GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: illdecide on February 13, 2009, 02:19:52 PM

Title: Whats the worst sporting injury you've had
Post by: illdecide on February 13, 2009, 02:19:52 PM
I know this could depress ya reading this and hopefully not bring anyone bad luck but i'm just trying to get a picture of the most common injurys picked up playing GAA..

My own personal ones are:
1) Torn achilles tendon
2) Broken collar bone
3) Hamstring pulls (at least 5 times over the years)

If i can remember more i'll insert them later
Title: Re: Whats the worst sporting injury you've had
Post by: Yes I Would on February 13, 2009, 02:40:52 PM
Broken collar bone was a **** of a thing.
Ankle ligaments, Broken fingers and thumbs also unpleasant.

Have had tennis elbow a few times but never missed a game with it!!
Post by: Declan on February 13, 2009, 02:41:49 PM
Chipped my pelvis as a result of tearing my hammer/arse muscle while sprinting flat out for a ball - collapsed as if I'd been shot.
Out for 9 months - never forget the pain. Took about 3 years until I had full feeling back in my thigh muscle as nerves took that long to repair  
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 13, 2009, 02:44:44 PM
Dislocated collar bone, popped out after running full belt into Mick McGeeney from the Bridge.  Went over a bump on the way to doctors and it went back in.  The going in was more painful :'(  A few broken toes and fingers.

Apart from that I have been fairly lucky, never had a hamstring tear/groin etc(grabs every piece of wood in the vicinity to ensure that luck continues!)
Post by: screenexile on February 13, 2009, 02:46:58 PM
Had quite a few:

Broken wrist
Numerous broken fingers
Broken Rib
Numerous Sprained Ankles
Sprained Medial Ligament
Lower back problems
Torn Calf Muscle
Knocked out 2/3 times
8 Stitches just above my eye
Torn Cruciate Ligament (Had the op 6 months ago and on the way back now)

None of my injuries have kept me out for any serious amount of time except the Cruciate. Wrist was a 6 week job at the start of the season and my medial ligament injury happened last game of the season and needed 3 months reast so was lucky enough.

Cruciate was a nightmare. Happened 3rd game of the league and during our most successful year in a long time. Had to wait 3 months for op and then 6 months after that until I can play and resume contact training. Seeing the surgeon on Monday week so fingers crossed!
Post by: Minder on February 13, 2009, 02:48:34 PM
Been lucky enough, worst was 12 stitches right above my eye (hurling) thanks to a dirty Sarsfields ba*tard, in fairness there is no other sort of Sarsfields player, from Belfast.........He retired before i was able to exact my retribution. He knew he was gonna get it.....
Post by: stpauls on February 13, 2009, 02:55:05 PM
only had 2 real injuries playing football thank god (touch wood), a broken collarbone (from running into BC's cousin when coming out to gather a loose pass), and a fractured wrist!!

have torn ligaments twice in both ankles playing basketball though!!
Post by: thebandit on February 13, 2009, 03:00:15 PM
Broke my left ankle in 2 places and tore the ligaments to shreds  :(
Post by: winsamsoon on February 13, 2009, 03:07:09 PM
This could take a while

1. Broken Collar Bone
2. Gilmores groin (Had the op and it's still a bollox 2 years later
3. Both ankle ligaments
4. Shin splints ( I went to a witch doctor to cure them in Lisburn Eddie something) The man was a masacist. He threw me up on the kitchen table and proceeded to run his knuckle down my shin ( I lost sme sweat that night)
5. Numerous finger and thumb digs. You know the one where the ball hit you square on the end of a finger when it is outstretched)
6 But for initial pain there is nothing beats a kick in the grigs or a tiny clip on one of the nuts :o :o :o :o sweet christ. Training tonight hope the injury ghost passes me by.

I remember one time sitting injured watching the lads train, when this guy came out and called three of us (who were injured watching) chocolate men. He hadn't run 40 yards tilll he pulled up like he had been shot  :D :D :D I told him it was a sniper that got him  :D :D Moral don't mock others that are injured. ;)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 13, 2009, 03:13:49 PM
Quote from: stpauls on February 13, 2009, 02:55:05 PM
only had 2 real injuries playing football thank god (touch wood), a broken collarbone (from running into BC's cousin when coming out to gather a loose pass), and a fractured wrist!!

have torn ligaments twice in both ankles playing basketball though!!

I taught them well :P
Post by: irunthev on February 13, 2009, 03:15:30 PM
Just about to turn forty and my 25 years if football have left me with:

1. A collapsed disk in my lower back
2. Was told last week I need an ankle joint replacement in my right ankle within the next twelve months
3. Three broken teeth
4. Just had a operation to remove a Baker's cyst from my left knee
5. One torn hamstring
6. Several twisted ankles
7. Arthritis in my ankle and knees

Was it worth it?

From where I sit now....... no way
Post by: heineken_on_tap on February 13, 2009, 03:21:37 PM
Put out my knee cap - was never the same player after that :P
Post by: ccosgrave on February 13, 2009, 03:24:20 PM
A broken collar bone was probably the worst.
Post by: ONeill on February 13, 2009, 03:37:55 PM
Pride.
Post by: laceer on February 13, 2009, 05:48:59 PM
both thumbs broken
hernia
back/neck trouble when i was younger
broken foot and arm from playing basketball - who did you play for stpauls?
Post by: thejuice on February 13, 2009, 05:50:05 PM
Not going to list them all out but like a few here, borken collar bone. Of course, the physio (i.e. lad with the water bottles) diagnosed its as a pulled muscle and told me to play on. I last another 5 mins before I decided I wanted a 2nd opinion.
Post by: The Iceman on February 13, 2009, 05:57:09 PM
ha
Nose broken eleven times (but does it count after the first time?)
Dislocated thumb
Torn tendon in my knee
Broken both ankles
Broken scaphoid bone in my right hand
Cracked breast bone
Cracked ribs
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 13, 2009, 06:46:31 PM
Christ, I have been lucky.  I just wonder are some people more predisposed to getting injured than others.  Also people's perception of "injured" may also vary.  I don't count things like twisted ankles/knees/dead legs as injuries unless they put me out for more than a few games. What do others think?
Post by: passedit on February 13, 2009, 06:49:57 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 13, 2009, 06:46:31 PM
Christ, I have been lucky.  I just wonder are some people more predisposed to getting injured than others.  Also people's perception of "injured" may also vary.  I don't count things like twisted ankles/knees/dead legs as injuries unless they put me out for more than a few games. What do others think?

