GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: orangeman on July 05, 2009, 09:12:28 PM

Title: Munster Final - Tipp v Waterford 12.7.09 - here's hoping for a classic.
Post by: orangeman on July 05, 2009, 09:12:28 PM
There is a piece later on TV tonight previewing Sunday's match and reviewing the finals that went before.

I'm looking forward to it on the Sunday game later on.

Tipp to win by the narrowest of margins in an epic encounter next Sunday.
Title: Re: Munster Final - Tipp v Waterford 12.7.09 - here's hoping for a classic.
Post by: Gnevin on July 06, 2009, 07:10:39 PM
Am sick of all the Munster hype. Fecking RTÉ ruined the Sunday Game yesterday so they could blow hard about Munster for 90 minutes
Title: Re: Munster Final - Tipp v Waterford 12.7.09 - here's hoping for a classic.
Post by: Reillers on July 06, 2009, 11:55:16 PM
Why? Nothing much, imo, beats a good day out in Munster.

What should they have done instead?
Post by: Gnevin on July 07, 2009, 12:08:45 AM
Quote from: Reillers on July 06, 2009, 11:55:16 PM

Shown highlight of the weekends action ?  I mean the 2 minutes of Monaghan v Armagh gave me great insight   ::)
Post by: Reillers on July 07, 2009, 01:04:57 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 07, 2009, 12:08:45 AM

Shown highlight of the weekends action ?  I mean the 2 minutes of Monaghan v Armagh gave me great insight   ::)

Football gets enough attention, all the time. Hell even here, there's the GAA section, and then there's hurling, a bit of Munster hurling is needed from time to time.
Post by: Gnevin on July 07, 2009, 09:27:14 AM
Quote from: Reillers on July 07, 2009, 01:04:57 AM

Football gets enough attention, all the time. Hell even here, there's the GAA section, and then there's hurling, a bit of Munster hurling is needed from time to time.

No one is  suggesting the Munster final isn't often a great a occasion, however the way some people carry on you'd swear it was 125 (ok no quite that many) great finals on the trot and sure  AI is just that annoying game at the end of year after the real stuff in Munster is over with .
Post by: didlyi on July 07, 2009, 09:30:59 AM
We have seen enough of rubbish football this year and last weekend wasnt much better. Thank God we have 2 big hurling matches this weekend. The choice of football qualifiers is so bad for the coming weekend that RTE are having difficulty picking a worthwhile match to show.
Post by: Bing Crosby . on July 07, 2009, 09:53:50 AM

Sorry to disappoint any of you who care to moan about an excellent Sunday Game show last Sunday eve but tough titty .
The only watchable game of football so far this year was Sunday's Munster Final . This was down to the pure intensity of the Limerick power play .
If you didn't like watching the true giants of yesteryear's hurling world then you shouldn't have bothered watching it .
Post by: Reillers on July 07, 2009, 11:32:43 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 07, 2009, 09:27:14 AM

No one is  suggesting the Munster final isn't often a great a occasion, however the way some people carry on you'd swear it was 125 (ok no quite that many) great finals on the trot and sure  AI is just that annoying game at the end of year after the real stuff in Munster is over with .

Ah now you're learning.  ;) ;)

Football gets all the attention, all the media love. God like do you remember the 125 years special thing from the Late Late. I think they mentioned hurling once for about 25 seconds. It was all football. It was a joke.
So hurling got the headlines for once. As it should. The GAA would be nothing without the Munster Championship.  ;) ;)
Post by: heffo on July 07, 2009, 11:49:23 AM
Quote from: Reillers on July 07, 2009, 11:32:43 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 07, 2009, 09:27:14 AM

The GAA would be nothing with the Munster Championship.  ;) ;)

Thanks for confirming that Reillers.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 07, 2009, 12:14:18 PM
Quote from: Bing Crosby . on July 07, 2009, 09:53:50 AM

Sorry to disappoint any of you who care to moan about an excellent Sunday Game show last Sunday eve but tough titty .
The only watchable game of football so far this year was Sunday's Munster Final . This was down to the pure intensity of the Limerick power play .
If you didn't like watching the true giants of yesteryear's hurling world then you shouldn't have bothered watching it .

