30 PM
As it stands 44.4% of the gaaboard take no pride in their personal appearance. ::)  Are they all from Tyrone?
(http://dreamingarm.files.wordpress.com/2008/08/_44930792_tyronedub2.jpg)

not from tyrone,but ive looked like that manys a time.
Post by: leenie on January 03, 2010, 06:29:16 PM
Quote from: gerry on January 02, 2010, 10:23:21 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 02, 2010, 10:16:49 PM
i wonder why he left

you can do better ziggy

oooh that hurt! 8)
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 03, 2010, 07:58:39 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 03, 2010, 05:30:37 PM

You want to have another stab at editing your post?
Post by: gallsman on January 03, 2010, 08:30:09 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 03, 2010, 07:58:39 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 03, 2010, 05:30:37 PM

You want to have another stab at editing your post?

Not particularly. I corrected my typo of "yo" to "you" so all in all I'm pretty satisfied.
Post by: muppet on January 03, 2010, 08:52:53 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 03, 2010, 04:23:30 PM
On a somewhat related note, I believe my hair line is un-receeding.

Which if true is fecking fantastic.

Maybe you are getting un-older?
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on January 03, 2010, 11:39:36 PM
What the hell is wrong with men using moisturiser, cant believe some boys on here disagreeing with it  ??? ??? ???  I use it when ive come out of the shower on my face as the shower water and shampoo tends to dry out your skin and can leave it flaky.  Using some nivea for men on the face after shaving also is a must.  There is no harm in looking after your skin or body even if you are a man.  Also, im sure women would prefer man who takes some pride in his appearance than one who makes abosultely no effort at all.  You can have the best personality in the world and be the funniest man in the world but if you smell of BO and look like you've been dragged backwards through hedge, well your not going get much riding.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 03, 2010, 11:41:24 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on January 03, 2010, 11:39:36 PM
What the hell is wrong with men using moisturiser, cant believe some boys on here disagreeing with it  ??? ??? ???  I use it when ive come out of the shower on my face as the shower water and shampoo tends to dry out your skin and can leave it flaky.  Using some nivea for men on the face after shaving also is a must.  There is no harm in looking after your skin or body even if you are a man.  Also, im sure women would prefer man who takes some pride in his appearance than one who makes abosultely no effort at all.  You can have the best personality in the world and be the funniest man in the world but if you smell of BO and look like you've been dragged backwards through hedge, well your not going get much riding.
No one is suggesting you smell of BO. 
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on January 03, 2010, 11:47:26 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 03, 2010, 11:41:24 PM
No one is suggesting you smell of BO.

(http://www.soldiersofanarchy.com/style_emoticons/default/tumbleweed2.gif)
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 03, 2010, 11:50:39 PM
great answer.  I was hoping you'd explain how not using hair straighteners and waxing meant you smelt like BO.
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on January 03, 2010, 11:53:48 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 03, 2010, 11:50:39 PM
great answer.  I was hoping you'd explain how not using hair straighteners and waxing meant you smelt like BO.

What are you talking about man? I cant make sense of your post, have you been taking drugs?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2010, 12:00:08 AM
I'll explain slowly then...you said....
QuoteAlso, im sure women would prefer man who takes some pride in his appearance than one who makes abosultely no effort at all.  You can have the best personality in the world and be the funniest man in the world but if you smell of BO and look like you've been dragged backwards through hedge, well your not going get much riding.

No one has suggested men should smell of BO, none of the things we're talking about stops the smell of BO so why are you bringing that in to it?
Post by: fitzroyalty on January 04, 2010, 12:08:32 AM
acceptable: hair gel, moisturiser, deodorant/anti-persperant, aftershave. Trimming nose hair, ear hair, designer stubble, overly hairy bums/other regions.

unacceptable: fake tan/tinting moisturiser, sun beds, getting teeth whitened, waxing of any description, diamond earrings/eyebrow/nose/nipple etc piercings, straightening of hair.
Post by: fitzroyalty on January 04, 2010, 12:15:42 AM
forgot about the tyrone posters
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on January 04, 2010, 12:22:05 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2010, 12:00:08 AM
I'll explain slowly then...you said....
QuoteAlso, im sure women would prefer man who takes some pride in his appearance than one who makes abosultely no effort at all.  You can have the best personality in the world and be the funniest man in the world but if you smell of BO and look like you've been dragged backwards through hedge, well your not going get much riding.

No one has suggested men should smell of BO, none of the things we're talking about stops the smell of BO so why are you bringing that in to it?

I was talking about moisturizer, you are talking about hair straighterners & wax.  maybe you dont know the difference so ill go ahead and explain it for you:

Moisturizer

(http://pics.drugstore.com/prodimg/139638/200.jpg)

Usually used to give extra or added 'moisture' to ones skin.  many people use on the face and hands that may have become dry or flaky  although some moisturizers can indeed be used on the whole body, hence products such as an 'All body moisturizer', which is usually available for all you good local pharmacists.

