Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Puckoon on October 13, 2009, 12:50:48 AM

Title: We are not very nice at all, are we?
Post by: Puckoon on October 13, 2009, 12:50:48 AM
Growing up Irish, I always thought that we were somehow a pleasant, nice people. People said hello to each other, helped their neighbour and were generally decent sorts. The land of fecking saints and scholars my arse.

Take a look at the attitudes that prevail on this board in response to many innocuous issues today.

Online dating: for losers, and weirdos who can't get laid in a nightclub.
Men wearing scarves or straightening their hair: tossers, c***ts, twats, homos
Stephen gately: enough said

is it because the board is annonymous that these hardline attitudes, and intolerant opinions are so frequent on this board?
Is it indicative of the type of person who enjoys GAA?
Is it indicative of Irish people as a whole?
Is it because there's too many tyronies on the board?

Or are we as a nation thouroughly undeserving of the credit laid at our name of being the land of a hundred thousand welcomes, because, well, we're basically a bunch of racist, intolerant, ill mannered c***ts?
Title: Re: We are not very nice at all, are we?
Post by: Capt Pat on October 13, 2009, 01:02:17 AM
We are a mixed up bunch really. We have lots of very pleasant people in this country but we have one of the highest proportion of c***ts in the world, it is at about 30% which is the higest in the world apart from Russia which is at 100%.
However your original point is correct.
Post by: Main Street on October 13, 2009, 01:38:23 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 13, 2009, 12:50:48 AM
Or are we as a nation thouroughly undeserving of the credit laid at our name of being the land of a hundred thousand welcomes, because, well, we're basically a bunch of racist, intolerant, ill mannered c***ts?
Loads of undeserved credit is being laid on the land in the name of Nama.
Post by: tyrone86 on October 13, 2009, 02:17:07 AM
In words of Grampa Simpson, 'A little from column A and a little from column B' (And C & D).

To be fair, there's a large element of winding in those threads - I don't think there's too many would repeat those comments if they were in public even if they did think them.

And as Capt Pat said, we're really a very mixed up bunch. It seems begrudgery (e.g. Gately) and irrational hatred (the gays/other nonconformists) are just two traits of the Irish psyche and its always been like that.
Post by: Caid on October 13, 2009, 03:26:02 AM
QuoteThere's a serious homophobia vibe on the Board.  Confirm's my thought that whilst the Irish are thought of as a warm, friendly, people that is only the case if th person in question is a white caucasian or a female.  I think the Irish can be wholly bigoted towards anyone of different skin colour or sexuality.

My post above from the Hair Straightners thread
Post by: Aerlik on October 13, 2009, 04:57:35 AM
Quote from: Capt Pat on October 13, 2009, 01:02:17 AM
apart from Russia which is at 100%.

:D :D

Now that made me giggle
Post by: SidelineKick on October 13, 2009, 08:27:34 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on October 13, 2009, 04:57:35 AM

Now that made me giggle

::) t**t
Post by: long sleves on October 13, 2009, 08:59:00 AM
Funny I signed up to this board as I was told by friends it was good craic. I didn't think they meant that good craic was b1tching at each other and being homophobic. I know it is a discussion board and everyones opinion is their own but as mentioned in Puckoon's post I think a lot of people are trying to act the big fella behind an annonymous name. Personally I would never write anything on a disscussion board that I wouldn't say in the 'real world'.
Post by: SidelineKick on October 13, 2009, 09:01:22 AM
My last post about Aerlik was just a joke, keeping in running with the theme of Puckoon's thread!

Though the word giggle is slightly annoying.  Ziggy's favourite!
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 13, 2009, 09:10:47 AM
The Ireland of cead milè failte was nothing other than a marketing ploy to screw gullible Yanks out of money. We are a nation of money-grabbing, cynical, begrudging c***ts who believe that corruption, alcohol abuse and general under handedmess are acceptable as "it's only a bit of craic" and there is a mythology that the Irish are lovable rogues.Crucially though I don't think these traits appear more or less than anywhere else.
Post by: theskull1 on October 13, 2009, 09:40:34 AM
Men using hair straightners is not good though right??...I haven't read the thread but I assume most people would agree this men apeing female behavioural/preening traits is not something that should be deemed socially acceptable for the general population (speaking from a survival of the species point of view). Each to their own I know but it come on...

Problem is with a discussion board is that the printed word hangs around longer than a spoken word AND is there for everybody to see. The ones who voice these views in public say them to closed groups where they know they will be listened to. The internet just exposes how narrow minded some people really are. God love them I suppose  :-\
Post by: Master Yoda on October 13, 2009, 09:43:47 AM
I am very nice! :)
Post by: bcarrier on October 13, 2009, 09:47:00 AM
I do think trolling has moved from internet boards into "real life" ...there would always have been a few lads who would have hopped the ball but there are a whole new breed of clueless classless fishermen out there today.