Yes, that's what it was, who cares about yesteryear's greats anyway? All in the past. Like Munster's last AI champion was way back in 2005 believe it or not. I wonder why didn't they do a show about Leinster football as well. Afterall, their final is on on Sunday too.
Post by: Gnevin on July 07, 2009, 12:20:13 PM

The Sunday Game is meant to be a highlights show not a fecking Magazine show, The Road to Croker is meant to be a magazine show but that does start till the season is half over and sure they've changed the format this year .
Post by: Bing Crosby . on July 07, 2009, 12:32:12 PM
I'm not too sure why they didn't do a special on the Leinster Football Final to be honest . Is it possibly because it's too dull ? I think maybe that could be the reason .
If hurling isn't your thing well then I suppose I can understand why that show didn't tickle your fancy . It's difficult to understand but I can .

Let's be honest here but to be suggesting that 4 years without a Munster senior AI Hurling winner is a long time is a completely disingenous to a fine KK side .
Cycles my friend cycles , everything is cyclicle .

I expect Waterford to win this Sunday BTW  in a an exciting tight cracker of a match .
Post by: Bing Crosby . on July 07, 2009, 12:38:02 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 07, 2009, 12:20:13 PM

The Sunday Game is meant to be a highlights show not a fecking Magazine show, The Road to Croker is meant to be a magazine show but that does start till the season is half over and sure they've changed the format this year .

Don't be complaining to me about it , if your that upset you should be getting onto RTE and let them know about  it   .
I personally thought it was a fantastic show .

Post by: Glensman on July 07, 2009, 03:28:40 PM
They could maybe have shown two minutes of the flipping Antrim laois qualifier as well.
A complete joke.
Watched the Sunday Game last night (recorded)...at warp speed to get highlights of the Antrim match and there was nothing there.

Stopped and watch a bit of Davy Fitz's interview re Sunday...the girlfriend found it hard to believe that that wee man was a legend (using this loosely enough before everyone jumps down my throat) of the game.
Post by: INDIANA on July 07, 2009, 04:24:14 PM
Quote from: Bing Crosby . on July 07, 2009, 12:38:02 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 07, 2009, 12:20:13 PM

Don't be complaining to me about it , if your that upset you should be getting onto RTE and let them know about  it   .
I personally thought it was a fantastic show .

Jokeshop of a programme- could have shown it next week. Would have made far more sense.
Post by: Bing Crosby . on July 07, 2009, 04:32:00 PM
Quote from: Glensman on July 07, 2009, 03:28:40 PM
They could maybe have shown two minutes of the flipping Antrim laois qualifier as well.
A complete joke.
Watched the Sunday Game last night (recorded)...at warp speed to get highlights of the Antrim match and there was nothing there.

Stopped and watch a bit of Davy Fitz's interview re Sunday...the girlfriend found it hard to believe that that wee man was a legend (using this loosely enough before everyone jumps down my throat) of the game.

I couldn't agree with you more Glensman Re Dave Fitz .  As far as I'm concerned I find it truly amazing that the authorities  have issued him with a driving licence . He reminds me of a squinty eyed chimpanzee who can just barely talk .
Everyday ,   life never ceases to suprise me with  the ineptitude of certain people in certain positions . i.e. politicians , Gardaí and many other positions of authority ordinary people will encounter in everyday  life . Shocking stuff really .

Post by: johnneycool on July 09, 2009, 10:44:17 AM
I've a sneaking suspicion Waterford will win this one by the odd point but they'll need to win the midfield battle with brick Walsh commanding and supporting his fullback like. Mullane will need to settle early and can expect a bit of a poke or two early on to break his concentration which in the past was easy to do.

Tipp haven't reached the same heights as last year, especailly Conor 'O Mahony and mumps aside he needs to reach his top form for Tipp to count in the latter stages.

The Blah's by 2
Post by: orangeman on July 09, 2009, 04:03:50 PM
Waterford's Stephen Molumphy is rated very doubtful for Sunday's Munster SHC final against Tipperary.

Molumphy is struggling with the knee injury suffered in the Munster semi-final replay win over Limerick, and hopes are fading for him.

Gary Hurney and Ken McGrath are both ruled out with long-term injuries.

