GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Blacksheep on January 22, 2007, 04:47:19 PM

Title: Referees Course
Post by: Blacksheep on January 22, 2007, 04:47:19 PM
I've agree to do the referees course. Does anybody know whats involved? I have to attend a course 2 evenings and 2 full days. What happens at the end of the course? A test of some sort? Anybody any examples or past papers?
Title: Re: Referees Course
Post by: cavan4ever on January 22, 2007, 04:49:41 PM
It's hardly to hard to b worrying about past papers. 
Post by: SlimShady on January 22, 2007, 04:53:44 PM
Total borefest!! the 'fitness test' isnt much to worry about either me thinks!!
Post by: Lecale2 on January 22, 2007, 05:01:29 PM
Here a copy of the latest fitness test

Referees fitness test

Whistle blowing. Short sharp blasts and long whistles will both be tested. Additional points awarded for style during this test.

Finger pointing. 4 quick forward jabs of the right index finger. Followed by one 30 second extended up wards point.

Brandishing red and yellow cards. Any referee who cannot tell the difference between red and yellow will fail. Additional points awarded for style.

Fatness test. The referee will be tested wearing an extra large O'Neill's referee's jersey. Points are deducted for any signs of slack in the jersey.

Counting. Referees will be asked to mark a booklet every time the examiner shouts point and add up the total correctly at the end of the exercise. A margin of error of plus or minus 5 is acceptable.

Shaking belly from side to side while pretending to run. This test continues throughout the full 15 minutes of the test.

Eyesight test. This no longer forms part of the referee's fitness test.
Post by: Square Ball on January 22, 2007, 07:08:02 PM
Lecale

if there were 10 points for each assesment how many are needed to pass? how many did you get on the last assessment?

Post by: Carmen Stateside on January 22, 2007, 07:25:15 PM
If Sludden can pass it anyone can!! :P
Post by: Over the Bar on January 22, 2007, 08:48:47 PM
I think Fionntamnach is a ref?
Post by: Blacksheep on January 23, 2007, 07:48:57 AM
"Shaking belly from side to side while pretending to run."
I'm far to young to have a belly capable of this. Are there any special exercises you can do to get into the right shape? Typical GAA discriminating again younger people!
Post by: sureyouwill on January 23, 2007, 08:45:08 AM
Quote from: Blacksheep on January 23, 2007, 07:48:57 AM
"Shaking belly from side to side while pretending to run."
I'm far to young to have a belly capable of this. Are there any special exercises you can do to get into the right shape? Typical GAA discriminating again younger people!

Plenty of fish suppers, also prior to the start of any game ensure you sit in the car until both teams are fully lined out to avoid doing any unnecessary exercise.
Post by: AbbeySider on January 23, 2007, 09:22:32 AM
Quote from: Lecale2 on January 22, 2007, 05:01:29 PM

Thats the funnest thing ive read here for a while
LMAO!  ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 23, 2007, 10:44:29 AM
Slag all yez want. Most of you haven't the balls to even try to referee & the fitness tests would kill you. It's easy to sit on some website slagging people off, bit harder when you're out in the middle.
Post by: realredhandfan on January 23, 2007, 10:46:22 AM
the referee's a winker
Post by: SlimShady on January 23, 2007, 10:49:16 AM
''the fitness tests would kill you''

Bollocks!!!!
Post by: aontroim abu on January 23, 2007, 10:56:57 AM
how many of you actually know what is involved in the fitness test?
Post by: Sky Blue on January 23, 2007, 10:58:39 AM

Referees fitness test

Whistle blowing. Short sharp blasts and long whistles will both be tested. Additional points awarded for style during this test.

Finger pointing. 4 quick forward jabs of the right index finger. Followed by one 30 second extended up wards point.

Brandishing red and yellow cards. Any referee who cannot tell the difference between red and yellow will fail. Additional points awarded for style.

