Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: leenie on April 28, 2009, 06:03:48 PM

Title: "DOINGS"
Post by: leenie on April 28, 2009, 06:03:48 PM

i see there is plenty of chat about stags and hens and it got me thinking of "doings" before the weddings..

i thought they had become a thing of the past but i have seen two recently....

so has anyone had a "doing"? are they as cruel as they look? ....

i remember yrs ago a girl i knew got one and was devastated because they put paint in her hair and she has to cut it b4 the wedding after a year of growing it!
Title: Re: "DOINGS"
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 28, 2009, 06:08:26 PM
Wasn't there one in Armagh in last year or two that went horribly wrong were a man suffered hypothermia after being driving around on a trailer half naked covered in flour and stuff for an hour and it freezing.
Post by: ExiledGael on April 28, 2009, 06:16:15 PM
Certainly still going on in the country anyway. Any I've seen have been pretty horrible but nothing too far. There's been a lot of horror stories in relation to brides hair/face being affected for the wedding so people tend to just use flour and eggs now.
Post by: Stalin on April 28, 2009, 06:23:25 PM
Did you bet someone that you could start a shit thread every day this week
Post by: maggie on April 28, 2009, 06:26:21 PM
Quote from: Stalin on April 28, 2009, 06:23:25 PM

yip she did
Post by: leenie on April 28, 2009, 06:30:27 PM

oh no you're on to me..........
Post by: muppet on April 28, 2009, 06:56:34 PM
Quote from: maggie on April 28, 2009, 06:26:21 PM

yip she did

Gnevin is winning though.
Post by: Gnevin on April 28, 2009, 06:58:56 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 28, 2009, 06:56:34 PM
Quote from: maggie on April 28, 2009, 06:26:21 PM

yip she did

Gnevin is winning though.
What was the shit thread I started on Monday?
Post by: leenie on April 28, 2009, 07:17:11 PM
is it annoying ?
Post by: leenie on April 28, 2009, 07:19:04 PM
ah man i was doing so well.... a few fallen comrades but we made a good run at it!
Post by: Puckoon on April 28, 2009, 07:49:44 PM
dangerous shit, some fella a number of years back got scalded with acid by mistake
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 28, 2009, 07:52:07 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 28, 2009, 07:49:44 PM
dangerous shit, some fella a number of years back got scalded with acid by mistake

That was outside Adria's factory in Strabane, the lads grabbed the wrong bucket, thought it was water, it was acid!!  :-\
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 28, 2009, 07:54:26 PM
Was a boy in Cork and other workers pinned him down and stuck an airhose up his arse for  a 'joke' and set it off ... nearly killed him. Great craic those Cork lads.
Post by: illdecide on April 28, 2009, 07:55:13 PM
What about the guy they tied to the lampost and left him there naked for a while and went back into the pub and when they came back out for him he had been raped...Poor sod had his star busted :D :D
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 28, 2009, 07:57:13 PM
Here it is...

Gardaí insist air hose attack was an isolated incident

GARDAI´ in West Cork were adamant yesterday that a callous air hose attack by a number of men on a fellow worker at a sawmill plant had been an isolated incident.
They have dismissed rumours that the 18-year-old victim had been previously bullied at the plant since commencing work in recent months as a packer on a production line.
The seriously injured man and his family from the village of Leap, Co. Cork, have not commented publicly on the incident.
The victim, who has not been named publicly, remains in a stable condition in Cork University Hospital following last week's attack at the Enniskeane-based Grainger Sawmill company's plant.
"It was a surprise attack and he had not been stripped of his clothing," said gardaí. Officers investigating the case, who have interviewed the young man and a number of workmates, dismissed further claims that previous complaints had been made to a supervisor at the plant.
It has been alleged that a number of colleagues restrained the young man shortly after lunchtime on Thursday last and, without interfering with clothing, directed a powerful air hose in the direction of his rear passage.
Three men, aged from 17 to 22, were detained and questioned by gardaí for up to 10 hours on Tuesday at Bandon Garda Station.
A file is being prepared for the DPP. Garda sources have also dismissed media reports that the men detained had made full confessions.
Meanwhile, a number of men at the sawmill factory, that employs upwards of 100 people, have been suspended while gardaí and the company continue their inquiries into the incident.
Post by: gerry on April 28, 2009, 07:59:00 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 28, 2009, 07:52:07 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 28, 2009, 07:49:44 PM

That was outside Adria's factory in Strabane, the lads grabbed the wrong bucket, thought it was water, it was acid!!  :-\

i remember that happening and i think that put an end to alot of doings around the omagh way. it seems to be  bit more tame now.

i got stripped to my boxers and cover in crap and left tied in scarffes entry in omagh, just as desmonds finished their half day on a friday, many moons ago.
Post by: rootthemout on April 28, 2009, 10:33:32 PM
mostly a culchie thing ;)
Post by: ziggysego on April 28, 2009, 11:49:54 PM
Usually just getting tied to a trailer and been carted about the place, down my direction.
Post by: Candyman on April 29, 2009, 11:07:58 AM
There was 1 in Armagh about 6months ago....

