Horslips will play Dublin's O2 on Dec 5 2009 with a gig in Belfast's Odyssey on Dec 3 2009 in their first 'open' gigs since September 12 1980.
Great news for a few auld fellas that inhabit this board (like myself).
The foundation stone of modern Irish music whose self management template was taken by Paul McGuinness and tweaked to make U2 what they are etc...
See you all there. Tickets on sale this day week (9 July 2009)
(http://www.horslips.ie/p11.jpg)
good stuff, that's me da's christmas present sorted out then, and might even see if i can get one for myself!!
What about your Grandad? :)
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 01, 2009, 10:11:37 AM
The foundation stone of modern Irish music whose self management template was taken by Paul McGuinness and tweaked to make U2 what they are etc...
Are you not getting carried away?
Surely that should read : One of the foundation stones.
Modern Irish Music is not a popularity contest and a lot wider than the space occupied by U2.
You could even argue that Horslips have had a greater influence on modern Irish music than U2.
Anyway I saw their stint on TG4 a few moons ago and thought they sounded better than ever. Maybe one or two voices have aged, but overall sounded brilliant.
Borderland Muff?
I was a bit tongue in cheek there really a bit Main Street (hence the etc)
I agree with what you say. I was at that 'gig' on Ardan in RTE that night and John Fean had a wicked dose on him hence the ropey voice in parts.
Borderlands in Muff was known locally as Murderlands cos of the many fights before, during and after gigs there in the 70s.
I have the Ardan gig recorded, which auld fella in the audience are you? :)
Ara - I can be spotted briefly in parts.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WtZzHzDCSjk
I can be seen briefly at 6.40 on the right wearing a brown jacket going mintil.
Sounds great but it is not mentioned in the O2 Dublin website.
I'll try ticketmaster.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 01, 2009, 03:01:45 PM
Ara - I can be spotted briefly in parts.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WtZzHzDCSjk
I can be seen briefly at 6.40 on the right wearing a brown jacket going mintil.
Judging by the spring still left in your step, you were in short trousers, a mere slip of a lad, when Horslips released their first album.
There are a load of Horslip songs on that You Tube page, lots I have not seen, like the Dingle concert.
Aye - all posted by me, longfordman (quelle suprise).
Dingle was a mightly night - got to the scratcher at 4.30 after the sessions of all sessions in Benners after the recordings ended.
I was 13 in 1980 when they finished so I never saw them live that time. But I have made up for it since.
There will be no 'formal' announcement until next week. This thing hit the wires by mistake too early.
God this is great news all together. Its been a long time coming but hopefully it'll be worth the wait
Had a chance one night to go see Horlips but decided for some unknown reason to go see a band called Tweed that were big back then. I have regreted it ever since. I had an album of theirs where the cover was 5 sided,I think it was their first album, it might still be in the house back in Mayo for all I know, it would be great to see them live. I saw the Alligators which were a spring off from Horslips but they were more of a rock band not the same type of celtic rock that Horslips played.
Actually Tubridy on Radio 1 this morn at 9 will have some of the band in explaining the comeback after 30 odd years.
Quote from: FL/MAYO on July 02, 2009, 02:53:55 AM
Had a chance one night to go see Horlips but decided for some unknown reason to go see a band called Tweed that were big back then. I have regreted it ever since. I had an album of theirs where the cover was 5 sided,I think it was their first album, it might still be in the house back in Mayo for all I know, it would be great to see them live. I saw the Alligators which were a spring off from Horslips but they were more of a rock band not the same type of celtic rock that Horslips played.
The Alligators were great!
Fantastic news about Horslips. Only ever saw Eamon's spin-off group which I can't even remember the name of now so it would be fantastic to see them live.
Zen Alligators
then
Host
Zen Alligators - the very group
They were powerful too
you can fool them alright but can you fool the beast...
There's a man that knows his Táin!
*bump*
Just to let ye know tickets are now on sale (well, at 9 am this morning, that is)
(http://www.johnnyfean.com/lipsgigs09_sferris.jpg)
So gig promotion is permitted again on the board...fair enough.
The soundtrack to my childhood, whenever listen to themselves Planxty, The Boss, the Chieftans, Sweeneys Men and Elvis Costelloe I get transported back to the early to mid 80's to the days of 3p refresher sweets and chocolate mice. Would be a good line up for a gig if you got the above bands to perform. Maybe if I get as famous as Jacko they will perform at my memorial ceremony when I kick it.
I'd say me da would be very happy with tickets to this.
Have to say Silver spear is my favourite track
Got my ticets --full of excitment and emotion...
...Mad Paddy's gone back on the road
A wire string fiddle is his only load,
He's kicking up turf everywhere he goes
And he's on his own.
From the houses all the people they stare
At his Horslips and his emerald green hair
You know he keeps on moving
he just doesn't care
I thought it was 'apple green hair'. :)
The fox is correct Billy.
I have 2 ticeadi for you and (I assume) Mrs Boots
Good man SS, fair play. Mrs Boots is going alright.
What sort of a crowd do you think it will attract, I'm talking ages here. Will it be full of old men who suffer from LSD flashbacks or will there be much of a younger 'new' crowd at it. The O2 holds something like 12,000 doesn't it?? Did that many men in their teens/20's make it out of the 70's in good health?
Quote from: lob her in lad on July 09, 2009, 02:14:56 PM
What sort of a crowd do you think it will attract, I'm talking ages here. Will it be full of old men who suffer from LSD flashbacks or will there be much of a younger 'new' crowd at it. The O2 holds something like 12,000 doesn't it?? Did that many men in their teens/20's make it out of the 70's in good health?
I would imagine that it will br predominently 40 to 50 year olds coming with their sons and daughters.
I would say paying them back for having to bring them to Westlife/Boyzone concerts when they were younger. But paying them back is the wrong word. Showing them that the olds still know how to boogie.
Ran into the fox this afternoon. Kept waving his Horslip tickets in my face. >:(
The profile I know that will be there will range from 19 to late 60s. It will be right across the board.
I do expect the fir to be in the majority.
Sadly John Fean won't be able to light up on stage as one of the characteristics of their gigs in the 70s (I am told) was Fean's cigarette smouldering between the strings and the top of the fret board.
There was a good story of the Passion play in Falcarragh in Donegal when the band found some of the props in the same hall and used them in the set.........
Quote from: ziggysego on July 09, 2009, 04:02:55 PM
Ran into the fox this afternoon. Kept waving his Horslip tickets in my face. >:(
Horlip-s Ziggy. was that you eating a big sandwich and going on about playing senior football next year and Sean Teague the legend of.. Saw a piece in the Ulster Herad about Greencastle ... youse are full of yourselves :o
Anyway back to Horslips... can the best of all this furniture really not be rearranged ? 8)
Fox
Only when there's too much rain for drive-in movies
Shamrock Shore-any more of that and 'you better run-run-run..from DEARG DOOM!!..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y5G8AJf4Xzw (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y5G8AJf4Xzw)
We had a Horslips party in Rathmines last Sat night to 'celebrate' the 30th anniversary of their last studio album (phase one) called 'Short Stories Tall Tales'. We got all of the original 5 plus one Paddy Goodwin up on stage to do Trouble and Dearg Doom.
http://www.youtube.com/user/DaraghOwens#play/all/uploads-all/1/xDnJJ1F_Jrg
Roll on the O2 - I'll be in Belfast and Dublin. I'd go to Mars to see them as I missed the boat first time around (too young).
Send me a pm if any one of ye boys are heading and we could have a pint or two.
Enjoy yourselves and mind those zimmer frames.
It will be the band that will be exposed to zimmer frame issues being fecked onto the stage as soon as the 'tit-tit-ta-ta-tit-tit-ta-ta' high hats signal the start of 'Dearg Doom'.
However most old time fans were teenagers in the 70s - so on average, the absolute average eldest Horslips fan would be now mid 50s. Not really zimmer frame stuff.
Looks like we're building up the frenzy nicely for December. Anyone else (other than SS, fox and myself) going?
Is there the makings of a Gadderin??
Heading to this in December too (O2), and won't even have to dust off the false moustache to get a drink this time ;)
coming back from england for the Odyssey gig
I do believe Hardyarse the Fiddler is heading to the Dublin gig.
Only tickets available for Belfast on Ticketmaster are in West Upper Tier & I don't remember ever paying £83 for a pair of pretty crap tickets to go & see Horslips back in the good old days !
Heading to the Belfast gig. From the Butt to Belfast its been some journey with a bit of luck I'll make Dublin as well.
Hardstation.
No - that ad was a bad mistake in some ways. Made Sinnott leave (there ya go) and also was dubbed by some English posh boy singing. But then the cash was handy and bought some vital stuff to make their successful first album, 'Happy to meet, sorry to part'.
I know a fellow, who worked for a client, who was in the crowd for the shoot.
Then we had SammyG in on the cover of The Belfast Gigs!
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 24, 2009, 12:15:33 AM
Then we had SammyG in on the cover of The Belfast Gigs!
Who? where?
(http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/416JT3KGZ5L._SL500_AA240_.jpg)
(http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41faLXb%2BT5L._SL160_.jpg)
SammyG's studded wrist band is visible (or so he claimed a long time ago) if you look closely at the crowd in the front.
Is dissapointing The Pogues are playing in Belfast the night before. Has become an annual outing for the Fox. Don't know if the sap is still there for two gigs in two nights. Will have to be the Horslips... (Jes! I hate that word 'gig'! :-\ )
I've two tickets for the O2 in Dublin for the Saturday 5th show, but something has come up and I won't be able to make it (self-inflicted feck-up :(), but I'd happily swap for 2 tickets in the Odyssey on the 3rd, if anyone's interested (PM me)?
No need for a swap, if anyone wants two tickets for the O2 on Saturday 5th December at face value (no booking fee @ €54.50 each) let me know.
Some footage of the recent promo trip to Belfast:
http://www.culturenorthernireland.org/article.aspx?art_id=2782 (http://www.culturenorthernireland.org/article.aspx?art_id=2782)
Anyone want to offload 2 tix for the belfast gig?