If you wouldn't miss a championship game for it it's not an injury.

On the other hand BC if one of the 'few games' you miss is a championship game then it's a 'bone fide' injury.

Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 13, 2009, 06:52:15 PM
Quote from: passedit on February 13, 2009, 06:49:57 PM

On the other hand BC if one of the 'few games' you miss is a championship game then it's a 'bone fide' injury.

I think I only missed one championship game through injury.  I missed others but that's another story.  Have you the boots on the nail yet passedit or are ye still giving it a lash?
Title: Re: Whats another year
Post by: passedit on February 13, 2009, 07:01:08 PM

QuoteI think I only missed one championship game through injury.  I missed others but that's another story.  Have you the boots on the nail yet passedit or are ye still giving it a lash?

Funny enough the injuries are starting to merge in to one at this stage BC, however the fact that this year will be my thirtieth playing adult football and i'll be playing in the same league as the team i made my debut with then means i'll probably hang in there for another year. Haven't broken to the missus yet though as I told her I'd finished when i lost the feeling in my left arm for a week or two at the back end of last season.
Post by: ccosgrave on February 13, 2009, 07:06:47 PM
Quote from: thejuice on February 13, 2009, 05:50:05 PM
Not going to list them all out but like a few here, borken collar bone. Of course, the physio (i.e. lad with the water bottles) diagnosed its as a pulled muscle and told me to play on. I last another 5 mins before I decided I wanted a 2nd opinion.

Haha, yeah, something similar happened to me when I broke my right collar bone while playing rugby. I was playing number eight (guy at the back of the scrum) at the time and, at the next scrum, I told the captain who was playing left flanker (outside left of the scrum) that I was injured. He just said "Ah, you'll be alright", and insisted that I switch with him, so I had to enter into the scrum on the side of my broken collar bone.
Post by: adevvabr on February 13, 2009, 07:12:17 PM
Torn medial collateral ligament
Torn anterior cruciate ligament...twice
All in my right knee and have only turned 22!!
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 13, 2009, 07:15:07 PM
A lobotomy
Triple by-pass
Foot rot
Amputation of Arms
crotch rot
constipation
dislocated finger

Post by: Bord na Mona man on February 13, 2009, 09:52:15 PM
Smashed my tibia and fibula and have a metal rod in the tibia.
A couple of broken fingers and teeth.
Never had any problems with muscle tears or pulls.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on February 13, 2009, 10:41:03 PM
a long list of stuff, broken fingers/ribs/cheek bone, numerous stitches,knee cartiledge surgery, several hammy tears and dead legs and a couple of concussions,and put both my shoulder and elbow out but def the worst was dislocated both thumbs and got two pins in one of them.very painful and could do bugger all for months when in cast after the op.
reading through the posts the thumbs seem to be a common one
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 13, 2009, 11:19:27 PM
Lost my footballing ability when puberty hit.

Never recovered.

Even when we had only 15 I was still a sub  :-\

Have a county minor medal as last sub tho from 1984
Post by: the green man on February 13, 2009, 11:36:23 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 13, 2009, 03:37:55 PM
Pride.

That always hurts when your on the bench.

So I've been told.
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on February 13, 2009, 11:47:40 PM
For gods sake Green Man, if yer under 40 you should be on the bench for Slaugtneil.  Sure they had 25 subs for the county final.

:-*
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 14, 2009, 01:05:09 AM
I was 22 before I had any sort of injury at all and they haven't stopped since ???

Had to have an op to graft bone onto my leg from my hip, very nice

For the past three years I've had regular groin injuries, with 2007 being the only time I had a bit of a break from them. My doc is sending me to an orthpaedic specalist to get it sorted cos its wrecking my head :-[

Also managed to get seven stiches at top of my forehead after a nice collision with a goalpost
Post by: Kerry Mike on February 14, 2009, 01:10:46 AM
bunch of moaning women the lot of ye....
Post by: Donagh on February 14, 2009, 01:32:41 AM
Dislocated thumb and broken/staved fingers dunno how many times
Broken nose at least half a dozen times with the boxing
Collapsed disk in lower back
Worst pain was trying to run a 10k cross country final with torn back muscles -  fell over after about 5 or 6k of pure agony thinking my lungs had collapsed.   
Post by: Midman on February 14, 2009, 02:05:56 AM

A few broken fingers was all i had until I tore my anterior cruciate ligament- should be back fkicking a ball in the next couple of weeks if the doctor gives the ok. to say Im busting for football is an understaatement!
Post by: Lothos on February 14, 2009, 08:27:35 AM
Quote from: Donagh on February 14, 2009, 01:32:41 AM
Dislocated thumb and broken/staved fingers dunno how many times
Broken nose at least half a dozen times with the boxing
Collapsed disk in lower back
Worst pain was trying to run a 10k cross country final with torn back muscles -  fell over after about 5 or 6k of pure agony thinking my lungs had collapsed.   

I got a collapsed disc when i was 16, my back has been f&*kd ever since.  A few years ago I got a dislocated shoulder but the worst thing I have which is continuous during a game is them oul shin splints!!!! usually they don't show up til about 3 weeks into pre season, but then they're there for the year.   >:(
Post by: stpauls on February 14, 2009, 09:43:39 AM
Quote from: laceer on February 13, 2009, 05:48:59 PM
both thumbs broken
hernia

i played for Newry when i was in my teens laceer, and then Bangor for a while a couple of years ago!!
Post by: stpauls on February 14, 2009, 09:48:14 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 13, 2009, 06:52:15 PM
Quote from: passedit on February 13, 2009, 06:49:57 PM

I think I only missed one championship game through injury.  I missed others but that's another story.  Have you the boots on the nail yet passedit or are ye still giving it a lash?

has he hell, sure he was running up Barnetts with me in the snow last sunday morning, though as he said, god help him when he tells the wife he is giving it another year!!  ;D
Post by: laceer on February 14, 2009, 01:28:53 PM
Quote from: stpauls on February 14, 2009, 09:43:39 AM
Quote from: laceer on February 13, 2009, 05:48:59 PM
both thumbs broken
hernia

i played for Newry when i was in my teens laceer, and then Bangor for a while a couple of years ago!!

