Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: stew on December 09, 2009, 03:14:31 PM

Title: 16 inches of snow in one day
Post by: stew on December 09, 2009, 03:14:31 PM
Feck me, i went to bed last nigt and the driveway was bone dry, I woke up this morning and the ground was covered with 14 inches of snow, I proceeded to break the snowplough and have resorted to shovelling this hateful shite, meanwhile the Governor has the national guard out to help motorists in trouble, i hate winter here, we are going to have to move, i cant take it anymore. :'( :'(
Title: Re: 16 inches of snow in one day
Post by: bingobus on December 09, 2009, 03:15:27 PM
But has Tiger woods buried anyone in the snow yet  ;)
Post by: Puckoon on December 09, 2009, 03:17:24 PM
Sucks something awful stew. We just had 12 inches on Sunday night/Monday morning which has been followed by temperatures as low as -19 celsius. The roads are like glass and there's more snow coming our way tomorrow...
Post by: stew on December 09, 2009, 03:20:50 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 09, 2009, 03:17:24 PM
Sucks something awful stew. We just had 12 inches on Sunday night/Monday morning which has been followed by temperatures as low as -19 celsius. The roads are like glass and there's more snow coming our way tomorrow...

Feck puck, our temps are still low thirties, i hate the thoughts of whats coming, I am not outdoorsy at all in the winter, i dont hunt, shoot or fish nor do i snowmobile or ski, I play indoor sawker, coac kids sawker and go to the gym and thats it.

I would move to Florida in the morning if herself would go, I told her I have maybe one more winter in me and thats it, I cant take it anymore.
Post by: Puckoon on December 09, 2009, 03:24:00 PM
We had our first minus farenheit recording last night at -1.

It's the driving that gets me. Reno is beautiful when the snow comes as werre surrounded by the mountains, and I enjoy the skiijng. The driving however and knowing that I can land on me arse at any moment kind of sucks.
Post by: mournerambler on December 09, 2009, 03:25:25 PM
Many's a lady or certain men for that matter wouldn't complain about 16 inches in one day.
Post by: stew on December 09, 2009, 03:28:18 PM
Quote from: mournerambler on December 09, 2009, 03:25:25 PM
Many's a lady or certain men for that matter wouldn't complain about 16 inches in one day.

Would tey be planning on shagging the better half three tmes in one day then?
Post by: Silky on December 09, 2009, 03:31:54 PM
I didn't realise you got it that bad up in the north!
Post by: kumquat on December 09, 2009, 03:32:45 PM
Quote from: bingobus on December 09, 2009, 03:15:27 PM

he was probably buried in a porn star called Snow though  ::)
Post by: dodo on December 09, 2009, 03:35:12 PM
Quote from: Silky on December 09, 2009, 03:31:54 PM
I didn't realise you got it that bad up in the north!

Is this the end of the black north ??
Post by: Main Street on December 09, 2009, 04:19:38 PM
More proof that the pioneering spirit of the occupied Nordies who escaped, has been watered down to an impotent level.
Post by: mournerambler on December 09, 2009, 04:24:31 PM
Quote from: stew on December 09, 2009, 03:28:18 PM

speak for yourself stew but for myself that'd be twice, put 6 holes in it & you could play the sash ;)
Post by: stew on December 09, 2009, 05:36:54 PM
Quote from: mournerambler on December 09, 2009, 04:24:31 PM
Quote from: stew on December 09, 2009, 03:28:18 PM

speak for yourself stew but for myself that'd be twice, put 6 holes in it & you could play the sash ;)

For me sadly it is twice and the rest.  ::)
Post by: stew on December 09, 2009, 05:42:35 PM
Well, te neighbours came over with a spanking new snowblower and sorted me out in half an hour, all i had to do was the footpaths and the deck. Nothing else for it now lads, have the house to meself so i am opening a bottle of wine and having a read beside the aul fire with te two dogs on my ap, lovely. The best part is I am being paid for being off.
Post by: mc_grens on December 09, 2009, 06:32:47 PM
I take it you're in Wisconsin or conneticut or somewhere Stew.

Does this mean we get snow games in the NFL this Sunday? I love snow games.
Post by: muppet on December 09, 2009, 06:44:34 PM
Quote from: kumquat on December 09, 2009, 03:32:45 PM
Quote from: bingobus on December 09, 2009, 03:15:27 PM

he was probably buried in a porn star called Snow though  ::)

There could be a film 'Snow ploughed by the 7 dwarves'
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on December 09, 2009, 07:04:24 PM
Ah God love ye's, I would kill for snow over here, at least you have proper seasons, so stop complaining!  :P
Post by: FL/MAYO on December 09, 2009, 10:10:49 PM

I would move to Florida in the morning if herself would go, I told her I have maybe one more winter in me and thats it, I cant take it anymore.