Are there none left with TicketBastard??????
shamrock Shore or any of the rest of you guys heard any word on who the special guests will be at this gig. Can't wait!!
QuoteAre there none left with TicketBastard???[/quote
I'm sure there are but might as well help someone out who needs rid instead of lining ticketmasters pockets.
Something Happens in Dublin.
Paisley shirts galore.
I assume they will do Belfast as well. But I dunno.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 08, 2009, 11:39:11 PM
Something Happens in Dublin.
Paisley shirts galore.
I assume they will do Belfast as well. But I dunno.
Magic, the Happens were great in their day. Sounds like it'll be a a great night out, Mrs Boots will be in her element.
Saw Something Happens in the Stadium in 1989 or thereabouts. Fantastic bunch of lads. Some great songs. Apart from Parachute. I hate that one. But Hello Hello Hello is great (they ripped it off The Petrol Emotion but fessed up. Those miserable cnuts in U2 ripped IT off for Vertigo but did THEY own up. Fuckin sure they didn't)
Cnuts
The Happens were great live; early on they used to do covers as encores - had a mighty version of 'White Wedding' (Billy Idol) - knocked the bollix out of the original anyway. My favourite of theirs was 'Here Comes the Only One Again'.
Wouldn't be that pushed on nthe Horslips, but would be interested in seeing Something Happens. The EP I know Ray Harmon (?) is a personal favourite and its a gig (sorry Fox) I'd love to have been at.
Favoutite cover would be Borderline. Brings back happy memores, bombing up to Belfast in my Fiat 127, passing Beemers with Borderline and Worker's Playtime by Billy Bragg at top volume to be heard over the noise of the engine. Heaven.
Sharon Corr is doing support in Belfast!
I dunno whether to laugh or cry.
Keep Jim away FFS!
Horslips back on the circuit after 29 years is not a conspiracy you mad hoor.
What will she be doing SS? Juggling on a unicycle I hope.
Roll on da Horslips!
I believe she can be quite intimate with a tinwhislte.
I'm too old for this :'( wrist wrecked :'(
See ye in Belfast.
Dream come true
Good man, see you there ;) :D
I feel sorry for Sharon she will play a few souped up jigs on the tinwhistle and then all hell will break loose as Horslips let rip! It is a very long time from i have looked forward toa Gig as much as this. It will also be great for any Corrs fans who turn up to see what it was all about.
Did any of ye hear Barry Devlins interview on downtown yesterday? Very very good!
Is there a podcast/stream?
Im not sure shamrock, was listening to it live in the car and not familiar with their website
Hanging out for the Dublin gig myself. Shaping up like a real oul reunion from the teenage days when they were the ones taking live music outside the Pale. Think I'll keep a more respectable distance from the mosh pit mind. That comment about Jim Corr, priceless
Horslips on The Late Late Show this Friday.
In a Fearon-esque manner I managed to get a ticket for the audience!
Is there to be a Belfast Gig meet prior to the main event?
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 17, 2009, 10:38:39 AM
Horslips on The Late Late Show this Friday.
In a Fearon-esque manner I managed to get a ticket for the audience!
Regarding Tony, is he on Holidays?
Now on the Late, Late!
Took them a few bars to get into it, but by jeez I was lepping by the end of it! :D
I missed most of it due my attention being diverted by the Keano rant thread.
Another of life's joyful experiences stolen away from me by Roy.
Quote from: Main Street on November 20, 2009, 10:31:22 PM
I missed most of it due my attention being diverted by the Keano rant thread.
Another of life's joyful experiences stolen away from me by Roy.
I'm sure some kind soul is uploading it to You Tube as we speak going by how quickly the Pat Kenny rant appeared.
Shamrock Shore is probably doing just that,
riding on the Horslips wave.
At the end during the interview you could hear the shout "horslips horslips" that longford drawl was very apparent, definitely shamrock and most likely billy
Hmmm, not quite as electrifying as my memories of the Farmers Ballroom or Neuramore. Is Barry Devlin morphing into Dickie Rock?? No doubt a few looseners before and during the Point Gig will make things seem different
Aye I was a bit worried too. Not much dog in that performance, a lilty Dearg Doom but I think they will lift the roof in a few weeks time.
Music was pre-recorded cos RTE turn live music to shite. Vocals were live.
The 'squad' were top of the right and I honestly am weak with the laughter. We had a ball. I was beside the rowdiest one (he was the one Tubridy say was on day release when he was talking to the American wan) and I was in tears for most of the show as were the rest.
One of the serious members saw the harps, drums, lovely girls, etc being wheeled on during the Mick Wallace (WTF) interview.
"Ah f**k", he said, perhaps too loudly. "I betcha it's dem f**king priests". Two women in front turned immediately and tore strips off him cos one was a sister of two of them and the other was a sister of the other (if you know what I mean).
Boys how we laughed.
He was hiding in the Green room after. Every corner he turned there was either a priest or a sister of a priest!
Hoors closed the free bar at 12.30.
Brilliant stuff and we have a weekend away.
anyone looking to shift 2 tickets for the belfst show
Nothing on ticketbastard??
Can't imagine Belfast sold out (although it would be great)
With the unrelenting tales of doom, gloom, human depravity and consequent unimaginable human suffering, I'm counting the days now till Thursday next. Selfish perhaps (though not forgetting), escapist definitely! Roll on da Horslips!
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on November 27, 2009, 09:57:41 PM
With the unrelenting tales of doom, gloom, human depravity and consequent unimaginable human suffering, I'm counting the days now till Thursday next. Selfish perhaps (though not forgetting), escapist definitely! Roll on da Horslips!
...and you called me an aul wan :P You're first Horslips gig? See you there... we can fight for old times sake. Used to be some scraps at their concerts. Letterkenny '78 unreal. Before your time Buachaill on Srath Ban ;)
I'm probably cutting the arse off yourself fox, though I did have to paint on a moustache to get a jar ;)
See ya there, always hated you south/east tyronnies.
...I'm a boy who was born blind to pain
And, like a hawk, I'll swoop and swoop again.
I am the flash of Hawkeye in the sun.
When you see me coming you had better
Run, run, run...
Jees! man I can't wait...
Been at two practice gigs in Drogheda the last two nights.
What a show we have in store.
2.5 hour set with all the classics. It would be easier to name the songs they didn't play. First night Barry Devlin was very nervous but last night (his 63rd birthday) he was in full flow.
Standout moments??? Too many tbh. But if I had electrodes on either testicle I'd fess up and say 'Charolais' and 'Sword of Light' but 'I'll be wiating' and 'Furniture' were class as well.
Roll on The Belfast Gig (and Dublin gig)
I was at that practice gig last night as well. It was fantastic, they sound as good now as they did 30 years ago and boy did they put on a great show. That stuff on the Late Late Show was stoic compared when compared with last night. If anyone had reservations about going, don't have, these will be some gigs. Johnny Fean's brother on drums gives a great dimension because with his goatee and long hair he looks like a retro member of the group, and boy can he drum. My only disappointment is that I can only get to the Odyssey gig as I'm out of the country at the weekend otherwise I'd have gone to the 02 as well.
Good man Dougal! Great to see you there. Shame the Armagh supper was on keeping other Maguires away.
Hope the lovely Mrs Maguire enjoyed it as well!
Shamrock and Dougal youse move in high places you buggers. I was luck to see a few of the band in Drogeda a few years back and I felt so privilaged. But you guys get to see the build up to this great event.
I'm like a wain waiting for thursday in Belfast.
Bring it on!!!!!!
Yeah, I was dead lucky to be there. It was a fantastic gig and I can assure you that if the Odyssey gig is half as good it'll be a belter
Sandino
Myself and Dougal have been regulars on the Horslips guestbook since the site was launched in 1999.
Therefore we have met the band members, shared emails, sent texts etc in that time. It's like a large family at this stage (without the rows). Horslips were and are the best bunch of lads ever. Back in the 70s they were famous for running lads home from some awful shitehole in Donegal/Sligo/Leitrim/Longford in the jeep if they felt they needed a lift.
They were the equivalent in the 70s (to quote George Byrne) to the "rural electrification scheme" in the 30s/40s.
Also the fact that Donal Lunny dissed them is good enough for me!
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 28, 2009, 11:48:09 PM
Back in the 70s they were famous for running lads home from some wful shitehole in Donegal/Sligo/Leitrim/Longford in the jeep if they felt they needed a lift.
Fcuk off SS, there was many a night I thumbed back from the Butt Hall in Ballybofey to Strabane, and the bsatards never once offered to run me home! :D
Not that I ever complained ;)
Fear ón Strath Bán
Were you chasing some young wan and a lift may have cramped your style?
Fecked if I can remember now Shamrock Shore, just remember the great music in the Butt itself!
See you on Thursday, and will attempt to be that thumbing eejit again, stop me please ;)
Dougal that site was one of the first places I visited when I first got the internet. I have to be honest and say that it was the closeknit aspect of the site that stopped me posting, looked like a closed shop. Says more about me thsn the site though,LOL. I was a
lurker here for years also before I posted.
I got to meet the lads over the last few years and they are indeed great blokes. I think this gig will be great for those young people who thought that the Corrs and More Power to your Elbow were good Celtic Rock bands. Over the next few nights they will here and feel a great Celtic Rock Band.
The first few riffs will be magical.
Yeah,I suppose like all sites, this one included, there is a sort of inner circle of posters that have been there for years and there can be a sort of 'closed shop' feel to things. But as in all cases its just a matter of sticking with it. I've got to know a lot of the posters over the years through the site and through going to Johnny Fean gigs and they're all great people, some mad as hatters and a few even madder than that!! Old Shamrock will always keep you right. Unlike me he's too young to have seen Horslips first time round but as I told him on Friday night - 'I believe because I had seen, blessed are those who have never seen and still believe.'
Tony
Between the two shows most of the auld fellas on here are going:
Me (Dublin and Belfast)
Hardy (Dublin)
Dougal (belfast)
Billys Boots (Dublin)
Longrunsthe fox (Belfast)
Fear on Strath Ban (Belfast)
Sandino (Dublin and Belfast)
Post if you are going and I will edit this post.
