Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: long sleves on October 11, 2009, 10:32:14 PM

Title: Online dating
Post by: long sleves on October 11, 2009, 10:32:14 PM
Anyone on the board ever tried this?

I would be very reluctant my view was always 'you would have to be one ugly cnut and pure desperate to do online dating'. However i know a couple of ones that have tried this and said they have found 'the one'.

Title: Re: Online dating
Post by: illdecide on October 11, 2009, 10:47:53 PM
No didn't try nor would i as if you can't find yourself a woman out there then there is something wrong with ya. Get youself to a night club man and get you leg over and releave some of that tension...lol
Post by: Orior on October 11, 2009, 10:56:18 PM
Try this one

Lovely Girls Online (http://www.datewithasheep.com)

Post by: Tony Baloney on October 11, 2009, 11:02:38 PM
A fella in work got married last week to a blade he met on an online dating site. More power to him I say.
Post by: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on October 12, 2009, 09:01:42 AM
Would never do it. Always thought of it as a bit of a odd way to find someone it screams of having no social skills and being insecure about yourself by not being able to meet someone in real life. Each to their own but it wouldn't be for me
Post by: Donagh on October 12, 2009, 10:07:39 AM
I know two girls living in the same house who recently found out they were seeing the same bloke off one of these sites. He's supposedly making £2k a week on the oil rigs, still lives with mummy and daddy when he gets leave, but was choosing to spend his 'leave time' with the 'other' one.  :D

Hook, line, and sinker...
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 12, 2009, 10:40:22 AM
Quote from: Orior on October 11, 2009, 10:56:18 PM
Try this one

Lovely Girls Online (http://www.datewithasheep.com)

hey that's not fair, I was lloking forward to that!
Post by: thebigfella on October 12, 2009, 10:48:26 AM
Never had a problem meeting women while out and probably never will, but I think it's a great way of meeting women for casual sex.

I actually think the people who say get yourself out to a nightclub or use the old no social skills/insecure argument are really the ones who need to have a look in the mirror. I bet their method of chat up is getting drunk and pestering every women in the bar until one (usually a complete bog rat too) gives in  ;)  If anything it's harder to pick up women as they generally aren't pollaxed when you're chatting to them online and they don't fall for the same lies :P

How many people have been on a blind date or tried speed dating? No different to that IMHO and only a bit of craic. Then again my objectives when I tried these things are not completely admirable and I never go out looking for a potential girlfiend or wife like some sad gits.
Post by: long sleves on October 12, 2009, 11:09:05 AM
I wasn't considering doing this only started the thread because I have heard of a few ones recently saying they have had good experiences out of it.

Don't have any problems meeting women either but might sign up and see what else is out there! Will report my findings back to the Gaa board community.
Post by: illdecide on October 12, 2009, 11:52:18 AM
Casual sex...thats why there are so many STD's out there. don't be so filthy and met a woman in person, get to know her first with a bit of wine and dining and then after a few months make made passionate love to her when the time is right (lights out of course)
Post by: long sleves on October 12, 2009, 11:57:19 AM
Quote from: illdecide on October 12, 2009, 11:52:18 AM
Casual sex...thats why there are so many STD's out there. don't be so filthy and met a woman in person, get to know her first with a bit of wine and dining and then after a few months make made passionate love to her when the time is right (lights out of course)

Is there any female posters on this board?

Illdecide you cassanova
Post by: Orior on October 12, 2009, 12:09:41 PM

I prefer "moments", not "months"
Post by: illdecide on October 12, 2009, 12:27:42 PM
Quote from: long sleves on October 12, 2009, 11:57:19 AM

Is there any female posters on this board?