This clown and his wife were being driven through a well known republican estate withe the usual flour, eggs etc being thrown. All of a sudden these turned to bricks and bottles and they had to make a quick escape. When I heard the name of the man to be married, I have to admit I had a wee laugh to myself!!!!!  ;D
Post by: Minder on April 29, 2009, 11:15:38 AM
I know of a fella from North Antrim that had his stag do a couple of weeks before the wedding and he gave a stripper a "doing" and word got back to his bride to be.......There was no wedding  :o
Post by: bingobus on April 29, 2009, 11:26:45 AM
Quote from: Minder on April 29, 2009, 11:15:38 AM
I know of a fella from North Antrim that had his stag do a couple of weeks before the wedding and he gave a stripper a "doing" and word got back to his bride to be.......There was no wedding  :o

;D  ;D

Was only ever involved in one doing with a friends brother. Never done it on any friends or had it done to me.

I suppose if one friend gets it, everyone in that group will  get it.

Know lad from the club that hid for two days and nights in the build up to his wedding to avoid one.
Post by: full back on April 29, 2009, 11:30:23 AM
Thing of the past IMHO
Plenty of them years ago, but thank fcuk recently most people have caught
Load of sh1t
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 29, 2009, 11:47:13 AM
My brother got married last year and we just led him to believe he was going to get a doing, his head was a mess for a few days, it was better than actually getting him!  On the night of the rehearsal we parked a van and trailer right outside the chapel entrance and he was afraid to leave the rehearsal!
I agree they should be a thing of the past now too.
Post by: thebandit on April 29, 2009, 12:25:19 PM
Quote from: bingobus on April 29, 2009, 11:26:45 AM

;D  ;D

Was only ever involved in one doing with a friends brother. Never done it on any friends or had it done to me.

Know lad from the club that hid for two days and nights in the build up to his wedding to avoid one.

Originally from a small junior club, about my age?
Post by: bingobus on April 29, 2009, 12:28:33 PM
Quote from: thebandit on April 29, 2009, 12:25:19 PM
Quote from: bingobus on April 29, 2009, 11:26:45 AM

;D  ;D

Originally from a small junior club, about my age?

In the very distant past? Father and Uncle former Blayney greats? Hands like Shovels? Welder?

Than yes  ;D

I remember Blayney had a league game in the week before the wedding and just after half time the Lads hunting for him landed in. They where very down hearted at that stage.
Post by: lurganblue on April 29, 2009, 01:22:02 PM
heard about a fella from lisburn who got tied to a post near sprucefield and covered in a load of food and crap.  it was mid summer and a scorcher of a day.  When they left him the wasps then stung the fcuk out of him. passers by had to cut him free
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 29, 2009, 01:29:21 PM
The brother in law was tarred and feathered and had his hair dyed purple.

The other brother in law went into hiding for ages used to drive the car right up to the front door of the house and leave the car running whilst he unlocked the door of the house so he could make a quick getaway if anyone came round the corner of the house!

They eventually caught him coming out of the church from the wedding practice a couple of nights before the wedding, so they had to go easy on him!
Post by: Maguire01 on April 29, 2009, 01:39:46 PM
Quote from: illdecide on April 28, 2009, 07:55:13 PM
What about the guy they tied to the lampost and left him there naked for a while and went back into the pub and when they came back out for him he had been raped...Poor sod had his star busted :D :D
Is that funny?
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 29, 2009, 01:41:19 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 29, 2009, 01:29:21 PM
The brother in law was tarred and feathered and had his hair dyed purple.

The other brother in law went into hiding for ages used to drive the car right up to the front door of the house and leave the car running whilst he unlocked the door of the house so he could make a quick getaway if anyone came round the corner of the house!

