Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: comethekingdom on September 29, 2009, 10:37:35 PM

Title: Michael O Leary on Today FM - talks pure sense.
Post by: comethekingdom on September 29, 2009, 10:37:35 PM
http://audioserver.todayfm.com/audio/MichaelOLeary2909.mp3   8)

This was from this mornings Ray Darcy show. Wouldn't he do some job with the public/civil service? Save the country a fortune of money and get rid of the wasters.
Title: Re: Michael O Leary on Today FM - talks pure sense.
Post by: muppet on September 29, 2009, 10:51:14 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on September 29, 2009, 10:37:35 PM
http://audioserver.todayfm.com/audio/MichaelOLeary2909.mp3   8)

This was from this mornings Ray Darcy show. Wouldn't he do some job with the public/civil service? Save the country a fortune of money and get rid of the wasters.

Do you have the faintest idea what Michael O'Leary is about?  ::)

Post by: comethekingdom on September 29, 2009, 10:55:20 PM
Tells it like it is with regard to the public service! - Cant fault him for that. If you do, then you have a vested interest I'd say.
Post by: muppet on September 29, 2009, 11:01:07 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on September 29, 2009, 10:55:20 PM
Tells it like it is with regard to the public service! - Cant fault him for that. If you do, then you have a vested interest I'd say.

Yes I have a vested interest. I know people who have had the misfortune to work for him.

If a public service that have to sleep in a car park or walk to work because they have no money for a bus is your thing then knock yourself with O'Leary.

If you fancy a public service that cancels your leave with a few days notice, leave during which you are getting married, just because a boss wants to 'get' you then bravo. But its not a country I would any part of.
Post by: comethekingdom on September 29, 2009, 11:13:58 PM
I wouldn't like to work for him either. I know people that work in Ryanair too. I also know alot of people that work in the civil/public service and they openly admit that they do fcuk all and that its great, they can't be got rid of, the hours are fantastic, pensions etc. O'Learys point is perfectly valid - waste waste and more waste - unaccountable unanswerable - it dosent happen in an honest private sector workplace. Now, you dont have to tell me that all Public sector workers are wasters, they are not. I have great admiration for the frontline service people working the unsocial hrs etc, its the admin and bullshit pen pushers that do my head in. I know a woman that goes to work in a civil service job and all she does is franks a few letters every day and reads books! Its true!  All paid for by the poor screwed taxpayer. Her boss never turns into work til after 2:30 pm any day!
Post by: muppet on September 29, 2009, 11:19:24 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on September 29, 2009, 11:13:58 PM
I wouldn't like to work for him either. I know people that work in Ryanair too. I also know alot of people that work in the civil/public service and they openly admit that they do fcuk all and that its great, they can't be got rid of, the hours are fantastic, pensions etc. O'Learys point is perfectly valid - waste waste and more waste - unaccountable unanswerable - it dosent happen in an honest private sector workplace. Now, you dont have to tell me that all Public sector workers are wasters, they are not. I have great admiration for the frontline service people working the unsocial hrs etc, its the admin and bullshit pen pushers that do my head in. I know a woman that goes to work in a civil service job and all she does is franks a few letters every day and reads books! Its true!  All paid for by the poor screwed taxpayer. Her boss never turns into work til after 2:30 pm any day!

O'Leary peddles easy answers. Big on rhetoric, low on respect for anyone or anything other than himself.

I don't care what he says on radio or tv, but the thought of inflicting his disgusting regime on the entire public sector would sicken me.
Post by: comethekingdom on September 29, 2009, 11:22:41 PM
Do you agree then, with the waste and disgraceful carry on that I have outlined above then? Never mind MOL.
Post by: Donagh on September 29, 2009, 11:23:17 PM
Heard about two minutes of it and then switched off - to seal a phrase from elsewhere - being grilled by Darcy is like being savaged by a dead sheep. Was a much better debate hosted by Pat the Plank at the same time.
Post by: Roger on September 29, 2009, 11:23:33 PM
I'd like someone like O'Leary to get stuck into the public sector north or the border.  I have a vested interested in reducing waste in the government and the public sector just won't do it.  Taxes go up and the public spending deficits increase. £1 trillion defecit in the UK public sector pensions!  £1 feckin trillion deficit not liability!! Don't know much about the south but if it's anything like NI then O'Leary would be the sort of guy needed to sort it out down there.  It might not be pretty but it would need ruthless action to put it back on track. Think he's a right bastard mind and hear he's hard to work for. 
Post by: Armamike on September 29, 2009, 11:24:32 PM
He calls a spade a rocket launcher.  Heard him on the radio today giving off about the 'losers' in the no camp on Lisbon. Doesn't have much time for the Government of the day either. Safe to say he's made a few enemies in his time.
Post by: muppet on September 29, 2009, 11:31:15 PM
Quote from: comethekingdom on September 29, 2009, 11:22:41 PM
Do you agree then, with the waste and disgraceful carry on that I have outlined above then? Never mind MOL.