I'm afraid the real ireland is one of me fein these days.

Post by: AbbeySider on October 13, 2009, 10:02:29 AM
I didnt notice any threads on the below topics but peoples attitudes are childish and immature on this board.
It very obvious that often the younger posters are the ones dancing on the grave of Stephen Gately or assaulting someone character because they are not comfortable with themselves.
This board started with purely GAA topics (and should return to that IMO), but when people started to post more on the General Board it automatically becomes more personal as people get to know one another better. That opens the window for people to criticises others opinions and assault peoples character despite not having much of an opinion of their own.
The Stephen Gately (RIP) thread was a perfect example.
A thread about someones untimely passing was used by some people to berate which isnt on.
Really if you dont have anything positive to say in those situations you should say nothing at all.
But, posters immaturity and ignorance really shone through, and I suppose its a sign of the times and a reflection on the board and Irish society in general. People just have less and less moral character and tact. Ignorance is rampant on the board and everywhere else.

For the record, and because I missed the topics this stuff was mentioned...
I know some believed and normal people who dont move in many social circles and dont get the chance to meet people, that use online dating. Its very healthy and a good outlet. Would anyone prefer suicide due to depression or loneliness or perfer soneone to try and find a friend or companionship?

Men wearing scarves....t**sers, c***ts, t**ts, homos
I wear a cravat with a long grey tweed jacket and it looks savage. It provokes a bit of banter with a minority of the lads (because they admittedly by themselves couldnt pull it off) but for the most part it I like wearing it and it goes down well. I wont comment people who pass snide remarks, but I guarantee it wouldnt happen in my presence, or in the presence of anyone I know.

or straightening their hair:....t**sers, c***ts, t**ts, homos
When I had long hair, a few times my girlfriend of 5 years used to straighten it for the craic a couple of times (never in public  :D ). I dont see the big deal. I was never into it myself, but some people that wear their hair long need to straighten it. Again its people who are not comfortable in themselves that will make the most noise.
Post by: Master Yoda on October 13, 2009, 10:05:24 AM
Dead on Conor!
Post by: johnneycool on October 13, 2009, 10:31:25 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 13, 2009, 09:40:34 AM
Men using hair straightners is not good though right??...I haven't read the thread but I assume most people would agree this men apeing female behavioural/preening traits is not something that should be deemed socially acceptable for the general population (speaking from a survival of the species point of view). Each to their own I know but it come on...

Every generation belittles the next one for not being as 'manly' as them as I'm sure Skull your Da might snigger at things you'd maybe consider 'personal hygiene' like showering/bathing every day and he maybe only bathed on the saturday night for mass the next morning.

I'm sure there's lads on here wouldn't think twice of moisturising after shaving rather than throwing a handfull of cold ater over the face followed by another handful of old spice.

As for the hair straightners, its been a day or two since I've needed to worry about that  :-[

As for Ireland of the thousand welcomes, well you'll get a lovely welcome if we think you're going to splash the cash. If you're over 'taking our jobs' then we're no better than our British neighbours.
Post by: theskull1 on October 13, 2009, 10:40:00 AM
Abbeysider...personally I have no issue with people (and actually have admiration for those) who try to be different/INDIVIDUAL in the way they look. I think what alot of posters who have a problem with straightners/scarves on T shirt boyos is that they are simply apeing a celeb/Russell Brand type of culture and for that reason they are a very different breed than that of a person who thinks and dresses for himself rather than being led by pictures in Look magazine. So I would contend that the scarve wearing hair straightening brigade are the ones who are not comfortable within themselves if they feel they need to be copying Brand and the likes style? Teenagers yes of course they will mature (hands up who had the bay city roller look?), it's the late 20/30 year old lads at the same thing that looks unhealthy to me, just as a 30 year old wearing a bay city rollers outfit was years ago.

I actually had to change my fashion sense so that I look less attractive to the female species. It's been working for years now
Post by: orangeman on October 13, 2009, 10:43:50 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 13, 2009, 10:40:00 AM
Abbeysider...personally I have no issue with people (and actually have admiration for those) who try to be different/INDIVIDUAL in the way they look. I think what alot of posters who have a problem with straightners/scarves on T shirt boyos is that they are simply apeing a celeb/Russell Brand type of culture and for that reason they are a very different breed than that of a person who thinks and dresses for himself rather than being led by pictures in Look magazine. So I would contend that the scarve wearing hair straightening brigade are the ones who are not comfortable within themselves if they feel they need to be copying Brand and the likes style? Teenagers yes of course they will mature (hands up who had the bay city roller look?), it's the late 20/30 year old lads at the same thing that looks unhealthy to me, just as a 30 year old wearing a bay city rollers outfit was years ago.