Hair Straighters

(http://www.offerbank.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2009/09/ghd.jpg)

Used to 'straighten' ones hair (see below pic).  Mostly used by woman and i use the term mostly as some gaa posters suggest that they know certain men who use these products, personally i dont but there you go, maybe i need some friends for a start.  The GHD range seem to be the most popular and great value for money, maybe you could invest in a pair for a loved one or possibly even yourself?  be careful though as they tend to get incredibly hot, please refrain from touching the metal part when the product is on and EVEN when it has been TURNED off as it could take some time for them to cool.

(http://www.redhillsalon.com/images/deion4.jpg)

Wax

(http://www.thamessalon.com/store/images/uploads/dax_washable.jpg)

Wax can be used to shape ones hair into different styles.  Again a popular product amongst men and women and can be purchased again from any good chemist or even your local supermarket.  many different brands available ranging from dry look, wet look, messy look, rock hard look.  Its just about finding the right product which suits a specific person.

Glad i could be of help here and dont hesitate anytime you want any more knowlegde on the above product.  I only hope now ive cleared up the confusion and you are aware of the difference between a moisturizer, hair straighteners and indeed hair wax.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2010, 12:30:58 AM
and how does using moisturiser stop you smelling of bo?
I think you need to turn down the temperature on your hair straighteners, seems to be frying brain cells too. 

who's that in that picture anyway, you?
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on January 04, 2010, 12:36:02 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2010, 12:30:58 AM
who's that in that picture anyway?

YER MA!!!!

BOOM BOOM!!!

Post by: J70 on January 04, 2010, 01:17:23 AM

I don't understand the hostility to moisturizer either. Is it more "manly" to put with the discomfort and unsightliness of dry, cracked, possibly flaky or bleeding skin than to stick a dab of moisturizer on it and solve the problem? Anyone who lives their lives according to such "rules" is a few shillings short of a pound in my opinion.
Post by: Hardy on January 04, 2010, 09:38:05 AM
Oh ffs.

Acceptable: Changing your socks when they're no longer flexible.
Unacceptable: Everything else. Even being aware of your appearance is borderline nancyboy.

Who would you rather go on the tear with - Shane McGowan or fucken Beckham?
Post by: INDIANA on January 04, 2010, 11:12:55 AM
Looking like a semi heroin addict/alcoholic like Mc Gowan is an ambition of yours ?

I would find it more strange why someone wouldn't use moisturiser after shaving. Something I'm quite happy to admit to. I don't use fake tan or anything else. If that makes me a nancy boy. So be it.
Post by: tyrone girl on January 04, 2010, 11:17:04 AM
Whats wrong with using mousturiser?
Post by: Hardy on January 04, 2010, 11:18:49 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 04, 2010, 11:12:55 AM
Looking like a semi heroin addict/alcoholic like Mc Gowan is an ambition of yours ?

I would find it more strange why someone wouldn't use moisturiser after shaving. Something I'm quite happy to admit to. I don't use fake tan or anything else. If that makes me a nancy boy. So be it.

Nancy boy.

To look as good as Shane McGowan is an ambition I wouldn't dare to entertain.
Post by: Hardy on January 04, 2010, 11:21:05 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 04, 2010, 11:17:04 AM
Whats wrong with using mousturiser?

author=tyrone girl

I rest my case
Post by: Hardy on January 04, 2010, 11:23:41 AM
Of course you want to nancify men. That's a woman's job.
Post by: johnneycool on January 04, 2010, 11:28:28 AM
I can't get my head around this bum hole shaving thing, how is that physically possible and do you need a touch of aftershave on it to 'close the pores'?

Why not just pull a load out with you finger and thumb if its bothering you that much as it sounds like it needs to be thinned out rather than shaved?

anyone pluck between the eyes to prevent a mono-brow forming, especially you tyrone girl?

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 04, 2010, 11:29:26 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on January 04, 2010, 11:26:34 AM
No not at all i hate nancy boys.

You're with the wrong boyfriend tg  ;)
Post by: Hardy on January 04, 2010, 11:40:54 AM
Does he own a cat?

Does he play soccer?
Post by: full back on January 04, 2010, 11:42:12 AM
Not much wrong with moisturiser.

Only the biggest of bog hopper wouldnt want his skin to be smooth instead of hanging of him like a leper
Post by: Hardy on January 04, 2010, 11:43:28 AM
Nancy boy.
Post by: full back on January 04, 2010, 11:46:17 AM
Quote from: Hardy on January 04, 2010, 11:43:28 AM
Nancy boy.

Bog hopper

Quote from: tyrone girl on January 04, 2010, 11:45:01 AM
Quote from: full back on January 04, 2010, 11:42:12 AM
Not much wrong with moisturiser.

