Anyone else think soccer is boring? Unless there is a penalty shoot out it can put me to sleep.
And if you need proof, here's the Simpsons...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9VgZjzHRQlo (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9VgZjzHRQlo)
Puts me to sleep.
Never trust a man who doesn't like soccer
Why?
Watched United V Everton this evening on my own and found myself flicking between TG4 and the History Channel.
30 of us were in the club yesterday evening watching Down V Mayo in the U21 semi final ....screaming at the screen..... goin nuts
Can't understand why so many people love it . Each to their own i suppose.
I'd personally rather watch lawn Bowls..they're about equal in excitement value
Quote from: 5 Sams on April 19, 2009, 10:59:41 PM
Watched United V Everton this evening on my own and found myself flicking between TG4 and the History Channel.
30 of us were in the club yesterday evening watching Down V Mayo in the U21 semi final ....screaming at the screen..... goin nuts
That's like comparing an apple to a shovel.
I don't trust you ChrisOWC, your eyes are too close together.
So 'The Simpsons' find soccer boring. Yeah, like american football is filled with excitement, most of the fans spend more time getting food to eat during breaks in play to let on and off players.
The Simpsons made me laugh, but I'm not basing my opinion on how dull soccer is on it. To do that, I just watch a match.
Love a bit of soccer. Hurling doesn't really interest me at all though.
Yes it is very boring. Watch your team and some times they won't score at all...at least with GAA you are likely to have a few scores up on the board by the final whistle.
And the men are so vain they are all waxed and plastic looking there's no good looking hairy ones at all. Awful so it is!!! :P
What you think of It from The Addam's Family downgirl?
Ah now Ziggy sure he doesn't have a manly neck so he's no good to me at all! :P
Wouldn't say i think it is boring, have been to a few matches and always enjoyed it and that most recent Liverpool V Chelsea Champions League game was highly entertaining.
Now cricket on the other hand, snoozeville.
soccer isnt boring, ur just comparing it to gaa which is much faster. obviously you are going to have more scores in gaelic because u have more than one option to go for to score ie goals and points!
I can't sleep tonight :'( Any soccer matches on TV? Might help me sleep.
Quote from: ziggysego on April 20, 2009, 03:17:00 AM
I can't sleep tonight :'( Any soccer matches on TV? Might help me sleep.
Id say if you tell yourself a few more of them wee jokes or yours, you wouldn't be long in dosing off ;)
It can be boring alright, though Gaelic Football can often put me to sleep as well. Theres a lot better sports out there than soccer.
Soccer IS boring.
I dont mind the latter stages of the champions league or maybe the knockout stages at the World Cup. But watching your average mid-table clash? Away te f**k.
Most importantly, lacks the HONESTY (in every sense) of its lesser paid counterparts, GAA and rugby.
Lasts 90 MINUTES (or more!) and has LESS SCORES.
There are THOUSANDS of games every season so games live short in the memory.
The game is ridden with divers, cheats and mediocre players on OBSCENE money.
Conversely, the game is a RIP-OFF to supporters (tickets, shirts, etc).
Many players have little LOYALTY to clubs, fans, managers, whatever part of the world they're in or each other.
The owners of the clubs have no LOYALTY and being a soccer man is a low priority.
In no other sport are there so many OBNOXIOUS fans, i.e. the game is quite frankly ridden with SCUM
In summary, the game has little RESPECT and as such is not deserving of RESPECT. In this day and age it functions primarily as a business anyway. Money > Entertainment > Loyalty.
A giant con of a sport.
Tripe.
The only way to make soccer interesting - put a bet on the match. You could watch anybody play if you have money on it.
I find it quite boring but my main frustration lies with the "men" lying down at every opportunity, holding their legs, agony on the faces only to get up a few seconds later and "limp" about for a while before miraculously returning to full health. Bring back Vinnie Jones, Julian Dicks and Neil Ruddock. f**king poofs the lot of them.
Agree. The marketing guru's must have some serious subliminal tricks up their sleeves to make so many people see it as entertainment, especially if it's not your local team.
The thing about soccer is you don't need to watch it for the entire game. I've often seen "fans" in the pub with their back to the TV who just turn around when someone goes oooooooo. If you did this in Gaelic or Rugby you'd have a sore neck.
Quote from: whiskeysteve on April 20, 2009, 11:05:31 AM
Soccer IS boring.