Dublin also, ;)
We could PM each other and meet up so there'd be no GAA poster groupies, and we could kick f** out of each other like the 70s. I'm up for it!! 8)
Bejasus if theres any of those Ballyshannon of Letterkenny boys going I'll stayin' at home. I;m a lover not a fighter,LOL. Just realised I'm not a fighter, lover or dancer.
Horslips Guestbook lads seem to be off to McHughs bar after the gig where Mid Tyrone FM's Francie Quinn is doing mein host (apologies if I have the name of the radio station wrong).
Francie will be taking time off from announcing where the peelers are dipping for red diesel to regale all and sundry on life behind the mike.
I'm overnighting in The Hilton. I don't expect to see too much of the room to be honest.
Just spent the last hour listening and watching Horslips videos on YouTube, what can i say but excellent. I really cant believe its took me this long to sit down and really listen to them.
Shamrock Shore, you're well named, that song is beautiful. Wish i could go on thursday, would be a great experience!
BTW, is the new best of called Treasury? i'm thinking of buying either it or all the back issues. What would you's recommend?
Gutted I wont get to see the famous hoslips now they are back in action. Having been raised on a diet of their albums by the old man (whos band used to play relief for them when they played the Royal Arms hotel in omagh), and stories of the wooden floors in dancehalls in bundoran literally bouncing people around due to the crowds, I think it would be a tremendous gig.
The auld fella still maintains they were the best irish band never to come out of ireland.
In no particular order
Sword of light
Trouble with a capital T
Ferdias lement
Fool the beast
The man who built america
Furniture
Now where'd I put that ipod.....
Enjoy yourselves fellas - its times like this I wish I lived at home.
Omagh Gael
Treasury is the latest 'Best Of' but if I were you I'd buy The Táin first. Put on headphones or turn stereo up to 11 and sit back and listen to (in my opinion) the finest piece of work ever produced by an Irish band.
Then go for Book of Invasions followed by Aliens and Man who Built America.
Once the adrenelin levels have returned to normal check out 'Happy to Meet, Sorry to Part' where it all started.
On Christmas Day when you are cleaning out the turkey put on 'Drive the Cold Winter Away'. There are some gorgeous trad tunes on that wiith a very Christmassy feel.
There are other albums like Dancehall Sweethearts and Unfortunate Cup of Tea but see how you go with the above before hitting these lads!
QuoteBut if I had electrodes on either testicle I'd fess up and say 'Charolais' and 'Sword of Light' but 'I'll be wiating' and 'Furniture' were class as well.
I'm looking forward to 'I'll be Waiting' - an old favourite. And 'Aliens' is probably my favourite of their albums - a kind of tribute to the diaspora, I suppose. Do they play 'Ghosts' live in the set?
Cheers Shamrock that's my music sorted out for the next four weeks anyway :)
Billy
'Ghosts' is on the set-list and is dedicated to all the Horslips family that have passed on like former chief roadie Paul Verner and many many others.
Small feature on Morning Ireland this morning on the comeback.
I wonder if there'll be a live DVD or album release?
If it was in their hay day, It would be off to O'Connell Bridge to look and see if the concert tape was available yet.
I think the Dublin concert got the better of the support acts. Paisley shirts would also be respectful attire of the Horslips as well.
Enjoy and now you can experience again how the five year old child feels on Christmas eve.
Denn
I am sure there will be a live DVD to be had once the gigs are over.
Rumours are that they have been asked to play Electric Picnic next year. I fear that may be a bridge too much for me. I gave up standing in fields with muck up to my arse a long time ago,
Would imagine that the Electric Picnic would be a good gig. I like the vibe about the picnic. Maybe some of our youinger posters can give a critique.
Question, what album is the song with the lines "turn your face to the wall, pretend that theres nobody watching you" on? Liked that album.
Enjoy the gig and its only a short dander back into town so drink resposibly.
Denn
The comes from the song 'Turn your face to the wall' from 'The Unfortunate Cup of Tea' circa 1975.
When De Valera died in Aug 75 RTE, in their wisdom, announced the death and then played, from 'The Unfortunate Cup of Tea' a track called 'The Snakes' farewell the the Emerald Isle'
Sense of humour or coincidence?
'Turn your face to the wall' as a 15 year old I was traunatised by this track. I asked Barry one night what was the song about, he just laughed.
QuoteLiked that album.
I guess that's my fault - I played that a lot in the car in the mid-90s. I always liked that album myself - thought it got an undeserved bum-rap from the critics. There's a really funky instrumental on it (its name escapes me) and 'Everything will be alright' and 'If that's what you want' too.
Horslips will be signing copies of their new Greatest Hits album at HMV Belfast Donegall Arcade on Wednesday 2nd December @ 5pm.
So if any of ye boys want a chat make sure ye head along.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 30, 2009, 10:49:49 AM
Denn
Rumours are that they have been asked to play Electric Picnic next year. I fear that may be a bridge too much for me. I gave up standing in fields with muck up to my arse a long time ago,
Ya posh Blackrock bastid :P
Fear, Thanks for the pm. I know a lot of folk are getting together for a post gig party but sadly I won't be able to make it, so hopefully there'll be a pre gig party as well!
Shamrock, As my first Horslips experience was The Book of Invasions I have to put it down as my favourite. I note you excluded Short Stories Tall Tales. This was a much maligned album, however I thought there was some good stuff on it - Soap Opera, Guests of the Nation, Rescue Me, Unapproved Road for a start.
Billy's Boots, a lot of that earlier stuff is on the Horslips Live double album, quality's not great, but again there's some brilliant stuff on it.
Roll on Thursday
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 30, 2009, 10:49:49 AM
Denn
You disappoint me now Shamrock Shore. How can this be a proper Horslips reincarnation if you're not moshing it in a bit of proper discomfort. Starting to look forward to Saturday, starting to shape up like a bit of a school reunion which will be good. Music, will wait and see. For the rest of you bent on reliving your younger days I thinking of operating a cod liver oil stall at the front entrance
There was a bit on at the end of the 11 o'clock news on RTE2 last night about the McHugh's warm-up gig - expectation beginning to build in earnest now.
QuoteBilly's Boots, a lot of that earlier stuff is on the Horslips Live double album, quality's not great, but again there's some brilliant stuff on it.
Yup Dougal, have had that album for donkeys years, though it's a while since I dusted down the vinyl.
Horslips 'Live' from 1976 was recorded in The Pavillion in Dun Laoghaire over two shows played back to back on the same date.
The sound has been rightly slated but FFS it was Ireland in the 70s. Not too many live shows been recorded at the time and the technology wasn't great. They resisted over-dubbling like was done to Lizzy's 'Live and Dangerous'
I wasn't on the RTE clip last night (thank God) as I'd be mortified.
QuoteThe sound has been rightly slated but FFS it was Ireland in the 70s.
Was it not recorded using the Rolling Stones mobile unit - am I dreaming now?
QuoteI wasn't on the RTE clip last night (thank God) as I'd be mortified.
Good man SS - Was just about to ask you
I was looking for him too Declan; sadly he managed to keep a low profile, which is unlike him. It must have been his round when they were filming. :P
Nah Billy.
That was the first album in Longfield House in Dundrum, Tipperary, that they took over the Rolling Stones mobile studio, still warm from recording 'Exile on Main Street'. They used bales of straw for sound dampening:
(http://www.horslips.ie/con6.jpg)
Have you been playing the Horslips around the house in warm up for the gig and what is the verdict of the youth of today?
I'd say don't get too overexcited but you are all adults now. You are all adults?
Will we see a birth explosion in 9 months time? Be careful out there.
Ahem, the 'youth of today' have always liked Horslips (in small doses), especially 'Trouble with a Capital T', but recently have been very impressed with the Dearg Doom-influenced 'Put 'em under Pressure'. They're a little more impressed by the apparent coolness of their parents going to see The Pixies, followed closely by The Slips. ;D
My chavvies are too young for an informed opinion.
Years of Indoctrination and hard core propaganda have been successful in my house. The kids all love Horslips.
Quote from: Sandino on December 01, 2009, 12:16:44 PM
Years of Indoctrination and hard core propaganda have been successful in my house.
Nah Sandino, not at all. That's
education and
enlightenment, never
indoctrination and
propaganda! ;)
Quote from: Denn Forever on December 01, 2009, 10:45:27 AM
Have you been playing the Horslips around the house in warm up for the gig and what is the verdict of the youth of today?
I'd say don't get too overexcited but you are all adults now. You are all adults?
Will we see a birth explosion in 9 months time? Be careful out there.
Actually my first reaction when I got into the car with the missus after Friday night's gig was to try for a bit of an oul court. Old habits die hard. I was 19 years old again in the car park of the Nuremore in Carrickmacross.
Which occasion were you more successful Dougal?
The Nuremore I'm afraid. Like yourself not wanting to stand in muck at concerts any more Mrs Maguire is also a lot more fomd of her creature comforts than she was 30 years ago.
the feckin Nueramorel some spot to get home from if you lived west of Carrick and hadn't a lift. Walked 6 of the 14 miles home one night in the pisses of rain. one of my mates was washing the dye of his Rory Gallagher check denim shirt from his body for a week after. We will return Saturday night older and, perhaps, wiser.
The rolling stones mobile recording unit might have carried a bit of a health warning at the best of times, more so around the Exile on Main Street era.
I never wasted my time courting at a Horslips gig. The music was just to good to miss any of it for any reason!
Nevertheless I might give it a rattle after Thursday night.
Think what it was like for us poor Nordies getting home. Stopped and detained for ages by the brits at the border, hormones sending us mad but at least the music was ringing in our ears for ages. Then we would just check the papers for the next few weeks until the next outing.
Has anyone heard how the ticket sales are going for these two Gigs? I hope they get a cracking crowd!
Quote from: Sandino on December 02, 2009, 03:05:52 PM
Has anyone heard how the ticket sales are going for these two Gigs? I hope they get a cracking crowd!