I actually had to change my fashion sense so that I look less attractive to the female species. It's been working for years now

;) :D
Post by: illdecide on October 13, 2009, 10:53:00 AM
It is true that the majority of us (Irish) are ignorant to certain things and we have not been used to a multi cultural society. I for one can say that when i was younger i was so anti gay (i really hated gays with a passion) i wasn't really racist but i have to say not that bad compared to most but as I've got older and matured a bit (still have a bit to go though) i now have a different view on things...My sister adopted a coloured girl from South Africa when she lived there and now she's back home she gets more attention than the rest of the kids and if i heard anyone saying anything about her I'd be not pleased at all (thats putting it nicely) also on the gay issue i couldn't care less who is gay as long as they're not bothering me...

We as a nation are just so set in our ways and cannot accept that things change
Post by: Minder on October 13, 2009, 11:01:12 AM
Quote from: illdecide on October 13, 2009, 10:53:00 AM
It is true that the majority of us (Irish) are ignorant to certain things and we have not been used to a multi cultural society. I for one can say that when i was younger i was so anti gay (i really hated gays with a passion) i wasn't really racist but i have to say not that bad compared to most but as I've got older and matured a bit (still have a bit to go though) i now have a different view on things...My sister adopted a coloured girl from South Africa when she lived there and now she's back home she gets more attention than the rest of the kids and if i heard anyone saying anything about her I'd be not pleased at all (thats putting it nicely) also on the gay issue i couldn't care less who is gay as long as they're not bothering me...

We as a nation are just so set in our ways and cannot accept that things change

Post by: gallsman on October 13, 2009, 11:21:21 AM
Growing up Irish, I always thought that we were somehow a pleasant, nice people. People said hello to each other, helped their neighbour and were generally decent sorts. The land of fecking saints and scholars my arse.

Take a look at the attitudes that prevail on this board in response to many innocuous issues today.

Men wearing scarves or straightening their hair: t**sers, c***ts, t**ts, homos

is it because the board is annonymous that these hardline attitudes, and intolerant opinions are so frequent on this board?

It's because there's too many people from Armagh and Tyrone who believe their manliness has it's roots in the fact that they once fingered a girl at a teeny bopper disco in Cookstown. Then they moved to the Holylands and got laid about once every three years, but despite living in a house with four other lads, they would routinely chat about the girl they rode the night before, even though they all sat at home drinking a bottle of buckie before striking out in the Bot, going for a kebab and then watching Sky Sports News for an hour before passing out. Alone.
Post by: Aerlik on October 13, 2009, 12:05:28 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on October 13, 2009, 08:27:34 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on October 13, 2009, 04:57:35 AM

Now that made me giggle

::) t**t

Puckoon, your case is rested.

SLK, I have very, very good reason for reacting the way I did to Capt. Pat's post, which again, I found to be funny and so appropriate to my personal circumstances.

Tis Time you cut mammy' apron strings, boyo.
Post by: SidelineKick on October 13, 2009, 12:21:25 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on October 13, 2009, 09:01:22 AM
My last post about Aerlik was just a joke, keeping in running with the theme of Puckoon's thread!

Though the word giggle is slightly annoying.  Ziggy's favourite!
Post by: Rav67 on October 13, 2009, 01:50:55 PM
I've always thought the whole nice or friendly mythical Irish image was a load of shite tbh
Post by: Franko on October 13, 2009, 02:03:47 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 13, 2009, 11:21:21 AM

It's because there's too many people from Armagh and Tyrone who believe their manliness has it's roots in the fact that they once fingered a girl at a teeny bopper disco in Cookstown. Then they moved to the Holylands and got laid about once every three years, but despite living in a house with four other lads, they would routinely chat about the girl they rode the night before, even though they all sat at home drinking a bottle of buckie before striking out in the Bot, going for a kebab and then watching Sky Sports News for an hour before passing out. Alone.

Yeah, it's the students from Armagh and Tyrone who live in multiple occupancy houses in the Holylands and drink in the bot who have ruined the country.

I could attempt to lay blame at the door of the white lightning drinking joyriding knife carrying spides from Belfast but I wouldn't want to sound ridiculous...  ::) ::)

FFS
Post by: ziggysego on October 13, 2009, 02:08:50 PM
The board is just a reflection on a wider society. The youth of today have no manners and leave it's ok to be behaving in the manner they have become accustomed to in college.