Only the biggest of bog hopper wouldnt want his skin to be smooth instead of hanging of him like a leper

So is ur skin smooth full back  8)

Smooth as fcuk tg
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 04, 2010, 11:51:36 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on January 04, 2010, 11:28:28 AM
I can't get my head around this bum hole shaving thing, how is that physically possible and do you need a touch of aftershave on it to 'close the pores'?

Why not just pull a load out with you finger and thumb if its bothering you that much as it sounds like it needs to be thinned out rather than shaved?

anyone pluck between the eyes to prevent a mono-brow forming, especially you tyrone girl?

I'd shave the hair between the 2 eyebrows to stop a monobrow.

Can't believe the amount of fellas that use moisturiser! Jeez whenever I'm at home I'm lucky if the aul fella has shaving foam to shave with! Very often the humble bar of soap has to do.
Post by: Minder on January 04, 2010, 12:03:47 PM
Never knew there was as many fruits on the board. I shower every day, use deodorant every day. Shave once every three or four days, nothing more than a slap of water on my face post shave and  I am a pussy magnet. Keep it simple. 
Post by: haranguerer on January 04, 2010, 12:20:13 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 04, 2010, 09:38:05 AM
Oh ffs.

Acceptable: Changing your socks when they're no longer flexible.
Unacceptable: Everything else. Even being aware of your appearance is borderline nancyboy.

Who would you rather go on the tear with - Shane McGowan or fucken Beckham?

McGowans a legend, but I know who I'd rather go on the pull with...
Post by: ziggysego on January 04, 2010, 12:29:10 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 04, 2010, 12:03:47 PM
Never knew there was as many fruits on the board. I shower every day, use deodorant every day. Shave once every three or four days, nothing more than a slap of water on my face post shave and  I am a pussy magnet. Keep it simple.

You shower?

Nancy
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 04, 2010, 12:32:03 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 04, 2010, 12:29:10 PM
Shave once every three or four days...

Bum fluff eh?  ;)
Post by: Minder on January 04, 2010, 12:38:08 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on January 04, 2010, 12:32:03 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 04, 2010, 12:29:10 PM
Shave once every three or four days...

Bum fluff eh?  ;)

I wish it was.
Post by: screenexile on January 04, 2010, 12:42:02 PM
Anybody have bother with the back hair? I'm a real man as in I don't moisturise or bother with any of that womanly shite but the back hair is bothering me in fairness I had thought about shaving it before but I'd need someone to do it but now it's way too far out of control for that.

Anyway my question is do any lads get the back wax done or use hair removal cream or shave it? Ladies do you mind a bit of back hair?? I'm loathe to do anything about it really but I think the time has come to make a decision!
Post by: full back on January 04, 2010, 12:45:17 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 04, 2010, 12:42:02 PM
Anybody have bother with the back hair? I'm a real man as in I don't moisturise or bother with any of that womanly shite but the back hair is bothering me in fairness I had thought about shaving it before but I'd need someone to do it but now it's way too far out of control for that.

Anyway my question is do any lads get the back wax done or use hair removal cream or shave it? Ladies do you mind a bit of back hair?? I'm loathe to do anything about it really but I think the time has come to make a decision!

You are going to remove your back hair but you wouldnt do any of that 'womanly sh1te' like moisturise
:D :D                       
Post by: gerrykeegan on January 04, 2010, 12:47:53 PM

Be carefull with the old hairy back, a mate of mine got very ill when the hairs started going back into the skin.
Post by: johnneycool on January 04, 2010, 01:19:18 PM

Is this the hair round the neck and shoulders or the angel wings further down and to the sides?

You might need the Veet for those f**kers.
Post by: full back on January 04, 2010, 01:26:46 PM
On a related note (actually couldnt think of anywhere else to post it)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/8439495.stm

"Letting fatties roam the site is a direct threat to our business model and the very concept for which BeautifulPeople.com was founded."
Post by: screenexile on January 04, 2010, 02:03:16 PM
Quote from: full back on January 04, 2010, 12:45:17 PM

You are going to remove your back hair but you wouldnt do any of that 'womanly sh1te' like moisturise

Is getting rid of back hair womanly?? If so then yes I am prepared to be a woman on this occasion! Unfortunately I think the procedure will involve the help of someone else... I can't see anyone giving me a hand so I am unsure if it's gonna happen!
Post by: full back on January 04, 2010, 02:10:24 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 04, 2010, 02:03:16 PM

Is getting rid of back hair womanly?? If so then yes I am prepared to be a woman on this occasion! Unfortunately I think the procedure will involve the help of someone else... I can't see anyone giving me a hand so I am unsure if it's gonna happen!

Head to one of them beauty salon's & Im sure they will do it for you
Post by: thebigfella on January 04, 2010, 02:11:22 PM

Go get it waxed. There are plenty of places that would do it.