You'd know big Sherman Hall then? Think he played a bit of Gaelic in his day as well??
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 14, 2009, 02:05:44 PM
Been told that you're not to play any sport at all when you've a massive interest in sport... :-\
Post by: Canalman on February 14, 2009, 02:56:53 PM
Over the  (many)years I have broken both my thumbs and 4 of my fingers....... all hurling injuries. 2 years ago I got 6 staples put into my scalp after a belt through my Coopers helmet.

The worst injury I got was a trapped nerve in my shoulder some 10 years ago and I still have a slight pain there. Was agony at the time getting it "eased" out.......was given this piece of plastic to bite down on while it was done over 6 sessions. Agony.

All in all I reckon I had a good run with no knee or leg  injuries to note .

Post by: under the bar on February 14, 2009, 10:14:42 PM
Catching my willy in the bicyle chain has been the worst to date.............
Post by: jodyb on February 14, 2009, 10:55:33 PM
Did no one tell you that shaggin a bike was actually referrin to a woman of loose virtue :P
Post by: moysider on February 14, 2009, 11:41:40 PM

Ribs broken. the worst time was when this thug dug his fingers under the floating ribs and pulled out. Thought I d die.Was nt right for a long time. I was only a kid at the time and skinny. Fingers dislocated, broken foot bone but lucky never broke the larger bones. The usual head stitching. By far the worst was dislocating my jaw. Took full force of the ball while attempting a block. The ball had soaked a lot of water and the full back meant to kick it 70 yards. I still get earache.
Post by: J70 on February 15, 2009, 04:17:03 PM
Ripped my quad once. Training on an appalling surface in the middle of winter - went to shoot, but instead of hitting the ball, I caught a divot. My toe stuck in the ground, but the rest of my leg continued the follow through, yanking the quad and tearing it across above the knee. Serious, serious pain! Couldn't straighten my leg for a couple of weeks (I had to push the back of my calf to straighten it). Took about three months before I could kick a ball again, and I still feel it from time to time years later.

That's about as bad as it got for me - had the usual sprains and haematomas, but nothing that kept me out for more than a couple of weeks.
Post by: fer fox ache on February 15, 2009, 06:15:43 PM
Torn ankle, ligaments, cracked ribs, broken dislocated a finger - it looked like a quaver at the time, curly - but the worst was getting the two front teeth knocked out. Was playing full-forward and useless hooer of a centre half-forward hit a shot that went straight up in the air. I went up to try and field, the full-back went up in front of me one of our half-forwards came charging in to try and punch the ball over the bar. The defnder seen him coming and ducked out he missed the ball and followed through straight into my mouth with his fist took one of me front teeth clean out broke the other in half and me bottom teeth came clean through me lip. Never felt pain like it luckily the game was in Derry City and so it was only a five minute run to the hospital. No Dentist on duty so the doctor had to drill the nerve out of the broken tooth with a handrill.
Post by: milltown row on February 15, 2009, 06:36:45 PM
have dislocated my shoulders on numerous occasions. mainly my left shoulder. A championship match years ago against Glenarrife at Loughgiels pitch Andy McLean came up for a ball and landed on my head, i fell and popped my shoulder. usually can put it back in again, the Doc gave me one in the Arse (pain killer ;)) and i had the worst drive to the Royal. in fu*king agony the whole way.

a too many scars on my gub from flesh wounds. they don't really count as injuries as your always ready for the next game
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 15, 2009, 06:46:51 PM
Smashed cheekbone- Surgery

Knee ops X 2

the usual broken fingers, wrists etc
a number of stitches, some on the pitch, some as a result of what happened on the pitch.

If im honest, i reckon I got off lightly given the "style of play " I have.

Loved every minute of it
Post by: An Fear Rua on February 15, 2009, 06:54:46 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 15, 2009, 06:53:19 PM
A pat on the balls.

I hope you stood , like a man
Post by: maggie on February 15, 2009, 07:24:09 PM
Staved fingers.
My football career was a very short affair. :(
Post by: illdecide on February 16, 2009, 02:46:56 PM
Quote from: maggie on February 15, 2009, 07:24:09 PM
Staved fingers.

I think you win hands down Maggie...lol

Just out of curiosity how long did it take you to come back from that...lol

BTW some girls would kill for staved fingers...lol
Post by: leenie on February 16, 2009, 06:40:42 PM

twitch in my eye from squinting ................ trying to see the score in the corner of the screen!

ok now ... got a widescreen!
Post by: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on February 16, 2009, 10:48:11 PM
Quote from: illdecide on February 16, 2009, 02:46:56 PM
Quote from: maggie on February 15, 2009, 07:24:09 PM
Staved fingers.

I think you win hands down Maggie...lol

Just out of curiosity how long did it take you to come back from that...lol

BTW some girls would kill for staved fingers...lol

LOL nice one!

Ive broken each arm, always had trouble with my lower back and have broken a leg too, but staved fingers are annoying as hell, becasue its such a small thing but it makes a huge differnce. At least if you hobble about on crutches, your a bit of a hero lol! If someone asks you, why arent you playing tonight, and yo usay, staved fingers, they'd laugh at ya!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 17, 2009, 11:13:04 AM
Suffered from torn hamstrings or groins every year for the last four years. Hopefully this is the year I'll get a straight run at it...
Post by: anportmorforjfc on February 17, 2009, 11:18:05 AM
broken/dislocated fingers
pulled ligaments in left knee 3 times
Post by: one for the road on February 17, 2009, 11:30:14 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 17, 2009, 11:13:04 AM
Suffered from torn hamstrings or groins every year for the last four years. Hopefully this is the year I'll get a straight run at it...

use to suffer the same until a physio recommended that i built up my core. touch wood havent had any problems since.

also broke both hands, few broken fingers and stitches in the head
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 17, 2009, 12:38:05 PM
Quote from: one for the road on February 17, 2009, 11:30:14 AM

use to suffer the same until a physio recommended that i built up my core. touch wood havent had any problems since.