Waterford hurling selector Peter Queally told the Examiner: 'Stephen's unlikely to make it.

'We're going to give him every chance, and there's a fair likelihood we'll still name him on the team, but put it to you this way - if he plays he probably won't be 100 per cent.

'Sunday's game has just come too soon for him, but we'll give him every chance before we have to rule him out of the picture.

'At least we know for a good while that Ken and Gary wouldn't be playing. That's given us a chance to get our heads around what alternatives we're going to have to use.'

Post by: deiseach on July 10, 2009, 11:32:37 AM
I don't think we have much chance. There's no danger Tipperary will be complacent having a) had such an awful record against us recently and b) taken a pounding from all and sundry for letting things get so dicey against Cork and Clare when they should have been out of sight. Add in the absence of Ken McGrath and probably Stephen Molumphy, and the near certainty that the curtain raiser will see the highly rated Tipp minors give a a right hiding to a Waterford team that only got through having had two bites at Clare  . . . I'm not full of optimism.
Post by: tayto on July 10, 2009, 12:33:12 PM
Yerra sher you may as well turn up and give it a lash!  ;)
Post by: deiseach on July 10, 2009, 12:51:09 PM
Quote from: tayto on July 10, 2009, 12:33:12 PM
Yerra sher you may as well turn up and give it a lash!  ;)

You can write it down
Post by: deiseach on July 10, 2009, 01:48:54 PM
On a more cheerful note, it's great to be in both matches. Hasn't happened since 1958. Prior to that it happened in 1948, and that wasn't a bad oul year.
Post by: tayto on July 10, 2009, 04:48:00 PM
A good performance is vital for Waterford, have the players to trouble anyone on yer day. I just want someone to beat kilkenny at this stage, no offense to them or anything but just for a change.
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 10, 2009, 08:56:08 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 06, 2009, 07:10:39 PM
Am sick of all the Munster hype. Fecking RTÉ ruined the Sunday Game yesterday so they could blow hard about Munster for 90 minutes

Have you been to the Munster hurling final in Thurles?  I have been to a few including that one where Nicky English kicked the ball past Ger Cunningham in 1987. Is a fantastic occassion and all it is cracked up to be. Heading down for the weekend and can't wait. Sunday Game just wetted my thirst for it... brillant.
Post by: Gnevin on July 11, 2009, 05:38:42 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 10, 2009, 08:56:08 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on July 06, 2009, 07:10:39 PM

Have you been to the Munster hurling final in Thurles?  I have been to a few including that one where Nicky English kicked the ball past Ger Cunningham in 1987. Is a fantastic occassion and all it is cracked up to be. Heading down for the weekend and can't wait. Sunday Game just wetted my thirst for it... brillant.

No never been but I've been to a few Leinster which where classic and I've watch some crap Munster finals on the tele. Munster isn't perfect but some times you'd think it was.  All the hype isn't justified .
Post by: orangeman on July 11, 2009, 06:14:34 PM
Tipp by 5 points.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on July 12, 2009, 04:35:45 PM
Would not like to be in the Waterford changing room at half time with Wee Davy Fitz!! :D
Tipp look good!
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 12, 2009, 04:46:16 PM
Who won the minor final?
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 12, 2009, 05:32:59 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 12, 2009, 04:46:16 PM
Who won the minor final?
Waterford
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 12, 2009, 05:37:28 PM
Poor enough final, high scoring but very error ridden.
Tipp feel asleep about 10 minutes before Waterford realised they could reel them in.
Some basic errors cost Waterford, especially in their full back line.
Post by: Gaffer on July 12, 2009, 05:38:28 PM
Tipp the winners !  Not  sure of score though.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 12, 2009, 05:38:49 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 12, 2009, 05:35:40 PM
Latest score? Missing 2nd half.
Final score:
Tipp 4-14
Waterford 2-16
Tipp lead by 9 or 10 for a lot of the game and Waterford tacked on a few consolation points.
Post by: INDIANA on July 12, 2009, 05:42:53 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on July 12, 2009, 05:37:28 PM
Poor enough final, high scoring but very error ridden.
Tipp feel asleep about 10 minutes before Waterford realised they could reel them in.
Some basic errors cost Waterford, especially in their full back line.

