Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Shortso79 on September 09, 2009, 10:47:40 PM

Title: Derren Brown - UK Lotto
Post by: Shortso79 on September 09, 2009, 10:47:40 PM

Did anyone else see this tonight on Channel 4 ??

Derren Brown predicted the winning six UK Lotto numbers !!

On Friday night he reveals how he did it - def sky plusing that

Wonder did I play lol
Title: Re: Derren Brown - UK Lotto
Post by: The Gs Man on September 09, 2009, 10:49:08 PM
Pile of pish.
Post by: stiffler on September 09, 2009, 10:49:26 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on September 09, 2009, 10:49:08 PM
Pile of pish.

Post by: armagh leg-end on September 09, 2009, 10:50:59 PM
looked pretty real to me!
Post by: Shortso79 on September 09, 2009, 10:51:23 PM
did yous see it ??
Post by: Shortso79 on September 09, 2009, 10:54:19 PM
Supposedly he is banned from playing the lotto
Post by: The Gs Man on September 09, 2009, 10:55:47 PM
 ;D  Seriously, are you lads serious?
Post by: Shortso79 on September 09, 2009, 10:59:30 PM
Pretty mad - Have watched it back there and it seems pretty real

Wonder did anyone win it tonight - time will tell
Post by: ONeill on September 09, 2009, 11:03:57 PM
(http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Lifeandhealth/Pix/pictures/2009/1/23/1232704797195/Paul-Daniels-001.jpg)

I know how it's done.
Post by: Shortso79 on September 09, 2009, 11:06:22 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 09, 2009, 11:00:54 PM
This is some stunt. If he fails on this, the game is up.

If he does get them correct - well, holy fcuk.

BTW, getting numbers around the wrong way etc is a fail.

He got them right
Post by: The Gs Man on September 09, 2009, 11:08:13 PM
It's an illusion for feck sake!!!!!   :o
Post by: stiffler on September 09, 2009, 11:08:38 PM
He might of got the lotto numbers right, but paul daniels got this:

(http://www.iconocast.com/00034/C9/News9A_0.jpg)
Post by: Orior on September 09, 2009, 11:10:35 PM
Why couldnt he predict them before the balls were drawn?
Post by: Shortso79 on September 09, 2009, 11:10:43 PM
ahhh Debbie ....
Post by: ONeill on September 09, 2009, 11:13:14 PM
Lads will you wise the baps.

And another thing, when the eejits all tune in to see 'how he did it', he still won't tell you.
Post by: Shortso79 on September 09, 2009, 11:13:34 PM
Quote from: Orior on September 09, 2009, 11:10:35 PM

Good point Orior
Post by: Shortso79 on September 09, 2009, 11:17:07 PM
Maybe when he wrote the numbers down on his board -

these numbers were somehow reflected automatically on the white table tennis balls

Post by: ziggysego on September 09, 2009, 11:17:46 PM
Quote from: stiffler on September 09, 2009, 11:08:38 PM

He wouldn't want her
Post by: The Gs Man on September 09, 2009, 11:18:24 PM
I bet he didn't predict Norn Iron would get tanked 2-0.
Post by: stiffler on September 09, 2009, 11:19:04 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 09, 2009, 11:17:46 PM
Quote from: stiffler on September 09, 2009, 11:08:38 PM

He wouldn't want her

Post by: Shortso79 on September 09, 2009, 11:19:54 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on September 09, 2009, 11:18:24 PM
I bet he didn't predict Norn Iron would get tanked 2-0.

Thats next months challenge lol
Post by: Unknown on September 09, 2009, 11:20:47 PM
Wot is the thots on the weekend championship matches in Armagh? Any odds bein given yet?
Post by: ziggysego on September 09, 2009, 11:21:34 PM

Reported? Why?
Post by: The Gs Man on September 09, 2009, 11:22:37 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 09, 2009, 11:21:34 PM

Reported? Why?

Cos she's bogging.
Post by: ziggysego on September 09, 2009, 11:24:39 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on September 09, 2009, 11:22:37 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 09, 2009, 11:21:34 PM

Reported? Why?

Cos she's bogging.

reported
Post by: downgirl on September 09, 2009, 11:31:13 PM
Quote from: Orior on September 09, 2009, 11:10:35 PM

Because the BBC have to be the first to announce them.  Or something to that effect.
Post by: orangeman on September 09, 2009, 11:42:54 PM
Definitely a load a shite.
Post by: leenie on September 09, 2009, 11:45:26 PM

how do u's think he done it then?

i can't believe he did predict them... if that was the case would he not be doing that all the time and be a multi millionaire, however i am intrigued to see how it was done...

it certainly looked impressive!
Post by: orangeman on September 09, 2009, 11:47:15 PM
Quote from: leenie on September 09, 2009, 11:45:26 PM

i can't believe he did predict them... if that was the case would he not be doing that all the time and be a multi millionaire, however i am intrigued to see how it was done...

Maybe it wasn't live TV ?