Same here, have been doing exercises every morning for the last 6 months to build it up. Hopefully it stands to me later on in the summer ...
Post by: supersarsfields on February 17, 2009, 07:19:00 PM
A broken wrist and am currently sitting on 8 dislocations for my shoulders. 4 on each one.
Should have had the op on it by now but refused it as I had just went two years without any bother. Then low and behold it went again last year!!
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 17, 2009, 09:06:21 PM
We were playing in a Senior championship match and scored a goal. As I leapt in celebration, I whacked my head off the roof of the dugout.
Post by: Puckoon on February 17, 2009, 09:25:10 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 17, 2009, 09:06:21 PM
We were playing in a Senior championship match and scored a goal. As I leapt in celebration, I whacked my head off the roof of the dugout.

At least you're a half decent linguist.

I found that hilarious.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on February 18, 2009, 12:24:27 PM
Dislocated shoulder [off the ball incident, drove self to hospital-great fun], torn hamstring [liberal application of Deep Heat by club "physio" - wrong, wrong, wrong....no "rest, ice, compression, elevation" at our club], finger smashed by shinty stick - got it stitched up & found out it had been broken when I went to get stitches out........ah, joyous memories of a remarkable career.

Also - Liver damage from drinking after matches, frequently hungover before & during a match as well.
Post by: johnneycool on February 18, 2009, 03:58:05 PM

Broken ankle which was complicated when a small bone growth started digging into my achilles when I was able to try and run again. Took another 3 months of physio from that big hoor Paul McCormick ( i think that's his name) who used to physio for Armagh fitballers and also had a column in the Irish news
Gilmores groin which wrecked me big time and took over 6 months to get semi-fit again
Broken Nose caused by a team mates elbow
broken scaphoid bone in my right wrist
Dozens and I mean dozens of hamstring problems all through my twenties and the strangest thing is that I'm as slow as a cart horse
numerous cuts to the head, face and hands but that's normal and to be expected when you hurl with no helmet on.

The strangest one was a loosening of the nose cartilage from the bone below my upper lip which I got in the middle of a melee, feckin sorest thing ever and you can't blow your hooter for weeks. probably deserved it though.
Post by: WeeDonns on March 13, 2009, 11:42:35 AM
QuoteA broken wrist and am currently sitting on 8 dislocations for my shoulders. 4 on each one.
Should have had the op on it by now but refused it as I had just went two years without any bother. Then low and behold it went again last year!!

C'mon now supersarsfields, tell the lads how exactly it happen last year!! I'm pretty sure it doesn't count as a 'Sporting Accident' when it happens in your bedroom either!
Post by: Hereiam on March 13, 2009, 12:31:39 PM
I have had to pull out of training this year due to a pulled eyebrow. Very sore  :P
Post by: Onion Bag on March 13, 2009, 12:41:09 PM
Broke my sternum, which actually hit my heart, was kept in Hospital for a few days observation

In case no one knows where the Sternum is 

(http://tbn2.google.com/images?q=tbn:Wy-egNb9uXSrJM:http://iaks-www.ira.uka.de/home/haimerl/seminar/sternum.gif)

Post by: ONeill on March 13, 2009, 07:09:52 PM
Glad you showed that diagram. I thought it was in Scotland.
Post by: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on April 17, 2009, 06:04:22 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 13, 2009, 07:09:52 PM
Glad you showed that diagram. I thought it was in Scotland.

Post by: fred the red on April 17, 2009, 06:26:13 PM
Nipple rash was a killer in the old oneills days!!
Post by: stew on April 17, 2009, 06:47:26 PM
I lost a vein in my right leg playing indoor soccer against a college team over here, cnut kicked me on the bone with 5 seconds left because we were beating them by a goal and I had the ball against the boards. My leg was twice its normal size and even now, ten years later, if I press my finger into the spot were I was kicked the indentation stays there for over a minute, quite disgusting really.

Post by: aroundincircles on April 17, 2009, 07:40:49 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 17, 2009, 12:38:05 PM
Quote from: one for the road on February 17, 2009, 11:30:14 AM

Same here, have been doing exercises every morning for the last 6 months to build it up. Hopefully it stands to me later on in the summer ...

Broke my leg one time suffered greatly from hamstring injuries( back in days when these things where not even heard off) went to some old boy of a physio (who is dead now) with hamstring he asked me did i ever break my leg i said i did he then said "have your problem" when i broke my leg and was starting to walk again i was naturally putting all my weight on other side of my body which in some way knocked my spine of centre a bit and  was nipping the nerve leading to hamstring he fixed that and i never had hamstring injury again.
Moral of the story is if you break your leg or something that makes you walk with a limp for a period of time get your spine staightened again.
Post by: fitzroyalty on April 17, 2009, 11:54:35 PM
not so much bad injuries here but wee sh*tty niggly f*ckin sore ones none-the-less, not bad enough for me to sit out training and matches but still irritating enough for me to play on!! Presently I have:
a huge blister on my heel, the bit right where u squeeze into your football boot, about the size of a thumbprint and a good few mm deep, got it from training with a sock with a big hole in it, skin just rubbed against inside of boot and in the space of an hour burnt away the skin!Open wound ever since!Takes me about ten mins in training to be able to run properly as i usually have to hobble about for a bit and get used to it lol.

really sharp chest pains, started getting them a lock of weeks ago, at first was worried but once i found out it was just muscular i stopped caring. Its sore to sneeze and take a deep breath though! :P

staved finger, not too bad apart from when it gets the odd knock

suspsected staved/broken toe, slipped down stairs last night (whilst wearing slippers) and landed on my toes, if that makes any sense  ??? my 2nd toe broke my fall as it banged against the bottom of the banister, now looks like i've two big toes  ::)
Touch wood i get nothing serious! :P
Post by: Tyrones own on April 18, 2009, 12:54:02 AM
Quotesuspsected staved/broken toe, slipped down stairs last night (whilst wearing slippers) and landed on my toes, if that makes any sense  Huh my 2nd toe broke my fall as it banged against the bottom of the banister, now looks like i've two big toes  Roll Eyes
Touch wood i get nothing serious! Tongue