I dont mind the latter stages of the champions league or maybe the knockout stages at the World Cup. But watching your average mid-table clash? Away te f**k. For me unless watching your county, watching the average NFL clash except the top teams can be equally boring
Most importantly, lacks the HONESTY (in every sense) of its lesser paid counterparts, GAA and rugby. GAA and Rugby has it primadonnas, in general you are not going to be a top level athlete unless you have the commitment and honesty to get to the top. Sure there is a bit of diving, but there is plenty of cheating in the GAA, why is a dive anymore of a cheat than a corner back pulling someones jersey, or the umpire at the local club match waving a tight call of a point wide when it is a score, or Aidan O'Mahony last year etc etc..
Lasts 90 MINUTES (or more!) and has LESS SCORES. This means a score means much more and gives a greater 'buzz'
There are THOUSANDS of games every season so games live short in the memory. Usually you would only be a fan of one team in a certain division so i dont see the problem of thousands of games, this just indicates the world wide popularity of the sport
The game is ridden with divers, cheats and mediocre players on OBSCENE money. Believe me there is no mediocre players in the premiership, its basic economics is the reason they are so high paid, Demand and supply, very few players can play at that level and everybody wants to see them, this equals big wages, same in any line of work. The best player in your local town probably wouldnt have a chance at getting near a premier league team the level is that high. We all think GAA players are extremely talented, if the whole world played gaa the last 120 years, the likely hood is sean cavanagh for example would be rated as highly as robbie keane in the world game, robbie keane prob wouldnt be in the best 100 players in the world
Conversely, the game is a RIP-OFF to supporters (tickets, shirts, etc). This is only true at the very highest level were everyone wants to see games, hence the high prices.
Many players have little LOYALTY to clubs, fans, managers, whatever part of the world they're in or each other. This is true, though plenty of players do have loyalty.
The owners of the clubs have no LOYALTY and being a soccer man is a low priority.Again only at the very highest level this could be true.
In no other sport are there so many OBNOXIOUS fans, i.e. the game is quite frankly ridden with SCUM I agree they could learn from the gaa here
In summary, the game has little RESPECT and as such is not deserving of RESPECT. In this day and age it functions primarily as a business anyway. Money > Entertainment > Loyalty. In my eyes the money just adds to the prestige of the game, the coverage and hype of say a champions league final or world cup final makes it an unbelieveable stage for a footballer, imagine a billion people watching you play.
A giant con of a sport.Agreed
Tripe.
Just on the Robbie keane points, seriously I accept theres some talented individuals playing all sports but when Robbie Keane retires and says to kids in the pub in 40 years time I captained the free state, its going to sound mightily impressive. They will never realise how big a bluffa like Duffa he really was. The fact he captained the free state for years could make anyone have a serious error of judgement and believe that in some way he merited it or earned it and him just a bluffa like duffa. In Gaelic football you earn respect, in soccor you get paid to bluff. I think that at best there should be one combined thread called the soccor thread or indeed the "minority sports" thread, some eejit is talking of abillion people watching the champions league final, does that person believe that, for real? When did you last really intensely watch a soccor game on TV especially in a pub and really do more than glance at the screen outside the goals and another thing, when you have Andy gray taking 2 hours to review 90 minutes of a nil nil you know they've fooled you again after fooling you for an hour and a half. Wasnt there a thing a couple of years ago on sky called box office which felt that people would be prepared to pay per view for "box office" games - the people soon realised the con and they didnt buy. Those who sold soccor as life and death, as culture to us, caught most of us for a while but the emperor now parades naked and we all laugh, l only a few irish still get conned. As for the ongoing evolution of football I can see the future whereby an international game 13 a side can be played on the reduced pitchs of old bankrupt soccor clubs facilites bought for a song by the GAA to facilitate the games people like.
My wife supports Spurs, nothing worse than flicking to sky sports and finding Spurs vs Wigan on tv and then having to watch it. I'd rather watch paint dry. Don't mind watching the big 4 play but i'd rather watch the Longford junior 'B' championship on TG4 than watch any of the premiership mid table matches.
Quote from: rrhf on April 20, 2009, 12:43:03 PM
Just on the Robbie keane points, seriously I accept theres some talented individuals playing all sports but when Robbie Keane retires and says to kids in the pub in 40 years time I captained the free state, its going to sound mightily impressive. They will never realise how big a bluffa like Duffa he really was. The fact he captained the free state for years could make anyone have a serious error of judgement and believe that in some way he merited it or earned it and him just a bluffa like duffa. In Gaelic football you earn respect, in soccor you get paid to bluff. I think that at best there should be one combined thread called the soccor thread.