His shows are quite entertaining all the same.
Post by: The Gs Man on September 09, 2009, 11:48:15 PM
As someone might have mentioned, might be something to do with him writing it down.  Some sort of magic pen!!!   :)

Or else, him writing it down on the bit of paper drew your eye away from the balls and perhaps something happened there. 

Or maybe, it was a trick using mirrors.  Most big magic tricks are!!!!
Post by: Galwaybhoy on September 09, 2009, 11:49:06 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QG-5qebwflA

I didn't see it, this must be it.
Post by: ziggysego on September 09, 2009, 11:49:47 PM
Derren says everything he does is a trick, never claims otherwises. We'll find out Friday out.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on September 09, 2009, 11:53:38 PM
He should just have bought a ticket for crying out loud!  ;D

I wonder whats the trick.
Post by: rosnarun on September 10, 2009, 12:00:30 AM
i didnt see it  but if i get the drirft here he predicted the numbers after the draw was made and powple are wondering is he for real?
we probably watched it on the tv same as everyone else . or what did he he promised he didn't?
Tv 'magiicians cheat and have no compution about it . My Favorite was david copperfield in front of a largw live audience making the space shuttle disappear .
How ?
he moved the camera to look at a different spot and the whole crowd were in on it .think he used the same trick to make the Taj Majhal disappear too
Post by: ONeill on September 10, 2009, 12:04:44 AM
Working out how he did it is a bit o craic.

Even though I don't believe he'll tell us the truth, or all of it, that covering of his mouth and the way he held the board during the numbers may have something to do with it. He's not into digital trickery so I'd doubt some kind of split screen codding.
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2009, 12:05:17 AM
If you'd the ability to predict the lotto numbers would you actually go on tv just to show you could do it?

Nope, don't be silly.  YOu'd be busy spending your millions.
Post by: The Gs Man on September 10, 2009, 12:06:04 AM
Quote from: ONeill on September 10, 2009, 12:04:44 AM
He's not into digital trickery so I'd doubt some kind of split screen codding.

Or mirrors!
Post by: leenie on September 10, 2009, 12:10:33 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on September 10, 2009, 12:00:30 AM
i didnt see it  but if i get the drirft here he predicted the numbers after the draw was made and powple are wondering is he for real?
we probably watched it on the tv same as everyone else . or what did he he promised he didn't?
Tv 'magiicians cheat and have no compution about it . My Favorite was david copperfield in front of a largw live audience making the space shuttle disappear .
How ?
he moved the camera to look at a different spot and the whole crowd were in on it .think he used the same trick to make the Taj Majhal disappear too

he had 6 balls on a glass shelf/stand beside a t.v... he then watched the lotto the same as the rest of us can... all the while the balls were still in camera shot... he then wrote down the no's went to the balls he had predicted and turned them around and wa-la they were the same!
Post by: ziggysego on September 10, 2009, 12:18:21 AM
Did a man dressed as a gorilla run on and change the balls?
Post by: ONeill on September 10, 2009, 12:19:09 AM
Here, watch that youtube clip again. As he's doing it keep an eye on the ball on the far left as he is writing the numbers down. As he writes 23 and 28 on his card, do you see that ball move slightly upwards?
Post by: Galwaybhoy on September 10, 2009, 12:27:34 AM
I think we're just going to have to wait until Friday and even then he probably wont give us a full explanation.
Post by: Main Street on September 10, 2009, 01:11:20 AM
It's a worthless prediction if you haven't time to buy a ticket.
Post by: Capt Pat on September 10, 2009, 01:28:41 AM
Some sort of a blue screen trick was involved, I would think it was simple enough for tv people. Why does he have to write down the numbers at the end. That creates a delay, time for someone to change the balls. That is why he didn't do it in front of a studio audience. If not ball one could have come out and he could have turned around his ball at the same time likewise  for ball 2 and 3 etc, but he didn't he waited for the draw to end and then wrote down the numbers himslef on a piece of cardboard.
Post by: cornerback on September 10, 2009, 08:51:16 AM
Of course it was a trick but the fun is in trying to work out what the trick is... i'd be very surprised if it was a simple camera trick, but maybe i'm giving him more credit than he deserves!!

Do you not remember is horse racing 'scam'.... he successfully predicted the outcome of 5 races for a woman to bet on, but he'd actually covered every single outcome...

explanined better here:

http://www.lottery-guy.com/lgblog/derren-brown-reveals-secret-of-lottery-system-scams/ (http://www.lottery-guy.com/lgblog/derren-brown-reveals-secret-of-lottery-system-scams/)

What Derren did was take a woman at random and feed her horse racing predictions. She was aware that she was part of an experiment, and that 'The System' was supposed to be a way to guarantee picking winners every time at horse racing.

For the first race she was given a winner and told to just watch the race. Once the predicted winner rode home her confidence was visibly boosted. The next race her own money was at risk. To her great excitement, she won again. A third and fourth time turned her into a firm believer that The System was real, and completely proven. After all, four winners out of four races, what are the chances of that?