I've had the all over body wax, it's actually not that bad dunno what women give out about :P
Post by: sammymaguire on January 04, 2010, 03:18:56 PM
I won a pair of tweezers one time, I find they come in wild handy now and again
Post by: Puckoon on January 04, 2010, 04:56:14 PM

Id have a fairly hairy chest and just in the last year or two the tops of the shoulders and the bottom of the back are starting to sprout a bit. I have had the woman wax it for me, but it seems to bring it in thicker.

Have waxed the ole eyebrow too for shits and giggles, but now I just pluck her.

(And use tweezers on the monobrow)
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2010, 06:13:55 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on January 04, 2010, 02:11:22 PM

I've had the all over body wax,
it's actually not that bad dunno what women give out about :P
WHY
Post by: wallyman on January 04, 2010, 06:16:23 PM
had the sack waxed, some job
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2010, 06:17:28 PM
Would someone tell me why all the waxing??
Post by: Puckoon on January 04, 2010, 06:19:30 PM
It makes the naked tobogganing easier. Less friction.
Post by: Shazam on January 04, 2010, 06:19:54 PM
Fellla I know who is just home from Australia used ot get his woman to shave him with a one or a two all over.
Post by: leenie on January 04, 2010, 06:23:12 PM
 hmmmmmmmmmmm this

(http://www.chestermassage.co.uk/waxed-man.jpg)

or this

(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/About/General/2009/6/7/1244407835118/Rear-view-of-a-man-with-a-001.jpg)
Post by: ballinaman on January 04, 2010, 06:23:38 PM
Quote from: Shazam on January 04, 2010, 06:19:54 PM
Fellla I know who is just home from Australia used ot get his woman to shave him with a one or a two all over.
And who said romance was dead!
Post by: Shazam on January 04, 2010, 06:23:50 PM
That bottom pic is Tacadoir Ard Mhacha
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2010, 06:25:27 PM
neither for me leenie. 

Him on the bottom is extreme though, you can understand why he'd wax but all these people on here getting waxed can't be like that!

Quote from: Shazam on January 04, 2010, 06:19:54 PM
and the complaining my woman does about me! 
Post by: ziggysego on January 04, 2010, 06:26:28 PM
Quote from: leenie on January 04, 2010, 06:23:12 PM
hmmmmmmmmmmm this

(http://www.chestermassage.co.uk/waxed-man.jpg)

or this

(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/About/General/2009/6/7/1244407835118/Rear-view-of-a-man-with-a-001.jpg)

I know which downgirl would rather have
Post by: leenie on January 04, 2010, 06:29:00 PM

if there was a poster with a back like that... get it waxed to fook......uggghhh!

actually any back hair really... grand on the chest but thats it!
Post by: ziggysego on January 04, 2010, 06:31:32 PM
I've a hairless back leenie. Got hairy big toes though :\
Post by: gallsman on January 04, 2010, 06:38:03 PM
Is pube trimming acceptable?
Post by: Puckoon on January 04, 2010, 06:50:03 PM
Should be, especially as they greys come in.
Post by: John Martin on January 04, 2010, 07:58:56 PM
Quote from: Shazam on January 04, 2010, 06:23:50 PM

Ha, thats exactly what I said when I seen it.
Post by: lurganblue on January 04, 2010, 08:03:20 PM
Are people with monobrows ok to shave the middle to look normal?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 04, 2010, 08:11:18 PM
Quote from: John Martin on January 04, 2010, 07:58:56 PM

To be fair, I'm hairy but I'm not quite that hairy.

And I really don't think John_Martin wants some of his "male grooming" stories to be broadcast to the entire world!
Post by: John Martin on January 04, 2010, 08:15:52 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on January 04, 2010, 08:11:18 PM
Quote from: John Martin on January 04, 2010, 07:58:56 PM

To be fair, I'm hairy but I'm not quite that hairy.

And I really don't think John_Martin wants some of his "male grooming" stories to be broadcast to the entire world!

I just thought it was funny as I had the same thought and I don't know what you are talking about but I'll leave it at that just in case.
Post by: Puckoon on January 04, 2010, 08:21:16 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on January 04, 2010, 08:03:20 PM

Why would you shave it? That'd be the stupidest thing in the world

Pluck her, or wax her.
Post by: Agnes Dipesto on January 04, 2010, 08:26:08 PM
Moisturising is def ok and can't see the problem with most male grooming, eyebrows, nose hair, ear hair etc.

I like a hairy chest on a man but not a hairy back. Worked with a woman once and she had the hubby have his back waxed regularly and fair play to him he did as he was told. I would imagine it woud be extremely painful.
Post by: lurganblue on January 04, 2010, 08:54:12 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 04, 2010, 08:21:16 PM

Pluck her, or wax her.

pluck, wax, whatever... Acceptable for males?

I admit to using moisturiser, aftershave balm and gel. Face tends to dry out after a shower. I've the worst skin in the world.
I know lads who straighten the hair alright. One lad in particular even brings his ghd's on a stag weekend.
Post by: Puckoon on January 04, 2010, 09:02:01 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on January 04, 2010, 08:54:12 PM

Pluck her, or wax her.