Illdecide you cassanova

Thats just the type of guy i am Long Sleves...a true gentleman ;)
Post by: illdecide on October 12, 2009, 12:28:34 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 12, 2009, 12:09:41 PM

I prefer "moments", not "months"

Orior your disgusting
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 12, 2009, 06:33:25 PM
When I was in college in Limerick we once tricked a fella into thinking he was chatting to some sexy blonde girl online,we even got him to go to a pub in the city to meet "her"

Some shock on his face when he arrived and there was ten of us there waiting for him  :D

I suppose it was a bit cruel but he was from Offaly so he deserved everything he got  ;)
Post by: Caid on October 12, 2009, 06:58:22 PM
Dated a girl in London that I met on the internet for about 6 weeks.  My one and only online dating experience.  Was nothing wrong with it and I would recommend it to anyone.  I had no problem meeting a girl in a bar at the time but found it difficult to have any sort of meaningful conversation.  Online dating allows you to assess compatability to some extnet before hand.  Often with relationships you go through that "butterflies" stage at the start and it can mask over the fact that you aren't compatible.   Online dating does away with that to an extent (although of course people lie).  I did find it weird at first telling people how we met though
Post by: J70 on October 12, 2009, 07:04:14 PM
If you can meet women using one of these sites, why would that be a bad thing? Do whatever works for yourself and f**k the begrudgers!
Post by: armaghniac on October 12, 2009, 07:16:26 PM
I was at a wedding in the US of a friend of mine who hooked up on an Internet site. Don't knock it until you've tried it.
Post by: leenie on October 12, 2009, 07:22:08 PM
few yrs back me and a group of girls went speed dating... some craic... was rote by the time it was over... never talked as much dung in my life.... it's not the easiest of things to do... you'd be amazed at how long 3 minutes actually is....
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 12, 2009, 07:25:22 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on October 12, 2009, 10:48:26 AM
Never had a problem meeting women while out and probably never will, but I think it's a great way of meeting women for casual sex.

I actually think the people who say get yourself out to a nightclub or use the old no social skills/insecure argument are really the ones who need to have a look in the mirror. I bet their method of chat up is getting drunk and pestering every women in the bar until one (usually a complete bog rat too) gives in  ;)  If anything it's harder to pick up women as they generally aren't pollaxed when you're chatting to them online and they don't fall for the same lies :P

How many people have been on a blind date or tried speed dating? No different to that IMHO and only a bit of craic. Then again my objectives when I tried these things are not completely admirable and I never go out looking for a potential girlfiend or wife like some sad gits.
What a hero. No offence like.

Apparently calling someone a ballbag might get me a ban.
Post by: The Iceman on October 12, 2009, 07:36:47 PM
I think more people should try it.  Looking around my own home town the majority of ones I went to school with who are now in the early 30's, still living at home and have no significant other is scary.  Still trying to meet girls in bars......

I think if there is alternatives like online dating, speed dating or whatever else you want to try then good luck to yous.

"I never had any bother meeting girls" should try meeting girls in places other than bars when they have dutch courage..... try a sober conversation over coffee at 10am for your first encounter and see how well you do.....
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 12, 2009, 07:56:08 PM
I actually met my wife online on a site which is more geared to 'personality tests' - I never took it seriously, then it threw me up a woman who would become my wife as a potential match.  I had a look at her profile there, sent her a message and from the moment I got her reply, I knew there was something really special about her and that we thought the same way about the things that are important to us both

It worked for me even though I wasn't on that site to get a wife, I just thought the tests were a bit of craic.  Having said that, if the dynamic between 2 people isn't there the relationship would never work. 
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 12, 2009, 08:00:26 PM
"I never had any bother meeting girls" should try meeting girls in places other than bars when they have dutch courage..... try a sober conversation over coffee at 10am for your first encounter and see how well you do.....
I wouldnt like that, I dont speak until at least 12 oclock in the day
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 12, 2009, 08:03:20 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on October 12, 2009, 07:56:08 PM
I actually met my wife online on a site which is more geared to 'personality tests' - I never took it seriously, then it threw me up a woman who would become my wife as a potential match.  I had a look at her profile there, sent her a message and from the moment I got her reply, I knew there was something really special about her and that we thought the same way about the things that are important to us both

It worked for me even though I wasn't on that site to get a wife, I just thought the tests were a bit of craic.  Having said that, if the dynamic between 2 people isn't there the relationship would never work.
Fair play. Loud bars and especially clubs aren't conducive to meeting people and a lot of people just don't like the bar scene. Anything the gets people connected can't be that bad. I know a girl who went out with a fella for a long time who she spoke to on the phone everyday thru work. He eventually asked her out.
Post by: Orior on October 12, 2009, 08:22:15 PM
Quote from: leenie on October 12, 2009, 07:22:08 PM
few yrs back me and a group of girls went speed dating... some craic... was rote by the time it was over... never talked as much dung in my life.... it's not the easiest of things to do... you'd be amazed at how long 3 minutes actually is....