You have kilkenny out in front. I really think there is n't much between the next 5/6 teams.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 12, 2009, 05:47:50 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on July 12, 2009, 05:42:53 PM
You have kilkenny out in front. I really think there is n't much between the next 5/6 teams.
Tipp playing for the full 70 minutes would be the best hope of putting it up to Kilkenny.
That looks unlikely though!

Post by: EddieMerx on July 12, 2009, 05:49:36 PM
"without the player you have no GAA"

Seriously the ego's of county players need to be taken out of the game.
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 12, 2009, 05:53:46 PM
Quote from: EddieMerx on July 12, 2009, 05:49:36 PM

Yup, noticed that too.  Trying to make a point and doing it very badly.  Pathetic. 
Post by: the colonel on July 12, 2009, 05:58:10 PM
never saw any of the game, who said that
Post by: pintsofguinness on July 12, 2009, 05:59:31 PM
Quote from: the colonel on July 12, 2009, 05:58:10 PM
never saw any of the game, who said that

Tipp captain in his acceptance speech.
Post by: EddieMerx on July 12, 2009, 06:02:35 PM
I wouldn't mind but the standard being churned out by most county teams is very average compared to a few years ago. The GPA and the players can go to hell if you ask me.
Post by: INDIANA on July 12, 2009, 06:06:38 PM

Agree- Dessie would have approved.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 12, 2009, 06:11:25 PM
The more you give, the bigger the sense of entitlement!
In my experience at club level, players who take on roles in running teams are amazed at all the hard work that goes on the background.
Too many fellas are used to turning up before throw in and having all the pitches, equipment, gear laid on for them.

Post by: pintsofguinness on July 12, 2009, 06:13:22 PM
Well apart from anything else it wasnt the time or the place to try and justify greedy demands.  After bleating on about the munster championship and what it meant and then saying that he wanted tipp houses, shops etc decked out in flags he has the brass neck to say to assembled fans celebrating vicotry "without the players you have no GAA".

I would be disgusted if my county's captain said that under those circumstances. 

Have any of these GPA members got a brain cell?
Post by: orangeman on July 12, 2009, 09:28:12 PM

I like O'Mahony as a player but what a complete idiot. Usung his acceptance speech to come out with this dribble shows how these lads have really lost the run of themselves. If hadn't been playing today, somebody else would have done centre back. 

GPA have scored anoother own goal.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 12, 2009, 09:44:52 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 12, 2009, 09:28:12 PM

I like O'Mahony as a player but what a complete idiot. Usung his acceptance speech to come out with this dribble shows how these lads have really lost the run of themselves. If hadn't been playing today, somebody else would have done centre back. 

That's exactly the point these balloons are missing - there will be no shortage of boys, untainted by the GPA, queueing up to play in the county teams. There will always be players therefore there will always be the GAA.
Post by: orangeman on July 12, 2009, 09:47:28 PM
Was it Willie Ryan or Conor O'Mahony that came out with this own goal during the acceptance speech ?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 13, 2009, 09:49:02 AM
Quote from: orangeman on July 12, 2009, 09:47:28 PM
Was it Willie Ryan or Conor O'Mahony that came out with this own goal during the acceptance speech ?

It wasn't Conor O'Mahony. It was Willie Ryan. Ryan is the captain of Tipperary, but on the field when Ryan is not playing, it's Conor O'Mahony. I think you owe Conor an apology orangeman, although to be fair, that sounded like a rehearsed line, and was probably agreed beforehand with the entire panel.
Post by: awfulynice on July 13, 2009, 11:41:04 AM
I thought it was the flattest acceptance speech ive heard in a long long time...he was spluttering and stopping the whole way through, it sounded to me like he hadnt rehearsed his speech as he was all ove the place and just saying the first thing that came into his head, he started off completely wrong by congratulating his own team for the massive commitment they put in...no crowd wants to hear that first thing...so you trained hard for the last six months...am duh youre playing for an intercounty team thats expected!!!
Post by: Gnevin on July 13, 2009, 11:53:40 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 12, 2009, 09:44:52 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 12, 2009, 09:28:12 PM

That's exactly the point these balloons are missing - there will be no shortage of boys, untainted by the GPA, queueing up to play in the county teams. There will always be players therefore there will always be the GAA.