I agree 100% with you on that. Just be careful what you ask for as regards O'Leary.
Post by: Pangurban on September 30, 2009, 03:30:03 AM
Michael o leary does not give one shit about the state of the public services, he is merely cosying up to the Commision in the hope they will help facilitate his takeover of Aer Lingus. When that happens you will know all about redundancies, low pay, and abuse of employees rights. Its his kind and their acquisitive greed who have destroyed the whole concept of fair play and social responsibility
Post by: comethekingdom on September 30, 2009, 06:35:22 AM
I dont think anyone on here is saying he's a great fella and he is a joy to work for but he is the only one that highlights the 30 odd hr working week, sick days, holidays, waste, flexible working hrs totally beyond benefit to the employer etc etc.
Post by: sammymaguire on September 30, 2009, 08:32:13 AM
O'Leary is a money grabbing tw@t
Post by: comethekingdom on October 12, 2009, 10:27:56 PM
Did anyone see Panorama on BBC tonight? Didn't do much for Ryanairs image but sure everyone knows that they are not easy to work for. O'Leary however, played rings around them english boys outside the door of the Radisson in Dublin airport. Watch it all on :
http://news.bbc.co.uk/panorama/hi/front_page/newsid_8298000/8298750.stm

Post by: Doogie Browser on October 13, 2009, 10:44:20 AM
Quote from: comethekingdom on October 12, 2009, 10:27:56 PM
Did anyone see Panorama on BBC tonight? Didn't do much for Ryanairs image but sure everyone knows that they are not easy to work for. O'Leary however, played rings around them english boys outside the door of the Radisson in Dublin airport. Watch it all on :

Good show, but in fairness to Ryanair it was nothing new. Shock, horror 'budget airline tries to get as much as it can from customers' - we have heard it all before.

Can you get a Visa Electron Card handy enough?  That is my major gripe with them now, £5.00 per person per journey extra is scandalous.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on October 13, 2009, 10:48:39 AM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on October 13, 2009, 10:44:20 AM

Good show, but in fairness to Ryanair it was nothing new. Shock, horror 'budget airline tries to get as much as it can from customers' - we have heard it all before.

Can you get a Visa Electron Card handy enough?  That is my major gripe with them now, £5.00 per person per journey extra is scandalous.

I thought Ryanair came out of it well. The show told us nothing we did not know, and O'Leary basically stated the facts re passanger numbers, money etc. It works. Panoram also said untruths. They said that an electron cannot be obtained in the UK.

However I know for a fact when you open an account with the Halifax you can get one.
Post by: Overthebar! on October 13, 2009, 12:48:59 PM
yea i have a visa electron-cardcash. got it from halifax before i was 18 and kept it ever since just because it saves me paying extra charges on flights....
Post by: haranguerer on October 13, 2009, 01:16:17 PM
I thought ryanair came out of it well also. The alternative is that air travel is too expensive for most of us - even with hidden charges, most of which are avoidable, ryanair is still cheaper than anyone else.

Having said that - O'leary running the country? Ya mad? He is a very successful businessman because of his ruthlessness, and fair play to him for that, but this would be one despotic right wing state if someone like him got into government
Post by: thewobbler on October 13, 2009, 01:59:47 PM
Quoteryanair is still cheaper than anyone else.
I don't tend to book flights 6 months in advance, but I do fly up to 10 times a year. I travel for random amonts of days and prefer to fly over a weekend.

All this surely makes me a normal leisure passenger. Yet it's been a long time since Ryanair came up as cheaper for me on a route than Aer Lingus or Easyjet, let alone so significantly cheaper that it's worth the hassle of flying with them.

I was a huge fan of Ryanair, but my feelings these days is it's not worth using them unless the flight time is the single most important factor.

Post by: Rossie11 on October 13, 2009, 04:07:00 PM
Ryanair gives away 1.1m FREE seats after BBC Panorama lies

http://www.ryanair.com/site/IE/news.php?yr=09&month=oct&story=pro-en-131009

#11  :D
Post by: sammymaguire on October 13, 2009, 05:36:45 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on October 13, 2009, 04:07:00 PM
Ryanair gives away 1.1m FREE seats after BBC Panorama lies

http://www.ryanair.com/site/IE/news.php?yr=09&month=oct&story=pro-en-131009

#11  :D

don't help them promote their sh1te service  >:(
Post by: lfdown2 on October 13, 2009, 06:00:01 PM
london to glasgow...glasgow to belfast...belfast to london = £36 (all in)

now i cant complain and fair play to O'Leary he has made a fortune of a very shakey airline!
Post by: nifan on October 13, 2009, 06:03:12 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire link=topic=13924.msg661106#msg661106
don't help them promote their sh1te service  >:(
/quote]

Its not shite - its not luxury but it is cheap and i know what im getting when i buy it.
I think olearys a gob, but i use ryanair as it is value for money.
Post by: under the bar on October 13, 2009, 06:24:54 PM
QuoteNow, you dont have to tell me that all Public sector workers are wasters, they are not.

