GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: REDCOL on April 10, 2009, 01:50:02 PM

Title: Pride of the Parish - New GAA Series
Post by: REDCOL on April 10, 2009, 01:50:02 PM
This seems like a very good concept, with all the media focus on the county scene the club is often ignored. Hope they do a good job on producing this programme and dont just stick with the established county star.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/prideoftheparish.html
Title: Re: Pride of the Parish - New GAA Series
Post by: Zulu on April 10, 2009, 02:21:54 PM
Yeah nice idea, if hardly original, hopefully they've put a bit of time into and can come at this from a different angle, it could easily turn in to a series of clips of lads telling us what the team means to the parish, which would quickly become tiresome.
Post by: ludermor on April 24, 2009, 08:52:59 PM
Anyone watching this, some pitch on Turk!
Post by: micka the dub on April 24, 2009, 10:08:45 PM
i really enjoyed that,the mot was nearly crying at the end.it just goes to show you the power of the gaa.its the mun next week,from inishturk to ballymun,brilliant
Post by: Zulu on April 27, 2009, 08:15:01 PM
Just watched the episode on Inishturk there on rte.ie and I thought it was very good, it was great to see the effort these lads put in to keep the game alive there. This Friday the show comes from Ballymun, which should be interesting and will be a stark contrast from Inishturk. Beautiful place by the way.
Post by: FL/MAYO on April 27, 2009, 09:01:57 PM
Quote from: Zulu on April 27, 2009, 08:15:01 PM
Just watched the episode on Inishturk there on rte.ie and I thought it was very good, it was great to see the effort these lads put in to keep the game alive there. This Friday the show comes from Ballymun, which should be interesting and will be a stark contrast from Inishturk. Beautiful place by the way.

http://dynamic.rte.ie/av/228-2532884-512-288.smil

Really enjoyed this program, shows what its all about really.
Post by: carnaross on April 27, 2009, 09:18:41 PM
Excellent programme. Their individual loyalties are to be commended and, maybe, used as an example to some.
Post by: magickingdom on May 01, 2009, 09:09:28 PM
ballymun kickams tonight - super programme, val andrews and the rest of them are doing so much good work for kids... it was funny when he was describing the problems facing the club, drink, drugs, etc etc and air trafic control problems with the floodlights due to dublin airport next door
Post by: Jinxy on May 01, 2009, 09:11:43 PM
They seemed like a good bunch of lads and a good club.
Great to see them win the u-21.
Post by: INDIANA on May 01, 2009, 09:12:40 PM
They do some job in a very deprived area. Teams are generally very discplined as well. People often take the piss out of them but they produce terriific players. Hargan, Rock ,Mc Caul,Kearns, Christie the list goes on.

that was 2 years ago jinxy-they've since done the two in a row with the same team. Could win the SFC this year.
Post by: cavan4ever on May 01, 2009, 09:18:11 PM
Good programme that today.
Post by: micka the dub on May 01, 2009, 09:28:16 PM
thats what gaa means to us in rough parts of dublin,i grew up in ballymun/finglas and only for the mentors in the club and of course our parents god knows where we would have ended up,it gave us a great sense of identity and pride and made us believe we werent just lads from the wrong side of the tracks and that we were part of something important and i hope any parent in any rough part of ireland that seen that programe will get their kids invovled in the local club because its much more than sport its making kids believe they are important.and val andrews and people like him the lenght and breath of the country are more important to irish society than 100 politicans.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on May 01, 2009, 10:04:16 PM
Well said Micka. All this old palaver about Croker full on a Championship day is all grand, but the fundamental thing about the GAA is that it gives people something worthwhile to do, something to believe in and of which they can be proud. Please God Kickhams will have a good run in the Championship this year.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 02, 2009, 12:14:55 AM
Good viewing tbf.

Great to see the U21 celebrations. Local lasd done good. What the GAA is all about.