Yes and on the flip side of that people want to see the best of the best not some journey man. Cork proved that
Post by: AZOffaly on July 13, 2009, 12:03:24 PM
People want to see the best GNevin, but do you think that if every county team went out on strike, and if the GAA bit the bullet and played the 'D' or 'E' teams that after a year or two, people wouldn't come to the games anyway?

I support my county, and my county's teams, and my county's jersey. I'd support them if they were 15 fat lads like myself, as long as they were putting in the effort. Playing for your county is the best honour I can think of in sport, certainly for a young Irish lad, and the feeling you get representing yourself, your family, your club and your county is unreal. There are sacrifices for reaching that level, of course there are, but you'll only be there for a short while, so enjoy the fecking thing, and if you can't then walk away. You know what, someone else will pick up the jersey and wear it.

You don't own your county jersey, you are only minding it for the next man coming in.
Post by: orangeman on July 13, 2009, 12:25:17 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 13, 2009, 09:49:02 AM
Quote from: orangeman on July 12, 2009, 09:47:28 PM

It wasn't Conor O'Mahony. It was Willie Ryan. Ryan is the captain of Tipperary, but on the field when Ryan is not playing, it's Conor O'Mahony. I think you owe Conor an apology orangeman, although to be fair, that sounded like a rehearsed line, and was probably agreed beforehand with the entire panel.
[/b]

Apologies to Conor but there's no way this was sgreed with the whole panel beforehand. Not a chance. More like the GPA gave the instruction.
Post by: orangeman on July 13, 2009, 12:26:53 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 13, 2009, 12:03:24 PM
People want to see the best GNevin, but do you think that if every county team went out on strike, and if the GAA bit the bullet and played the 'D' or 'E' teams that after a year or two, people wouldn't come to the games anyway?

I support my county, and my county's teams, and my county's jersey. I'd support them if they were 15 fat lads like myself, as long as they were putting in the effort. Playing for your county is the best honour I can think of in sport, certainly for a young Irish lad, and the feeling you get representing yourself, your family, your club and your county is unreal. There are sacrifices for reaching that level, of course there are, but you'll only be there for a short while, so enjoy the fecking thing, and if you can't then walk away. You know what, someone else will pick up the jersey and wear it.

You don't own your county jersey, you are only minding it for the next man coming in.
[/b]

The GPA don't realise this yet but they will.
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 13, 2009, 02:07:56 PM
Am recovering from another Munster final and yip, it is all it is cracked up to be as an occasion. Obviously won't always be a great game. Was mighty craic about the town on Saturday night and a lot of boys from Antrim, Derry and Tyrone there. Liberty Square on the Sunday is something special as it the walk to the stadium of legends and the atmosphere at the ground. The first half was class excitment and skill but the goal for Tipp close to half time kind of killed the game when they went 9 up.
I thought Lar Corbett would have got man of the match tho Mullane is some man. Big Dan was an awful let down... this Waterford team is past it and should have won an Ireland alright. Anyway... mighty fare.
Post by: orangeman on July 13, 2009, 02:12:51 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 13, 2009, 02:07:56 PM
Am recovering from another Munster final and yip, it is all it is cracked up to be as an occasion. Obviously won't always be a great game. Was mighty craic about the town on Saturday night and a lot of boys from Antrim, Derry and Tyrone there. Liberty Square on the Sunday is something special as it the walk to the stadium of legends and the atmosphere at the ground. The first half was class excitment and skill but the goal for Tipp close to half time kind of killed the game when they went 9 up.
I thought Lar Corbett would have got man of the match tho Mullane is some man. Big Dan was an awful let down... this Waterford team is past it and should have won an Ireland alright. Anyway... mighty fare.

Justin realised that as well and look what he got.

Dan's brother came on yesterday. He'll need to put bulk up a bit to cope at the top. But he's young and will fill out.
Post by: longrunsthefox on July 13, 2009, 02:24:14 PM
I was wondering was that Dan's brother. He had a goal chance but had no confidence about him...
Post by: orangeman on July 13, 2009, 02:25:29 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on July 13, 2009, 02:24:14 PM
I was wondering was that Dan's brother. He had a goal chance but had no confidence about him...

