Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Dinny Breen on December 23, 2009, 10:12:51 AM

Title: The Happy Christmas Thread
Post by: Dinny Breen on December 23, 2009, 10:12:51 AM
Well lads and lassies

hope you and your families all have a happy christmas and a prosperous new year.....

Here's a fanatastic poem from Paddy Kavanagh

Advent, by Patrick Kavanagh

We have tested and tasted too much, lover-
Through a chink too wide there comes in no wonder.
But here in the Advent-darkened room
Where the dry black bread and the sugarless tea
Of penance will charm back the luxury
Of a child's soul, we'll return to Doom
The knowledge we stole but could not use.

And the newness that was in every stale thing
When we looked at it as children: the spirit-shocking
Wonder in a black slanting Ulster hill
Or the prophetic astonishment in the tedious talking
Of an old fool will awake for us and bring
You and me to the yard gate to watch the whins
And the bog-holes, cart-tracks, old stables where Time
begins.

O after Christmas we'll have no need to go searching
For the difference that sets an old phrase burning-
We'll hear it in the whispered argument of a churning
Or in the streets where the village boys are lurching.
And we'll hear it among decent men too
Who barrow dung in gardens under trees,
Wherever life pours ordinary plenty.
Won't we be rich, my love and I, and
God we shall not ask for reason's payment,
The why of heart-breaking strangeness in dreeping hedges
Nor analyse God's breath in common statement.
We have thrown into the dust-bin the clay-minted wages
Of pleasure, knowledge and the conscious hour-
And Christ comes with a January flower.
Title: Re: The Happy Christmas Thread
Post by: Doogie Browser on December 23, 2009, 10:31:21 AM
Well said, I wish everyone (even the people who annoy me  :P) a very Happy and Peaceful Christmas.
Post by: Billys Boots on December 23, 2009, 10:44:11 AM
For the first time in a very, very long time I'm not working on Christmas Eve - oh yes.

A very happy and peaceful Christmas to you all, and an improved New Year.

In thr spirit of Dinny, I'll stick on a poem too (may seem a strange choice for an atheist, but I like the spirit of it at this time of the year).

Cuireadh do Mhuire
An eol duit, a Mhuire,
Cá rachair i mbliana
Ag iarraidh foscaidh
Do do Leanbh Naofa,
Tráth a bhfuil gach doras
Dúnta ina éadan
Ag fuath is uabhar
An chine dhaonna?

Deonaigh glacadh
Le cuireadh uaimse 
Go hoileán mara
San Iarthar cianda:
Beidh coinnle geala
I ngach fuinneog lasta
Is tine mhóna
Ar theallach adhainte

Máirtin Ó Direáin
Post by: stpauls on December 23, 2009, 10:50:34 AM
Merry Christmas Lads and Lasses, hope Santa is good to you all, and that the New Year brings you everything you wish for!!
Nollaig Shona Duit!!
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 23, 2009, 12:48:48 PM
It is not an easy time to be a fox especially with all that snow and my cubs are hungry. I look in through your windows and see on your computers and gorging boxes of sweets as I scavenge about for a plump chicken or two. Ziggy I may be up your way on Boxing Day (or St Stephens Day- to keep the Mexicans happy  ::) )

Christmas greetings to all, you too Laoislad, ...  this sent a tingle down my spine the first time I heard her perform it on the Late Late Show.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uy6ba_M6zww (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uy6ba_M6zww)

Post by: bingobus on December 23, 2009, 12:56:04 PM
Happy Christmas to everyone except EC Unique, New devil, nrico and the other manc twats...ah feck it, happy christmas to them as well.  ;D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on December 23, 2009, 01:08:09 PM
Merry Christmas to one and all!

Ny Kiree Fo Naghtey (The Sheep Beneath the Snow)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=blhSZg8GRdA
Post by: sammymaguire on December 23, 2009, 02:35:11 PM
Nollaig Shona to one and all!!
Post by: Square Ball on December 23, 2009, 02:39:41 PM
And a happy Christmas to all as well
Post by: mc_grens on December 23, 2009, 05:43:21 PM
Stockings hung by the chimney with care, shutters down, sash fastened.

I'm in my cap, mama's in her kerchief, a Merry Christmas to All, and to All a Good Night!
Post by: orangeman on December 23, 2009, 05:48:30 PM
Happy Christmas to all = have a happy and healthy New Year.
Post by: ONeill on December 23, 2009, 05:52:19 PM
This sort of shite sickens my hole.
Post by: armaghniac on December 23, 2009, 06:29:28 PM
QuoteThis sort of shite sickens my hole.

Keep her lit so. Happy Christmas to everyone even the begrudgers. 
Post by: stew on December 23, 2009, 06:31:35 PM
Shaney, hugs and kisses from Green Bay Wisconsin. :)

Happy Christmas one and all.  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on December 23, 2009, 09:27:21 PM
Sort of sickens my hole as well - and my wife's hole at that!  ???
Post by: Treasurer on December 23, 2009, 10:24:58 PM
Good choice Dinny, was one of my favourite poems in school.