I admit to using moisturiser, aftershave balm and gel. Face tends to dry out after a shower. I've the worst skin in the world.
I know lads who straighten the hair alright. One lad in particular even brings his ghd's on a stag weekend.

He should be locked in the hotel room for the duration to make him think about what he is doing.

Ask yourself the question - could I respect my dad if he did this?

If the answer is yeah - its no big deal, then its acceptable.

If I ever caught the auld boy with straightners - It'd be a straightner he'd get.
Post by: muppet on January 04, 2010, 09:14:22 PM

The women I know wouldn't be impressed with men stealing their moisturiser or fan tan. Girls like gay men sure, but they rarely have relationships with them.

Post by: ross4life on January 04, 2010, 09:38:05 PM
Danielle Lloyd who is a lingerie model, a former Miss England 2004, and a former Celebrity Big Brother contestant, showed off these manly hairy arm pits for My Bloody Hell

will this type of grooming catch on?

(http://images.hollywoodgrind.com:9000/images/2007/10/danielle-loyd-hairy-armpits-1.jpg)

(http://images.hollywoodgrind.com:9000/images/2007/10/danielle-loyd-hairy-armpits-3.jpg)

(http://images.hollywoodgrind.com:9000/images/2007/10/danielle-loyd-hairy-armpits-2.jpg)

(http://cdn.buzznet.com/media-cdn/jj1/headlines/2007/10/danielle-lloyd-hairy-armpits.jpg)
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2010, 09:44:45 PM

Pluck her, or wax her.

Some lads here need to take a long, hard look at themselves (shouldn't be a chore for some of you). Posters are claiming to use hair straighteners and sun beds or fake tan. Shocking! I'm tempted to lock the poll now as the moisturisers are catching up with the real men. For the sake of Irsihmen everywhere.
Post by: sammymaguire on January 05, 2010, 09:40:45 AM
I reckon getting the clippers out for the pubes and pits are a must  :o
Post by: illdecide on January 05, 2010, 10:13:27 AM

Pluck her, or wax her.

WTF...just you wait ya we bollix...i'll cream your face for ya alright ya we wuss, you and that blanca man with his straighteners :D :D :D

a bit of soap to give the batteries a good wash is all any man needs...no other cosmetics are needed. I now know why half of ye are fairies on the pitch :D :D
Post by: Hardy on January 05, 2010, 11:23:30 AM
Seriously, though, I had no idea this stuff was so rampant. It is providing a context that hadn't even occurred to me before for all the girly mincing and falling and screaming over broken nails we're seeing on the pitch these days. Any fairy that uses balm (whatever that is) or cream or straightens his hair (I even found it hard to type that) is not exactly the sort you'd expect to stand up and go toe-to-toe when the blood and snots are flying and lads are swallying their smaller teeth and spitting out the big ones.
Post by: INDIANA on January 05, 2010, 12:08:58 PM

Pluck her, or wax her.

Moisturisers, aftershave and gel would be fairly normal behaviour for any male who wants to have any chance with the opposite sex these days. Looking like Shane Mc Gowan and smelling like him as some is people's ambition here it appears won't do you any favours in a nightclub.

However fake tan, hair straighteners are absolutely ridiculous in my view for a bloke. At that stage you are a complete sissy if you're into that. Still with the amount of rugby players I see on TV wearing fake tan you wonder what the world is coming too.
Post by: thebigfella on January 05, 2010, 12:17:00 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 04, 2010, 06:13:55 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on January 04, 2010, 02:11:22 PM

I've had the all over body wax,
it's actually not that bad dunno what women give out about :P
WHY

Why not? Was seeing this deadly Scandinavian yoke for a bit and used to give out about how much of chore it was getting waxed, to cut a long story short I opened my mouth and was dared to get it. By the way she loved it :)
Post by: Trevor Hill on January 05, 2010, 12:41:54 PM
Quote from: Hardy on January 05, 2010, 11:23:30 AM
Seriously, though, I had no idea this stuff was so rampant. It is providing a context that hadn't even occurred to me before for all the girly mincing and falling and screaming over broken nails we're seeing on the pitch these days. Any fairy that uses balm (whatever that is) or cream or straightens his hair (I even found it hard to type that) is not exactly the sort you'd expect to stand up and go toe-to-toe when the blood and snots are flying and lads are swallying their smaller teeth and spitting out the big ones.

Some of us wouldnt have much use for straightners.  ;)
Post by: laoislad on April 05, 2013, 08:36:29 PM

When I started shaving my head first,and I mean proper shaving with shaving foam and a Mach 3 razor, it took me a while to get the hang of it and I use to cut myself and it was fairly sore.
The woman told me to throw some moisturiser on me noggin to sooth it down a little. Anyway not ever having used moisturiser before(or since) I picked up the first bottle I found on her dressing table and splashed it on. I used it for a few weeks and it did help,only thing was it was tinted moisturiser ,only realised what it was when the woman saw me using it and told me what it was.
I was a nice shade of brown for a few weeks though.
Post by: muppet on April 05, 2013, 08:42:20 PM
You shaved your head and put fake tan on it for a few weeks.