Feck it I didn't realize the Ballet would be so hard on a man.... think I'll stick with the Judo :P
Post by: milltown row on April 18, 2009, 01:00:18 AM
about 5 years ago we were playing Rossa senior hurling, first bloody match of the year up there and i was (considering my age) flying fit.  twenty minutes into the second half me and young closey went for a ball. was clearly his ball but was not stopping. i turned to win the ball but he came charging in. i went up in the air and landed badly on my back, couldn't walk. struggled of the pitch got in my car and drove straight to hospital.

ended up that i broke a bone in my back. but as Dan turley told me later, if your going to break a bone in your back then this was the one. very lucky indeed.
Post by: fitzroyalty on April 18, 2009, 12:57:37 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on April 18, 2009, 12:54:02 AM
Quotesuspsected staved/broken toe, slipped down stairs last night (whilst wearing slippers) and landed on my toes, if that makes any sense  Huh my 2nd toe broke my fall as it banged against the bottom of the banister, now looks like i've two big toes  Roll Eyes
Touch wood i get nothing serious! Tongue

Feck it I didn't realize the Ballet would be so hard on a man.... think I'll stick with the Judo :P
believe me us ballerinas get it hard yano
Post by: boojangles on April 19, 2009, 11:51:43 AM
Same as most people-broken thumbs and fingers,broken wrist,3 broken teeth that ripped my upper lip,Shoulder problems,torn quad muscle but thank God I never have been out for any sustained period up until this year.
A big problem nowadays is Groin problems. I am currently recovering from Ostitis Pubis and Tendonitis in the right abductor. Its all basically got to do with the groin and the hip bone and them being out of line with eachother. I have been with a few very good physios and doctors and they all say that its the most common injury at the moment caused by Bad training methods,over training and not having built up a strong Core. Im back jogging now and hopefully I should be back in the next month but Im really praying because I really dont know if the feckin thing is right. I told my manager last night that I will be grand so heres hoping.
Any body else suffer from Groin Problems in the past,I would like to know how long until your back right?
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on April 19, 2009, 04:30:27 PM
Very lucky with injuries while playing....tore ankle ligaments once and had 2 of my back teeth kicked out one day and also ended up having to have my tongue stitched back together from the same boot in the face...

Worst issue though was slipping on a patch of ice crossing the road one day which led to 4 years out of any sport with back/neck/shoulder injury which then caused 10 years of groin/hip/hamstring injuries and no-one able to fix it.....
Post by: Gaaman on April 19, 2009, 08:32:56 PM
Ruptured 2 of my ankle ligaments pulling a bit of bone off.  Basically the surgeon said it was the worst way to do it.  Currently awaiting my 3rd operation.  Feckin depressing
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 20, 2009, 02:22:58 PM
Quote from: winsamsoon on February 13, 2009, 03:07:09 PM

6 But for initial pain there is nothing beats a kick in the grigs or a tiny clip on one of the nuts :o :o :o :o sweet christ. Training tonight hope the injury ghost passes me by.

Sliothar straight in the family jewels brings some pain on you.
Torn groin muscle was the worst thing I ever had but I deserved it for playing soccer at lunch in school. Had to physically lift my leg into bed and into and out of the car the pain was immense. It has never been right since and will twinge for a week or two at least once a season.
I had the ring finger on the right hand half near ripped aff me playing against St Endas Glengormley. L shaped scar that stings in the cold.
Post by: Son_of_Sam on April 20, 2009, 07:23:33 PM
Football team Christmas Party, had a sly drunken social smoke while having a sly leek against a tree, cig. fell out of my mouth direct onto my  :o

Moral of the story football & smoking don't mix.
Post by: paddypastit on April 20, 2009, 07:42:25 PM
When I first saw this I said to myself, thank god I've been lucky enough not to have anything too serious but then I ran through the list and,,,

Broke a wrist at 13, did the ligaments in one ankle when 16, the other a year later. Broke a wee bone in the hand at 19
Next up was a torn calf muscle at 23, had bursitis in the hip at 24 and then tore an achilles later the same year
Did the other achilles 18 months later, tore a hamstring the following year and then stayed out of trouble , but was playing less too, for four years before tearing the other hamstring, and then doing a right job on a quad muscle by coming back too early and trying to nurse the hamstring. Played less again as I was abroad for two years but tore a calf muscle in the last game that I started at the age of 34 nine years ago.

Got those "really sharp chest pains" that fitzroyalty was on about when playing 5 a side last year... but it wasn't muscular!!