The System Explained

For the fifth race, our lucky winner got to meet the creator of The System. And here's where Derren revealed to her how it all worked. No, he wasn't psychic or the discoverer of some mathematical miracle. Neither was he plain lucky or working with secret stable insider information. It was simply a con. A well carried out con.

Her perception was that The System worked because she won every race. But this was only her perception, and that of the viewer with the information revealed so far. The reality however was very different. Because she was not the only person in the experiment. In fact, thousands of people all believed they were the only one! Derren had simply covered every possible outcome. The thousands of people who had been allocated the losing horses in race one were simply thrown out with apologies, while all those given the horse that won moved on to race 2. Then Derren simply split them down again between all the horses running, and again only kept those that it turned out had been given the horse that won. Repeated over race three and four, there was just one very happy woman remaining - and thousands of not so happy people who knew The System did not work as promised.

Post by: Clown on September 10, 2009, 09:25:51 AM
once he said he couldnt reveal his own numbers until after the lotto results were out the whole shock factor of the show extinguished
Post by: nutsy--1 on September 10, 2009, 09:40:54 AM
give the man a bit of credit. he does kinda shit to mess with your head and certainly messes with mine at times.
Post by: orangeman on September 10, 2009, 09:55:15 AM
Quote from: nutsy--1 on September 10, 2009, 09:40:54 AM
give the man a bit of credit. he does kinda shit to mess with your head and certainly messes with mine at times.

True but some of it is way out.

Like he can tell you what star sign you are, give him an initial of your name and he'll give you your full name, where you're from etc etc.

Post by: C_Berg_316 on September 10, 2009, 09:56:11 AM
Quote from: cornerback on September 10, 2009, 08:51:16 AM
Of course it was a trick but the fun is in trying to work out what the trick is... i'd be very surprised if it was a simple camera trick, but maybe i'm giving him more credit than he deserves!!

Do you not remember is horse racing 'scam'.... he successfully predicted the outcome of 5 races for a woman to bet on, but he'd actually covered every single outcome...

explanined better here:

http://www.lottery-guy.com/lgblog/derren-brown-reveals-secret-of-lottery-system-scams/ (http://www.lottery-guy.com/lgblog/derren-brown-reveals-secret-of-lottery-system-scams/)

What Derren did was take a woman at random and feed her horse racing predictions. She was aware that she was part of an experiment, and that 'The System' was supposed to be a way to guarantee picking winners every time at horse racing.

For the first race she was given a winner and told to just watch the race. Once the predicted winner rode home her confidence was visibly boosted. The next race her own money was at risk. To her great excitement, she won again. A third and fourth time turned her into a firm believer that The System was real, and completely proven. After all, four winners out of four races, what are the chances of that?

The System Explained

For the fifth race, our lucky winner got to meet the creator of The System. And here's where Derren revealed to her how it all worked. No, he wasn't psychic or the discoverer of some mathematical miracle. Neither was he plain lucky or working with secret stable insider information. It was simply a con. A well carried out con.

Her perception was that The System worked because she won every race. But this was only her perception, and that of the viewer with the information revealed so far. The reality however was very different. Because she was not the only person in the experiment. In fact, thousands of people all believed they were the only one! Derren had simply covered every possible outcome. The thousands of people who had been allocated the losing horses in race one were simply thrown out with apologies, while all those given the horse that won moved on to race 2. Then Derren simply split them down again between all the horses running, and again only kept those that it turned out had been given the horse that won. Repeated over race three and four, there was just one very happy woman remaining - and thousands of not so happy people who knew The System did not work as promised.

Atfer she 'lumped' on the final race though and the horse lost, he had still picked and backed the winner and he gaev her the winnings!
Post by: nifan on September 10, 2009, 10:32:52 AM
QuoteAtfer she 'lumped' on the final race though and the horse lost, he had still picked and backed the winner and he gaev her the winnings!

Id say he had backed them all.
Post by: full back on September 10, 2009, 10:41:20 AM
Cant believe anyone thinks he is for real

Dont know how he did it, but it is an illusion/trick

The odds of picking the winning numbers are 13.9 million or something like that so he didnt guess them either

As one of the spokemen from the large bookies said yesterday, he will give his monthly wage to charity if Brown didnt pick the winning numbers
Post by: Maroon Heaven on September 10, 2009, 10:43:30 AM
When he said that Channel 4 could not show the numbers until BBC had drawn the official Lottery numbers - You know something is up.

What obilgation does C4 have to stop someone showing preceived lottery numbers. If they were that confident why didn't they display the numbers in a distance even instead of having them turned around and hiden. Also why no live audience to see this miracle

Either 1 of three things

1. A spit screen on the TV with a holding pic of the "ping pong balls"
2. Some form of lazer which could burn an image onto the balls of the chosen numbers
3. An instrument inside the balls which made the numbers appear

Number one for me
Post by: Galwaybhoy on September 10, 2009, 10:49:50 AM
Quote from: Maroon Heaven on September 10, 2009, 10:43:30 AM
When he said that Channel 4 could not show the numbers until BBC had drawn the official Lottery numbers - You know something is up.