This is the wrong thread for that LL.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 05, 2013, 08:51:59 PM
You're dead to me Laoslad.
Post by: scoopmine on April 06, 2013, 12:05:02 PM
Use Moisturiser every day. Wax in the hair and I trim the beard instead of shaving as I hate shaving!  Have waxed my legs and chest for charity awful pain I don't know how people do it full time! Was recommended  sun beds to help with acne on the back but have not taken the plunge. Straighter's I thought you needed long hair to use them. Fake tan is for women in my opinion!
Post by: qubdub on April 06, 2013, 01:24:38 PM
Deodorant. Hair gel. Moisturiser, when required. Hand cream very occasionally. Trim the pubes, a must IMO. Armpits as well, for practical reasons i.e. retain less sweat. 

Quote from: scoopmine on April 06, 2013, 12:05:02 PM
Use Moisturiser every day. Wax in the hair and I trim the beard instead of shaving as I hate shaving!  Have waxed my legs and chest for charity awful pain I don't know how people do it full time! Was recommended  sun beds to help with acne on the back but have not taken the plunge. Straighter's I thought you needed long hair to use them. Fake tan is for women in my opinion!
I would hit the sunbeds now and again. Extremely sensitive skin, meaning any time I have a wet shave I get a bad rash, same for a dry shave as well actually - sunbeds are good for speeding up the healing process so I dunno what it's like for acne but I know other fellas who have used them for that reason. In any case I would avoid them if possible, not worth the risk.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 06, 2013, 01:41:15 PM
Jesus some lame excuses for moisturiser and sunbeds. "For medical reasons"  ;)
Post by: Hardy on April 06, 2013, 01:52:06 PM
Holy God! This is unbelievable.
Post by: illdecide on April 06, 2013, 02:24:43 PM
unreal some of u...I bet some of u sit down on the pot having a wee ffs
Post by: muppet on April 06, 2013, 05:23:06 PM
Quote from: illdecide on April 06, 2013, 02:24:43 PM

This  epidemic has got noticeably worse since the last time the thread was active. In fact it now appears to be a pandemic. What do we call it? Bird Flu?

Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 06, 2013, 05:27:55 PM

I have been doing this for a couple of years  now!! A lot easier and I never miss  :o
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 06, 2013, 06:22:50 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 06, 2013, 05:23:06 PM

This  epidemic has got noticeably worse since the last time the thread was active. In fact it now appears to be a pandemic. What do we call it? Bird Flu?
;D. If there was an age profile I would say all the culprits are under 30.

I prefer sitting for a slash too as at work the splashback on the work trousers isnt a good look. At home I use each trip to the bog as "cave time", for a bit of reading or catching up on the gaaboard or twitter, away from the wife and kids - much easier sitting than standing!
Post by: ballinaman on April 06, 2013, 06:25:28 PM
Muslim meself!
Post by: ziggysego on April 06, 2013, 09:06:59 PM

I do, but that's mainly because I can't walk or stand.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 06, 2013, 09:09:23 PM
Crowd of f**king nancy-dog ginnits!
Post by: heganboy on April 06, 2013, 09:14:39 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 06, 2013, 09:09:23 PM

good use of Ginnits there fella!
Post by: illdecide on April 06, 2013, 11:31:26 PM

Lol...couldn't c u with the straighteners and the false tan bc1  ;) us older folk just wouldn't be into the crap them younger WANs r up to
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 06, 2013, 11:36:52 PM
Too late for me now to start being megasexual but it depressing seeing grey hairs where they have no right to be. I hear a dose of Nilzan would get rid if them!
Post by: Syferus on April 06, 2013, 11:52:42 PM
Shavin' off the shaggy locks after someone mistook me for Jamie Clarke today  >:(
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 06, 2013, 11:56:21 PM
Quote from: illdecide on April 06, 2013, 11:31:26 PM

Lol...couldn't c u with the straighteners and the false tan bc1  ;) us older folk just wouldn't be into the crap them younger WANs r up to
All the angel dust in the meat round Cross helped with the complexion.
Post by: ziggysego on April 07, 2013, 12:55:20 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 06, 2013, 11:36:52 PM
Too late for me now to start being megasexual but it depressing seeing grey hairs where they have no right to be. I hear a dose of Nilzan would get rid if them!

The grey hairs are becoming prominent with me too these days. Can't say it causes me any great concern though.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 07, 2013, 02:34:57 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 07, 2013, 12:55:20 PM

The grey hairs are becoming prominent with me too these days. Can't say it causes me any great concern though.