Fatness test. The referee will be tested wearing an extra large O'Neill's referee's jersey. Points are deducted for any signs of slack in the jersey.

Counting. Referees will be asked to mark a booklet every time the examiner shouts point and add up the total correctly at the end of the exercise. A margin of error of plus or minus 5 is acceptable.

Shaking belly from side to side while pretending to run. This test continues throughout the full 15 minutes of the test.

Brilliant!!  LOL ;D ;D ;D First laugh I've had on here for a while.
Post by: SlimShady on January 23, 2007, 11:09:33 AM
I've done the fitness test, its a piece of piss!
Post by: aontroim abu on January 23, 2007, 11:11:24 AM
You should try the national one- its far from easy
Post by: SlimShady on January 23, 2007, 11:14:50 AM
i done the Antrim one, the biggest pile of horse-shit ever. No wonder the majority of Refs are overweight and unfit to keep up with play.
Post by: aontroim abu on January 23, 2007, 11:18:02 AM
i agree with you- the Antrim/ club referee test is piss poor, the effort put in by some is shti. but national and ulster is totally different. the refs academy has done GPS on some games with some refs doing between 9 and 10k each game.
if only the rest would do the same. :-\
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 23, 2007, 11:20:24 AM
See you @ Woodlands or All Saints, Slim. 6 laps of the pitch for a warm-up & a big boke upon finishing.
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on January 23, 2007, 11:20:39 AM
To become a Referee you are required to participate in a Referees' Foundation Training Course and pass a Written Examination of the rules and a Physical Fitness Test (not the one posted by Lecale).

The basic fitness test involves a series of 10 14m sprints within a set number of seconds. 20m sprints and a 45m backward sprint. 200m sprint and finishes of with 2 1/2 mile run in 13 minutes. Not hard if you are a young fit fella in your 20s but tough enough for someone in their late 30s/40s as most refs are.

Rather than sitting behind a keyboard and taking the piss out of refs you should get off your arse and try refereeing! I've never done it myself but there's no way it's easy. These guys deserve our respect rather than being the but of jokes on this discussion board.

Post by: SlimShady on January 23, 2007, 11:22:52 AM
no, you wont be seeing me!!!

blacksheep, if the 'test' is anything like the one I sat it will involve 20 lads in a room copying eachothers answers and looking up the rulebook!

i shit you not!
Post by: aontroim abu on January 23, 2007, 11:28:04 AM
hey Slim 18th February in Ballymena - refs fitness test. put your money where your mouth is and come up and try it
Post by: SlimShady on January 23, 2007, 11:32:19 AM
I've done it before, I have the invite to it and the Ulster Club league is on so I wont be near it. If I was free i still wouldnt attend as it is a farce, some of the lads that go are in very VERY bad shape. But fair play to them, nobody else is willing to do it so we must respect that.

The last one I was at it was 4 laps of the pitch at yer own pace- on my 2nd lap i passed 2 blokes hanging over a fence boaking there ringer up.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 23, 2007, 11:50:32 AM
Slim - you've an unfair advantage.

All that trudging into the back of the net to pick out the ball after you've let in another 1 must keep you as fit as feck.

No wonder the referees' fitness test was a piece of piss for ya !!

Post by: aontroim abu on January 23, 2007, 11:53:34 AM
And his sprints to the edge of the box are one to behold
Post by: SlimShady on January 23, 2007, 12:05:01 PM
boom, boom, hilarious lads!!

now, i'm the first to admit I'm not the best trainer about but come on now- are you guys seriously trying to tell me that the Refs in Antrim are in good shape?! theres a bloke from Larne-must be a hurling ref who i was seriously concerned for after it. He had heart attack written all over him!!
Post by: Derry Daisy on January 23, 2007, 12:07:38 PM
A lot of the Derry refs refused to do the fitness test a couple of years back, not sure what way things are now but these so called referees still got c'ship matches.
Post by: aontroim abu on January 23, 2007, 12:10:15 PM
slim this is a problem throughout the country, not just for Antrim GAA. most refs are either past players or are just not up to the rigours of playing, but as you correctly said "But fair play to them, nobody else is willing to do it so we must respect that."
if people arent happy then they should step up to the mark and take over, its easy to criticise them , harder to get people to tkae over