More like a creaking crowd, with the likes of some of us that'll be there.
Don't worry Hardy. I would expect us 40+ lads will show a nice move or two!
Have any of you folk eaten at the Red Panda in the Odyssey? I assume some of you will be in the Odyssey Bar before the gig starts.
Cod Liver Oil and Red Wine will help our creaking joints. Not sure about the bars at the venue. May have afew drinks in the venue after we get in.
Saw the band millling around a Belfast hotel bar and foyer this evening, looked relaxed ahead of their big gig anyway.
That would be the ani-arthrithic drugs. Kinda brings on a stupour!
This is it lads and lassies. This is it. I've waited for this day for nearly 30 years.
Only Longford winning Sam/Leinster/A match would rank up there with what's happening the next few nights.
Shamrock, I agree with what you say. I have waited the best part of 30 years for tomorrow night. I have been to see some iconic artists over those last 30 nyears. Horslips were still the most exciting act I have ever seen!!!
HORSLIPS clasp clap clap HORSLIPS clasp clap clap HORSLIPS clasp clap clap HORSLIPS clasp clap clap HORSLIPS clasp clap clap
Dougal
Calm down FFS!
You'll wake your colleagues beside you at work.
Less than 12 hours now boys! 'You know I'v been waiting'
The Omens increase, its snowing here in Omagh. How many gigs did we have to cope with bad weather on route?
Sunny in Dublin. Sunny in the head of Shamrock Shore.
May meet up later Sandino. Fear ón Strath Bán and myself have swapped mobiles and I believe ye boys know each other.
There will be a mad crowd from the Official website there. One has even flown in from San Francisco. Francie Quinn is still looking for a filddle to fling back at Charles O'Connor. Hope he doesn't injure him if he is successful in getting one.
We I'm just about to leave the aul work now and get ready for the trip to Belfast. Lets Rollback the years and I hope you all have a great night at the show. A safe journey to you all, lets hope it's a night to remember for all the right reasons.
And? And?
What an utterly fantastic night, one that will burn eternally in this particular noggin.
Great to meet Shamrock Shore, Dougal and Sandino (and families and companions), gents one and all.
The band were in top form, and barely showing any signs at all of their 30 years' absence. Was quite a sight: a floor full of 40 or 50 somethings trying to rubberise the Odyssey floor with Dearg Doom, and almost succeeding, and bending a few bones in the process.
"Charles O'Connor... ", says Barry Devlin, "Setanta's little helper!"
"That's it", says O'Connor, "Pick on the Brit why don't you" :D
Priceless.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 04, 2009, 09:27:55 AM
Great to meet Shamrock Shore, Dougal and Sandino (and families and companions), gents one and all.
:o News to me the lads were that way inclined.
a floor full of 40 or 50 somethings trying to rubberise the Odyssey floor with Dearg Doom, and almost succeeding, and bending a few bones in the process.
That's it! I'm staying in me seat tomorrow night. People have enough reasons to laugh at me.
Sounds like it'll be something!
Quote from: Hardy on December 04, 2009, 09:45:18 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on December 04, 2009, 09:27:55 AM
:o News to me the lads were that way inclined.
You can park your wizened cynicism at the door ;)
Quote from: Hardy on December 04, 2009, 09:45:18 AM
a floor full of 40 or 50 somethings trying to rubberise the Odyssey floor with Dearg Doom, and almost succeeding, and bending a few bones in the process.
That's it! I'm staying in me seat tomorrow night. People have enough reasons to laugh at me.
It's not optional.
Well what an amazing night. The band were excellent. The feelgood factor in the venue was amazing. Good friends great music great craic.
Sounds fantastic lads - stick the photos up
Incredible nite... the music is still going around in my head. I was pissed most of the time I saw them in the 70s... (well actually all the time ::)) so maybe didn't totally appreciate how brilliant they are. Jees! are they the best or wat? Wish I was going to Dublin tonite. Hopefully it won't be another 29 years. Aye- brought back some memories too.
Horslips-Happy to Meet, Sorry to Part.
The audience of the Horslips show their age. They are posting the next day after a brilliant gig at 9.30. Wouldn't have happened 30 years ago (unless people are still partying. Emm).
Parking options for the Point?
Great gig but where was "Warm sweet breath of love"?????
QuoteParking options for the Point?
Jurys Inn on Custom House Quay have a car park but there's also a car park next door to the point on the quays - they charge a tenner and it's usually quite slow getting out.
Quote from: Denn Forever on December 04, 2009, 10:15:10 AM
The audience of the Horslips show their age. They are posting the next day after a brilliant gig at 9.30. Wouldn't have happened 30 years ago (unless people are still partying. Emm).
Quite the contrary, barely slept a wink, and there's a day's grafting to be done (no parents' floor to lie on all day now) ;)
Quote from: Hardy on December 04, 2009, 10:19:45 AM
Collect Mrs Boots and myself from Donabate Hardy and I'll find you a spot. ;)
Ah bollix, the new Luas line isn't opening til next Tuesday.
Quote from: Billys Boots on December 04, 2009, 10:43:52 AM
Quote from: Hardy on December 04, 2009, 10:19:45 AM
Collect Mrs Boots and myself from Donabate Hardy and I'll find you a spot. ;)
I can if you like. Disclaimer: Getting home options are unclear at this stage.
(Thanks Declan).
Are there not shuttle buses from town for the O2 Arena?
Get back to your youth. Park the car in town and stroll up to the gig.
There is a small car park beside the O2. Coming from town it is just before the point. It a nightmare leaving but thats another option.
What a night. What a band.
Good to meet Fear and Sandino in Francie's groovy disco in McHugh's
Back to hotel at 1 am for drinks until 4 am.
Wrecked but will be fit to do it all again tomorrow!
Doors 6.30 tomorrow night and Tom Dunne and co doing the warm up act. Anybody care to speculate on
the ETA of the main attraction on stage. Might be looking to knock the max out of the pre gig festivities.
Did young Corr hit them for six last night?
Horslips will be on at about 20.30 and play until 23.00
I only caught the last Sharon Corr number. She sounded ok I spose but she didn't strip on stage or anything like that as far as I know.
Tony the band did 'The Warm Sweet Breath of Love' in one of the practice gigs in Drogheda but it obviously got dropped to meet the 23.00 finish up deadline. I would loved to have heard 'Guests of the Nation' but the band cannot be all things to all men.
Guests of the Nation would be great, but hopefully they played Shamrock Shore!!
No sir they did not >:(
In truth I have a fair few 'bootleg' live albums and I would be pretty sure in my mind that they never played Shamrock Shore live, ever.
brilliant show - great music and good auld banter with the crowd - hair lines may have receeded and waistlines expanded (and thats 90% of the male audience) but the boys got us all going again - re-open the astoria !!
It was burnt to the ground last year :'( i take it they will perform again next year... I couldn't wait another 29 years.
Wow!
Just home - didn't meet up with Hardy (logistics dear boy) but what a show.
What a show. Better than Belfast? The band thought so but to me it's like asking a parent on who their favourite child is.
To quote Fr. Ted - "They all have lovely bottoms"
Now - more drink!
Shamrock Shore, Wow, Indeed!
What an incredible night. I never thought that I would ever experience Trouble or Dearg Doom live again in my life. Now, to have heard them twice in three days was indeed totally awesome. I was so pleased that they did such a variety of music.
Another great gig, for me the Belfast one was about the occasion and the Dublin one was all about the music.
Which was best? I'm not sure. Perhaps Dublin did just shade it for me. It doesn't matter which was best anyway.
I think that if they choose to they could be bigger this time than the last lime.
Glastonbury?
QuoteI never thought that I would ever experience Trouble or Dearg Doom live again in my life
Likewise. A great night was had at the O2. Magnificant occasion.
That was some crack.
loved the old images on screen.
the stiffs up in the seats seemed to be having a right royal time
Less of your "stiff" remarks you young whippersnapper.
Would you believe Gay Byrne was there! I couldn't believe it. I would have put him down for classical music and such like.
Gay Byrne at a Horslips gig - kinda like seeing Dana at an orgy.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on December 06, 2009, 11:00:20 PM
Would you believe Gay Byrne was there! I couldn't believe it. I would have put him down for classical music and such like.
What about Gnevin and Tankie doing Riverdance to Hey Mirinda
Times review was ecstatic. Indo was curate's egg.
The lad in the Indo didn't like Feans's solos. Obviously not an air guitar nut like alot of us there brought up on the 24 hour version of 'Furniture' they used to do in the 70s, and the blistering Dearg Doom on 'The Belfast Gigs'.
They will be back again now that they have tasted blood again.
Magic night. Sorry to miss a session with SS but one of the great gigs. Mrs Fiddler loved it too and she would only be slightly Horslips-aware. Some on RTE today calling it gig of the year (one gig of the decade), though they would probably admit to an in-house bias.
I expected a great occasion and a celebration, but I wasn't really expecting to be blown away by the music. The band was incredibly tight and you'd swear they'd been playing every night for the past 29 years. And this wasn't just a nostalgia gig, this was brilliant music and playing that stood up in its own right. A tour de force by Charles O'Connor and spine tingling guitar from Fean. A night never to be forgotten.
PS - sorry to report I failed to keep my promise to stay in my seat.
Good call there Hardy. Sorry I missed the Dublin gig but I was out of the country. Delighted to be at the Belfast one and to meet Fear on Strath Ban and to see many old friends including Shamrock Shore. Roll on the next gigs
Quote from: Hardy on December 07, 2009, 06:37:38 PM
PS - sorry to report I failed to keep my promise to stay in my seat.
Told you ;)
Quote from: Hardy on December 07, 2009, 06:08:55 PM
Magic night. Sorry to miss a session with SS but one of the great gigs. Mrs Fiddler loved it too and she would only be slightly Horslips-aware. Some on RTE today calling it gig of the year (one gig of the decade), though they would probably admit to an in-house bias.