It all depends where they are ziggy ;)

Post by: GAA_Talk on April 07, 2013, 08:10:58 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 07, 2013, 02:34:57 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 07, 2013, 12:55:20 PM

It all depends where they are ziggy ;)

Discovered a grey pube on my balls the other day. I didn't really freak out too much to be honest, the rest of the people in the lift however...
Post by: Apparently so on April 07, 2013, 11:31:22 PM
Gays
Post by: general_lee on September 21, 2015, 11:53:24 AM
Barbers....I know this won't apply til half of yas but n'matter...

What do you ask for? Same order every time or mix it up? Same barbers or do you not care, like wise same person or does it not matter? Would you recommend any barbers? How much do you pay? The reason I ask is cos I realised at the weekend that I can still never make my mind up what I want when I get the hair cut. I am always in two minds and usually as long as it's neater than what it was before I went in I am content. But then an hour or so later it is either too long or too short.
Post by: muppet on September 21, 2015, 12:48:00 PM
Quote from: general_lee on September 21, 2015, 11:53:24 AM

What do you ask for? Same order every time or mix it up? Same barbers or do you not care, like wise same person or does it not matter? Would you recommend any barbers? How much do you pay? The reason I ask is cos I realised at the weekend that I can still never make my mind up what I want when I get the hair cut. I am always in two minds and usually as long as it's neater than what it was before I went in I am content. But then an hour or so later it is either too long or too short.

I think you should go to a hairdresser.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 21, 2015, 01:23:05 PM
A touchy subject for me at the minute  :'( My days of attending a barber are numbered.
Post by: general_lee on September 21, 2015, 01:43:26 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 21, 2015, 12:48:00 PM
Quote from: general_lee on September 21, 2015, 11:53:24 AM

I think you should go to a hairdresser.
Haters gonna hate
Post by: laoislad on September 21, 2015, 01:50:33 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 21, 2015, 01:23:05 PM
A touchy subject for me at the minute  :'( My days of attending a barber are numbered.
Shave it off to fcuk.
All the cool guys do.... 8)
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 21, 2015, 01:51:44 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 21, 2015, 01:50:33 PM
Shave it off to fcuk.
All the cool guys do.... 8)
I'll be holding on to it for as long as possible despite getting abuse about having a comb-over. Still loads there  :P
Post by: illdecide on September 21, 2015, 02:21:34 PM
Here the worst thing in the world is guys who r going bald and they try the Wall-nut whip effect with the hair brushed across their bald head...FFS shave the thing off, you look pathetic.

I'm grey BTW.
Post by: The Iceman on September 21, 2015, 06:47:47 PM
an increasing amount of lads in there 30s and 40s rocking comb overs and thinking they're fooling us all
horrendous looking lads - if you're fighting a battle with the old male pattern baldness - you're losing it. Take defeat on the chin and shave it off
Post by: bennydorano on September 21, 2015, 07:40:50 PM
I've had my bonce shaved for about a year now, i'm getting a bit fed up with it tbh and thinking of growing it back (to a fairly shitty patchy #2 all over in all probability ),  i know it'll be a bit shite on it but i dont know if i can be arsed maintaining the slaphead.

I still catch a reflection of myself the odd time & think who's yer bald man :'(
Post by: laoislad on September 21, 2015, 08:19:53 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on September 21, 2015, 07:40:50 PM
I've had my bonce shaved for about a year now, i'm getting a bit fed up with it tbh and thinking of growing it back (to a fairly shitty patchy #2 all over in all probability ),  i know it'll be a bit shite on it but i dont know if i can be arsed maintaining the slaphead.

I still catch a reflection of myself the odd time & think who's yer bald man :'(
Sure its no hassle maintaining it.
I used to shave it with a razor and shaving gel which was a pain alright but I bought an electric razor and its a great job.
Very easy to shave it now, can multitask also and grab the electric razor and shave it while sitting on the jacks.
Post by: bennydorano on September 21, 2015, 09:01:40 PM
What do you use? I bought a barber type shaver ages ago & never use it, shave with blade & gel every few days.
Post by: laoislad on September 21, 2015, 09:06:46 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on September 21, 2015, 09:01:40 PM
What do you use? I bought a barber type shaver ages ago & never use it, shave with blade & gel every few days.
This is the yoke I have. I use it for my face and head. Great job.
(http://shaverfreak.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/Remington-XR1370-Hyper-Series.jpg)
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 21, 2015, 09:25:45 PM
Do you use it anywhere else Laoislad?  I've heard a bit of manscaping  an make it look bigger  ;D
Post by: ziggysego on September 22, 2015, 12:09:45 AM

Nonsense. I get the barber to trim my beard when I'm in...
Post by: BennyCake on September 22, 2015, 12:49:38 AM
Ye are all a bunch of ladyboys.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 22, 2015, 01:07:16 AM
Homophobe.
Post by: illdecide on September 22, 2015, 09:13:15 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 21, 2015, 09:25:45 PM
Do you use it anywhere else Laoislad?  I've heard a bit of manscaping  an make it look bigger  ;D

lol...
Post by: general_lee on April 20, 2020, 02:35:49 PM
how's the DIY haircuts coming along then? I'm sure some of you have already been cutting your own barnets long before the virus. Any advice. Main worry is it not growing back.
Post by: HiMucker on April 20, 2020, 02:44:50 PM
I cut the 4 year olds hair there and made a right hash of it. Apparently its not usually a number 2 that he gets. He looks like the boy in the striped pyjamas !
Post by: johnnycool on April 20, 2020, 03:06:14 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on April 20, 2020, 02:44:50 PM
I cut the 4 year olds hair there and made a right hash of it. Apparently its not usually a number 2 that he gets. He looks like the boy in the striped pyjamas !