Not them all but the vast majority are, frontline heathcare workers excepted
Post by: sammymaguire on October 13, 2009, 06:59:44 PM
MO'L is a hugely successful business man and has built an aviation empire out of a clap trap airline company that was on its knees when he took over but he has dragged this industry into the ground in doing so and many other airlines have folded or followed suit to the passengers detriment, the level of service for a cheap flight will become worse and worse before pepole eventually cop on a turn their backs on this feckin eejit - everyone knows where to go to find a cheap flight, don't highlight it even further
Post by: Rossie11 on October 13, 2009, 09:20:10 PM
Quotedon't help them promote their sh1te service
Didnt the Beeb do that by giving him 9mins of advertisements for free.. Clowns.
Post by: the colonel on October 13, 2009, 09:55:11 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on October 13, 2009, 06:59:44 PM
MO'L is a hugely successful business man and has built an aviation empire out of a clap trap airline company that was on its knees when he took over but he has dragged this industry into the ground in doing so and many other airlines have folded or followed suit to the passengers detriment, the level of service for a cheap flight will become worse and worse before pepole eventually cop on a turn their backs on this feckin eejit - everyone knows where to go to find a cheap flight, don't highlight it even further

sammy you know what your getting when you fly with. you cant tell anyone what to put on a discussion forum, its up to themselves. When my flight only lasts 1hour max I'm not really fussed about the service and to be honest I've never really had a bad flight with them. Dont be so uptight.
Post by: under the bar on October 13, 2009, 10:04:25 PM
An america relative recently visited from states and booked Ryanair from london to Dub.  They charged him £20 PER KILO for excess baggage, most of which was presents and ended up being charged nearly £300. 

He point blank refused to pay it and the check in girl pointed to the bin and said "Theres your other option"  He went beserk and the cops had to be called to calm him down!  ;D
Post by: tyssam5 on October 13, 2009, 10:28:28 PM
He should've read the policy on the website. Any one traveling now knows to weigh their bags.
Post by: sammymaguire on October 14, 2009, 08:51:27 AM
Quote from: the colonel on October 13, 2009, 09:55:11 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on October 13, 2009, 06:59:44 PM

sammy you know what your getting when you fly with. you cant tell anyone what to put on a discussion forum, its up to themselves. When my flight only lasts 1hour max I'm not really fussed about the service and to be honest I've never really had a bad flight with them. Dont be so uptight.

I ain't uptight  ;)
Post by: thebigfella on October 14, 2009, 09:58:22 AM
Quote from: tyssam5 on October 13, 2009, 10:28:28 PM
He should've read the policy on the website. Any one traveling now knows to weigh their bags.

If you get an International flight and transfer to a Domestic one (UK to Ireland is classed as one too), the connecting airline will usually honour the other airlines baggage limits. All members of Star Alliance will do this definitely.

I've had issues where I've been under on the outwards part of my journey but over on the inwards part to 3kg. A descrepancy of 4kg and I'm sure both my scales and the ones at dublin airport were'nt both broken  ::)  He's a rip-off cnut
Post by: sammymaguire on October 14, 2009, 11:30:34 AM

its a very bad policy.  ::)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 14, 2009, 04:30:57 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on October 14, 2009, 09:58:22 AM

If you get an International flight and transfer to a Domestic one (UK to Ireland is classed as one too), the connecting airline will usually honour the other airlines baggage limits. All members of Star Alliance will do this definitely.

I've had issues where I've been under on the outwards part of my journey but over on the inwards part to 3kg. A descrepancy of 4kg and I'm sure both my scales and the ones at dublin airport were'nt both broken  ::)  He's a rip-off cnut

You could try Lone Sharks trick of taking some of the weight by holding a strap of the bag while it's being weighed or get one of these

(http://www.coolest-gadgets.com/wp-content/uploads/digital-luggage-scale.jpg)

Never leave home without it as I've no doubt some check in attendants manipulate the scales...
Post by: AbbeySider on October 14, 2009, 04:46:01 PM

Ya O Leary was brilliant.
They wanted an interview and he agreed if it was shown in its entirety and unedited! They refused