Ironically Val Andrews is better on the telly than on the wireless!
Post by: Jinxy on May 02, 2009, 01:02:14 AM
That young lad wasn't wrong when he said Val loves the cameras.  ;D
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 03, 2009, 03:24:27 PM
Didn't think it was as good as the previous two weeks, more about Val than the club itself. Wtf has Val spending 6 years in TIT got to do with Ballymun Kickhams? Would have liked to have heard more from Christie and Barney Rock but still it was one of the better GAA offerings from rte...
Post by: orangeman on May 03, 2009, 03:50:47 PM
Errigal Ciaran next week - Canavan and Mickey Harte will be featured highly.
Post by: longrunsthefox on May 03, 2009, 05:20:08 PM
They should go to a junior club rather than high profile county stars. kind of defeats the exercise a bit.
Post by: Jinxy on May 03, 2009, 05:42:47 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on May 03, 2009, 05:20:08 PM
They should go to a junior club rather than high profile county stars. kind of defeats the exercise a bit.

There weren't many high profile county stars on Inishturk!
Also no current Dublin players featured in the Ballymun show.
I think it's a good mix.
Post by: longrunsthefox on May 03, 2009, 07:37:03 PM
Pity they didn't do same for Tyrone then. What about Ziggy's club Greencastle for example  -won All Ireland junior title and have developed great facilites... but no, the lazy option, Mickey and Peter...
Post by: Jinxy on May 03, 2009, 07:40:57 PM
Ziggy would just do a Val Andrews on it and take over the whole thing.  ;D
Post by: longrunsthefox on May 03, 2009, 07:46:47 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 03, 2009, 07:40:57 PM

Right enuff  :D
Post by: tyroneStatto on May 03, 2009, 10:34:59 PM
Quote from: longrunsthefox on May 03, 2009, 07:37:03 PM
Pity they didn't do same for Tyrone then. What about Ziggy's club Greencastle for example  -won All Ireland junior title and have developed great facilites... but no, the lazy option, Mickey and Peter...

yeah, they should have given somebody else a bit of the limelight for a change. you wont find out anything new with errigal, mickey, peter etc.
Post by: fitzroyalty on May 04, 2009, 12:12:36 AM
is errigal not an amalgamation of two parishes or whatever happened that it was formed?? the programme will be about that no doubt
Post by: Declan on May 04, 2009, 01:55:03 PM
Just watched the Kickhams show - enjoyed it alright and fair play to all involved out there. Val does like the cameras though as the young fella said
Post by: ziggysego on May 04, 2009, 01:58:26 PM

I soooo would not. Greencastle has been on television several times in the past and I stayed out of sight. That's not to say I've never been on TV before ;)
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 04, 2009, 02:01:05 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 04, 2009, 01:58:26 PM

I soooo would not. Greencastle has been on television several times in the past and I stayed out of sight. That's not to say I've never been on TV before ;)

Crimewatch.
Post by: ziggysego on May 04, 2009, 04:07:59 PM
Newsround and UTV Live smartarse  :P
Post by: muppet on May 04, 2009, 06:58:44 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 04, 2009, 02:01:05 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 04, 2009, 01:58:26 PM

Crimewatch.

Omagh uncovered?
Post by: ziggysego on May 04, 2009, 07:51:00 PM
How did this thread end up being about me ???
Post by: longrunsthefox on May 04, 2009, 10:07:09 PM
we were jsut wondering why RTE chose to interview Peter Canavan and Mickrey Harte instead of you   ;D
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 04, 2009, 11:41:24 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on April 27, 2009, 09:01:57 PM

Finally got around to watching this, just there now. Fantastic television. A great story the Turk lads and the filmmakers must have been counting their lucky stars to see them go on and win it. I'd know of two of the lads - Eugene plays club football with Westport and Danny is a very good rugby player with Westport. But there's no doubting where their heart lies. That really knocked the cynic out of me.
Anyone know how to access the other two programmes? Ballymun and Portumna . . .
Post by: Zulu on May 04, 2009, 11:59:56 PM
Just going to look up the Ballymun one myself R&GS and I presume they are on the RTE website.
Post by: FL/MAYO on May 05, 2009, 03:02:41 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on May 04, 2009, 11:41:24 PM
Quote from: FL/MAYO on April 27, 2009, 09:01:57 PM

Finally got around to watching this, just there now. Fantastic television. A great story the Turk lads and the filmmakers must have been counting their lucky stars to see them go on and win it. I'd know of two of the lads - Eugene plays club football with Westport and Danny is a very good rugby player with Westport. But there's no doubting where their heart lies. That really knocked the cynic out of me.
Anyone know how to access the other two programmes? Ballymun and Portumna . . .