Post by: rionach 4 on April 21, 2009, 12:01:35 AM
Was on the county panel at the time and was playing center half back for my club in a playoff to see who went senior Had just turned 19. A ball broke in the 50 yard line and The full forward of about six foot 4 and 18stone ran to get the ball alongside me . We both drew on the ball and it wound it's way on downfield . I fell to the ground and he landed on top of me . My head was  on the ground and as I went to get up he smashed his fist into my cheek bone splitting it in half and pushing the bone into the corner of my eye The strength of the punch cracked the bone at the side of my nose. My head was on the ground and therefore it had no room to give or go back with punch which may have lessened the damage. I went oh f*** and thorugh a mirage of blood and snatters tried to get to my feet where he drew his boot and broke my jaw in four places. I lay totally dazed and shocked as the play continued on . One of the opposing team players came over lifted me up( he was also on the county squad) and along with another man carried to a car . My team didnt even know what had happened  it was all done so quickly. I was put in the back seat and driven to Daisy hill and then straight to the royal where I had two operations and had 93 stiches on the inside of my mouth (at the top between the lip and the nose pallet (mr oReilly was the brilliant surgeon) My eye healed well and thankfully had no permanent sight problems. My Jaw was wired and I eat my Christmas dinner thorugh a straw . today I have no feeling on the left side of my face but thanks to the staff at the Royal I had no permanent disfiquirement. I never played again for two years was droppedof the panel(probably wasn't good enough anyway)         And you know this what galls me most I never even got a free kick! (unfortunaetely for me a very true story.)
Post by: aroundincircles on April 21, 2009, 12:13:01 AM
Quote from: rionach 4 on April 21, 2009, 12:01:35 AM
Was on the county panel at the time and was playing center half back for my club in a playoff to see who went senior Had just turned 19. A ball broke in the 50 yard line and The full forward of about six foot 4 and 18stone ran to get the ball alongside me . We both drew on the ball and it wound it's way on downfield . I fell to the ground and he landed on top of me . My head was  on the ground and as I went to get up he smashed his fist into my cheek bone splitting it in half and pushing the bone into the corner of my eye The strength of the punch cracked the bone at the side of my nose. My head was on the ground and therefore it had no room to give or go back with punch which may have lessened the damage. I went oh f*** and thorugh a mirage of blood and snatters tried to get to my feet where he drew his boot and broke my jaw in four places. I lay totally dazed and shocked as the play continued on . One of the opposing team players came over lifted me up( he was also on the county squad) and along with another man carried to a car . My team didnt even know what had happened  it was all done so quickly. I was put in the back seat and driven to Daisy hill and then straight to the royal where I had two operations and had 93 stiches on the inside of my mouth (at the top between the lip and the nose pallet (mr oReilly was the brilliant surgeon) My eye healed well and thankfully had no permanent sight problems. My Jaw was wired and I eat my Christmas dinner thorugh a straw . today I have no feeling on the left side of my face but thanks to the staff at the Royal I had no permanent disfiquirement. I never played again for two years was droppedof the panel(probably wasn't good enough anyway)         And you know this what galls me most I never even got a free kick! (unfortunaetely for me a very true story.)
holy f**k attempted murder
Post by: rionach 4 on April 21, 2009, 12:33:46 AM
This is indeed my own very true story. The county board said they would launch an investigation but nothing ever came of it . My father (god rest him) never went to a match after it
Post by: fitzroyalty on April 21, 2009, 12:35:39 AM
harrowing stuff alright. People go to prison for less  :o
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 21, 2009, 08:53:41 AM

Jaysus that is shocking.  I was never an angel on the field but that is beyond anything I have ever seen.  That thug should never play the game again.
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 21, 2009, 02:33:13 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 21, 2009, 08:53:41 AM

Jaysus that is shocking.  I was never an angel on the field but that is beyond anything I have ever seen.  That thug should never play the game again.

What county was this in?
Post by: whiskeysteve on April 21, 2009, 02:45:51 PM
ehhh... was gonna say hospitalised after a fierce knock on the crown jewels, breaking the collar bone and a few broken fingers but sounds a bit hollow in light of rionachs tale...
Post by: The GAA on April 21, 2009, 02:47:37 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 21, 2009, 08:53:41 AM

Liam O'Neill et al would be more usefully engaged in addressing this type of thing in our games rather than arsing about, annoying everyone with the nonsense they're at
Post by: paddypastit on April 21, 2009, 03:12:40 PM
QuoteLiam O'Neill et al would be more usefully engaged in addressing this type of thing in our games rather than arsing about, annoying everyone with the nonsense they're at
Well said
Post by: full back on April 21, 2009, 03:12:50 PM
Im assuming the injury took place in the Armagh or Down leagues
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 21, 2009, 03:16:19 PM
Yep Daisy Hill would indicate that maybe An Lu.
If it is Down fiver it was a Killcoo man who did it, Armagh I would saw Kileavy?
Post by: full back on April 21, 2009, 03:24:08 PM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 21, 2009, 03:16:19 PM
Yep Daisy Hill would indicate that maybe An Lu.
If it is Down fiver it was a Killcoo man who did it, Armagh I would saw Kileavy?

Why would you say that?
Post by: isourboydownyet on April 21, 2009, 03:49:05 PM
have had alot of the run of the mill injury's including broken nose X 5,cracked cheek bone,tore ankle ligaments which put me out for 5 months but the worst of all was ostitis pubis which basically got worse over a period of 4 years and eventually was the main reason i retired,the main problem with this injury was that at that time nobody could diagnose what the problem was until a physio called lewis o'connor (current tyrone physio) was able to tell me what the problem was,the only cure at that time was a operation which was only available in Australia as this was a very common injury in aussie rules,i know john mcintee when there for that operation but at 32 i thought it would not be worth it so lewis put me through a rehab which kept me going for another 2 years before it eventually it got the better of me.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on April 21, 2009, 04:39:17 PM
Sprained thumb from overuse of the remote watching sport on telly.
Post by: mountainboii on April 21, 2009, 04:48:04 PM
Quote from: full back on April 21, 2009, 03:12:50 PM
Im assuming the injury took place in the Armagh or Down leagues

I'm pretty sure rionach is from Armagh. Wonder what clubs were involved  ???
Post by: blanketattack on April 21, 2009, 06:15:58 PM
I was at a football match and I was flicking my way through the programme when a friend of mine saw an article he liked and turned back the page. <Any children or those of a nervous disposition please do not read any further> In doing so he gave me a paper cut in between my middle finger and my index finger. There wasn't much blood but it did sting and I think it's fair to say it's the worst injury mentioned on this thread so far. I bravely (some might say stupidly) decided not to get an ambulance and just carried on with the night's revelries after the match. I guess you never know how well you can cope with such a trauma until it happens to you. It healed after a few days but it took a lot longer for the scars in our friendship to heal. I still get shivers down my spine whenever I see someone recklessly flicking through a programme.
Post by: SidelineKick on April 21, 2009, 06:19:05 PM
Not much but a bit of ringsting before a match can be disastrous.  You never know when its going to come, a terrible injury to have.