Post by: SlimShady on January 23, 2007, 12:13:33 PM
the county don't treat the Refs as well as they should either. They should be bending over backwards for them, give them wet gear, give them passes to Championship games, whatever- give them some reward for trudging all over the county to listen to some whiney oul **** who has f**k all else to do with his evenings than hang over a fence telling you yer no use ( i get enough of that while playing!!!).

you wont catch me reffing any time soon!
Post by: SlimShady on January 23, 2007, 12:15:47 PM
Quote from: Derry Daisy on January 23, 2007, 12:07:38 PM
A lot of the Derry refs refused to do the fitness test a couple of years back, not sure what way things are now but these so called referees still got c'ship matches.

do you really think come Championship time when selecting a Ref the board are going to say, no, we cant give him that game- he wasnt at the fitness test!?? and give it to a less experienced ref? no, not a chance.
Post by: aontroim abu on January 23, 2007, 12:18:35 PM
HEAR HEAR!!
This would be one way to improve the standard as you might invite a some new blood in.  ;D

Post by: Derry Daisy on January 23, 2007, 12:21:53 PM
Why have a fitness test in the first place then? When in derry's case it doesn't really matter if he can run out of your road or not he'll still get doing a match!!

Derry refs get free entry into all league and c'ship matches, does this not happen everywhere?
Post by: aontroim abu on January 23, 2007, 12:25:46 PM
supposed to happen in Antrim last year for the first time ever - but never materialised
Post by: SlimShady on January 23, 2007, 12:26:57 PM
No, it doesnt happen everywhere. Not Antrim anyhow as the guy doing the gate thinks everyone is taking the piss out of him!

i'm not saying there shouldn't be a fitness test but if there is one then it should be mandatory that everyone takes it or get them out to feck, of course there is always this rule about ''oh they mean it this year, if you dont do it you wont get games'' which always turns out to be bollocks. It would all be solved if more people were interested in becoming referees and the current initiative of 'young whistlers' is a great invention!
Post by: Derry Daisy on January 23, 2007, 12:29:38 PM
I think you's should get Mickey Convery into Antrim to sort you's out, he seems to have done well with the derry referees last year, only downfall for him he's a bellaghy man  :-\
Post by: SlimShady on January 23, 2007, 12:32:00 PM
lame attempt at a dig at Max there Daisy!

Derry also have this young whistlers course on the go, following in our footsteps.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 23, 2007, 12:37:24 PM
There's supposed to be a fitness coach going to the Antrim Referees' meeting in Ballymena on Feb 18th to tell you what stage your fitness should be at this time of year & laying out a training programme.

It'll be like the Ibrox fecking disaster as all the refs try to get out the door before he starts his talk.
Post by: Bacon on January 23, 2007, 01:42:49 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on January 23, 2007, 10:44:29 AM
Slag all yez want. Most of you haven't the balls to even try to referee & the fitness tests would kill you. It's easy to sit on some website slagging people off, bit harder when you're out in the middle.
Bit of a sense of humour bye-pass there playwiththewind!  Lecale's fitness test was one of the funniest posts I've read in a while. All the funnier when you know who he is!!  ;)
Post by: Rois on January 23, 2007, 01:46:11 PM
Quote from: SlimShady on January 23, 2007, 12:32:00 PM

Derry also have this young whistlers course on the go, following in our footsteps.

When did you start the young referees course?
Post by: Guillem2 on January 23, 2007, 04:30:09 PM

Referees fitness test

There's a fair few refs in Antrim wouldn't even pass this fitness test!!  :D :D
Post by: aontroim abu on January 23, 2007, 04:31:25 PM
now now, or else we'll have to start on the Down refs
Post by: Blacksheep on January 23, 2007, 09:03:25 PM
Is this real!! Could I turn up with no knowledge of the rules, 20 st over-weight and still pass. I could then get a senior championship match 8 weeks later. Surely not!!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 23, 2007, 09:24:09 PM
I have done the foundation level course.