Here you go Lads

http://dynamic.rte.ie/av/228-2531176-512-288.smil

http://dynamic.rte.ie/av/228-2536468-512-288.smil
Post by: saffron sam2 on May 05, 2009, 08:38:20 AM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on May 04, 2009, 12:12:36 AM
is errigal not an amalgamation of two parishes or whatever happened that it was formed?? the programme will be about that no doubt

Of course it will.

Not.
Post by: toiletroller on May 05, 2009, 10:40:15 AM
Put Pride of the parish into You Tube
Post by: ludermor on May 05, 2009, 05:07:01 PM
is that an order?
Post by: ONeill on May 08, 2009, 08:10:24 PM
The real story of Errigal is much more interesting than the success. I hope it delves deep into the reasons for the split.
Post by: orangeman on May 08, 2009, 08:15:41 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 08, 2009, 08:10:24 PM
The real story of Errigal is much more interesting than the success. I hope it delves deep into the reasons for the split.

Don't think it will all the same.
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 08, 2009, 08:38:47 PM
The Mickey Harte show so far. They showed Ardboe playing EC there.
Post by: orangeman on May 08, 2009, 08:53:58 PM
That Errigal team of 90s and noughties was awesome.
Post by: Minder on May 08, 2009, 09:01:14 PM
OM give us three posts then something really special. Ziggy got a thread dedicated for 10000 posts, why should you feel inferior........ ;)
Post by: ONeill on May 08, 2009, 09:01:40 PM
Really enjoyed that but would need an outsider's perspective.

I know it was mostly the MH show but they perhaps need an angle like that on every episode or they'd all be the same.
Post by: orangeman on May 08, 2009, 09:10:34 PM
Quote from: Minder on May 08, 2009, 09:01:14 PM
OM give us three posts then something really special. Ziggy got a thread dedicated for 10000 posts, why should you feel inferior........ ;)

Bollox to that - they told me I'd get 2 AI tickets when I got to 10,000.  ;)
Post by: magickingdom on May 08, 2009, 09:18:30 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 08, 2009, 09:01:40 PM
Really enjoyed that but would need an outsider's perspective.

I know it was mostly the MH show but they perhaps need an angle like that on every episode or they'd all be the same.

very good imo, didnt know any of the history of ec or the split. it may be the mh show but surely its mh and guys like peter canavan that make it worth watching. lovely looking ground with their own corporate box too :D
Post by: Trevor Hill on May 08, 2009, 09:27:24 PM
Didn't get home in time to see this, is it available on line?
Post by: ONeill on May 08, 2009, 09:28:45 PM
You could sort of detect the hostility between Mickey and the non-Glencull men, though the All-Irelands seem to have dampened it a bit.
Post by: ONeill on May 08, 2009, 09:37:07 PM
Surely those two men could've walked on water. A wee bit disappointed it wasn't even attempted.
Post by: orangeman on May 08, 2009, 09:37:17 PM
The old footage of Cnavan was class - scoring a goal off his left. Class act - you could see the talent oozing out of him.

Had Canavan not come along the split might never have healed ?.
Post by: ONeill on May 08, 2009, 09:41:29 PM
Twas sort of embarrassing hearing Canavan's commentary as a 12-year old.

Did ye see the Tyrone players boxin the bake off McConnell in the changing rooms as preparation?
Post by: orangeman on May 08, 2009, 09:47:57 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 08, 2009, 09:41:29 PM
Twas sort of embarrassing hearing Canavan's commentary as a 12-year old.

Did ye see the Tyrone players boxin the bake off McConnell in the changing rooms as preparation?

He'll be cringing alright.  His voice must have broken after that commentary. Or else somebody must have had him by the stones.
Post by: ziggysego on May 09, 2009, 01:44:17 PM
I was cringing hearing Canavan's commentary  :D

Was a good wee show last night, but too much was devoted to Tyrone rather than Errigal. Would have liked to have heard more about the spilt in the Parish, like ONeill said.
Post by: Jinxy on May 09, 2009, 02:25:43 PM
My least favourite one of the series so far.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 09, 2009, 02:33:11 PM
Can anyone post up the dynamic link?
Post by: Azzurri on May 09, 2009, 04:41:08 PM
You can get it on RTE player here:

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1047466

or dynamic:

http://dynamic.rte.ie/av/228-2540202-512-288.smil
Post by: Gaffer on May 09, 2009, 04:52:38 PM
I think  it is repeated during the week.
Post by: FL/MAYO on May 09, 2009, 05:50:25 PM
Thought it was a good show, in my opinion what was said about the split in the club was plenty, people from outside Tyrone would not have much interest in the finer details of the split. I laughed when Harte mentioned that Tyrone people don't like singing from the trees about their success, many people on this board would have other opinions. Harte seems like a down to earth type of person I can see why he gets so much from his players.
Post by: thejuice on May 10, 2009, 01:11:58 AM
how many more episodes of this are they doing. Also does the RTE GAAmediaplayer always, always crash for you. mine  does every time.
Post by: Zulu on May 10, 2009, 01:21:29 AM
2 more, Castlehaven next week and Ahane the week after, and yes the f**king thing always crashes on me too.
Post by: omagh_gael on May 10, 2009, 01:30:31 AM
watch it on YouTube, been grand for me! Just watch erigal ciaran episode, was enjoyable. Drove past the old glencull pitch for years, never realised it was actually used for adult football, thought it belonged to the school!
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 10, 2009, 02:08:26 AM
The Errigal episode was enjoyable. I had heard plenty of the split but to see the pitch they had to play in, what with the river taking a chunk of space off the right-corner forward!- makes you realise just how isolated they must have been and how it must have torn the parish in two. Harte is very comfortable in front of the camera and some of the camera work was very good - him walking away from the pitch in Ballygawley as the programme told of him walking away to form Glencull was very good too.

Still not the best episode in my opinion - Inishturk was something special, best show I've seen in ages.
Post by: tyssam5 on May 10, 2009, 06:48:46 PM
Downloaded those shows from irishtorrents. Very good.

No mention of Peter's starring role for Killyclogher hurling club.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 10, 2009, 07:49:10 PM
Good show but a bit one dimensional showing so much of Mickey and Tyrone. Don't think you ever really got to the heart of the club.

Interesting story about the club splitting up - Mickey was sent off in a match but refused to accept his punishment. No further comment your honour ;)
Post by: orangeman on May 11, 2009, 04:21:58 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 10, 2009, 07:49:10 PM
Good show but a bit one dimensional showing so much of Mickey and Tyrone. Don't think you ever really got to the heart of the club.

Interesting story about the club splitting up - Mickey was sent off in a match but refused to accept his punishment. No further comment your honour ;)

Hold on a minute - that was way back in the day ................ wasn't it ?
Post by: carnaross on May 11, 2009, 06:20:23 PM
Rte media player always crashed on me too, causing much effing and blinding - strange looks from the boss to me with the headphones on!! Mickey is definitely very comfortable and eloquent in front of the camera, although I'd agree that the Inishturk episode was by far the best (and will, I suspect, remain at the top.
Post by: gerry on May 11, 2009, 09:43:21 PM
Quote from: carnaross on May 11, 2009, 06:20:23 PM
Rte media player always crashed on me too, causing much effing and blinding - strange looks from the boss to me with the headphones on!! Mickey is definitely very comfortable and eloquent in front of the camera, although I'd agree that the Inishturk episode was by far the best (and will, I suspect, remain at the top.

same happen me when i used firefox but works 100% on IE
Post by: Owenmoresider on May 11, 2009, 11:08:35 PM
Quote from: carnaross on May 11, 2009, 06:20:23 PM
They will probably all end up on Youtube - the earlier ones are anyway.
Post by: carnaross on May 16, 2009, 01:38:53 PM
Any thoughts on last night's offering?
Post by: Zulu on May 16, 2009, 03:25:22 PM
I thought last nights show was brilliant, I remember the Haven and Skibb finals and they were something special. Rarely if ever will any county, in either code, provide a county final like that one, it was just unbelievable. West Cork football is as tough and competitive as you'll get anywhere but Castlehaven have always been known as a special club in an area full of them. Nationally cork may be better known for its hurling teams but West Cork is as passionate about football as anywhere in the country and if clubs like Skibb, the Haven, Bantry etc. can get back to the top you could do worse than head down for a Cork county final.
Post by: Jinxy on May 16, 2009, 03:37:38 PM
Some crowds at those county finals Castlehaven were in.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on May 16, 2009, 09:48:26 PM
Can someone do the needful with the dynamic link? Thanks.