I'm for one am impressed he invented a time machine ,travelled to the 30's and played football for IFS.
Watched the Man U Everton game and it was pretty dross. A mate supports Man Utd and was gutted and I mean I thought he was going to start crying. Seriously do not understand that at all. Why would you care that much about a team that is hundreds of miles away containing players you would never even have had the chance to meet for a team that plays in an English league?
Really don't get it. If my club or Derry loses I can get myself into an awful state but it's where I'm from with teams that contain people who live close to me or who I've went to School with or grown up with. For the life of me I cannot understand why people take soccer so seriously!
Quote from: Mario on April 20, 2009, 11:37:29 AM
GAA and Rugby has it primadonnas, in general you are not going to be a top level athlete unless you have the commitment and honesty to get to the top. Sure there is a bit of diving, but there is plenty of cheating in the GAA, why is a dive anymore of a cheat than a corner back pulling someones jersey, or the umpire at the local club match waving a tight call of a point wide when it is a score, or Aidan O'Mahony last year etc etc..
Bullshit! :D Show me one Rugby primadonna! Not in the nature of the sport. And if you do I'll name you 100 soccer primadonnas. Spice boys maybe but tough men when it comes down to it. By honesty I mostly meant honesty of effort and in this respect rugby really stands up in terms of 'body on the line' bravery. Some of the knocks that these boys get up from, and the shit they put up with with no complaints is fantastic. GAA more of a 'every blade of grass' honesty of effort. Now contrast this with the play in the likes of Serie A, and also the shenanigans of soccer players in general when contact occurs. They have the market cornered on primadonnas.
This means a score means much more and gives a greater 'buzz'
Maybe if its a knockout match. Otherwise you may have wasted an hour of your life to witness a run of the mill header or two from a corner, say. Would it be unfair to say 80%-90% of soccer goals are much of a muchness or fairly unremarkable? This is also the case for GAA/rugby, but when someone scores 5/6 its good to watch
Believe me there is no mediocre players in the premiership, its basic economics is the reason they are so high paid, Demand and supply, very few players can play at that level and everybody wants to see them, this equals big wages, same in any line of work. The best player in your local town probably wouldnt have a chance at getting near a premier league team the level is that high. We all think GAA players are extremely talented, if the whole world played gaa the last 120 years, the likely hood is sean cavanagh for example would be rated as highly as robbie keane in the world game, robbie keane prob wouldnt be in the best 100 players in the world
Having seen the likes of Paul McShane, Gary Breen, etc I'd have to disagree. I dont doubt the premiership has the more elite sportsmen of the 3 main sports BUT to the point where they warrent wages of 30, 40, 50 grand a WEEK. BALLS.
Not much to disagree with in your other points other than to say loyalty in soccer at the lower levels is usually down to the lack of ability rather than love of a club. You could say who would turn down big money and I would agree, but this is solely good for the individual concerned.
Quote from: whiskeysteve on April 20, 2009, 01:04:04 PM
GAA and Rugby has it primadonnas, in general you are not going to be a top level athlete unless you have the commitment and honesty to get to the top. Sure there is a bit of diving, but there is plenty of cheating in the GAA, why is a dive anymore of a cheat than a corner back pulling someones jersey, or the umpire at the local club match waving a tight call of a point wide when it is a score, or Aidan O'Mahony last year etc etc..
Bullshit! :D Show me one Rugby primadonna! Not in the nature of the sport. And if you do I'll name you 100 soccer primadonnas. Spice boys maybe but tough men when it comes down to it. By honesty I mostly meant honesty of effort and in this respect rugby really stands up in terms of 'body on the line' bravery. Some of the knocks that these boys get up from, and the shit they put up with with no complaints is fantastic. GAA more of a 'every blade of grass' honesty of effort. Now contrast this with the play in the likes of Serie A, and also the shenanigans of soccer players in general when contact occurs. They have the market cornered on primadonnas.