I'm assuming he is. He's the spit of him even if he's about 5 stone lighter than him.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 13, 2009, 02:26:14 PM
Maurice is Dan the Man's brother. I don't know if we're allowed judge him though.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 13, 2009, 02:28:39 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 13, 2009, 12:03:24 PM

AZ, that's a wonderful piece there, I couldn't sum it up any better than that. I myself can't play any GAA or any sport for that matter, but I would love to think that if I could I would be proud to wear the county jersey of what ever county I was brought up in. (Mayo in my case)
Post by: deiseach on July 13, 2009, 02:50:58 PM
Mixed emotions after yesterday's game. I was quite pleased that they held their nerve when it looked like they were going to be slaughtered - Jimmy Doyle was present yesterday and he must wonder what has happened to the grand Tipperary tradition of giving teams a right kicking when they are down. But the final result flattered Waterford. We've rarely been stuffed over the last twelve years, the only big defeats being to Kilkenny last year (players froze on a new stage; no disgrace in that, I froze too!), Clare last year (manager had completely lost the players; plenty of disgrace in what followed but it isn't a regular occurence - I hope), Tipperary in 2006 (Tipp only pulled away at the end and were flattered, something we'd demonstrate later on in the year) and Clare in 1998 (another freakish game that can't be described as being part of any pattern). Once Tipp had built up a big lead Waterford never threatened and the tension among the Tipp fans as Waterford 'came back' was only a result of previous ambushes rather than anything that happened on the pitch. Only two of the starting forward six scored from play, the manner in which the backs coughed up soft goals is all too familiar and it's depressing how players who have never really cracked the big time (Jack Kennedy, Kevin Moran) are replaced by more of the same ol' same ol' (Dan Shanahan, Richie Foley). Maurice Shanahan should really have been given his head by now, which makes me think he isn't really up to it.

Still, Michael Walsh and John Mullane were nothing short of magnificent. Two players don't make a team, but they can carry an awful lot of dead weight. And the minors done us proud.
Post by: orangeman on July 13, 2009, 02:55:30 PM
I know that Mullane got MOM yesterday but for me the man who hurled the most yesterday was the Brick. I thought he was head and shoulders better than anybody on the pitch.
Post by: deiseach on July 13, 2009, 03:36:47 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 13, 2009, 02:55:30 PM
I know that Mullane got MOM yesterday but for me the man who hurled the most yesterday was the Brick. I thought he was head and shoulders better than anybody on the pitch.

Agreed. He was out of this world in the second half. The thought of Ken McGrath returning to the forwards where he belongs is a heartening one
Post by: AZOffaly on July 13, 2009, 03:37:29 PM
Was a toss up between them I'd say. I've said before I have great time for Mullane, and I thought his wry smile up to the Tipp fans when he hit a wide was great to see. It's nice to see lads enjoy themselves even in the big games. He went up in my estimation after 2004, and he's continued in that vein.
Post by: orangeman on July 13, 2009, 03:40:21 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 13, 2009, 03:37:29 PM
Was a toss up between them I'd say. I've said before I have great time for Mullane, and I thought his wry smile up to the Tipp fans when he hit a wide was great to see. It's nice to see lads enjoy themselves even in the big games. He went up in my estimation after 2004, and he's continued in that vein.

How long is Mc Grath out for ????

Mullane when he gets a good diagonal ball in, is nearly unmarkable at the minute. He's fearless. Got split yesterday but still wanted more.
Post by: deiseach on July 13, 2009, 03:54:36 PM
Ken is out until the (potential) semi-final (http://www.hoganstand.com/Waterford/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=114515).

QuoteMcGrath reveals injury heartbreak

08 July 2009

Ken McGrath admits it's "heartbreaking" to miss Waterford's Munster SHC final showdown with Tipperary due to his latest injury setback.

The 31-year-old Mount Sion colossus will miss the rest of Waterford's campaign unless they reach the All-Ireland semi-finals after undergoing knee surgery the day after the drawn Munster SHC semi-final against Limerick. And given his knee, hamstring and knee problems in the lead-up to that game, he now acknowledges that he shouldn't have played.

"I've had a lot of injuries coming up to championship time over the last few years and it's hard to take," he said.