I expected a great occasion and a celebration, but I wasn't really expecting to be blown away by the music. The band was incredibly tight and you'd swear they'd been playing every night for the past 29 years. And this wasn't just a nostalgia gig, this was brilliant music and playing that stood up in its own right. A tour de force by Charles O'Connor and spine tingling guitar from Fean. A night never to be forgotten.
Never have you written more true words. I'v been going to concerts for over 30 years. Few have surpassed last thursday and saturday night they had everything one would want at a gig, meeting old friends and making new ones made it unforgetable.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on December 06, 2009, 11:00:20 PM
Young whipper if only SS if only. the oul limbs are feeling their age today. I just had an unmerciful nights crack meeting old friends and hearing old sounds. Mrs Anglo not a huge lipso fan but was very impressed with sound etc. etc. I don't know if i want them to continue, not sure if Saturday could be matched every six months or so.
I'm reliably informed we will not have to wait another 30 years to hear them again. The Horslips are back and will perform in 2010. Happy Days!! ;D
After the moaning on the radio over Cat 'Yusuf' Stevens and The Nolans and Friday night's Aieda in the O2 Joe Duffy paid the Horslips' gig the ultimate compliment today.
"Nobody rang into Liveline to complain!"
He also said anyone he talked to described it as "the gig of the decade".
From today's Irish Times:
Horslips
SEAN FLYNN
The 02, Dublin: In his terrific Evening Herald essay on the Horslips years, former drummer Eamon Carr recalls how a trip to the furnishing department in Clerys changed the face of Irish rock'n'roll.
The band purchased a job lot of curtain fabric and soft cover to create their trademark look: satin trousers and loud, shiny shirts.
It's a lovely story – with more than a hint of truth – but it understates the quality of the music delivered by the band during those halcyon days back in the 1970s. Yes, style was important to Horslips (you would expect that from a group of former advertising executives), but there was also a great deal of substance.
Tonight's comeback concert is a reminder of the power and the glory of the band, to namecheck one of their best songs.
The striking feature of the gig is how the intervening years have not withered the power of Horslips' back catalogue. There is also an extraordinary musical range on view: the FM radio rock of The Man Who Built America , the glorious traditional Irish energy of The High Reel and the Led Zeppelin-style majesty of Furniture .
In Dublin, Furniture sounds more than ever like Zeppelin's Stairway to Heaven as Gaeilge, a sweeping epic of a song guided one way and then the other by those familiar guitar breaks.
Multi-instrumentalist Charles O'Connor was the undoubted star of a gig that showcased his remarkable versatility. Guitarist Johnny Fean ran him close with a soaring, extended solo on I'll Be Waitin g and a strong vocal performance on Ghosts .
Vocalist and bassist Barry Devlin was at his best on Rescue Me , surely one of the most under-rated Horslips songs.
There are some minor quibbles. Sometimes the musical pyrotechnics of Horslips drown out some of the songs; there is simply too much going on. How exciting it would be to see Horslips on any new album embrace the stripped back, lo-fi of Bon Iver or Fleet Foxes. Horslips' songs are certainly good enough. But sometimes they need to give them a little breathing space.
On vocals, the band share out the responsibilities between Barry Devlin, Charles O'Connor and Johnny Fean, arguably the most accomplished. But there is no Robert Plant or Paul Rodgers here: sometimes these good songs require more vocal power.
But none of this should detract from a memorable night, which left the warmest glow.
For his own reasons, Eamon Carr opted out of the reunion gigs, leaving the drumming duties to the impressive Ray Fean (brother of Johnny).
Carr did surface in full Santa Claus regalia during the encore to present newly minted platinum discs to the band. At one stage in 1973 Horslips sold 35,000 copies of their debut album, Happy to Meet , Sorry to Part , in less than a fortnight. The new greatest hits collection, Treasury , will surely emulate – and even better – that achievement, if the enthusiasm of this audience is any guide.
And there was real, genuine enthusiasm. The pitch for the gig described Horslips as the band " that shaped a generation". That might be a little over the top. But Horslips played a pivotal and (until now) shamefully neglected role in the history of Irish rock. This is a band that has paid its dues. Who could begrudge them another day in the sunlight?
Just downloaded my free track there. "Sure the boy was green" Anyone else respond to the message at the concert to text your email address?
(http://www.horslips.ie/horslips_o2.jpg)
Thanks to Daragh Owens
I don't wish to get anal-ytical here, but is that a full stop or a blackhead after the good?
Quote from: swirllack le besturd on December 14, 2009, 08:08:25 PM
I don't wish to get anal-ytical here, but is that a full stop or a blackhead after the good?
swirllack le besturd Welcome. Interesting name. Care to elucidate?
If any of ye are not tapping the auld foot after 10 seconds of this then you may need to visit the doctor:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CFo9OpP-4kQ
I thought that was King Of The Fairies?
No, my befuddled friend from Meath:
This is King of the Fairies:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wzQQXVa6fRQ
Same rules apply re the right foot!
I'm hearing they won't be playing in Ireland in the summer but festivals in other places. Maybe that's wrong. I hope so.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 06, 2010, 11:32:36 AM
No, my befuddled friend from Meath:
This is King of the Fairies:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wzQQXVa6fRQ
Same rules apply re the right foot!
Befuddled for sure. In my defence, they're horrid similar tunes.
Is it just me but I think they are much better band of musicians these days.
It's not just the dress sense that has matured.
Middle age suits them to a tee
That gig they did on Ardán was quality.
While I cannot disagree with Main Street (in the sense that I never saw them live in phase 1) I do see where he is coming from. Veterns said, post Odyssey and O2, that they were better than were 72-80.
I will investigate 2010 plans.................bass player due in my office some day this month for a coffee/complan
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 07, 2010, 12:37:06 AM
While I cannot disagree with Main Street (in the sense that I never saw them live in phase 1) I do see where he is coming from. Veterns said, post Odyssey and O2, that they were better than were 72-80.
I will investigate 2010 plans.................bass player due in my office some day this month for a coffee/complan
It was hard to judge in the 70s with a mind seriously clouded with Clan Dew. At Odyssey I stood and really listened and they were first class. Old days was more wrecking about than really listening intently... for the Fox anyway.
Stay tuned for an announcement!
QuoteStay tuned for an announcement!
I'll be Waiting, you know I'll be waiting!
Count me in...
Saw Eamonn Carr in Dorset St on Paddy's Day, he was talking to a Guard, as I was making my way down to Croker
... and ...?
Eamonn asked tony for his autograph???? :P
and so did the guard ;D
Are we all crashing in Hardy's gaff when they play Langerland??
Quote from: Billys Boots on March 24, 2010, 09:00:05 AM
Are we all crashing in Hardy's gaff when they play Langerland??
Everyone welcome. Even Fearon. BYO. Which quickly rules Fearon out again.
No thanks. In any event I will probably win tickets and overnight accommodation as well. In any event, I simply could not tolerate Hardy's anecdotes, usually involving fictional residents of villages on the Armagh/Louth border, which some people actually found humourous. :'(
It's official.
Horslips play The Marquee in Cork on June 26th 2010.
That is all
Tickets on sale NOW (ticketbaster)!
Roll on Cork boy!
Feár
I'm thinking of mosh pit this time and help get the place sweating.
The same as that SS, sure I'll give these oul knees one more bopping bash :D
I've been told by a Langer that the seating is a bit far back and he suggested standing.
Amazingly the standing tickets are €54.50 and the seating is €50.00
So, standing I am - ticket has been bought.
If Fear's knees (and/or back) are anything like mine then I better souce some cortisone before June. We can share with Guinness before and after.
I'm planning to go down for the weekend. Are there flights go from Derry to Cork? Strabane man, I could give you a lift to the airport on the way thro!!
Not unless you're going to Eglinton via Dublin fox ;)
Thanks anyway, but I'll be training it from da Capital on da Saturday.
Good man SS. Copious amounts of anaesthetic to be freely (self) administered before, during and after!
QuoteWe can share with Guinness before and after.
Actually, on mature reflection, will we be expected to drink the pish that is Murphys?
(http://www.beermakingcentral.info/wp-content/uploads/2009/04/murphys-irish-stout.jpg)
As far as I remember Heineken sponsor the gigs in the Marquee. Heineken now brew both Beamish and Murphy's, so we could be in luck and have access to the King of Stouts.
Itll be Guinness ,Bud, Or wine at the marquee if its the same as the last few years. Fiver a pint max 2 drinks per person at a time. Very organised and efficient bar system.
Probably a bit too strong for a Horslips fan's delicate constitution, but you haven't tasted porter until you have tasted Saku
(http://www.saku.ee/img/tooted/olled/porter/pilt2.jpg)
Well chaps as sombody who moshed it at the point I can recommend the experience. Gammy back/ankles/knees were remarkably cured by trying to throw some shapes not seen since the Farmers Ballroom in Virginia circa 1977.
Enjoyed the point immesely on the basis that it was a one off after several years and I just ain't so sure about the Cork gig so I'll give it a miss. Have fun chaps. I waited 30 years for a reunion I'll wait a year or two more for a follow up, my risk
From horslips.ie
Horslips - Live at the National Stadium, Dublin 1976
TG4 Sunday 25th April 2010 @ 10pm (repeated Friday 30th April @ 8pm)
Horslips legendary performance at Dublin's National Stadium in 1976 is to be
aired as part of a new series on TG4 called "Ar Stáitse".
From TG4:
In this 15 part music performance series we have raided the RTE archives,
fully restored both picture and sound, and now present the best of national
and international performers.
If you were there the first time round sit back and enjoy, if you weren't
then this will show what the fuss was about. Each programme will feature one
group or artist.
Featuring Planxty in glorious black & white, Horslips in all their colourful
glam celtic rock outfits, Don McLean, Paul Brady, The Dubliners, Tommy
Makem, Andy Irvine, Jim McCann, Freddie White, Jimmy Crowley & Stokers Lodge
and such gems as early De Danann, Aileach and The Douglas Gunn Ensemble
Some gems there boys and girls, but HTF did Freddie White snake in??
Never heard of The Douglas Gunn Ensemble.