(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_Z0GMBaSoOOM/R9-a66ayPmI/AAAAAAAABDY/wtvCdvQteyY/s400/gavin-henson-dumped.jpg)
screen exile could you imagine that man meeting say ferdinan or ronado, those guys wouldnt give them the dirt of his shoe never mind say hello. We complain about our women buying hello mags etc for the celebrity worshipping - the adulation of the soccor is about men following men because they are paid more, have more women and have more glamouous lives than them - the football is only secondary certainly to some of the guys on here. Laois lad and the like
Quotei'd rather watch the Longford junior 'B' championship on TG4 than watch any of the premiership mid table matches
Trust me, you really, really don't want to do that! :-\
Richard Dunne and Andy reid - elite athletes. Paul Mc Grath (legend of soccor) was fit to play soccor for 6 years without training, they'd have been playing gaelic around and over him after 6 weeks. Robbie keane can hit the clubs have a great time altogether and still make it in to work in time to capatin his country. Would ye's ever catch yourselve on and ask why arebeing consistently fooled? Because it pays someone very well to keep you fooled.
Quote from: rrhf on April 20, 2009, 01:09:14 PM
screen exile could you imagine that man meeting say ferdinan or ronado, those guys wouldnt give them the dirt of his shoe never mind say hello. We complain about our women buying hello mags etc for the celebrity worshipping - the adulation of the soccor is about men following men because they are paid more, have more women and have more glamouous lives than them - the football is only secondary certainly to some of the guys on here. Laois lad and the like
:D :D :D :D :D
Quote from: ziggysego on April 20, 2009, 01:06:33 PM
Quote from: whiskeysteve on April 20, 2009, 01:04:04 PM
(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_Z0GMBaSoOOM/R9-a66ayPmI/AAAAAAAABDY/wtvCdvQteyY/s400/gavin-henson-dumped.jpg)
Thats a Spice Boy, Ziggy.
NOT a Primadonna, as Matthew Tait will tell you.
Tougher and braver than the so called 'hard men' of the soccer world.
Edit:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PZk4atcx3gg&feature=related
I really don't buy into this nonsense that just because there are fewer scores in soccer that automatically makes it a poor game. By that logic, basketball is the greatest game in the world. The fact that a goal is so crucial means that it takes that bit more skill / effort to score one. Underdogs also have far more of a chance in soccer. There's always the chance of scoring a freak goal and holding out for a victory. What chance do the likes of Westmeath / Down / Kerry have against Kilkenny hurlers? And to say that soccer players don't care is just nonsense. Yes you get the odd Berbatov / Anelka but the vast majority are desperate to do well for themselves and their team - like Gaelic Footballers
Basically sports are a matter of personal taste. Personally my favourite sport is Gaelic football. None of the rest really come close but after that, soccer would be my next favourite with rugby, boxing and hurling next in line.
Watching soccer makes me cringe (and very very angry). I simply cannot look past all the play acting and leg holding to see a game that is worth taking time out to watch.
And to keep Laois lad happy ---
I gave up watching soccer years ago as I found it mindnumbingly boring.
And by the way I F******* HATE RUGBY :D
Quote from: Rossfan on April 20, 2009, 06:25:28 PM
You hate everything and anything that isn't from your god awful county..
You really need to get out more :)
Worse than boring, it is compulsive boredom. No matter how boring a game is I will sit through the turgidity and fanatically bore myself into a stupor. Then again I am a Liverpool fan and Rafa has made us the way we are!
Quote from: SidelineKick on April 20, 2009, 01:48:40 PM
Watching soccer makes me cringe (and very very angry). I simply cannot look past all the play acting and leg holding to see a game that is worth taking time out to watch.
It must break your heart to watch Tyrone then?
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 20, 2009, 06:38:07 PM
You hate everything and anything that isn't from .... county..
Not true ...my wife is not from Ros and I dont need to leave this lovely County as everything I want to see is here . :D..except Sam ;)
Quote from: Rossfan on April 20, 2009, 06:50:58 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 20, 2009, 06:38:07 PM
You hate everything and anything that isn't from .... county..
Not true ...my wife is not from Ros and I dont need to leave this lovely County as everything I want to see is here . :D..except Sam ;)
Go on admit it you really wish she was... ;)
I agree soccer in general is boring as hell. The top matches arent bad but outside that its just plain boring and hard to watch. Sky have did some job selling it. Still wouldnt miss a big european match or a world cup game generally. Some of these can be fairly entertaining.
I actually rate it as a better game than rugby though. They've did some job selling in it this country although a lot of it is down to local success. I get bored pretty quickly of watching big men running into each other and players trying to kick for touch.
QuoteWatched the Man U Everton game and it was pretty dross. A mate supports Man Utd and was gutted and I mean I thought he was going to start crying. Seriously do not understand that at all. Why would you care that much about a team that is hundreds of miles away containing players you would never even have had the chance to meet for a team that plays in an English league?