"But you don't want to go out like that either. I put in a big effort this year and I wanted to give it a good lash. It's cruel and the last few weeks have been very hard.

"Tadhg O'Sullivan is after doing all the operations on my knees over the years. Hopefully, I'll be able to get it right some way and be able to offer something to the lads.

"I still love it and I still enjoy it. I'd love to give it a few more years, but at this stage I just don't know. I have had so many injuries at this stage, my heart is broken."

After three knee operations in the last two years, McGrath concedes that it will be a difficult road back.

"I still feel that I have something to offer Waterford, but at the minute I'm not able to give it. It's very frustrating - it's hard to take."

Post by: orangeman on July 13, 2009, 03:56:40 PM
Operation on his knee - I'd be amazed if he makes it back this year.
Post by: deiseach on July 13, 2009, 03:59:21 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 13, 2009, 03:56:40 PM
Operation on his knee - I'd be amazed if he makes it back this year.

Ach, don't wreck me buzz! ;)
Post by: Reillers on July 13, 2009, 09:06:31 PM
I never liked the man, not for a few years, especially after he gave us the finger in 03. But in fairness, lately to be honest, he's been amazing, he's carrying the Waterford team on his back, when everyone else choked last year in the AI final, when they all went and hid under a rock, he was the only one who stood up and played his heart out.
And he must be one of the most fouled players, and refs aren't too fast to give frees to him. He's a class act, he's been, by a clear mile, the best forward in the Championship so far.

When the Tipp fans were giving him stick and he just laughed away at it, used to it by now I suppose, but it was good to see almost. His point taking has improved immeasurably over the years, and his ability to take the from both sides has also improved hugely making him a much more rounded player. All Star nailed on already this year I'd say, unless something goes incredibly wrong, and a definite hurler of the year candidate so far as well.

Never liked John Mullane before but he's grown on me there in the past few years.
The man is a true symbol of GAA, his passion is unquestionable. Which was clear when Waterfored were getting destroyed in last years final. He always gives 110% and is such a skillful player, but totally underated. He gets a doing all right from most fans, Cork supporters included.
But while doing that there will be a respect there. He's rash moments all right that make him look like an idiot but, other then that, after all he's done for Waterford over the last few seasons, I wouldn't mind him getting player of the year this year, he deserves it for carrying Waterford for the past few years.
Very impressed by him this year. Doesn't get the credit he deserves.

..That said this new found respect and like for him will probably go out the window in a second if Cork end up getting past Galway and playing Waterford. I hated him for a few years there, but stepping back, and especially when you consider he's near the end of his career, you recognise the work he's done and the credit that he doesn't get.
Very impressed by him this year. Doesn't get the credit he deserves. His workrate is unreal. He gets a lot of abuse from everyone from any county which at this point in his career, I don't think he deserves anymore.
If Kilkenny win the AI again this year I'd be farely annoyed if they got the majority of AI and Mullane was robbed an All Star and HOTY, just for the sake of it and one/two good games from a KK player.
A great player and a true symbol of the GAA.
Post by: Bing Crosby . on July 13, 2009, 10:57:13 PM
I agree with you Relliers  . Mullane has been and continues to be an outstanding servant to Waterford for many years now .  The man is the embodiment of passion .

Yesterday  though with two or three minutes remaining on the clock with Waterford five points down he had the time and oppertunity to pass the ball to Dan who was in space more centrally on front of goal .  IMO  Dan would certainly have scored a goal had Mullane passed quickly to him . He didn't pass the ball and elected to take a point from a tight angle , which he scored . I thought it was selfish .  Split second decisions like that make or brake a team . 

All in all Tipp deserved their victory yet it must be said that Waterford had their chances and didn't take them .
Post by: imtommygunn on July 13, 2009, 11:27:59 PM
What age is Mullane?

He's a few years in him yet I'd say. I thought he was maybe not that much older than 26?

Great hurler. Looks like a very troubled person but he now channels everything where it should be. Controlled aggression.
Post by: Reillers on July 13, 2009, 11:32:04 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on July 13, 2009, 11:27:59 PM
What age is Mullane?

He's a few years in him yet I'd say. I thought he was maybe not that much older than 26?

Great hurler. Looks like a very troubled person but he now channels everything where it should be. Controlled aggression.

