Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: sammymaguire on October 05, 2009, 01:23:37 PM

Title: Staunton returns to management
Post by: sammymaguire on October 05, 2009, 01:23:37 PM
oh dear poor Stan

Darlington have appointed former Republic of Ireland coach Steve Staunton as their new manager.

The club have also installed experienced former England international Kevin Richardson as his assistant in a double appointment.

Staunton will take over on Wednesday, after Darlington's Johnstone's Paint Trophy tie at Leeds, until the end of the current season. The pair will take charge for Saturday's league game at Dagenham & Redbridge.

Title: Re: Staunton returns to management
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on October 05, 2009, 01:38:09 PM
Bit of a come down from International manager, he probably should have started here then moved up after cutting his teeth.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 05, 2009, 01:43:42 PM
He was down in Melbourne not so long ago observing at St.Kilda AFL Club as part of his management badge training.
Post by: sammymaguire on October 05, 2009, 01:50:48 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 05, 2009, 01:43:54 PM
Well I for one wish our most capped player all the very best. Lets hop he can make a career for himself

no disrespect but Stan hasn't a notion about handling people and media and how to be a successful football manager at underage never mind a professional football club
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on October 05, 2009, 01:53:57 PM
Darlington fans can look forward to Joe Lapira up front any week now!
Post by: sammymaguire on October 05, 2009, 02:19:36 PM
http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/what-joe-lapira-did-next-1426188.html  ;)
Post by: WeAreBlueWeAreWhite on October 05, 2009, 03:23:09 PM
Fair play to him I hope he does well.
Post by: Denn Forever on October 05, 2009, 03:32:17 PM
Cora's prowess never ceases to amaze!
Post by: muppet on October 05, 2009, 03:34:22 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on October 05, 2009, 03:32:17 PM
Cora's prowess never ceases to amaze!

Cora, the Darling(ton) of Mayo.

Punny, very punny.
Post by: orangeman on October 05, 2009, 03:49:33 PM
I'm the gaffer and the buck stops with me !

This will be my abiding memory of Staunton.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on October 05, 2009, 04:06:33 PM
I wish him well, a great servant for Irish football.
Post by: mountainboii on October 05, 2009, 04:22:02 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 05, 2009, 03:49:33 PM

Good for you.

Others might remember him for making a record number of appearances for his country, for being the only player to line out in all 13 World Cup finals matches that his country has played, or for his 400 odd top flight appearances in England.

I wish him all the best in his new start, it was a pity he was thrown in at the deep end first time round.
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on October 05, 2009, 04:49:39 PM
what ever happened the young fella terry dixon (i think thats his name) that stan gave a call up when he was only 16. he was at spurs then but got injured. heard he was at west ham recently. anyone confirm?
Post by: mountainboii on October 05, 2009, 05:02:27 PM
Quote from: High Wide and Handsome on October 05, 2009, 04:49:39 PM
what ever happened the young fella terry dixon (i think thats his name) that stan gave a call up when he was only 16. he was at spurs then but got injured. heard he was at west ham recently. anyone confirm?

Yeah at West Ham. Still only 19, but if he can keep fit he's at the perfect club to make it as over the last few years West Ham haven't been afraid to give youngsters a shot. Some horrible knee injuries though.
Post by: 5 Sams on October 05, 2009, 05:06:38 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 05, 2009, 03:49:33 PM

"Potential banana skin dere lads."
Post by: red hander on October 05, 2009, 05:42:35 PM
This is more like the progression he should have made from reserve team coach at Wallsall instead of the career track he was put on by those clowns in the FAI when all with half a brain could see he was out of his depth ... as he was a loyal servant on the field I also wish him well
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 05, 2009, 05:46:50 PM
Best of luck to him.
I'd wish him nothing but the best
Post by: High Wide and Handsome on October 05, 2009, 05:53:53 PM
Quote from: AFS on October 05, 2009, 05:02:27 PM
Quote from: High Wide and Handsome on October 05, 2009, 04:49:39 PM

Yeah at West Ham. Still only 19, but if he can keep fit he's at the perfect club to make it as over the last few years West Ham haven't been afraid to give youngsters a shot. Some horrible knee injuries though.

was reading that. think he disolcates his knee cap for the craic
Post by: sammymaguire on October 06, 2009, 08:44:23 AM
first game up-

Johnstone's Paint Trophy v LEEDS UNITED away
Post by: rossie mad on October 06, 2009, 09:09:20 AM
He isnt in charge against leeds. Officially taking over the reins after that game. I wish him well. Has a tough job in a tough league.

The clowns in the FAI are the ones i blame for making him manager. Took a gamble on a former great (thought he would be as succesful as mark hughes at wales) and gave him fcuk all dosh (as international manager pay goes it was at the low end of the table).

They pay themselves big salaries,have a management committee as big as a small parliament and they expected this man to bring them to finals.

Now they need the cash of a billionare to pay for the current manager. A bigger circus than the FAI you will never see.

The media in this country of course jumped on the bandwagon then and slurred his good name.

Best of luck to him.
Post by: mountainboii on October 06, 2009, 10:26:22 AM
Quote from: rossie mad on October 06, 2009, 09:09:20 AM
He isnt in charge against leeds. Officially taking over the reins after that game. I wish him well. Has a tough job in a tough league.

The clowns in the FAI are the ones i blame for making him manager. Took a gamble on a former great (thought he would be as succesful as mark hughes at wales) and gave him fcuk all dosh (as international manager pay goes it was at the low end of the table).

They pay themselves big salaries,have a management committee as big as a small parliament and they expected this man to bring them to finals.

Now they need the cash of a billionare to pay for the current manager. A bigger circus than the FAI you will never see.

The media in this country of course jumped on the bandwagon then and slurred his good name.

Best of luck to him.

I beg to differ  :'(
Post by: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on October 06, 2009, 11:33:54 AM
Hard to see how that man gets a manager's job. He has the charisma of a bucket of shite. I know not every manager has t obe a Jose Mourinho, but come on like. You have to be a wee bit passionate. He's boring, he talks with the same tone of voice all the time, I really don't know how he could be a motivator.
Post by: Leo on October 06, 2009, 04:34:19 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on October 05, 2009, 01:50:48 PM

no disrespect but Stan hasn't a notion about handling people and media and how to be a successful football manager at underage never mind a professional football club

Cant imagine you saying this about a certain Roy Keane (the wonder boy!) ...................
Post by: sammymaguire on October 06, 2009, 04:41:37 PM
Quote from: Leo on October 06, 2009, 04:34:19 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on October 05, 2009, 01:50:48 PM

Cant imagine you saying this about a certain Roy Keane (the wonder boy!) ...................

why not, its going the same way for him too... rapidly