What obilgation does C4 have to stop someone showing preceived lottery numbers. If they were that confident why didn't they display the numbers in a distance even instead of having them turned around and hiden. Also why no live audience to see this miracle

Either 1 of three things

1. A spit screen on the TV with a holding pic of the "ping pong balls"
2. Some form of lazer which could burn an image onto the balls of the chosen numbers
3. An instrument inside the balls which made the numbers appear

Number one for me

I was thinking that too.  Any numbers that he would have shown before the loot actually took place would have been a prediction.  Its not illegal to show predictions for the lotto or anything else I would say, so I'd say something was up here.  Its still a great trick though.
Post by: Maroon Heaven on September 10, 2009, 10:50:44 AM
(http://i26.tinypic.com/2s6k2ug.gif)

The numbers btw
Post by: ludermor on September 10, 2009, 10:56:25 AM
Who is Darren Brown?
Post by: nifan on September 10, 2009, 10:58:01 AM
Quote from: Madge on September 10, 2009, 10:34:28 AM
She had the docket in her hand the whole time though and was only after the race that she looked at it to see he had wrote the horse that on down and not the one that she thought she had backed.

Erm is that not exactly the sort of thing he does. The point is he cant predict horses, why would he not use another trick here?
Post by: Main Street on September 10, 2009, 02:37:41 PM
There is no time delay.
I have watched the You Tube clip quite a few times.
I turned off the volume.
If this is mere what you'd call camera trickery then any film editor could do it.
Has to be something which has a bit of illusionary class to it otherwise it would be an anti climax
So far I'm suspicious about

other person on stage
no studio audience
Studio camera is jerking around so much as to inspire motion sickness.
Hand over mouth during which time he remains relatively still and camera is less shaky.
Dark studio
shiny reflective floor
Old TV
wafer thin balls

He has created the illusion that he has predicted the lottery numbers and we are waiting for the numbers to pop up.
He has also created the illusion that there is a stand/plynth nearby, containing a tray with a white base, 2 legs coming from the base to hold a dark tray with 5 very light white balls.
Why do I not believe him ?
Hologram?

Post by: nifan on September 10, 2009, 02:57:36 PM
Just saw it again.
I think he is doing something with his right arm.
When the draw starts he is waving both arms around. Then it starts and I dont see his right arm or hand at all - his left is over his mouth, and his right supposedly holding the board. I suspect he is selecting labels or something with his right hand - not sure how he would get them on the balls.

I always thought it was odd looking on the ad where he is juggling one handed that his other arm stayed so still - if it is this that could be a clue?
Post by: Galwaybhoy on September 10, 2009, 03:11:24 PM
Dont think that would work nifan.  He is holding the board so I don't know how he could sort labels (49 or so labels) that quickly without moving the board and making it obvious.  Then it would be impossible to put them on the balls that quickly.

I have no idea myself but it seems like a great trick, cant wait to see how he done it, though it will probably be a let down.
Post by: C_Berg_316 on September 10, 2009, 03:20:31 PM
I wonder how many people will use the same numbers sat?  Looking forward to watching the show tommorrow night.
Its really all obviously just a publicity stunt and it has worked as ive heard a load of people in work the
day on about it.  Another point is why did he have to write down the numbers at all on that piece of card?
He had predicted them so he would have knew the order - why not just leave the TV on showing them in numerical
order and turn his numbers on the white balls round at the same time with both the TV and the white balls in shot?
Post by: nifan on September 10, 2009, 03:26:54 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on September 10, 2009, 03:11:24 PM
Dont think that would work nifan.  He is holding the board so I don't know how he could sort labels (49 or so labels) that quickly without moving the board and making it obvious.  Then it would be impossible to put them on the balls that quickly.

49 labels doesnt seem like that many - magicians are used to manipulating decks of cards for their tricks for example.
No idea how he would get them on the balls-  but he must have got them on somehow - he didnt predict it!
Post by: full back on September 10, 2009, 03:29:04 PM
Quote from: nifan on September 10, 2009, 03:26:54 PM
No idea how he would get them on the balls-  but he must have got them on somehow - he didnt predict it!

Correct
Post by: botman on September 10, 2009, 04:03:22 PM
Was the cameraman some guy on work experience? Why does it shake all over the place?

For sure this is a load of balls.

I'll get my coat...
Post by: screenexile on September 10, 2009, 04:03:58 PM
Have watched all of Browns shows and find him a fascinating character... If I remember correctly he once flipped a coin for 9 hours in order o get a sequence of 50 heads in a row so the man is dedicated to his craft.

I hate the way people dismiss him as a fraud and and say 'it's all a trick'... Of course it is he makes no secret of that fact, he's a showman skilled in misdirection and human behaviour and he uses a combination of these to pull his stunts. If people don't like him they shouldn't watch him!