Trying to talk the wife into allowing me to give twin 4yr old boys a buzz cut but she's having none off it. I offered to only do a grade 5 but she doesn't trust me!

It's not that anyone will see them for a while anyway
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 20, 2020, 03:26:55 PM
Not much of my to cut but tackled the young fellas who is 6. A few youtube tutorials and it doesn't look to bad. He aint going back to a barbers lOl!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 20, 2020, 03:27:25 PM

My young lad got that cut and that's the joke we were making about him!!

I always had a bit of length to my hair and in fact during my playing days I refused to get it cut during championship season.....good luck yadda, yadda...

Anyway I went full on and scalped myself last week. It's been a great and I will be keeping the corona cut to be honest. Cleaner, easier to manage and she likes the stubbly feel ;)...but seriously I really like it and after a few days of getting used to it is great!
Post by: Orior on April 20, 2020, 04:49:25 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 20, 2020, 03:27:25 PM

My young lad got that cut and that's the joke we were making about him!!

I always had a bit of length to my hair and in fact during my playing days I refused to get it cut during championship season.....good luck yadda, yadda...

Anyway I went full on and scalped myself last week. It's been a great and I will be keeping the corona cut to be honest. Cleaner, easier to manage and she likes the stubbly feel ;)...but seriously I really like it and after a few days of getting used to it is great!

Photo on Facebook now, or else it didn't happen lol.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 20, 2020, 04:57:26 PM
Clippers on the way from Amazon. One of my boys has given himself a mullet much to the missus' disgust so it'll be a tidy up job when they arrive. I'll need to tackle my own but unfortunately it grows thicker in some places than others!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 20, 2020, 05:07:25 PM
All this talk about cutting hair. Shave the head and be done with it. I shave mine most days.
Post by: Jim Bob on April 20, 2020, 06:11:20 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 20, 2020, 05:07:25 PM
All this talk about cutting hair. Shave the head and be done with it. I shave mine most days.

That's it. Short, back and sandpaper the way to go these days.
Post by: J70 on April 20, 2020, 06:16:20 PM
Gave my 8 year old son a 16mm cut all over last week with my shaver. Looks pretty good!
Post by: illdecide on April 21, 2020, 01:03:29 PM
I gave the 11 year old son a hair cut last week, the missus wasn't happy but she's came around now. TBF i was really pleased with the job i done and if you're being honest how can u get it wrong...? If it's a no 1 all over you just shave away, I promised him if he let me do it that i'd let him shave my head but when his was done i told him i hadn't time to get mine done and that i'd do it next week...lol
Post by: Dire Ear on May 12, 2021, 02:03:25 PM
Razors,  any one use the subscription ones?
Post by: johnnycool on May 12, 2021, 02:19:24 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on May 12, 2021, 02:03:25 PM
Razors,  any one use the subscription ones?

Are they the ones you pay so much per month and get them posted to you?

I use the Harry ones, they're dead on but do blunt quicker than the wilkinson sword ones I used to use.
Post by: Dire Ear on May 12, 2021, 02:27:50 PM
Cheers,  thinking the same
Post by: balladmaker on May 12, 2021, 03:05:50 PM
Old fashioned safety razor, and 100 blades (for a tenner), does for ages and as good a shave as any overpriced Gillette blades I've previously used ... saves a small fortune.
Post by: Dire Ear on May 12, 2021, 03:13:18 PM
Didn't even realise that those were still sold, to be honest!
But must have a look
Post by: lurganblue on May 12, 2021, 03:55:19 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on May 12, 2021, 03:05:50 PM
Old fashioned safety razor, and 100 blades (for a tenner), does for ages and as good a shave as any overpriced Gillette blades I've previously used ... saves a small fortune.

Moved to these over a year ago myself.  First few shaves cut the face off me but now that i'm used to it, they're certainly the way to go for a wet shave.

On a separate note, beard trimmers. Any recommendations for something decent at a reasonable price?
Post by: trailer on May 12, 2021, 04:23:24 PM
I use the Cornerstone stuff. It's grand. Shave every other day and box every 8 weeks or so does the job.
Post by: Dire Ear on May 12, 2021, 04:47:09 PM
Will look it up , cheers