Wasn't there a survey don't recently that showed despite the Irish friendly sterotype, we are actually one of the most racist countries in Europe? I didn't believe it at the time, but I sat back and listened to the conversations around me. Whether here or in the 'real world'. We really are a small-minded country and the sooner we get a bit of cop on, the better.
Post by: theskull1 on October 13, 2009, 02:28:03 PM
You wouldn't have heard too many telling jokes about priests 50 years ago either.  Aye..the youth of today! tschh ;)
Post by: SidelineKick on October 13, 2009, 02:35:16 PM
A bit of racism never hurt anybody.
Post by: redhugh on October 13, 2009, 02:36:57 PM
I think the smell of a pound drove us all half mad during the fruitful years. Everything became about money and very much changed how we as a society think and function.The prevailing attitude seemed to be make money at any cost. We used to be a far more community minded society which cared about our neighbours etc.Whatever happened to the old addage of ní neart go chur le cheile.The scarring that this scenario has left in my opinion seems to be that we now find it increasingly difficult to have a collective mindset, as the success at any cost attitude has left us all thinking solely as individuals.There is an attitude of I'm allright jack and fcuk everyone else. Look for example at how we treat our elderly and sick compared to many other countries with a hell of a lot less than us, we really do need to sort ourselves out.
Post by: theskull1 on October 13, 2009, 02:54:09 PM
Drove alot of people that way hugh. I'd a friend who regularly commented on the new found catholic wealth and how he despised the 5 series driving, big shirt fat belly pointy tanned shoed wearing brigade who were all in it for themselves and basked in the admiration of those who were still trying to get there whilst they all stood and drank the face off themselves every weekend thinking life was great guns.

Alot of people are not that way thank god
Post by: gallsman on October 13, 2009, 03:00:41 PM
Quote from: Franko on October 13, 2009, 02:03:47 PM
Quote from: gallsman on October 13, 2009, 11:21:21 AM

Yeah, it's the students from Armagh and Tyrone who live in multiple occupancy houses in the Holylands and drink in the bot who have ruined the country.

I could attempt to lay blame at the door of the white lightning drinking joyriding knife carrying spides from Belfast but I wouldn't want to sound ridiculous...  ::) ::)

FFS

If you had a bit of wit about you you'd have realised I was referring to the fact that Puckoon highlighted the attitudes of board members. I doubt there's too man white lightning drinking joyriding knife carrying spides from Belfast on the board...
Post by: Sandino on October 13, 2009, 03:33:44 PM
I have to say that IMHO the Irish as a people have changed. Alas I think we have changed for the worse, we were all those nice things people said about us. This was reflected in the way most people welcomed us as we travelled the world.  As a nation we gave more to Live Aid per heard that any country in the world. This board now reflects real life in that there are those who you would happily share a pint with and there are others who you would walk out of the Bar rather than chat with.

Post by: theskull1 on October 13, 2009, 03:53:07 PM
Remember boys....romantic and or politically motivated writers/poets as well as american film studios have created the dewey eyed romantic image that many of us assume to have been the normal sort of discourse between irish folk in days gone by. It was not all shamrocks and pots of gold

I have no doubt that there was as many  c**ts living back then as there is now only nobody wrote/talked/recorded their behaviour and made it available to the wider public for consumption. So we're trying to live up to the standards set in a myth. We can be too sore on ourselves.

I for one know that there are more altruistic people in my club than there were 40 years ago. Fair play to the few in every club who kept the whole thing going over the years for they are real heros, but nowadays there are more volunteers than there ever was. Yes the c**ts are still about but they always were.
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 13, 2009, 06:11:23 PM

Most people are c***ts, there are very few genuinely nice people and that's not just in Ireland

As for the board, insecurity has a lot to answer for
We have an awful amount of insecure little boys posting.  To make themselves feel better they ridicule anyone that may be different than them, whether they be living or dead.
Post by: stew on October 13, 2009, 06:17:02 PM
Quote from: Master Yoda on October 13, 2009, 09:43:47 AM
I am very nice! :)

Yo Yoda, should that not read..................." very nice I am"    You know, to stay in character and all that. :)
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 13, 2009, 08:10:01 PM
See, there's three kinds of people: dicks, pussies, and assholes.
Pussies think everyone can get along, and dicks just want to f**k all the time without thinking it through.
But then you got your assholes, and all the assholes want us to shit all over everything!
So, pussies may get mad at dicks once in a while, because pussies get fucked by dicks. But dicks also f**k assholes, and if they didn't f**k the assholes, you know what you'd get? You'd get your dick and your pussy all covered in shit!