Really - a dislocated pinkie.  Touch wood.
Post by: rionach 4 on April 22, 2009, 01:17:00 AM
Yes AFS your right I am from Armagh and I know how you worked that one out. i didnt mention the club involved simply because I dont want to open old wounds (not literally of course). There are many members who use this forum  from the club concerned. This happened a good while ago and is a very dark period in my history of GAA involvement. It was mentioned to take the person to court but at that time it was not the done thing and while casting no dispersions on the person or club it could have made things even worse.  To this day I could never get my head around why he did it. I was never a dirty player and was a first year at college..  I have never spoken or written about this before as it brings back a very painful time in my family . I spent many weeks in hospital and I remember receiving a cheque from the couty board for loss of earnings even though I was student, thanks to a very sympathetic secretary. The club concerned didnt enquire or even ask about my health or cared whether I lived or died except admit an incident took place and they didnt know who was involved and if the did they werent prepared to say. Thanks folks for the kind words but i hope that no other young man ever has to go through what I went simply playing the game I love so much. 
Post by: full back on April 22, 2009, 08:25:58 AM
Shocking episode rionach
Post by: Hound on April 22, 2009, 08:35:41 AM
Fook me. That basterd should have been sent down.
Post by: Longfordian on April 22, 2009, 10:24:24 AM
going up for a ball , aged 17 , ball lands directly one the top of my first finger .... jutting the bottom bone of my finger out through the skin ...finger was in a z shape ..... very strange to see ....wasnt overally sore though

have a weak right ankle all my playing life ....done ligaments sereval times ....

Cousin og mine playing with Breaffy in Mayo ... had his jaw / cheekbone broken and eye socket damaged from an elbow in a leauge match a number of years back , surgeon told him it was like something he see's in car accidents .... tr**p should have got jail !
Post by: JellyLegs15 on April 22, 2009, 01:12:43 PM
Broken Collar Bone
Broken Nose
Broken Hand/Fingers
Groin and Hamstring Pulls

Collar Bone the worst
Post by: Our Nail Loney on April 26, 2009, 02:31:30 PM
big man
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 26, 2009, 03:49:27 PM
How do you know lads if you have Hernia? thought it may be a groin injury but feel a lump in that area at top of leg! :(
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 26, 2009, 03:54:50 PM
No its not in it, just to the right!
Post by: David McKeown on April 26, 2009, 05:52:34 PM
Since this thread started ive twisted my knee, bruised my arse and broken my thumb playing sports.  This thread is a curse for me
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 21, 2009, 01:06:38 PM
I really should keep my mouth shut about never having an injury.  I broke a bone in the base of my ankle the other day which according to the doctor is nearly impossible to break unless you dropped a steel girder straight down onto your foot :'(  Thankfully avoided surgery but it is fecking sore and I hate being incapacitated.  6-8 weeks in plaster, at least I should be back for next round of championship.

My bloody toes are black!!!
Post by: illdecide on May 21, 2009, 02:19:26 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 21, 2009, 01:06:38 PM
I really should keep my mouth shut about never having an injury.  I broke a bone in the base of my ankle the other day which according to the doctor is nearly impossible to break unless you dropped a steel girder straight down onto your foot :'(  Thankfully avoided surgery but it is fecking sore and I hate being incapacitated.  6-8 weeks in plaster, at least I should be back for next round of championship.

My bloody toes are black!!!

Ya will be the size of giant haystacks when you get your plaster off...lol
Post by: On the 14 on May 21, 2009, 05:02:24 PM
Broke both my legs and dislocated my knee cap. The second leg break had me in plaster for around four months and on crutches for the guts of nine months.
The doctors thought my leg was healing properly but had to go back in after five months and have a plate put on it which I still have to this day. That was around ten years ago now and I've been absolutely plagued with muscle injuries since to the extent that I've never played a full uninterrupted season of football.
Currently out with a torn quad muscle. Tore it about six weeks back and did it again on my second night back last week. It's right up the top of the quad and is giving me serious pain when I've been on it at work for the full day.
Has anyone any experience of rehab/recovery from quad muscle injuries?
Post by: longball on July 24, 2009, 10:43:25 AM
After training or matches the lower left hand side of my back swells. its quite close to the spine and is very uncomfortable for a day or two but then is fine until the next match or training? what could be wrong here? Its been like this since December!
Post by: idontbelieveit on July 25, 2009, 01:10:58 PM
the worst sporting injury you can get is the anterior cruciate ligament in your knee (cruciate ligament) which keeps you out for at least a year and a half. Career threatning injury
Post by: orangeman on July 25, 2009, 01:17:10 PM
Quote from: idontbelieveit on July 25, 2009, 01:10:58 PM
the worst sporting injury you can get is the anterior cruciate ligament in your knee (cruciate ligament) which keeps you out for at least a year and a half. Career threatning injury

Down to 6/7/8 months now.
Post by: idontbelieveit on July 25, 2009, 01:23:42 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 25, 2009, 01:17:10 PM
Quote from: idontbelieveit on July 25, 2009, 01:10:58 PM
the worst sporting injury you can get is the anterior cruciate ligament in your knee (cruciate ligament) which keeps you out for at least a year and a half. Career threatening injury

Down to 6/7/8 months now.

i forgot to mention the cartilages and rehab involved with the cruciate ligament. if your unlucky enough to do the cartilage then your facing more time out. 7/8 months and its healed, however if u just go out and play after the 7 months theres a great chance you will do it again because of the lack of strength around the ligament. It takes days of hard work to get yourself right again, i would know all to well... ;)
Post by: orangeman on July 25, 2009, 01:26:38 PM
How did you do your cruciate ? Was there contact ? Wearing blades or what at the time ? During a game or just training ?
Post by: idontbelieveit on July 25, 2009, 01:34:09 PM
Quote from: orangeman on July 25, 2009, 01:26:38 PM
How did you do your cruciate ? Was there contact ? Wearing blades or what at the time ? During a game or just training ?

I did it in a game when i went up for a ball and fell awkwardly.  There wasn't much contact at all. Depends on your jumping and landing technique. I did the whole craic too, anterior, cartilage etc. Pain is unbearable. No i was wearing moldies at the time, it  must be the worst injury there is in all competitive sports!
Post by: orangeman on July 25, 2009, 01:39:08 PM
Quote from: idontbelieveit on July 25, 2009, 01:34:09 PM

I did it in a game when i went up for a ball and fell awkwardly.  There wasn't much contact at all. Depends on your jumping and landing technique. I did the whole craic too, anterior, cartilage etc. Pain is unbearable. No i was wearing moldies at the time, it  must be the worst injury there is in all competitive sports!