I can understand people being attached to their teams alright but what is beyond me is the rivalry. I don't understand the shite that goes on here between man u and liverpool fans. Why would an Irishman feel a rivalry with another Irishman who happens to support a different english soccer team ???
and I like soccer.
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 20, 2009, 07:00:49 PM
QuoteWatched the Man U Everton game and it was pretty dross. A mate supports Man Utd and was gutted and I mean I thought he was going to start crying. Seriously do not understand that at all. Why would you care that much about a team that is hundreds of miles away containing players you would never even have had the chance to meet for a team that plays in an English league?
I can understand people being attached to their teams alright but what is beyond me is the rivalry. I don't understand the shite that goes on here between man u and liverpool fans. Why would an Irishman feel a rivalry with another Irishman who happens to support a different english soccer team ???
and I like soccer.
Nah I completely understand the winding and slagging between Irish United/ Liverpool/ Chelsea fans, that's half the craic for me. What I think is ridiculous is United fans from over here getting worked up about Man City, or Chelsea fans 'hating' Fulham, when there are next to no supporters of those teams in this country.
Quote from: AFS on April 20, 2009, 07:09:16 PM
Nah I completely understand the winding and slagging between Irish United/ Liverpool/ Chelsea fans, that's half the craic for me. What I think is ridiculous is United fans from over here getting worked up about Man City, or Chelsea fans 'hating' Fulham, when there are next to no supporters of those teams in this country.
I would agree with you on that point to be fair.
I have never hated Everton for example,they never really bothered me,some Man United fans on here do seem to dislike Man City for some reason though.
Not true ...my wife is not from Ros
Go on admit it you really wish she was... ;)
Who'd want to live near their in laws :D
What i find boring is talking about how boring something is...
And before anyone asks why i posted...It was out of sheer boredom!
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 20, 2009, 07:00:49 PM
and I like soccer.
What's so difficult to understand? Most people start following one of those teams from a young age, and they grow up with mates following other teams and all the slagging and winding up that goes with it. And just because the team is based in England doesn't mean your interest and passion for them is less valid or genuinely felt.
This shite (not saying its your view Pints) there's something wrong with you because you like soccer and have a passionate interest in some English club is arrogant bollocks. People have different interests and anyone who condemns someone just because they like an English soccer team is just a tosser.
QuoteWhat's so difficult to understand? Most people start following one of those teams from a young age, and they grow up with mates following other teams and all the slagging and winding up that goes with it. And just because the team is based in England doesn't mean your interest and passion for them is less valid or genuinely felt.
Well if your mates support whatever team i can understand someone loving to beat them, it's blindly taking on a club's rivaliries is what I dont understand. Why would an Irish man utd supporter care anymore about beating man city than they would about beating blackburn or whatever?
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 20, 2009, 11:18:19 PM
QuoteWhat's so difficult to understand? Most people start following one of those teams from a young age, and they grow up with mates following other teams and all the slagging and winding up that goes with it. And just because the team is based in England doesn't mean your interest and passion for them is less valid or genuinely felt.
Well if your mates support whatever team i can understand someone loving to beat them, it's blindly taking on a club's rivaliries is what I dont understand. Why would an Irish man utd supporter care anymore about beating man city than they would about beating blackburn or whatever?
That is a fair point.
bores me to death to be honest recently. With no Irish players playing for the top clubs anymore- its hard to identify with them anymore. I watch the champions league and spanish soccer just for entertainment. I have no interest in the premiership. After you watch la liga- you'll never watch the premiership again.
Used to revel in the absolute boredom of the Don Howe/George Graham era. Arsenal were chronic to watch but it became so memerising for the supporters that there was a pride to be taken in it.
You can spot the Arsenal supporter from the 80s miles away. They have a deeply burrowed frown from years of studying the off-side trap. I'd go back to that in a flash. Feck Wenger's total football.
Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 20, 2009, 11:18:19 PM
If you cannot understand that, then you're dimmer that first thought.
If you adopt a religion or become a vegetarian you don't just pick or choose the bits you want. You embrace it all. I only know about 3 Spurs fans. I'd bury them alive.
GAA people who feel the need to repetedly say they hate soccer are boring.