Thats interesting Leenie, tell us more.

I assume that some guys didnt know what to say, and others wouldnt stop talking. I always thought it would work well for the brassy sales type of people with no depth.
Post by: Caid on October 12, 2009, 08:48:37 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 12, 2009, 08:22:15 PM

I assume that some guys didnt know what to say, and others wouldnt stop talking. I always thought it would work well for the brassy sales type of people with no depth.

Studies have been shown to prove that women (and I assume men as well - but probably to a lesser extent) go to these speed dating evenings and state similar characteristics they look for in a man (e.g. caring, intelligent, funny etc) - but when quizzed again just after the event they change their mind (and state handsome, charasmatic etc).  Then when asked again a few months later they return to their original statement.  This is not a conscious thing but a prejudging that everyone does.  The brassy sales people can fool everyone in the short term.
Post by: milltown row on October 12, 2009, 08:49:02 PM
a few lads i know swear by it. while to date :D they havent found the 'one' they are having some craic getting through the list.

Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 12, 2009, 09:04:19 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 12, 2009, 08:03:20 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on October 12, 2009, 07:56:08 PM

Fair play. Loud bars and especially clubs aren't conducive to meeting people and a lot of people just don't like the bar scene. Anything the gets people connected can't be that bad. I know a girl who went out with a fella for a long time who she spoke to on the phone everyday thru work. He eventually asked her out.
I always thought the bars/pubs idea was a bad one due to some bad experiences, including one lunatic I was engaged to for 3 years - when I met my wife in the flesh for the first time it was as if I had known her all my life.  We both think it was better for us the way we met as we had talked, I mean really talked to each other about life's important stuff - spending every spare minute at times talking to each other helped in that regard

It's not for everyone
Post by: DennistheMenace on October 12, 2009, 09:09:40 PM
So mum and dad did you meet at a university or through friends ?

Errmmm we met on the interweb son.

Oh.
Post by: ardmhachaabu on October 12, 2009, 09:11:30 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on October 12, 2009, 09:09:40 PM

Oh.

hardstation, you are relentless  :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 12, 2009, 09:12:52 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on October 12, 2009, 09:09:40 PM

Oh.
I have never asked my parents how they met!

Post by: tyrone girl on October 12, 2009, 09:14:18 PM
Nor me , and i have no great desire to know either
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on October 12, 2009, 09:16:30 PM
id say its great craic,met one of the clubmates in coppers one night with an american lassie,id swear the bastard met her online  :D

what are the best sites for doing it?
Post by: pintsofguinness on October 12, 2009, 09:18:04 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on October 12, 2009, 09:14:18 PM
Nor me , and i have no great desire to know either
Yeah it's just somewhere you dont want to go
Post by: leenie on October 12, 2009, 09:21:50 PM

there was more men than women and i was near the youngest... there was one fella who sat down said his named and then stared at me for 3 mins.. he had absolutely nothing to say...it was so uncomfortable..

i felt bad because there were people there who were taking it so seriously but at each interval we were downing shots..

i talked about football a lot...

but after it we met up with a mixed group that was at it and had some craic.. one of the fellas told us it was the best way for getting laid and that he went every few mnths for a "fresh intake" ..

but honestly it was some nights craic.....i personally didn't contact anyone or respond to those who had picked me but i can see how it is a good way for meeting new people...
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on October 12, 2009, 09:27:11 PM
Quote from: leenie on October 12, 2009, 09:21:50 PM

there was more men than women and i was near the youngest... there was one fella who sat down said his named and then stared at me for 3 mins.. he had absolutely nothing to say...it was so uncomfortable..

i felt bad because there were people there who were taking it so seriously but at each interval we were downing shots..

but after it we met up with a mixed group that was at it and had some craic.. one of the fellas told us it was the best way for getting laid and that he went every few mnths for a "fresh intake" ..

but honestly it was some nights craic.....i personally didn't contact anyone or respond to those who had picked me but i can see how it is a good way for meeting new people...