God knows, he's been around for so long. He's about 29/30 at this stage I'd say, he'd have to be. I think it was Diarmuid O Sullivan there who said in the paper that he's a sound lad, a complete gent.
Post by: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 12:16:19 AM
Quote from: Bing Crosby . on July 13, 2009, 10:57:13 PM
I agree with you Relliers  . Mullane has been and continues to be an outstanding servant to Waterford for many years now .  The man is the embodiment of passion .

Yesterday  though with two or three minutes remaining on the clock with Waterford five points down he had the time and oppertunity to pass the ball to Dan who was in space more centrally on front of goal .  IMO  Dan would certainly have scored a goal had Mullane passed quickly to him . He didn't pass the ball and elected to take a point from a tight angle , which he scored . I thought it was selfish .  Split second decisions like that make or brake a team . 

All in all Tipp deserved their victory yet it must be said that Waterford had their chances and didn't take them .

Mullane probably reckoned it was pointless giving it to Dan such is his indifferent form.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 14, 2009, 11:17:54 AM
Maybe he thought it was Maurice, and was afraid in case he decided to drive it up Maher's hole again.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 14, 2009, 11:26:00 AM

http://www.hurlingstats.com/show_player_matches.php?plrid=15 (http://www.hurlingstats.com/show_player_matches.php?plrid=15)
Post by: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 02:52:13 PM
Just watched the match again today. Waterfotd were very poor in the 1st half. Tipp's full back line were there for the taking but Waterford's forwards apart from Mullane were not up to the task. IMHO Waterford won't be doing anything of any significance this year.

Read an interesting piece by Molumphy in Sunday's Indo in which he said that getting rid of Justin was the best thing that happened Waterford hurling. He also said that Justin didn't keep in touch with any of the players after he left and that Justin would probably not speak to him if they met on the street.

Smart fella !!  ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on July 14, 2009, 02:56:50 PM
by the way, on the morning of the game Conor O'Mahony sent his mother over to my next door neighbours house with a Tipp training jersey for the 7 year old girl that lives there, signed by himself, Shane McGrath and a few others.

Nice gesture, and things that people don't hear about often. He probably has 100 training kits, but now the little girl has one from her heroes.
Post by: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 03:00:56 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 14, 2009, 02:56:50 PM
by the way, on the morning of the game Conor O'Mahony sent his mother over to my next door neighbours house with a Tipp training jersey for the 7 year old girl that lives there, signed by himself, Shane McGrath and a few others.

Nice gesture, and things that people don't hear about often. He probably has 100 training kits, but now the little girl has one from her heroes.

Very nice gesture. Fair dues to him.
Post by: deiseach on July 14, 2009, 04:28:13 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 02:52:13 PM
Read an interesting piece by Molumphy in Sunday's Indo in which he said that getting rid of Justin was the best thing that happened Waterford hurling. He also said that Justin didn't keep in touch with any of the players after he left and that Justin would probably not speak to him if they met on the street.

The first part may be true, although Molumphy was never likely to say "God, we screwed up badly getting shot of Justin!" The second part is ridiculous though. Why should he stay in touch with them after what happened? Be grateful that he has kept such a dignified silence.
Post by: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 04:31:22 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 14, 2009, 04:28:13 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 02:52:13 PM

The first part may be true, although Molumphy was never likely to say "God, we screwed up badly getting shot of Justin!" The second part is ridiculous though. Why should he stay in touch with them after what happened? Be grateful that he has kept such a dignified silence.
[/b]

That's what I would have thought.
Post by: Onlooker on July 14, 2009, 06:30:52 PM
Can anyone name and shame the All Star selectors (clowns) who picked Eoin Kelly (Waterford) on last year's All Star team ahead of John Mullane.  Do they know anything about the game?.
Post by: orangeman on July 14, 2009, 06:35:46 PM
Quote from: Onlooker on July 14, 2009, 06:30:52 PM
Can anyone name and shame the All Star selectors (clowns) who picked Eoin Kelly (Waterford) on last year's All Star team ahead of John Mullane.  Do they know anything about the game?.

Right enough - this man was the only Waterford man who stood up to KK last year- this year he has been well nigh unmarkable.

Hurler of the year so far.