Quote from: longrunsthefox on April 20, 2009, 11:58:42 PM
GAA people who feel the need to repetedly say they hate soccer are boring.
esp those who hang around a gaa discussion board, you want to stay away from them
I fell asleep during the Arsenal Chelsea FA cup semi at weekend there..not overally boring, just not worth trying to stay awake for..
Tony, Gs Man and who's the other one ONeill?
Boring no chance,especialy wen u do an aul footy bet on a saturday and ur waitn on the last team and its nil nil and they score on the 94th minute to get a bet up lol ;D
Quote from: ziggysego on April 21, 2009, 01:38:51 AM
Tony, Gs Man and who's the other one ONeill?
Surely it's just a coincidence that they're spurs fans. You'd want to bury those two alive regardless
I fell asleep during the United match on Sunday...
I admit that I think most soccer is boring but I still find myself putting it on. You can't argue matches such as Chelsea Liverpool aren't good, but they are a rare occurrence...
After the Galway/Clare match on Sunday one of the lads wanted to watch the soccer so we went to a pub in Ennis. I thought the hurling was poor, but the soccer was terrible. I have lost a lot of interest in soccer, I will check the score and watch the Irish matches, but I rarely ever watch a full 90 minute soccer match.
What I find funny, is when an Irishman supports an English soccer team, and from then on with no justification what so ever all rival teams become "scumbags". And I mean they go beyond winding up and joking, they actually hate the other teams and players, just because they are supposed to be a rival of the team they support. How can one justify this when they have no connections to either club what so ever.
I'd be a big Liverpool fan but would not watch a full 90 minutes of any other team bar a final or some spanish games. Would watch highlights on MOTD, Football first etc and would flick over to catch up on other games as they are playing. If its a close game and exciting, i may stayed tuned in but if result is gone, I'd find myself turning over. Can't watch United live.
Would be the same for GAA though as well. May watch all the big games but a Mayo V Leitrim game would have zero appeal to me.
I really think you need some sort of attachment to games to watch them and enjoy them.
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on April 21, 2009, 08:53:37 AM
I admit that I think most soccer is boring but I still find myself putting it on. You can't argue matches such as Chelsea Liverpool aren't good, but they are a rare occurrence...
The last world cup was a cracking tournament. The games were generally brilliant with high levels of excitement. Unfortunately that cant always be said for international fare.
Quote from: Puckoon on April 21, 2009, 06:46:40 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on April 21, 2009, 08:53:37 AM
The last world cup was a cracking tournament. The games were generally brilliant with high levels of excitement. Unfortunately that cant always be said for international fare.
I didn't really regard the 2006 World Cup as all that great
Euro 08 was one of the best tournaments I have ever seen though
Maybe Euro08 is what I meant. Which tournament did holland set alight and then falter in?
Quote from: Puckoon on April 21, 2009, 06:50:08 PM
Maybe Euro08 is what I meant. Which tournament did holland set alight and then falter in?
All of them
I think I meant Euro 08. I dont mind being wrong.
06 did give us zidane however.
Quote from: Puckoon on April 21, 2009, 06:54:14 PM
I think I meant Euro 08. I dont mind being wrong.
06 did give us zidane however.
Yeah Id say its was the Euro 08 you meant,that was some tournament some brilliant games in it
Quote from: Orior on April 19, 2009, 10:40:03 PM
Anyone else think soccer is boring? Unless there is a penalty shoot out it can put me to sleep.
And if you need proof, here's the Simpsons...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9VgZjzHRQlo (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9VgZjzHRQlo)
Soccer is bollocks !!!
That game tonight def wasnt boring .
Quote from: cavan4ever on April 21, 2009, 10:08:29 PM
Ah it was yeah It was shocking boring,its the worst and most boring game in the world ::)
I think when two teams with the right attitude go at each other it can be a very entertaining game and I do enjoy watching soccer games where there is genuine passion evident on the pitch and in the crowd. Some of the big derby games across europe and especially in Greece & Turkey can make for some great athmospheres. One of the problems with the sport is that there is far far too much money and hype in it now. All the best players are moving to a handful of elite teams. The quality everywhere else is dropping so when the 2nd tier teams play one of the big teams they tend to play extremely defensively which can make for some real shite games. I think in general, the standards of soccer throughout the world are dropping while the levels of hype get higher and higher. Its a bit like the housing boom in Ireland, it isn't sustainable and soon something will have to give.
Quote from: cavan4ever on April 21, 2009, 10:08:29 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/irish/8011283.stm
Even Cliftonville and Linfield are getting in on the act!