They eventually caught him coming out of the church from the wedding practice a couple of nights before the wedding, so they had to go easy on him!
Thats what the hoods got years ago!!
Post by: screenexile on April 29, 2009, 02:15:12 PM
They're still done round our way as well... I f**king hate them. If ever I do get married (I have faith the right girls is still out there) and someone tries to give me a doing I will just keep swinging until I knock as many of them out as possible and invitations to said wedding would soon be rescinded. I still fail to see the point in tying someone up and driving them through a town for people to throw stuff at them. It's no craic at all and I don't know how this out dated practice didn't die out years ago!!
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 29, 2009, 02:16:13 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 29, 2009, 02:15:12 PM
They're still done round our way as well... I f**king hate them. If ever I do get married (I have faith the right girls is still out there) and someone tries to give me a doing I will just keep swinging until I knock as many of them out as possible and invitations to said wedding would soon be rescinded. I still fail to see the point in tying someone up and driving them through a town for people to throw stuff at them. It's no craic at all and I don't know how this out dated practice didn't die out years ago!!
Bigamy rocks!
Post by: delboy on April 29, 2009, 02:35:07 PM
Quote from: rootthemout on April 28, 2009, 10:33:32 PM
mostly a culchie thing ;)

Yeah a strong correlation between webbed feet and "doings".
Post by: screenmachine on April 29, 2009, 03:44:52 PM
Still can't believe that someone's idea of a 'doing' was to stick an air hose up a mans hole and then turn the thing on!  Eggs and flour is one thing but blowin the shuck out of a man doesn't seem the most civilised of things to be at!  I have to admit though, it has made me laugh a bit every time I've read this thread although the poor lad must have been in agony!
Post by: Canalman on April 29, 2009, 04:09:44 PM
Think I read many years ago of a tragic incident in Derry/Tyrone ???? of a lad been doused by acid by mistake (seemingly his "mates" thought it was water). Awful injuries....... almost sure I read it in the paper so not just an urban legend. Happened in a factory I think. Very sad story.

Have gone to loads of Stags and never seen or heard of any "pranks". Certainly not imo an urban phenomenon.
Post by: illdecide on April 29, 2009, 04:38:26 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 29, 2009, 01:39:46 PM
Is that funny?

Well if i said i didn't laugh when i heard this i would be telling lies. I'd say the giver was laughing more than the reciever though during this incident...
Post by: bingobus on April 29, 2009, 05:01:58 PM
Quote from: illdecide on April 29, 2009, 04:38:26 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on April 29, 2009, 01:39:46 PM
Is that funny?

Well if i said i didn't laugh when i heard this i would be telling lies. I'd say the giver was laughing more than the reciever though during this incident...

Thought that one was an urban myth myself...heard it a few times in different locations to different friends of friends.

Maybe there is a serial stag party rapist doing the rounds  ;D
Post by: delboy on April 29, 2009, 05:07:11 PM
Quote from: Canalman on April 29, 2009, 04:09:44 PM
Think I read many years ago of a tragic incident in Derry/Tyrone ???? of a lad been doused by acid by mistake (seemingly his "mates" thought it was water). Awful injuries....... almost sure I read it in the paper so not just an urban legend. Happened in a factory I think. Very sad story.

Have gone to loads of Stags and never seen or heard of any "pranks". Certainly not imo an urban phenomenon.

Unfortunately its not an urban legend, it happenen in the adria factory in strabane, poor fupper got caustic soda poured over him, his colleguages thought it was a container of soap.
He was badly burnt as i remember and the wedding was obviously cancelled, i seem to recall reading somewhere that his fiancee wasn't able to overcome the idea of marrying someone with bad facial scarring and they parted ways  :'(

This is a link to the story although its so old most of the detail is no longer their (maybe if you login it is) http://www.irishnews.com/searchlog.asp?reason=denied_empty&script_name=/pageacc.asp&path_info=/pageacc.asp&tser1=ser&par=ben&sid=370832 (http://www.irishnews.com/searchlog.asp?reason=denied_empty&script_name=/pageacc.asp&path_info=/pageacc.asp&tser1=ser&par=ben&sid=370832)
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 30, 2009, 02:03:22 PM
Quote from: delboy on April 29, 2009, 05:07:11 PM

Unfortunately its not an urban legend, it happenen in the adria factory in strabane, poor fupper got caustic soda poured over him, his colleguages thought it was a container of soap.
He was badly burnt as i remember and the wedding was obviously cancelled, i seem to recall reading somewhere that his fiancee wasn't able to overcome the idea of marrying someone with bad facial scarring and they parted ways  :'(
Not true delboy you plonker  :P, still very much married today, so a happy ending of sorts.
Post by: delboy on April 30, 2009, 02:11:41 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on April 30, 2009, 02:03:22 PM
Quote from: delboy on April 29, 2009, 05:07:11 PM

Not true delboy you plonker  :P, still very much married today, so a happy ending of sorts.

I did preface that comment by alluding to it being a hazy recollection of the events (it is over ten years ago to be fair). Glad to hear the got married and are still together  :) thanks for the info trigger  ;)
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 30, 2009, 02:27:28 PM
Glad to clear that up for you derek. 
Post by: haranguerer on April 30, 2009, 05:28:35 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 29, 2009, 02:15:12 PM

Spot on. Was just thinking this as reading the thread...