As for last nites trick well who knows I think we'll just have to watch on Friday nite to find out the craic... Such a big deal has been made of it that it can't be as simple as a camera trick as that would be too much if an anti climax! Looking forward to Friday nite!
Post by: doirebhoy on September 10, 2009, 04:42:38 PM
at the start of the programm derren says he cannot bring people in, as he would not want anyone to benefit from it,
can you explain how can someone benefit at 10.25 from knowing the numbers, all terminals shut at 7.30
Post by: Main Street on September 10, 2009, 05:21:10 PM
Derren says that these 6 balls are his prediction made earlier on in the day.

He couldn't tell us what the numbers were because the BBC have first right.

How does the BBC's legal right to announce the lottery numbers first, interfere with Derren's right to show us the numbers he has predicted.
Is it illegal for someone to claim to predict the lottery numbers and say it in public.

Why could he have not got the archbishop to come with a polariod, take a photo and show us the photo after the draw
Post by: A Quinn Martin Production on September 10, 2009, 05:50:43 PM
Brown is a showman and entertainer and he's very good at what he does.

Dunno how he did it but the hand over the mouth during the "draw" looks a bit odd??
Post by: nifan on September 10, 2009, 05:55:21 PM
Aye QM, thats why i thought he was at something with the other arm - its very odd the way his hand is.
Post by: botman on September 10, 2009, 05:57:55 PM
He could have pre-record the thousands of possible outcomes? I wouldn't put it past him...

Or he could have been inside my TV. I'll check when I get home.

Post by: Galwaybhoy on September 10, 2009, 06:17:38 PM
Quote from: botman on September 10, 2009, 05:57:55 PM
He could have pre-record the thousands of possible outcomes? I wouldn't put it past him...

Do you know how many combinations there are?
Post by: full back on September 10, 2009, 06:18:26 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on September 10, 2009, 06:17:38 PM
Quote from: botman on September 10, 2009, 05:57:55 PM

Do you know how many combinations there are?

13.9 million or so
Post by: Galwaybhoy on September 10, 2009, 06:20:36 PM
Exactly, It would be madness to think he pre-recorded the outcomes Bot.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on September 10, 2009, 06:21:44 PM

I think there was a light shining on the balls casting a shadow of the numbers on the white balls.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on September 10, 2009, 06:23:29 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on September 10, 2009, 06:21:44 PM

I think there was a light shining on the balls casting a shadow of the numbers on the white balls.

Surely that would have been easily spotted when he turned the balls around, the timing would have to be perfect so no one would notice.

I'm intrigued by this, I haven't a clue myself how he did it.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on September 10, 2009, 06:30:54 PM
The left hand side of the screen could have been pre-recorded and played as split screen with the right hand screen live where he was standing. Mean while someone was putting the balls on the podium. All you can see is the pre recorded left hand side of the screen and think the balls havent moved.
Post by: leenie on September 10, 2009, 06:35:18 PM

thats what i was thinking ... we don't know what the balls are made from, and behind them was a solid brick wall..... so i'm wondering was the numbers projected onto them
Post by: The Watcher Pat on September 10, 2009, 06:39:08 PM
Quote from: leenie on September 10, 2009, 06:35:18 PM

thats what i was thinking ... we don't know what the balls are made from, and behind them was a solid brick wall..... so i'm wondering was the numbers projected onto them

Possibly or even the explanation in my previous post. Its definitely a trick it has only got so many peoples imagination because its something as big as the lotto.

When he tells you it will feel like a anticlimax.
Post by: ludermor on September 10, 2009, 06:50:07 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on September 10, 2009, 06:39:08 PM

Possibly or even the explanation in my previous post. Its definitely a trick it has only got so many peoples imagination because its something as big as the lotto.

When he tells you it will feel like a anticlimax.

No fukcing way!!!! Next thing you will tell me there is no santa  >:(
Post by: Galwaybhoy on September 10, 2009, 07:04:28 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on September 10, 2009, 06:30:54 PM
The left hand side of the screen could have been pre-recorded and played as split screen with the right hand screen live where he was standing. Mean while someone was putting the balls on the podium. All you can see is the pre recorded left hand side of the screen and think the balls havent moved.

I like that explanation the best, but you wouldn't need to be a skilled illusionist to pull that off, just need to know about cameras.
Post by: David McKeown on September 10, 2009, 07:20:45 PM
The thing that got me is that he did say it had been a year of his life to do this at one point, to me that suggests it is definately not impossible that he has pre-recorded all possible combinations.

On an aside i find some of his stuff really interesting.  I am front row to see in the Waterfront next March or April really looking forward to it
Post by: mountainboii on September 10, 2009, 07:55:35 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on September 10, 2009, 07:20:45 PM
The thing that got me is that he did say it had been a year of his life to do this at one point, to me that suggests it is definately not impossible that he has pre-recorded all possible combinations.