Jaysus that sounds a bit awkward alright.I dont think i could do that without being either half or fully canned.
Post by: Caid on October 12, 2009, 09:30:14 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on October 12, 2009, 09:27:11 PM

Jaysus that sounds a bit awkward alright.I dont think i could do that without being either half or fully canned.

I'd say you just need to learn of a three minute routine and then deliver it ten times.  Bound to work the odd time!
Post by: DennistheMenace on October 12, 2009, 09:32:00 PM
Only lasts 3 minutes ?

Sure thats longer than the sexual act itself surely.
Post by: leenie on October 12, 2009, 09:34:41 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on October 12, 2009, 09:32:00 PM
Only lasts 3 minutes ?

wouldn't know, i'm not married.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on October 12, 2009, 09:36:13 PM
Quote from: Caid on October 12, 2009, 09:30:14 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on October 12, 2009, 09:27:11 PM

I'd say you just need to learn of a three minute routine and then deliver it ten times.  Bound to work the odd time!

That would be a good solution alright,Just thinking about it i cant imagine it would be that long if you just asked the following,Where is she from,what does she do,Interests,hobbies etc,
As long as she doesn't have the personality of a wall,and you turn on the charm,how hard could it be?  8)
Post by: leenie on October 12, 2009, 09:45:28 PM
 i love looking at the personal adds in Irelands own....

keeping my options open... ::)

this was in one of them.....

northern married couple he's 52 she's 45, no children, lovely home in quiet and private area. we'd like to meet a nice respectable male 45+ for long term friendship and a sharing of mutual interests!

to stay i was shocked was a understatement .... imagine the likes of that in Irelands own...

shocking all together.....
Post by: Caid on October 12, 2009, 10:01:11 PM
Quote from: leenie on October 12, 2009, 09:45:28 PM

northern married couple he's 52 she's 45, no children, lovely home in quiet and private area. we'd like to meet a nice respectable male 45+ for long term friendship and a sharing of mutual interests!

to stay i was shocked was a understatement .... imagine the likes of that in Irelands own...

What age is Fearon? 
Post by: Rav67 on October 12, 2009, 10:07:29 PM
Quote from: leenie on October 12, 2009, 09:45:28 PM

I hope you're joking... what people wanna do in their spare time's up to them!
Post by: leenie on October 12, 2009, 10:10:22 PM

why would i be joking....

i thought things like that only happen in other countries.....
Post by: Rav67 on October 12, 2009, 10:14:27 PM
Quote from: leenie on October 12, 2009, 10:10:22 PM

why would i be joking....

i thought things like that only happen in other countries.....

:D Id wager it goes on at least as much in our great nation as anywhere else!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 12, 2009, 10:16:14 PM
Quote from: leenie on October 12, 2009, 09:34:41 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on October 12, 2009, 09:32:00 PM
Only lasts 3 minutes ?

wouldn't know, i'm not married.

Yeah right!
Post by: thebigfella on October 12, 2009, 11:43:52 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 12, 2009, 07:25:22 PM

Call away Tony but your the only one who bit  :D

Seriously though, you go to Coppers or other places like that, with one thing in mind. What's the different than visiting a specialist dating site with the same intentions?
Post by: DirtyDozen12 on October 12, 2009, 11:49:25 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on October 12, 2009, 11:43:52 PM

Seriously though, you go to Coppers or other places like that, with one thing in mind. What's the different than visiting a specialist dating site with the same intentions?

anyone ever read that gumtree site??  You ever gave it a go bigfella?  Reading it I would imagine its more a piss take than anything, arramge to meet some sexy lady some night and you would probably end up seeing about 4 boys in a car laughing their balls off  :D  not for me!!
Post by: thebigfella on October 12, 2009, 11:55:50 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on October 12, 2009, 11:49:25 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on October 12, 2009, 11:43:52 PM

anyone ever read that gumtree site??  You ever gave it a go bigfella?  Reading it I would imagine its more a piss take than anything, arramge to meet some sexy lady some night and you would probably end up seeing about 4 boys in a car laughing their balls off  :D  not for me!!