Could do with a bit of cool weather down here it was 87 degrees here this afternoon.
Stew before you move to Florida you have to remember that the summers are just awful here hot and humid every day with the occasional hurricane passing through...be careful of what you wish for ;)
Post by: Lady GAA GAA on December 09, 2009, 10:11:34 PM
first time OP has mentioned that he lives in America?
Post by: ardmhachaabu on December 09, 2009, 10:46:37 PM
Quote from: Lady GAA GAA on December 09, 2009, 10:11:34 PM
Nope, definitely not
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 09, 2009, 10:48:52 PM

first time you've complained on here?  ::)
Post by: Lady GAA GAA on December 09, 2009, 11:07:23 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on December 09, 2009, 10:48:52 PM

first time you've complained on here?  ::)

wait-do you live outside ireland too?  :o
Post by: DrinkingHarp on December 10, 2009, 09:47:05 AM
Six hours of class today.
10 hours of work.
Get home in time to shovel about 4 inches of snow and try to scrape 2 inches of ice below it (-16C) at 3AM. ::)

Not as much snow as you Stew, but I think 2 more years and the south is looking better.

South Carolina Coast, San Diego or even Houston.
Post by: Puckoon on December 11, 2009, 08:28:05 PM
feck me another 3 inches over night with 10 inches to a foot expected tomorrow.
Post by: stew on December 24, 2009, 10:49:51 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on December 11, 2009, 08:28:05 PM

We are about to get hit with a half inch of rain followed by 1-3 inches of snow AND 35 mph winds which means we are going to get glare ice, black ice and I can forget about shoveling because of the high winds, feckin nightmare Christmas day weather wise.

We have thirty one coming for dinner, I would say if half that number showed up we would be doing well, and after prepping a shit load of food for four or five hours today. :'(

I am well aware of the weather in Florida, I live there for four weeks a year and i would take that weather all day long over ours here in Green Bay.
Post by: midLouth on December 24, 2009, 10:51:34 PM
Quote from: stew on December 24, 2009, 10:49:51 PM

We are about to get hit with a half inch of rain followed by 1-3 inches of snow AND 35 mph winds which means we are going to get glare ice, black ice and I can forget about shoveling because of the high winds, feckin nightmare Christmas day weather wise.

We have thirty one coming for dinner, I would say if half that number showed up we would be doing well, and after prepping a shit load of food for four or five hours today. :'(

I am well aware of the weather in Florida, I live there for four weeks a year and i would take that weather all day long over ours here in Green Bay.

Whatever the weather, whatever the workload, have a great day!
Post by: stew on December 25, 2009, 01:51:25 AM
Quote from: hardstation on December 24, 2009, 10:51:50 PM

Sweet mother of Jaysus....

There are truckers we know that are on their own and off work over Xmas that come to our place, we have friends from ireland, Turkey, Engerland and Amerikay that come to us every Christmas, we have a ballix from Dundalk, a rugger bugger that hates the GAA that comes for Christmas, he playes the guitar and sings and is a professional musician, and he is the entertainment. Finally, we have four left footers from Orangefield in Armagh, norn iron supporters all and they come every Christmas, they stay at our place and we love them dearly.

It's christmas for fecks sake, everybody and anybody is welcome, even sammyg if he ever showed up.  :P

Have a great Christmas everybody and remember this, but for a feckin atrocious call, Armagh would have won the All ireland in 2003.
Post by: stew on December 25, 2009, 03:56:42 PM
Quote from: mc_grens on December 09, 2009, 06:32:47 PM
I take it you're in Wisconsin or conneticut or somewhere Stew.

Does this mean we get snow games in the NFL this Sunday? I love snow games.

Wisconsin, green bay to be exact.

Check out the vikings snow game against the Bears on Monday night, heres hoping Favre is crap again this week, he will ruin the vikings the way he is going. ;D
Post by: Gaffer on December 28, 2009, 04:51:22 PM
Quote from: stew on December 25, 2009, 01:51:25 AM
Quote from: hardstation on December 24, 2009, 10:51:50 PM

Sweet mother of Jaysus....

There are truckers we know that are on their own and off work over Xmas that come to our place, we have friends from ireland, Turkey, Engerland and Amerikay that come to us every Christmas, we have a ballix from Dundalk, a rugger bugger that hates the GAA that comes for Christmas, he playes the guitar and sings and is a professional musician, and he is the entertainment. Finally, we have four left footers from Orangefield in Armagh, norn iron supporters all and they come every Christmas, they stay at our place and we love them dearly.

It's christmas for fecks sake, everybody and anybody is welcome, even sammyg if he ever showed up.  :P

Have a great Christmas everybody and remember this, but for a feckin atrocious call, Armagh would have won the All ireland in 2003.

Tyrone