The written test - you are required to get 90 or 95% in order to pass it. As regards the fitness test - I have the guidebook at home and i'll hoke it out and tell you the requirements for the 3 levels of refereeing
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 24, 2007, 03:33:29 AM
Club Level Referee

1. 2,300m run - minimum time - 12 mins

2. 45m sprint - minimum time - 7.5 secs

3. 200m sprint - minimum time - 37 secs

4. 20m backwards sprint - mimimum time - 7.5 secs

5. 4 x 13m shuttle run - minimum time - 14 secs

Provincial / National  Level Referee

1. 3,200m run - minimum time - 15 mins 30 secs

2. 45m sprint - minimum time - 7.5 secs

3. 200m sprint - minimum time - 35 secs

4. 20m backwards sprint - mimimum time - 7.5 secs

5. Bleep Test - Level 8
Post by: Blacksheep on January 24, 2007, 08:45:42 AM
That looks tough enough Gabriel! BTW whats a bleep test level 8?
Post by: aontroim abu on January 24, 2007, 09:04:54 AM
gabriel, the bleep test has been dropped. in fact as of this year there are new standards to be met, with elite refs having to do the 3200m in 14 minutes
Post by: Guillem2 on January 24, 2007, 09:37:45 AM
What's that in miles? Over 2 miles? In 14 minutes? That's good going for someone in their 40s.
Post by: SlimShady on January 24, 2007, 09:41:07 AM
yes but thats for an Elite ref. not your average Antrim Division 6 Football!
Post by: aontroim abu on January 24, 2007, 10:39:45 AM
guillem it is 2 miles - approx 8 laps of a football pitch. for provincial refs it is 15 min 30secs, which is still good going.

slim any chance of you getting off the soapbox and quitting your whinging. As YOU have already said they have to be respected for at least putting their head on the chopping block - something YOO have also said you would never do
Post by: SlimShady on January 24, 2007, 10:42:25 AM
I'm pointing out that Antrim Club Refs dont have to do 2 miles in 14 mins.

Something I said I would never do AGAIN

Dickhead.
Post by: aontroim abu on January 24, 2007, 10:52:21 AM
oh dear that hurt :o
Post by: SlimShady on January 24, 2007, 10:55:21 AM
by your reckoning then you should be appreciating and respecting me so.

we'll start with an apology shall we?  :)
Post by: aontroim abu on January 24, 2007, 11:00:46 AM
Now slim, lets back that trailer up a wee bit. for a start ive never yet heard the "s" word used in gaa circles. And of course i do respect you for refereeing IN THE PAST, but i would respect you more if you were out doing it now!
lets just leave it at that eh?
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 24, 2007, 11:03:42 AM
Never mind the refs, exactly how much training would an average Division 6 footballer do?

Post by: SlimShady on January 24, 2007, 11:04:29 AM
meh, that will do, apology accepted!  :)

its almost impossible to try and play and Ref at the same time which is why I dont. Add the fact that a certain Refs Secretary seemed to know only my address when posting out reports and it doesnt leave much time for anything else.

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 24, 2007, 01:27:35 PM
Quotegabriel, the bleep test has been dropped. in fact as of this year there are new standards to be met, with elite refs having to do the 3200m in 14 minutes

Ah right sorry - I was going by the 2004 guidelines

Post by: Guillem2 on January 24, 2007, 01:57:34 PM
What ta feck is a Bleep test? In Blacksheep's case could he do a bleet test?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 24, 2007, 02:02:04 PM
The Bleep test is a right fecker

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bleep_test
Post by: Blacksheep on January 24, 2007, 09:02:07 PM
That's rougfh!