Nah, most people I know who have used these specialist sites pay for them. Cuts out all the bullshit artists.
Post by: thebigfella on October 13, 2009, 12:12:52 AM
Quote from: The Iceman on October 12, 2009, 07:36:47 PM
I think more people should try it.  Looking around my own home town the majority of ones I went to school with who are now in the early 30's, still living at home and have no significant other is scary.  Still trying to meet girls in bars......

I think if there is alternatives like online dating, speed dating or whatever else you want to try then good luck to yous.

I'm assuming thats a dig at my little contribution  ;) 

To be honest, it's not a problem and I think people make more of an issue than it should be. What is the worst that could happen if you approach someone (without being creepy though) or have a conversation sober? Do you find it difficult?

Generally I would find that it's easier as the expectations are different and you don't try as hard, although the type of women I go for don't get impressed by the usual nonsense that goes on in bars.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 13, 2009, 12:29:34 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on October 13, 2009, 12:12:52 AM
Quote from: The Iceman on October 12, 2009, 07:36:47 PM

I'm assuming thats a dig at my little contribution  ;) 

To be honest, it's not a problem and I think people make more of an issue than it should be. What is the worst that could happen if you approach someone (without being creepy though) or have a conversation sober? Do you find it difficult?

Generally I would find that it's easier as the expectations are different and you don't try as hard, although the type of women I go for don't get impressed by the usual nonsense that goes on in bars.
Do you slip the bartender a hundred for keeping the ice cubes cold?
Post by: long sleves on October 13, 2009, 05:12:36 PM
Just an update, signed up to one of these sites last night- find love or your money back they have promised me- anyway have three matches with local enough girls. Currently messaging them through the site to get to know them. Best leave it a week or two before meeting them though.
Post by: Puckoon on October 13, 2009, 05:23:37 PM
Never done it myself. I have no problem with the concept, infact I think the concept is great. Get alot of the shite you like or dont like out in the open before you meet each other.

I signed up for eharmony once, a few months back, as I wondered what it was like, and you get a free personality test...

They cut me off at the pass and said that they couldnt match me to anyone based on my profile compared against their marriage tested compatibility scale. But, I wasnt to feel bad, because it happens to about 20% of the population.

I drank alot that night when I realised, I cant even get an internet broad.
Post by: Maiden1 on October 13, 2009, 05:33:55 PM
I was at a wedding in England last year of a couple who met through the classified adds (or whatever they are called).  They seemed like a nice couple.  Some people are a bit shy and wouldn't nessesarily find it easy to go up to a girl in a bar and start waffling to them.  This way you can say what your interests are before you meet and then if you want to go out for a drink.  I could see how it would work for people.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on October 13, 2009, 05:39:16 PM
A buddy of mine just married the girl he met on Eharmony. He is a big shot at a publishing firm and is on the road 3 out of four weeks. He told me it was a great way for a busy individual to meet someone special. You can set your preferences to what you are looking for ; looks, personality, faith, values, job and such.

He also stated besides being a time saver (speedy results), he saved alot of money instead of going out and spending money buying drinks, cover charges, risk of drink driving and gaining weight from all the drinks.
Post by: omagh_gael on October 13, 2009, 06:03:10 PM
I see no problem with meeting some1 online, my cousin met his longterm girlfriend over the net. She is a Nigerian girl living in Las Vegas and they are very serious, he's going over to Africa to meet the in laws in December. Iv met his gf on numerous occasions an she's a great cuttie. Needless to say my 88 year old grandad from the plum isn't too ennamoured about the whole thing but I say fair play.