I see John Hayes got six weeks for stamping on/near yer man's head. Just saw it for the first time. It was awful and hard to imagine he didn't know wat he was at... then again he can't be that vicious. Any thoughts?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pTJt1e6k-M4 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pTJt1e6k-M4)
Neil Best would have got 6 months if had have been the perpetrator. Only the Bull's good reputation kept it that short.
Cian Healy was making an awful cnut of himself down there, but a boot to the head is never the right punishment.
Seems a fair enough punishment.
Imagine if this had happened in a GAA match.
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 06, 2009, 10:28:21 PM
Imagine if this had happened in a GAA match.
Jesus don't start the Tyronies off on this one again!!
complete kn**ker,any other sport they would have been calls for a life ban
he could easily blinded healy or even killed hime he obviously didn't hive a shite where his boot finished up.
a year should have been minimum suspension.
The more you look at it, the worse it is. Aye, 6 weeks was nothing and misses no significant matches. Six months at least
FFS magpie seanie why do you always have to compare everything to GAA? Its always the same shite with you..."imagine if the Gaa done this" or "if this had happenend in a Gaa match " change the record will you FFS!
9 weeks reduced to 6 due to good behaviour. Its probably in line with previous suspensions, but I thought longer would have been justified. The reason its so short is because he wasn't actually looking down when he struck, so they believed it was reckless rather than deliberate.
Of course the media coverage is completely different to what incidents in the GAA receive. In that game alone Nathan Hines lamped Denis Leamy with an uppercut, and Donncha O'Callaghan gave Jonathon Sexton a box in the head after Sexton had fallen to the ground. Two big differences between rugby and GAA - GAA is still far more popular, so a lot more people care what happens (both for the positive and the negative) and we have the Sunday Game which has a big ratings and analyses such incidents to the nth degree. Rugby highlight shows on RTE are infrequent, and when they are on are often very late at night.
Don't think he meant to stamp on his face. Six week fine is plenty.
Quote from: rosnarun on October 07, 2009, 02:03:11 AM
complete kn**ker,any other sport they would have been calls for a life ban
Rosnarun while your at it can you compare these apples and oranges?
I assume you'd call the man a kn**ker to his face?
Quote from: Hound on October 07, 2009, 10:01:55 AM
9 weeks reduced to 6 due to good behaviour. Its probably in line with previous suspensions, but I thought longer would have been justified. The reason its so short is because he wasn't actually looking down when he struck, so they believed it was reckless rather than deliberate.
Of course the media coverage is completely different to what incidents in the GAA receive. In that game alone Nathan Hines lamped Denis Leamy with an uppercut, and Donncha O'Callaghan gave Jonathon Sexton a box in the head after Sexton had fallen to the ground. Two big differences between rugby and GAA - GAA is still far more popular, so a lot more people care what happens (both for the positive and the negative) and we have the Sunday Game which has a big ratings and analyses such incidents to the nth degree. Rugby highlight shows on RTE are infrequent, and when they are on are often very late at night.
I thought rugger was now "the heartbeat of the nation" according to rte!
Quote from: Rav67 on October 07, 2009, 01:50:53 PM
Quote from: Hound on October 07, 2009, 10:01:55 AM
I thought rugger was now "the heartbeat of the nation" according to rte!
RTÉ !=Tom Mcgurk
Tom Mcgurk != RTÉ
Quote from: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on October 07, 2009, 09:34:43 AM
FFS magpie seanie why do you always have to compare everything to GAA? Its always the same shite with you..."imagine if the Gaa done this" or "if this had happenend in a Gaa match " change the record will you FFS!
Why don't you give out to Hound for agreeing with me? Or better still try to make a valid argument against my (entirely legitimate) point. In case you hadn't noticed this is a GAA discussion board. You have nothing positive or constructive to contribute. A poor effort of a wum is the zenith of your ambitions.
lads i know everyone loves the bull and all and that healy was trying to pull the maul down BUT if he was clearing out he should have had a backwards motion of the boot. he stuck his boot in front of his body in the stamp.
healy was lucky he didn't lose an eye.
Is that not what happens in rugby? someone gets on the wrong side in a ruck and gets stood on.
seemingly the man coming forward has to give all due care to the man on the ground and any stamping motion will see them cited unless of course as in this case the match officials catch them in the act. think tony ward had the full details in the indo the other day.
Quote from: Maiden1 on October 07, 2009, 02:18:40 PM
Is that not what happens in rugby? someone gets on the wrong side in a ruck and gets stood on.
More or less. If you try to collapse a maul like Healy was trying to do you expect to get a shoeing for your troubles. Only in this case boot came into contact with face. I'm sure Hayes knew he was shoeing someone underneath him but I seriously doubt he intentionally went for Healy's head which is probably why the 6 week ban is more for reckless use of the boot than anything.
Quote from: longrunsthefox on October 07, 2009, 09:26:47 AM
misses no significant matches.
I think that Munster would argue that 2 Heineken Cup games are significant enough particularly away to Northampton. Admittedly even Buckley should manage against Treviso at home.
At least the rugger buggers could get together quick enough. When Matty Forde carried on that way he managed to play another game before the GAA got around to having a look......
/Jim.
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on October 07, 2009, 04:09:17 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on October 07, 2009, 09:26:47 AM
misses no significant matches.
I think that Munster would argue that 2 Heineken Cup games are significant enough particularly away to Northampton. Admittedly even Buckley should manage against Treviso at home.
At least the rugger buggers could get together quick enough. When Matty Forde carried on that way he managed to play another game before the GAA got around to having a look......
I think Mattie got a more appropriate suspension tho
/Jim.
Quote from: longrunsthefox on October 07, 2009, 04:15:39 PM
I think Mattie got a more appropriate suspension tho
Time-wise he got double, games-wise he missed one championship match.
Generally I think the rugby crowd are good on the whole disciplinary front, but lately I notice a few appeals on technicalities sneaking in. I wonder if Munster have Frank Murphy on consultancy retainer ;D ;D
/Jim.
Aye that is a problem in GAA... should be a game ban not time...