Anyone else remember tractors that ran on TVO? We had one - pre roll-over bar days. Ah, the joy of a tractor with no roll-over bar doing 5 miles an hours and you, as a 10 year old, driving it!
QuoteHorslips - Live at the National Stadium, Dublin 1976
TG4 Sunday 25th April 2010 @ 10pm (repeated Friday 30th April @ 8pm)
Horslips legendary performance at Dublin's National Stadium in 1976 is to be
aired as part of a new series on TG4 called "Ar Stáitse".
From TG4:
In this 15 part music performance series we have raided the RTE archives,
fully restored both picture and sound, and now present the best of national
and international performers.
If you were there the first time round sit back and enjoy, if you weren't
then this will show what the fuss was about. Each programme will feature one
group or artist.
Featuring Planxty in glorious black & white, Horslips in all their colourful
glam celtic rock outfits, Don McLean, Paul Brady, The Dubliners, Tommy
Makem, Andy Irvine, Jim McCann, Freddie White, Jimmy Crowley & Stokers Lodge
and such gems as early De Danann, Aileach and The Douglas Gunn Ensemble
... and not to forget The Wolfe Tones, in front of a 35,000 crowd at the Siamsia Cois Laoi, Pairc ui Chaoimh, 1979.
Just a reminder 10pm folks TG 4... 'you can fool them alright but can you fool the beast?'... later
Hmmmmm! It's the 73 gig not 76!
Gutted I will be out of the country and unable to get down to Cork. This series is class!!!!!
Ah sh*t just seeing that this was on! Will this be available on the website?
It's repeated on Friday at 8pm. it was good... very short tho.
Tickets secured for Cork and am organising travel. Train return is £65 go Friday back on Sunday. Fly is £160... about £100 difference. Flights one hour from Belfast train five... ok about going down but long haul back up. Anyway... 'we've got the power and the glory, we're going to take it from here......'
Cork gig cancelled! Will post press release here later
Aiken Promotions regret to announce...
Horslips "Live at the Marquee" has been Cancelled
Horslips June 26th Concert in Cork - part of Aiken Promotions "Live At The Marquee" series - has been cancelled due to the sudden illness of flautist and keyboard player Jim Lockhart.
Though Jim is expected to make a full recovery, doctors have advised him he will not be in a position to play any gigs before Autumn and the current Live At The Marquee series finishes up at the start of August - after the Mamma Mia run.
Tickets will be refunded through point of purchase.
"We're aware of the inconvenience caused and obviously tickets will be refunded and though we're personally gutted at what has happened we're delighted that Jim is on his way to a full recovery." says bass player Barry Devlin.
Sad news, but glad to hear that full recovery is expected. The Cork weekend didn't quite suit me, hopefully there will now be more gigs in the Autumn. Were pre Xmas gigs mooted again?
There had been no mention of any pre-Christmas gigs as far as I am aware. I suppose it's all up to a promoter to make an offer.
Jim Lockhart is at home resting so the prognosis is good. A auld belt of the ticker from what I gather.
Absolutey gutted and was so looking forward to going. But will get over it. Best wishes to Jim Lockhard and hopefully the Horslips will be back on stage before the end of the year. If they are and it is in Ireland the Fox will endevour to be there. "We got the power and the glory..."
Stay tuned for an imminent announcement ;)
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 06, 2010, 11:45:45 AM
(http://mumbai.groceryshop.in/images/mirinda.jpg)
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 06, 2010, 11:45:45 AM
How imminent: today, tomorrow, civil service tomorrow??
Civil service tomorrow.
Little birdie tells me gig(s) for the Christmas.
Shamrock shore, did I ever tell you that I liked you :D
Great News!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 06, 2010, 12:01:02 PM
Civil service tomorrow.
Little birdie tells me gig(s) for the Christmas.
Good stuff, hopefully no-one dies this year.
QuoteGood stuff, hopefully no-one dies this year
Yes - that's the main thing to be sure.
You never know what freak event can happen to an oldies band member.
I heard (in the distant background) on the news that a drummer with an oldies band (ELO or Supertramp?) got himself killed by a marauding bale of hay yesterday. Rolled down the hill and hit his car with fatal consequences.
Yes - some lads ex-ELO got squashed by a bale of hay.
Rock and roll, baby.
Announcement on Tubridy on 2FM radio this morning on Christmas gigs.
Triggs RIP
OK. Here's the heads up:
Horslips will play:
27 November INEC, Killarney;
28 November Royal Theatre, Castlebar;
01 December Waterfront, Belfast
04 December The O2, Dublin
Fiirst time I ever listened to Turbidy in my life. I hope to make at least two of those! Thanks for the updates Shamrock Shore
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 10, 2010, 10:17:48 AM
OK. Here's the heads up:
Horslips will play:
27 November INEC, Killarney;
28 November Royal Theatre, Castlebar;
01 December Waterfront, Belfast
04 December The O2, Dublin
Good man SS! ;D
Same suspects on this thread ;)
Sure the boys are green!
My only dilemma is can I make all 4 and, if not, which one do I miss?
Where is Castlebar inanyways?
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 06, 2010, 02:31:26 PM
Yes - some lads ex-ELO got squashed by a bale of hay.
Rock and roll, baby.
Not quite up there with Keith Richards' dice with death a few years past when he fell out of a Coconut Tree.
Good news about the gigs but you start to wonder if this is going to take on the shape of the last ever (honest) annual Shane MacGowan/Popes/Pogues Xmas eve gig in some Dublin venue.
Horslips are back on the saddle.
I may have some more. non gig related, news soon.
To hear the lads on the Tubridy show this is the link;
http://2fm.rte.ie/previously_played/ (http://2fm.rte.ie/previously_played/)
Change date to 10 September 2010.
Then click "I want to listen to a recording of the show."
Move along to 70minutes...
Great news altogether. Unfortunately Illl be out of the country for the O2 Gig but I'll be in Belfast and possibly Killarney. Is Ray Fean drumming again? Just to get you all in the mood :
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jkkxwdyd1cQ&feature=related
Yes Dougal! Ray is on the drums again! Eamon will continue to be part of the publicity but won't play live!
Thanks for the link! 'Sword of Light' is pure filth and should be banned cos it's all about riding!
Word has it that Jennifer Thompson listened to Ride to Hell as she did it with Wayne Rooney
Shameless plug I know. Latest from the bassist of the group:
"There's a double CD and a DVD. Release date before Christmas for both.
The double CD is called "Horslips live at the O2" and it contains all the songs and every note from the night as well as a little of the babble from the band.
The DVD is called 'The Road to the O2' and it combines interviews with the band about the gig, God, the Universe and Everything, (but mainly the gig) with 12 complete tracks - but in addition a number of solos and sequences are highlighted, John Giles style.
Charles O'Connor has designed both packages and they are - as you would expect - extremely attractive."
Horslips play Celtic Note on Nassau St in Dublin this Sun (21 Nov 2010 at 1 pm
Is this a private gig or whats the craic?
No - open to all. They are promoting the new releases.
Will miss tomorrow's little showpiece in Celtic Note, but can't wait for the main attractions!
Jeesh, how we need some radiant illumination on this deviant ill nation!
As a compensation Fear they are on RTE1 this eve on The Sahhurday Show.
My good self has secured a ticket for the audience.
Are ticket sales a bit slow for the gigs, I notice that they are advertising them still. Perhaps the extra venues diluted the audience?
Perhaps armaniac. It's hard to tell and nobody is going to tell you that tickets are slow.
I am heading to three out of the four and, yes, it will add up with hotels, planes, trains and automobiles but I don't care as I have been waiting 30 years for days like these.
Stay tuned for little gig reviews in the thread.
I'll surely see a few of ye in Belfast.
Fear ón Srath Bán have you still my number? Dougal as well.
Can't believe its been nearly a year!! Living for Wednesday...unfortunately only going to one gig this year though :(
Any word on whether they are playing Glastonbury next year??
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 25, 2010, 11:22:07 PM
I'll surely see a few of ye in Belfast.
Fear ón Srath Bán have you still my number? Dougal as well.
Yes SS, still have your number (and Dougal's), will be in touch come Wednesday (or before) ;)
Is it Wednesday yet? ;D
Great show last night in killarney.
Yes. Yes it was. Venue was perhaps 60-70% occupied. One fellow was there with a mutil-coloured mohican, 9 inch heeled boots and a black rubber suit. Sweet Jesus. They like it exotic in Killarney. (I hope that wasn't you no mo)
Slimmed down set from last year. Band were in great form as was the support act, Paddy Goodwin and The Holy Ghosts. Some of us got a bit rowdy in the crowd so if any of ye heard a chant "Sharon....Sharon" that was us and there is a good story behind that one.
Jazes. That alarm clock at 7.30 this morning was most unwelcome having partied on late in The Brehon afterwards. Shur you hafta do these things.
We'll be dead long enough.
Belfast next. There is a gadderin in The Garrick beforehand organised via Facebook. I havent a baldy where it is but I am sure I'll find it.
SS and FoSB its just like the old days, a Horslips Gig and fecking dangerous weather. Lets hope its a safe run to Belfast. SS any stuff that was not done the last time?
Sandino
'New' songs to the set are from the earlier albums
'More than you can chew' from The Táin
'Blind can't lead the blind' and 'Nighttown Boy' from Dancehall Sweethearts.
In Belfast and Dublin (this did not happen in the gigs in the sticks) there will be a brass section and perhaps a heavenly choir of fit ladies.
I am certain that the Waterfront and O2 may have other surprises........
I see the great Philip Chevron of The Radiators and The Pogues was in Castlebar last night.
Chevron was a huge Horslips fan and they inspired him to do what he did with The Radiators and latterly The Pogues. He had a brush with the Big C a few years ago and seems to have come out the other side.
Pogues are on the "final farewell" tour and, as the bauld Shane had recorded a duet with those awful Priests, I well believe it.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 30, 2010, 12:30:56 AMShane had recorded a duet with those awful Priests
You're not serious?