On an aside i find some of his stuff really interesting.  I am front row to see in the Waterfront next March or April really looking forward to it

Are you wise? It would take him about 1000 years to do that.
Post by: nifan on September 10, 2009, 07:58:46 PM

13.9 million would be impossible to do.
If it took a minute per combo it would take 26 years (excluding toilet breaks)
Post by: The Watcher Pat on September 10, 2009, 08:13:52 PM
Quote from: nifan on September 10, 2009, 07:58:46 PM
The thing that got me is that he did say it had been a year of his life to do this at one point, to me that suggests it is definitely not impossible that he has prerecorded all possible combinations.

13.9 million would be impossible to do.
If it took a minute per combo it would take 26 years (excluding toilet breaks)

He was definitely bursting for a toilet break the way he was holding his hand over his face.

:D :D

That will probably have something to do with the trick i would say...
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 10, 2009, 08:17:41 PM
personally I think he has a time machine.
Post by: Main Street on September 10, 2009, 08:27:03 PM
No audience,  no photo of the balls he had supposedly selected earlier.
There is no evidence at all that he predicted the numbers before the event.

The explanation could be as corny as the one for the 8000 punters selected for those horse races.

Post by: ONeill on September 10, 2009, 08:31:22 PM
I think we need to ask the question, did we actually see the programme at all. Did he do than brain boyo on us all with all the build up and when we turned over we imagined we saw the programme but were actually watching Gok Wan telling some lad he needs a new duffel coat. The youtube thing is an extention of that. Tomorrow night he'll do the same again.
Post by: Shortso79 on September 10, 2009, 08:48:59 PM

Nobody had last nights winning numbers - except Mr Brown - but he is banned from playing the lotto - supposedly

http://www.national-lottery.co.uk/player/lotto/results/prizeBreakdown.ftl

Saturday Night is a rollover wooohooo

Post by: Main Street on September 10, 2009, 08:54:04 PM
I predict it is going to be a corny explanation.
Popular exposure gained with some trick done in a darkened studio with no witnesses instead of honest to God decent acts of mentalism with interesting explanations.
Post by: nifan on September 10, 2009, 10:11:54 PM
Quote from: Shortso79 on September 10, 2009, 08:48:59 PM
Saturday Night is a rollover wooohooo

There will be 3million winners after derren tells us all how to do it tomorrow though - couple of quid each just!
Post by: rosnarun on September 10, 2009, 10:49:52 PM
wonder no more

if a 2 bit hacker can do this in his living room imagine how much slicker C$ could make it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rqAt2akPHJ8&eurl=http%3A%2F%2Fcharlottegore.com%2F2009%2F09%2F10%2Fderren-brown-lottery-prediction-how-he-did-it.html&feature=player_embedded#t=14
Post by: Galwaybhoy on September 10, 2009, 11:06:18 PM
If its as easy as that it will be a huge letdown, as I said you don't need to be a skilled illusionist to do that sort of thing.
Post by: David McKeown on September 10, 2009, 11:35:56 PM
Sorry when I say all combinations I mean the bit where he turns the numbers round that 3/4 second part
Post by: rosnarun on September 10, 2009, 11:47:32 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on September 10, 2009, 11:06:18 PM
If its as easy as that it will be a huge letdown, as I said you don't need to be a skilled illusionist to do that sort of thing.

maybe it is maybe it isnt but it could be ans stage magicians are not in the business of making a trick hardwe than they have to.
there a reason charlatan and mountebanks got a bad name
Post by: David McKeown on September 10, 2009, 11:54:51 PM
Just after he walks away from the balls about a minute into the show is it my imagination or does he nod towards the camera, having watched it again I think there is possibly a three way split screen operation in effect.
Post by: rosnarun on September 11, 2009, 01:18:59 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on September 10, 2009, 11:54:51 PM
Just after he walks away from the balls about a minute into the show is it my imagination or does he nod towards the camera, having watched it again I think there is possibly a three way split screen operation in effect.
quiet possibly evey thing bar the number on the ball being pre recorded
Post by: ludermor on September 11, 2009, 08:56:22 AM
The man is into and has made his name from doing illusions and playing with peoples mind, while i think camera tricks are the most likely solution ( just cause i cant figure out how he could have done it!!!) i doubt he would have used camera tricks, it just wouldnt have the wow factor after.
Post by: botman on September 11, 2009, 09:09:58 AM
I figured it out.

He had an highly sophisticated and well trained army of Ants. The Ants went through a fairly intensive warm weather, high altitude training camp in Spain to asses fitness and mental agility. The six best were then chosen and inserted in to the balls. When numbers were drawn they quickly etched the numbers from inside the ping pong balls.

Unfortunately due to oxygen constraints they never made it out alive and died inside the balls. Each ant was promised 40 virgin Ant queens each in Ant heaven.