Hope everyone has a good Christmas, especially those who find it a hard time for one reason or another.

Post by: Aerlik on December 24, 2009, 03:36:01 AM
Xmas greetings from Down Under to you all and to the grinch O'Neill.

Seeing the images of Europe  :( on the TV makes the xmas afternoon by the pool seem the more welcoming.
Post by: new devil on December 24, 2009, 01:01:03 PM
Quote from: bingobus on December 23, 2009, 12:56:04 PM
Happy Christmas to everyone except EC Unique, New devil, nrico and the other manc t**ts...ah feck it, happy christmas to them as well.  ;D

:D :D Thanks Bingo...same to you  ;)
Post by: The Watcher Pat on December 24, 2009, 01:05:06 PM
Nollaig Shona Duit

Post by: gerry on December 24, 2009, 05:41:01 PM
Still fecking working
Post by: leenie on December 24, 2009, 09:36:12 PM

Merry Christmas everyone....

no one is excluded......(maybe stew)

god bless us all!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 25, 2009, 03:49:26 AM
Nollaig Shona people, I hope you all have a good enjoyable day whatever you get up to.
Post by: Puckoon on December 25, 2009, 07:38:25 AM
A Christmas disaster!

Came home from mass with the family to find that the dogs have eaten the christmas ham!

The old man is beside himself and I'm trying not to laugh. The dogs are just in a food coma.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 25, 2009, 08:23:29 AM
kids have me up from 5!!! sent them back to bed for a while but we finally gave in to their jumping around the bedroom.

Santa called had his mince pie (i hate mince pies) and drank his milk.

i was waiting on the usuall shirt, socks and pants gifts but ended up with a Playstation 3 !!! divorce papers at the ready

to ALL the posters Merry Christmas From Naomh Gall
Post by: anportmorforjfc on December 25, 2009, 09:20:39 AM
Happy Christmas Everyone.

Snow is forecast  ;D
Post by: ONeill on December 25, 2009, 10:32:42 AM
Not an ounce of sleep until 4. Then they woke at 6.30.

This turkey'd better be good.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 25, 2009, 11:03:52 AM
No fecking water in the house! The pipe outside must be frozen somewhere. It's as well we are for the inlaws for dinner.
Post by: Square Ball on December 25, 2009, 11:51:40 AM
Quote from: anportmorforjfc on December 25, 2009, 09:20:39 AM
Happy Christmas Everyone.

Snow is forecast  ;D
Met Office has issued a severe weather warning because of heavy snow moving into the west of Northern Ireland on Christmas Day.

Two to five cm are expected in low lying areas inland with up to 10 cm on higher ground.

The weather will move across county Fermanagh but will eventually reach all parts.

Motorists are being warned to take particular care when driving on icy roads.

Post by: Tony Baloney on December 25, 2009, 12:23:56 PM
Snow is alright in Christmas movies but is a right pain in the arse after more than a couple of days. The roads round here have been atrocious since last weekend.
Post by: FermGael on December 25, 2009, 03:06:12 PM
Happy Christmas.
Snowing hard in Enniskillen.
Post by: stew on December 25, 2009, 03:18:28 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 24, 2009, 09:40:51 PM
Happy 52nd birthday Shane. Have a goodun.

Well said hardstation, I echo those sentiments.
Post by: down6061689194 on December 26, 2009, 09:29:32 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6dqVDQ-lF4Q

Christmas '09 for me.

Hope you had a good one
Post by: longrunsthefox on December 26, 2009, 12:57:43 PM
Highlight again.. the Royle Family not Elizabeth and that crew going to church at Sandringham or wherever the hell it is.
Magical time with the wee'uns tho Mrs Fox always gets me something that is really for herself and the whole family  :-\ This time a CD player thing radio for kitchen and last year a toastie maker thing... as sly as a fox as they say.
Ziggy! are you out there man?!! 
Post by: Puckoon on December 26, 2009, 02:54:44 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 25, 2009, 07:38:25 AM
A Christmas disaster!

Came home from mass with the family to find that the dogs have eaten the christmas ham!

The old man is beside himself and I'm trying not to laugh. The dogs are just in a food coma.

the effects of eating a 9lb ham on the digestive workings of a canine familiaris will be published early 2010. Not a pretty sight. Wiping dogs asses on Christmas day was not what I signed up for.
Post by: leenie on December 28, 2009, 01:21:21 PM
 hope everyone had a good Christmas......

heading out tonight to more power woohoo... that will be 3 nights in a row so i say i'll be making up for it for the rest of the week ..... (crap just remembered its new yr eve on thurs)

met a few boarders over the festive season... strange hearing leenie being roared over a bar !

p.s where would u head in belfast for new yr eves and what time?
Post by: D4S on December 28, 2009, 07:15:20 PM
......If looks could kill I was a goner leenie ;) Great night in Omagh saturday night main street was jammed!! Nice to see yourself and maggie out together!