Everything I thought I understood about the world has all gone screwy again.
Yes - I am serious
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YLSMGsvLMPo
Little drummer boy :-[
We should have an emoticon for "shakes head".
I have the deep heat at the ready to give her one last lash in Belfast! I am as nervous as ever, everytime we get to seem them now is just so special.
Quotehttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YLSMGsvLMPo
Little drummer boy :-[
Is it wrong that I like this ??? ??? ???
Quote from: Sandino on November 30, 2010, 01:18:31 PM
I have the deep heat at the ready to give her one last lash in Belfast! I am as nervous as ever, everytime we get to seem them now is just so special.
Good man, lash it onto ya! ;)
And good news about the Waterfront and the O2 SS!
Missed FOSB and Sandino last night.
Great gig in The Waterfront. Venue 80% full. For the first time ever Horslips has 3 lassies and a brass section for a few songs.
2 hours of non stop music that had the crowd buzzing. Was chatting to a fellow that flew over especially from the States for the Belfast and Dublin gigs.
Was very very very late in getting to the scratcher and, believe it or not, there wasn't a flake of snow in Belfast.
Roll on the O2 on Sat night.
SS a tremendous night by all accounts. I thought the setlist was first class, More than you can chew being a personal favourite. Sorry we missed you but I heard you were moving in higher circles ;D The weather may swing me against going to dublin as things here are quite dodgy up here today.
Great gig indeed lads, especially the earlier era stuff. I'll run into you yet this week SS!
The family was at the show last night - great night by all accounts like you've said.
I have a ticket for the O2 going spare, my mate can't make it. I'll be happy to unload for a bit less than ticketmaster will charge you, if anyone is interested PM me.
Safe travelling to the gig.
Remember "Nighttown Boys can slide and slide on graceful feet!
A shortened version of the recently released DVD 'The Road to the O2' will be on Telly Eireann 1 at 23.30 on 30 Dec 2010.
Horslips play Glasgow on 14 Jan 2011 at a Celtic Connections festival.
That is all.
Chance to see Horslips free in The Waterfront in Belfast on St. Patrick's Day
Here is the spiel from The Waterfront website
Joining the Ulster Orchestra will be legendary Celtic folk rock group Horslips, performing their best known songs, arranged and conducted by Brian Byrne. The first set will be taken from Horslips` 1976 album `The Book of Invasion - A Celtic Symphony` and the second set contains songs from 1973 album, `The Tain.`
Both albums chartered new territory in the genre of Celtic Rock music which Horslips pioneered in the 1970s.
This is the band`s first collaboration with an orchestra.
For availability of complimentary tickets please visit www.bbc.co.uk/ni/tickets and join the electronic mailing list.
Bump to remind, if you are of a mind, to tune into BBC Radio Alster tonight at 8 pm to hear the band live with the Alster Sympathy Orchestra.
If you hear some hooting and hollering in a Longford accent you'll know I got in!
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 17, 2011, 08:35:07 AM
Bump to remind, if you are of a mind, to tune into BBC Radio Alster tonight at 8 pm to hear the band live with the Alster Sympathy Orchestra.
If you hear some hooting and hollering in a Longford accent you'll know I got in!
Heading to this myself, any frankies out there able to recommend a decent hostelry handy to both the Waterfront and Central station for a few pre gig looseners, preferably one that does OAP discounts.
Enjoy the gig shamrock! Tried to get tickets for this but i was not choosen in the draw. Should be a great night. Have a good night anyone lucky enough to be going.
I see there is a game at Croke pk between Dublin and Mayo but any entertainment to be found at the venue will be provided by Horslips during the break.
Allianz Football League
12.15 pm Dublin v Laois (Minor Football)
1.30 pm Half time entertainment - HORSLIPS
2.30 pm Dublin v Mayo (Senior Football)
Quote from: passedit on March 17, 2011, 09:49:01 AM
Heading to this myself, any frankies out there able to recommend a decent hostelry handy to both the Waterfront and Central station for a few pre gig looseners, preferably one that does OAP discounts.
You might do worse than the Garrick passed it: The Garrick (http://www.thegarrickbar.com/findus.htm), though not sure about OAP discounts ;)
Have a great night all, won't make it the distance myself.
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 17, 2011, 12:59:29 PM
Quote from: passedit on March 17, 2011, 09:49:01 AM
You might do worse than the Garrick passed it: The Garrick (http://www.thegarrickbar.com/findus.htm), though not sure about OAP discounts ;)
Have a great night all, won't make it the distance myself.
Cheers for fears. Not my part of town. Was in bittles once (one time too many). Looking forward to it.
Sandino! Had u showed up u would have got in. A good few no shows! Great night! Mighty sound! Reminded me of Homer Simpson "hmmmm, nuts and gum, together at last!"
Gutted to hear that Shamrock, however I couldn't take the chance of a long drive and then not getting tickets. I will have to make do with the i-player some evening this week. Was there any tv cameras about? Glad to hear you have a good night. Keep up the great work keeping us informed about all things Horslips.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on March 18, 2011, 09:37:48 AM
Sandino! Had u showed up u would have got in. A good few no shows! Great night! Mighty sound! Reminded me of Homer Simpson "hmmmm, nuts and gum, together at last!"
Enjoyed that, thought the combo worked well. My only gripe was the supposed 20 min interval was only 12 mins between bells. Second pint of guinness had to go down far too rapid fo my liking. Didn't seem to be many empty seats Shamrock did they get many walk ups?
Spin on 27/03/11 on TG4.
Thought this was a documentary about the Horslips but it seems the be a Classic Albums type of programme.
http://www.tg4.ie/bearla/corp/nl/nl1.asp?NID=11
Presented by Philip King, this new series looks at some of the classic Irish folk albums of recent decades, including Moving Hearts' first album 1981; De Danann's Star Spangled Molly 1981; and Horslips' Happy to meet and sorry to part
Latest Horslips updates:
'Spin' tonight on TG4 has a feature on Horslips' debut album 'Happy to Meet Sorry to Part' recorded on The Rolling Stones mobile studio (they had just done 'Exile on Main Street') in Dundrum House in Tipperary in 1972. Only time that bales of hay were used for sound proofing as far as I am aware.
Horslips play two UK festivals in the summer - The London Fleadh in June and the Copredy festival in August.
Horslips are the feature band in the Bulmers summer festival of racing in Leopardstown on Aug 11 2011.
That is all
Horslips play:
Galway Tent 31 July 2011
Leopardstown Racecourse 11 August 2011
That is all.
Feckit those are a long way from Omagh!
QuoteLeopardstown Racecourse 11 August 2011
Feckit. I could walk to Leopardstown racecourse, but am out of the country on holiers at that time.
Great stuff at the Fairport Convention Cropedy Festival last weekend.
On Sat Horslips played a blinder and had the crowd going mental - unusual for a folk hippy festival.
(http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/185441_10150262058778310_561093309_7662359_1081614_n.jpg)
If you look closely Shamrock Shore can be seen on the big screen. The signing session afterwards was the longest in Cropedy history as the lads took 2 hours signing tshirts, albums, cds, pictures, posters and even a lady's lovely bottom. And yes, they all had lovely bottoms.
Cropedy was some place. 20,000 people, all chilled out, most sitting in chairs, drinking wine, beer, cider. Lots of children, dogs, drag queens, etc and not one hint of aggro or menace. A perfect venue for the auld lads on the board, like myself.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on August 17, 2011, 11:31:17 AM
If you look closely Shamrock Shore can be seen on the big screen.
(http://www.mediafire.com/imgbnc.php/10075f0dcdeb23e62016fbf2cc4b91b73b36742521e343b9bcb74c60e3c932d96g.jpg)
No cigar drici, try again! ;)
I actually travelled from Dublin with the lad Drici highlighted. He was one of the fellows who organised the original exhibition of memorabilia in Derry in 2004 that got the band back together on stage for the first time in 24 years.
SS Horslips on Radio Nova rock report tonight at 6 (in case you don't know...which is unlikely)
Thanks Gerry - didnt know.
Flogging the 'new' album obviously
<shameless plug>
(http://www.backstreet-merch.com/images/products/bands/cd-dvd/horsl/bsi_horsl37.gif)
</shamless plug>
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on August 17, 2011, 11:31:17 AM
Great stuff at the Fairport Convention Cropedy Festival last weekend.
On Sat Horslips played a blinder and had the crowd going mental - unusual for a folk hippy festival.
(http://a2.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/185441_10150262058778310_561093309_7662359_1081614_n.jpg)
If you look closely Shamrock Shore can be seen on the big screen. The signing session afterwards was the longest in Cropedy history as the lads took 2 hours signing tshirts, albums, cds, pictures, posters and even a lady's lovely bottom. And yes, they all had lovely bottoms.
Cropedy was some place. 20,000 people, all chilled out, most sitting in chairs, drinking wine, beer, cider. Lots of children, dogs, drag queens, etc and not one hint of aggro or menace. A perfect venue for the auld lads on the board, like myself.
Are you wearing a cap or a hat SS ? Beginning to sound like i'm playing a game of guess who with my Kids .
Neither. I wear glasses and have been going grey since I was 19. Look for the obvious accountants!
http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1127808
Were you at this Hardy?
You know what they say - "if you can remember the seventies ..."
No, though, I wasn't at that one. It's great stuff - missed this when it was on d'telly.
As far as I'm concerned the best Horslips album is Live at the O2 BTW does anyone out there have a live version of 'Letters from Home'
Dougal
Never heard a live version of that. Would imagine it never made it to the stage. Only the drummer would know as the rest of the band don't know what day of the week it is.
Horslips interview RTE radio today 10am with Miriam.
Here is a link to videos of the songs they played on the show as well as the interview podcast link:
http://www.youtube.com/rteradio1 (http://www.youtube.com/rteradio1)
http://www.rte.ie/radio1/miriammeets/ (http://www.rte.ie/radio1/miriammeets/)
I see Barry Devlin is involved in the film based on the Tain. Hopefully he doesn't let them make a balix of it.
Jaysus folks, just googled "Dearg Doom" and translation.