Suicide Ants
[/size][/color]

Post by: doirebhoy on September 11, 2009, 09:04:53 PM
mental man
Post by: leenie on September 11, 2009, 09:49:59 PM

waffle if i ever heard it!
Post by: David McKeown on September 11, 2009, 10:15:21 PM
If Brown used the wisdom of crowds to figure out each number as it came out then why didnt he display them in the order they came out, that would have been even more impressive.
Post by: Madge on September 11, 2009, 10:45:46 PM
Missed the show, so how did he do it?
Post by: D4S on September 11, 2009, 10:51:13 PM
Watching david blaine here he is a seriously cool guy wit unbelievable talent...derren brown is a con man in my opinion!!    Watching david blaine he absolutely astounds you with his tricks!  Unbelievably talented!!!
Post by: gawa316 on September 11, 2009, 11:03:02 PM
Quote from: D4S on September 11, 2009, 10:51:13 PM
Watching david blaine here he is a seriously cool guy wit unbelievable talent...derren brown is a con man in my opinion!!    Watching david blaine he absolutely astounds you with his tricks!  Unbelievably talented!!!

Just watched it there. Love his street magic cause everytime it has me say, 'What the f**k, how'd he do that?!'

What about the one with the matches...unbelieveable
Post by: Galwaybhoy on September 11, 2009, 11:05:06 PM
Quote from: Madge on September 11, 2009, 10:45:46 PM
Missed the show, so how did he do it?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=blKQ_WtofNE

Just after seeing it there on YouTube.  Why couldn't he just have the crowd in front of him the other night, why did he have them in a different room.
Post by: rosnarun on September 12, 2009, 12:37:21 AM
Quote from: ludermor on September 11, 2009, 08:56:22 AM
The man is into and has made his name from doing illusions and playing with peoples mind, while i think camera tricks are the most likely solution ( just cause i cant figure out how he could have done it!!!) i doubt he would have used camera tricks, it just wouldnt have the wow factor after.
luder your not brediting the man with any compuntion about lying he is a tv magician thats what they do .
and he definetly doesnt have any great insught into the future .
he didn't know he was gay till he was 37 wheras the rest of the world knew as soon as he opened his mouth
Post by: Main Street on September 12, 2009, 11:39:26 AM
I just saw that youtube clip.

No transparency at all, no witness, no independent photograph of the balls selected and you can't trust the program set up, at all.

Wisdom of the crowd to predict lottery nrs. ???
Worth examination, if there was the important element of transparency.
More like the the gullibility of the crowd believing that it was possible to predict, makes it appear real.
Post by: ludermor on September 12, 2009, 11:47:39 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on September 12, 2009, 12:37:21 AM
luder your not brediting the man with any compuntion about lying he is a tv magician thats what they do .
he didn't know he was gay till he was 37 wheras the rest of the world knew as soon as he opened his mouth
I didnt say anything about lying just that i doubted it would be anything as simple as camera tricks, as your clips showed anyone could have done it with camera tricks.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on September 12, 2009, 11:54:30 AM
Quote from: Main Street on September 12, 2009, 11:39:26 AM
I just saw that youtube clip.

No transparency at all, no witness, no independent photograph of the balls selected and you can't trust the program set up, at all.

Wisdom of the crowd to predict lottery nrs. ???
Worth examination, if there was the important element of transparency.
More like the the gullibility of the crowd believing that it was possible to predict, makes it appear real.

Yup pretty much was a letdown tbh.
Post by: The Watcher Pat on September 12, 2009, 11:55:23 AM
just watched it there....a complete load of balls! The crowd were cheering after he showed them the numbers.....he didn't show them before..That was a waste of 1 hr of my life
Post by: phpearse on September 12, 2009, 01:50:00 PM
On RTE Radio this morning Kieth Barry was saying that he new how it was done and that one of the tabloids had got it right. Think it was yesterday's Sun or Mirror had made a guess as to how it was done and they were right. 
Post by: fitzroyalty on September 12, 2009, 02:21:26 PM
Three words: Power Of Suggestion
Post by: pk205 on September 12, 2009, 05:05:21 PM
It was an illusion.

He did not predict the numbers.

He created an illusion that he predicted the numbers.

So the question is: how was that illusion carried out?

Keith Barry says that either the Sun or The Mirror pretty much got it right. Anyone read either? What did they say?

My best guess is that the balls had heat sensitive coatings and lasers were used to print/burn the numbers on. 
Post by: ziggysego on September 12, 2009, 07:10:40 PM
Apparently he predicted the numbers last Christmas and went about London in an open top bus displaying the numbers. He is supposed to have videoed it and will show the video at the end of the last 'Events' show in a few weeks.
Post by: rosnarun on September 14, 2009, 02:27:05 AM
Quote from: ludermor on September 12, 2009, 11:47:39 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on September 12, 2009, 12:37:21 AM
I didnt say anything about lying just that i doubted it would be anything as simple as camera tricks, as your clips showed anyone could have done it with camera tricks.
do why would he do anything else?
even if what ziggysego is sayis true who on that bus remebers the numbers , if he really wanted to impress pep-loe he woulkd have shown the numbers before hand . it doesnt matter how he displayed them sometime after the event
I was a big fan but this was a total burst anf he now below paul daniels in my book . next place hell be appearing is in a galss bubble over the thames thinking hes impressing some one
Post by: mountainboii on September 16, 2009, 05:32:24 PM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1213841/Derren-Browns-lottery-trick-Amateur-film-maker-recreates-stunt-perfectly---magic-hocus-pocus.html