You back in action yet ??? Had you many problems with your hamstrings after ?
Post by: idontbelieveit on July 25, 2009, 01:49:19 PM

Well when you get the op they take half of one of your hamstrings away and when i do short distance jogging you can feel the weakness. It is vital to build the hamstring muscle up after the op to avoid future niggles. I have about 3/4 months to go until i resume full training (even though it will be over by then) but at the minute my rehab is going to plan!  :)
Post by: orangeman on July 25, 2009, 02:11:16 PM
Quote from: idontbelieveit on July 25, 2009, 01:49:19 PM

Well when you get the op they take half of one of your hamstrings away and when i do short distance jogging you can feel the weakness. It is vital to build the hamstring muscle up after the op to avoid future niggles. I have about 3/4 months to go until i resume full training (even though it will be over by then) but at the minute my rehab is going to plan!  :)

It's a wonder they haven't come up with some artificial replacement. Does the shorter hamstring then elongate through time ?
Post by: idontbelieveit on July 25, 2009, 02:27:45 PM
At the minute I'm only aware of the short-term consequences, e.g. multiple hamstring strains etc. The surgeon just made the vital point that i have to strengthen the hamstring to come back stronger. Common sense would say that it might elongate however hard work conquers all! ;)
Post by: swagger on July 25, 2009, 03:23:14 PM
broke left fibula sliding into the post while tryin to stop the ball crossing the line. On heinside i should have left it cos it went in anyway
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on July 25, 2009, 03:49:36 PM
Quote from: Longfordian on April 22, 2009, 10:24:24 AM
going up for a ball , aged 17 , ball lands directly one the top of my first finger .... jutting the bottom bone of my finger out through the skin ...finger was in a z shape ..... very strange to see ....wasnt overally sore though

have a weak right ankle all my playing life ....done ligaments sereval times ....

Cousin og mine playing with Breaffy in Mayo ... had his jaw / cheekbone broken and eye socket damaged from an elbow in a leauge match a number of years back , surgeon told him it was like something he see's in car accidents .... tr**p should have got jail !

He very nearly did get jail!
Post by: No way ref on July 25, 2009, 07:32:01 PM
i was wile sore one time
Post by: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on July 29, 2009, 10:33:58 AM
would ye count swine flu?
Post by: longball on July 29, 2009, 01:01:09 PM
One of our senior players was reported to have swine flu lsat nite hopefully doesnt spread through the squad!
Post by: illdecide on July 29, 2009, 02:48:49 PM
Quote from: idontbelieveit on July 25, 2009, 01:34:09 PM

Jasus i wouldn't like to get it (cruciate) but i tore my Achilles tendon 10 years ago, i was in plaster for 4 1/2 months and out for 18 months. Ten years later i still get pain in it and sometimes have to wear a night splint in bed so when i get up in the morning the Achilles is not stiff and sore. To me the Achilles is up there with the worst but it just depends on the severity of your injury and how your body heals from the operation too...can you imagine some surgeon operating on you and your his last op that day and he's already done about 10 ops and he's thinking "F**k i need to get home and nail the wife and chill out with a bottle of Veno" i could imagine a rush rush job there and a "that'll do him rightly" approach. I'd imagine your healing process would be slightly longer than expected...
Post by: Buckass on July 29, 2009, 03:23:01 PM
Had acl done with replacement coming from patellar tendon rather than hamstring. Good job (touch wood).
Post by: irunthev on July 29, 2009, 03:39:57 PM
Mine was a head injury..... a complete loss of confidence! Happened while playing in Chicago in 1999 and I just dreaded going on to the football field. Never would have been the most confident of players in the first place, but to lose the bit I had was devastating. Came back slowly once I got back to my own club. Sounds silly, but totally debilitating.
Post by: ziggysego on July 29, 2009, 03:52:37 PM
I don't play sports, but I once pulled a hamstring in Lourdes.
Post by: Eastern_Pride on August 01, 2009, 11:57:07 PM
I think I might've died once or twice.
Post by: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on August 16, 2009, 02:56:59 PM
My finger is broke >:(
Post by: bridgegael on August 16, 2009, 03:27:49 PM
Quote from: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on August 16, 2009, 02:56:59 PM

since when??? ;)
Post by: bcarrier on August 16, 2009, 03:37:32 PM
When playing both ankle ligaments, both hamstrings. Seem to be the common ones.

Havent kicked a ball for years but do abit of running ...achilles is starting to bother me without going completely.

Post by: ross4life on August 16, 2009, 09:25:56 PM
does a ingrown toenail count :P
Post by: Oak Leafer on August 16, 2009, 09:48:49 PM
Ruptured my patellar tendon (knee). Totally blew apart. This left the knee cap dislocated. Also fractured top of Tibia(lower leg bone). Had 2 ops to resconstruct the knee involving screws and wire. Without doubt beyond the worst pain you can imagine! Ronaldo(the brazilian) done both his.
Post by: Family guy on August 17, 2009, 03:52:57 AM
5 months ago i did the 3 ligaments in my knee,the acl was totally gone and the lcl and mcl done as well,hada wait 3 months to get the operation cause my knee locked wen it went and hada go 2 physio flat out 2 get the movement back b4 they would operate.Got the surgery done in da states,its called a cadaver operation,not sure if they do it in ireland but its were u get a desceased mans acl,a doner like rather than takin it from your hamstring cause it saves hamstring bother.8 weeks from da surgery and have a long way to go to get back,was told it wud b 9 months b4 im back
Post by: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on August 29, 2009, 11:41:52 AM
Quote from: bridgegael on August 16, 2009, 03:27:49 PM
Quote from: WhoAreYaWhoAreYa! on August 16, 2009, 02:56:59 PM

since when??? ;)

Saturday night! yeoooo  ;)