Is it really "Red Doom" in English?, need it for a class in about 6 hours.
Tanks
Yes.
Eamon Carr was joining Dr. Doom from The Marvel Comics and Dearg from the bloodied red hand of Ulster. So Cuchulainn (spelling apologies) was Dearg Doom.
Here is a clip that might be of use:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jb1nCwbxAOs (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jb1nCwbxAOs)
What would Cuchulainn have made of Armagh letting Mayo beat them? Woe is unto us.
Wasn't Cú Chulainn a Louth man?
This is debate whether Cú Chulainn was a Louth or Meath man. What is clear is that he went to Armagh to learn how to be a man, something Louth people could benefit with doing in the present day.
Cracking show at the Concert Hall tonight. The orchestra adds to quieter numbers like Sideways to the Sun, the band themselves were streaming for the encore by themselves. Grab the last of the tickets if you are in Dublin for tomorrow night.
Could have been rubbling shoulders with you armaghniac. Cracking gig/concert for sure. Big queue for signing afterwards. Signing finished about 11-40 and then band and pals ajourned to Houricans on Leeson St.
Apologies for the shameless bump.
A comprensive biography of the band is out at the end of the month/early Nov 2013 written and compiled by an English gentleman called Mark Cunningham.
In all good stores near you soon:
(http://www.horslips.ie/TALLTALESWEBPAGE.jpg)
Here are some taster clips of what Horslips were all about to the young ones here:
THE TÁIN:
http://youtu.be/Q-Ji5EMHUBI (http://youtu.be/Q-Ji5EMHUBI)
BOOK OF INVASIONS:
http://youtu.be/ORGuXcp3KHI (http://youtu.be/ORGuXcp3KHI)
ALIENS:
http://youtu.be/cTXqUiUzciM (http://youtu.be/cTXqUiUzciM)
I still think 'Aliens' is their best album - doesn't have the crowd-pleasers of 'Invasions' or 'Táin' or 'Happy to Meet', but there isn't a weak spot on it.
SS have done an official launch of the Book yet?
I can see where Billy is coming from but as regards their albums all I can do is think of Father Ted and say "they all have lovely bottoms"
Sandino - the official launch of the book is on Oct 29th in the Button Club in Temple Bar. It's invitation only so do you know anyone that could swing you a pass?
Alas not! Great to see published at last.
Excellent book! Hardback A4 sized encyclopaedia of Horslips,nearly 300 pages long,which chronicles all major happenings in the life of the Band (including the recent comeback years) and on each individual member's background from childhood!
Spotted it in Waterstones Newry the other day, £21.99.Immediately did what everyone concerned about the future of town centre retail should do...immediately pulled by smartphone out,pressed the Amazon app,and saved £7! Arrived yesterday!
Quote from: T Fearon on December 22, 2013, 09:04:49 PM
Excellent book! Hardback A4 sized encyclopaedia of Horslips,nearly 300 pages long,which chronicles all major happenings in the life of the Band (including the recent comeback years) and on each individual member's background from childhood!
Hopefully Santa will oblige......
It's good read - light and fluffy.
And Shamrock Shore gets one or indeed two mentions.....
Gig announcement imminent - 21 June 2014 - Dunluce Castle in Antrim.
Summer solstice so the lads may sacrifice a few virgins on stage - if any are to be had!
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 09, 2014, 08:08:43 AM
Gig announcement imminent - 21 June 2014 - Dunluce Castle in Antrim.
Good stuff.
Summer solstice so the lads may sacrifice a few virgins on stage - if any are to be had!
Probably quite a few male ones at Horslips gigs.
QuoteProbably quite a few male ones at Horslips gigs.
You're for it now!
You know Billy, he is probably right ???
TG4 anois.
I have an extra VIP ticket for Dunluce if anyone is interested then PM me.
Should be a great gig - looking forward to it.
Any takers for Armaghniac's ticket?
You would get the chance to meet me...................... :-*
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 18, 2014, 12:50:21 PM
Should be a great gig - looking forward to it.
Any takers for Armaghniac's ticket?
It would be easier to sell a tented ticket if there was a prospect of a few heavy showers. Alas, this does not seem likely.
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 18, 2014, 12:50:21 PM
You would get the chance to meet me...................... :-*
Will you be grumpy after Celtic Park?
QuoteWill you be grumpy after Celtic Park?
Of course not......if I pulled a puss every time Longford lost I'd be in a quare state.
Win, lose or draw or be Carlowed in Derry I'll be in flying form at the gig.
Shameless plug.
Horslips play Ulster Hall in Belfast on Sun Oct 26 2014.
While this is good news I got an email this morning saying that the standing area that I had booked for is not a seating area. Bastards.
Obviously our zimmerframes are a health hazard. >:(
Any gaaboard brethern going?
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 06, 2014, 02:17:18 PM
While this is good news I got an email this morning saying that the standing area that I had booked for is not a seating area. b**tards.
I wouldn't stand for it.
Quote from: armaghniac on October 06, 2014, 05:26:00 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 06, 2014, 02:17:18 PM
While this is good news I got an email this morning saying that the standing area that I had booked for is not a seating area. b**tards.
I wouldn't stand for it.
You can't take it lying down.
I just checked this, there is reserved seating left in the H block.
Is that in the shrine to terrorism?
Heading as well Shamrock looking forward to it. I was up at Dunluce, did you make it up for that one, Limerick was just to far away for me, lol. Should be a cracker!
Anybody at the concert tonight ?
I was. Rocked the joint. Cleansed the place after that Paisley shite the previous weekend.
Another class show, an enjoyable night!
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 27, 2014, 08:28:21 AM
I was. Rocked the joint. Cleansed the place after that Paisley shite the previous weekend.
I believe the Paisley gig was quite funereal in its tone.
Quote from: orangeman on October 26, 2014, 10:55:41 PM
Anybody at the concert tonight ?
Yep, and mighty stuff it was! :)
Are they riding in 2015?
Fraid not.
Word on the street is that it's over now for good :(
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 21, 2015, 10:54:42 AM
Fraid not.
Word on the street is that it's over now for good :(
That will be awful ! I missed the Holy Ghost's gig in Armagh due to a family wedding. It will be gutting not to get a nice send off for the band.
Shameless plug alert.
Eamon Carr, Meath poet and drummer, has a new play coming out.
It's loosely based on the legend of Cú Chulainn etc etc. I won't bore ye (more) with the narrative.
It's being crowd funded - so if you have a minimum of €10 to donate you can visit the website:
http://fundit.ie/project/dusk (http://fundit.ie/project/dusk)
and read all about it.
Fean,Devlin and Lockhart appearing at O'Connor event in Armagh with poet Paul Muldoon again in early November.Tickets only £12!
What's the event and where is it?
Great gig last night,in a hotel room in Armagh,with an intimate audience of a couple of hundred people just.Part of an evening which also involved numerous distinguished poets and writers! Got the Horslips autobiography autographed by Barry,Jim and Johnny
Christ. I was in the same room as Tony Fearon and didn't realise it!
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 05, 2016, 10:45:49 AM
Christ. I was in the same room as Tony Fearon and didn't realise it!
Did you not smell the bullshite?
SR,it may interest you to know that Paul Muldoon and Barry Devlin both attended my Alma Mater in Armagh,up beside the Cathedral,and visible from last night's venue.Although they were there a (good) few years before me,we all shared several of the same teachers.
Quote from: T Fearon on November 05, 2016, 03:22:27 PM
SR,it may interest you to know that Paul Muldoon and Barry Devlin both attended my Alma Mater in Armagh,up beside the Cathedral,and visible from last night's venue.Although they were there a (good) few years before me,we all shared several of the same teachers.
Are you even a Horslips fan?
Quote from: T Fearon on November 05, 2016, 06:40:30 AM
Great gig last night,in a hotel room in Armagh,with an intimate audience of a couple of hundred people just.Part of an evening which also involved numerous distinguished poets and writers! Got the Horslips autobiography autographed by Barry,Jim and Johnny
Do you really think one single person gives a flying fcuk where you were last night
Is it not appropriate to mention one's attendance at an all too rare Horslips gig,on a Horslip's thread?
Also as you went to the bother of checking the Tir Na Nog guest list to see if my name was on it a few weeks ago,you seem to have a very unhealthy interest in my affairs.
Were you at the invitation only gig in Drogheda prior to the comeback gigs?
No.Why would I have been? I'm just an ordinary fan
By the way at Tir na nOg I happened to ask a guy if he knew you. That wing nut, was his reply. So he's not here then? No way
As I say you seem to have a very unhealthy interest in my affairs.In fact I am locking up all my bunnies
In other news the Barry Devlin scripted 'My Mother and Other Strangers' - set in Norn Iron during WW2/The Emergency will screen on RTE1 tomorrow night at 10.15. Showing on BBC1 next Sunday at 9pm.
If anyone is watching The Fir Bolg on TG4 of a Thursday night the similarities to the Horslips story is uncanny.
http://www.tg4.ie/en/programmes/fir-bolg/ (http://www.tg4.ie/en/programmes/fir-bolg/)
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 11, 2016, 12:21:40 PM
If anyone is watching The Fir Bolg on TG4 of a Thursday night the similarities to the Horslips story is uncanny.
http://www.tg4.ie/en/programmes/fir-bolg/ (http://www.tg4.ie/en/programmes/fir-bolg/)
I suppose it was easier to base it on Horslips, it saves having to get actors that can sing. ;)
Horslips outrage about use of song at 'Irexit' event
http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-42971853
I was hesitant to bring back up my thread for this.
Plenty of coverage Dine Site on this furore.
Barry Devlin was quite annoyed. But I would say 60% of his outrage was real and 40% was divvilmint.
Irexiters - now there's a crowd that would give you a dose of the skitters.
They were pretty adamant on their FB page
Can't imagine there is legal recourse for using the material without permission?
It's hardly worth their while taking a case. Besides it would give oxygen to these gowls.
I never heard of this Irexit spokesperson Hermann Kenny before - any Derry boys know him?