Very underwhelming if true  :-\
Post by: mountainboii on September 18, 2009, 09:06:31 PM
Anyone gonna see if he can make you stick to your chair?
Post by: mountainboii on September 18, 2009, 09:54:04 PM
Loada shite  >:(
Post by: ONeill on September 18, 2009, 09:57:20 PM
There's a 10-year old with wobbly legs
Post by: Shortso79 on September 18, 2009, 09:57:53 PM
someone ring 999 - I'm stuck
Post by: screenmachine on September 18, 2009, 10:04:37 PM
I really wanted to get stuck, what a let down!
Post by: venter on September 18, 2009, 10:09:49 PM
3 of us in this house. No one got stuck. I got hypnotized in salou once. Well at least I think I did, or else I was just trying to please the hypnotist
Post by: gawa316 on September 18, 2009, 10:17:24 PM
Going to watch it on 4 plus 1, hope it works but somehow doubt it
Post by: Cillo on September 18, 2009, 10:31:25 PM
Disappointed.
Big fan of Derren Brown but it has been a let down.
Post by: mountainboii on September 18, 2009, 10:37:09 PM
Its very difficult to be impressed by any of the other stuff in the show either, because there's no reason to believe that the 'random' volunteer isn't in on it.
Post by: gawa316 on September 18, 2009, 10:55:18 PM
Well ain't stuck, pure shite

BTW did anyone see 2 pictures pop up whilst he was telling you about it?
Post by: Cillo on September 18, 2009, 11:00:58 PM
What is on the agenda for next weeks show then?
Post by: The Gs Man on September 18, 2009, 11:19:12 PM
He's going to highlight how Ian Paisley Jnr can go one month without putting his foot in it......
Post by: mountainboii on September 18, 2009, 11:35:45 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on September 18, 2009, 10:55:18 PM

Aye two pictures of a fella sitting back in a chair, just before and just after his spinning file page thing. This despite him saying there'd be no subliminal flashes or anything. Complete spoofer, after two weeks of bollix I don't think I'll bother with it next week.
Post by: haranguerer on September 18, 2009, 11:41:21 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 18, 2009, 11:35:45 PM

Aye two pictures of a fella sitting back in a chair, just before and just after his spinning file page thing. This despite him saying there'd be no subliminal flashes or anything. Complete spoofer, after two weeks of bollix I don't think I'll bother with it next week.

If there were subliminal flashes you wouldnt have seen them. Anything you did see, like those two images, you were meant to see.

Didnt watch it, complete load of balls. The horse racing programme put me off him for life - hes an idiot.
Post by: mountainboii on September 18, 2009, 11:45:07 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on September 18, 2009, 11:41:21 PM
Quote from: AFS on September 18, 2009, 11:35:45 PM

If there were subliminal flashes you wouldnt have seen them. Anything you did see, like those two images, you were meant to see.

Didnt watch it, complete load of balls. The horse racing programme put me off him for life - hes an idiot.

Hmmm, good point.
Post by: screenexile on September 19, 2009, 12:01:25 AM
I really want this to work so I'm gonna do it properly when it's on here now. Dark room proper chairmand full concentration. If I do come on here having been stuck though everyones gonna say I'm full of shite so can't win but worth a shot.
Post by: ziggysego on September 19, 2009, 12:08:28 AM
Big deal, I'm always in a chair
Post by: redcard on September 19, 2009, 12:28:03 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on September 19, 2009, 12:08:28 AM
Big deal, I'm always in a chair

enjoyed that ziggy  :D :D
Post by: Drumanee 1 on September 19, 2009, 10:21:25 AM
Quote from: screenexile on September 19, 2009, 12:01:25 AM
I really want this to work so I'm gonna do it properly when it's on here now. Dark room proper chairmand full concentration. If I do come on here having been stuck though everyones gonna say I'm full of shite so can't win but worth a shot.

well screen did it work?or are you at the other side of the room stuck to your chair,when i come to think of it,if you are it did work. ::)
Post by: milltown row on October 02, 2009, 09:46:35 PM
Derren Brown at his Lark again on 4
Post by: milltown row on October 02, 2009, 09:59:55 PM
he fcuked up ;D
Post by: Brick Tamlin on October 02, 2009, 10:00:51 PM
he just stole 5 grand off some dude then lost it in one go in roulette in a random casino in europe.
Post by: Irenses on October 02, 2009, 10:12:42 PM
He was close but. I reckon he knows what he is doing and given a few more efforts would get it. Still, great to watch him feck up on live TV.